Airtel Launches BlackBerry Z10 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 28 February 2013

Airtel Launches BlackBerry Z10

Wole Abu, General Manager, Acquisitions, Airtel Nigeria (M) presenting the newly launched BB Z10 from Airtel Nigeria to Mr Richard Giwa-Osagie, Chairman of Ikoyi Club (L) while Tunji Okesola, Entertainment Chairman, Ikoyi Club 1938 (R) looks on at Ikoyi Club.

Leading telecommunications service provider, Airtel Nigeria, has become the first mobile operator in the country to announce the availability of latest BlackBerry Z10 Smartphones in its show rooms across the country.

Airtel Customers who had pre-ordered for the device online and through its retail outlets across the country can now take delivery of the Smartphones at their preferred locations. 

Wole Abu, General Manager, Acquisitions, Airtel Nigeria (M) presenting the newly launched BB Z10 from Airtel Nigeria to Mr Richard Giwa-Osagie, Chairman of Ikoyi Club (2nd R) while Dr. Aderemi Desalu MNI, representing Governor Raji Fashola of Lagos State (L) and Mrs. Moji Giwa-Osagie, Wife of Chairman of Ikoyi Club (2nd L) look on. at Ikoyi Club.
Speaking at the prestigious Ikoyi Club, venue of the launch, Airtel’s Chief Marketing Officer, Olu Akanmu said the company is delighted to be the first operator in the country to move beyond the pre-ordering process to the commencement of actual sale and distribution of the BlackBerry Z10 device to Nigerians.

Akanmu stated: “Airtel would continuously seek to consolidate its position as a pioneer of innovation in the telecoms landscape, in line with its vision of being the most loved brand in the daily lives of Nigerians. Our superior and widest 3.75G coverage across the country would further complement the distinctive computing features of the smartphone to provide customers with a delightful internet experience round-the-clock, irrespective of their location”.

He added that the launch of the Blackberry Z10 on the Airtel Network is significant as customers would take advantage of its largest 3.75G network and the most robust data network in the country.

Accordingly, customers who pre-ordered for the latest BlackBerry® Z10 smartphone would purchase the device at N100, 000 per unit. 

The new BlackBerry flagship Z10 which is currently the toast of the Smartphone family is positioned as a premium handheld device with the capacity to hold the interest of High Net-worth Individuals, trendy youths and accomplished professionals across corporate suites.

67 comments:

ASHIBEL XLUSIVE said...

What so special abt it all na blackberry

hmmmmm very good,but am so into ma 3310.lolz

VICKY DARL said...

The new BB 10 operating system which is incorporated in the two phones Z10 and Q10 don't work with BIS, that's what doesn't thrill me, so it means you will keep rocking data plans with it. Apart from that they got the strongest BB battery life EVER, 8MP camera, a huge RAM so no more hanging and all.

Don't think U'll have to cut as U can get ur micro sim from ur service provider. More like an iphone sim slot which requires a Micro sim.

It's okay. Most smart phone now uses smaller sim.

@ogechi serzli?? Wow! I hope 2 get 1 soon

Ladies, Wouldn't you lurv to look classy n fab in some christian louboutin shoes? Just add: 281cfe49 and buy. Thanks

Wat is it abt dis BB self, I wonda wat its functions are dat it costs so much.

Nice one!!

Cut ur sim!
Hw?

All d new fones that are in vogue now, u have to cut ur sim. Or get a micro sim. For Iphone 5 u need to cut ur sim cos our service providers aint got Nano sims yet.

U are so old school to say that.so u dnt know that's how smart fones are now??they work wt micro sims.its called upgrading.Ode!!!!plus u dnt need to cut it jst go get a micro sim.

And u will pay lik u r paYin 4 samsung galaxy,n nokia lumia for browsin...no BIS or BBC

@ Ogechi Okoye. Surprised @ ya comment. Lots of smartphones out there using Micro Sims

Z10 or curve 2 all na d same function e get!time don pass wen I dey struggle to buy d lastest bb ooo!

You don't exactly have to cut your sim.... You can just buy a mirco sim card..

@Ogechi Okoye BB Z10 uses micro sim, and because you have to cut your sim doesn't mean the device it self is not good. Just saying... Most phone manufacturers are now switching to Micro and nano sim cards. 5 years from now you may have to change completely to micro or nano sim cards. Iphone 5 uses nano sim which is even smaller than that of BB Z10.

Eerrr aunty Ogechi,u don't ave to cut Ur sim ok,u simply get a nano sim..n the phone is awesome..so don't bad mouth it just bcos u can't afford it..lol

i'm a lady, nd m in love wit my bf, I used my best friend to set up
my boyfriend to see if he's faithful enof. Now
they've betrayed me by sending me their wedding
invitation. WHAT AM I?
NOTE: NOT ME O!!! I can't try dat laye laye! as for me i cal her a BIG FOOL.

Oge that's the latest. It started with iphone way back

Oge thats the latest. The sim reshape started with the iphone way back

Iyaeto said...

The phone is suave..The processor speed is faster than iphone5, yes iphone has facetime and Z10 has video call and voice call(free) add-on .It uses a microSIM. The minuses are the apps viper , whatsapp aren't available.teh phone na amebo though . You can get BB pins of all your fb contacts (if they use fb for BB) I hope naijas would be able to enjoy the 4G network to it's full capacity. I've had this phone since the beginning of Feb and trust me it's a phone to have

SENATOR BREEZE said...

@ Oge Okoye...all I can say about you is WOW!!....u sure knw wah I mear'nt by dat.

I need that fone

This bad network, sacking its staff and employing SPANCO a company managed by indians to manage its call center. Am not interested about news from airtel joor! Fix ur network and stop campaigning about been d best .mtchewww

Cut your sim??? Micro chip you mean!

Where is prince charming?

Really.....am not tripping....still luvin my blackberry9860

@Ogechi its called a Micro Sim,

@Ashibel BB10 has the fastest browser on any device presently even computers and laptops. you should research it.

Dir high. MTN has had it lik since 4 eva. Dir lik last

MsM said...

U be olodo..the phone coms wit a customized sim.#tankmelater#

bola adams said...

ode,concentrate on ur own blog..wats ur p? If d sim az2b cut short or reduced? Even if u oge fck men u still can't get d phone.pls goan rest or goan watch cindarella if u av nuffin 2say* nothing way una go ever lik* forming nonsense attitude lik say if man buy am 4u u no go rush am! Pretender!shioooo

Glex said...

All phone bi phone... As all Die bi Die.

Blackburry is blackburry so far Ä®̸̸̨Æ­ can bookface, 2go, ping, but for the buyers don't take Ä®̸̸̨Æ­ to be the latest cos the beautiful ones are nt yet out

haba Oge,iphones and ipads have been using and are still using nano sims and seeing that this an iphone replica,its not suprising that it has the same functionality.
besides, u dnt have to cut ur sim,u can buy a nano sim.

Shinelle said...

Ama get one!

Is cutting of sims even function?

firstlady said...

Nice 1 though. Kip it scratching

Hmmm like iphones...nah I don't like it jare,I hate cutting my sim cards

Let her b guys, she's only heir her view.

Olasunkanmi Thomas said...

lemme hear wrd jor. All na bb

Fine gal ancient mindset! Otondo , lwkm @ cut d sim .. Try n update yaself Ogechi, times r changing

Gold diggers and Aristo professionals please start making your demands.... Now any of you that wanna insult me, may you sink in the North Atlantic Ocean.

neca said...

Ogechi you are too fine to be misyarning like this now. Haba!

@ogechi if u had said this 2005 it wld av being a statement worth considering before buying d device. This is 2013 n u spitting thrash!!

The phone is nice congrats to airtel..first in naija.just hope their network and service provision supports the phone functions ooo

Z10 soon it will be Z11.....

JUMYK said...

Na only blackberry we go d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ use our money buy?? Na bold5 O°˚˚˚O°˚˚˚°! Later, na pouche! Now na Z10. Oga O°˚

Not impressive

Marcel Duplexis said...

Oge its called a microsim. Lol

Busho lol

Please don't show your ignorance for all to see na,microsim has nothing to do with d functionality of the phone itself,its just the new way for the big name phones#fact#

chidozie said...

Gosh I can't remember the last time I saw the big SIM, iPhone is a game changer, then comes the magic iPhone 5 oge pls check it out

Dis Oge okoye is a village girl I swear

Every body dey buy z10 but half of them don't even know how to reply ping sef..*shouting* my z10 is not working ,na like jor.. U just too bush to sabi use am ni. *smh 4 naija way.

Now I understand the "beauty without brain" comment

I think they do come with BIS, the difference is unlike before its now optional, you don't have to put it if you don't want to, not everyone wants BIS...some do, some don't, so the choice is yours

1 gud samaritan shuld pls buy 4 me*wink* ~B~

Freddy said...

Phone of life

Nice one! I think Oge now knows micro chips are in existence, just like people who are busy abusing her now knows too simply because they were opportuned to know through her questions. Interesting! Kudos to airtel. The developmental changes are welcome.

danbasy said...

Pls does anybody know if the Z10 can tether. Does it have a hotspot software? Thanks

Pope said...

Wats soo special about dis fone. Does it hav inbuilt ATM machinee

baby oku said...

Wonder y u guys r attackn ds oge babe,our SIMS r bigger dan al ds smart fones ab initio,it wz d advent of ds smal sim smart fones dt made our network providers 2 strt producing d micro sims.dey myt hv d sims b4 nw,bt d demand 4 it is higher nw.I cut my mtn sim 2 micro sim b4 I cld use it 4 my iphone.its only new lines dt hv micro sim,our old sims hv 2 b cut wt d micro sim cutter.am sure u guys dnt even knw hw micro sim luks lik,u r jst yabbn oge 4 yabbn sake,wanna be's.*oya kip d missles comn,I hv shield*

These guys just dey use Nigerians brain,Z10?soon its gonna be porshe 2.building rubbish and hush;nigeria is a gud market.I bet that they even use curve 2 and leave d z10 to Nigerians without financial plans.

Linda why did u delete Oge's comment na.....

bought it.......sold it........back to my 9900......best bb so far

Most usefull Blackberry Z10 Tips and Tricks:

http://smart-phones-how-to.blogspot.com/2013/02/blackberry-z10-tips-and-tricks.html