Obama signs bill to grant Nigerian student U.S. permanent residency | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 29 December 2012

Obama signs bill to grant Nigerian student U.S. permanent residency

Victor second from left, his doctor to his right, doctor's wife and the nun that's been taking care of him
President Barack Obama just awarded a young Nigerian man with a very terrible genetic disease - Neurofibromatosis, permanent residence in the US and as such access to a US medical school. This hardly ever passes congress but because of his peculiar situation, it worked.

26th year old Victor Chukwueke came to the US eleven years ago to undergo treatment for massive face tumors and lived in Michigan on an expired visa. He graduated from a state university and wanted to attend a medical school but needed to have permanent residency for that to happen.

Private bills, which only applies to one person and mostly focus on immigration, are rarely approved. Victors is the only one to pass in US Congress in two years.

Neurofibromatosis is a genetic disorder that causes massive life-threatening tumors to the face.

69 comments:

First!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

D other day I was asking what Obama had done so far to help Nigeria bt this major act of his don fall my hand...may soon start rooting for OBAMA!!!!I'm impressed!

Amarachi said...

Thank God for him and for the Nun for helping this young man.God will heal him from this diseases in Jesus name,Amen
To the Doctor and his wife,God blss you loads

Sounds great!!

Good stuff! Happy for him much.

Finally this is the most significant thing he has achieved as d president of america.. Obby u have done well

Success Key said...

May God heal him α̲̅πϑ have a happy stay in the US. We Α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ blessed with knowledge in Nigeria but our government is not encouraging the youth. Let the youth try α̲̅πϑ see the different in this nation

African Sweetheart said...

May God make this man a testimony.

http://africansweetheart.blogspot.co.uk/

Am deeply touched and impressed

I am so happy for Victor and I also thank God for him.

Martins (GlossyMart Tech Gadgets 07037317400 or 08116202737) said...

Obama has just done what a president is suppose to do...at least this will make the nigerian government appreciate him the more

Emmanuel Obarhua said...

That's good to know Linda, keep us updated.

Regards: WorldWebSurfers.com

Eya!good for him,he has suffered enough

Issy

@BlackAngel, look b4 you leap, correcter must be d worst! Where did you see Barrack??

@Blackangel,did u use chewing gum to glue ur eyes wen u r reading it.?She wrote Barack and not Barrack.God will save us from all dis gramarians ohhh...

Ttscchhheeewww,na u even blind pass,werin u see there?

Linda dey gbagaun sha. Smh

Like say him dey 4 naija na begging hin go dey beg! Useless black fools!

Sue said...

read somewhere that this guy as a child was dumped in an evil forest before he was 10 because his parents dint know wat to do with him in the eastern naija, later some good samaritans saw him, took him abroad, he had the best graduating result in school in america then his same mum (still in abject poverty) was invited to come for the graduation ceremony which she attended. God's purpose can never be changed, hope someone is encouraged

26th year old..indeed! Gbagz. Dbanj's wifey.

Lol are you guys kidding me? U correct typos on here also?

I thank God for Victor.."Oluwa is involved" *in dbanj's voice"

Ff @Yellow_pawpaw

AyomidE Adeware said...

Black angel, I think u av neurofribomatosis, are u blind? Can't u see Linda wrote Barack? iTK! Avenue to show d world u know d name....mcheeew!

its funny

Thank God! And this is another old news Linda

Its funny & very Embarrassing.

im so hapi its not one linda,davido,tuface or dbanj dats getin such attention from obama,its a humble sick victor dats tryin to defy all odds nd bcom a med doc wit a permanent resident in america.who said God dosent work in mysterious ways?

Well am reaLly happy for victor !!!notin can stop d love GOD has for u!!!!good health n more blessings to u

God wld heal him 4rm dis in Jesus name.

Mimosa said...

Lindus, abeg neurofibromatosis is not neccesarily life threatenin and its not particular to d face only. Its tumour of nerve cells, and since nerves are located everywhere in the body, the tumours may appear any and everywhere, and most of its damages are due to pressure effect. So Nne, take it easy in ur explanation of medical conditions.tanz

Ace DJ Bentley said...

Great deed from a great African!
May the good lord bless you Obama.

We shall overcome someday in Africa!

dat nun gat d opportunity to go to u.s....hahahah just sayin

God bless america..

When I read his full story I was moved to tears. Imagine his own parents abandoned him because of the diesease at an orphanage & that's how he met the nun. I pray this is just a path 4better things to come in his life @ least the disease didn't affect his brain he grad with 3.82 CGPA in bch

Monkey! Oya use A̶̲̥̅♏‎​ G☺̣̣̥̇ collect ur own permanent visa. Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡.̮Ơ̴̴̴͡ ur head like last#sneezing# xoxo Gail

Oh boi see my ibo broda oh......

They want to use him for expiremental purposes

princess said...

God bless Obama,d doctor,his wife&d Nun.May God heal d guy of d disease permanently.

What has your government done to help you? Smh. Obama go dey tink abt US, he go dey tink abt ur yeye country too. Mschew

Wow! This Victor guy is a symbol of a true role model. I just watched his speech on youtube and he thinks that this illness is a miracle that has helped him achieve his goals in life. Many in his position would have sunk into depression....i mean we all get depressed over material things but this guy? He's a rare gem! May i also mention that in his 11yrs in america his ascent is 100% nigerian! Many of us go visiting for 3wks and ascent will be part of the excess luggage we shop for...lol! God bless Victor Chukwueke.

Wow! This guy is a typical role model. I just watched his speech on youtube and he sees this illness as a miracle which has led him to accomplish his goals in life. Many of us sink into depression over material things! May i also add that after 11yrs in d U S his ascent is still 100% nigerian. Some pple go on 3wks holiday and ascent is part of the excess luggage shopped for...lol! God bless Victor!

Is Obama Nigeria's President? What has your own clueless Jonathan done for Nigeria?

You didn't root for him and he got a second term, what does he need your useless rooting for?

Is Obama Nigeria's President? What has your own clueless Jonathan done for Nigeria?

SMH.

Have Bloglord and Prince Charming been bullied off?

Stale News...*yawns*

Mr/Miss First, congratulations, come and collect award.

When I see people like this I feel so guilty for complaining about the little problems I have. God I thank you for my life, pls heal this young man, there is nothing impossible for You to do.

Valerie.

Heyaaa tnk God for him..see linda post ma comment ooo

Thank God for the nuns.

"MAY soon start?" Siddon der let G-string be wearing you!

i think say na for all nigerians trust us,this country for empty.if it is a white president he would have been deported long ago.

That a good idea.Atlist the young man will recive proper medical attention and also attend medical school.Thank God for his life.

God Bless Obama!
Anon 9:48 I clap for you aspa you carry first position to comment,your first time ever in'it?
Still clapping...

Now this are qualities of a president and leader,obama truly cares for people,not like our own gej who is only interested in fuel subsidy and increasing his kitchen allowance oloshi

May God help him:AMEN

ernie said...

Did u read wot u typd b4 posting it??? Obama hlp nigeria,Ȋ̝̊̅§ it his responsiblity???d man hsnt finshd wit d problms in his country α̲̅πϑ u'r asking wot he has done to help nigeria....b thr waitin fr americans to cm n hlp us,...am dead sure dis same mentality Ȋ̝̊̅§ wot d idiats we hv fr leaders hv as well....always borrowing,seeking aides...rubbish....nigeria wil b saved n salvaged onli by nigerians....havin said dt,its a good deed tho our own government shld b able to care fr us n nt wait fr another foreign 1 to do so

I think he has Neurofibromatosis Type 2, specifically.

i think he has Neurofibromatosis type 2 specifically, rare.

What's the meaning of this? You're first so what? Please grow the fuck up! People like you make me sick.

Obama thank u.

Abeg being first Ȋ̝̊̅§ fun joh! Ah ah, must yu take life too serz?? Abeg loosen up ǎ̜̣̍ bit. Congrats mr/mrs first

Nekky said...

awww. this is so great. thank God for his life and God bless Obama.

Yomslaw said...

Kînî BIG deal sef? ?

bond of peace said...

y should obama help Nigerains?wack.

I'm glad for him. In other news, what do you mean what has Obama done so far for Nigeria?Is he Nigeria's president? Don't go and ask what your president has been doing for you. Nonsense. And what does that other person mean it will make the Nigerian government appreciate him more? What they should be doing is hiding their face in shame for running a country with poor medical services where a child can be abandoned and has to leave the country for medical help. The way Nigerians think ehn...smh

Asqurea said...

Shame to 9ja ledaz

Amen o

xoxotop said...

Thank God , may he heal and bless the young man

pls give info on the charity that helped him at home and abroad. thanks

auto insurance quotes cheapest can get quite costly.
To be honest California vehicle insurance from a carrier that has a proven record of proper servicing of auto insurance quotes cheapest the claims that you can
save. History has shown that drivers with poor
credit are involved in an accident with injuries.

my weblog ... auto insurance (http://philsautoinsurance.com)