Association of Professional Women Bankers Honour Betty Irabor | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 14 November 2011

Association of Professional Women Bankers Honour Betty Irabor

The stylish and inspiring publisher of Genevieve Magazine - Nigeria’s leading lifestyle magazine, Betty Irabor, was awarded at the recently held annual corporate dinner of the Association of Professional Women Bankers which happened on Thursday 27th day of October 2011 at the Oriental Hotel, Lekki, Lagos, Nigeria. 

The glamorous event which had the Lagos State Deputy Governor, Her Excellency Mrs. Adejoke Orelope Adefulire as guest of honour, and award presenter, celebrated Betty as the most accomplished female publisher in the country and a foremost Cancer Awareness Supporter.

“Betty’s numerous works of creating massive breast cancer awareness has helped in saving the lives of many women in this state and beyond,” the Deputy Governor enthused while presenting award to her.
Other organizations and personalities awarded at the event include Union Bank and First Bank of Nigeria as Most Supportive Banks, Nestle Nigeria Plc as Most Supportive Organization, Guarantee Trust Bank as Most Supportive Bank/Organization on Work and Family Life Balance, while Mrs. Mobola Johnson took home the award for the Most Accomplished Female Technocrat in Government  and Miss Fakutiju Mary Oluwafunke scooped the award for Best Overall Student at the 2011 ACIB Induction Exams.

60 comments:

bloglord said...

congrats betty! looking young as ever!

bloglord said...

OMG!!! AM FIRST AGAIN YIPEEE!

bloglord said...

for a lady in her 50s, she sure looks good. thumbs up betty! i love women who take care of themselves properly n not in an overzealous way like rukky sanda.

devour said...

moni can turn anyone to a queen

Kemi Kuku said...

Well deserved!. Genevieve is doing a great job, and her Betty's Pinkball Breast Cancer project is a lifesaver! Congrats Betty!

Kunbi said...

Yipee!! Congrats Betty! You're my role model in the media!

Aalimah Abubakar said...

A big Congrats to Nigeria's longest standing female publisher! Genevieve Magazine is a blessing to Nigerian women

Ádebola said...

Did someone just say 50?? WOW!! Amazing beauty. Black dont crack

Mary Nkem said...

Congrats Betty! Genevieve magazine has inspired me and my family in so many ways. More wisdom dear. Godbless!

She looks gorgeous though,but we Nigerians like hyping people unnecessarily,what has she done to the society that they are giving her an award...mshew

she is ever nice

sakara said...

never believed she could be this pretty....truly money could turn anything around....

Wow! flawless skin

Kemiismyrealname said...

Betty's face looks lopsided. We heard she had a procedure done and the end result was not good. Now it is showing.

Bukola Sanya said...

Congrats Betty! I love your magazine!

Her eyebrows are lovely. How did she get them like that? Stencil? Tattoo?

call a spade a spade and stop lieing. Yall acting like you dont see what i see,

i cant stand fake ppl

and tot he ppl always saying FIRST FIRST - grow the fcuk up and drop all those childishness - 1st for what? mtchewwww

melody said...

Is dis d same betty irabor dat lost her kids in α̩̩̩̩̥​ plane crash sometime ago pls correct me if am wrong

Terry Teddy said...

This massage is for AlICIA. The Queen of this blog. Welcome back to the world of linda blog. We all missed you. Many of us have been asking about you. Welcome dear Alicia. Its well with you IJN Amen. Enjoy your self with this blog.

mama somtee said...

wey the alicia dey ????????? , aunty betty aaabeg try eat small , no forget say you are some pple's role model lol lol , before you be like ikpekere yaba , if you continue like dis na torch we go take find you.

Ifeoma said...

Betty remains one of Nigeria's best entrepreneurs, leading a successful business and inspiring other women to believe in themselves and do the same. Congrats Betty! And thanks for Pinkball Breast Cancer Awareness!

Biola said...

Great woman. Thanks for the breast cancer awareness. Pls keep it up!

fatimah said...

Its good to focus on your calling regardless of what people say. Thanks for leading such a focused life

Mrs. Gloria Ebube said...

Weldone Betty! More blessings in Jesus name!

Sola Falana said...

Your october edition of Genevieve was just 'out of this world!'Can't wait for the nect edition of your magazine. Congrats!

Badmus Shade said...

I hope to run a successful magazine like you someday, Betty! Thanks for coming to speak at Unilag this year, I still cant recover from those touching words of yours. Godbless you!

Mr. Tunde Sanya said...

Always inspired by your MorningDew column and those other inspirational articles in your magazine. Always proud to renew my wife's subsrciption as it has changed her so well. Thanks dear for championing a good course

Esther Ojo said...

Congrats betty! Pls when is your next Pinkball holding? Can't wait!!

Victoria Smart said...

A female running a magazine in Nigeria, despite the harsh realities, for over nine years and still standing! More than a role model to me, thanks for giving us Genevieve, been a blessing to my life. Look forward to meeting you in person someday. Kisses!

Jide Williams said...

Thumbs up Betty! Keep succeeding!

Catherine Okocha said...

Thanks for saving women from Breast cancer. Plsssssssssssss never stop!

Joel said...

Hmmmm strong woman! May God continue to strenghten you

Francesca said...

Yay! My fav publisher! Congrats dear!!

Ibukun Layode said...

May God continue to bless you Betty. Congrats

Lola said...

Weldone Betty, congrats, wish you more! Hugs!!! :-)

at the end of the day its her body o! but i just wish people would realize when make up is wrong or that plastic surgery is not an option

oscar said...

Where is Alicia ,,,, Alicia where are you ... at least you always speak your mind.

SHE'S BEAUTIFUL, BUT THAT HAIR GOTTA GO.
NIGERIAN WOMEN START TAKING BETTER CARE OF YOUR NATURAL HAIR, SO WHEN YOU TAKE YOUR WIG OUT, YOU ACTUALLY HAVE HEALTHY NATURAL HAIR.

I WEAR WEAVES/EXTENSION SOMETIMES BUT MY NATURAL HAIR IS SHOULDER LENGTH. I'VE SEEN TOO MANY NIGERIAN WOMEN THAT THEIR NATURAL HAIR UNDER THE HIDEOUS WIGS IS JUST UNHEALTHY. PUT THE WORK IN AND IT WILL BE WORTH IT.

one word.....BOTOX. I remember when she had it done. shows already.

Hmmmm. Betty Irabor is not a pretty woman. Far from it. Shoulder down, she looks very good.I like her figure. She has done well for herself in that area. And what if she's had cosmetic surgery? I would do it too if I can afford it.

All of you talking about her body, whether she had botox or surgery done, why dont you focus on how she's changing lives thru her exploits and leave her body alone!

CLF said...

Anon November 15, 2011 2:00 AM; totally well said. Same here with yours truly. When i wear my hair people ask me if it's a weave. I have to run my fingers through and they go wow!

Yet she keeps succeeding! Badmouths are meant to be ignored, that's why they remain down. Keep up your great works Betty, I love your spirit!

Donna Bayers said...

50 years? Wow I love your looks Betty! Congrats!

she looks like a drag queen...

mama di mama. enjoy urself o jere

Nike Taiwo said...

I love Betty and Genevieve Magazine. Congrats dear!

Betty Irabor is a beautiful woman from the neck down- figure wise. Hmmmmm for the upper part (face)- No comment! The eyebrows are scary! What angle is that? Overall though and career wise, she has done well so Kudos!

What can I say? I like her BODY looks and the way she carries herself. No doubt she has done well for herself.

linda .....im in lagos i got stuff to sell from the states... my number is 08103206927... been trying to get ur email

WEAVES HAVE NOW BECOME A SECURITY BLANKET FOR NIJA WOMEN...MANY OF THEM LOOK SO BEAUTIFUL WITH THEIR REAL HAIR..AND OUR CLIMATE IS VERY GOOD FOR HAIR...IN AMERICA MAINSTREAM AKATA DON'T EVEN WEAR WEAVES THIS MUCH..ITS JUST THE GHETTO HOODRATS THAT DO...ENOUGH WITH THE UGLY HORSE HAIR WEAVES AND NURTURE YOUR GOD GIVEN BEAUTIFUL HAIR.....

This is anon 2:00am again.

If some Nigerian women need help taking care of their hair like what products to use or how to keep it healthy.
Okay, I've been using Hydratherma products, it works very well for my hair and I love it. One of the major problems with our hair is, it gets easily dry, frizzy and has split ends.

Don't be scared to trim your hair, trim those dry/split ends because that is what is hindering it from growing or being healthy. Non black women do it all the time, so don't worry about it being shorter because trimming it will keep it healthy. Once your hair is healthy, it will grow.

Moisturize your hair like how you do to your skin. What happens when you don't moisturize your skin, its dry and ashy, that's the same with our hair. I use coconut oil, it softens it and smells good. If you don't want to use that find good oil, to keep it soft, moist and shiny.

I notice a lot of Nigerian women wear wigs which should be easier to do since you can take it out anytime. It's important for women to know how to at least braid your own hair. I'm talking about when you wash it, and you cut your hair into small parts to moisturize it from the scalp to the tip of the hair. Try to do it every two weeks.

I'm not against wearing wigs or weaves, but it's also VERY IMPORTANT to take care of your own natural hair. When you have healthy natural hair, the attachment to wig or weaves will reduce. You can wear your hair in twist, you can do different styles to it. I've seen too many Nigerian women, young and old who are enslaved to their wigs because you are too lazy to put the work in. Yes, it's laziness. If you can put all that time into looking good, your skin and what you wear, you can also put the time into taking care of your hair. And trust me, it's not that hard or complicated.

Don't forget vitamins. I use biotin 5000mcg and there are couple of healthy vitamins specifically for hair. I haven't used one that worked well but when I do find one, I will share it.

People tell me, you have better texture, you have good soft hair, but my hair is this and that. Trust me, if I don't take care of mine, it will look unhealthy too. So, all the good hair, baby hair, soft texture, long hair compliment I get on my hair came from the effort, work i put into it. It didn't automatically happen.

NIGERIAN/BLACK WOMEN, OUR HAIR WILL NEVER BE LIKE NON BLACK WOMEN'S HAIR, SO WHY DON'T WE ALL SIMPLY ACCEPT/EMBRACE WHAT WE HAVE AND TAKE CARE OF IT TO OUR BEST ABILITY. SO, WHEN WE ARE TRYING TO HAVE THE KARDASIAN OR BEYONCE HAIR TO HAVE A CERTAIN LOOK, I HOPE YOUR NATURAL HAIR UNDERNEATH IS HEALTHY. GOD DON'T MAKE MISTAKES. WHEN WE START LOVING, ACCEPTING/EMBRACING OURSELVES MORE, PEOPLE WILL LOVE US MORE, EVEN OUR BLACK MEN.

Dear Anonyomous who is yapping about weaves and wigs....aBEG! Let us hear word!

naijababe said...

Dear anon 8:15pm get lost then. you don't have to read what she wrote.

I learned one or two things from what she wrote. Yes, I wear wigs but my natural hair is not that good underneath because I don't know how to care for it. But I need to start taking better care of it.

Love and resect to this lady for her persistence in the harsh world of publishing, for a her cancer awareness work and for doing something positive with fame in the media.
On a different note, her insecurity in her body is appalling. Some food will do her good and she should take it easy with all this cosmetic touch ups.

sleekreek said...

@Annon Nov 15, 8:10pm......its not compulsory u read what she wrote......u can leave ur hair unkept and remain a slave to weaves and wigs,,,,,i use weaves and wigs too but i cherish my natural hair so much and i have learnt more tips from what that lady wrote on how to have a healthier hair.......

Blair said...

Thank you, anon 6:55pm

I'm using Tresemme but still not getting the result I want. So, I'm gonna try the hydratherma products.
I hate cutting my hair cuz don't want it to be shorter. I went to the hair dresser the other day, she cut so much from my hair. I was so pissed, cussed her out too. I ain't gon lie, even though my hair is shorter, my hair strands is healthier. I will try to moisturize it every two weeks.

CLF said...

Blair; My hairdresser said Tresemme doesn't work with black hair. If it has worked for anyone with black hair, they are just lucky.

[url=http://www.giantsjerseys-store.com/tyler-sash-new-york-giants-39-game-blue-women-nike-nfl-jersey-p-193]Sash Game Jersey[/url]

Always have access to a obvious eyesight connected to just what exactly program plans you need to clamber together with of which journey you must[url=http://www.giantsjerseys-store.com/kids-rueben-randle-new-york-giants-white-jersey-82-game-nike-nfl-jersey-p-431]Randle NIKE Game Jersey[/url]
consider to have so that you can where exactly you'll want to be. Just like almost any trip, this avenue might adjust when you are shopping with an adult, on the other hand i suggest you be informed on your current options. Is really most of this specific operate worth it you could ask? Nicely an awesome technique expert really should be generating not less than $1m U . S GREENBACK yearly whenever they are typically operating individually. Method professionals doing the job in the major capacity may possibly crank out at least double this particular number.
http://www.giantsjerseys-store.com/

[url=http://www.giantsnikejerseysshop.com/nike-game-nfl-blue-mens-jersey-bear-pascoe-jersey-new-york-giants-86-p-130]Bear Pascoe Mens Jersey[/url]

Antacids are generally secure within just being pregnant since that regarding combine the exact placenta into the child's blood flow. Having said that, antacids which has salt (salt bicarbonate) may cause fruit juice preservation. Light weight aluminum which contains antacids can constipation connected with being pregnant more painful. Magnesium may lessen the pace of your energy. These kind of drugs are working Elegance[url=http://www.giantsnikejerseysshop.com/david-wilson-new-york-giants-34-game-blue-women-nike-nfl-jersey-p-190]http://www.giantsnikejerseysshop.com/David-Wilson-New-York-Giants-34-Game-Blue-Women-NIKE-NFL-Jersey-p-190[/url]
Your. This particular sets were being set decrease with the FDA in just 1979 and therefore are connected to stability customer page and also achievable injury for the true foetus. Class Your is actually safe inside of being pregnant.
http://www.giantsnikejerseysshop.com/