Quote of the Year: IBB on Power | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 17 August 2011

Quote of the Year: IBB on Power

"I heard Obasanjo's government spent $17billion on power, if I had such amount when I was President, I would not only provide adequate power but will build a nuclear power station... $1 was N10 during my time, how I wish it was N120, Nigerians would have seen wonders." - General Ibrahim Babangida

Did I say quote of the year? It should be quote of the decade! *Can't stop laughing*

39 comments:

Kazman said...

I have no love for Babangida, but that quote is incorrect. We should always try and get the facts right. For one, he didn't say he wished the naira rate to a dollar during his time was N120. He said he wished the price of crude during his time as president was as it is now and that he would have performed wonders with it. Whether one of those wonders involves a disappearing act, I don't know.

OmogeNaija said...

With dues respect Mallam IBB, you are in no way comparable to Baba Iyabo, you couldn't have done better than him in Power, he did much more than you in other things. such a mindless talk, even @ 70

linda pls feed us wit entertainment news.i think i prefer that than IBB and OBANSANJO wahala

THATS THE RENOWNED DRIBBLER (MARADONA) OF NIGERIAN POLITICS SPEEAKING..WAT A SHAME

A case of thief thief thief...why him D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ complain.This man is an all time player..full of crap and lies..what did he do during his tenure?use SAP to defraud us all. Obj and Ibb they are all fraudsters of different magnititude..lie Йą lie whether Йą white or black..thief Йą thief..

CLF said...

The freefall started with him.....

He should get lost. Shouldn't he just be thanking God that he's alive at 70? SMHISM

I BELIEVE IN IBB HE IS ONE OF THE BEST LEADER WE HAVE EVER HAD IN NIGERIA HE DEVELOPED OUR INFRASTRUCTURE,DESPITE HAVING UNVERIFIED HISTORY OF CORRUPTION, HE WAS FAR BETTER THAN OBJ.HE HAS A CHARISMA I CAN DIE FOR ANY DAY THAT IS WHY ALL OTHER LEADERS IN NIGERIA RESPECT HIM ALOT. HAPPY 70TH BIRTHDAY TO MY ICON IBB..

THEY SHOULD ENCOURAGE DIS FELLOW

mamabussy said...

Look, let all this old men who have sucked Nigeria dry shut their trap..What is the difference between IBB and OBJ? Was it not the same IBB that brought him in to power....Please you guys should bury your faces in shame. You have all failed us......

Is he running out of fuel money for his generator.? Why is he just remembering that we have no power.

Hmmmm.......IBB should say something else jare...the economy commenced the series of setbacks we re facing today. That's actually to put it lightly.

orange said...

yeye dey smell. The $12.6b gulf oil windfall he gotshould have been used to power the whole of west Africa now. Instead heused the money to buy household items including DVD players. People like IBB should just keep their traps shut and not add to the stress and headache of sane people. He was there for eight years and all we see is the third mainland bridge. We are blessed with shameless leaders in Nigeria.I believe old age and loneliness has set in. If not, what is the difference between $17b and $12.6b. Mchew. Danbanza (Whatever that means)

applause said...

even at 70, this guy is still beguiled, I taught they said a fool at 40 is one for ever, what of one @ 70.......IBB was the worst thing that ever happened to Nigeria. when will you bow out gracefully if not it will be disgracefully....IBB go you are no longer relevant to the NAIJA of today, spent bullet, that is what you are.

KELE GOLDMIND said...

kazman, I gbadu ur post here, orange , u try too, ..am killing myself with laughter here, ...These leaders has ran out of Ideas and are focusless too! ...when will a good fruit come out of this bad trees?

Nonsense,the value of $12b he stole den is far greater than today $100b.plz IBB shut the crab.thief na thief..Beside, this stupid IBB introduce n legalise corruption, if not for IBB dere will neva be OBJ in 1999..so mallamm IBB ,Nigerians r not fool,i dont see u or ur next generation winnin any free n fair election outside Niger state.mshhhhhhhhh

IBB is campaigning for 2015. At least the OBJ era gave us mass mobile telephony.

The selfish generator dealers would not allow energy or electricity revolution in Nigeria.

Chibuzor said...

Sometimes I wonder when some of these men who call themselves our leaders will stop deluding themselves. Much as I am not really a fan of OBJ, his record of performance as well as his shortcomings are there for all to see. Crude as OBJ may be, he is no where near as devious as IBB. IBB should stop living in a fools' paradise. His is nothing but an illusion of managerial competence and brilliance that has absolutely no foundation. He foisted on the nation, the worse experience that we will ever know of - letter bomb, murdering of innocent people on contrived coup charges, annulment of a free election, institutionalization of corruption, emasculation of Nigerian civil institutions, the bastardization of our civil service and judiciary etc. He should go live out the rest of his life in shame

Sophie said...

I remember a Nigeria where there was no power faliure, It was some time in the early 80's when the military took over power that it became very obvious, Shagari, IBB and every goverment after him including obasanjo should be punished for crimes against humanity. How dare IBB say that he would have built a nuclear power, what did he do when he was in power but totally destroy the country with corruption and moral decay....I pray they all recieve there due reward for all they have done. They could never get away with it in another country.

babe said...

AM SURE HE MEANT THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN MORE MONEY TO STEAL...HA HA HA HA

humm, wonders shall never end, the most dangerious man on heart talking, can u just imagine?its like devil himself advicing Lucifer.he shld just shut his sticking mouth jare, i hated that man his a passion. were ma ni man yi ke...

APROKO said...

talking crap at his age....huh!

1976AD.com said...

IBB loves distorting history. Was the first Gulf War not during his time? Did the price of Oil not go up?

Oga Sir, what happened to the revenue?

Goes to show how brainless our leaders are..."how I wish that $1 was equivalent to #120 in my time". Lord help us!!! How is that wish supposed to help the nation when our currency would have worth worse than toilet paper. Am sure Jonathan will wish for the same in a statement twenty years from now talking about "how I wish that $1 was worth #1200 in 2011, nigerians would have seen wonders"!! SMDH....

Agbo, Sixtus Onyekachi said...

When IBB was in power, he was the military head of state. then his governance was autocratic. he does whatever he wants at his own will. therefor its not same in the civillian govt. so if he had handled same amount of money as Obasanjo did, he would have been the worst. there are other better Nigerians out there with good leadership qaulities. IBB should please step aside and give room for others that have not tasted power.

nich said...

nigeria would still pay for not voting in mallam nuhu ribadu.................

expecting light.....in nija....not in this generation

pot calling kettle black...........i cant wait for this old theives and their generation to die and lets talk about young generation leader who are ready to do exploit. ant you guys tired of their stories? the same stories every day with the same actors (thieves).linda please talk about obama since we no get anyone to talk about here......at least that fit give man moral boost.

Kay said...

Laughing with my ass (LWMA)
LWKMD!!!
Chimpanzee dey call baboon wowo animal, chimpanzee which one you dey ?? You both contributed in making Naija the failed state and pariah nation it is regarded as today. So please shut your dirty trap!

You have made history as one of the richest but most corrupt leaders in Nigeria. I am sure your great grand-children will be proud of you in theit time when they read about you in history books then.

Linda, please give us some news about young achievers like your self, not some old, corrupt, disillusioned, egotistical shthead.
SMH.

Why do we nigerians prefer name calling to dealing headlong with d issues before us...Dude just told us what he cudda done if things were the other way round...least we should do is humour him...

Prism of an Immigrant said...

What amazes me is that these old agbayas still have admirers and an audience that listen to and believe their garbage. Amnesia is really a self-destructive disease.

But IBB,you had your own Billions of dollars as well or have you forgotten 12.6 Billion dollars oil windfall during gulf war..... and what did you do with that too. You all have affected our generation negatively, you should be ashamed of yourselves.

U knw y I laugh when I see this people. They think Nigeria belongs to them and we are fools,our people are not fools,wht have IBB done on his tenure notting Obasanjo the same.Remember $6billon they swallow no one has ever question them abt tht. everyday things are getting worst for our poor citizens. in Uk an MP is been jail for £200,talk more of this amount. Goodluck jonathan an his administrator keeps writing rubbish on facebook.Imagine in 21st century he still talks abot kerosine to people.this is absolutely rubbish,Nigerians need steady light not prize reduction on kerosene,our people are hardworking they don't rely on benefit like some other youths in someother nations, give them steady light they can feed from the works of there hand,Minimum wage b4 was £20 a month and it was take up to £70 and some governor opens there mouth to stay is too much,what a hell,an average worker in the Uk lives on £50 per day.we have such enough,our citizen scatter in malawi,mali malayasia even poor somalia,tell me what are they doing there. They are running from hardship.life are not secured,no good road,strike here and there.my fellow Nigeria needs to benefit from there natural gift from God too.plz linda I ll like u to share this so my fellow Nigerians will see that we are far behind and we got a long journey.thanks for ur updates

We still have $32 billion missing.
Pray sir, return it.

Thanks in advance

Yeah, he will do wonders, meaning he will have more money to embezzle and squander

This dude is a certified FOOL.

Akin said...

Good talk, with the naira at the rate it was, or the crude oil the rate it was, how much of the Delta peoples' blood did it cost, to build the "mansion on the hill," IBB's major accomplishment. God is a forgiving God, Nigerians are Godly, so you can stand up and still throw us "BS".

@IBB ban buru gu wa shege! Which day this man go die sef? I don tire for im mumurity.

*ajalahtravel*

ever wondered why's cald Maradona?he dribbles a lot!

www.letnaijahear.blogspot.com

so this guy na dunce. didnt know before. just realized it, with this comment he made. tot he was quite smart. smh. lol

Nkili said...

this guy is highly delusional or he must think all Nigerians suffer form amnesia. Old fool!
Nkili

deekay gburu gburu said...

The Guy is an Idiot, and not that i think OBJ is any better, but IBB please, when next you are talking about prices, please endeavor to consider factors like inflation. my bet is that things are more expensive now compared with your time when set against present purchasing power. what was the exchange rate for a dollar in 1986 Nigeria compared to now you bloody fool of a man. In the Nigerian context, how much was Agege bread in 1986 compared to the same size and quantity now, i bet u the price has gone up a 1000%. This idiots believe they can just wake up and tell us any rubbish they like. IBB and Olu Falae and the IMF just came in and destroyed our Country with their useless SAP program. Meanwhile the same people that figured we could reduce government spending by cutting jobs and reducing infrastructural developments, are the same people that recommended increased spending for America during their own recession. God go punish IBB for the condition him put Naija today.