Pastor Taiwo Odukoya explains wife's early delivery | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 15 September 2010

Pastor Taiwo Odukoya explains wife's early delivery

Pastor Odukoya married his South African wife in January, seven and a half months later in August, she delivered a baby boy amid speculation she was pregnant before they got married. Addressing the issue in Church last week, Pastor Odukoya explained the circumstances that led to the untimely birth of his new baby. He said "I was in England when my wife's emergency call came. She insisted the doctor wanted to see me. I flew to Johannesburg, South Africa immediately. When I got there, the doctor insisted they had to take the baby out. I was wondering and asking God why August, why this time? I battled God severally, but we had no choice than to yield to the doctor's advice. Two days after I got there, they brought the baby out. It was an emergency but God helped us. The baby is doing very well. God has disgraced those counting days for us."

Well, you've heard it from the horse's mouth...:-)

Source: Encomium magazine.

66 comments:

"God has disgraced"??? hiss!!!!

ok...i guess the "disgrace those counting the days for us" comment is supposed to shut everyone up abi? Yeah...well, if pastors didn't judge so much, then maybe we can all live and let live. May God have mercy on all of us. Amen

Dont really know what 2 say about this I guess only God knows those that truly serving him....P.S. I think he shouldn't have bothered explaining...kinda sounds a lil guilty 2 me..just saying...

Smh..who asked him for statement??

Keep lying to yourself Taiwo cos there's no guarantee we'll believe you!

You (and others) know very well that the both of you had a special place in London where you "got together"...long before marriage!

I can't stand these "do as I say, not as I do" MOG!

Prism of an Immigrant said...

Did he really need to put out an official statement about this issue? I don't know. I don't know if his explanation will pacify the doubters. If he was having premarital sex or whatever, that is HIS business. He would give account to God, not us.

http://lookingglassofanimmigrant.blogspot.com/

what an excuse! emergency ko state of desperation ni!
The simple truth is that they ferked ahead of time and this is the result!

Nigerian Film and TV Addict said...

yeh yeh i knew it was premature but his statement is wrong...just wrong for a christian and supposed man of God.

kris said...

i'm not very comfortable with this union, maybe it's 'cause i'm not in it, i still think it's too soon after her death sha.

Lmao...hahahhaha very very funny...why does he feel the need to explain...lol .Weither his wife was pregnant or not. Before they got married is between him and his God.....lol

Kim Jong Il, North Korea. said...

So, is this so-called "man of God" saying that the baby was born premature or is he being "clever" with the truth??? His church people must be stupid and dumb to still listen to his sermon. They should chase him out of town or walk out on him. If the baby was born premature, by how many months early? I don't feel he's telling the truth. I feel he's verbally fornicating with the truth :) "God has disgraced" .... "disgrace those counting the days for us" ....and he's supposed to be a man of God with a backward mind like that??? Instead of him to make a clear and truthful statement, he resorted to subterfuge, smoke screen, magic circle abracadabra and invented imaginary “enemies”, just to avoid being truthful. Na wah for Naija. His lie stinks like dog shit. Thunder fire him head and his head and his lying mouth. People like him make me want to be a pagan, moon, star and lightening worshipper. Jesus, please, save me from your "followers." :)

linda thanks for all the news you post in your blog... it means a lot to those of us in the diaspora
wendu

Billionaire News said...

Some people make their living, hating on others. God bless u, pastor.

I was wondering and asking God why August, why this time? I battled God severally,

Wild Boy said...

Amen, "God HAS DISGRACED those counting days for them"...i feel only enemies need respond! Happy for you sir..though i really miss pastor bims!Nothing- no one compares!

Who cares??
It is between him, her and God.
At the end of the day, there is a God in heaven.
That is all that matters.

SOLA said...

Amen... a resounding one at that@ ANON10:12pm

Alabi Oluwasegun Leo said...

Justified.

YOUR EXPLANATION HAS ONLY AROUSED MY CURIOSTY. LET US SEE THE PICTURE OF THE BABY AT BIRTH AND DETERMINE IF IT IS PREMATURE/EMERGENCY, WHATEVER.
GOD HAS DISGRACED HIM FOR HIS INFIDELITY AND HOLIER THAN THOU PREACHING. PASTOR BIM, RIP BEAUTIFUL ONE.

Violet said...

Is it not possible that his wife had a premature birth? Being a pastor does not make anyone immortal. I know alot of people that had premmies. I almost had my baby taken out before 40wks. so it's very very possible.

It's well wit u linda, leave men of God alone b4 u r struck down with thunder & lightening. It's not 4 u to judge, after all u r not a saint yourself and Pastor Taiwo had to say this becos of pple like u and your followers on ds blog. u r beginning to miss ur focus. Who knows the man of God u will attack next. Used to respect u alot but i dont know what 2 think of you anymore, its well it u!

As a lot of people have said....everything is between him, his wife and God. I don't think this his statement was necessary.

It is very possible though that he may be telling the truth if the baby was born in South Africa. I should know cos i am a neonatologist on the other side of the Atlantic. A full term baby is 37-40 weeks(9 months)gestation but baby's can survive in intensive care units(and do every day) from age of 23-24 weeks gestation (i.e. 6 months and 2 weeks).

So maybe, just maybe what we should do is give him the benefit of the doubt. He and his family MAY actually need our good wishes and prayers cos maybe the baby is still in intensive care, on life support etc (but still doing otherwise well as he alluded to)....just some food for everyone's thought.

Linda Ikeji said...

@anon 10:52...are u alright? why are u attacking me? Did i say anything? I just gave an update on the issue so what's with thunder and lightening striking u?

jobsfornaija said...

lol, abeg i no know oh. na him and God know best sha.

anon 10:52 is a misguided goat, i see that shame is eaten deep

As for this Pastor, i really believe you - NOT!!!

You chop pussy w'out realising the circumstances, you come marry am quick qick to cover up - who has God disgraced? keep lying to ya sef as you can never deceive God.

marilyn said...

pastor who ask u

Thanks for sharing this Linda.
it's a tad sad to see that the overwhelming response to the pastor's statement (only a portion of which is available on Linda's blog) is so negative. I really wonder why as human beings we are more ready to believe the worst about people than to give them the benefit of doubt. The other day i told someone i had stayed a virgin until i got married last year at the age of 31. The cynicism in her voice could cut glass - she just refused to believe that a successful beauty queen could have stayed celibate for so long. I use my example simply to suggest that it is very possible that as anonymous 10:52 (the neonatologist) said, it could well be that what this couple need now are prayers for a baby whose life hanges in the balance because he was born so pre-term.

Linda Ikeji said...

The child is not in intensive care or anything of the sort. the baby is with the mum in sa and has already been christened Haniel Oluwatimilehin Odukoya

To all, I just feel like singing the old Ebenezer Obey's favorite oldies "Ko sogbon to leda, ko siwa to le hu, to le fi te aye lorun o. Translation - No matter what you do, what step you take, if you speak or keep quiet, you never can please everybody. Also, Pastor Taiwo addressed his church members, in his church, not the press. So leave him alone, God is the judge of us all.

A preemie already home less than a month after birth? Wow supernatural healing indeed. Abeg Pastor Taiwo, go and sit down, we do not believe you.

Nigerian Film and TV Addict said...

linda don't mind those ppl telling u thunder will strike u...why hasn't thunder struck all those pastors and men of God who insult and judge ppl in their church wen they are not "pure"...wat u r putting on ur blog is the truth and u r brave....this rubbish has got to stop...ppl worshipping their pastors and what not.

TKB's thoughts said...

The Lord know those that are His, Methinks a premature Baby should still be in Intensive Care not with mum, I believe his explanations are unnecessary, it further fuels suspicion...

pls tell that guy to stop lying...get a better story. 7 and half months after marriage, your wife gave birth, that can only mean that you slept with her before marriage. Even if your child was delivered pre-mature, it took your wife at least 1 month to conceive after you guys got married, take that out, your child was delivered after 6 and half months on conception.....???????? Dont dare God by placing a curse on the innocent child with your lies, just do the simple easy thing, admit where you've erred, ask for forgiveness and do ahead and live your life.......stop lying

Anon 10:11 said...

lol!!Whatever explanation he gave, no one would believe him!!

but for real sa, we are always ready for other peoples downfall and ready to laugh at them and prove them wrong!I am guilty of this as well, as i commented earlier.

kim said...

i cant stop nodding... i cldnt help but comment; when i asked a church member y he got married so quickly, dey defended with d chase of single women. sad thing is d woman is also a minister. anon 10:52, please leave linda alone - even if she spread d word, and thank you for throwing more light on premature births. the only challenge is ds child is at home, wich explains y the marriage was in such a rush, i pray God forgives him for puttin us all in a position to question his actions and attitude, and forgive us for questionin it; he should have just kept quiet, dis explanation is unfair to all who truly worship God under his ministry

kim said...

i cant stop nodding... i cldnt help but comment; when i asked a church member y he got married so quickly, dey defended with d chase of single women. sad thing is d woman is also a minister. anon 10:52, please leave linda alone - even if she spread d word, and thank you for throwing more light on premature births. the only challenge is ds child is at home, wich explains y the marriage was in such a rush, i pray God forgives him for puttin us all in a position to question his actions and attitude, and forgive us for questionin it; he should have just kept quiet, dis explanation is unfair to all who truly worship God under his ministry

Gam said...

Why the MOG had to make a statement is beyond me, if he didn't feel guilty. Goodluck to them

I am not one to judge any one cos we r all human beings weather ur a pastor or u and Jesus eat from d same plate. But still if that child was not put in an incubator after being born, every J.S.S 3 student will knw that he fucked his wife b4 the wedding. he should have just shut up. dont knw why he has to justify him self to any one. that just makes him look very silly.

Joohls said...

ah ah Pastor, you don't have to explain yourselves. some of us really don't care!

Linda i ve warned u b4 o,leave men of God aloneeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!Titi

skankmypeaceofmind said...

this is just some reputation cleansing PR statement from a desperate man who knows deep down inside of him he has dented the image he so tried to make pious and faithful and what not.
if the baby arrived early then he should have being in the ICU and put in an incubator or maybe its just me that doesn't believe in the power of a "miracle" that we all know happened months prior due to the fact that the MOG was horny as hell and so needed to you know what

yemmy said...

Why are some people on here so bitter? leave him and his family alone please..Mr and Mrs Odukoya, I wish you the best in your marriage..God bless you.

Esther said...

Na wah o. Linda, you even gave update that the child is not in ICU and has been christened...

Anyway, I won't join issues. People can calculate, man of God can explain, and people can say it's because he's guilty, and all what not.

The most important thing is that a new child has been born. She is healthy and well as far as we've been told. May God keep her and may she increase in stature, wisdom and in favour with God and men.

As for all of us - man of God, commentators, commenters, Linda, and all in between and far off - may God's mercy through Jesus Christ help us to enter the kingdom of God.

Praising or condemning a person - whether man of God or woman of unbelief - does not get us credit points anywhere.

Mena UkodoisReady said...

People have the right to express their opinions, surely? If you dont like what you read, why not go and read your bible than follow an open and honest blog?? na wa

// i am a neonatologist on the other side of the Atlantic. A full term baby is 37-40 weeks(9 months)gestation but baby's can survive in intensive care units(and do every day) from age of 23-24 weeks gestation (i.e. 6 months and 2 weeks).//

// Blogger Linda Ikeji said...

The child is not in intensive care or anything of the sort. the baby is with the mum in sa and has already been christened Haniel Oluwatimilehin Odukoya

September 16, 2010 12:48 PM//

Dont know why truth is not found in 'holy and righteous' Nigeria, when it is openly found in 'sinful' UK and U.S???

The irritating thing about it all is that he must have stood righteous before other couples raising his lips to condemn them publicly. Anyway if ppl can lie comfortably, then stealing, fornicating etc are small things!

Well to be fair, admitting that he fornicated and asking his congregation to understand might affect his bank balance. Or dont you know that hefty bank balances and sexual needs are more important than the truth& word of God? (sarcasm)

LOL, what makes it funnier is that (apart from dont fornicate) they also advice people not too divorce and they themselves get married after divorce. sex is so sweet right? no wahala but dont make yourself seem better than everybody else who is 'knowing' their partner.lol

Church ko easy rara, cus sometimes one partner acts holier than the universe, while she knows who she has at home.

Finally disgrace? tut tut! m.o.g or rather god of men use such words??

This is just the beginning, more and more revelations will occur and the truth will finally come out.

Lets just stop bowing to god of men and keep reading our own bibles and working out our own salvation.

AND HYPOCRITES SHALL ABIDE. Some people drop comments condemning Linda for putting up these stories about MOG, if YOU DO NOT LIKE IT DO NOT READ HER POST. It’s like Nigeria is the vatican where the men of God are beyond reproach, they cannot be scrutinised and treated like mortals (Blood runs through their veins). With the amount of churches and MOG in Nigeria, the country would have been the most prosperous and peaceful country in the entire universe but it is not so; instead we see the MOG living the luxurious life and their followers as paupers. It is a case of Bourgeois and the Proletariat

OK!

But...methinks the devout "Pastor Taiwo Odukoya" doth explains too much hence got something to hide..

BTW God's answer to "why Lord in August why?" = baby due date, dear pastor baby due date..

It's not rocket science.

ejike emmanuel said...

I know that anything that borders on religion will always generate controversy and debate so let me quickly get in on it.
We all are made in the image of God, God is a judge so why cant i judge someone if my gift of descernment, which God gave 2 me tells me dat person is wrong? As 4 those of u dat say i judge peeps cos i say what i feel, aren't u judgeing me by saying i judge others? I know a man of God that frequently goes 2 somebody i know to have his phone updated with porn of all types on a regular. So bcos he is a man of God i shouldn't say he's wrong? 4 goodness sake, we all are human being, man of God or no man of God and if u feel the other person has fellen hand, u simply say so cos u are entitled to ur opinion. By the way, Linda wasn't judging, she only typed what she read. Tank u.

You guys should let sleeping dogs lie! this is a man of God we are talking about here! why not allow God be the judge? Even if they slept together before marriage, they may have asked for forgiveness and because He is God, He might have forgiven them. please leave them alone.DO NOT JUDGE SO YOU WILL NOT BE JUDGED!

NOTE: Im not a member of his church but im a born again christian who knows understands what the Bible says about TOUCH NOT MY ANNOITED, DO MY PROPHETS NO HARM.

Again, Linda i'm one of your biggest fans, my day is not complete without visiting your blog.i know you are doing what you are good at, but publish good stories about men of God. God bless you.

Thankyou Esther, biko you don talk am!

Can we say, "guilty conscience"?

I don't know which is worse having premarital sex or lying about it.

Abeg go repent and stop giving lame excuses that only stupid people will believe.

No big deal, everyone sin but when you start doing the opposite of what you preach, that's the problem. It's better to face your congregation with the truth or keep ur mouth shut.

52 comments on this post!yet the babaginda post has not even half of this..misplaced priorities pple

1) He married so soon? That was so soon to people?
We expect a lot from ministers and yet we are the first to accuse them. He waited years .... how can anyone decide for anyone if that was too soon.
2) He is a quite public minister and I think its appropriate that he sent out the message he did. Is anyone reading between the lines that with his actions, he is not condoning premarital sex. Even if he did it, at least he is not leaving it fallow for young believers to say abeg our pastor did it nad kept quiet?
3) Why oh why are we so quick to believe the very worst about people and to judge.

Kim Jong Il, North Korea said...

LINDA, AS LONG AS YOU DID NOT DEFAME ANYONE OR BREAK ANY LAW, DON'T ALLOW ANYONE TO CENSOR WHAT YOU POST ON YOUR BLOG. YOU DID NOT FORCE THEM TO READ THE POST. WHOEVER DON'T LIKE WHAT YOU POST, MAKE HIM OR HER TAKE A RUNNING JUMP INTO LAGOON or ANY OTHER VERY DEEP, DIRTY, DARK, VERY DARK AND HORRIBLY NASTY RIVER.

all this born after pastors majority of them are hypocrite. him they pansh him woman before them marry and he is out with this cork and bull story of early delivery what nawa oh!!!!!! Well he will not be the first and last to preach adultery!!!!!!

How are we not sure because of the pregnancy that his why he married the woman

Formerly stealth reader said...

Kim Jong Il NorthKorea...........i agree with your first comment. while i am a christian and i dont want to judge, i do notice the smoke screen tactics like you said.
he wasnt clear in the statement, if the baby was premature he could have said it. simple.
instead he said it was an emergency, emergencies can occur with babies that are full term and i am a medical student, i should know!
this statement? bad idea, he should have just shut his mouth and settled things with God because even a person with a pea nut sized brain can see his statement is riddled with ambiguity.

hehehe......look at all the judges on this topic......

...Let he who is not a sinner...cast the First stone.......

Judge not so that YOU are not judged.......

ALL YOU 'JUDGES' please CARRY the massive log from ur eyes before looking at the speck in Pastor Taiwos.....

Enough said!

PLEASE STOP IT!!!

C'mon now, that baby ain't pre mature. He just trying cover up for what he did...he knows, he's wrong.

First, wife passed away, people are wondering why marry soon and then all of a sudden boom, IT'S A BABY! I'm against abortion so it's good they kept it.

I understand it's hard to explain to people that pastors are human and their hormones get out of control too. And, some of you guys are freaks and gotta release.

I was reading a book by a Nigerian pastor about sex and marriage. He was saying all these good stuff. But then, we found out he was shacking it up with a lady he's not even married to. They broke up, and the lady put his business all out there. She said he's a freak and a sex addict...hehehe

I am utterly speechless!, Im seriously wondering what'l become of our society if we're all so full of hate, skepticism and negativity...
He explained the situation b'cos of several pple who wld be interested in finding out why?... especially church members... if he had kept quiet, pple wld still have been negative...
Those who know say it was a miracle that the delivery was safe for both mother and child...
Since we'll rather be negative than open and objective, I do hope that when the tables are turned and you need someone to believe in you and stand up for you, there'll at least be one person there for you...
Cheers all!

I am utterly speechless!, Im seriously wondering what'l become of our society if we're all so full of hate, skepticism and negativity...
He explained the situation b'cos of several pple who wld be interested in finding out why?... especially church members... if he had kept quiet, pple wld still have been negative...
Those who know say it was a miracle that the delivery was safe for both mother and child...
Since we'll rather be negative than open and objective, I do hope that when the tables are turned and you need someone to believe in you and stand up for you, there'll at least be one person there for you...
Cheers all!

@ anon 1:46pm, if he was gonna come out with a fat lie like that to his congregation like they are little kids then he would have just kept his mouth shut.

Nothing wrong with pastors sinning but keep it real with your congregation so they can all know that pastors are not perfect and that's why they need our prayers.

I dont know whose business it is.. The problem with you all is that you focus on Pastors as your god rather than focusing on God. My niece was a preme and sbe was only in the hospital for 3weeks so a preme diesnt have to be in the hospital forever.... Leave his relationship wit God and concentrate on yours

Speechless, speechless, thats how this makes me feel! As i am reading i am lost for words, that's how this makes me feel! Helpless, helpless.....

A 10-man committee should be set-up to look into the near and remote cause of this amazing miracle! The committee should be reflective of our federal character and should have a minimum of 10 weeks to sit and come up with an explanation for this and proffer solutions going forward!

OMO JESU said...

i am just reading this for the first time.what is the difference between an adulterer,a gossip,a liar,a rumour monger etc.Before GOD ALMIGHTY they are all the same.no one as the right to judge Pastor Taiwo because he could have been telling the truth and most importantly men of GOD needs alot of prayers rather than criticisms.They are more prone to spiritual attacks because the devil hates the gospel.most importantly JESUS CHRIST IS COMING SOON.IT'S REAL!!PLEASE WORK OUT YOUR SALVATION WITH FEAR AND TREMBLING.ACCEPT JESUS TODAY FOR THOSE THAT HAVE NOT AND WORK TOWARDS MAKING HEAVEN."BEHOLD,HE COMETH LIKE A THIEF IN THE NIGHT".SHALOM!