Nigeria's Minister of Finance, Mr. Olusegun Aganga, emerges World Bank chairman | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 2 May 2010

Nigeria's Minister of Finance, Mr. Olusegun Aganga, emerges World Bank chairman

MINISTER of Finance, Mr. Olusegun Aganga, in Washington D.C. has emerged as the new Chairman of the Board of World Bank and International Monetary Fund, BWIs, after a keenly contested election. 

The move was a follow-up to the recent parley between Acting President Goodluck Jonathan and top management of the world financial body during his last visit to the United States, US.

Aganga told journalists at the meeting in Washington DC that the new appointment had further demonstrated the important role Nigeria plays in the global economic front.

He said: “As you are aware, Nigeria was elected as the chairman, board of the BWIs for the 2010 during the 2009 annual meeting held in Istanbul, Turkey. I am delighted to inform you that I have since assumed the responsibility of that office.” 

The minister said the appointment was “a unique opportunity to serve” noting that such opportunities come once in every 20 to 30 years. 

Source: Vanguard Newspaper

6 comments:

so does that mean he won't be minister of finance anymore? i don't even know if finance minister do anything in that country again sef

he is NOT the chairman of world bank. did you read the article he is the chairman of a group that consist of World Bank members and the International Monetary Fund. Trust us Nigerians to try and make things bigger than what it really is.

Unveilinggold said...

nice..hopefully he remains the minister of finance because he seem to have the potentials to keep the world bank running..well done mr aganga

Why is it that the World Bank always offers positions to our Finance Ministers and takes them away???

Nigeria Music said...

Hmm isn't this the Aganga who was running a Goldman Sachs office in london ... so can one extrapolate that Goldman is now running Nigeria's Ministry of Finance ... or would that be going to far ?

BB said...

Not the Chairman of the World Bank Linda, omg.