Miss USA 2010 is first Arab American Queen | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 17 May 2010

Miss USA 2010 is first Arab American Queen

24-year-old Lebanese immigrant Rima Fakih has become the first Muslim woman to win the Miss USA beauty pageant.

She graduated from the University of Michigan, where she earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in Economics. She plans on attending law school.
The pageant held over the weekend.

7 comments:

I almost certain her people will disown her is she hasn't already disowned them by doing this. congratulations to her though. More grease to her waist and thighs hehehe

muslim woman wey dey wear bikini...different levels of muslim sha

its pathtic how every one assumes every muslim is conservative and have this image that all muslims are the way they are potrayed in the news. you have extremely conservative muslim countries like Saudi Arabia, and you have secular countries like Turkey and lebanon. To assume her people have disowned her is also a sad thing to say.
Ps, not every one from the middle east is a muslim.

rukky said...

its quite pathetic how everyone assumes every single muslim is the way they are potrayed in the media. just like other religious you have Christians that go church every single day and you have those that are not religious in anyway. same goes to the muslims not every muslim prays five times a day or wears a veil, to also say her people will disown her is nt a very nice thing to say. And just because she is from the middle east those not mean she is a muslim.
Ps. for those of you who hv never been to lebabon, its avery secular with clubs and everything that you will find in a non muslim country

Tomisin said...

@rugayyah.. muslims are in fact generally conservative. The secular clubs u r talking about consist mainly of either foreigners or 2 faced muslims.Everyone knows that a muslim woman isn't allowed to expose herself, especially not in the presence of the whole world. 99% of middle easterners if not more r infact Muslims.

Anyhow I don't think she is a Muslim like that, i mean she went to a catholic school for crying out loud.

Still, she is very beautiful, and smart on top of that. I think she has courage to break the strict muslim traditions.