Nigerian man marries daughter to get her UK Visa | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 19 November 2009

Nigerian man marries daughter to get her UK Visa

A Nigerian Home Office worker, Jelili Adesanya, 54, married his own daughter to get her a British visa.

Mr Adesanya has lived in the UK for more than 30 years and holds a British passport, but wanted his daughter, her husband and their four sons to join him from Nigeria.

He faked a wedding ceremony complete with a photograph of the happy 'couple' which helped convince immigration officials that his daughter, Karimotu Adenike, was really his wife.

Miss Adenike, who is in her mid-30s, was duly granted permission to live in the UK.
The pair are waiting for her to be granted a permanent right to remain before they undergo a quiet divorce and attempt to bring the rest of her family here. **

Source: Daily mail UK.

22 comments:

the girl looks like her father

wendu

Harry said...

This is GROSS!!!

Onose said...

lmao, anything to come abroad.SMDH...Nigerians can be so thirsty...

Ehm this story cannot be true. Once a father is a citizen of a country that child is a citizen as well. And if this at all is true why should their business be put out here.

My point exactly anonymous 3.42.. Why would he marry his daughter when she is a citizen already.

The story is true. His daughter is not automatically a citizen. It is not an automatic right.

They are currently being investigated.

The poverty in Nigeria has created this illegal behaviour abroad.

Exactly...Why should their business be put out here?

the girl cannot be a citizen becos she was born abroad plus she is no more a minor too. where did it state that every child you give birth to automatically becomes british citizens.
the man and his daughter are gross though. did he actually kiss the bride too?

errrr at the ignorant anons 3.42 and 9.43, u dont automatically become a british citizen because ur father is one, especially if he gained his citizenship after the daughter had turned 21.

Antonia - Beauty Health Finance and Green Issues Editor said...

the story just breaks my heart. i mean, to what extent will people go just to be able to board a plane going to the 'western world'?

*SIGH!!!!*

D

Meanwhile.....
i think it's just amazing that whenever such a story breaks (i.e. stories about people of obvious african origin living in the western world) the western media is quick to say the person is of/a 'nigerian origin' ghanian descent' 'kenyan immigrant'. let that person have done something wondrous, like the 13yr old igbo girl in the US that flew a plane/helicopter, they instantly become "louisianna girl", London boy' etc.

X

D

linda you need to take this down, this is how many immigrants get their papers, do not pour sand in their garri..a UK immigration officer can per chance see this post and cancel her visa.

A child is only automatically a citizen if the parents are citizens BUT only when the child is atmost 17 yrs old (atleast thats how it is here in the US).....besides, who knows how the man got his citizenship? maybe he never claimed to have a child when he applied.

Nma

Some people do not have the right facts, if your Mother is a British citizen, then you automatically become a British citizen wherever you are born. It is a simple case of applying for a passport, it has nothing to do with the father. if her father was a British citizen, then once you are married to a British citizen you gain citizenship 4 years later.

Has it become this bad?

beauty health editor....
u are d joke!!!! u codemn Britain ...yet u live there...why? if its that bad...then u too leave d country...or na by force?

D at 5:21...u are sooo spot on!!!!!!

@anon 4.11: Thank you jare

D