Lagos Residents to have Identity Card | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 22 November 2009

Lagos Residents to have Identity Card

The Lagos State governor, Babatunde Fashola, announced on Tuesday that his administration will introduce a residents' identity card scheme.

Mr. Fashola disclosed this while presenting the 2010 budget to the State House of Assembly in Alausa, Ikeja.

According to him, the scheme will increase the state government's capacity to plan the delivery of social amenities to the people.

He said: "We have now reached a stage where it is no longer avoidable to ask: ‘How many people can Lagos State meaningfully employ and sustain?'"**

Is an ID card for Lagos residents necessary?

4 comments:

Remi said...

Lagos State residents need to have State ID if not for State planning but for transacting business in the State. It should be renewable every four or six years.

Mrs O. said...

Ok but my question is how do people qualify for the card? is it by having some verifiable evidence of residency, such as renting in one's name (which would disqualify MANY people who live or squat with others). In this way anyone can come to Lagos who isnt resident there and get the so-called ID. I mean for crying out loud anyone can get a Nigerian passport in any name that they choose still!
When people still dont register ALL births in Lagos, that needs to be done, before this one can even be effectively done.

In Cote d'Ivoire when I lived there, the gendarmes (armed police) can stop u at any time and ask for your ID, so that was one of the reasons to get one, so u dont get in trouble. What would be the incentive to get one in Lagos, what perks would it carry? will it allow me to have free health care at LUTH? (lol), or will it allow me to buy gari for cheap? wetin concern agbero with overload?
or as Igbos say "biko kparam ihe ozo"...tell me something else jare!

TheJunkie said...

Yes oh! It is necessary, very necessary. Think about it, every more-developed state has a form of identification but under a different name eg social insurance no, social security no, PR card etc. Seriously, it'll save the govt a whole lot of hassle...and probably the police too (if they can use it effectively)

Clean Up said...

are there any census for population ever taken in Naija? all citizens not only Lagos should be introduced to ID card and computerized for banking,property purchase, car purchase, universities,schools, all government matters etc..
naija must adopt ID system to curb fraud,scams and other negative activities around besides owning a passport!