Dear parents, If your child underperforms in school, It's your fault! - Education Expert exclaims | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 14 January 2015

Dear parents, If your child underperforms in school, It's your fault! - Education Expert exclaims

A lot of parents get frustrated when their child is under-performing in school, they often feel they have done everything to support them. Well it’s a New Year and it’s the best time to help your child have a positive approach to learning as they resume at school. So what can you do differently to give your child the boost they need?
We caught up with Prepclass Nigeria's Education consulting company and providers of home lesson teachers and personal tutors in Lagos to ask the most effective strategy to helping kids improve fast. And this is what they said:

Why do students underperform in class?

From a pedagogical point of view, the main reason why students fail is because they get left behind at some point during the classes, they see other students getting it so they become frustrated or shy andgive up. Take a moment to think about it, the average teacher to student ratio is 1 to 30 in Lagos. This means 1 teacher has to be accountable for 30 students,it’s reallyvery tough to carry everyone along, slow learners are left behind and often no notices.

Young children approach learning in different ways, one on one attention guarantees that the child is carefully carried along and fundamental concepts are perfectly mastered before anything else is introduced.  It is very important that children especially those between 5 -14 years have access to one on one sessions where they get the full attention of their teachers

So can I help boost my child's academic performance?

Yes you can. It is not as difficult as some parents always think it is actually. If a mother can devote 2 - 3 hours of her time daily to assist the child with assignments and general studies, there is a 70% guarantee that the child's grades would improve. However, because of the economic situation of Nigeria, both Father and Mother have to work 8am - 5pm daily.
With our lesson teacher service, we can guarantee parents that while they are at work, their children would get full attention of a sound tutor who can either help their child master difficult concepts taught in class or help them get ahead of their peers

So you guys help parents get lesson teachers for kids. Interesting! How does that work exactly?
We work with teachers from different schools all over Lagos highly skilled and qualified to be home tutors. Most of our tutors currently teach at reputable schools or have had training from schools like Corona and Meadow Hall in Lagos.  Currently we have over 4000 teachers registered with us as tutors

We have a simple 3 steps approach

1. As a parent you simply request for a lesson teacher by filling this form.
2. Depending on the parameters you fill(location, preferred budget, sex, class of child) we immediately show you a list of suitable tutors from which you select your preference
3. Our cusotmer agent calls you to confirm the order and inform you of the next steps
Alternatively we can be reached on our hotline, 01-2913970

Wow,what is the cost implication for all this?
Laughs..Quite frankly we are not as pricey as a lot parents would assume. You can see below our pricing package.

Premium Package [Recommended] For Parents Paying  N45,000 and Above Monthly
Classic Package
For Parents Paying N20,000 to N45,000.
Required Upfront Payment (Fully refundable)
N3,000 registration fee as a Prepclass client to be collected upon visitation
50% of your desired budget (with possibility of full refund)
On-boarding Process
We visit your home or office at your desired time to fully document your academic goalsfor your child. After which we send a qualified teacher that meets your specifications.
We engage the parent in a long and detailed call to ascertain their needs. We­­ inform our registered teachers of your request and budget (N20k - N45k). We then give you the contact details of the 2 most suitable tutors, we also facilitate the meeting to ensure you meet a tutor of your choice.
Follow – Up
Monthly reviews and analytics of the kid’s academic performance
Very regular follow ups with clients
Follow ups with tutors to ensure that teaching is done according to standard practice
We follow up periodically to ensure that the client is happy.

Experience of Teacher
Experienced teachers who have taught in highbrow schools such as Greenspring, Grange, Corona, or at least have had formal training from such schools.
Experienced Teachers of other schools with less experience or fresh brilliant university graduate
Monthly Payment
Prepclass receives all payment and remits to teacher
Prepclass only receives the initial 50%, afterwards you pay the tutor directly.

Sounds great, we are sure some parents might have more questions. How can you be reached?
We can be reached by phone on 01-2913970 or email info@prepclass.com.ng. Alternatively parents can visit our website at http://www.prepclass.com.ng or check out our frequently asked questions
Any Last Words ?
Well for parents that have children looking to write the 2015 JAMB CBT exams. We also have a platform with a plethora of past question materials categorized according to the standard curriculum. The initial access is absolutely free for 15 questions. However, to get full 3 months access, parents have to pay N1K. To get access to that click here or call 01-2913970.

73 comments:

true

No I dnt agree with dis..its nt totally their fault

Its d fault of some teachers/schools.....parents nd even d childis nt left out..

What kind of stupid theory is this one?

Yes ooo...true talk,i agreee

Some are dunce n block heads that if ulike teach them ahead d schedule....de'll still fail.

Dear parents take note $ b responsible

becckyd said...

ok

Parents can definitely help boost their children's performance in school. The quality of what they are exposed to at home really matters a lot.

To some extend yeah bt it's among to other factors as well

Lol Linda u and your epic ways of bringing up adverts ehn?

Nice one..

It's true. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

ok...

Of course na, anybody dey contest am. Linda take note!

Of course na, anybody dey contest am. Linda take note

There's a point there as the parents carry the larger share but the child also has his/her to play. It is well. Prov 22:6. @Bishop_Dammy

Hmmm, true talk. But some people brain empty o.

@Sophia Stephen

SANDRA said...

HmmM

A very good one.

Chy 🌹 said...

It's a good development for parents who can afford it..

Some kids are exceptionally intelligent and do not require extra tutors...

So am guessing career conscious parents who hardly have time to monitor their kids/ wards' performance can utilize this opportunity....
Pls visit my blog

Chinwenmeri.blogspot.com

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Twill be expensive..not all parents can afford

Visit my blog

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Faith tracy said...

Hmmm intresting

Mr jimoh said...

Interesting service. I think my child needs a tutor. Will definitely contact them

Mr jimoh said...

Interesting service. I think my child needs a tutor. Will definitely contact them

Nice one.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

Mrs Awele said...

I got a lesson teacher from them in November. I felt it was pretty pricey but I met the tutor and I must say i was impressed by the quality of their tutor. Its a very good service, I still use them and i recommend!

THE ONLY THING SOME PARENTS KNOWS HOW TO DO IS TO TELL HOW THEY WERE 1ST 1ST AND FIRST BACK THEN.YET NOT TRUE.I SAW MY DADS RESULT ACCIDENTALLY AND I CANT STOP LAUGHING.THANK GOD IS IS SUCCESSFUL.THATS THE GRACE OF GOD ON HIM.....AKA...BURSTING MY DAD

Yeah true its there fault.....when u way too busy to even make time for ur children that's bhadd

True but also business strategy

BOUQI said...

Nice one, but please, extend this service to Abuja.Thanks!

CHERRY said...

Okay!

RUBBISH!...My Parent did'nt have less than primary school education and I did well in my studies...they guided me, until i became an adult i did'nt know my folks could not read..today am a proud qualified Surgeon here in the UK.

Dundee na dundee, if u like do brain surgery 4d pikin

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

True- #lindagiveawayonmymind

AMARA NJOKU'S BLOG said...

I totally disagree because intelligence is in-built, parents role is not necessarily needed but the fear that if you don't make better grades can boost your performance.

Abegi, tell em LOUD.

Interesting! Nice concept.

Interesting!

Parents have a major role in a child's education

MR EDDY said.
Am not yet a father though but will soon be. And am sure my kids are gon be like davinci the genius.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u happy new year.

Yes because a child's first training starts from home before school....but some parents are so worked up that they can't even care to check if their kids are doing the homework given to them rather they pay teachers to do it for them.....if any child underperforms its the fault of their parents
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

catchy heading.. smart way to get attention of parents.

If you need a professional and reliable home tutor in LAGOS, please contact Gods own tutor on 08024641669

We haff hear

I completely agree to parents being part of the child's study, that's the most effective way to know wat ur child knows and wat he/she doesn't know.

Paying high school fees in top ranking schools isn't enuf.

The truth is the teachers in those schools hardly pay attention to ur child. Most of them help the pupils in their exams so that they can pass well just to guarantee that the parent is happy and continues to pay the huge fees.

Am talking from experience. That's wat they do

Everything na for lagos.... Nansance.....

I completely agree, there is little a house parents or teacher will do,parents are actually supposed to go back and join them in their home work or assignment make it a routine,so I agree

Joy(sharonlady002@yahoo.com said...

Sounds gud bt parents need to do more

Maye73 said...

You get a private teacher for your child and the parents( especially the mother ) must be involved inthe child school work.

Kerenhappuch said...

Parents needs to pay attention to their children and they should not tell the teacher my child must not fail. Let them grade them the real grade so as to work on their weak point for a better tomorrow.

# I know who I am#

Chai which kind comment be dis? I can't stop laughing

U SLy ursef its solely depends on the children

With the terrible state of the economy, both parents have to work twice as hard to give their kids a good life. Giving that time no easy oh

Make parents no carry tutor wey go come rape d children o

Its of utmost importance that parents find time to check how well there kids are doing in school. alot of parents are too busy with work. we are having a lot of ambitious career driven parents who can't balance there job and family life.
family should always come first in anything. if you can't always be there to check your kids performance, atleast employ someone who can and pls make sure u always call your kids from work or wherever.

LezRock via Old itel mobile

Is this service in Port Harcourt, Rivers State

parents, una don hear

This people are full of ignorance. Haven't they heard of dyslexia, dyspraxia, dyscaculia and t5he likes? They should come to the social media and start saying nonsense cos Nigerians are a bit ignorant

Its not totally their fault..pikin when no wan learn no go learn

Not neccessarily true. Schools and teachers contribute in dulling a child's brain.

dragon slayer said...

You're very ignorant. Have you heard of autism? Dyslexia? ADHD? You're calling someone dundee. Nigeria is hell for anyone with any disability. Hopeless, self-righteous, ignorant sons of bitches!

MegaWapi said...

bangladeshi girl sex videos dowbloads
http://sexbd71.sextgem.com

I don't agree that extra lessons will help a struggling child who already hates school and academic work because he will even get more frustrated.
Cognitive training is very effective and has been researched for over 30 years by American scientists and psychologists and has been proven to be very effective. It rewires the brain through a process known as neuroplasticity, such that those parts of the brain that have not been functioning well are stimulated and mental abilities are stretched so the child picks up fast. Good thing about cognitive or brain training is that it is not subject-based. It's fun for the slow learner and designed like a video game. The child thinks he is playing while he is indeed learning. One more good thing is that it has come to Nigeria and I've seen children who benefitted from it in less than 2 weeks. Just constant practice, repetitions, immediate feed back and positive re-enforcement and.... BRAVO! The child moves from F grades to A grades. It works.

Follow me up with emails.

Cogniskills Learning Enhancement Center said...

The brain is the only organ in the human body that improves with use.