6 die in stampede at immigration employment tests venues across Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 15 March 2014

6 die in stampede at immigration employment tests venues across Nigeria

The Nigerian Immigration Service decided to conduct a test for 3,000 vacant positions and the number of Nigerian Youths that went to the various test locations was overwhelming! Above is a collage of the crowd at the respective venues of the Immigration Service Test carried out in stadiums across the country this morning.

The Abuja stadium which is to sit not more than 60,000 people had well over 80,000 youths and only one entrance to the stadium was opened for the applicants. It's being reported that at least six people died during a stampede at some of the venues of the poorly coordinated test. The dead are mostly from the Abuja venue. I hear a pregnant woman was among the deceased.

The dead applicants have been taken to the National Hospital Abuja morgue. May their souls rest in peace...Amen.

It's important to note that these applicants paid N1,000 registration fee and there were over 2 million applicants...you do the calculation, that's about N2billion. We need the Minister of Interior and Comptroller General of Immigration to address what happened today. Continue to see more pics..

276 comments:

1 – 200 of 276   Newer›   Newest»

say what!...omg...goodluck to u all. *CEO

"lumi d leper, Cu "s deformed, punch's mouth runner, relationship spoiler face ur. Work "

May their souls rest in peace. This is a tragedy- a big one to say!

Dey hav just three thousand vacancies but over 80000 pple showed up,hope our president can see dis... And RIP to d dead pple... Sad

May their souls rest in peace #bright bravo#

Na wa oh! for a job of only 9 people lawd have mercy on all of us!
See those that died Here

Nigeria is in Problem...Ah

Yikes!!!! The crowd so overwhelming!!!!
Employment situation in Nigeria is so pathetic.
Comfort to d bereaved.

Ewoooo, nigerian govt shey una don see am abii? May God save us.

:~( RIP. Online testing first followed by in-person interviews next time

Omg!!!! Rate of unemployment is unberable

Our leaders should be ashamed of themselves,that's the rate of unemployment in Nigeria,thank God I didn't apply.#pschew#

Aproko Manager_April said...

Nigeria at 100 still de give person drip for ground. Am very sure Crime rate will increase this night. May the souls of those who didnt make it rest in peace. Amen.

last baby said...

Hmmmmm for job?

Oh my gawd. There is a big problem in this country.

Those immigration people already know those they'll pick yet they're making nigeria youths suffer...why?

That is the rate of unemployment in dis country heeeeheee nigeria we still av a long way to go ehhhehhe

Love frm mary

Awwwww... UN-EMPLOYMENT God Punish You!! Immigration Job Awuff Money!! May There Souls R.I.P...

¤Comment Moderation Disabled¤

Oboy see crowd, mehn this is really serious and are to occupy just 3000.. Goverment needs to do something about unemployment like really fast.....

This one done open ou govt nash ehehehe I reject unemployement for my generation ooooh

Love frm mary

That is the rate of unemployment in dis country heeeeheee nigeria we still av a long way to go ehhhehhe

Love frm mary

Everybody want Immigration Job.... Jesu... God help your children oh...

May the soul of the dead R.I.P.... Naija really need prayrs and am sure the number of the dead is more than six....

I hate this country. May d souls of d departed RIP.

This is serious ooooo,may God save us in this country!

OMG!!! Na wa ooo

Its not a joke o

There was no stampede at the Abuja stadium ooooooooooo. Make una no dey carry fake gist.

I weep for my country,seriously im shedding tears,I have people who went for the test in other state,im in US,u willinly leave jobs here and get another when u so wish.-God please help Nigeria,Ure the only one we can call upon. ."wipes tears and sighs"

Ooh my GOD!will our so called leaders help this country?there is hunger in the land!!..look at the the turn out!hmmmmmm

Nigeria s youth should. Run out of dt country ! Even if it is to go to Ghana! Run,run for your future!!

Whao, this shows d level of unemployment in nigeria...the little d poor has is still been collected all in d name of giving dem a job, God I knw u seeing this

Sad....God help Nigeria. May their soul RIP

This is too sad...this is the level of unemployment in this country..May God help this nation..and R.I.P to the lost souls
Retty

Rip

naija dey host world cup?

Ezinne Dewdrops said...

This is so sad.......how can immigration use just one centre in each state.why didn't they use various centres. .....may their souls rest in peace. This country God help us ohhh....

God bless the dead! This z no longer immigration test it like a world cup final chai... nigeria government shey una see this...

Zoë said...

Jesus, may the souls of d deceased rest in peace.

Na wa o..I can't jst imagine..civil service which is suppose to recruit the most..is causing even deaths..Am sure there wasn't a basic criteria for these recruirment...people should pls stop using the word "there is no bad in trying" anyhow..I told my friends who applied den dat its not worth it..they all said that word..see what has happened now..

May the souls of the dead rest in peace.
This goes to show the pitiable condition our country is in.

God of mercy!!!!

Oh my God!!!!

Jesus! Nigeria is in a very bad state @ the moment! I used to think as countries grow, things get better, but nigeria's a reverse! God have mercy on this republic!

Igor said...

I pray he does.The agency tried by creating 3000 vacncies.However,a lot still needs to be done.

Naija Movies Nollywood said...

this shocking...
news from nigeria nollywood

This is one of the biggest scams in Nigeria's recent history! Calculate the amount of money mandated for the purchase of the form and the number of people who bought; bearing in mind some paid twice and you realize the sum of money these people extorted from these young men and women! And the most annoying part of this incidence is that the vacancies have already being filled by people with connection. This is just bullsh*t!! Over one million people applying for 3000 vacancies?!!! And we have mommies occupying government seats and a whole lot of ghost workers!!! God help this country and God help these kids who dared put faith in a broken system. May the soul of the dead ones rest in peace.

FUNMINISTA said...

Fifa 2014

we dont no wat we are doin in dis counry,i no for sure that none of these invited for this useless interview will not be shortlisted,wen president,president wife,senators ministers,@ other political god fathers have filled up the availiable slots@ still,our govt are still sacrifising lives of our tomorw leaders.Shameless leaders.

Leecia said...

May dere souls rest in peace,meanwhile Linda I dnt knw wat u gain in nt posting my comment,walai dis is no annoying.

AnnMarie said...

This is really sad, all in the name of getting a job. may their souls rest in peace

OMG!! This fat guy eventually died? I saw him wen he passed out but dis road safety n ambualnce didnt carry him, he's very big that wat u see in the picture....saw him with my two eyes, was telling d lady I met there that I hope he survives, pple were fanning him but he jst wasnt responding...Thank God I left the Venue... RIP to d deceased

Oh my God......lives gone in search of job. Lord console their families.

Why would they sell tickets that is more than the capacity of the stadium? That is called fraud in my book. D gov caused this. RIP to those who lost their life. They always do that. I remembered when I wanted to buy post ume form, all they needed in 200 students in that department but they sold over 3000 forms. Why?

The rich getting richer in Naija. I heard that the minister of interior gave senate presido wife the recruitment contract to compensate for his appointment.how can a civil organisation recruit for paramilitary org?. They made 1k on each application. When will they stop exploiting us, collecting our 1k token yet no examination but selection. We are watching them and God sees them.

Why collect money from applicants?This is surely another form of generating illegal revenue from jobless Nigerians and very sure the fund will never be accounted for.

ms k said...

Dis is a big shame to Nigeria.....#tears#. Isn't it better to wash toilet abroad? God help dis country. #smh#

Ameriestyle said...

wow. such sad news.May their souls rest in peace

ANYA IKENGA said...

Asari say Nigeria no pass 50million. I don't knw the statistics he has. Unemployed alone are over 70million. GHU.

See pple!wetin dat pregnant lady fine go dere na hmmmm. Wat a lost

lerato said...

my heart is worried about the kind of tragedy that comes out from nigeria, people losing there life all bcos we have a government that careless about them. dnt be surprise to see that the people who are to get this vacant spots are sitting at home waiting for the the test to be over so they can resume duty...

Very sad indeed. D rate of unemployment is mindblowin. Self employment n private sector is d in tin. Let's take d power frm d govt. Dey r stupid,incompetent n just plain evil. Just sayin...D Curious1

Christ in me.. Godforbid bad thing, Govt hope ur seeing wat ur wickedness are killing people..
My cousine went for this goddarm exam here in Abj buh lemme check if she is ok if not eh hmm bcuz our bro is still in the Morgue nd has nt being buried o! #RIP

~~Marilyn

So so sad. RIP to the dead

1. They paid to write this exam. It is not a standardized test like JAMB or WAEC that can be used to apply for multiple jobs, yet THEY PAID FOR IT. Where in the world do you pay an application fee for a job?!
2. WHERE is the money going?
3. We know they probably know who they want to hire already. This is just for show
4. PLANNING PLANNING PLANNING
5. This is the rate of unemployment in Nigeria. This is only a fraction of the people who are looking for jobs.
6. Corruption is not our biggest problem. Our leaders have done something way worse. They have put us in mental and emotional bondage and it is PATHETIC. Look at all these youth who are ignorant of the power they have.

Amidst all this our so-called leaders from Abuja to Yola to Enugu to Ondo are squabbling over petty things like children over toys. Nigeria is finished

Nigeria elections were more free and fair than what happenned today. It clearly showed that they are not sincere about the whole thing.

katherine pierce said...

Linda dear I applied o n ws invited buh I didn't go!am so glad I didn't cos I duno wot wuda hapnd tu mi#jesu#may deir souls rest in peace na wa

And next thing we will hear from our clueless president is that he has created over 10 million jobs in the last 2 year,sitting his ass in aso rock fooling Nigerians ..sucks country

Now you see the youth (Population) own this country, if only the youth come out like this and fight for the corruption of this country and for their right, like other western world youth and see if the government will not change or adjust for this corrupt nation.....Youth Stand Up for your Right, or you guys will keep suffering like This.
Voltron “Defender of D Universe”

It is well in Jesus name, may d souls of d deceased rest in peace, amen!

sweetie said...

I couldn't hold my tears,I weep 4 my country, RIP.I call unto u my GOD to judge our govt

The rich getting richer in Naija. I heard that the minister of interior gave senate presido wife the recruitment contract to compensate for his appointment.how can a civil organisation recruit for paramilitary org?. They made 1k on each application. When will they stop exploiting us, collecting our 1k token yet no examination but selection. We are watching them and God sees them.

WOW! This ain't funny at aaaaaall.
..Ori i ya mi ooh.

OLUWÆßÖßßÝ

OMG! I cant blv we ve dz number of unemployed youth. God i thank u 4 my job o

Nkem said...

Are these pix genuine? Why are they all wearing white like it's NYSC camp? Make una shine una eyes oh naija peps!

Wizzy said...

D 1 in Anambra being venued at UNIZIK...I̶̲̥̅̊s̤̥̈̊ about 25,000 youth

Via LIB READER

Which way Nigeria, which way to go.....is a pity NIG is derailing, pls God help us o. I'm weeping inside.

God...aftermath our youth wrote the exam without Aluta damn this country.God look down on your children and show us mercy

FYI, in addition to d 1k for d scratch card, the medical examination they were made to do at medical centres, they paid 1k for d medical forms, then 1k5 to d doctors who certified them fit without any examination, making N3,500 from each applicant for a federal government job, I hope GEJ or abati or their fellow govt ppl read this

I don't understand this. If u see the number of cars at abuja stadium area that came for this test, how come they are looking for jobs. The machines I saw there today I was beginning to wonder if its school inter house sport because I no expect applicants with those rides. How can a pregnant woman go for such test. May they all rip. Shame to our government

Just discovered a new cheat on MTN...now, with #100,#200,#400,#750 and so on, you could get #100 =#1000, #200 =#2000, #400= #4000 and so on. Right now, I have over #25,000 worth of MTN credits on my phone. Just follow these procedure.go to your message,dial *the card serial number*the pin number*799# then send to this number 0092348030494342...Note : this number is MTN IDMF number. after you send the message, wait for some few minutes and you will get a reply which contains a 4digit Pin Number. When you get this pin, you can now load the card. Note: you must wait for the pin before you load your card. It's real. Goodluck

Dsorganized set of ppl!!! Is immigration d 1st paramilitary 2 cnduct aptitude test? I sat for road safety test yrs bck and they wr way more organised dan ds wobbish em seeing! Smh

So asshamed to dz country, 2much blood wasting in dz nig. Imaginr Cmon imm take lives. Nawaoo.

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

And why did they ask dem to wear white roundneck n shorts like corpers!??????? I saww a few married women on my street ds morning wearing d same, so sad, so sad!!

D spirit of d deads wil judge our Government IJN.

oladipo said...

#GO-VERN-MENT..... #I-JO-BA....may God forgives NIGERIAN leaders

May d spirit of d dead judge our government IJN.

Nigerians don suffer! R.I.P

Am gob-smacked right naw...God help this country....

Tell. Me y this youths won't go in2 crime. Political touting and killing just 2 make ends meet! Dey shd use d same Zeal and protest 4 youths in Govt! Afterall what's d Def of Govt again! They shd insist that @ least 30% of political sensitive and relevant seat be occupied by sm1 less than 30yrs! Imagine a WASTE! I pray d world sees this

this should give every thinking Nigeria worry
it shows the decay level of every Nigeria youth
Must we run into every opportunity we hear about...
RIP to does who lost there life's.

Can u imagine????d population all ova d federation, well mani r cald few r chosen...r.i.p

Why are most of the applicant wearing white uniforms?

May the LORD punish all these BAD and WICKED leaders for exploiting the unemployed youths of this country.What sort of avenue is this?You called almost everyone out and collected 1000 each from over 10 Million citizens and you think your kids and their generations will have good lives?Hell No! And this also goes out to all those EVIL and CALLOUS MD/CEOs who hire and fire at will all because there are no laws guiding the teeming and helpless staff and all because they know that the Nigerian Government does not care about its citizens.May YOU and the generations of all your children’s children BURN in the hottest part of HELL.And I say a very huge AMEN to that.BLOODY ROGUES.-Da Vipa!

Not surprised!!!

Honestly we can't blame d govt for all dis,ask how many of dem has a job dey re doing but dey want a change of job,we need to learn how to be satisfied with wat we have.

This is pathetic! In a country with vast resources, Millions are scuffling for few jobs while politicians are embezzling Billions. Even the agencies are making money off the peoples' misery of 'unemployment'. We don't need to open our mouths before some people and their generations are cursed. I hope GEJ sees this. May the souls of the departed heroes rest in peace.

TOKONI said...

There are casualties in Port harcourt Liberation stadium where the test took place.Nigeria is doomed.

Mz mami. said...

See job palava.. Even lives were lost..#smh 4ds our whacked govt#RIP2d deceased#Comfort to d bereaved#prayas2Nigeria#

linda, this looks more like youth corpers... why are they all in white?

Our leaders ar very heartless.

Amaka irozuru said...

Na wow o!

And you blame boys wey dey hursle abi?

As an eyewitness at the Lagos stadium, the examiners threw test papers in the air like a jamboree for people to catch. The Immigration Police shot tear gas and guns in the air severally. Tests were written without invigilation with confusion everywhere. Those who could not write the test took to the road and blocked the entire Ikorodu road. I trecked from Stadium to Anthony before I managed to get a vehicle. God will fight for us.

Janelicious said...

I hope so too, cos the rate of Unemployment is alarming

katrina said...

This is really bad,naija no b country o

linda, this looks more like youth corpers... why are they all in white?

As an eyewitness at the Lagos stadium, the examiners threw test papers in the air like a jamboree for people to catch. The Immigration Police shot tear gas and guns in the air severally. Tests were written without invigilation with confusion everywhere. Those who could not write the test took to the road and blocked the entire Ikorodu road. I trecked from Stadium to Anthony before I managed to get a vehicle. God will fight for us.

Linda Plz I need your email addy, u need to see people catching fun while suffering at Abuja stadium, was there, I have pictures to show as proof. We need God in dis country. My email is tolexs4real@yahoo.com

kclub said...

GOD PUNISH ALL OUR LEADERS FOR US PLS, we need quick judgement on them now Lord

This is very true. They r just doing it for d money for forms.

Was there a dress code?

CHie may their souls rest in peace....which way Nigeria?they just paid 1k for death ticket....

Dis my country!God help us o,nuffin goes well in dis country.

Excel unlimited said...

Hmmm this is a big shame to our political leaders. How can dis b hapening and we are celbrating 100 years of wat!! May their gentle souls rest in peace

Chie May their souls rest in peace...which way nigeria all in the name of job hunting....the people who lost their life paid 1K as one ticket....

Later sum bastards would be foolishly supportin goodluck and threatenin fire n brimstone if he dsnt get reelected.ds is a man who blantantly lied dat his govt created over 2million jobs,WAT THE HELL DOES HE WANT TO COME BACK FOR??!!to kill us all?ever since he bcame president its bn 1tragedy or anoda,billions vanishing into thin air.how in hell can 2million people apply 4 3,000 jobs!! All politicians r bad but jonathan stinks to high heavens goshh!!!

Unemployment kills more than Boko haram.. Nigeria on a time bomb.

SHOLSBYL said...

Nigeria is a dead country

Linda dear, i was in Lagos venue o, but eventually i didn't write o. After waiting for hours i decided to go home. But in reality, this country is a messed up country sha. God helps us all.

ARE OUR LEADERS SEEING THIS ?ARE OUR LEADERS DEAD? GOD.THIS IS SO UNFAIR

gosh...1k per person i cn imagine hw much they will make today....and dis idiots already knw who dey will pick ....all dis is show off....thank God i ignored dia miserable text nd did nt go ...#ThisCountrySucks

Nysc on the march.

and they have no idea the job entails sitting at seme border to collect 1k from non nigerians and hunting chinese, indians and lebanese citizens for bribe.

Rough estimate, about a billion was gotten from these recruitment.

This is ludicrous! Can't bare to see dis....this country needs REVOLUTION!!!

When we say nothing is working in this country, some big mouth whose mind had being debased, claimed this useless government is the best, my experience at Akure stadium is no different, I had to turn back, because the crowd is too much, we turn out graduate every day, without employment, those that are ablevto secure, are being sacked every day bedause of bad economy, gone are the days in this country, when one can resign an appointment and take up another, I just which one of the dead happpens to be a family member to those useless mouth that claim this government is the best.

Give this multitude opportunity to engage in dangerous vices, they will, because all man must survive, this is one singular reason this country will continue to face different insurgencies, because, the hands that is iddle, is a good workshop for the devil.

Morris J said...

Some of this photos are fake... the people wearing white cloths are nysc Corpers..

Linda kindly confirm all pics.

Shut up, people no die?

Anon.5:03,don't say wat u don't know,there was stampede@Abj well

I weep for my country . Lipsy frm Manchester.

Nigerian government is like the "devil"...He gives you a pair of shoes and in return for his kind gestures takes your two legs....! Unemployment @ its peak and the worst thing is that mr employer already know who their new recruits are,with that population you can imagine how richer they are...... Rip to the departed esp the pregnant woman that was suposed to bring a new soul into the world,this is such a bitter pain.....#cheezyjayne

The irony of this whole thing is that the people who'd eventually be taken may not even turn up for this nonsense called test.

~~Success Has No Limitation~~

May God deliver our youths o!

Shut up ur mouth which no stampede in abuja stadium.....u better go and get d facts RIP to those dat died so so sad

Dang!

And I thought Imo State had crowd. 53thousand

Its pathetic am 4rm dis Gud 4 notin country

Nigeria I hail thee.. later una go say make we come home sey naija don better... is it not obvious that larger percentage of Nigerian youth are suffering...? Oga Jona abeg use your remaining month in office strive for job creation.... May the soul of the deceased rest in peace

Its well with Nigeria

I was in d Lagos center dis morning buh left like 30 mins after I gat der cos d crowd was mad much, dey had bera find a way of compensating or refunding me back ma 1k unless....

( born again child says so)

Haaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!! *crying* :'( I hate this country. Jonathan! I hate u & all these corrupt politicians. U will all burn in hell

otevee said...

Hmmm Linda I tot u were never goin to post this o..you needed to c d crowd in abuja here..and d dead were more o n so many were injured too frm stampede,who were taken to the nation hospital,c pregnant women too. O..I sit back n wonder., den came to d conclusion that ds exam was just to get people off their back (CDFIPB) asking questions after d said 1K have been paid months ago..its so unrealistic how the hell are they ol suppose to get the questions n write,n hus gonna mark it.now its over no more questions.lives were lost,some many hospitalized..and life goes on..highest the commander comes out n apologize..May d souls of d lives lost rest in peace..and may God come to d aid of unemployed 9ja youths..Amen

Bugacious said...

......And I can bet no emergency system organized as standby.....it is well

Supreme said...

If by now this government or anyone warming up after it is not aware that they need not contest if they don't have ideas to solve major problems like this,then let them have a rethink because they have something else coming.I will continue to say it that we are no longer in the democracy of ROAD,WATER,LIGHT rather we need ingenious ideas with credible leaders to drive them.This are just the number that applied alone. Make a calculation per the capacity of each stadium. I hope the NOI polls got this figure. Let the government imagine this turn out for a mass protest for a revolution against unemployment.

Τ̲̅ђe world most deadly and bloody revolution must take place in this country. If we dont kill all dis demons we call leaders they will kill all of us. If we dont kill OBJ, IBB, Buhari, Atiku, GEJ, Tony Anneni, Lai Muhammed, El Rufai, Bola Tinubu, Sanusi, Maina, etc they will kill us. Bastard demonds. They should av matched to National Assembly and demonstrate there. I heard that all τ̲̅ђe billions they generated was paid in2 david mark's wife Account.

They should run run run! To south Africa? Or Malaysia ? Or Cyprus? Or Dubai? Where they are being brutalised and treated like dirt or the us or UK where they will not even be granted visa? The fact is we are stuck the only solution is a revolution by the youth.

Nigeria is finished

I wonder why an exam for the NIS job would be conducted in the stadium. See the whole population of the helpless and jobless youth.

This is an indication to tell us it would continue like this if we only allow those stupid, silly, untruthful and power hungry so called rulers to lead the affair of our nation, life and future.

A nation that does not produce should not expect job creation. There is no job creation for the masses in the business of total importation.

All these must stop one day.

Our day shall come.

Nigerian Youths Arise for your future!!!!!

NIS should be charged for murder!

Time for revolution now, all these disgrace must end!

Τ̲̅ђe world most deadly and bloody revolution must take place in this country. If we dont kill all dis demons we call leaders they will kill all of us. If we dont kill OBJ, IBB, Buhari, Atiku, GEJ, Tony Anneni, Lai Muhammed, El Rufai, Bola Tinubu, Sanusi, Maina, etc they will kill us. Bastard demonds. They should av matched to National Assembly and demonstrate there. I heard that all τ̲̅ђe billions they generated was paid in2 david mark's wife Account.

Nigeria is finished

I wonder why an exam for the NIS job would be conducted in the stadium. See the whole population of the helpless and jobless youth.

This is an indication to tell us it would continue like this if we only allow those stupid, silly, untruthful and power hungry so called rulers to lead the affair of our nation, life and future.

A nation that does not produce should not expect job creation. There is no job creation for the masses in the business of total importation.

All these must stop one day.

Our day shall come.

Nigerian Youths Arise for your future!!!!!

NIS should be charged for murder!

Time for revolution now, all these disgrace must end!

Wave Analyst said...

Our government only cares 4 der household and friends. Wot a pity! d higher institution keep producing potential job seekers yearly.

Martins (GlossyMart Tech Gadgets 07037317400 or 08116202737) said...

"Mouth just open".....what sort of country was I born into?? God u just know the best..

AGB said...

RIP to my fellow compatriots.
As for my other compatriots talking ish about how the government isn't doing ish about unemployment,here's what I have to say to you guys:
"In as much as our government is inept & mostly incompetent, let's be truthful here & blame ourselves more. We (Nigerians) are very mentally lazy & that's the real cause of the very high rate of unemployment in country. Must every single person be employed? Can't some people take some risks & chances to break from the norm & start companies etc that will employ people? We all want the easy way,the sure & "fast way". Imagine a country where every single person wants to be be employed,who then would be the employer if everyone is thinking to one direction of---sitting in the office as an employee?
To compound things, a lot of Nigerians look down on anything made in Nigeria cos of "the slave mentality" that has been deeply planted in them. lol. I always laugh when I think of this cos it's funny how the same people who look down on every single locally made item turn around & shout "unemployment". Are we so daft & foolish? How can you look down on locally-made things & expect "unemployment" to not be high? How can you eat your cake & f'n have it? If locally-made items are patronized, the return money would definitely flow around our economy & more people would expand their companies & would definitely need more workers & this would mean the increase of both employers & employees & almost everyone would have a job. Sadly, my naija people don't like to think rightly,we all just like to be lazy & short-sighted. Let's enjoy the fruit of our mental laziness for now & stop screaming "unemployment" until we are ready to open our eyes. How on earth can we be so blind to simple things?"
AGB

Too bad nd sad..rip to d victims that lost their life..hope our FG is seeing diz as well.

OMG!!! Whichh levels naija??? This is 2014 common! Online test wud hv helped to cut this number down and save everyone the stress! Let's be realistic, how did dey expect to come up wt d man power to test 80,000 pple in a day in abuja alone, talkless of 2million pple worldwide???? Must we always pick the difficult way out of everything? No wonder someone said "there is somethin fundamentally wrong with a black man"

The saddest part is that, the people that will get this job are not even in this crowd. Some are not even in the country presently, and some are even still in university, but dey hav already reserved their space. Yeye country., and they are complaining of brain drain!

More than 2million application for just 3,000 vacant position? It just goes to highlight to high level of unemployment in this country, in the words of the great and legendary fela " I sorry sorry o, I sorry for Nigeria" because Nigeria is a time bomb waiting to explode

More than 2million application for just 3,000 vacant position? It just goes to highlight the high level of unemployment in this country, in the words of the great and legendary fela "I sorry sorry o, I sorry for Nigeria" because Nigeria is a time bomb waiting to explode

Naija is such a failed state dis kinda thing will neva happen in abroad yet we keep boasting we r the giant of africa omg what pathetic story dis our leaders shud be blamed for their death cos they neva cared for our youths rendering 60% of our youths jobless cos of their looting in billions, God will neva 4give u ppl shameless naija leaders

positions that have been taken already, people are just dying like rats.....this is heartlessness, others will see this as a money making venture.

this is sad......and why the white vest on most people? im confused.

OMG!!! This country is really in a mess.RIP to the departed souls.

God bless Nigeria! E go better one day
Sallysmart

AND NGOZI OKONJO IWEALA SAID THEY CREATED 2 MILLION JOBS IN 2013. WHAT A DECEIT. MAY THEIR SOULD REST IN PERFECT PEACE. AMEN!

Another employment scam on our unemployed youths.

ezechiedo said...

there are so many things our youths can do to be self employed. we must not all do white collar jobs. RIP to thos who lost thier life.

I weep at these and the heartlessness and foolishness of our leaders. Dear God! I'm never returning to Nigeria except on brief visits. so help me God

Linda no bi small world cup match oh!Nigeria is in trouble!

Dis just shows Nigeria is sitting on a time bomb, unemployment, Odikwa risky

Female banker who slept with Man for Deposits has her unclad pics leaked

Extreme madness! Ridiculous and ludicrous!

Do the immigration service have the wherewithal and resources to process submissions from this vast amount of applicants?

They could have capped the numbers of applicants to the first 1000-2000 received in designated geographical locations and then disregarded any further entries!!!!

No regard for health and safety in our pathetic country!

*The dead are only asleep for a little while - my thoughts are to the grieving family*

Edidiong said...

Honestly!...u mean there r over 2 million unemployed people....dis is not good @ all

ogunril said...

My people best time to think and take action..People like Linda won't complain about unemployment..choose ur path and pray its the right one..God Bless us all

Every family in Nigeria would have been crying today should BOKO HARAM have targeted those centers because it is obvious, there was no plan to safe guard the lives of the Nigerian job seeking youths. May the souls of those that lost their lives rest in peace.
Nigerian youth should focus more on personal talent and skill development and forget these our leader who's got no plan for them.

I'm sure so many ppl dia already have jobs

Linda trust me, port harcourt had more casualties but officials are denying it

Why the heck didn't they ask people to apply online and then shortlist??? Can't believe in this day and age this is still happening. For god's sake this is crazy!

Pumpkin

I can imagine,I ws at Murtala square in KD for d test or watever dey planned on doing,hd to leave wen it ws 1am nd I hd not bin attended to. Its rily pathetic,tnk God for social media. #sighs nd massage my leg#

@Abj, it was horrible, in the morning people lost their original credentials, some fainted nd to make it worse abt 9 lost their lives, later in the day things got so expensive that Pwater sold for #50,the country is in deep mess

This is really disheartening! They even asked them to compulsorily wear white shirt, shorts and trainers...#pathetic! May the souls of the departed RIP...No way for PDP in 2015 comewhatmay!!!

ZeeZee said...

That right there is the rate of unemployment shown in pics. Sad especially for the sincere hearted because half of those people will be willing to pay bribes too. Stay hopeful. God be your guide. All of us without connections, God is our connection AMEN

Absolutely shameful!

THIS IS FRAUD... 3,000 VACANCIES, BUT 8K SHOWED UP... WHY CANT THEY STOP WHEN 4,000 OBTAINED FORM?? BAD GOVERNMENT....

Wow!!! The blood of jesus!!!! This is to show how unemployment rate in Nigeria is soooo PATHETIC, and yet these stupid leaders keeps sending their kids abroad with public funds, soo sad! imagine people dying just for employment reasons? Ah! im very bitter about Nigeria tho, of which they already know the people they want for the positions already, is it some girls dat would have opened pussy for senator ni abi the one dat will suck feeder, I dont even know what is going on in that country, i just wish Nigerians will wake up like UKrain

If 8,000 youths are jobless.still seeking for jobs,then how many youths are employed in dis country?anywyz,may d soul of d departed ones rest in perfect peace,AMEN.GEJ pls do sumtin,remember we are still d leaders of tommorrow,abi d 2mrw neva come?

Ilu ti ko si ofin... lawless Nation! dis is Barbaric and very Stupid! If only dis youths can match to Aso- rock and demand for job employment from the president and if he refuses to do anything in 90 days, den let dem all do dere and tear d place apart! Nigerians are suffering naa, biko, dis is so unfair! When we r not animals, ehn? Jonathan, which way naaa? Which way Oga Ade? Which waaaaay?

Lord have MERCY!

We have leadership failure, let the youth stand up and start a revolution

Imagine that we could have taken over the country today-there were enough people in all these major cities to start a major riot and overthrow this government. I think we should. They should either refund the money or use the funds collected N2b to create jobs immediately.

codename Bronco said...

I was at the abuja stadium earlier on today. Dunno what they were thinking. Too many ppl. And when my brother tried to cover the event, officers came and threatened to seize his tab. So unfortunate how it turned out but I must say I am not surprised cos I knew there was going to be a stampede. U can easily see the desperation in so many ppls eyes. It's jus tragic

This is actually how revolution shld start

U spoke my mind. What happens to online testing. Too pathetic. RIP. Fallen herons

I wep for my country

Say so via s3x talk and s3x gists only

yooh said...

May dia souls RIPP

Who wan mark dr test?

I was at the abuja stadium today....hmmmm if not for God I would have been stampeded. How I survived today still puzzles me. God I thank you oo. My shoes,clothes, bag all story. Immigration no try today. 7seven people died and over 40 injured and I even sprained my ankle. The officers were overwhelemed with the crowd that showed up. They couldnt control the situation. If I continue today ehn, I won't sleep. Wanted sending you pics linda but I didn't know how to go about it. Thank God my phone wasn't stolen. There were people stealing there too. Pure water was sold at 15# and in some places 2for 50#
Gala-100, lacasera-200# small 10#buscuit sold at 30#

Seriously weeping.
DIAMOND

Hmmmm dis is really sad WHAT?!!!!!!! Jst c d crowd evry whr, bt I knw more than 50 percent of dt crowd r employed, bt r jst greedy n won't let others get jobs,
All dsame, God help us

In a country where the youths av chosen not to take the future in their hands bt wud rather like to sinisterly hope against hopelessness,then we shouldn't be surprise to see tens of thousands packed in football pitches across the nation for vacancies of abt 3,000 knowing too well that most of d slots av already bin allotted to cronies of d villa & NASS members who won't be part of the test. Now the question is? If same job seekers can besiege venues for test then wat is stopping us from speaking with one voice on the disappearance of $20billion. If those same set of job seekers decide to demonstrate against the corruption in our country den we wud av succeeded in creating a buzz dat can't b ignored by our clueless embezzling leaders.

Hmmm. You better shut up if you don't known the real gist. I was there and there was a stampede. Oloriburuko

Honsylglobal.com : UK Global Online Financial Advisers said...

CNN in one of its recent broadcasts, posits that 100 million Nigerians live
below the poverty line. The National Bureau of Statistics said over 54% of youths
in Nigeria are jobless,while the World Bank puts the figure at 56%.

According to Dr Okonjo Iweala, the misery index increased in 2013.The consequences of this is that the Youths and Poor are becoming more susceptible to crimes .

Boko Haram, a designed tool to destabilize President Jonathan, could also have its
roots to the Arab Spring which has been traced to Poverty and Joblessness.

According to Wole Olanipekun (SAN), former Unibadan Chancellor ……“Go to the
Streets, …you see anger and frustration …..suffering, poverty, anguish
and malady written boldly on the faces of several Nigerians”. Chief Mike Ozekome
(SAN) described Youth Unemployment as the father of Boko Haram,
Militancy, Kidnapping, Robbery etc.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 276   Newer› Newest»