6 die in stampede at immigration employment tests venues across Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 15 March 2014

6 die in stampede at immigration employment tests venues across Nigeria

The Nigerian Immigration Service decided to conduct a test for 3,000 vacant positions and the number of Nigerian Youths that went to the various test locations was overwhelming! Above is a collage of the crowd at the respective venues of the Immigration Service Test carried out in stadiums across the country this morning.

The Abuja stadium which is to sit not more than 60,000 people had well over 80,000 youths and only one entrance to the stadium was opened for the applicants. It's being reported that at least six people died during a stampede at some of the venues of the poorly coordinated test. The dead are mostly from the Abuja venue. I hear a pregnant woman was among the deceased.

The dead applicants have been taken to the National Hospital Abuja morgue. May their souls rest in peace...Amen.

It's important to note that these applicants paid N1,000 registration fee and there were over 2 million applicants...you do the calculation, that's about N2billion. We need the Minister of Interior and Comptroller General of Immigration to address what happened today. Continue to see more pics..

276 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 276 of 276
Honsylglobal.com : UK Global Online Financial Advisers said...

CNN in one of its recent broadcasts, posits that 100 million Nigerians live
below the poverty line. The National Bureau of Statistics said over 54% of youths
in Nigeria are jobless,while the World Bank puts the figure at 56%.

According to Dr Okonjo Iweala, the misery index increased in 2013.The consequences of this is that the Youths and Poor are becoming more susceptible to crimes .

Boko Haram, a designed tool to destabilize President Jonathan, could also have its
roots to the Arab Spring which has been traced to Poverty and Joblessness.

According to Wole Olanipekun (SAN), former Unibadan Chancellor ……“Go to the
Streets, …you see anger and frustration …..suffering, poverty, anguish
and malady written boldly on the faces of several Nigerians”. Chief Mike Ozekome
(SAN) described Youth Unemployment as the father of Boko Haram,
Militancy, Kidnapping, Robbery etc.

Honestly, they should just match on to Aso rock and occupy the place till he resigns!

Mekese said...

This is the height of Madness.
I find it very hard to comprehend what took place at the stadiums.
This is a matter of National Security now..

I dnt understand dis country any longer.... After collecting 1000 from each applicant dey can't organize just a test.... That show that out leader are failure.... Time and money was wasted ....at d productive hours of d day.....I believe still can still change if all dis pple is going to vote for d right candate for 2015 election.....

This is really bad oOOo. God help Nigeria....

SOO SAD.

This is so sad if it's real but some of the pictures do not look like it's for a test, I mean why is everybody wearing white? Looks more like someone is trying to pass of nysc orientation pic as the job interview venue

You say 6? Linda no just make me vex oh? More than 20 people died alone in port harcourt. I saw 4 corpes at upth abuja was more than 20, talk more of other states! Media bullshit. Their bloods is on nigeria immigration. God will take vengnce! I'm so pained

Most of dem r some lazy fools who r just hopess n lack simple imagination 2 create jobs 4 themselves. My people in any society even places like US n Uk, it's just a reality that d govt can't create jobs 4 everybody, but rather people should create their own desired destinies by using their heads more for their own livelihoods. I'm not saying they should become armed robbers or ashawos, but there's always a way out if create n explore ur opportunities.
Imagine if Linda was d kind that goes a round begging for a job from d govt, would we all have this marvelous blog to air iur feelings about trending social issues? NO!
God bless u Linda!

Papiloco from Atlanta

Lisa London said...

Disgraceful!!

Only scammers charge applicants for applying for a job and that is what this is. A SCAM

This was just a money-making exercise for the department and
they should be apprehended accordingly.

All profits all profits should be given to the families of the families of the deceased.

Everyone is comfortable with how bad everything is in this Nigeria
No Light
No Water
No Fuel
No Security
No Jobs

and the government is comfortable

what rubbish

Its sooo pathetic Immigration shd be held responsible!positions dt r already occupied by those connected they jst killed pple al 4 nuttin! Who wan mark der tests? Which Man-power dey Immigration!!!Nonsense!!!its jst a pity sha....xoxo Charmie

youths should embrace Agriculture and stop looking for white collar job.I have a farm and by the special grace of God am making a living from it..we should bend down and look for solution to this menace than blaming the government all the time..Government can not employ everyone..Government has no business in business..We should demand for right policies and low interest rates from the banks with that all of us can create jobs..

Not every1 here is jobless,some came4better jobs...note dat people. D #1000 collected from these youths' questionable. What's d reason 4 d charge? Is it 2 hire venues? 4 refreshments? 4 test scripts? Wat 4?

Its sooo pathetic Immigration shd be held responsible!positions dt r already occupied by those connected they jst killed pple al 4 nuttin! Who wan mark der tests? Which Man-power dey Immigration!!!Nonsense!!!its jst a pity sha....xoxo Charmie

Dey re more dan six that died cux @ abuja dey. Re more dan fifity two dat died I wrote d exam too today

R I P

FDJ

Big for nothing country. .. wisdom would have dictated a manageable number of applicants but as usual we have dullards in charge of affairs. . May their souls rest in peace

This is really pathetic for my country. This immigration people should be persecuted. This is inhuman. How can u conduct a screening process without taking adequate measures to ensure safety! In a centre I heard question papers were thrown into the air, and people had to struggle to get their paper, only for those who succeeded not to be able to submit after answering the questions because the examiners had vanished into thin air.

Truly a failed state

I FUCKING hate this guy called JONATHAN and I mean it!
This can not happen here in the uk.

And why did they have to pay one thousand naija to come n write an exam for a job?.... Naija... May the souls that died RIP. God help us.

Dah! Don't you have books to read or something related that occupies your time? You are always amongst the first 3 people to comment and half the time,your comments are razz!

Awwwwww I seriously weep for Nigeria.May God take control and God help our leaders

Joy Monique A said...

So all this celebs chika ike that like to show off take note.nigerias are suffering and u are showing us nonsense hotel and bag.

Abba Moro should resign. He is a failure. How can you conduct test for such number of people in one day?He is opening his mouth to talk of transparency. There is nothing transparent in this recruitment exercise. After collecting N1000 from each candidate. This is a serious scam. Where in the world do you collect money from candidates for recruitment? It only happens in Nigeria.This is fraud. The minister should be investigated. He lacks integrity. Why do you have to subject poeple to such inhuman and degrading treatment? This is evil.

Apparently this people paid a thousand Naira for dere death...Lord have Mercy....

Wicked government - who pays for a job vacancy application - wow

Where are the people dat wr applauding jonathan bcos he went to kneel dwn,shallow minded fools wit an equally stupid government,goin around rallying 4 an election dats stil nxt year,lie dat dey seized 700 armoured vehicles 4m boko haram nd captured 500 of dem,dey replied d nation by bombing yday again,a country where corruption has escalated,electicity gotten worse,billions av been turned to thousands cos no1 steals in millions anymor,a weak president who thrives on peopls sorrow,a female minster has been revealed to av bot 3.1 billion naira jet,yet no1 has been sacked,pension scam moni hasn't been found,phcn 10 billion dollars,subsidy moni,stella oduah 255million,nnpc 20 billion$$shoutout to d ones dat voted 4 gudluck,aside abacha he's d worse tin to av happened 2 nigeria,ow does 20billion dollars go missing nd d president claims 2 b unaware.we had beta start praying nd I hope jonathan leaves his post.4illy irresponsible weak man,a sorry excuse 4 a man

The Nigeria Immigration Service 2014 Job recruitment exam was held today march 15th,2014,successfully today.over 700,000 applied for the nigeria immigration service.and only 5,000 names will be shortlisted for recruitment into the nigeria immigration service.Marking have started and the names are currently being compiled and processed by the Nigeria immigration service..for recruitment help,more information and upgrading of your marks,and help so that you can get this recruitment offer into the nigeria immigration service, and recruitment assistance into the nigeria immigration service recruitment exercise,contact us on the following ways:
phone number_09033731924 or 07031557896
VIA EMAIL-nigeriaimmigrationservice27@gmail.com

Linda I very angry about this situation and quite frankly appalled by what happened. 80,000 applicants at one test centre for God sake and although I know better, I say that its a deliberate attempt by government officials to destroy our country.
I use your blog as a forum to vent my frustrations, I did not have to apply for this job but I wrote the NLNG tests in london and even the turn out for that test only reinforced my growing resentment towards Nigeria. Nigeria my country! I have refused to let the wicked acts of a select few in that country destroy the my vision of a future nigeria with strong autonomous bureaucracy and strong state institutions. I pray everyday that those who use the marginalized and voiceless citizens of our country as a pawn in their political agendas, will have their children and family members go through a similar hurt. They will be eaten alive by the most new class of transparent leaders and no one will lend them a 'voice'.
Thank you Linda for what you do, only God will assist you in fighting our battles for us,

God pls deliver nigeria....may d souls of d departed rest in peace

Sad thing is many mumus in this crowd will still vote for "GEJ not PDP" because he's from a village close to theirs or because he's a Christian!

God knows I will soon leave dis country. That is certain. May God save us all. Amen. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

OMG...................

Those people to fill up the vacancies have already been selected.....all this one na formality....na God go help our youths

3k Vacancy just squeezed out N6billion from you guys after the dying and the injuries at the stadium and you still don't know its a scheme,please how much would 10k vacancy squeeze out of my nice Job seekers pockets?okay wait for upcoming gov. agency vacancies to erupt once you guys forget this happened.

LINDA LET MY PPL READ (LLMPR)
LAGOS AMEBO(VERIFIED)

I keep telling my parents that one day people will start invading kitchens in Naija just for food. The country is desperate; when will this bastards wake up. Linda if you really want to effect change start promoting the word "VOTE" on your blog everyday till next year. Nigerians should go and vote, address your grievances @ the polls. Look at how many people showed up to write exam just for Immigration job. Can the Nigerian youth do the same to change the country through the ballot box. A word is enough for the wise, cast your fucking vote and secure your future. I am not and will not advocate for any candidate, just VOTE.

And the Stupid Nigerian youths!! YES you read that right, would go back in 2015 to vote PDP back into power. Any way yes I'm Nigerian too and a youth.

I also heard that Abia state command took degree holders to ibeku high school(for the real thing) while non degree holders sat at the stadium watching ohafia warrior dance. Lindo wahala dey for that country...I no come bk abeg.

VOTE WISELY IN 2015, the Change starts from us

Why didn't they do the initial interview in batches.? England ran the same vacancy last year for 50,000 roles. Applicants got batch numbers and 500,000 applied and sat for the first stage, over a 3month period. That way, congestion was avoided.
We need thinkers in that country.

It's real jor. I saw it live

Comment reserved...

Comment reserved!!!

2million applicants = 2billion naira
2million applicants = 3 thousand vacancies
2 million applicants = 7 innocent lives lost & several injured
2 million applicants = squandered funds
2 million applicants = proves 0 employment opportunity
2 million applicants applying for 3k vacancies = No future
NIGERIA IS FINISHED !!!! ... IF YOU HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY TO LEAVE THE COUNTRY PLEASE DO WITHOUT HESITATION...
3 thousand Vacancies = Senators Slot, VC slot, Governor Slot, House of Rep slots , Head of Aviation slot, head of immigration slot etc. So if all this mofos all av slots which we all know.. how many genuine applicants who paid n worte the yeye test wud get employment at the end of the day?

RIP to the Dead !!!.... OUR LEADERS ARE ALL THIEVES !!!!!!!!!.....

8 people died @ the Abuja venue. The most annoying thing is the dress code, as if they were still in NYSC camp. The physical test aught to have been done after the written test. The successful candidate will then, proceed to do physical examination. The comptroller general of Immigration should be sacked.

Where re the 2 million jobs that dr mrs okonjo iweala claimed that this govt created last year.

Corruption in highest order! God have mercy on us. In others countries, unemployed are being paid some money by Govt. whereas in Nigeria unemployed paid to Govt. money to just write a test for the job they are not certain to get. What an irony. We are slaves to our people we voted into office. I think the blood of those that died are calling for revolution. We have been pushed to the wall and that is the limit, the only option remaining now is to bounce back and that is the REVOLUTION!!!

8 people died @ the Abuja venue. The most annoying thing is the dress code, as if they were still in NYSC camp. The physical test aught to have been done after the written test. The successful candidate will then, proceed to do physical examination. The comptroller general of Immigration should be sacked.

Nkem said...

I stand corrected please. I am told applicants were told to wear white like prisoners. Is this slave trade? Where in the world do people wear uniform simply to take a test? Until we the youth begin to think like the
revolutionaries of the Arab Spring this will
continue. God will not come down from
heaven to do it for us. He has given us the
wherewithal to do it ourselves. RIP.

Because that was the required attire at some of the venues!

Please add Okonjo-Iweala, Soludo, Nzeribe, etc to the revolution hit list. Kill them all.

Mab said...

OLE

how i wish all these youth will change heir lives with their votes come 2015.

Lol Sold out show ? Any there to perform ?

Fraud!!!!

Well Said

The truth is we have to emanicipate ourselves from mental slavery. Nigerian youths don't understad the type of power we have as a people. If we came 2geda like dis to effect change and protest for the descripancies of our government. I believe the impact which it would have made would have been much more. At least the people who died ydai would have died for a cause. I was so appalled wen u heard the news of the stampede in Abuja. RIP to those who lost their lives. But d truth iz we must know our worth. And to think that with all the education received they would be able to decipher a simple embezzlement plot. How can someone who is offering a job opportunity request for 1,000 naira.. Arrant Bullshit. We need a REVOLUTION. Its time to open ur minds to the truth. We are not in d stone age.

lovlyivon said...

LORD Nt Lawd idiot like u u can't respect God himself spelling his name wrongly btw I dnt no wht dis country is turning into RIP To those who lost their lives

@ Morris J, you need to confirm your stupidity. The reason applicants wore white is written all over the internet.
Make Google your friend before typing nonsense!

God heal our land!

Jesus see population

jesus see population

Bigafo said...

First and foremost, may the gentle souls of the departed youths rest in perfect peace; Amen.
How on earth can the Nigerian Immigration Service decide to recruit 3,000 new posts and carry out tests in an open stadium?
Is an open stadium the appropriate environment that is conducive for carrying out such job tests?
Was the Nigerian Immigration Service facing underemployment to the extent that it found it easy to create vacancies for 3,000 new jobs? Why not draft new youth corpers to fill the post if they actually exist?
Is it a norm for application forms for job recruitments within government establishments to be paid for by potential applicants?
Was the approval of the National Minister responsible Immigration Services sort for the creation of 3,000 new jobs and the imminent fees charged for application forms?
With the potential security risk of attack by Boko Aram etc; what security measures were put in place to safeguard far more national disaster of terrorism in such open environment?
I find it hard to believe that the President (GEJ) is very much aware of this stupid arrangement.
It must be a scam designed by those senior officials within the Nigerian Immigration Services to generate funds for themselves (officer's personal honorarium).
It would be a very good and reasonable idea for the Head and Minister for Nigerian Immigration Services to be made to respond accordingly to this serious matter.

lamee said...

Scam. Lol. Your family will burn to ashes.

Omo-Oba said...

God please have mercy on this country Nigeria.
RIP to those who lost their lifes.

I weep for Nigeria

The number of applicants are a good measure of the rate of umemployment in any country. Can you immagine the rate of unemployment rate in Nigeria. This is a result of pasing out 6000 (3 batches of 2000 people average)youth corp memeber per/state * 36 states in Nigeria per year. Is the government creating jobs to match these graduates?

EmilyJacob said...

OMG it's very sad to see this, Goog Luck al of you......

Oluwole said...

It is very unfortunate that this is happening in our country. Too much crowd for few vacancies. I strongly advise some youths I come across to make use of their phones and computers to make money legitimately from social media, blogging ,etc while looking for the so-called white collar job. Government can not provide all the jobs, hard truth. May God comfort the families of the deceased.

Jhon Staphen said...

rest in peace. i am so sad indecent about 6 die in stampede at immigration employment.
Migrate to Singapore | Migrate specialist Singapore

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 276 of 276   Newer› Newest»