Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 04/12/2009 - 04/19/2009

Friday 17 April 2009

Style Night 5

We are getting ready for our next annual Style Night Fashion Show.

Last year's event took place on Sun. 3rd of August at Golden Gates Restaurant, Ikoyi. It featured 7 designers and 40models. MI, Djinee, Obiwon, Tobagold, Omobaba and Streethood thrilled the guests.

It was sponsored by AMIGOS HAIR, LACASERA DRINK AND PRESTIGE COSMETICS.

Here are a few pix from last year's event...

GM of Lacasera and ex miss Lacasera

Rukkies on stage with models

Designer, Modela

Make up was my MARS Cosmetics

Djinee performing

Models at rehearsal

You can check out more pictures of Style Night 4 here...http://lindaikeji.blogspot.com/2008/08/more-style-night-4-pictures.html#comments

Now to Style Night 5

This year's event will take place on Sat. June 27th at Lagoon Restaurant...(hope we won't have to postpone it...;)), It will feature 10 designers, 40 models and we're also going to get some celebs to walk the runway that evening... clothed by one of Naija's most respected designers.

Like before, we'll have music, comedy, dance and lots of fun.

The only difference between this year's event and previous shows, apart from being bigger and better, is that this year we will have an exhibition.

So it's exhibition and fashion show. Exhition of fashion, beauty items, products/services...whatever! Exhibition starts 4pm and ends 7pm. If you are Exhitbiting, you get a space to display your products/services, you also get to brand the venue.

It wasn't so difficult to get sponsors last year, but the story is a little different this year. Companies are hoarding their cash but we'll definitely get some of it ;)

Right now we are looking for sponsors, designers, exhibitors, etc etc

So if you're interested in sponsoring this event, or just want to exhibit, brand the venue or just support the show in any capacity, contact me directly on this no - 016635848 or call the event manager, Rolf on 08023195651.

Hope to hear from someone out there ;)

Won't be blogging this weekend
Have a fab weekend everyone
Catch y'all next week.
And remember, if you don't control your destiny, someone else will
All the best!

Switzerland Ready to Return $130m Loot

No Matter how used we are to the attrocities committed by some of our government officials, we hear some things and it still sends shivers down our spine.

Don't know how many of you know about this Halliburton bribe scandal...been following it for a bit now.
Here's the latest as written by Chinwe Ochu of Thisday Newspaper

The Government of Switzerland yesterday said it would be willing to release the $150 million Halliburton bribe money trapped in Swiss bank accounts if Nigeria formally requests for assistance.Switzerland's Foreign Minister, Michele Telary-rey, who disclosed this in Abuja while meeting with Nigeria's Foreign Affairs Minister, Ojo Maduekwe, said her country regards Nigeria as an economically and politically strategic country in Africa and would do everything to ensure a good relationship.

She said Switzerland was committed to the release of the trapped funds to help in the fight against corruption in Nigeria.

Nigeria's Ambassador to Switzerland, Dr. Martin Egomoivi, who was part of the delegation, also expressed optimism that the negotiation with the Swiss Government would reap positive result as the European country was committed to repatriating the funds.

The Nigerian envoy said Switzerland has 60 companies operating in Nigeria with about $200 million investment.

Responding, Maduekwe expressed the appreciation of the Nigerian government for the understanding in the Halliburton affair and asked for assistance and professional expertise in agriculture and gas flaring.

The Federal Government had two weeks ago disclosed that investigators had traced $150 million out of the $180 million Halliburton bribe money to Zurich, Switzerland – saying it was yet to ascertain the name of the account holder.

The Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Chief Mike Aondoakaa, who described the discovery as “shocking”, said the money had been trapped in Zurich because it had been difficult to establish the operator of the account but warned that no government official found culpable would be speared.

He however did not state categorically who found it difficult to ascertain the account’s owner – whether the Nigerian government or officials of the unnamed bank.

About $180 million was said to have been paid out to some Nigeria top government officials as bribe through a subsidiary of Halliburton, Kellogg, Brown & Root (KBR), to facilitate the award of $6 billion LNG contracts.“We have discovered that $150 million of the bribe money is in Zurich. That is the first shocking discovery. The entire money is $180 million. $150 million is already trapped in Zurich,” he said.

$150mil? You'll know how much that is in Naira? And something tells me the culprits will never be found...and after a while, we won't hear about it again...lol
Naija for life!

Thursday 16 April 2009

Naija Entertianment News...

Let's continue with our naija gossip, not much 'cos I'm dead tired. Been on the road all day...but I go try sha...
Enjoy...

John Fashanu denies pocketing Oceanic Bank's N25m - Leke Adeneye (Encomium)

Former English Premier football star, Ambassador John Fashanu, has debunked the talk in town that a N25m gift from billionaire, Alhaji Aliko Dangote, to the Football Challenge with Fash, was responsible for the Oceanic Bank's withdrawal of their sponsorship of the reality TV show. The ex soccer star debunked the tale while speaking with Encomium Weekly Thursday, April 9th, 2009. He described the alleged fraud as a baseless rumour which lacks every element of truth.

Some watchers of the joint venture between Oceanic and Fashanu had earlier alleged that the one year relationship btw then had broken down irreparably over a N25mil donation made by Dangote which John Fashanu did not turn into the coffers of Oceanic Bank.

according to tale bearers, Dangote was disappointed when at the grand finale of the Football Challenge with Fash, the bank's managing director, Mrs. Cecilia Ibru, failed to acknowledge his financial support to the programme.

Dangote, as we gathered, had asked why no acknowledgment was made of his N25m gift allegedly delivered through the ambassador. Shocked by the news of the donation, Mrs Ibru called for the termination of the agreement between Fashanu and Oceanic Bank.

This is what Fashanu had to say about it
John Fashanu "Yes I have parted way with Oceanic Bank but it's not because of any scandal. I had a one year agreement with them which ended in Jan. 09. As far as I am concerned, nobody collected any money from anybody. I did not collect any money from anybody. I gave Oceanic Bank only one season and it has ended successfully. I have since moved on. "

Mikel Obi acquires N35m Bentley - Foluso Samuel

Super Eagles and Chelsea of England midfielder, John Mikel Obi has added another expensive car to the automobiles in his garage. The footballer's choice this time around is the 2008 Bentley Continental GT. This latest addition was acquired few weeks ago and it is said to have cost the 22 yr old soccer star a princely $273, 200 (N35m). A black range rover sport, a Sedan and Mercedes 360 are some of the other automobiles in Mikel's garage.

Emeka Ike on love and relationships (Encomium mag)

Why do some men womanise?
Emeka "It is the way of the world. I think it is better to do women than for men to do men"
Hmmm?

Why do men loose interest in women after having sex with them most times?
Emeka "If she didn't meet up with the guy's standard, the guy could loose interest in her"

Why is it that most men could have sex with women they never loved
Emeka "Why should a woman give in by sleeping with a man that does not love her"

Ikechukwu loses girlfriend to friend - Stella Dimoko Korkus

This crooner has allegedly lost his girlfriend Niki Bakare to his friend Chini Odogwu and he is so angry and telling it all on facebook. On Monday April 6th 2009, his facebook status said "Kills is single. Women cheat and with your friend too? Of all the women out there, aint life grand?"

The same day he changed his status to "Yeah, personal life off facebook in one week, from then, they can deal with the PA. But best way to move forward is airing shit out. Putting people on blast New York Style. With that said, I hope Chini and Niki have a great life together. Or was it abi? Oh no he was a month ago or so. Men and women are equally animals when they choose to be. Life is all about choices, that's all I'll say"

And that my people is the end of my amebo...lol
Not much, but hope it was still juicy...;)
Got to go, I have a terrible headache. Later!

Wednesday 15 April 2009

Funke Akindele: Africa’s Best Actress

If you haven't seen the movie Jenifa...then you just haven't seen the Nigerian comedy movie of the year. Here's a little write-up on the lead actress of the movie, Funke Akindele.

Funke Akindele: A brief history – Azuh Arinze
Funke Akindele did not just happen on the scene; she’d been around for a decade, learning the rudiments of the game at the feet of the masters. Roped into the industry by Kunle Coker, but ably supported by her medical doctor mother, the law graduate of the University of Lagos started exhibiting that she was headed somewhere when she dutifully and diligently interpreted her role in the TV programme, I Need To Know.

Grabbing a few other roles in the English arm of the movie industry later, and yet unsatisfied, Funke knew that her full potential may not be realised there. And so, to the Odunfa Caucus, in the Yoruba sector, did she run to. True to her guess, she started growing little by little and in no time, found herself at the pinnacle of her career, becoming a regular on most movie jackets and pocketing enough money to enable her take care of her needs as well as assist those who regularly turn to her for assistance.

Then, the big bang: the release of the monster hit, Jenifa 1 & 2 and the 32 year-old's life has never been the same again. Appreciated and applauded, celebrated and commended, Funke has been lapping up everything, and profusely thanking God for singling her out for this kind of monumental favour and blessing.

Recently crowned Africa's Best Actress (courtesy AMAA Awards, which held in Bayelsa State on Sat. April 4th 09). She had this to say about the additional feather to her cap "I feel honoured, I feel fulfilled and I am happy that after working so hard, my effort has been crowned by becoming the Best Actress in Africa. My life will never be the same again. The award is going to make me want to do more, work harder to be able to fit into the international standard...it's going to be more like a challenge to do more because when you start getting awards like that, what it is indirectly telling you is to do more, get better and keep improving.

Love the movie Jenifa and so so happy for Funke.
By the way, Funke and I were friends in school (UNILAG)...
Yes I'm claiming her...lol
Better entertainment news coming tomorrow...
Cheers!

9ICE dedicates his new house

I'm doing mobile blogging...;)
Enjoy...

Rave singer 9ice has moved into his own property, in Lagos. - Ayeni Adekunle
The bestselling act, who climbed the ladder of fortune with the success of his 2007 single gongo aso, hosted family members, very close friends, and his staff at Alapomeji records on Sunday April 12 at a breakfast session to celebrate the completion of his multi-million Naira duplex.

9ice with wife, Toni Payne

Apart from 9ice’s parents, and his wife Toni Payne, those present at the house dedication include Jah Bless, 2Phat, ID Cabasa, and his manager Dehinde Fajana.
The cream-coloured duplex, already named Alapomeji Villa, was erected over a period of six months, and the singer personally supervised the project.

Interestingly, the house also has a full audio studio where 9ice is expected to finish work on his third album. The fully-equipped studio is already ready-to-use, with a 32 Channel console, Adam speakers, Newman anniversary edition microphones, Roland Fantom keyboard and a full option Mac PC. ‘‘It has been my dream to have my own studio in the comfort of my house. And now, I’m happy that God has made it possible. I can wake up in the middle of the night and come down here to voice any idea that comes to my head. The studio means a lot to me, that’s why I’ve stopped at nothing to make sure it’s the best’’, 9ice says.

Surrounded by lush green grass, and tucked behind thick walls, 9ice’s property is situated in a private estate around Lagos Abeokuta Expressway, in Lagos.
‘‘I like this area because it is very quiet and peaceful, and I have some of my family living around here. There’s nothing more beautiful than being surrounded by those you love. This is my home for now, and I thank God for making this dream come true’’

Apart from the duplex, he also recently acquired several plots of land within the same area, where he plans to set up the Alapomeji records offices and an audio visual studio.
After the prayer session to dedicate the house on Easter Sunday, 9ice presented his father with a surprise gift: gold-coloured Honda Accord iVTec.

Wow, great news...!
More stuff coming...

Soul E's Interview

Let's gossip...lol
I'm sure you all know their story, so I don't need to go into their history.
The talented musician granted an interview to Justina Nweke of Encomium mag this week...
Enjoy...

How do you combine your musical career with your pastoral duties
S "Now let me clarify this. The church thing is my ex's thing. She's the one handling it. When we were together, everyone presumed that it was my thing, but I only gave her the support. But right now that we are no longer together, she's handling the ministry. I am a musician, that is all I do, but of course I go to church, I love my God."

But the general notion is that you are the founder of the church

S "That's what everybody thought, bu that was not the real thing. It was her church. She is the pastor of the church, but of course because I am a limelight person and she was my girl, everybody around presumed that Soul E was the pastor of the church. But the truth of the matter is that, it is her church. She founded the church."

Talking about your ex, you were warned by Pastor Chris Okotie not to get married due to age difference and other things. Why did you go ahead with the marriage?

S "There's something about Soul E, I don't go after what people think is right. I go after what I believe in. People go into relationship and break up. The same person you just talked about now broke up from a marriage too."

It is alleged that you have a preference for older women

S "If I see a woman that I love whether she old pass me or not, I will go for her. It is not a matter of prefering older women, it is a matter of does Soul E really love this person. I go after what I love. I don't go after age. Meanwhile no be only me marry person wey old pass am, plenty people don do am."

Your ex sometime ago said that your marriage packed up due to financial reason. Was that the basis of your marriage?

S "I didn't marry because of finance. I don't go into relationships because of finace. Finance is secondary, money comes and goes. If she said that, well you can go and interview her and let her say that but me I don't know what that is. In fact, it is not true and can never be true."

But she was said to have financially supported you

S "Let me ask you a question, if you are in a relationship with a woman you call your wife, whatever she does to her business or however she supports her husband is not a big deal. That she supports you is not an issue. I have seen cases where a girl built a house for her boyfriend"

Really? lol

Is there any room for reconciliation?

S "We are good friends. She has moved on, I have moved on.

And that my people... is the end :)

More entertainment gossip coming your way...

Tuesday 14 April 2009

Nigeria's Top 20 Best Dressed Women

Hey people, hope you all had a great Easter celebration. It's back to work now sorry o ;)

Anyway, I need your opinion about something. We are working on Nigeria's Top 20 Best Dressed Women (for the mag) and well...the guys at work came up with a list....and erm...we can't all seem to agree on the Top 20. I personally think that we missed out on a few names...like my name for instance...I kid, I kid...lol

So I'm bringing it here....
Below is a list of the top 20 names (I added a few names) the guys at work came up with. Please if there's any name you think shouldn't be there or any name we missed out...do let us know.

Check it out....

70's Opral Benson

60's Erelu Abiola Dosunmu

50's Helen Prest

40's Nike Oshinowo

30's or 4o's Lanre Da Silva Ajayi

30's Rita Dominic

30's Shade Okoya

20's Omowunmi Akinnifesi

Here are the names
Nike Oshinowo
Helen Prest Ajayi
Rita Dominic
Erelu Abiola Dosunmu
Grace Egbagbe
Genevieve Nnaji
Betty Irabor
Lanre Da Silva Ajayi
Omowunmi Akinnifesi
Oprah Benson
Nkiru Anumudu
Shade Okoya
Toyin Saraki
Funmi Iyanda
Ifeoma Williams
Dorothy Atake
Nimi Akinkugbe
Mo Abudu
Abba Folawiyo
Stella Damasus Nzeribe
Nike Ogunlesi
Florence Ita Giwa
Rukky Sanda
Ibidun Ajayi Ighodalo
Mariam Babangida
Linda Chuba Ikpeazu
Toyin Raji
So what do you guys think, who should and shouldn't be on this list?
Please tell us what you think...
Pix thanks to solafolowosele and bella.

Meanwhile check out the US top 20...
Best dressed Black women of 2008

Rihanna in 1st place
Beyonce in 2nd place

Oprah Winfrey

Michelle Obama

Mel B

Joy Bryant

Halle Berry
Jill Marie Jones
Jurnee Smollett
Queen Latifah
Add Image
Gabrielle Union

Lauren London

Thandie Newton

Garcelle Beauvais Nilon

Kerry Washington

Jada Pinkett Smith

Alicia Keys

Selita Ebanks

Jordin Sparks

Keri Hilson

If I get a lot of responses eh, I'll give you people sweet, hot naija gossip...better one for that matter...lol
Waiting...