Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 07/13/2014 - 07/20/2014

Saturday 19 July 2014

Photos from Adanna Ohakim and David Steineker's white wedding

Adanna Ohakim is one of the daughters of former Imo State governor Ikedi Ohakim. She married David Steineker today July 19th in Dublin. Congrats to them. See more photos after the cut...

Families wiped out! Lawyer, his wife and 3 children perish in MH17

British man John Allen, 44, a lawyer, his Dutch wife, a primary school teacher, Sandra Allen, their three sons, Chris (left), Ian (centre), and Julian (right) all died when pro-Russian rebels shot down the Malaysian passenger plane on Thursday July 17th. See another family that perished in the disaster after the cut...

Nigerian gay pastor Jide Macaulay says being gay has no expiry date

There are quite a number of women married to closeted gay men. Check yourself, woman! Lol. If you know, why are you still with him? Yes, you! I'm talking to you!! Why are you still holding on??

Project Fame Unleashes 7th Season of Great Entertainment

As the MTN Project Fame Season 7 begins this July, 2014, families and the youth across Anglophone West Africa will be expecting the usual excitement and suspense that have endeared them to the reality show in the past seven years. The TV musical reality show’s audience will be glued to their TV sets all evening to watch, rate and applaud extraordinary performances from young and promising superstars who will be aiming to win the highest prize at the end of 13 weeks of intense competition. Continue...

Touching story of Lt. Kyom Leo:Nigerians pay tribute to soldier killed in counter insurgency operation

2nd Lieutenant Leo of the Nigerian Army was one of the three gallant soldiers killed in operation as Insurgents ambushed Nigerian troops during a patrol to dislodge insurgents around Delwa, Borno State. (Read story here). He was due to get married August 30th. Above is a copy of his wedding invitation. He was buried on Thursday July 17th. Continue...

Jermaine Jackson in Nigeria to work with P-Square on 6th album

Former Jackson 5 member and late King of Pop Michael Jackson's brother Jermaine Jackson is in Nigeria to work with P-Square on their 6th album. A very excited Peter shared the new and photos on his instagram page. See another pic after the cut...

Photos: Selena Gomez steps out in see-through blouse...

The 21 year old actress and singer wore this see-through blouse with feathered skirt from Blumarine to a press conference at the Ischia Global Film and Music Festival in Italy today. Would you rock the dress?

Brand new video: Otia - Na You

CandyTown Entertainment presents Otia's brand new video for his gospel hit single Na You, featuring DMC, Akwaba and Zion Boy. Enjoy...

Second wedding for 9-year-old schoolboy and his 61-year-old wife

Why is it okay for a 61yr old woman to kiss a 9 yr old boy in the mouth all in the name of tradition?
A 9-year-old schoolboy has become one of the world's youngest grooms for the 2nd time, marrying his 62-year-old wife again. Looking a little taller in last year's silvery tuxedo, baby faced Saneie Masilela clutched the hand of Helen Shabangu as they repeated their vows one year on.
Last year the boy, from nearby Tshwane, tied the knot with bride Helen after claiming he had been told by his dead ancestors to wed. Shockingly his family took the message from the heavens seriously and hurriedly forked out £500 for the bride and a further £1,000 for the big day. 
The second marriage ceremony was this time held at the home of the blushing bride in Ximhungwe in Mpumalanga, South Africa, in front of around 100 guests. Wide-eyed residents looked on as the married mother-of-five shared a piece of cake, a toast and even a kiss with her young groom Sanele -  and long-term husband Alfred Shabangu, 66.
Watch the video after the cut...

Hilarious behind the scenes pics from Waje and Tiwa Savage's new music video

Produced by Spellz, Onye is the 2nd track off Waje’s eponymously titled album W.A.J.E. Tiwa Savage is featured in this hilarious video which has Omawumi appear in a cameo. Model and actor Bryan Okwara also stars as love interest.

Shot in Lagos, the video was directed by KemiAdetiba. Check on these hilarious behind the scenes images to the hit bound video for Onye. The video drops on Tuesday July 22! Continue...

Rising Star Waliyah Drops New Single ‘Nonsense’ (OrishiRishi)

There’s excitement in the air as rising star Afro-pop Waliyah has dropped her latest single Nonsense. Waliyah fans are extremely excited about this one as it something they have waiting for with great anticipation!

Nonsense (OrishiRishi), was co-written by Waliyah and K9, it was produced by one of Nigeria’s top Producers- Leriq, and finishing touches by ace Producer and Vivace Records boss Tee Y Mix. Continue..

"I kept my wife’s corpse in a room for 3months hoping she'd wake up - Christy Essien Igbokwe’s husband

The husband of late iconic singer, Christy Essien Igbokwe, who put Nigeria on the world music map with her song, Seun Rere, Edwin Igbokwe, has opened up on his grief and denial following her death on June 30th 2011, saying he left her corpse in a room in their home for 3 months hoping she would wake up. Below is what he told Saturday Punch
That morning of her death, pastors and other prayer warriors ended morning prayer in her room; she whispered amen, and then slept off. It was exactly 9a.m. I felt dazed, shocked and awed when I was told I lost my ‘everything,’ my companion and the love of my life. Jebose, I caved into denial zone. We immediately moved her body to a room in our home, unknown to many. My late wife warned that her body must not be deposited in the mortuary. I had to respect her wishes. So we decorated a room in our house and laid her down. She was beautiful, peaceful in her sleep. The media and the enlarged burial committee members didn’t know where she was after her death. She lay in that room for almost three months. I was going crazy. I didn’t want to believe she would not wake up. She was smiling peacefully. I couldn’t believe it. I made sure I looked at her every day. I was confused, depressed, dejected and hopeless. The children began to monitor me. I was still in denial, hoping she was asleep… she would wake up. I kept reassuring myself. She never did." Find the full write up after the cut...

Ms Sahhara wins World Transgender competition

Nigerian transgender, Ms Iris Sahhara Henson won the World Transgender pageant, Eat Bulaga, which held in the Philippines last night. Sahhara wrote about her excitement at winning on Facebook.
"OMG! I won. I am still not sure it is a reality! Maybe I'll wake-up from this amazing dream in a minute! My arm is turning red from me constantly pinching myself to wakeup from this beautiful dream! I am overwhelmed with love! Philippines is truly my home away from home. Thank you to the Eat Bulaga show and production team for giving us the platform to exhibit our intelligence and creativity in positive ways on the longest daytime national television show in the world! Shock is an understatement to how I feel right now!" Big congrats to her! See more photos after the cut...

Just back from Ikoyi prisons… 5 suspects nabbed again for robbery

The Special Anti Robbery Squad of the Lagos state police command have re-arrested five ex-inmates of Ikoyi Prisons while they were about to execute a robbery operation which they had planned while still in prison.

The men, Sikiru Adeyemi, Saheed Hakeem, Dosun Patrick, Razaq Olarenwaju, Jamiu Adeyemi, were arrested after a close monitoring by the police after they left prison.

The ring leader of gang, Sikiru Adeyemi,who claims to be a graduate of mass communication from the Federal Polytechnic Ilaro in Ogun state, had earlier been remanded at the Ikoyi prison for armed robbery but was later released on bail and placed on close watch on the instruction of the state police commissioner, Umaru Tanko. His arrest led to the arrest of the other members of the gang. Continue

Finesse Event Services presents: Event Management & Decoration training

Do you want to learn the Art and Craft of Event Planning and Decoration? Do you want to be a world class event planner and coordinator? Would you like to learn a new skill or start a second career? 
If yes, then attend Finesse Events Finesse  one week event management and decoration training.
Week day stream: Date: 4th-8th August, 2014. Venue: Training room, 39, Bode Thomas, Surulere Lagos. Time: 10am - 3pm. Fee; N50,000. Continue...

Ukrainian Govt release horrific pic of infant lying in a field, killed when rebels shot down plane

The Ukrainian government yesterday published a heartbreaking photo of a dead infant and accused Russian president Vladimir Putin of having the blood of the baby victim of flight MH17 on his hands.

Senior government advisor Anton Gerashchenko posted the pic on their website, with a message to Putin saying: 'This baby's death is on your conscience. Damn you for centuries!'. He said he agonised over whether to publish the image of the tiny corpse lying in the field or not but decided the world needed to see it.

3 infants died after the plane was shot down on Thursday May 17th by pro-Russian rebels and till today, many bodies are still lying in fields. Meanwhile yesterday Russian rebels stopped investigators who arrived the MH17 crash site from investigating the site, firing several warning shots. And the rebel commander blamed for shooting down the plane said "bodies aren't fresh', claiming corpses around the wreckage died before plane took off. Yes, he said so. Unbelievable! Continue to read...

Replying Mr Ibu would be trading intelligence with ignorance - Ibinabo Fiberesima

AGN president Ibinabo Fiberesima has finally reacted to actor John Okafor aka Mr Ibu's recent interview where he questioned what she did with money President Jonathan released to the guild (see here). Speaking with Punch, Fiberesima berated the comic actor, stating that replying him would only amount to trading intelligence with ignorance. She also said he's not even a member of the Guild..
"Which money is he talking about? That is why I said he is detached from the realities on ground. When we went to visit the President, there was no money promised to anybody. We didn’t go there to beg for money as Mr. Ibu is used to doing; we didn’t do that. They push you to the extent that you say things that you don’t want to. I’m not about money, for once they should stop and think, see what my team and I have achieved in two years. Replying Mr. Ibu would be trading intelligence with ignorance and I don’t think I have that time. I’m sure you have followed everything we have done and we have not hidden anything. Rather, we have been open about everything we have done, so if he attacks me the way he did, it clearly shows that he is completely detached from the reality, because he complained about things that we have achieved long ago, which shows that he is not part of the Guild,” she said. Continue...

The Kate Henshaw Political Campaign has officially begun

Told you guys yesterday that iconic actress Kate Henshaw is set to contest for a seat in the Federal House of Representatives...well, her political campaign has officially begun. Go here.

Below is what she plans to achieve as a candidate... 
I have a strong interest and desire to serve my people and especially show that there is a better more humane way to do things when you are in a position of leadership. Putting the people first and being accountable to them as well as being accessible.
I am also very keen to promote and champion the provision of clean water, good roads and sanitation in my constituency. 
One of my key areas of project focus areas will be provison of affordable education and quality healthcare especially for expecting and young mothers.

Chineze Anyaene, Ishaya Bako, 7 other directors selected to make Afrinolly Cinema4Change ShortFilms

Earlier in June, Afrinolly opened a call to film makers to pitch for the Cinema4Change films. Films which were a product of a screen writers workshop held in April where over 20 top notch screen writers in Nigeria were expose to research works that would guide in the development of screenplays that would not only highlight social change issues but would also entertain and educate the public. Continue...

Photos from OAP Gbemi Olateru Olagbegi's 30th birthday dinner

On-Air-Personality Gbemi Olateru Olagbegi celebrated her milestone 30th birthday with friends and colleagues at Otres Restaurant yesterday July 18th. Tiwa Savage, Toke Makinwa, Banky W, Toolz and her man, Audu Maikori, Mocheddah and her man were all there. See more photos after the cut...

Quote of the day: from Peter Okoye

This is a side of Peter many of us have never seen before. He seems really angry. Oh well...

'Nigerian pastors need to be born again' - Etcetera writes

Another article from Etcetera. I have a feeling some of you will agree with him this time. Read below
Verily, verily, I say unto thee, except a man be born of water and of the spirit, he cannot enter into the kingdom of God. That which is born of the flesh is flesh; and that which is born of the spirit is spirit. Marvel not that I said unto thee, ye must be born again” (John 3:1-7). 
Pastors are supposed to be the conscience of the society. They are supposed to be God’s representatives here on earth. Like Elisha in the Bible, they are supposed to warn the people about the dangers of disobeying God and guide them to the path of righteousness. They are supposed to lead by example.

New Video: Dr. David Olusegun Agbaje: I am a Nigerian

I am a Nigerian" is another poem written by Dr. David Olusegun Agbaje, a Nigerian Customs Officer, Poet and Literary Critic with Ph.D. in English. The poem is turned into music by Paramount Music, Nashvile, TN and produced by StarTune Records, USA. Enjoy and share your thoughts...

Friday 18 July 2014

Photos from MBGN 2014

The 2014 Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria pageant held tonight July 18th in Bayelsa and was won by model, Iheoma Nnadi, who is 19 and signed to Boss Models in South Africa. See more photos from the pageant after the cut...

Peter Okoye replies those bashing him for snubbing his brother's wedding

Fans have been  hammering Peter Okoye since he snubbed his older brother's wedding yesterday.. guess he's had enough! He just fired back on Twitter...see more tweets after the cut...

MBGN 2014 is Miss Akwa Ibom - Iheoma Nnadi (photos)

I actually typed this before they announced her as the winner...lol. I just knew she would win. She's stunning! Congrats to our new queen, 19 year old model, Iheoma Nnadi. See more photos of her after the cut...

The Miraculous Deliverance Of Oga Jona by Chimamanda Adichie

Article written by award winning writer, Chimamanda Adichie. Please read and share your thoughts..
As soon as he opened his eyes, he felt it. A strange peace, a calm clarity. He stretched.  Even his limbs were stronger and surer. He looked at his phone. Thirty-seven new text messages – and all while he was asleep. With one click, he deleted them. The empty screen buoyed him. Then he got up to bathe, determined to fold the day into the exact shape that he wanted.
Those Levick people had to go. No more foreign PR firms. They should have made that article in the American newspaper sound like him, they should have known better. They had to go. And he would not pay their balance; they had not fulfilled the purpose of the contract after all. Continue...

440.ng Announces More Mentors for Lagos Accelerator

440.ng, the seed investment fund formed by L5Lab and 88MPH has announced more mentors for its 2014 accelerator program.

Following on its success incubating startups like Jobberman and Cheki, L5Lab partnered with 88MPH to launch this program through which up to 10 startups will receive investment of between $20, 000 and $110, 000 and will also be admitted into a 3-month accelerator program where they will have the opportunity to be mentored by: Continue...

Pics: Aircraft carrying US soldiers crash lands on Ugandan Highway

A small plane carrying 6 American soldiers today July 18th crash landed on a highway outside Uganda's capital Kampala after running out of fuel. It had to make a quick safe landing to avoid any disaster.

Reports say the plane which took off from the Entebbe airport in Uganda was heading to neighboring South Sudan when their aircraft was forced to turn back due to bad weather and then land on a highway after running out of fuel approximately 40 miles from the airport. Fortunately no on was injured. Continue...

Peter Okoye fires back... no time for nonsense...lol

Peter Okoye has no time...tell him nonsense on Twitter and he blocks you...Lol...

Cristiano Ronaldo’s mother claims she tried to 'abort' the footballer

Inside her recently released autobiography Mãe Coragem (which translates to ‘Mother Courage’) , mother of Critiano Ronaldo, Dolores Aveiro, claimed that she attempted to abort him when she was pregnant by 'drinking warm beer' and 'running until she dropped'

Although she did not give any reason for wanting to abort her unborn child, Dolores said she had approached her doctor to carry out the abortion but he didn't agree with it and refused to do it. She then resorted to doing it herself by drinking warm beer and running with the hope that she would lose the pregnancy.
"I wanted to abort but the doctor didn’t support my decision,” she wrote in her autobiography.
Speaking at the launch of the autobiography in Lisbon yesterday, Dolores said that Ronaldo already knew about his past and even joked about it. "“He told me when he found out, 'Look mum, you wanted to abort me and now I'm the one who’s pulling the purse-strings in the house,'” she said..