Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 04/10/2011 - 04/17/2011

Saturday 16 April 2011

Your President....

From the presidential election results released so far, President Goodluck Jonathan is leading...by a mile...so he's most likely going to rule us for the next four years. How do you feel about that?

16yr-old science pupil found hanging at Kankon Model College

Richard Ejiofor
While the SS3 pupils of the Government Model College, Kankon, Badagry, Lagos, write their West African School Certificate exams this year, one person – Richard Ejiofor – will be marked absent at the examination hall. The 16-year-old science pupil was discovered hanging from an uncompleted building in the school last week.

Friday 15 April 2011

The Nokia E7 Smartphone

I can’t stop talking about the Nokia E 7 because the experience just blows my mind. For corporate users, the Nokia E7 provides direct, secure and real-time access to the Microsoft Exchange server with Mail for Exchange for connection to the corporate inbox, calendar, contacts, tasks and the corporate directory. Enterprises can make considerable savings by moving their mobile messaging infrastructure from a middle ware-based solution to a direct access solution that eliminates unnecessary administration, licensing and maintenance costs.  

You can win a free Nokia E7 on this blog. All you need to do is tell us the most creative thing you have ever done with your Nokia phone. Post on this blog and a brand new Nokia E7 may just become yours

Beauty of the Day: Ashionye Ugboh-Raccah

The singer and mother of one is a stunner...

Lady Gaga, the multi-titty goddess

Lady Gaga in Harpers Bazaar. Oh dear, this woman eh...

Tango With Me Set To Premiere This Sunday

Tango With Me, produced and directed by Maoumood Ali-Balogun and starring Genevieve Nnaji, Joseph Benjamin, Joke Silva, Babara Soky, Alex Usifo...will premiere this Sunday at Silver Bird Cinemas, Victoria Island, Lagos.

P-Square set to release two new singles

The twins just announced that two new singles from their forthcoming album will be released in two weeks. So all you P-Square fans, get ready. Also their new album and album concert will be released on the 30th of July, 2011.

The ever lovely Ms Okereke

That's Stephanie in a recent shoot. Looking quite lovely

Heard she's set to launch her online magazine titled ‘Stephanie’ which will be an expression of her style, cravings, projects, achievements, opinion and ideas to thousands of fans, home and abroad looking for a viable avenue to connect with her. We dey wait...

Video Evidence Of Election Fraud In South-South Nigeria

You can see the woman on the right thumb printing...

Funmi Iyanda’s “Lagos Stories” Nominated for Monte Carlo Television Festival Award

“Lagos Stories”, an episode of My Country Nigeria, a three-part documentary on Nigeria produced by Funmi Iyanda and Chris Dada and aired on the BBC has been nominated in the News Competition of the 51st Monte Carlo Television Festival in the category Best News Documentary. Past recipients of the festival awards include multi award winning televisions dramas Mad Men and Lost.

Thursday 14 April 2011

What is wrong with this picture?

No, not the obvious one..it's something else...look well well, to your right *cough*

13year old boy refused bail for trying to kill ex-president Obasanjo and Gov Ohakim with sachets of pure water

A 13-year-old boy, Precious Efurueze, was on Wednesday denied bail by a chief magistrate court in Owerri for allegedly attempting to kill former president Olusegun Obasanjo and the governor of Imo State, Ikedi Ohakim, in Owerri on 31, March, by stoning their campaign convoy with sachets of pure water.

Master Efurueze is among 18 people charged with attempted murder for participation in the attack on Messrs. Obasanjo and Ohakim. Notable among the accused is Prince Madumere, the chief of staff to the gubernatorial candidate of the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA), Rochas Okorocha. - 234next.

Things that make you go hmmm..

RMD and Kefee at loggerheads over Great Ogboru's campaign song

Singer Kefee and famous actor-turned politician, Richard Mofe Damijo, the Delta State Commissioner for Culture and Tourism, are currently at war over the former's popular campaign song for Democratic Peoples Party (DPP), guber candidate, Chief Great Ogboru.

To cut a long story short, Kefee was supposed to be in the camp of the current Governor, Uduaghan of PDP, but she chose to join the opposition and then did a campaign song for them. RMD didn't like it.

Kefee spoke about the incident to Uche Olehi of Encomium mag - "It is true I have been getting text messages advising me to go and beg RMD, who is angry with me for doing a political song for Ogboru. This is quite unfortunate. I don't know why he is taking it personal. Governor Uduaghan's wife has also called me, asking me if it was money I wanted. And I said it wasn't about money. We cannot all be for the Governor. All the other artistes in Delta State are doing songs for Gov Uduaghan, but I chose to do a song for another candidate. Is this not a democracy? Ogboru is my choice."

Photo of the day...

CPC Presidential candidate, Muhammadu Buhari, weeping at the conclusion of the party’s presidential campaign in Abuja on Wednesday.

Oh dear...

ACN Chairman speak on ACN/CPC Alliance

“While it is true that representatives of both parties (CPC & ACN) have been engaged in talks aimed at forging an alliance, we regret to announce that such talks have not led to any alliance. We have decided it is better for each of the parties to go into the presidential election on his own platform. If at the end of the election Saturday there is no clear winner, we will make a decision on which way to go.” - Bisi Akande, ACN Chairman.

'If I have a show, just show up with your koko mobile and you are in" - D'Banj

"You should buy my phone because once D'Banj comes out with a new song, before you hear it anywhere else, you hear it first on your Koko mobile phone. Also, because you have the phone, a lot of our shows will be free for you this year. So, if I have a show, just show up with your Koko mobile and you are in without any payment" - D'Banj to reporters.

Wow, D'banj, that's quite generous of you!
Get a 10grand Koko mobile phone and get free entrance to all D'Banj 2011 shows.
Is that enough to convince you to get one?

Eric of West African Idols is Back!!!

Remember Eric? Yes, Contestant on the first edition West African Idols! He is back! Eric Arubayi, the suave young man that captured the hearts of many on the first edition of West Africa Idols returns with his full charm and an even more interesting taste in music.

Moji Obasanjo delivers baby boy for new husband

Ex-wife of Gbenga Obasanjo, Moji Onabanjo - Akinkunmi, who re-married last year, gave birth to a baby boy in the US last month. Moji already has two children with her ex.

Jennifer Lopez is People Magazine's Most Beautiful Woman in the USA

I totally agree. She's gorgeous.

The Nigerian woman who stole identities in £1.3m fraud

Olajumoke Ademuyiwa
A woman who helped to steal hundreds of identities and fraudulently claimed over £1.3m of tax credits has been jailed for four years.

Olajumoke Ademuyiwa, 42, from Canning Town, a former Jobcentre Plus employee, was part of a Nigerian-led gang, a court heard. She was arrested in July 2008.

Prince Gbegi Ojora dies at 50

Prince Gbegi Ojora - August 29, 1960 - April 10, 2011
Prince Adegoyega 'Gbegi' Ojora, the first son of Otunba Adekunle and Erelu Ojuolape Ojora, has died. He died on Sunday April 10, 2011 at First Consultant Hospital, Ikoyi, where he had had driven himself to after participating actively in the Saturday 9th NASS elections.

The cause of his death is still unclear but close friends say he died from liver complications.

Until his death, Gbegi was a lawyer by training and a businessman with interest in banking, telecommunications and  insurance. He's survived by his aged parents, sibblings, wife and a child. 
May his soul rest in peace...amen.

Wednesday 13 April 2011

Linda Ikeji in red hair...:-)

So I've joined the red hair crase...albeit reluctantly...at first...:-). That's me yesterday at the final audition of the reality show where I am a judge.
I went to my hair stylist on Monday with my normal long Brazilian weave, he said enough of these weaves Linda, let's do something different, something short. I said I've done short hair before, he said not the one I have in mind. Then he fixed this hair for me.
My sisters call me Omo ghetto. My mum loved it. Me? Kinda like it now.
You like? Please feel free to write anything you like o...:-)
With other judges; Aquila Njamah, and Baba Dee
You know, I might not have the best taste in outfits, shoes etc, but when it comes to wonder bras...nobody does it better...lol

Tuesday 12 April 2011

Pre-order the new Nokia E7 Smartphone AND also win one on my blog!

Have you heard about Nokia’s latest smartphone, the Nokia E7? Well this wonder of a phone gives users the confidence to bring their own smartphones to the workplace to connect securely to corporate messaging servers. And whats more, whether you are an artist, entrepreneur, university student or aspiring world traveller, the Nokia E7 is the only smartphone you will need to get the world’s best mobile navigation and have an exciting messaging experience.”

And remember, you can win this phone on my blog. All you need to do is keep playing till the end of the competition. It's just five posts away..:-)
Question: What's the most creative thing you have ever done with your Nokia phone?

NASS Election Confirmation: Chris Ngige defeats Dora Akunyili in Anambra State

The controversy over the Anambra Central Senatorial District election has been laid to rest. Ex-Governor Chris Ngige of the Action Congress of Nigeria (AC N) was last night declared the winner. 

Returning Officer Dr. Alex Anene announced that Ngige polled 68,208 votes to defeat his closest rival, former Minister of Information Prof. Dora Akunyili, who scored 68,164 votes. - The Nation

Omotola on the Cover of April Edition of Genevieve Magazine

She's gorgeous...

Lady with bone marrow cancer, Bunmi Akinleye, passes away

Left, Bunmi with Ronke Oshodi Oke before she was diagnosed with cancer.

You all remember Actress, Ronke Ojo's PA, Bunmi? The lady with the bone marrow cancer I put on this blog a while back asking you guys to help with the money she needed for her treatment? 
Yeah well, she lost her battle with the disease yesterday. She died at University College Hospital, Ibadan, where she had been getting treatment.
May her soul rest in peace...amen.

Photo of the day...

Ibidun Ajayi Ighodalo kissing her hubby, pastor Ituah Ighodalo on his birthday
Pastor Ituah turned 50 years old on April 6th and had a party to celebrate attaining the golden age. Lovely couple.

Photo source

Omotola with Michael Bolton at an event in LA

Looking good Omo T.

The Exquisite Fashion Party

The Exquisite Fashion Party is an event which is held to create more awareness for Cervical Cancer and also provide free screening for women. It is tagged Partying Against Cancer. 

The idea extends to all ABC1 women and men seeking a more exciting life around fashion, beauty, body and mind as well as enriching one’s social life.

Activities include- Fashion shows featuring latest collections from Imol designs, Qubraz, Fashion for Life, House of Jola and more. Friends networking and cocktails.

The emphasis is on a day of fun around the fashion and beauty industry. Exquisite uses its print magazine as a valuable extra in showcasing stylish work and new trends on the market.

Monday 11 April 2011

Spotted: Kate Henshaw and Rita Dominic 'BBing...'

Abi what do you call people who can't stay away from their BBs, even when at a public function?
Time to dump your BBs ladies...get a Nokia E7...beyond compare...:-)

Laurent Gbagbo captured by opposition leaders after spending over a week barricaded in his Ivory Coast palace

Hours after his capture, Mr Gbagbo appeared on a TV channel aligned with his rival Alassane Ouattara, calling for troops loyal to him to "lay down arms".

Guess who?

This is the baby pic of popular actor. Who is he?
Clue: he's supposedly engaged to the lady in the photo next to his.

How I lost my 6 months pregnancy - Toyin Aimakhu

Toyin at 5months
The actress who recently lost her 6 months old pregnancy (The second in 3 years. The first time was in 2008) spoke about her miscarriage to reporters. "I am so sad right now but God has a reason for everything. Yeah, I lost the pregnancy and it is very painful. It was six months gone and I was looking forward to having my baby. During the shooting of my last movie, I did go through a lot of stress and fell ill and recovered. I was even planning to premiere the movie before I travel out to deliver until I fell ill again. I was diagnosed with malaria and on Wednesday March 23rd, I was rushed to the hospital and probably because of the drugs I took, I lost the baby."

Take heart. God knows best. He will surely bless you again.

Meet MI and the Choc Boiz at Indigo on April 28th

If you can...don't miss it!!!

GQ Mag disses Chris Brown on Twitter

GQ Tweeted a link to it's Q&A archives of a reader asking when Chris Brown would be on the cover of GQ and the response was:

Might be a while. It is Gentlemen’s Quarterly, after all, not Ironically-Named-Magazine-That-Knowingly-Puts-Domestic-Abusers-On-Its-Cover Quarterly.

Ouch! A bit harsh you think?

Photo of the day: Bomb blast victim or...?

Bomb blast victim Mohammed Ahmed, 25, sits on a hospital bed in Kaduna April 8, 2011.

A Nigerian suspected of building bombs to disrupt elections on Saturday was killed when one of the devices exploded prematurely. Ahmed (pictured above) was with the bomber when the bomb exploded. He told reporters that the suspected bomber was a friend of his, but did not explain why he had a bomb. Ahmed did not admit taking part in any plot.

CNN Video: Election Reform Via Twitter In Nigeria

British Embassy ban Lord of Ajasa for ten years?

Well, that's according to News of the People magazine... but why naw?
Will go get the magazine to get more info...

Aberdeen Court Cleared Sammie Okposo of Making Racist Remarks

Sammie Okposo has been cleared of making racist comments in an Aberdeen Restaurant during his honeymoon last year. Okposo was discharged and acquitted of all charges on April 8, 2011 at exactly 11.30am (U.K time) by the presiding judge in Aberdeen court. The judge said all evidences brought against him are insufficient, incoherent and baseless.
The most surprising aspect of the court proceedings was that Okposo wasn’t called upon at any time by the judge to step into the witness box. The judge pronounced his judgement after Okposo’s lawyer, Ms Val Bremmer from Mackie and Dewar Solicitors cross examined the manager and the assistant manager of Jimmy Chung Restaurant and discovered that their testimonies were incoherent.

Ini Edo, Ramsey Noah made UN Ambassadors

The announcement was made today. More details coming soon...

Madam Sonia Ransome Kuti Passes on

Madam Sonia far left speakin with Femi Kuti
Madam Sonia Ransome Kuti was the wife of late Dr Olikoye Ransome Kuti. She died on Tuesday 5th of April at the age of 82. She will be buried on Wednesday 13th, 2011. May her soul rest in peace...amen.

Metropolix Weekly Headlines

The kind of things you read sometimes eh...lol

Quote of the day...

We must have an alternative to road transport which is why we are reviving our railways. You can now travel between Lagos and Abeokuta by rail. I made that journey by train myself a month ago. We just awarded a contract for the revival of the Port Harcourt-Makurdi, Makurdi-Kuru and the Kuru-Maiduguri line. This administration is only going to build on and never halt infrastructure. GEJ on FB

Catholic Church Goes After Lady Gaga Over Judas Video

The Catholic Church is going after Lady Gaga over her upcoming music video for Judas, where she will reportedly portray Mary Magdalene.
President of the Catholic League for Religious and Civil Rights, Bill Donahue, blasted Lady Gaga, calling the video a "stunt." He said: "People have real talent, and then there is Lady Gaga. I find Gaga to be increasingly irrelevant. Is this the only way to jet up her performance? This isn’t random, we are getting closer to Holy Week and Easter."

I'm over this woman I'm telling you...:-)