Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 12/01/2013 - 12/08/2013

Saturday 7 December 2013

Stylish couple: Joseph and Adaeze Yobo

When a beauty queen meets a footballer, expect too much hotness. They are not just a good looking couple, they are very stylish. See more photos of the happy fashionista couple after the cut...

Funke Akindele and Ini Edo rock out in shorts on a movie set

Abeg news no plenty today, make una manage...lol. See more pics after the cut...

Jet Life Magazine is giving out BMWs, trip to Dubai and much more

Amazing! Jet Life Magazine is giving out:
 1. 2 BMWs Courtesy Coscharis
 2. Free return ticket to Dubai.
 3. Free ticket to a local destination
 4. Weekend break in a hotel resort
 5. Make over session with KTE
 6. Free advertising page in JetLife Magazine.

Jet Life magazine is Nigeria’s premier aviation magazine which launched in August 2012. The 148 page magazine is designed to reflect Nigeria’s importance in the aviation world. The content will include trends in the industry, the latest news and sector updates. It will report on developments in regulations and technological innovations within the industry. Continue...

Chidi Mokeme steps out in floral tie and matching shoes

The 6 '3' actor knows how to rock a suit. On another person, the floral suit and shoes might look a little off...but not on Chidi. I think he looks fab! What do you think?

Young Nigerian couple jailed in the UK for internet banking scam

Nigerian couple, 22 year old Aderoju Bammeke, (pictured left) and his girlfriend 20 year old Jessica Ogunyemi, (pictured right) have been jailed in the UK for being part of a Nigerian gang that hacked into the accounts of several people and stole thousands of pounds from them, Daily Mail UK reports
"The couple were part of a global internet banking scam which could have netted a phenomenal £19million after hacking the accounts of nearly 2,500 people. Aderoju and Jessica were the UK 'platform' for a Nigerian 'phishing' scam that made £41,000 in just two months.
The plot, masterminded by a gang in Nigeria, involved sending fake emails to customers of banks including Barclays and Halifax. The emails told recipients that their accounts had been hacked and asked them to complete a form with their log-in details. But when victims obliged, Bammeke stepped in and helped the gang log in to steal money.

Wowza! 50cent shows off his 172 carats diamond chain

The rapper and businessman showed off his massive new chain on his instagram page a few days ago. It's a 172 carats diamonds chain that weighs about 2 kilos. 50cent posted the pics which he captioned; "I'm so chunky right now. Try 2 kilo's 172 carrots natural Diamonds.

50cent is not rich, he's wealthy. A chain like this will probably build a mansion in Lagos...:-).

Introducing the Perfect Gift This Christmas; Konga Gift Vouchers

We are counting down to Christmas already, and one of the things we all love about Christmas are the gifts we hope to receive from loved ones, family, colleagues, employers, partners ,etc. It is also a season for us to give gifts to all these people, and more often than not we ask ourselves the question; “What is the perfect gift this Christmas”. Now, take a look at your gift list, look at all the names, look at all the things you need to buy for all those people. How are you going to handle it? Introducing the Konga.com Gift Card. 

Konga Gift Card offers you the easiest, fastest and cheapest way to satisfy everyone this Christmas! Continue...

Beauty of the day: LIB reader - Nkem Bella

Beautiful Nkem Bella is a Masters student at the University of Leeds, UK, studying Health Care. See more photos after the cut...

Plateau State University renamed after Solomon Lar

The governor of Plateau State, Jonah Jang, yesterday announced the renaming of the State University after elder statesman, Chief Solomon Lar, who died October 9th after a long illness at the age of 80. The governor made this known while receiving the body of the late politician at the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport from yesterday.

Chief Solomon Lar was a member of the first national parliament when Nigeria gained independence in 1960 and was the first Executive Governor of Plateau state. He will be buried on the 13th of Dec. which has been declared a work free day in the state.

3yr old boy drowns newborn twin brother and leaves another brain damaged as he tried to bathe them

A three-year-old boy drowned his newborn twin brother and left the other permanently brain damaged as he tried to bathe them while their alcoholic mother slept, Daily Mail UK reports
The boy said he wanted to make his siblings 'nice and clean' after their mother passed out having drunk four cans of super-strength lager.
The shocking sequence of events emerged in court when the mother - who cannot be identified for legal reasons - was given a one-year suspended prison sentence for neglect.
She had sought refuge at a Merseyside home with her children after escaping a relationship of domestic violence, Liverpool Crown Court heard Thursday. The jury heard she slept in a single bed with her eldest son, with the newborn babies cradled together in a drawer.

Meet Ginikachukwu Ewuzie - The Most Beautiful Igbo Girl of 2013

Ginikachukwu Linda Ewuzie beat 18 other beauties to emerge Adandiigbo - The Most Beautiful Igbo Girl of 2013. The pageant held on Sunday December 1st in Port Harcourt. Ginika is a Computer Science student from the Federal University of Science and Technology (FUTO). She's an indigene of Adazienu in Aniocha LGA of Anambra State. Congrats to her.

New Music: N.E.D - Dance For Me

After the release of his previous single "Give Me Something" that was massively received online, on radio stations and even on TV, Ned is here with this catchy freestyle titled 'Dance For Me' produced by Bolji beatz. Enjoy...

Exclusive: Omotola Jalade Ekeinde's husband creates Tourist Center

The pilot husband of Nollywood actress, Omotola Jolade-Ekeinde, Captain Mathew Ekeinde recently opened an entertainment and tourist center in Badagry called “Aquatic Jungle Entertainment”. The center has planes as part of its tourist and entertainment attractions.

The center has facilities for recreation and entertainment ranging from modern zoo, indoor and outdoor aquarium, and a 5 star hotel that gives room for boat ride. The center has two airplanes and is expecting five more before the end of next year.
"Most times when our children visit airports, they only stand by the aircraft to take photographs but here, we give them the chance to go inside the aircraft to experience how an aircraft takes off and lands. It’s going to be a center for entertainment and learning” Captain Ekeinde said
He also said the center offers one of the best services, promising that Nigerians will have value for their money, “If you can afford to travel to TINAPA, Ghana, Dubai and other western world, nowhere is too far for you to relax. Moreover we offer services better than some of these places” he added.

Dr Sid and Simi Osomo's introduction set to hold tomorrow

The introduction ceremony of Mavin artist, Dr Sid and his fashion consultant fiancee Simi Osomo will hold tomorrow in Lagos, I have been reliably informed. Their wedding will hold next year. The couple got engaged on August 7th this year after dating for over a year. Big congrats to them.

2014 Grammy Awards nominations revealed: See the full list

Yesterday Friday December 6th, the Recording Academy revealed the full list of nominees for the 2014 Grammy Awards, which will take place January 26th 2014. The full list below... 

Album Of The Year:
The Blessed Unrest — Sara Bareilles
Random Access Memories — Daft Punk
Good Kid, M.A.A.D City — Kendrick Lamar
The Heist — Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Red — Taylor Swift

Record Of The Year:
“Get Lucky” — Daft Punk & Pharrell Williams
“Radioactive” — Imagine Dragons
“Royals” — Lorde
“Locked Out Of Heaven” — Bruno Mars
“Blurred Lines” — Robin Thicke Featuring T.I. & Pharrell Williams

Friday 6 December 2013

Skuki releases remix for Lagos Countdown 2013

Lagos based Afro hip hop duo  Skuki has dropped a remix of  a previously released single to commemorate the 2013 Lagos Countdown. Titled ''Happy New Year'' the new single along with the obligatory video, hit the airwaves on Sunday 1 December 2014.  Speaking on this development, Skuki said: ''The single is perhaps the most appropriate song for the new year 2014 and we intend to perform it at the Lagos Countdown''. Continue...

Brazil 2014: FIFA World Cup Finals Draw

The 2014 FIFA World Cup draw took place in Brazil today and Nigeria will play against Argentina, Iran and Bosnia-something...lol. Nigeria's opening game will be against Iran and even though Bosnia looks like it will be an easy game for us, the country is ranked higher than Nigeria in the world. They are ranked 21st, while Nigeria is ranked 36th, but I'm sure we'll qualify alongside Messi's Argentina.

What is wrong with this photo?

That's Wizkid and D'Prince in the latter's new ride. See anything? Hehe

NBC bans several songs including Gobe, Caro, Ghost Mode, Afefe..

This censoring sef! According to Beatfm On-Air-Personality Gbemi Olateru-Olagbegi, NBC has banned several Nigerian and foreign songs/videos for either 'obscene lyrics or visuals'. See the rest of the banned songs after the cut...

New Music: Chucky Kelvin: Don't Be Late

New music from fast rising star, Chucky Kelvin. Listen below and read more about him after the cut.

Fathia Balogun and Dayo Amusa shine at BON awards

Actresses Fathia Balogun and Dayo Amusa looking really lovely at Best of Nollywood Awards which held yesterday in Asaba, Delta State.

Pic: Pres Jonathan &wife on arrival at France for the Security Summit

President Jonathan and first lady Patience Jonathan pictured on arrival at France for summit on Peace and Security in Africa.

Dear LIB readers: My new boss is my wife's ex

From a male LIB reader
I just found out that my new boss is the man my wife dumped a few years ago to marry me. The man was planning to marry her and saw her through her university days financially and also supported her family. We met during our NYSC, fell in love and got married shortly after. My woman handled the discharging of her ex codedly. Now 4 years into our marriage, there's a big issue. I just got this really good job and my direct boss happens to be the man my wife dumped for me.
He knows who I am because he confronted me back when my wife left him for me, but since I started this job, he hasn't said anything to me but I noticed he excludes me from most of the activities that concern staff and I suspect he's trying to sabotage me. He hasn't done anything yet, I'm just worried that he has bad plans for me. Should I quit or should I wait to see what he's up to? I don't look forward to going to work at all.

Xovar Lounge Hosts Skales and Mystro today...

This season, Xovar Lounge Lekki is set to host leaders of the new school movement. The event slated for Friday December 6th will play host to EME super star Skales who is responsible for hit songs like, Mukulu, Take Care Of Me and many more. The super star eme artist will thrill guests and fans to great tunes coming up from his yet to be release album slated for the first quarter of 2014.

The new sensation Mystrohe skelebe master, super star producer cum music artist will thrill guests and fans to hit songs like Ojoro, one kin love ft chidinma and his latest hit single Skelebe. Continue..

Pres. Jonathan declares 3days national mourning for Nelson Mandela

Great move!

Rita Dominic replies Charles Novia...

So yesterday Nollywood movie producer/director Charles Novia named his best five Nollywood actresses of 2013 and placed award-winning actress Rita Dominic at No.5. Well, Rita has given a hint of what she thinks of the list...:-). See tweet below...

Update: Charles Novia has replied..

2face and Tiwa Savage to perform at Exquisite Face of the Universe

First Royal Events, the organisers of Exquisite Face Of The Universe beauty pageant has announced that 2face Idibia and Tiwa Savage will be performing at the Exquisite Face Of The Universe finals holding on Saturday December 19 2013. The biggest African beauty pageant event, being staged in Nigeria for the first time will take place at the prestigious Eko Hotel & Suites by 6pm.

2face and Tiwa will join other performers at the Exquisite Face Of The Universe finale to serenade guests and contestants with some of their latest hit singles. 2Face Idibia, who is no stranger to beauty pageants, will be joined on stage by some of the beauty queens vying for the top prize. Continue...

LOL, Naija! There's now a Go and Die T-Shirt?

Is there really a Go and Die T-Shirt or is this Photoshopped? LOL

LindaIkejiblog.com.ng is not me! Don't let them scam you please!!

Quite a number of people have used my name to open blogs, which is not right but okay, but when you start using my name to dupe people, then it's a problem.

There's a blog called www.lindaikejiblog.com.ng/ that has been pretending to be me and duping people of thousands of naira. The person is collecting money from people with a promise to post their material on my blog. When you call him he says he's Linda Ikeji's business manager and sends you an account number to pay money into. People pay him expecting to see their material on LIB but he posts it on that blog that has no readers. So far he's duped at least 3 people who have since contacted me wondering why their material has not been posted on my blog. God knows how many others he's duped.

I got someone to call him asking for advert rates, and while pretending to work for me, gave out his info. I do not know this guy. He does not work for me, and I have nothing to do with that blog.

His name is Chudi-Oji Chukwuka. His number is 08060565721. His account number is Chudi-Oji Chukwuka, 0044157183. GTBank. Please don't let yourself be scammed! Thanks.

End of public announcement! :-)

Top Nigerian artistes call BON/IBAN bluff

Below is a press release from Efe Omorogbe on the ban of Nigerian artistes by the Broadcasting Organization of Nigeria (BON) and Independent Broadcasters Association (IBAN)
Less than 48 hours after the Independent Broadcasters Association (IBAN) and Broadcasting Organization of Nigeria (BON) issued a statement banning the broadcast of the music of nearly all of Nigeria’s topmost musicians on the radio and TV stations run by affiliate stations, a group of star musicians and top players in the music industry have fired back. Continue...

Meet the Hosts of Baileys Boutique: Stephanie and Veronica

Meeting these two lovely ladies, one would tend to judge by outward appearances. Veronica Odeka, tall and imposing like an Amazon and Stephanie Coker lithe, soft and almost angelic in character. Talking with them is another issue. Veronica is articulate and passionate about fashion and the industry. Stephanie is focused, cherry and playful.

One thing they do have in common is the passion to communicate to people and the Baileys Boutique Radio Show. Continue...

Thursday 5 December 2013

End of an era! Nelson Mandela dies at 95

South African Government has announced the death of Nelson Mandela. South African president Jacob Zuma announced that the former president and anti-apartheid revolutionary passed away peacefully in the company of his family in his home in Johannesburg around 8:50 this evening Dec. 5th. He was 95 years old.

His death marks the final chapter in a life that changed South Africa forever. What a man! May his soul rest in peace, amen.

President Jacob Zuma said flags will be flown at half-mast across South Africa immediately with a state burial to follow. The UK government have also announced that flags will be flown at half-mast in the UK. Rest in peace, Madiba!