Nnamdi Azikwe International Airport Abuja temporarily closed | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 5 December 2013

Nnamdi Azikwe International Airport Abuja temporarily closed

The Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport in Abuja has been temporarily closed by officials of the Nigerian Airspace Management Authority, NAMA, following the breakdown of a Saudi Arabian Boeing 747 cargo plane on the runway of the airport last night. The airport authorities say the plane, which veered after landing at the airport, has to be fixed before it can be evacuated from the runway.

This closure has adversely affected all flights that are Abuja bound as well as those that were billed to travel to other parts of the country. Many Abuja bound passengers are now stranded. Pic above shows passengers stranded at the airport in Abuja this morning.

47 comments:

Right step in d ryt direction.I pray d passengers undastands wat dis means.Tempory discom4t is beta dan air mishaps

ayo said...

What a shame. Country without alternate solutions to. Unforseen disaster control.

Aunty linda,tnks 4 d info....

White Gardenia said...

That's too bad for them.Anyway, like they say, the disappointment might just be a blessing in disguise.

bishop h.e.i said...

am nt surprise.

*pheeeew* thank God its not that serious.

Na wa o

Plan B,use the bus system or you go back home and wait till they fix the faulty plane. ndo nu

Shyla

This is such a funny case. I guess its for the best

omg!too bad: bayelsa runs girl disgusting nake*d photos xposed online![ 18]

First to comment yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay

I am not suprised. In Nigeria, anything can happen. click here joor

This Abuja airport looks like Oshodi Market...can't they tow the plane to a hangar to fix???

Airport no get towing craft? They should just drag the plane awy from the road naa or which kind naija be ths sef?

sad news!!

Can't they tow it off the runway? Na wa for this yeye country.

This story can't be true cuz if d aircraft is in d middle of d runway. A pushback can be used to remove it. And besides the ve alternative runways. Linda please always confirm ur gist

Igor said...

Thank God it was only a breakdown,and not a crash.

Oluku,it's a boeing 747,not an aircraft or a falcon jet.

Very annoying and crazy

Dey shuld make use of a towing craft nah... Or make dem drag am commot!

This is another shameful story that Nigeria lets outside world to peer into. So the aircraft broke down on the runway, now, all flights into the airports have been cancelled? Why couldn't they invest in a tow tug? Dont the airline have a maintenance facility at the airport or hire a maintenance facility at the airport to tow the aircraft and do the maintenance service? Now, this could be a case of the airport and lack of maintenance services at the airport not having a tow tug to tow a monster size aircraft like the B747 or the experience/trained personnel to tow the aircraft. SMH for the Nigerian Aviation and some of the shameful stories they allow to air.

The devil isa liar...Imagine me a faithful liber dint c dis info b4 leaving d ouse. Nw ama victim of d situation ....ko funny rara...na d cab fee pain me pass

Wonder shall nev end nigeria my country

Lili my comment

See me see wahala oooooo. Can't they just tow the effing plane off the runway? Anyway naija tinz so I'm not too suprised.

Mr kelvin or wat do call ur self.there is notg lik towing craft in avition industry it's calld push back and it is not calld road it is calld run way.pls stay off dis blog if u are not up to date.dot missled niigerians

very funny

This is not funny at all, in Nigeria any thing can happen.

Folish pple they would not buying towing van they wuld buy bullet proof. Cars misplaced Priorities

Hmmmmmn smh

@NewsBlist said...

Hmmm... It's well

Anon 3:15pm.I think u r most funniest person here on dis blog.y wld dey buy a towing van to tow an aeroplane.pls it is called a push back and nt a towing van.dambu.from steve

Does dat mean we only have 1 runway ni? #thinking#

Okay! At least it is not a Nigerian plane!

we were enroute from London to Abuja this morning when the pilot suddenly announced that we are going to Lagos instead. After landing in Lagos, we sat in the plane for 4 hours before they put the passengers in a hotel. the bad part about the situation is that they did not allow anyone get their luggage...and to matters worse, we were made to check in our hand luggage at Heathrow at the last minute. So we dont even have a change of clothes or personal effects. God is in charge..hope this stuff gets resolved asap. #everythinghappensforareason

Lady G said...

Really? Can't they just tow it?

Go on google earth and get an aerial view of the nnamdi azikwe airport. If there's only one runway, then, that could be the reason why. Its sad!!!

Yup, it means we have one (1) runway. Both international and domestic flight use both runways and obviously the airport is rated to land a jumbo size aircraft such as the 747 which is a monster. Very strange Nigerian govt. Not too bright people I see.

Yeye country the aviation minister bought two bullet proof car for 1.6million dollars, but she cannot buy tow truck for Abuja airport. I guess Abuja airport doesn't have a maintenance hanger. Nigeria politician are the most incompetent people in the world. No money for maintenance hanger in the Abuja, but plenty Money for bullet proof car for stupid thief Stella.

Fammie said...

There are stories I read that just make me laugh..
A bra that prevents stress-related overeating

If only you guys know the true story behind what happened in abj airport last night....hmmmm....

Ani Koni Dafuwon said...

Aviation minister stella oduah set it up so she won't have 2 attend d senate comittee hearing on her matter 2day and now they've postponed it again

This has caused my family to miss my graduation scheduled for tomorrow. How painful! I have no words for a country that has only one runway in an international airport

She is not relevant anyway

sweet mii said...

Na wa

sweet mii said...

God help naija

sweet mii said...

Na wa

My friend lost her dad cs of ds closure wen he decided to board to bus to kogi and all d passengers lost deir lives including him