Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 08/05/2012 - 08/12/2012

Saturday 11 August 2012

Help save Rhythm FM OAP Meka Akerejola

Popular Rhythm FM Abuja On-Air-Personality, Meka Akerejola, who hosts the early morning show (The Morning Drive), urgently needs N7 million for a kidney transplant. The 31 year old graduate of Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, was diagnosed with high blood pressure in 2010 and after further tests was discovered to have a failed kidney.

Meka who is an orphan, requires a kidney transplant as soon as possible to survive. Please kindly donate the little you can afford as no amount is too small.

All financial donations can be made at Zenith Bank branches- Account number 2080664569, Account Name Akerejola Meka or Call Ojo Olawale on 07025096839. Thanks guys!

Friday 10 August 2012

Goodbye London; Some of the beautiful people I met

After ten blissful days , it's time to head back home. Loved my stay here. Had a lot of fun. Met some really great people. More photos when you continue...

Is this ad real or are some people just messing with MTN?

If this is real, then MTN can't be serious! AeroWHAT?

Final Burial Rites For Late President John Atta Mills Of Ghana

The late Ghanaian president, who died July 24th at age 68, was buried today in Accra, Ghana. 16 African Heads of State, including president Jonathan, attended the burial. May his soul rest in peace...Amen!

Photos: MTN Link Night Benin Event

This edition of MTN Link Forum was very entertaining. It held in Benin on the 21st of July 2012. Next event is in Port Harcourt on the 17th of August.

MTN Link Forum is a unique engagement platform that creates opportunities for young professionals and entrepreneurs to advance in a creative, engaging, informative, yet entertaining manner.

To get an invite to the next event, you have to be on the MTN Super Saver Plan HERE. Once you are on the Super Saver Plan, all you have to do is send: Link Forum, Name, Email, Location to 5004. Continue to see more photos from the Benin event...

Fred Amata shares first earthquake experience in Los Angeles

According to Nollywood actor, Fred Amata, he was in Los Angeles on Tuesday night when a 4.4 magnitude earthquake hit the city. He shared his experience on his Facebook page. Lol @ dem fit follow me reach here! #sotrue!

Who wore it better: Wizkid vs Skales?

Music stars Wizkid and Skales in animal print hoodie, who wore it better? :-)

Why Team Nigeria Failed at London Olympics – Minister of Sports

We haven't won even one medal so far! And we all know why, but let's hear what the Minister of Sports and Chairman, National Sports Commission, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi, has to say! :-). Full text of his speech yesterday Thursday August 9 at the Nigeria House in Stratford, London

About two weeks ago, we arrived London for the 2012 Olympics with a contingent of 51 sportsmen and women competing in 8 sports namely, athletics, weightlifting, taekwondo, boxing, wrestling, table tennis, canoeing and basketball. We were competing in the last two for the first time ever.
Even though we did not expect to win the competition, we had arrived hoping to make a decent showing. We even had reasons to believe we could surpass some of our recent achievements at this level of competing. Why not?

Peter Okoye and Lola Omotayo expecting second child

Shebi I said it before and they denied it...now they've officially announced it. Peter and Lola Omotayo are expecting another child. They already have a son, Cameron, who will turn 4 next month. Big big congrats to them!

Malta Guinness Low Sugar workout taking place at LCC tomorrow

Hot on the heels of the first exclusive performance of the Malta Guinness Low Sugar workout with Arsenal FC’s first team players, Bacary Sagna, Per Mertesacker and Lukas Podolski, the Malta Guinness Low Sugar workout is now taking to the road to give Malta Guinness lovers across the country a chance to have a go at the workout themselves with the first workout taking place at the Lagos Country Club on the 11th of August so prepare to experience real energy with Kaffy as our workout instructor.

Dear lord, what happened to Naomi Campbell's hair?

This is a clear example of what happens when we women keep wearing weaves over an extended period of time. But some of us can't just do without our weaves...:-). Oh dear!

LIB Assignment for the day: IN the list or ON the list?

Which one is correct, biko? IN or ON? ...the list!

Lovely family: Omotola, husband and daughters

The actress brought her family to the premiere of Last Flight to Abuja which took place in Lagos last Friday!

Linda Ikeji featured in Forbes Africa August Edition. Yay!

Forbes Africa has released its August 2012 issue which is dedicated to celebrating African women. The richest woman in Africa, Wendy Appelbaum, is on the cover!

I was featured in the magazine and my profile was titled ‘Beauty, Brains And The Business Of Blogging’ Wow! Incredibly honored! 

Kudos also to the other Nigerian featured in the magazine, 21 year- old Nigerian writer, Chibundu Onuzo, the author of ‘The Spider King’s Daughter’.

I haven't seen a copy yet because I'm still away but I hear they wrote that I'm the highest paid and most powerful blogger in Nigeria. Go Linda!! Hehe! Can't wait to see a copy!

Being featured in Forbes Africa as one of Africa's most prominent women at 31, what else can a woman ask for? OK, maybe a husband...but that will come. Lol

La Tienda Abuja taking on concessions

La Tienda is proud to represent and promote leading brands under one roof in Nigeria. As we expand further, we are currently taking on concessions in La Tienda Silverbird, Abuja. If you are interested please contact us on +2348074443988 - +2347032343335 or email us at info@latiendagv.com  

Concessions - Currently taken on more branded outlets and unbranded concessions! A retail concession is the agreement which allows yourself / organisation to promote its products and services to the public, within La Tienda store. 

Thursday 9 August 2012

Beyonce and Jay Z Named World's Highest-Paid Celebrity Couple

Forbes Magazine just named Jay and Bey the highest paid celebrity couple in the world. Together they made $78 million - from May 2011 to May 2012. Beyonce - $40m, Jay Z - $38m. And Beyonce took a break for most of the year. Na wa o! :-)

From Forbes Magazine,
Take Beyonce Knowles and Jay-Z, for example. Last year’s runners-up on the list of The World’s Highest-Paid Celebrity Couples, the duo has now climbed one spot to top this year’s ranking. Knowles, who took a break from her hectic touring schedule in 2011 to give birth to daughter Blue Ivy Carter, still collects big paychecks from old hits. Besides, the singer’s new album went platinum in the U.S., not to mention her non-musical ventures and endorsement deals, which all helped to bring her total earnings between May 1, 2011 and May 1, 2012 to $40 million, according to data from the latest Celebrity 100 list.

Last Flight is the No. 2 film in West African cinemas right now? Yay!

That is according to the film producer, Obi Emelonye. Last Flight to Abuja is a thriller based on terrifying real events surrounding an air disaster. It features Omotola, Hakeem Kae-Kazim, Jim Iyke, Uru Eke and many more. Have you seen the movie? Did you like it?

How my driver ran away with my Camry car - From a LIB reader

The driver, Ayu Nurudeen                                              Missing car

Yes, another Camry car! Jeez! Below is a mail I got from a LIB reader...
Dear Linda, will like you to publish a story of my missing car/picture of my missing car and driver. Its not really about the car (2007 Camry SE with plate no LAGOS CB 520 AGL). It could have been worse. I took this man Mr Ayu Nurudeen, (a Ghanaian) my driver in. Gave him accommodation and feeding. I even bought his praying jalabia because he's muslim and fasting and still he ran away with my car. I have sent this man to the bank with huge sums of money and he never took it. I guess all these were in preparation for his big move. He even got asoebi for my traditional wedding last month.

Nokia PureView promo: Buy the 100k phone for 41k

Hey Guys! Nokia is bringing to you over 50% discount on its newly launched 41 Megapixel Nokia 808 PureView. Guess what? The phone also comes a FREE magnetic Joby Gorilla Pod Tripod Stand to make your photo and video shooting experience very comfortable.

The first 41 people to get to any of these stores;

SLOT CITY MALL, AWOLOWO WAY, ALAUSA, IKEJA, LAGOS
SLOT 1 MEDICAL ROAD, COMPUTER VILLAGE, IKEJA, LAGOS
SLOT C16/17 NEW BANEX PLAZA, AMINU KANO WAY, WUSE 2, ABUJA
CALLUS MILLER, 14 ABA ROAD BY ARTILLERY B/STOP, PORT HARCOURT
GLOSHOP AT THE PALMS SHOPPING MALL LEKKI
...will have the opportunity of buying the phone for N41,000 as against the retail price of N100,000.

Wednesday 8 August 2012

Northern youths warn Asari Dokubo; say they're not afraid of war

Northern youths under the umbrella of Arewa Youth Forum have asked Ijaw Leader, Chief Edwin Clark; and militant youths leader, Asari Dokubo, to mind what they say publicly about their region as it could lead to the disintegration of the country. A statement from the National President of the AYF, Mr. Gambo Gujungu, below
People like Clark and Asari had forgotten that the region was the mainstay of the Nigerian state before the discovery of oil. It is pertinent to let the war mongers know that the North is not afraid of war. But we are advocates of peace. We are not war mongers and will not and will never call for war within the polity of Nigeria.
But we are bothered that Asari Dokubo, Edwin Clark and co are turning President Goodluck Jonathan into an Ijaw leader instead of the President of the Federal republic of Nigeria that he is.

Hottie of the day: Model/boxer Ngo Okafor

Imagine sleeping next to this kind of body every night. Choi! Some women are enjoying sha! Hehe

Wait a minute, Talia went to beg Seydou to take her back?

Left, Seydou and Talia    Right Keagan and Talia
At least that's what he's claiming...with photo evidence sef. For those who don't understand what this is about, let me explain. BBA housemates Seydou and Talia were kinda 'dating', kissing, touching etc until Seydou was eliminated from the BBA house many weeks back. Talia cried her eyes out when Seydou left. Y'all remember?

Well, just last week, two days before the end of the game, Talia had sex with another housemate, Keagan.

The thing now is, Seydou is claiming that when he returned to SA for the BBA finale, Talia came to his room, crying and begging him to take her back. The silly boy took photos and secretly recorded a video of when Talia was in his hotel room and posted on Twitter. See it after the cut...plus their private conversation...

Kourtney Kardashian introduces daughter Penelope to the world

I'm more interested in Jennifer Aniston's private Angelina joke tho :-). But cute baby!

Photos from Future Awards Nominees Party

Anchors - Uti and Venita
It was a night of entertainment, fashion, and recognition of exceptional hardwork as the prestigious The Future Awards hosted its annual Nominees Reception for Season 7.

The media and VIP event which was anchored by BBA 2011 Winner Uti Nwachukwu and Venita was a gathering of 168 leaders, innovators, change-makers, and entrepreneurs nominated for this year’s The Future Awards amongst other guests. 

Beauty of the day: Neya Uzor Kalu

Neya is the first daughter of former Governor of Abia State, Dr Orji Uzor Kalu. Gorgeous babe!

Nike Oshinowo Covers August Issue of Mania Magazine

Nike Oshinowo on Miss Nigeria and Elohor Aisien? Hmmm...I must read this one oh! Meanwhile, beautiful cover!

South African hitman in Dewani honeymoon murder gets 25 years

One of the South African hitmen, Mziwamadoda Qwabe (pictured above on the right), accused of killing honeymooner Anni Dewani was this morning sentenced to 25 years in prison after pleading guilty to her murder.

28 year old Anni Dewani (pictured above with her husband) was shot and killed after the taxi she and her husband were travelling in was hijacked on the outskirts of Cape Town on November 13, 2010 while on their honeymoon. Her British husband Shrien Dewani is accused of masterminding the killing in a murder set up to look like a botched carjacking. He allegedly hired three men to kill Anni. He says he's not guilty.

South Africa is still awaiting his extradition. Qwabe is the second of three South African suspects to be jailed. In 2010 another man turned state witness and implicated Dewani in plotting to kill his new bride. He was sentenced to 18 years

Missing person

Ayotunde Aliu left Gbagada on the 6th of August at around 5:30am to Ikoyi for work. He was driving a metallic Silver End of Discussion Honda Accord with Reg No CP105FST. He is 5ft 11, dark in complexion and has an average body.  His phone was last traced to community road near Igbogbo Ikorodu. Please contact 08069814105/08121660841/08091280000 or 019054000 with any info you have on him. 

Muna darling, is that you?

She looks so different in both photos...

Gov of Kogi in full body armour as he visits DLBC victims in hospital

What a sight to behold...lol. But who can blame him? The governor of Kogi State, Idris Wada, wore full body Armour while visiting injured members of the Deeper Life Bible Church in hospital yesterday.

At least 34 people were killed, including 16 children, on Monday night when suspected Boko Haram members opened fire at worshipers at the Deeper Life Church in Okene, Kogi State.

Bad girl image affecting Rihanna? Singer dropped by Nivea

Seems her bad girl image is affecting her brand. From smoking ganja publicly, repping thug life, partying hard, posting uncensored tweets etc. Yesterday one of the brands she endorses, Nivea, dropped her as their ambassador. The head of Nivea’s parent company Beiersdorf revealed to German Media that they would not be re-signing Rihanna because she doesn’t fit their family image.
'Rihanna is a no go. I do not understand how to bring the core brand of Nivea in conjunction with Rihanna. Nivea is a company which stands for trust, family and reliability.'
And you know how this works sometimes. When one starts, the others follow. But I'm sure Rihanna is probably somewhere screaming 'tohellwithyourcontract' :-)

Is 2face expecting 7th child with wife, Annie Macaulay?

As far as some people are concerned, Annie Macaulay is pregnant and expecting her second child with husband, 2face Idibia. But going by this tweet, it seems it's not true.