Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 02/08/2009 - 02/15/2009

Saturday 14 February 2009

Question + Kosibah at the Screen Nations Awards + Dare Art Alade's Birthday Party

A reader of this blog wants to know this....
Is it advisable for a woman to let a man know her true financial status before or during marriage?
Please share your thoughts.

Kosibah at the Screen Nations Awards
Incredibly talented designer, Yemi Oshunkoya of Kosibah Creations dressed the female co-host, TV personality Josie D’Arby and participated alongside designer Samantha Cole in a fashion Show at the Screen Awards as Goodwill Ambasadors of CatWALK the WORLD.
Check out pix from the show

Yemi and Josie D'Arby
Also check out pictures from Dare Art Alade's birthday party which held yesterday, Friday 13th in Lagos.
Dare and wife, Deola
D'Banj and Ubi Franklin
Ubi, Kenny Ogungbe and Dekunle Fuji
Julius Agwu and Ayo Animashaun
Ruggedman
Kelly Handsome, Ubi and Dayo Adeneye

Julius Agwu
Weird MC and Dayo Ephraim of Hip on TV
Dayo and Dare

Banky W, Dare and Deola

Debola Williams and Ebuka

Sound Sultan

Guests

Noble Igwe and Ubi
Pix thanks to Ubi-franklin Ekapong Ofem
Happy Val's day...
Stay blessed.

Happy Valentines Day

Happy Valentines day everyone
Hope you have the best Valentine ever.

Goodluck in your all
L

Thursday 12 February 2009

Naija Entertainment News

Let me start by apologising to my bossom friend, Niyi Tabiti. I absolutely didn't mean to rubbish him or anyone else like he thinks, with what I wrote on my blog yesterday. I love people too much to want to rubbish anyone. I really didn't mean it that way. Just gossipping ;) You know, I talk too much and sometimes I'm a careless talker...my apologies sweets.

I already called to apologise and we are cool. I have mad love for him and he knows it.

Niyi writes "I can tell you for free that she rarely attends up to five events in a year." lol
Is it up to five? I have a problem with dressing up and going to social events...but don't worry, I'll up it to 6 this year...lol

Anyway, let's move to the gossip post of the day. Not much 'cos I'm really tired. I come back home too late nowadays. It's about 1 am and I'm up blogging. What a life I have...lol
Enjoy

2009 African Footballer of the Year

Togo’s Emmanuel Adebayor
Well deserved.

Soul E back to Nigeria
He’s been living abroad for the last year or so. He returned to Nigeria on the 4th of Feb and he is said to be lying low.

Ex-beauty queen, Chinenye Ochuba gets N6m Mercedes Benz gift from hubby – Adegbola Oni (Encomium)
The beautiful former Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria, Chinenye Ochuba, now Mrs Akinlade, is having a blast and a rave in matrimony. Her hubby, Adekunle Akinlade dazzled her with a wondrous automobile, a C-class Mercedes Benz, 2008 edition. The hubby is a business man and Chinenye works with Exxon mobile Nigeria. The couple got married in Nov 08.

Ayo Badmus looses mum – Tade Asifat
Hunky actor in the Yoruba movie genre, Ayo Badmus, is bereaved. He lost his beloved mother to death recently after a brief illness. Alhaja Adunni Oredola Edun has since been buried. May her soul rest in peace.

Onyinye Igwe leaves Soundcity – Rebecca Akinkunle
TV hostess, Onyinye Igwe, has resigned from Soundcity. The gorgeous girl whose resignation is generating ripples here and there. This is what she had to say about leaving Soundcity.
OnyinyeI left Soundcity because I was done. There was nothing else for me to do there. If I wasn’t of good value to Soundcity, my departure wouldn’t mean anything, but the fact that I made an impact there means that whatever is going on now has to go on. I’ve gotten millions of messages on facebook, people say you were so good, why did you leave? You need to tell us the channel you’re going to so that we can move to that place. I didn’t realize it was going to be that bad, because I wanted to leave quietly and move back to England and decide what I want to do next. I’m not glad that I left Soundcity in a way but I have to move on with my life.”

Happy belated birthday Blackky
Thorough bred reggae act Edward Inyang, aka Blackky turned 40 on Feb 1st 2009. Been friends with him for many years and I totally adore him. Happy belated birthday man.

Entertainment briefs - Seun Apara
-Ara has dropped a new single entitled Dun mi ninu (Make me happy)
- Ikechukwu plans album launch Feb 13th
- Soul Snatcher of Rooftop MC’s survives auto crash from Ibadan to Lagos.
- Kefee added another year Feb 5th.

News of the day
Lagos State Government launches 1, 500 surveilance cameras – Abiola Aloba (Encomium)
In line with the objective of turning Lagos into a mega city, with a fantastic road network, beautiful environment and responsive governance, the action Governor of the fastest growing city in the world Barrister Babatunde raji Fashola, has launched about 1, 500 cameras on the Island just like it’s obtained in other civilized parts of the world.
These cameras, installed discreetly at strategic points will help improve security in the State. The 1, 500 cameras are said to be part of the expected 10, 000 which would be installed in all the dark spots of Lagos.

News Briefs
-Appeal court in Port Harcourt affirms Theodore orji as Governor of Abia state.
-President Yar’adua slashed salaries of political office holders
- Senate committee recommends refund of N5billion by former aviation minister Babalola Aborishade and others
-Zimbabwean opposition leader sworn in as prime minister
-Ten people die as Taliban attack government building in Afghanistan
-Guss Hiddink joins Chelsea as their new coach
-Kanye West apologises to MTV over threatened boycott.
-Malta Guinness Street Dance Africa season 2 starts in April

Photo of the day

God bless.

Wednesday 11 February 2009

Screen Nation Awards pix + 09 Grammy Award winners

Chris Brown arrested, assaults Rihanna
Singer Chris Brown was arrested and charged with making criminal threats on Sunday for an early morning attack on an unidentified woman widely thought to be his girlfriend, pop star Rihanna. The Los Angeles Times is reporting that the woman in the incident is Rihanna....

This is not true right? Read the full story here...http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/29088387/

Omowunmi denies dating Dele Fasan
It's kinda sad when people see you with a guy, and the next thing you read in the press is that you're dating him. That recently happened to Omowunmi Akinnifesi, ex-MBGN 05. I'm sure some of you read the story about her dating a Dele Fasan pictured with her at the Future Awards...well, none of that is true. She spoke with Shade Wesley Metibogun of Encomium magazine, to clarify the issue

Omowunmi “I know no person like that. The guy came to me as a fan and we took shots together at the Future Awards. He is a stranger and an impersonator. I just took pictures with him. I had never seen him before until that day. In fact, the Future Awards was the first event I attended since the Genevieve Turquise Ball. I am really disappointed in this kind of story"

Dele Fasan's response
"It is not true, we just met on the red carpet at the Future Awards. I know her as an ex-beauty queen, but not as a friend. I am one of her fans, there's no form of a relationship between us"
Check out the red carpet pix that started the dating rumour here http://www.gistmaster.com/gist32.aspx
I'll give you more entertainment news later...too tired right now.

For now enjoy pictures from the 2009 Screen Nation Awards, Bafta London

Ashanti Power, Siam Hurlock

Matthew Mensah, Madonna Momoh and Charles Thompson (CEO Screen)

Pix thanks to Madonna Momoh

2009 Grammy Award winners

Pop male vocal performance
John Mayer, Say

Record of the year
Robert Plant and Allison Krauss, Please Read the Letter

New artist
Adele

Rock album
Coldplay, Viva La Vida

Song of the year
Coldplay, Viva La Vida

R&B album
Jennifer Hudson, Jennifer Hudson

Male country vocal
Brad Paisley, Letter to Me

Traditional pop vocal album
Natalie Cole, Still Unforgettable

Female R&B vocal performance
Alicia Keys, Superwoman

Male R&B vocal performance
Ne-Yo, Miss Independent

R&B duo/group
Al Green featuring John Legend, Stay with Me (By the Sea)

Traditional R&B vocal performance
Al Green featuring Anthony Hamilton, You've Got the Love I Need

Best Rap Solo Performance
Lil Wayne-A Milli

Best Rap Performance By A Duo Or Group
Swagga Like UsJay-Z & T.I. Featuring Kanye West & Lil Wayne

Best Rap/Sung Collaboration
Estelle Featuring Kanye West American Boy
Best Rap Song
Lil Wayne - Lollipop
Best Rap Album
Lil Wayne -Tha Carter III