Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 10/02/2011 - 10/09/2011

Saturday 8 October 2011

Jim Iyke and Emeka Ike are friends again...

The two former sworn enemies have apparently buried the hatchet and are friends again after years of battling each other. If you want to know what happened between the actors, you are going to have to Google it.

Jamb Admits only 60, 000 Candidates

Registrar and Chief Executive Officer of Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board, JAMB, professor Dibu Ojerinde has said that only 60, 000 of the 498, 000 candidates who sat for this year's examination into various tertiary institutions, have been offered admission into institutions of first choice.

The remaining 438, 000 will have to try again next year. Sad!

Rihanna dating British boxer and model, Dudley?

The singer hand picked the British model and former boxer, Dudley O'Shaughnessy, to appear in her latest video - 'We found love' and after the shooting wrapped, she supposedly began 'dating' the 21 year old Chris Brown look-alike. The two have been spotted going out on dates in the UK...

They say Dudley is very very well endowed...and that's why Rihanna has refused to let go. Enjoy o jare...lol.

Ruggedman accused of 'borrowing' shoe designs

A US-based Nigerian woman named Barkley went on twitter some days ago to claim that Ruggeman stole the designs of his new shoe line Twentieth September Wear from Fever Shoes
She tweeted:
Wowwwww, Ruggedman stole his entire shoe collection from Fever Shoes. Wow. Wow. @Ruggedman, you no try at all. You stole your entire shoe collection from Natischa Harvey’s Fever Shoes. I know Fever Shoes are not super popular but still, come on! He wasn’t even subtle about it. He didn’t even change the colour or tweak the design a little.”
Ruggeman's reply when you continue...

Bracket gets N15m for new album

Yori Yori crooners, Bracket, have reportedly been paid N15 million for their new album, Cupid Stories. The 14-track album hit the market on Tuesday Oct 4, 2011 and is being marketed by T-Joe, Ahbu Ventures and Obaino Music.

Desmond Tutu marks 80th birthday

The South African activist and retired Anglican bishop clocked 80 yesterday Oct 7 2011. Wishing him many more happy years ahead.

4 gang-raped and robbed banker in Ghana

A labourer and three others, who allegedly gang-raped a banker and robbed her off her belongings at gunpoint, have been remanded into custody, after being arraigned before an Accra Circuit court and charged with robbery and rape on Wednesday.

The accused persons, Usiff Abdulraman; labourer, Abdulai Alui; trader, Agyeman Badu; unemployed, and Kwasi Tawiah alias Taller; driver, together with their accomplices, Demio, Noah and Papa, all at large, are alleged to have raped the victim at gunpoint in turns, through her vagina and anus, at the home of the complainant, after their robbery escapade.

Read more

Nigeria’s middle-class: How we live, and what we want from life

A recent survey by Renaissance Capital of the booming Nigerian middle-class delivered some interesting results.

The survey was conducted with 1,004 middle-class Nigerians, with an average monthly income of between N75,000 and N100,000 (US$480 and $645). Participants were drawn from the cities of Lagos, Abuja and Port Harcourt. 70% of respondents were aged 40 and younger.

Renaissance’s findings when you continue...but pause a bit before continuing. How can 75k/100k be middle-class in Nigeria? What is half a million to a million? Now you continue...

Faze shooting new video in SA, set to release new album

The singer is currently in SA where he is shooting new videos for two of his singles, Nkem and In The Mood. He is also working on a new album

EFCC Declares Fmr Gombe State Gov Wanted Over N52Billion Fraud

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has declared a nationwide search and arrest of the former governor of Gombe State, Danjuma Goje, wanted over allegations of corruption and diversion of over N52 billion state funds.

If you know where he is, please tell him EFCC is looking for him...

Kaffy Dancequeen working on fitness DVD for pregnant women

The pregnant dancer recently revealed that she is working on and will soon be releasing a fitness instruction DVD for pregnant women.

Bhaira Mcwizu expecting first baby?

Seems so. The AMBO winner and actress told reporters this week that she got married recently and is expecting her first baby. Congrats to her!

No elaborate Independence celebration till 2014 – Pres. Jonathan

“Nigeria’s independence anniversary in 2012 and 2013 would not be different from the low key celebration of Nigeria’s 51st independence anniversary last Saturday, October 1, just as the 2014 independence anniversary would be merged with centenary celebration to mark 100 years of amalgamation at the twilight of his administration on May 2015.

“The Government had insisted that the low key celebration was to cut cost having spent huge amount of money on Nigeria’s 50th independence anniversary celebration as well as the inauguration ceremony of the President and Governors of the 36 States in less than one year.” - President Jonathan.

Wow, very thoughtful of him...hmmm. Meanwhile, your president is currently on a two-day visit to Ghana...he's been in the West African country since yesterday...in case you were wondering once again about his whereabouts...:-)

Friday 7 October 2011

Nollywood director Ifeanyi Ikpoenyi loses two of his triplets

Nollywood director Ifeanyi Ikpoenyi's wife Uju gave birth to triplets a few months ago (If you missed it, read here). What I hear now is that two of three babies died within weeks of being born. So sad to hear that.

Mr President clap for yourself...welldone!

So our dear president plans to remove subsidy from Petroleum products from 2012. We buy fuel now at N65 per litre...without the subsidy, one wonders what we will be paying for a litre of fuel...N100? More? How can this man do this? And they say it's in the best interest of the country? Maybe I'm not smart enough to understand, so can someone explain to me...how is this move good for me as a Nigerian?

Walk Against Rape: Police in Abia abort women's protest

The 'Walk Against Rape' walk took place in Lagos two days ago, Oct 5, 2011. More walks coming...

Meanwhile the walk in Abia that was supposed to take place yesterday in the state was aborted by the police. As over 300 women arrived the state govt house to begin the walk, they were taken to the central police station in Abia where they were told that they can't protest and were not welcome in the state. The women had no choice but to all go home.

New Video: Naeto C - 5 & 6

Nollywood actor, Alex Usifo turns lecturer at Babcock University

The actor now lectures at the private university, in the History and International Studies Department.

Flytime Interview Brandy in Nigeria

Thursday 6 October 2011

President Goodluck in Rwanda

Your president is currently in Kigali, Rwanda...just in case you were wondering where he was...:-)

Win tickets to KOGA One Night Stand Event

KOGA One Night Stand will take place tomorrow October 7, 2011 at the prestigious KOGA events centre, Oregun, Lagos. Time 6pm.

The event will feature Dede Mabiaku who will be performing on stage alongside top rated Fuji singer and artiste, Abass Akande Obesere, while the guests would also be entertained with hilarious jokes from talented comedian Klint D Drunk.

I'm giving out 6 tickets and here's how you can win one. The first six people to call this number - 08072290061 - gets the ticket. Hurry! 

MBGN 2011, Sylvia Nduka's new photo shoot

I like!

Gbenga Daniel, Alao Akala, Akwe Doma arrested by EFCC

Formers governors of Ogun, Oyo and Nasarawa states, Gbenga Daniel, Alao Akala and Akwe Doma were today arrested by Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, over allegations of fraud.

Chuddy K collaborating with Bruno Mars?

Seems so...or at least that's what his management is saying. According to them...
RnB singer Chuddy K is currently working on doing a single with American singer, song writer and record producer, Bruno Mars. The relationship was brokered two months ago. Bruno Mars was very pleased with Chuddy K's voice and delivery. 
We dey wait!

There's a Tupac Shakur Sex Tape? Well, you ain't ever going to see it!

There's supposedly a Tupac Shukar sex tape, which dates back to 1991 but the late rapper's mum has vowed that the tape will never see the light of day...

From TMZ
TMZ spoke with a spokesperson for Pac's estate, who was VERY clear, "We will sue anyone who tries to sell a Tupac tape."
The rep insists ... only the estate has the power to authorize the use of Tupac's image for commercial use ... and there's NO WAY the sex tape will ever get the proper approval.

Wizkid Wins MOBO Best African Act 2011

He beat Seun Kuti, D'Banj and 7 others to win the award. This is definitely Wizkid's year. Congrats.

Tiwa Savage's Love Me Love Me Video to premiere on Monday

The singer's video for second single 'Love Me, Love Me, Love Me, will premiere 3pm on MTV Base, Monday October 10th. She shot the video in the US and I hear it's bladdy! Watch out!

The YPI Project Desiree 2011 Fundraising Event

The YPI Foundation was convened in October 2006 and is a registered charity organization. The YPI is all about making positive and lasting impact on the society through education intervention initiatives, most especially for abandoned children in homes, in orphanages and hospices.

YPI launched the Project Desiree Initiative in September 2008 by starting an Educational Fund to sponsor selected children.

Between 2008 and 2010, YPI held 3 annual fundraising events to fund the education of 8 kids from the the Light of Hope Orphanage in Akute, Ogun and the Child Lifeline Home in Ikorodu.

The Annual Project Desiree Fundraising Event coming up on Sunday, October 9th, 2011.The venue is the Embers Creek on Awolowo Road (beside the Lagos Motor Boat Club), Ikoyi, Lagos.

Kanye West can do wonders with his tongue

According to a lady who claims Kanye West went down...*cough*, Kanye is amazing at a certain thing you can do with your tongue...
She tells Baller Alert
I met Kanye West at a private event given by another celebrity. I can’t give much detail for fear that he will know its me so I’ll just skip the details and get to the f--king.
You have to be at least 18 to continue...alot of bad bad things after the cut..:-)

Dencia is beri beri sexy

You've seen her new video, here are her pictures. Her name is Reprudencia Sonkey, Dencia for short, she is Cameroonian/Nigerian US-based video vixen, model/actress and singer. (scroll down to watch her new video for new single - beri beri, if you missed it). Owa beri beri sexy mehn! :-)

The real deal! Auditions kick off for Nigerian Idols Season II

Young Nigerians clamouring to be the next Nigerian Idol finally have the chance to be a part of the popular show. With the auditions kicking off for Season II, aspiring music stars now have the opportunity to get their voices heard by millions of viewers who love the show.

Lagbaja drops two new singles

Yet again, Lagbaja is set to hit the airwaves with new works. This time he is dropping two singles.

"Nothing For You", "Dream Come True" and "Never Far Away" are three Lagbaja love songs that became massive hits. "Did I" from his most recent album, took his love stories to another level with a Spanish-English duet. This time his love song brings a different dimension as he pleads, "Knock Knock Knock, open your heart, love wants to enter". Also a duet, Lagbaja is the repentant lover in this continuation of his love saga.

Let's put a stop to this now! Pledge and help save a life today.

Lifebuoy will donate money for every single pledge we all make. Please read press statement below...
My little cousin, Daniel was sick, very sick, stooling uncontrollably – like 6 to 8 times a day. It was terrible watching him go through that everyday. He got only about 2 hours of sleep everyday.  We took him to the hospital, ‘diarrhoea’ they said, just a couple of treatments and he will be fine but nothing seemed to be working. He continued crying almost all the time. Then he stopped eating, in fact, he cried at the sight of food. I think he was scared of eating. 
Then the worse came, his skin became dry; he looked like he had kwashiorkor, like he was mal-nourished, bulgy eyes and visible ribs. I couldn’t recognise him again. He died before my eyes. Diarrhoea snuffed the life out of him! Then I found out that Diarrhoea claims the lives of 5 MILLION CHILDREN in Nigeria every year. This is a disease that can be prevented. I wish we did but we didn’t. But you can. Let’s save our children
Please continue...

Robbers Invade Orji Uzor Kalu's Home, Kills Driver

Yesterday Wednesday Oct 5th, armed men stormed the Victoria Island Lagos home of former Abia State Gov, Orji Uzor Kalu.

The robbers were said to have trailed three of Kalu's aides who had gone to the bank to withdraw money late yesterday afternoon. On getting back home, the robbers accosted the men, stole the money and killed one of the men, a driver, Michael Ogbonna. May he RIP!

Audu Maikori speak on why he's no longer a judge on Nigerian Idol

Audu Maikori, the CEO of Chocolate City was a judge on Nigerian Idol Season I, but was replaced by Charly Boy in season II. Why was Audu replaced? Were there any problems? Mr Maikori explains.
I was very excited to be part of Idol Season I and it was a magical experience for all on board.
Unfortunately, due to my hectic schedule and family commitments this year I am unable to fully participate in the show, however I am very excited that my friend and big brother Charly Boy will be joining Jeff and Yinka as a judge. Personally, I think its going to be a very exciting second season!”
Please continue...

Mocheddah to celebrate 21st birthday at P-Square's mansion

I hear the hip hop act will be celebrating her 21st birthday sometime this month and plans to use the pool side of P-Square's mansion for the party. Her people are talking to their people. If you know Mo, now's a good time to ask for an invite...I hear it will be a star studded parry

Lawmakers to investigate sack of 3, 000 Airtel staff

The House of Reps yesterday directed the Ministry of Communications to order an immediate reversal of the alleged sack of nearly 3000 Nigerians by telecoms company, Airtel, pending an investigation of the mass sack by the House Committee on Communications and Labour Employment and Productivity.

Meanwhile, Hon. Abike Dabiri asked Nigerians to boycott the telecoms company...

New Video: Flavour - Adanma

This guy is a bundle of talent....check out his new video below...

E4 PR and HekCentrik Productions confirm their Hollywood feature film, “Turning Point”

HekCentrik Productions, the makers of Africa’s first digital 35mm picture “TWisTED”, today formally announces their next feature, a Hollywood feature titled “Turning Point”. 
The movie is Executive Produced/Directed by Niyi Towolawi (CEO of HekCentrik Productions) and Co-produced by Egor Efiok (CEO of E4 PR).

The project has been generating a buzz in recent months amongst people in the know within the industry that a Hollywood film starring Nollywood stars in leading roles is in pre-production.

Apple Co-founder Steve Jobs Dies at 56

Steve Jobs, the mastermind behind Apple's iPhone, iPad, iPod, iMac and iTunes, has died.

His family said in a statement that he died peacefully surrounded by family members, but didn't disclose where he died and what exactly killed him, though in recent years he had fought a form of pancreatic cancer and had a liver transplant. The billionaire innovator was 56.
Steve was among the greatest of American innovators - brave enough to think differently, bold enough to believe he could change the world, and talented enough to do it.- President Obama.
May his soul rest in peace, amen.

New Video: Dencia - Beri Beri

Wednesday 5 October 2011

Win 5 tickets to Rhythm Unplugged Show, Abuja

The event is this Friday at ThisDay Dome and I'm giving out 5 tickets to LIB readers based in Abuja. Here's how you can get a ticket to attend this grand event. The first five people to go to Rhythm 94.7fm office in Abuja gets the tickets. Ask for Lola, tell her you are from my blog and she will give you a ticket. 

There are only five tickets available, for the first five people to get there - so hurry!

OAP TinTin resigns as Programmes Director of Classic FM

Augustine 'TinTin' Imevbore has resigned as Programmes Director of Classic FM, sister station to Beat FM. Inside sources say its related to the Olisa Adibua incident, where he disagreed with management over the punishment meted out to the Beat FM programmes Director. TinTin wanted him sacked! The former Classic FM PD also has been at loggerheads with Deji Awokoya (GM) and some other members of management staff over the way junior staff are treated. My source says he was particularly sad about the pitiable salaries paid to junior staff.