£5million in supercars seized from Paris home of president of Equatorial Guinea. | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 4 October 2011

£5million in supercars seized from Paris home of president of Equatorial Guinea.

Eleven supercars worth up to £5 million have been seized from outside an African dictator’s Paris mansion as part of a foreign aid money-laundering investigation.

The vehicles, which included two Bugatti Veyrons, a Ferrari 599 GTO and a Maserati MC12 are all registered to Teodoro Obiang Nguema, the president of Equatorial Guinea.

Police swooped on his £15 million mansion on the prestigious Avenue Foch, close to the Arc de Triumphe, this morning, piling all of the vehicles on to a car transporter. They are all thought to be ‘ill-gotten gains’ bought so as to hide huge amounts of cash smuggled into France from Africa, said a police source.

He is one of numerous African heads of state who regularly receive vast handouts in foreign aid – including British cash via European funding.

‘There is an on-going judicial investigation into money laundering and other crimes related to the receipt of foreign aid,’ the source added. ‘These seizures have resulted from this enquiry.’
The cars, which all appeared to be new, also included an Aston Martin V8 600lm, Rolls-Royce Drophead Coupe, a Porsche Carrera GT, and a Ferrari Enzo, as well as various Bentleys.
Obiang Nguema, who is the current chairman of the African Union, was not thought to be present at the time of the seizures, though a member of his staff told police that the cars were ‘mainly used by his son, Teodorin Obiang'. 

The Supreme Court of France has appointed an investigating judge to conduct a judicial inquiry into claims that Obiang Nguema has used state funds to purchase property include the Avenue Foch house. 
Equatorial Guinea is oil rich, but poverty remains rife and there are regular allegations of high-level corruption, especially by Obiang Nguema and his eldest son, Teodorin.
All of the cars have been impounded and – if the Obiang Nguemas are unable to get them back – they are likely to be auctioned. 

Culled from Daily Mail UK

16 comments:

African leaders are devilish and wicked. how can someone buy such expensive cars and keep in a foreign land if not for madness and all his people are suffering from poverty. honestly am short of words.....this bastards will rot in hell with their family. What a wicked world!

I wonder who Obiang offended. It is not a hidden secret that the man has for years embezzled state funds. Europe and America are well aware of this and this recent effort to "investigate" embezzlement of state funds is a pretext for something else. In any event, I do not care for Obiang as he is a selfish, self-centered, corrupt, murderous, egomaniac.

God help the people of Equatorial Guinea.

And Linda, please do not refer to Obiang as "president". He has been in power for decades without ever being elected. He is a dictator.

Am sick of repeating myself and think i might go gaga by thinking about this silly corruption of a thing. It's always same story,response and action. 99% of African leaders are failure and have no shame.

Gozzy said...

serves him rightserves him right

9ja president get times 10 of this for their house na, if i lie as baba iyabo (former p), so nor be new thing

Allegra said...

Money that could have been better spent on the impoverished nation. Typical!!!!

these dictators have such little sense it is ridiculous. If you are even going to steal, re-invest the money in your own economy, dont tie it down in useless assets!

Austine said...

Quite fortunate! I wish and pray that they will extend this kind gesture to our NIgerian leaders and fraudsters.

Still excited....mschewww!

devour said...

ugly thieves-u will get urs soon

demons that dont want Africa to grow...his people are suffering and he's stealing intl funds to self satisfaction...demons

This is what the western world should have started 20 years back.

Stunning said...

Isn't the Teodoro guy (son) the person E-V-E (rapper) was dating?The very same bonehead that was spending crazy cash on her? His country people were busy living in poverty and this cat was spending looted cash on a female rapper?????God needs to find a way to wipe out all the wicked dictators we have in Africa.

Ade_Cool said...

Typical African Greed and ME ME mentality..soon as they get 2 cents to rub together they run off to Europe...once the Europeans get fed up with their antics..make them look like the Buffons they really are!!

The Western World should continue by investigating all those foreigners who continue to aid and abet our leaders to steal by banking the money, giving contracts, kickbacks etc And they should also investigate their own countries which are full of high profile thieves and fraudsters... ie WALL STREET. Im NOT supporting our wicked and thieving leaders, but I HATE the double standards of these wicked oyinbos!

EWWWWW, UGLY/DIRTY MONKEYS!!!!

Shut up your mouth about african leaders! wetin do them? Did he just buy the cars this morning? He's been doing this over the years and all of a sudden things go south? He stepped on the wrong toes or did not agree to some stupid deal with his foreign or should I be saying "french" masters and alas! arrest him, he is now a thief!!