Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 12/09/2007 - 12/16/2007

Saturday 15 December 2007

My Week!

It's 10:30 am Saturday morning and I just got back home from...a job!

Provided 20 models for an end of the year party last night...

I have people who run that part of my business, so I usually don't go with the models, but the organisers insisted I come along...

They got my attention when they offered accommodation at a five star hotel after the event

Haven't slept on any bed except mine in the last six months or so...it was refreshing to lie on a soft, nice bed!

This week has been crazy and exciting for me!

Was at the Future Award nominees party on Wednesday.

Felt so proud to receive my certificate from the organisers

Met a few people who have been looking forward to meeting me

I was humbled

Saw D Banj there

Waved at him...he waved back!

He came to my office one day 2 years ago to meet with Denrele Edun

Denrele wanted to introduce us...I told him another time. I was too in a hurry to go some place else!

Now I feel honored just to be in the same room with him.

I also felt honored to be in the same room with Fela Durotoye.

And everyone else who was at the future award nomination party

Except...Jedi the comedian.

I find him very annoying!

Maybe I shouldn't have said that

But I really find him annoying!

I was supposed to co-ordinate Collectibles fashion show for the Dynamix Awards.

Selected some models, did a little bit of grooming but had to pull out of that 'cos their schedule was clashing with so many of my appointments.

My apologies to them

Reluctantly met a client at GRA on Thursday...

They wanted models, I sent my guys, they sent them back!

Insisting on meeting the owner of the agency

Finally went there on Thursday...and met someone who likes the idea of Top Model Search!

He wanted the proposal ASAP. I had one in the car

Thank God I went!

I think I might be hearing good news on that soon!

I spoke to Oluchi Onweagba Luca on Thursday morning...on the radio

Cool Fm called me and asked me to speak with her on air

Asked her about her newly established modeling agency

She sure is excited about it

I've had a few conversations with Oluchi in the past

She and I went to the same lesson for our SSCE in 1997

We were in the same class for about 3 months

My immediate younger sister was in the same school with her (Surulere Girls Secondary School)

A few times she told me Oluchi said to say hi

We met again 7 years later at MBGN

She didn't remember me

Oh well...

To other things...

I'm a little horny! I saw a very sexy romantic movie last night and I can't seem to get sex out of my head.

But I can wait! Not till I get married o!

Maybe until I fall in love again

I want to fall in love again

Maybe I'm a little in love with someone

I hope I don't convince myself I'm in love just to get laid

Why am I talking about sex?

Oh yes...the movie last night!

To other exciting news.

This is the period we do a lot of ushering jobs.

My models are booked every weekend and some week days from now till early January.

They're ushering at a wedding today. I think the models are already at the venue

I hope so...will have to check on that!

I wish I could buy a new car...

But then I need to save almost a million or more to print FM&B in January!

So the car can wait

Was at Silverbird TV yesterday.

Met a guy I couldn't get to do anything for me

That's new!

I did all the leg work while he sat in his office waiting for the tapes

Was a little pissed

Where did my charm go?

Hiss!

The best part of it all was watching my magazine TV promo on STV this morning!

Yes, Yes, YES! My Mag TV promo ran on Silverbird TV last night and this morning and it will run for the next couple of weeks.

Anyone seen it?

The Murray-Bruces are giving me all the support they can.

Kisses to them. Especially Guy Murray Bruce!

I want to upload the TV promo on this blog so y'all can view it but I don't know how to upload videos!

Can anyone tell me how to upload videos?

I think I saw Adaure at STV yesterday...

She didn't say hi

Maybe she doesn't know me

But I sure recognised her...I think...

So why didn't I say hi?

Women!

From STV, I had another meeting at a telecom company, then I went for my ushering job!

Came back this morning, TIRED!

I'm still waiting for info on the MNET girls

And articles for the mag

There's going to be a bloggers xmas party on Dec 26th

Will get details later

Looking forward to that.

See y'all later...I'm going to bed!

Yes it's still morning...

Happy Holidays!

Wednesday 12 December 2007

Classic pix + Mrs. Club

Beyonce and Rihanna. Wonder what they were talking about...

Beyonce and Jay Z, leaving a Paris hotel. I'm loving Jay Z's Get-Up!

Michael Jackson on the cover of the Dec 24-31st issue of Jet magazine. Flawless!

You'd never guess who these guys are?

Can anyone try?

Grammy nomination
Album of the Year
• Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, Foo Fighters
• These Days, Vince Gill
• River: The Joni Letters, Herbie Hancock
• Graduation, Kanye West
• Back to Black, Amy Winehouse

Record of the Year
• “Irreplaceable,” BeyoncĂ©
• “The Pretender,” Foo Fighters
• “Umbrella,” Rihanna (featuring Jay-Z)
• “What Goes Around . . . Comes Around,” Justin Timberlake
• “Rehab,” Amy Winehouse

Song of the Year
• “Before He Cheats,” John Kear & Chris Tompkins, songwriters (Carrie Underwood)
• “Hey There Delilah,” Tom Higgenson, songwriters (Plain White T’s)
• “Like A Star,” Corinne Bailey Rae, songwriter (Corinne Bailey Rae)
• “Rehab,” Amy Winehouse
• “Umbrella,” Shawn Carter, Kuk Harrell, Terius “Dream” Nash & Christopher Stewart, songwriters (Rihanna Featuring Jay-Z)

Best New Artist
• Feist
• Ledisi
• Paramore
• Taylor Swift
• Amy Winehouse

Pop Vocal Album
• Lost Highway, Bon Jovi
• The Reminder, Feist
• It Won’t Be Soon Before Long, Maroon 5
• Memory Almost Full, Paul McCartney
• Back To Black, Amy Winehouse

Rap Album
• Finding Forever, Common
• Kingdom Come, Jay-Z
• Hip Hop Is Dead, Nas
• T.I. vs T.I.P., T.I.
• Graduation, Kanye West

Rock Album
• Daughtry, Daughtry
• Revival, John Fogerty
• Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, Foo Fighters
• Magic, Bruce Springsteen• Sky Blue Sky, Wilco

Country Album
• Long Trip Alone, Dierks Bentley
• These Days, Vince Gill
• Let It Go, Tim McGraw
• 5th Gear, Brad Paisley
• It Just Comes Natural, George StraitContemporary

R&B Album
• Konvicted, Akon
• Just Like You, Keyshia Cole
• Fantasia, Fantasia
• East Side Story, Emily King
• Because Of You, Ne-Yo

Kanye West - 8 nominations

Amy Winehouse - 6 nominations

Justin Timberlake, Jay Z - 5 nominations

Rihanna - 4 nominations
Beyonce, Fergie - 1 nomination each

What the heck happened to Sean Kingston? No best new act nomination? Not nice!

THE MRS. CLUB:
MRS. CLUB: Getting in is one thing, Staying in is another The Mrs. Club is the Nigerian Chic- Literature of all times! A book that has all the elements of a standard chick-lit novel: Three trendy Nigerian women, their quest to find a man to marry & their quest to stay married. A book by Ekene Onu puts a new spin on published literature for the trendy sophisticated Nigerian Woman. According to the New York Times: "From Mumbai to Milan, Gdansk to Jakarta, regional Varieties of Chick Lit have been sprouting, buoyed by the demographic that's both their subject and readership: 20 and 30 something years old women with full time jobs, discretionary income and a hunger for independence and Glamour." With the rise of Modern Day Chick Literature, Ekene has put Nigeria on the map with this well written book. Ekene Onu is a thirty something writer who was raised in Nigeria and currently resides in Atlanta Georgia. She is the founder and editor of Noveau Africana and the Mrs. Club is her first book.

The power of this book is Ekene Onu's characters (Titi, Amaka and Mina) and the fact that every Nigerian Woman can relate to their experiences on the quest to find that true man or the quest to tame that Naija man. Another strength Ekene has pulled from is her writing style, which pulls its reader into the book and thus making you feel that you are indeed part of the Mrs. Club!

The Mrs. Club is a must read and will be available in stores across Lagos, the UK, the USofA & Canada in February of 2008. An exclusive book signing will be held in Lagos in the second week of January and some advanced copy of this well-written book will be made available at the event.

THE CHARACTERS
Here are some excerpts from the book:
Titi: "My problem is I haven't quite found proper husband material and, for me, husband material means not just good looks, but also money and prestige. And when I say money I mean a lot of it. That's right, I'm not saying I'm a gold digger; but hey, a woman has to keep up or at least improve her lifestyle! Look, I don't believe in faking the funk. I am a straight-up person and there is no shame in my game; so yes, I am looking for a husband but he better be rich, African and fabulous!"

Amaka: "He was sexy, smart, and polished to perfection. He held my hands and played with my fingers. He told me that I was amazing, that he found me attractive, very sexy; he confessed that he really wanted to book a room for the night and invite me to share it with him. I said nothing because my throat had become so dry and besides, I couldn't trust myself. I knew that if he pulled me into his arms right then and there, I wouldn't have the strength to resist. I was looking at his lips as he talked; this man was beautiful. He turned me on with his words as well. I mean he made me feel like I was the only woman worth knowing. He told me that he had never had a conversation like this with anyone, and that I really got him and he felt for the first time in his life like he had made a real connection. He said he thought that he finally had a small understanding of the word soul mate."

Mina: "The truth is I don't enjoy sex with my husband. He slobbers all over me and has no idea how to please me in bed. At best it's a clumsy effort at going down and at worst it's a sweaty attempt at hitting it, while I lie there praying for him to come already. Yes, clearly, Obinna doesn't do it for me. There is no chemistry for me. So why did I marry him? Because I saw a man with potential, a man who was rough but teachable and I went for it, love be damned."

For more information please contact
Bobby Taylor Consulting: Bobby Taylor:(US/CANADA) bobby@bobbytaylorpr.ca
Sayo Odunsi- (LAGOS NIGERIA) sayo.odunsi@bobbytaylorpr.ca
Lola Ashafa (LONDON UK) lola.ashafa@bobbytaylorpr.ca

Cheers!

Tuesday 11 December 2007

Question!

Hey people. I need some of you to come through for me.

I'm doing an article on the next edition of my mag titled 'MNET Face Of Africa Winners; Where Are They Now?

I can't seem to find anything on them on line. Apart from Oluchi, others are a mystery.

Here they are:
Oluchi ('98), Benevida Mudenge ('99), Nombulelo Madzibuko (2000), Ramatoulaye Diallo (2001), Kaone Kario (2005), Venantia Otto (2006)

Can anyone give me any kind of information on any of these women? Where they are now, what they are doing now, how successful their modeling career is or was, jobs they've done, how life has been since winning MNET etc

Also tell me where I can get pictures of them. Their websites, blogs etc

If anyone has direct contact with any of them, please let us have it, so we can interview them.

Also, if you have any kind of article for the mag, please send it to my email asap. We are almost done with the mag and page planning will start next week. So send whatever you want to this week...latest next week.

We are also looking for human interest stories. If you have any peculiar or inspiring story you want to share with others, pls send it to us! With pictures!

All those who live abroad will get the opportunity of reading the mag's next edition on line...we are already working on the website. I will let you know as soon as it's ready. But you're gonna pay o...lol!

Meanwhile, about Ernest Obi and the story surrounding him. I didn't put up that story to be vicious, nasty or anything. I just wanted a little girl's story to be heard. I'm not judging him...maybe I did...the thing is, I am very sensitive about rape. I have witnessed first hand the trauma a rape victim goes through, especially when raped by someone they trusted.

I have never been raped but I know someone who was and maybe one day if she allows me, I'll share her story with you. You can't begin to imagine what these people go through, you can't begin to understand the demons that haunt them.

We are so quick to say the victims are lying, because we don't want to believe the accused is that 'kind' of man but what if it's true? What if that girl was really violated?

The funny thing is I know Joanne personally. We did a few fashion shows back in '98/99. I don't know her well enough to say what kind of mother she is, but I know enough to say if a girl said she was raped...it's possible she was. The best case scenario will be consensual sex. And if she's 12/13years old, that's statutory rape.

Whether her mother is irresponsible or not is not the bone of contention, lets just find out if that girl was really raped, then get her the help she needs. And yes its my business...just like it's your business. Who knows who the next victim will be?

That's all I want to say!

Ok! Please send me anything you can on the MNET girls. Will really appreciate it! Cheers!