Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 10/12/2014 - 10/19/2014

Saturday 18 October 2014

Is this clear blue sky or do you see something else?

Look closely...

Pics: Don Jazzy, Tiwa Savage, Di'Ja, others land at Heathrow airport

Mavins boss and artists landed at London Heathrow airport this evening for the Mavins UK Concert happening in Manchester: 21st October and London: 23 October. See more photos after the cut.

Tonto Dikeh stuns in red at Nollywood Movies Awards tonight

Tonto Dikeh wore this lovely red dress to the Nollywood Movies Awards which held tonight at Intercontinental Hotel, VI. She was styled by Jeremiah Ogbodo of Swanky's Signatures styling. She looks lovely. See more photos after the cut...

Celebs & fans celebrate DJ Jimmy Jatt & DJ Xclusive tonght at MVP

MVP Nightclub and Lounge in Lekki will be playing host to two of the biggest names in the disc Jockey business in Africa, DJ Jimmy Jatt and DJ Xclusive, who turned a year older this week.

MVP is inviting all friends and fans to come celebrate with them tonight. The Dress code is stylish and music will be well delivered by DJ Spinall, DJ Neptune, DJ Nana, DJ Tony, DJ Boyfriend, DJ Jackson. Don't miss it!

Life after sexual abuse - A LIB reader shares her story

A LIB reader shares how she struggled to deal with and get over sexual abuse which she suffered as a child from family and friends. Please read below...
I am living proof that anyone can turn things around. From a nadir of emotions in which I struggled with abuse and resentment, I have willed myself to focus on the strength I possess and the fact that I alone can determine how my life turns out.
My father was a business man, and my mother a full house wife. Her whole life was dedicated to taking care of us and protecting us and she was in fact overprotective of us because we were all girls. But I have now realized over the years that you cannot always be there for a child, and no one has control over an abuse.

New Music: Evok - No Delay & The One

Ntty entertainment is proud to introduce Evans Okungbowa aka Evok, a new sensation with a diverse blend of afropop, who is ready to take over the industry with his unique vocal. Evok makes his grand entry into the Music industry with two well produced tunes titled No Delay & The One, produced by D Tunes and Koba the natty entertainment official producer. Listen below...

Photo: Meet Nigeria's Women of Vision at Tiffany Amber

Leading fashion brand Tiffany Amber last week unveiled its Women of Vision to mark the 15th Anniversary of the brand. The Women of Vision are 15 inspirational Nigerian women who have all strived to make a mark in their own fields...and they are;

From L-R: Ife 'Cuppy' Otedola, Ifeyinwa Ighodalo, Funke Opeke, Ola Orekunrin, Eku Edewor, Peju Alatise, Uche Majekodunmi, Adesuwa Onyenokwe, Adenike Ogunlesi, Oluchi Orlandi, Maryam Augie, Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde, Omoyemi Akerele, Uche Pedro (Bella Naija) & Jumoke Oduwole. Well deserved. Congrats to them all...

Wizkid talks Samklef & Saeon in new interview, says it took Saeon one month to see him

In an interview with TVC, super star singer Wizkid addressed allegations leveled against him by his former music producer, Samklef and his singer Saeon, who he recently collaborated with.

About Samklef, Wizkid said;
"He was in my house two weeks ago...we were always together, I really don't understand what's going on here, but it's all love. I've got love for Samklef all day. He's even the type of person even if he hurts me, I can't get mad. That's how much I got love for that guy."
Now continue to read what he said about Saeon...it was a bit gangster...lol. Continue...

Photos: Davido, Waje and T.I at Serengeti Fiesta in Tanzania

US rapper T.I is currently in Tanzania to headline the Serengeti Fiesta, the East and Central Africa's biggest concert series now celebrating its 14th year. Davido, Waje, Patoranking and Victoria Kimani are some of the artists billed to perform at the concert. Here are some pics from the press briefing that happened a few minutes ago. See more pics after the cut...

Car owners to earn money through: Brandmycar.com

Did you ever think that you could make money by driving to work, visiting friends, driving to the supermarket, to church etc.? Brandnmycar.com.ng has launched a platform that matches everyday people (car owners) – who want to earn extra income with brands that want effective mobile Out-Of-Home exposure.

Brands will travel with car owners where they work, where they live…and where they drive.

Want to see what a $2.6million watch looks like? Then get in here..

99.9% of us will never own this watch but that doesn't mean we can't admire it...lol. Leading watch brand Patek Philippe just released this $2.6 million watch this week to mark it's 175th anniversary.

The watch according wsj.com, was developed over eight years, has 20 complications and two dials; and the case has 214 parts. Only seven will be made. For billionaires of course!

Confessions of an alleged Nigerian serial killer, says he's killed over 60 people

33yr old cultist, Alawunmi Oluwafemi claims to have killed over 60 people as the immortal assassin of the Aye Fraternity. The most wanted man in Ogun state, who evaded police for years, was finally captured last week in the ancient city of Ijebu Ode. He was arrested by operatives of the Special Anti Robbery Squad, Ogun State police command after a gun battle.

Now in police custody, Oluwafemi told The Sun the story of his life as an axe man in the underworld and how he killed more than 60 men and women. You won't believe his story. Read after the cut...

Couple having sex in sea become stuck together and have to be separated in hospital

Hard to believe but that is what Italian media reported this week...lol. An unidentified Italian couple had to be rushed to the hospital this week after their genitals got stuck together while having sex in the sea at Porto San Giorgio in the Marche region of Italy

According to Italian newspaper Il Mattino, the man and woman called for help about 30minutes after they went into the sea. A woman walking along the deserted beach heard their call for help and handed them a towel. Other locals went to rescue the embarrassed couple and called an ambulance. It took about an hour for an ambulance to get there and take the couple to the hospital.

A doctor was able to free them by administering an injection to dilate the woman's uterus. Doctors later told the press that the man was 'unable to extricate himself from the woman due to suction'.

Nigerian football player Nnamdi Oduamadi shows off his abs

Nnamdi, also known by his shirt name Odu, plays for the Nigerian national team and is currently on loan from A.C Milan to Serie B club, Crotone. He turned 24 yesterday and shared the hot pic...

Enyimba FC sign-up for COPA Lagos 2014

Kinetic Sports, organizers of Copa Lagos, are pleased to announce Enyimba Football Club’s participation in The FC Barcelona Club Challenge at this year’s edition of Copa Lagos.

Copa Lagos, Nigeria's highly entertaining international beach soccer festival will hold this year at the Eko Atlantic City, Victoria Island, Lagos, from 12th to 14th December 2014...

Beauty of the day: Fast rising singer, Uriel Oputa

Fast rising Nigerian singer Uriel Oputa was born in England and grew up in south west London but moved to Nigeria to pursue her music career. She started recording in the UK straight after university and successfully created an Rnb album. Soon after that she moved to Nigeria where she worked with Dekumzy who produced her first solo Afro beat track titled Merry go Round. See more hot pics of Uriel after the cut...

Photo: 4 Nigerians jailed 14 years total for match.com dating scam

Four Nigerian men, Monty Emu, Adewunmi Nusi, Emmanuel Oko, and Chukwuka Ugwu (pictured above) have been jailed a total of 14 years for duping single women out of about $350,000.

According to the UK Mirror, the four men duped these women after they responded to a false profile of an "attractive middle-aged man" on popular dating site, Match.com. Don't these women learn? Continue...

Photos: This Fayose's official vintage car is hot sha! :-)

Ekiti state governor Ayo Fayose on Thursday unveiled his official car...a 1957 or 1965 vintage Mercedes Bens car. It may be an old model Mercedes, but I hear it's quite expensive. If you owned this car back in the day...you were the sh*t! Hehe. See more pics after the cut...

Polo Avenue unveils 'Fashion Series' in support of Nigeria’s fashion industry

In recognition of the vibrant and dynamic Nigerian Fashion Industry, Nigeria’s leading luxury goods store, Polo Avenue, has announced its support for the growing industry through an initiative called “Polo Avenue Fashion Series” 

The Fashion Series premiered over the weekend at the Polo Avenue boutique on Ozumba Mbadiwe Avenue, Victoria Island, with an event which was witnessed by fashion enthusiasts from across the world as well as guests and highly esteemed customers of Polo Avenue who were held spell bound by quality and finesse as Kinabuti, an ethical label out to empower women showcased its Vlisco Khan Autumn/Winter collection.

Photos: Waje and Victoria Kimani chill with friends in Tanzania

Singer Waje is presently in Tanzania for the Serengeti festival. Whilst there, she took some time out after a media tour on some fun on Mbudya Island. She was joined by singer Victoria Kimani, Flytime boss, Cecil Hammond and friends. See the pics after the cut...

Are you Nigerians for or against the recent Boko Haram ceasefire?

Let's discuss folks. I've been reading a lot of comments and articles on this matter and it looks like opinions are divided. The Nigerian military yesterday announced a ceasefire with Boko Haram after years of terrorism from the group, which has resulted in the deaths of thousands of innocent Nigerians. The ceasefire agreement includes the release of over 200 Chibok girls - which to me is a very welcome development. There are reports that some of these girls will be released to the man who brokered the peace deal, Chadian president, Idriss Deby, sometime next week, to show they (Boko Haram) are serious about the ceasefire agreement with the Nigerian government. 

But there are those who still think that the government shouldn't have negotiated with these terrorists. After the cut, you will find an article from Dr Perry Brimah of Ends.ng, about why Nigerians should reject these ceasefire deal. As for me, I support peace anytime. Too many innocent people have died unnecessary. But read and tell us if you agree with him...

Mass failure at Nigerian Law School as over 3,000 students fail bar exam

Apparently there was mass failure at the Nigerian Law School this year. The Nigerian Law School recently released the 2013/2014 August result, and it was a Tsunami. Out of the 5,000 candidates who registered, only about 2,000 passed. Meaning that about 3,000 students failed the bar exam, the highest failure the Nigerian Law School has witnessed since its 50 years of existence.

Many of the students are angry and frustrated. They say they don't believe the mass failure is the fault of the students and are now asking for a review of their results. An affected student who reached out to LIB said; Continue...

Ikenna .I and Sandra are out of Gulder Ultimate Search XI

The dream of winning N10m and a brand new SUV has fallen apart for two more Gulder Ultimate Search contestants who are now evicted from the show.

Ikenna .I and Sandra became the next two to be evicted from Gulder Ultimate Search The Mission after remaining at the bottom of the table thus prematurely bringing an end to their quest to find the General’s War Helmet.

Photos: Singer Orezi acquires Range Rover

Music star Orezi just got himself a Range Rover (not sure what model). He's pictured above with Wizkid and another friend. Congrats to him. See more photos after the cut...

Photos: Rick Ross and Missy Elliot have lost so much weight...wow!

If you know these super star rappers, then you know what they used to look like. Here's what they look like these days...

Lol. Etcetera comes for his colleagues in new article, Confessions of an entertainer

Singer turned columnist Etcetera apparently has no love for most of his colleagues...he's shading the heck out of them in this new article. Lol. He called some of them liars for claiming to have what they don't and he went for Seyi Shay's jugular. Read for yourselves below...
Bless me father for I have sinned. My last confession was two days ago. Father, I am an entertainer and I have been lying to my fans for many years. Really? Tell me about these lies my son. Father, where do I start from? The lies are so many that I don’t know where to start. Go ahead son, you start from anywhere, the Lord is listening.

Photos: Bez tours Rwanda for the Kigali Up Festival

Alternative Soul Star Bez Idakula recently returned from a 7day Rwandan tour that saw him perform in arenas across the scenic African country.
As part of his tour, Bez and his band performed at the ‘Kigali Up’ Festival where they were guests of Rwandair. They also performed at ‘Get in The Ring Africa’ and ‘The Concert for Peace’ at Rugunbara. Bez was also the special surprise performer at a wedding reception on the beautiful Lake Kivu in Gisenyi, Rwanda. See the pics after the cut..

Check out Dino Melaye's massive campaign truck

The former House of Reps member is going Senate and has started his campaign in Abuja...with this massive truck. See more pic after the cut...

Photo: Singer Waconzy spotted with P.Diddy

Waconzy who is still on his American tour was recently spotted with music mogul, P Diddy

Friday 17 October 2014

Photos: Alaafin of Oyo and his Oloris step out once again

Love seeing this family out and about...there's something regal about them. Oh, wait a minute, they are royal! They were photographed earlier today going to the mosque for Friday prayers. See more photos after the cut...

Indomie Heroes Award Winners Bag N6 million

Dufil Prima Foods Plc, makers of Indomie Instant Noodles, in fulfillment of its renowned Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) initiative for children, over the weekend unveiled and rewarded three lucky winners who emerged at the 2014 Indomie Independence Day Awards  (IIDA) with N6 million scholarship.

Photo: Friends/fans surround Peter Okoye's son for a selfie

Being Peter Okoye's son has its perks. The cute lil man was surrounded by friends/fans who wanted a selfie with him. Peter shared the photo on instagram and wrote "He is a star already! #CameronJ I see u!"

Photo: EFCC arrest Kingpin of fraudsters in Ondo state

Find the EFCC press statement below...
A deadly syndicate of fraudsters who virtually opened an office for the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission in Akure, the Ondo State capital, from where they dispatch fake invitation letters to unsuspecting heads of government agencies purporting to be carrying out investigation activities against them, has been uncovered.

Lil Wayne disses all his baby mamas in new track

Guess it's the season for dissing ex-lovers. Days after Future and Wiz Khalifa dissed their exes in the song 'P***y Overrated', an ode to ex-girlfriends who mistakenly believe their 'p***y is the most important thing, Lil Wayne last night dropped a new track called Take Kare ft. Young Thug. And in the song, he gave an especially mean spirited shout-out to all his baby mamas. All four of them!

On the track Weezy spits,
They be hatin' on my girl, though/And they wish they was the b*tch they're hatin'/Salutations to my old hoes/And thank you for your participation/No chaser for my girl though/She go harder than me on occasion/Gettin' wasted with my girl/Then we 69 'til we need ventilation

Attend the SI-UK Education Fair, meet with over 20 UK institutions and give your career the boost it needs

SI-UK understands how expensive studying in the UK can be, and we believe that students should not only make the right choice about which university to join, but also importantly about the course they enrol on. We offer a career counselling tool that helps match students to a range of courses they would most naturally excel in and stand a good chance for a successful career in the future.

Nigerian Defence HQ confirms Boko Haram ceasefire, releases statement

Found this on the Nigerian Defence Headquarters website...
While closing the coordinating conference between Nigeria and Cameroon on trans-border military operations, the Chief of Defence Staff, Air Chief Marshal Alex Badeh informed the delegates that without any prejudice to the outcome of the three days interactions and the conclusions of the forum, a cease fire agreement had been concluded between the Federal Government of Nigeria and Ahlul Sunna Li Daawa Wal Jihad. Accordingly, he directed the Service Chiefs to ensure immediate compliance with this development in the field.

Liz Benson, Patience Ozokwor, others at BON Awards + Full list of winners

Here are a few photos from the Best of Nollywood Awards which held last night in Port Harcourt, Rivers State. See more pics and full list of winners after the cut...