Entertainers are going into politics for money – Clarion Chukwurah | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 17 October 2014

Entertainers are going into politics for money – Clarion Chukwurah

9ice, Desmond Elliot, Kate Henshaw, Kenneth Okonkwo are a few of Nigerian entertainers who have gone into politics and actress Clarion Chukwurah thinks its because of money. Speaking exclusively to Punch, Clarion said a lot of these entertainers want to go into politics because they are not making that much money from their vocations.
"The motive of those who are embracing partisan politics is purely monetary. Let us call a spade a spade. If you tell me that you want to go into politics to serve the people, I would want to look at your record first. I want to see what you have done to better the lives of the people in your immediate community. How many boreholes have you sunk in the community? How many hours of community service have you given for free over the last four or five years? How well are you known as somebody who yearns for improvement in social development?”
Clarion also criticized the leadership of the AGN. Ibinabo Fiberesima was re-elected AGN president yesterday
“I said earlier that I wanted to take charge of the AGN because I saw that those who were running the body lacked the experience necessary to turn it around and to change the face of the film industry. It was clear that those in charge had not real agenda for the guild and they didn’t know what to do to turn it around.
“Also, I observed that some people already felt that being in charge was the same thing as being in a position to hobnob with top politicians in the corridors of power and to get money from various interest groups in the country. And there was so much desperation on the part of the leadership of the guild to hold on to power because they see their position as a platform to make money.”

87 comments:

Ow is dat ur bizness.....pokes nose

www.glowyshoes.com said...

very true..its all greed.. nollywood needs new faces

visit my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Uche Emma said...

Just saying the obvious

Old woman pls keep quiet

Eugenia said...

She'll continue to talk based on her hatred on IB. Vote Linda Ikeji as the Most Active Blogger of the year. www.socialmediameritawards.com.

ade crown said...

madam go nd sitdown abeg... enof of D's blabbing pls.. u wanna be heard, we don hear u..

Haha I so luv this iron lady.She may not be a saint o but she's so blunt with the truth.

seunLondon said...

Couldn't have been said any better...#SeunLondon

Uche Emma said...

But I think Clarion is becoming a little bit vocal and controversial recently.

From attacking Ibinabo (who by the way have been re-elected as AGN president) to this comment. hmmmmm

She's actually factual..

B4?
Just because she has a source for income,same doesn't apply to all others
Well sha
Like the igbos say "anaghi ano otu ebe ekiri muoo"

....SƖεεkz

Yeah sure!! There is no truer truth then dis.

She was 101% right.I agreed with her.

She should go and join politics if it's paining her.Anyways it's none of my business.
Joyc teddybear
Linda pls I wanna see Desmond eliot

Clarion Chukwurah u said the truth because all this stars going into politics claiming they are not going there because of money is a lie.they knew there is alots of money in politics thats why they are going into politics.

True talk .... in respect to actors and actresses going for politics

All dis is just because she wasn't elected as the AGN president...

Jennykiss said...

Very Well Said!!

I had earlier shared such views.

Do something for your people consistently wort commending/emulating and of value to even those that don't know your name, then allow the people genuinely recommend you for any leadership position...thats how its done and obviously the only way we might begin the needed flush required for our long awaited change.

Please i beg you Entertainers STOP adding to the problem by distracting us from thoroughly scrutinizing all (qualified) political candidates...

...Well I doubt any of you would truly care enough to listen.

SHE'S SAYING THE OBVIOUS TRUTH BUT I DON'T THINK ITS HER BIZNESS . *****QUEENMAYA*****

she is saying that becos she running out of money...Goldensarah9@yahoo.com

She said it all...but Linda it is time u make a head post saying your LIBR says...because I am very sure I made it clear here that all artist running to politics are doing it for money,they are all greedy people especially that tony tetulla guy.,,please we are also important

nkiru said...

on the part of politics i think she is saying the truth but the rest i cant really say anything about it blcos i dont really no whta to say.

Hmmmmmm Nawao,isiorite..
Meet Top Naija Celebs,Linda Ikeji,Davido,Mr Ibu,Banky w,Charles Anazodo,Know the Football Clubs they support

RapLawd said...

B4 nko? We knwz dem al az in 4rm a-z...those joing those crewz to tiv our money eh! #Dia_iz_goduooo.

NOTE:If my papa or mama,anybody i love eva joinz politics in dis countery of we naija @hand_no doubt,im b god knwz tiv!!!

#CurrentlyInMars!!!

Obviously they are entering for the money. Greedy pple!

Who doesn't go into politic for money. It she has her way wount she? Pot calling a kettle black.

I so love this... she couldn't have said it any better...

it is true! all of them with the exception of few are going into politics because of the money. i can exempt 2face and will consider him credible if goes into politics because he is passionate about people and social development.Kate o, kenneth o, Desmond o and even the Tetula guy(when last did he sing,must be real broke)are just after the money with no genuine agenda.

You are right
We already know that
All cos of money, no plan

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

cant say I don't agree with her, but this woman is going to have plenty enemies

DOBY DOBY said...

Evrybody goin into politics is cos if d money whether dey ar in entertainment industry or nt.. its lyk dat in evry country. Its mor lyk a job opportunity.. sm myt work while in power bt wil stil make money

Doesn't everyone?

Olusoji said...

Time will tell. I still believe that few may have genuine reason.

bouqui said...

dis woman jst like to talk, abeg go sit down jare.looking for attention after not winning the election with ibinabo

On point! Dis is d only person dat has spoken d truth since all dis rubbish started....in all dia days of entertaining how much have dey put into development of dia constituency,must u go into politics first b4 u can contribute to d state? These people are all crooks,yes!!! The government have made us known dat political seats ar d numba 1 place to make big cash in bags!!!
#CorruptNigeria

~Jslimz~

How's that my biz???

Guy translate that thing

Ilori said...

The Truth is bitter my friend, i still don't understand why we hate to hear the truth even when we know it's the sincere truth ...

Ladoke Akintola University Of Technology Students Needs Your Help, Linda Ikeji you can safe a life by helping Ladokite and save them from immorality from this Gay MAN called Alhaji Razak Olatunji an alleged Homosexual and a police imposter arresting and sexually harassing innocent student here in ogbomoso for over 3weeks now. He drives a toyota 4runner jeep and has armed policemen working with him. They came to my hostel 3weeks ago at 5:30am and worked till 8am broke doors and burglary proofs to gain access to students rooms. They arrested over 10 male student on the claim of yahoo and molest some and free some on large some of money they withdraw from there accounts. The school authorities has turned deaf eyes and even the Oba of ogbomoso isn't aware. The Nigeria Police Station OWODE Ogbomoso is fully aware of this and nothing as been done about it till date....
I was able to extract links On Stories Covering former Operations Rasak Olatunji across the nation and here are the links below... Lautech is now is new base and people are having serious unrest here.. Linda you are our only hope please help

http://www.nairaland.com/229840/homosexual-alhaji-molests-teenager

http://www.nairaland.com/795887/police-covert-operation-yield-arrest

You can simply google is name as Alhaji gay rasak and see is past stories for yourself

R u dt stupid Seun in uk dt is always askin me for nude pictures?

Fulfilment and money stand apart

Fortunedexcel

Y shld u b pokin ur nose on a blog site?

Am sorry boss...lol

Abeg make she go resr,madem notice me we dne notice u o. Loooooghisssss

SalmaLena said...

True Talk.

Gentletee said...

Just one of many reasons.

dayballher said...

≠please save the future of 5000 law school student

dayballher said...

≠please save the future of 5000 law school student

she is absolutely correct and it is 100% her business as a free citizen, to express her views about whoever is clamouring to get into office.

same as every Nigerian has the right to criticize the president!!

some of these entertainers have only been known for showing off pictures of expensive items and yatch trips on instagram, now they claim to want to 'serve'??? na lie jare!

Neks said...

That's the plain truth.

Rachy said...

I try as much as possible to differentiate actors/actresses role in the movie from their actual life styles. But this madam CLARION is beginning to make me think that she is almost the same person we see on our screens-PARANOID is the word. She never sees good in any one and acts. Always suspecting. Always contradicting. Always loud. I can even picture her face while making these statements-same way she does while on set. Your opinions cannot always be best madam

O.M.G. so is it that they want to leave nollywood empty i dont understand

ellah said...

thumps up..ride on

jerry said...

That's true ooooo she make sense sha.

What she said about those that went into politics are 100% true, how many life's have they change in their change, what have they done to their communities. And for film industry we need a new face, even if is not going to be clarion let it be another person.

Sugarvie said...

No truth could have been any clearer.

Ibk said...

I totally agree with her.

I salute her for being able to publicly say what most are whispering about.

All of a sudden, every one wants to serve their nation?

Have they served their homes? Give me an example of what they have done before now to show they have the interest of their nation at heart?

Obviously. Even you that said it you aren't left out *Flora*

Before nko.....you went into acting for money too naa,abi! hian!

before nko,they are going into politics bcos of money.tiv tiv people.

waiting come be your own,it a free nd open cake if u want it go get it lol.

True talk

Old mama shut up.

Abeg madam, keep yourself busy

She said right

Honestly, i like this madam, she is not only vocal she is fearless too. Straight on point! Weldone madam.

IS that not why most people in Africa go into politics in the first place?. She should shut up already and mind her own business.

Absolute truth. I like her. She hits d nail on d head. Hoohaa!

What is your business with that you are too mature to be a baby. Mind your business old woman

Jessica law said...

Clarion what is your own! can u just mind your business if they are going into politics for money who cares. we know if u have the opportunity to join dem you won't be saying this so pls go take care of ur grandchildren that's if u have any.

Who cares

This is pure obsession.

Well on the politics part she is saying the truth but if she had the opportunity to be in in politics she would have embraced it with open hands. Don't care if they are for the money or not, I just want to see young people in politics shikena and as for the AGN go settle your scores with Ibinabo shikena #onelovefromSnow#

@Charming_rascal said...

Very true. They are all saying they want to give back to d society, u don't need to be a politician b4 u could giv back to d society. Anyways let them go so people who have passion for entertainment industry would take over.

#The Theist

Mma Efa said...

Madam you are really beginning to sound so annoying....so who doesn't do things 4 money.

Nd wat did u think nigeria politics is all about if nt 4 money???#@shery parker

Political money is free 4all

She is saying d obvious fact very very true...the entertainers re running after govt seat cos of money! no two ways abt it. And the people will eat their money and still no vote.

They will not win.Mark my word.when the chips are down,we will know.They think that politicians are stupid.Just watch out and see.All these actors will all lose when the time comes.They are better off wit appointment like d ones given to RMD in Delta states.what happened to Whyclef Jean and George Weah will happen to them.

She's saying d truth....

All these actors came out saying they wanna run for a position like they sat down and encouraged themselves in a meeting or something. Right now they are about 7 actors or more than that claiming they wanna run this year truth is these people are just ambitious and they know politics is the next best thing. if they succeed more actors and even musicians will follow also in the future

dont be suprised if linda comes out and claims she wanna run thanks to Saint Obi and his 46 million naira car actors have decided that money is waiting for them in politics. Rotten Country

Mischievous said...

Tell them! Lol

Olamide yiiiiiiiiiiiii said...

that is sooo true.

She is right about actors n actresses going into politics cause of money , didn't governor RA address the claim of some actresses he gave money

Chinny said...

What's with the hype sef?
Most if not all the politicians we have today are into politics cos of the money!! Though some may have the interest of the country at heart but it is solely cos of the money and also the power that comes with it!
So Clarion is practical bluffing! She had better go and lick her sore wounds cos not so many in nollywood wants her on that seat, the earlier she comes to terms with that the better for her!

Their choice.