Mass failure at Nigerian Law School as over 3,000 students fail bar exam | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 18 October 2014

Mass failure at Nigerian Law School as over 3,000 students fail bar exam

Apparently there was mass failure at the Nigerian Law School this year. The Nigerian Law School recently released the 2013/2014 August result, and it was a Tsunami. Out of the 5,000 candidates who registered, only about 2,000 passed. Meaning that about 3,000 students failed the bar exam, the highest failure the Nigerian Law School has witnessed since its 50 years of existence.

Many of the students are angry and frustrated. They say they don't believe the mass failure is the fault of the students and are now asking for a review of their results. An affected student who reached out to LIB said; Continue...

"People have worked their butt off for this exam, people have ran literally mad for this exam, these same people have invested their life savings for this exam, people who lost their parents prior to this exam had to muster the strength to write this exam and the Director general of the Nigerian law school who is responsible for the this mass failure doesn't see reasons with these people. He said he's raising a standard but all we see is a high standard of failure!"
Another student said
"Do we say 3000 students payed N300,000 not counting expenses for a year, feeding,books, then prepared to fail? We are calling for a review"

254 comments:

1 – 200 of 254   Newer›   Newest»
Peejay said...

Hmmm! Shame.

Chai

But truth be told the reading culture in our country has declined.
Are the law students not the same set of people analysing Oscar Pistorius case on twitter,instead of reading for their exams.
They come on twitter analysing a judiciary saner than what we have here in Nigeria instead of preparing for their exams.
If you fail to prepare,you've prepared to fail.

This is alarming!

I believe the student. d director general is just stupid

The people who passed do they have 2 heads?

This is bad,nemo dat kwod non habet.d can't give what d dnt hav,I only wish my unizik brothers succeed.

Armstrong Chima

Hahaha but why?

falana said...

Late blogger!#stale

Dave Mide said...

Did all of the 3000 lose their parents? Abi whats the justification now? Nywayz, God go help una settle ur matter abi how una wan take survive if all of una pass together? Mass competition in court room....!
Cooooooooourt! I rise #tongueout

Eugenia said...

One of us here said he/she failed and about to kill her self, please if u r still alive, abeg contact me, I've got a message 4 u. It is well. Vote Linda Ikeji as the Most Active Blogger of the year. www.socialmediameritawards.com.

Who to believe, the students or the results? If this is some kind of scam, isn't it dumb to aim for a body of hungry, up and coming lawyers?

seunLondon said...

What should we make of this??? Bad educational system or deliberate sabotage???...#SeunLondon

Nawa o, they should review their papers and let's see their performance. Law school ain't easy sha #onelovefromSnow#

#review4lawskool

Review4 law skool

We plead for a review on their behalf. This failure will frustrate many young people into crime. It is therefore unacceptable.

All dis lecturers are wicked,they have ssoo much power,dey fail students anyhow, and its a Shame ASUU is watching dis happen!!

Wow datz huge #sadface# bt tank God for ma bro he passed Yippee cnt wait 4 Nov 25th for his call 2 bar#dancingshoki# linda post ma comment ooo

The cost of education shouldn't be the bone to which students expect to be passed, the question should be is the method of teaching in-line with the way of testing.

we have a poor perception of education. where we believe that when students fail is a mark of their un-seriousness

Ok seen!

The new director General does not have a heart and wants pple to fail. That man has to leave that seat or review his rubbish policies because nobody likes him..,

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

A hungry man is an angry man..It could be hunger for some knowledge or hunger for some truth...Let's see how the review unfolds...

Eya! I feel their pain jor!

nnukwunwanyi said...

Yes,it needs to be reviewed,unless his telling us dat they weren't taught well,. How can 6000 people write exam and only 2,017 people passed d exam?Its impossible....those result needs to be reviewed,...stop toiling with people's life
It's true that case briefing is few now cos of d quantity lawyers we now have in dis country,..but dat should not deny others the opportunity to exploit their career......I feel totally bad for those affected in dis injustice.

Lecturers and their tactics... They dont want that large nunber of student to graduate, simple as abc....

ANYA IKENGA said...

The Director General is APC!

Disaster...

na by force to be a lawyer.

#review4lawskool

Mass Failure is now the order of the day...but medical students lyk me wnt experience dis oooo

D DG of NLS is a disgrace. 2172 student passed out of over 6000 plus student. He had earlier complained abt d rate at which people pass the Bar Exam. It is clear dat he raised d gradin system and purposely failed the student dis year.

They won't read their books, so why won't they fail? I'm glad the DG actually put his feet down on this because the kinds of lawyers the Law Schools churn out are pathetic. If you read someone's tenses, you'll wonder if they were taught any GNS or the likes from 100L before even reaching the Law school itself. I always prided in Nigerian Lawyers and Attorneys of the Supreme court but not anymore.

They should go and read their books and pass their exams.

olodos. next time read your books properly.

na by force to be a lawyer.

This is terrible...I'm a law student...I understand the stress and pain one goes thru just to write a law exam...

AdaBluey said...

Actually it may not be their fault buh nevertheless, its so common dat when most students fail, they look for whom to blame.. From devil to lecturers to circumstances

Linda, it was a terrific & terrible feeling, I know how I feel right now bt I leave everything 2 God. Smtn definitely was wrong somewhere. Bt God dey.

Education is not a end itself it is a means to an end. This opportunist in power act like they neva learnt shit. This is an outcome arising from big government, self interest, failed leadership, poverty and greed.

The fact that 2,000 people passed the exam confirms that this new "high standard" is achievable, well intended and would do the profession a lot of good.
Mediocrity has permeated the law profession in Nigeria. It's about time standards are raised to international standards both in curriculum and regulation.
The 3,000 who didn't achieve the standards which merit being passed and called to the bar should do the honourable thing: RESIT THE EXAMS.....
Enough of this unwarranted brouhaha and mediocrity.

Its so sad seeing the future dreams of our Nigerian barristers being crushed. Something needs to be done to remedy the situation #lawschoolreview

I want to thank you Linda for this post. I am one of the persons affected and I must say it is very hard and difficult for me after I worked so hard to then fail this exam is unimaginable. I have friends who have equally failed this same exam and I finding it unbearable to cope. The DG has ruined a lot of lives..I am begging him to please reconsider as we all call for a remark.

So unfortunate i must say, these days students no longer take law school serious instead dey see it as another last chance to enjoy their life as students instead of studying hard, imagine some female students at the Law school in lagos prostituting day & night instead of reading their books, Well na their parents & d man dem go finally end up with as wife i dey pity that's if dey are luck cos these days Nigerian men are getting wiser & wiser

I just feel sad with the whole result!some of us have let it go!however the council of legal education and body of benchers might not do anything!
Law school is a dehumanising institution!their standard fall below par!most of is just manage the situation like what an everyday Nigeria does!suffering and smiling
I don't think most students having paid so much and spent man hours will plan to fail.
If they are trying to raise the standard let them do their own jobs well!
The conditional pass speaks volumes especially in corporate law where the lecturers just come and quarrel and do nothing!
# revive the Nigerian law school totally before failing the students

They BCed the message yesterday, I actually pointed the sender to you, guess they got through to you! Linda you truly are an advocate for Nigerian and indeed change.

The thing about law school results is that you are graded with your poorest result in any courses. I feel all those that have failed its not easy going through that journey again. Take it easy.

A million likes for your comment. The 2000 that passed didn't use vodoo to pass, they read their books and were outstanding.

3000 remaining, pls go and study hard enough and pass. We are tired of charge and bail lawyers everywhere.

Be outstanding, excellent and distinct.

Kudos to the DG abeg

As a graduate of law, I expect your written English to set the pace for others to follow.

Keep writing BlackBerry English and be at par with your juniors in JSS and SSS.

Onyx or whateva name u are, u shld cut ur ignorance some slack. Don't display ur folly @ any given chance! Asuu??? Lawschool? Like really. U foreva strike me as an idiot! What a waste on every teacher who came across U. U shld spend some quality time reading books! Do more less blogs! U are not enlightened @ all. I just pity what u'll turn out to be. Knowledge always is key!

It's a shame on the body that register 6000 law students and 3000 failed the exam. Where is the credibility of law school failing 3000, it only explain that the body has no standard, if this is happening for the very first time then a goat has barked for d first time. Are they trying to create revenue through failure? You want to generate money by failing student, they should explain how 3000 Nigerian young vibrant and viable law student failed that examination. This can't happen anywhere in the world but Nigeria.

lol,thats too bad.Goldensarah9@yahoo.com

Lol...I wonder o

Which mediocrity!please some people should just shut up!
Yes some students planned to fail but not all!
No be the lawyers we dey see for court wey dey lawless and corrupt!abeg leave matter jere!
If you have been to the law school you will know it is not a chid's play especially lagos campus!
Let them put proper infrastructures in place then this can be justified!
Library with outdated books, not well furnished, poor living conditions and the list is endless!
And they are copying England!na so them they teach for there?
Not a professor is in the team of lecturers so they should sit down
Besides the grades some people who score less do well in future than those with the high grades
I implore all those affected to let it go though they should still fight but I doubt if the council of legal education and benchers will listen!

Solitaire said...

I wonder o

Nnaa dis ur kwod eee... I fear o. it's quod. Tnk me later

Its indeed devastating please let it be known that 90 perc we nt of these 2000 whatever figute all had passes as a grade.you dont give people stones and expect bread from them its very disgusting

Hi Linda and all, i am one of the students who sat for the bar exams. Fortunately i was one of the students who passed. However, i cannot celebrate my success in the exams when i see such a high rate of UNDESERVED failure. We are not talking about people who didnt study (of which those are very few) we are talking about people who had sleepless nights reading for their exams and ended up failing inspite of all their efforts. No one but the new DG himself knows the 'new criterion' by which they are marking students and that is not proper or acceptedany where in the world. You dont shift a goal post in the middle of a football match. Also even for those who passed, the results are not a reflection of the effort they put in. I did not write a difficult exam. I knew what i was doing all through the papers. I had already graded myself by the criterion of previous years marking scheme and was expecting a 1st class or worst case scenario a 2.1. But when i openedmy result and saw a 2.2, my first thought was that this wasnt my result. Someone must have switched my script or something. So many dreams have been shattered. All the brightest students in a class of 1500 are graudating with 2.2 to take home ti show their parents. Imagine soneone who graduated with a 1st class from his university graduating with a PASS in law school. Its insulting!!! Think about the shattered dreams and hopes. There are job offers from companies that only take 2.1 and above. People have worked their asses off for such offers and then one man unilaterally just alters the balance to suit some egolomaniac agenda. Top law firms are very selective. KPMG is hiring only 2.1 graduates from law school. Who can meet that criteria? So this action of the DG is unnacceptable to all. Not just those who failed but to those who passed as well.

John Collins said...

Though its true the Reading Culture in Nigeria has Declined, i still think A Mass failure of over 3,000 Students at Nigerian Law School has another story to It, they should do a proper review & they should do that fast

Page 1/3

John Collins said...

Speaking from Personal Experience most of all this School Heads n Exam Bodies Be it Varsity Level, College of Medicines, Nig.Bar.Assoc even to d lowest of em all WAEC & NECO can b quite Crazy n So Evil Minded at times.

Page 2/3

This is serious

If I had failed this exam ehn God knows I would have been sucidial! For more than 6months most students didnt have more than 3 hours of sleep each day just to read,only to see this kind of rubbish result

It is so sad to sèe peeps try to explain what dey dont know. This is not d first time students fail exams in the law school. The problem is that it has not bn at ds rate n trust me a lot of students dont know y dey failed after so much hardwork. How abt d teachers the facilities dat are substandard.I wrote d 2014 Bar finals and trust me it is worth a remark yes ppl passed but dont tnk compare heads a lot of peeps who passes cant also explain how dey passed. My advice to the DG b careful what U wish I know ds is d publicity stunt U want Nigerians begging but just U aint God, if those who failed deserve it gud but if not know there is an Incorruptible Judge. Students who had fun went clubbn n partying even made it betterthan students who were glued to their books. Whoever said law school students are d prostitutes on the road to the Lagos its a pity U are so ignorant. Linda thank U, pls those who understand d system n feel d pain should leave comments tnx

carlos said...

That means more than 3k failed. Wowwwww!! Something is Def wrong.
IG-@carlosdop

John Collins said...

Back in 09 when i wrote an Entrance Exam into one of the best College of Medicines in the South West, Edo State to be precise, I remember writing the whole exam like it was going to be my last only for the results to come out n there were complications in the admission process, but on getting to the Provosts Office, i was told those who passed where more than 2,000 & i was among but the School could only admit just 100 Students.

And i thought to myself "so just because d school only needed 100 Students they had to flush my Results, Exam Numbers and that of 1899 Students who passed down the toilet".

Page 3/3

After paying huge sums they pack us like sardines no reading rooms no funtime no structure outdated books we ignored these determined to succeed but the dictators decided to take it further God bless U and increase ur wicked wisdom.

The DG was already threatening us with failure before the exams sef. MCQ exam that has always been 60minutes for100 questions was cutdown to 50minutes a day to the exam

@ Armstrong China it's Nemo dat quod non habet not 'kwod' as written by you.so correct ursef mister.

Students are not saying they want to be passed unmeritously, we just want to understand how we were graded and y we failed.

John Collins said...

I strongly believe if they do a proper review of the results. they would discover that some of those (3,000) whom they claimed failed d Bar Exams Actually got the highest scores more than some of those (2,000) who they claimed to have passed the Exams..

Just my 2cent Opinion.. I have seen some of this things happen infact e don happen to me like Discovery Channel HD live n Direct.. So i nor believe this nonsense..

Nigeria my Country

The DG was already threatening us with failure before the exams sef. MCQ exam that has always been 60minutes for100 questions was cutdown to 50minutes a day to the exam

Of the 2000 people that passed, a lot of them were conditional pass meaning they failed a subject and can't be called to Bar

No one in their right senses would pay such an outrageous school fees and decides to fail, most of us worked our butt out day and night to pass this exams, over 4000 student failed and those that passed, most of us had a PASS, we need this results to be re-viewed, we r talkn abt pple's future here. The system is bad, this is how youths derail and become criminals. This is our future, the results needs to be reviewed

Bfor u talk need I remind u dat Law skuls hardly fail peeps... so what happnd to d peeps dat passed?? How wil d lecturers in 36states jst decided to fail dem???

The quality of a country's educational system is not measured by the number of students who fail exams.In any advanced country, the DG would have apologized by now and resigned.

Oh pls...... spare me that trash. They did not read! The ones that read passed, these ones were probably chasing money or men and hoping to bribe their way thru. Our students don't want to read these days, looking for the easy way out and following men. I know a couple of them, wanting to live faster than their shadows. If you do not prepare well what do you expect? It would keep getting worse. As for Linda, it's your work not to post my comment, if you like don't post it.... *flips my Funmi hair and strolls to soak garri**

Linda, 5000 students failed, we were a total of 7000, only 2000 students passed... its heartbreaking, but I'm among the lucky few...a lot of ppl I know were affected.

7000 students wrote the exam, only 2000 made it... I also made it, but a lot of my frnds failed. it's heartbreaking.

For once Amma tell you to shut up. Your comments are usually inspiring but this is rubbish. Do you know how hard those students read for that exam? 300000 naira is not small money so only few joked with that exam better find a law school student to explain their pain to you

Hi, im not sure u really understand what is going on presently. In every exam there are people that fail. However, this is not the first set of people to write the bar exam no are they the 20th, so what changed? between last year and this year did all the laws in Nigeria change? I am one of the 2000 that wrote and passed the exams, however my result is not a reflection of the effort i put into my 1 year in law school, nor is it a reflection of what i wrote in the exam hall. So i am as bitter as those who failed. My first response when i saw my result was "someone must have switched my script." However when i realized that it was a national issue, and i started calling people that i was in school with, (people who had been dedicated to their schoolwork from day one) failing then i realized that something else must have happened. This is not a question of standard, it is simply that no one except the D.G himself knows the criterion by which they marked. It is not fair to the students. You dont shift a goal post in the middle of a football match.

How can 1 man just kill soo many dreams

Memes said...

Bonario,this your talk did not make sense,so because law students wrote on Oscar's case showed they did not read and how are you sure they were in law school.Abeg pack well.U mustn't comment everytime

RUBBISH.I dare say, its the same set of people who payed their way to study law @ the university that failed.When u can't meet up with ordinary JAMB cutoff mark, the thing go hook u na wen u enter law school. Turning out tons of baby lawyers...Mtchewwwwww

See beef!.......y U̶̲̥̅̊ de beef our Lindyway naa

After all the plenty hours of reading and the sleepless nights for months I get a PASS????!!!!!!! How???!!!!

Have u eaten today? Did ur husband refused u last night? Better calm down b4 u die on top my matter.. See this one sha,,

sexynerd said...

Please. This is how we promote mediocrity in this country. So if 5000 write exams should they all pass? And if the scripts are regraded and less people pass nko? Thats why there are kobo kobo lawyers everywhere. Doctors do exams every year. Thousands sit for the exam and 100 pass. Every year. They have not gone to announce that the masses should beg their lecturers. My friends go and read your books. Change must to come to this country. Nothing is your birthright. You have to earn it. The fact you paid sch fees doesn't mean you have passed. Rubbish

And because you got low grades the law firms will use you and put you on a paltry sum of money per month!
If tutelage can be stopped whereby you will have to serve a senior legal practitioner before you can be on your own this can be stopped too!
If their facilities can cater for 700 students let them admit 700 and not thousands hereby raking in billions!like that was how they were treated during their time!
This potrays what happens in the larger society of Nigeria!
It took Punch to reveal the dehumanising condition students of Nigerian law school live in before adjustments were made else it would have still be suffering and smiling!though not totally okay it has improved better than when Onadeko was DDG of lagos campus!it shows you the kind of person the man is!
I wouldn't curse him like some have been doing posterity will judge him especially as he didn't put much into the system but expecting much!
I know it isn't easy but let all affected try and move on!to those who are scared of funds to repay GOD will provide!
If this is really your dream pray hard and strive for it!
Delay isn't denial!
I wrote the exams too and had a conditional pass!
Pained but nothing is stopping me from achieving my dreams!i#GOD's child!#

Anonymous oooo
Lmao

Bt he is right onyxx
U words re highly contradicting

sexynerd said...

It was a "terrific" feeling to have failed? Seriously? I am beginning to see why your lecturers failed you. Do you even know the meaning of that word? Is it by force to be a lawyer?

Thank you dearie... Abeg they should take several seats back. the reading culture in Nigeria had declined so bad, this student don't even read. Blaming law school, rubbish abegy...

Best comment jo

Exactly...you couldn't have said any better,now they can blab about their failure on twitter,if they wish for review it wount happen,but if they wish for script yes it would be shown to them.

This is why so many students failed. How did yiu even make it to nls. God bless that DG.

Hello Mr dumb bonario. U should put others in ur shoes b4 u open ur smelly mouth to divulge d nonsense in ur empty brain.obviously if u have common sense u'll know that all work and no play makes u a dull idiot. U dunno what d new DG is putting those students thru. Really u don't av to comment on every post. Silence is beta dan spittin bs.

So because pple are in law school they are not allowed to have a social life? Are we saying that the 3,000 pple that failed are dumb and did not prepare for this exam?

It's obvious you dnt knw a single thing about life because you know there are true stories where pple invest their all and still fail, maybe you should think of those pple rather than throwing arrows

Trying to be funny cos no one is laughing

U r vewi stupid

Lol, senseless, insensitive over grown idiot.... Go wash your mouth boo or change your new address to hell.

U r vewi stupid

It's pple like you that keeps drawing Nigeria back with your tough luck beliefs.... Wicked idiot.

U r vewi stupid

Linda, I beg you in God's name to please post this comment and it's directed to the low life idiot called. Bonario. They spend time on twitter analyzing Oscar's case and you think that's the cause of the mass failure, like. Seriously???? I'm amazed at your folly G! You think what they learn in class is just for them to keep in their pockets and not apply to real situations when they see one??. Need I tell you that Law school does not paint 1960 scenarios in bar finals, they use the recent happenings in the world! They even advise students to pay close attention to cases happening around them! Bonario or whatever you are called, don't come chatting shit if you know you only reason from your anus. Support the #reviewresult and if not put your mouth where your money is!

You took pride in Nigerian lawyers, so what makes you think the ones that are being called to bar are the best. Think!!

It is your generation and your unborn children that is an olodo

Lol.... For some reason you even sound like the olodo

Na by force to live? Do something with your life

Sweety actually this time around it's the fault of the director general. You cannot increase the pass mark by 50 from 40 and not tell anyone. You cannot reduce the exam time from one hour to 50 minutes 3days to exam.... This is a calculated move.

U both r stupid,,those dat passd do u no wat grade dey passd wif,,mostly pass..soo if u r not knowledgeble on a subject don't speak! As we all know, pass is not a good grade and resiting the exam is more than 300000

Take a sit Bonario,i have got a bunch of hardworking friends at law sch and they feed me wt stories. Maybe the system was a bit too harsh. These same set would go abroad and come out unscathed,infact flying. Because say u dey LS no go make u tweet again?sho!

Fortunedexcel.

Lol.....see this loser talking rubbish! What standard? Even the so called western countries we are imitating can't try this nonsense. It's obvious you're insensitive. Call us when you've invested your all into something and it fails maybe then you might have something reasonable to say. #think!

Well you can't generalise, who knows the so called pple you're even talking about might even be one of the pple that passed. We are talking about pple that did everything possible to pass this exam and they failed.

I route for a review. If 3000 students failed,the Law school has also failed,perhaps they are not doing enough. I mean the authorities should be enough...the same set would go overseas and shine out their contemporaries. Abeg,review the gaddamn standard.

Fortunedexcel.

Those who are conversant with other professional exams will attest to the fact that 40% pass rate should not be an issue.

Only 73 out of thousands of students passed final stage of a particular professional exam in Nigeria in 2003. 70 students sat for reference while 3 students made it at one sitting. It's painful to prepare for exam and fail but standard of law profession needs to be raised. I feel for those who failed, they should take heart and dust their books for next year.

From experience I can say that no law student jokes with bar finals.
They read and read.
Some people even start reading from the first lectures.
No matter how much you party or like fun when it comes to bar finals you sit up and read. In fact the richer students hire a tutor so as to have better chances.
I pray there is a remark oh.
And I feel sorry for those still in the university yet to go to lawschool.
Which kain thing be that?

Well a lot has changed. Not only are you graded with your lowest, if you fail 2 you get a fail. The pass mark is no longer 40 which no one was aware about, the exam time was reduced to 50min instead of one hour, new questions that were not even in syllabus was introduced.

mr Lindaikeji Osagie said...

3000.............no! no! no! i smell a rat here, sumtin is difinitely wrong somewhere. I ll suggest dat d council in their legal wisdom should set up a committee that ll re-visit those scripts... Though i hope and pray that my sister should be among the 2000 fortunate prospective barristers.

Onyx!!! Google is your friend o!

abeg linda dnt mind dem o,it has alwayz being lyk dat,its alwayz mass failure,d tin abt dis lawskul exam is nt about readin alone,its knowin how to answer questn,de wil ask u a simple questn u wil give dem narration,d problem shud b tackled 4rm d LLB level,asin de shud make lawstudnts answer questns directly and stop askin dem to discuss bla bla bla,notin wil b done,de shud sit up next time abeg,i hate all dese unnecessary excuses,

Am among the students that wrote the examination, fortunately I made it..It is true that there were some unserious students but the fact remains that the number of student that failed is not justiceable.The DG threatened & increased the pass mark from 40% to 50%,and we ask our selves what he intended to achieve by that..When he wrote his own Bar exam it was 40% pass mark..For me, the DG is just inhuman..pls Counsel of Legal Education intervene in this matter..Thanks

so bcos he's disciplined nobody likes him?den let it be

Plz do you know how much money one would have to pay to resit? Let me tell you. #50,000 for just a paper and we have five! Now multiply that by 4,000 students! School fees alone was 295,000. After paying and slaving there would be nothing to show for it. People studied hard for that exam. I studied hard. My friend lost her baby because she was reading for bar finals and yet she failed. If you are going to blame the students be in their shoes first. !

Blowzay said...

Seems doz dat passed Av 2 heads.. smh

#lawschoolreview

its nt abt workin hard,i use 2 have course mates dat read 2 death yet de fail,abeg learn hw to anser questns,na d DG mark d questns?mtchew

I am a University teacher. I am sure no lecturer, by whatever designation, would want to fail any student.I do not teach in the NLS, but if an investigation is conducted, you may be shocked that it was after result moderation (euphemism for scale up) that those 2,000 students were picked. Students do not read anymore. It is scary!

To all of you saying that they deserved to fail, I cry foul ! No one deserves to fail. True people work to fail but no one deserves it. Not the 4,000 students whose lives have changed. Take a tour of the law school facilities, they exceed their capacities. Do they admit students only to fail them.

mr Lindaikeji Osagie said...

Odiegwu

This is a disgrace! Their results need to be reviewed! If the failure rate is this high, it only means one thing. That the lecturers are not doing what theyre meant to be doing. The authorities should seriously look into this. Utter disgrace to the people in charge.

It's a serious matter

Well written....u speak my mind

A million likes for your comment. I'm in lagos campus and I know what it's like for me especially when it comes to corporate law. It so scares me and d lecturers ain't helping a bit.

@bonario pls if u dnt hv any positive comment or opinion I'll advice u shut the hell up! Say only wat u know u for one don't know how the system works! So stay out of if!

It's not in Nigerian students to ask for a review n from what other students who sat for this exam has said in this blog about this issue, a review is Necessary!! I have been a victim to such too... so i know n understnd the feeling n pain. REVIEW!!!

-Bliss

may the good Lord grant the devil permission to put sadness in your lives for this irrational comments...am sure the both of you never made the mark to study law...useless idiots

DiaryOfAMadLawStudent said...

Bonario, for once, I'm going to have to tell you to shut your fucking trap. You have absolutely no idea what we went through. You didn't take the exams, or live in an uncompleted building for 9months, or carry water on your head four floors up, or share convenience with 9other pple, or spend almost half a million naira in the name of school, or drink power horse, coffee and chew kola at the same time just to stay awake. So pls, be quiet so that the ground won't open up and swallow you.

God bless you for the truth. I am a lawyer and i know how difficult Bar final is, but there is a serious decline in the reading habit of students.

Charge n bail lawyer,go and study....u didn't prepare well n u failed.why are you anonymous?lazy brat

God bless you both! When they are always on Facebook, Twitter, instagram, snapchat, Lib, sdk, etc, how will they pass?

Well I always knew the new DG was funny dude,that he actually this mass failure and could not do anything about it,even before release.what revenue is he tryin to generate,abi im get election plans later on?

Onyx d rat, like it was rightly said, u are blunder personified! "Did ur husband "REFUSED"..." lol! it's "refuse" sugar. Just grow up and read more. At ur age, books!!! Dats d only way out! Olodo! When anonymous pple talk trash, we forgive den, wen der is a face to a name (and always a stupid and unfounded comment to go along) den it's not pardonable. I'll take d pain to lecture U, cos ure just anoda half-baked educated illiterate on d street. You see, the Almighty Nigerian Law School is not regulated by the ASUU in any way, dat an association of academic staff of Universities in Nigeria (public Universities, b4 u'll tnk Bowen, Redeemers etc are included). From now on, I promise to be ur lecturer here on Linda's blog. Atlst, dats minus 1 would-be mumu!

So....what did the 2000 do to Pass...sometimes you need to think more than twice before you air your opinion

The fact that people worked their butts off doesn't mean they should pass the bar. its nt just about working hard, u have to be exceptionally good. if you like read from today till next year, if u dnt have what it takes you just dnt. the bar exam is the survival of the fittest! the ones who passed are the fittest and the others were just not fit enough! Thanks for this new standard DG. Our society would be better for it!

I suggest that the aggrieved student channel their grievances collectively by asking for their papers review by external moderators. All evidences by students to prove their allegations must be handed to external body to investigate whereby further actions can be put in place to stop the abuse in the future.

Oooh ma God ma nephew passed dis exams God may ur name b praised.... Pity does dat failed chaii......

I am not saying people that failed deserved to fail. However, if you failed please start preparing for the next exams because it is in that same
class that my cousin made a first class. You can also do it by preparing now, believing in yourself and praying to God. # Success comes with hardwork

Anonymous 1:14 pls shut the hell up. We don't care if your a lawyer, your exam and ours was not the same. And u were not in the class when the DG spoke so you do not know what is happening and the pain the students are feeling. I bet if u wrote this exam you would also be among the 3000 that failed. The result had nothing to do with reading. Students read day and night even wrote and pass the pre- bar test so stop talking rubbish #kmt.

Hmmmmm,its realy sad,but in my opinion the results should be reviewed,the students don't deserve it,biko.....don allah......ejoooh.Mr Dg.

Uche said...

Don't be too quick to blame the students. I took same exams and passed, but I still align with those that place the blame for the mass failures on the DG.
How can you increase the pass mark by an additional 20%, and reduce the time for exams? Even without prior notice, the man ambushed us in the hall.
I'm glad I made it, but I feel for those that got caught up in the web, cos I know how hard they worked. Nobody can be in law school and not read, not after paying all that money!!
Only an ignorant fool will accuse the students of complacency or unseriousness!

Wow non of u cared to correct onyx. Onyx the body responsible for law school is not a
ASUU but the council of legal education

I went through the system too and I think the failure is on both sides but more on the side of the students.
Law school students don't read during lectures and expect to read through a whole year's syllabus in 2months! This is impossible
Secondly, we have to be truthful to ourselves that most ppl didn't put their all cos I don't understand what the school will gain if ppl fail
Now to the school, the infrastructures are poor and the fees are too high ooooo! My opinion

wot most law skul students dont knw...dont read too much nor outside ur curiculum...bet me,folks dat flunk d exam are d over sabis. go straight to d ans hint ur point and grab ur best result,how many lectures do u guys think marks d script...no time to be reading epistle.

AN OPEN LETTER TO THE DG

18 October 2014

My Ref: Correct/Progressive/G

The Director General
Nigerian Law School
Bwari FCT

Dear Sir

Examination and Result

I sat the examinations as one of your students admitted from Bar 1.

I read hard and expected a 1st Class but achieved a Lower Second.

I noted the standard of examination was much higher than generally expected, it hit me hard in the face.

For this, I thank you specially and I pray that Almighty God will continue to bless and protect you.

You have restored my faith in my country Nigeria, in its legal education; and now I have hope that one day this country will be truly great.

Of course I feel the great and justifiable pain of all who failed. On their behalf I would add that you should have introduced your changes gradually, and with longer notice.

Timely notice would have been fairer. It would also have avoided much of the current vitriol aimed at you by many.

Yet, what is done is done. Casualties notwithstanding, Nigeria must move forward.

Now. My only worries are - will you stand firm and hold ground?

Will your successors appreciate the great sacrifice you have made of yourself? A scapegoat of a just and necessary war against mediocrity.

I pray someone sees - and shares - your vision, and mission.

Sir, please defend yourself by showing all the question papers to a higher authority. You should if possible obtain a High Court Declaration that your actions were lawful.

I assure you that no reasonable objective person will say that your examination questions were beyond capacity for any average hardworking student. You would be pleasantly shocked to discover that so many students and progressive Nigerians will proudly step forward in your support.

Doing the right thing is always difficult. Courage Sir.

Yours faithfully,

Mr. Lagbaja Madu'dum Allah'Dey

Our perception on issues in this country is outrageous. how can mass failure be a prerequisite for raising standards? the lecturers should be questioned, abroad, people are given opportunity and encouraged in every possible way to read effectively in order to pass.

Gbamest! You're the only one that hit the mallet on the nail and I know you're not even a lawyer.

Iv been following the comments of a certain Christabel here masquerading herself as a lawyer here and spilling muck ridden with mediocrity. I wish she took the exams with this set, her failure would have been second to none.

C'mon! These are my legal colleagues in equity. I am a legal practitioner properly called to the bar with impeccable grades but I couldn't help my reaction to the cringe-worthy result they put out this year.

The law school has become too greedy. Biting more than they can chew like the proverbial donkey. They admit so many people. In some campuses, some people have to sleep on floors and live in deplorable conditions. No form of equity can be found there.

It's now like the lottery. Take money from so many and give part of it to a few and the others go home, however in this case, they go home weeping, suicidal.

Getting to the law school is a dream come true for any law graduate. Law school examination is the most spiritual and draining i've ever encountered(you think foreign bar exams are that difficult?).EVERYBODY TAKES IT SERIOUS(save for a select few). Are u saying 3k+ ppl didn't answer well?

Those who passed came out with mere 'P's. A phyrric victory. A P is usually just a notch better than a fail but this year,its thanksgiving worthy.

The problem is when an organisation has set the number of people they want to pass and admit way more people out of greed, dey do everything to tune themselves to the 'so called standard', like tearing the magician to get into the box.

The vicious cycle of greed continues.

Looooool!! If all the girls in Abuja law school that failed faced their school instead of thinking how to come to town to fuck and party, maybe dey for pass lmfao!!

Just shows how dumb you are, so the 4000 students that failed were all chasing men and money

Linda the DG needs to be called to books as a matter of fact. Almost 7,000 students wrote exams almost 5000 failed it's very impossible. I know of a friend in the same law school with me and she almost commited suscide when she saw her results it's not fair at all. He is a stiff and mean hearted person. People are different in their own ways and failing almost 5000 people based on God knows what is totally unfair. If his child had an exam and failed undeservingly and tried to commit suscide would he take it likely?! Onadekor should be called to books!! He shouldn't be allowed to get away with this kind of unruly behaviour!!

Very wise question...

It's crazy, I had a pass too, I was practically on drugs all through the exams, sleepless nights, headaches, God. When I saw my result the first thing I said was "this can't be my result" when I spoke to my other colleagues I was shocked, they all had passed. Most of friends failed. DG needs to be called b4 it's too late

You are just as dumb as your comment, I wouldn't blame you, it's only those who are in it would know how it feels

You see why I said you are dumb, shut the f-up, if you have nothing tangible to say, just shut your dirty stinking mouth. Dumb ass

Tell him, stupid idiots

We need justification that we actually failed or merited the grade given to us

Ugoooooo said...

Hey shhhhhhhh! All of u cursing Bonario, what wrong has he done or did he not say the truth? Plz let truth be told. Instead of reading, the students will be busy pinging and tweeting. U ve to sacrifice that little time to pass ur exams by reading and praying. I was there and I know that for u to pass the NLS exam u shld show some high level of seriousness in what u r doing. It's 99 % perspiration and 1 % inspiration. Like PC okorie will always say pray as if u r not reading and read like u r not praying. If u did fail, it's not the end of the world.

l passed the exam,but i'm not happy with my grade.one of the students that made lst class was a student that cheated to passed Bar 1.There is no club in Abuja that she does not know, she goes clubbing all the time and yet she made first class.l'm still thinking about it.Food for thought.For those that failed, don't give up, keep on trying.

Go and read your books and pass biko. Why will the pass mark for a lawyer be 40 sef? And you guys call yourself "learned" but come here to insult comments because you failed your exams?

I hope you guys weren't hoping to practice though? Shameless graduates.

They want to be lawyers by force. RUBBISH!

I support the review# the Nls has a way of draining anyone no matter how unserious such individual may be. however, students are not ignorant of this so they put in all efforts, having sleepless nights studying, some even pay as much as 150k for extra tutorials.
it is only a lame man who would say a student should be passed or the marking scheme should be fair bcz of the huge sum paid throughout the 1 yr, as calling to bar those who are intellectual, fit and proper to practice as lawyers is whats paramount.
Nevertheless, this massive failure calls for a review.
If the DG decides to solely adopt changes and upgrade the grading system or marking scheme, then he should make the sch environment fit for studying, employ lecturers ready to give much and prepare the students for the task ahead *Zinny*

I support the review# the Nls has a way of draining anyone no matter how unserious such individual may be. however, students are not ignorant of this so they put in all efforts, having sleepless nights studying, some even pay as much as 150k for extra tutorials.
it is only a lame man who would say a student should be passed or the marking scheme should be fair bcz of the huge sum paid throughout the 1 yr, as calling to bar those who are intellectual, fit and proper to practice as lawyers is whats paramount.
Nevertheless, this massive failure calls for a review.
If the DG decides to solely adopt changes and upgrade the grading system or marking scheme, then he should make the sch environment fit for studying, employ lecturers ready to give much and prepare the students for the task ahead *Zinny*

onye nsogbu said...

I dnt see this as a result of the decline in reading culture..something is not just right. How can 3000 fail na! Haba!

How do you know? Sharrrrap!

Law no b for mouth

Am just tied of all this education tin in d south east and west and south south, d way we handle education is never like that in d north. Over hear they want u to read and read yet u will not meet demand. Na wao oooo. They should review the results. I mean external body.

DG of nigerian law school is the most wicked man of this planet earth, he will sleep and not wake up let him not dare God, people that receit that course they could not pass 40%,but you now put them on 50%,why didn't you exempt them and still make it 40% for them since they are receiting,and oga DG when you wrote urs was it 50%,and u did dat without not informing the student, please return that score to 40%

Hmm I see what you mean. .. But there are students that had first class both in Uni and at the law school this year. In fact, I know a couple. And over the years we've had that, we've also always had people who did well in Uni hitting rock bottom at law school. I think it was just a question of slightly stricter standards this year. I agree that students need to be clearly told what those standards are before hand though.

Chai with this kind of English... It's difficult to be sympathetic. Let's just pretend it was the depth of your pain that caused it

Jesus! !! English language don suffer

What a pity. Take heart and hope for the best. And plz don't forget to pray always!!!

Lucky said...

The failure rate was alarming and the whole process ought to be looked at including the conditions under which lectures take place, library facilities, hostel facilities etc. All these matters are important when students are preparing for a stressful exam.
I think the CLE should ban the sale of unauthorised materials on their campuses or in the vicinity of their campuses some of these contained misleading answers. Students should be warned not to rely too much on past questions. From my observation, there was a lot of dependency on those questions and very misleading marking schemes which the school is always at pains to say they did not produce or authorise. Those marking scheme give the impression that you only need to do the bare absolute minimum to pass and I suspect that some people fell into that trap. Then there is the issue of tutorials. There were so many of them and so many ex students making serious money out of students. Students should be warned very clearly that they can pass the course by sticking to course outline and adequately preparing for lectures.
Those that did not quite make it should think carefully of where things went wrong and come fully prepared to smash the exams next time around. I believe this can be done so to all my friends take heart reflect try again and you will be called to the Nigerian Bar.

Justiceable is not a correct word but you passed,smh!

They could not buy their ways this time. Some of them never wrote exams when they were in the university. It this not how they have been failing WAEC and NECO? Chi

Onyx please shut up. Asuu and Law school are not related at all.

shakara said...

Bona I love u.ur comment is spot on

Why wont they fail. They are busy twitting and bbming

Datz reali bad

nkemdili christable you are sounding this way because you are not affected and you don't know what it takes to be in the nigerian Law School. the marking scheme was drastically increased by the director general suo muto. pls verify before talking carelessly

lori said...

I passed the bar exams a few years ago and I am glad to say I read like I didn't pray and I prayed like I didn't read.Such is the nature of Bar final exams.
People fail exams for various reasons however,these reasons should not be inflicted by the examiners.
At the last bar exam students had to write their Multiple Choice Questions (MCQ) in 50mins instead of the usual sixty insufficient minutes. Suffice to say that students were not given sufficient notice of this important change prior to the examination. In addition, during the theory papers students had an additional excruciating 30- 45mins wait in the examination halls before the almighty question papers arrived. This meant that exams ended at 6:30 -7pm as opposed to the usual 6pm.
Exams finished, external markers marked for almost 2 months but the results from the marking was not satisfactory to the Director General so,he apparently asked some internal markers to remark the scripts within ONE WEEK with very harsh marking guide.
This to me only speaks injustice on every parallel. Is it really possible that over 4000 students failed to prepared for this professional exams?
Or is the GD only bringing to life his threats at the Anglican church he was witnessed to have attended where he made questionable statements?
Some students might have failed to prepare adequately however,I refuse to accept that at least 800 students from each of the five campuses were unprepared.
In my humble opinion  Onadeko is trying to make a statement to showcase the inefficiency of his successor but this should not  be at the expense of the students.
I therefore submit that the results and scripts be revisited and amended accordingly.
I rest my case.

Yes they have to fail and they must fail..everyone is on BlackBerry,at d same time on like 10blogs at the same time...chat up any employee to a company any time of d day..they must answer and even chat till d day is over...midnite they r on fb or twitter...pls how won't they fail????

bumble bee said...

Linda I want to Be 100% truthful here, I was among the over 2000 and sometin that passed, but I sincerely call for a review.. it started when this new DG was appointed, during his visit to yenegoa campus he made a lot of statements but the one that stuck was that this is a new era and things would be different, if only we knew what Hé was meant, then fast forward to weeks later the DDG came to address us alongside other lecturers that there has been a new development that this new DG has increased the pass mark to 50 and they were scared cos they didn't know how it was achievable.. so we should put in more effort, after he left a lecturer jokingly told us that don't we think tHere's a cause of action here as we entered the law school believing the pass mark was 40% but now it's 50, its like a breach of contract, if only we could see into the future maybe that's when we would have rebelled against the new grading system cos sincerely I believe they won't review this result, we called other people from other campuses and told them if they Heard this new grading system and they said no so we thought ok maybe our lecturers wants us to sit up and they would start that grading system with the next set, another mistake we made. Now 2 days to exam our colleagues in the abuja campus called us and told us that the 1hr given to answer 100 obj questions has been reduced to 50mins and we were loss for words cos a lot of people couldn't even finish the questions in one hour how would they make it in 50mins, some students claimed they approached our DA and she said she didn't get that memo so it's one hour.. alas on the day of the exam we were told we had 50mins, a lot of people were shocked and trust me a lot of people didn't finish at all!! Yes I was lucky people would say but I know I didn't write a hard exam, I prepared thoroughly so to see my result with a pass and I almost cried not until I started calling all my friends and just 1 made it with a pass, the rest failed, then I knew something was wrong and when I heard the statistics I thanked my heavenly father I passed cos I can't imagine writing bar finals again, did I deserve a pass? No, trust me I know I shld have made at least a 2.2 if not 2.1. Its easy to trade insults when you are not wearing the shoes, I know people who studied, read, didn't sleep and never missed a class that failed and trust me the no of people that called me crying that day, I couldn't even be happy that I passed, you are all dere casting aspertions on people do u know wat it is to sweat tears and blood for this exam only to see that you failed, not because you didn't read but because one man somewhere found it wise to change the grading system in d middle of the session and reduce the time for obj, honestly it's Not fair to anyone.. I know very intelligent people who failed and it breaks my heart, no one deserves this and until you've been to the Nigeria Law School you have no right to insult anyone or generalize, not everyone deserved to fail. Trust me

Diary of a mad lawschool, you are a pathetic liar, there is no law school with such living condition, did you fail? Go back and strategise on how to rewrite the exam. I am a lawyer too.

God bless you Nkemdilim, typical Nigerian students always looking for who to blame for their failures.

Omaa said...

Oh please, I'm a lawyer and I'm proud of the results! People were getting too comfortable! It's the bar finals not your semester exams! 2000 passed! If you could not find a place among the 2000 then you don't deserve to be a lawyer!

lekzy said...

They failed simple!! No story, those who passed do they have 3heads?

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 254   Newer› Newest»