Life after sexual abuse - A LIB reader shares her story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 18 October 2014

Life after sexual abuse - A LIB reader shares her story

A LIB reader shares how she struggled to deal with and get over sexual abuse which she suffered as a child from family and friends. Please read below...
I am living proof that anyone can turn things around. From a nadir of emotions in which I struggled with abuse and resentment, I have willed myself to focus on the strength I possess and the fact that I alone can determine how my life turns out.
My father was a business man, and my mother a full house wife. Her whole life was dedicated to taking care of us and protecting us and she was in fact overprotective of us because we were all girls. But I have now realized over the years that you cannot always be there for a child, and no one has control over an abuse.
My sexual abuse started when I was about six years old and on it went until I was about eleven, most of it coming from friends and family folks who were meant to have protected me. I never talked to anyone about it because right from childhood I was used to keeping things to myself and I was ashamed.

For a very long time I did not want to be alive because of my scars. I was always angry at everything and anyone who couldn't relate to the fact that I was angry at life even if I never did tell anyone anything. I had to struggle with pain, rejection, depression, hate, anger and unforgiveness.

The first 19 years of my life until my healing were the most challenging. I let my abuse mould me into someone I could never be proud of. It was a deep cut. It was easy to blame everything I was on my experience as a bitter person and give excuses for it. To an extent, my abuse was the reason to be the way I was; but I had a choice to either play by the rules and blame it on society or restart my life and start thinking differently.

After all my bad experiences and all the struggles I had going on in my life, I looked at my life and came to the conclusion that I was a total failure. I focused on my weaknesses. Even when I had the courage to do something, I often expected it not to turn out well, so I never tried. I had the mind of a failure, I had the attitude of a failure and so I failed at virtually everything.

THIS IS MY TESTIMONY
I found comfort in GOD'S LOVE & PEACE and I was consoled by HIS PROMISES for my life.

I started by forgiving myself. All my life since my healing I had made myself pay for someone else's mistake. I realised that true forgiveness comes from within - the ability to forgive myself enough for me and the abusers was enough for me to finally see the light.

I accepted myself and embraced my scars and fears. I couldn't change a thing about what had happened so I stopped worrying about it.  I  stopped seeing myself as the victim but as the MESSAGE. I had not the slightest idea of why those things had happened but knew it was part of God's plan for my life and I am thankful that he chose me to fight this fight.

I found myself; I strongly believed in myself and everything I stood for. I started focusing on my strength and gradually my life began to take a new turn. I set realistic goals for myself, discovered my purpose and followed my most intense obsessions mercilessly.

Getting over my abuse was a huge step but it was a stepping stone into getting over other issues in my life. My abuse had laid the foundation of strength and power. I am at a very good place in my life right now and there is no turning back.

I have a beautiful life - one I am proud of. Regardless of what I have been through, I will end up with the most amazing man, have wonderful children, build a great life and live happily ever after.

Message to the world:

If there is anyone out there still struggling with the trauma of sexual abuse,
I need you to take a deep breath,
Take all the time you need to heal,
Seek God desperately and  find him,
And ultimately save yourself, you need you.

There is a promising, beautiful life waiting for you to come get it.

Halima Layeni.

102 comments:

mummy3 said...

In life we go thru different things d ability 2 move on is wat makes u strong. Well done girl!!!

Say know 2 any form of abuse

Hmmm her story sent shock waves down my spine.
I hope those in such situation will read this and find some sort of closure.

What is this

Modupe

Wow!!! Abused at age 6,God help us all. Thanks for reaching out to people with your story. God bless you and may your healing be made permanent. You are an overcome in Christian Jesus

Thank God for your life poster and I pray God continue to perfect his miracles in your life and you'll have more testimonies to give in Jesus name. Amen!

Million likes x

ThankGod for you #onelovefromSnow#

Inspiring

God can heal even the deepest scar... Ladies:How to get your boyfriends attention☺♥

Is gud yu share ur story bcos many will definately learn frm it no doubt....

Peejay said...

I'm proud of you! May God grant you even more strength as you turn your focus to Him.

This is a very vague story. If you want people to learn from your experience be more specific so they will avoid or protect their children. I

hi halima am an LIB reader, ur story looks like mine and sure i didn't paste this just for some small differences in details. my case is worse. i talked abt my different abuse to my lil sister its not been long, i will soon be in my thirties but scared of being touched thoughtless of doing any other thing.i have buried myself in the Lord's bossom and folks all think its because of that, that i don't really date or something but deep down within i know why. i some times wonder if i was a man would they pressure me to get a companion? at my age for a woman questions a bound to come up.guilt and shame also took the best of me and most at time i said i was the cause of all that happened, infact one of my abusers told me so i was just eight and she was in her twenties. am trying in my own little way to come out of this madness and am sure i'll get there . thanx for posting this,and God bless u i feel lighter all of a sudden.

ifylove said...

u re blessed

Just talking to story to back it up...mtcheew

Just talking,No story to back it up...mtcheew

Crystal Clear said...

Dearie it must have been very terrible n hurting. the best step remains forgiveness all round. Gods grace to u as u move on cos life goes on.

Hmmmm touching thank God for you

Parents need to watch their children, have an open door policy and TRUST NO ONE, not even your brother

Dear poster.. You did a good thing talking about it; the healing is complete.
As sad as it may be, eight out of every ten ESPECIALLY female child has/is being sexually abused; I was also abused and was soo ashamed to talk to anyone about it then..
Was unable to trust and always kept to myself..It's only by the grace of God; met my best friend and he made me open up and I was able to let go. It's never easy but with God and the right support, you'll pull thru.
It's part of life's lessons, learn and fill the vaccum in your future children's lives to prevent same from happening to them.
Goodluck and remain blessed.

*My R1.50c comment*

hotgirl said...

Dry, do u realize there is no story here.Next time go indepth in explaining how u were molested and how u overcame the feelings of hatred blah blah blah

what a pity any1 found abusing should b punished serious

Hmmmmm.....it always come from those dah call themselves family fwends or protectors.....so annoying...@ewuziekristiana

cock and bull story of repeating the same thing on each paragraph.

Best write up ever! God bless u 4 opening up and thereby showing others the light. I appreciate.

Everyone's got a story to tell incluing my self and I've made some pretty terrible decisions in life but hey!!! I'm still here.

Really tough reading... and connecting your thoughts. different people different experiences. human make you sad and happy!

I thank God for your life.
Faceoflib.

God bless u for this *Flora*

Good advise

God bless u girl....i can testify that there is a wonderful life after sexual abuse its all in our hands to decide,sexual abuse is not a reason for u to give up on ur beautiful destiny......the future is always bright regardless of the d past

Bottom line , you haven't told anyone your story hence other is nothing to learn from your write up + you just wasted 15 minutes of my f**king time

Zubby said so

Stop bringing relatives to live with you.

I no believe it. Yacham

pgirl said...

Same tin happened to me, though it was always ATTEMPTED RAPE. Jst grateful I found peace in God nd my swithrt

Thank God for your life dear

Hmmmmmn touching lesson learned

normally i dont post here ,i just read and go but her story is touching anyway

Did i hear her say getting raped was God's plan for her life! Between what is wrong with most men of nowadays? Why raping? Raping a family member for that matter? A mother that gave birth to such a son should question her 'chi' and abandon the mofo.

Linda so touching...u ar my motivator....tankz for sharing dat._

Wow so touchin n inspiring

i salute your corage girl.alot of us have been abused by trusted ones but thank God we are still alive and kicking well.i pray for all other ladies like me out there who have been abuse to stay alive and move on.

Don Ocso said...

Thank goodness you're able to get over the abuse of your childhood and offer your story as a testimony to heal another.

Ever Wondered blog said...

God bless you.

ASAMPOKOTO said...

FOR A SECOND, I thought I wrote this, till I scrolled further down ..... I'm still struggling with mine. But just learnt to take baby steps. I know I'll get there

Evrybodi v dia story nd I fank God ur alive.

Errm who did you say abused you? Thought you'll be giving us indepth analysis

Sexual abuse is for sure one of d social vices that most times would hunt one for life is care isn't taken ...
Nice chronicle Ά̲̣̥πϑ i hope someone plucks a leaf from it
..# ihe ojoo di njo

bunmi said...

we share d same story dear. god is in control

winniekoko said...

Writing rubbish u didn't say anything meaningful or how u were been sexually abused.. Is this how to tell a story? Next time try and make it interesting.

hmmm ok

Halima Layeri, i wish you so much happiness,peace of mind,joy and love!

Chop Chop said...

I don't understand.

Madam writer where is details in this story?

(twitter/ig)

Anne said...

What an encouraging words! Thank God you found and forgave yourself.

Someone is surely there with His hands opened to receive when all hope is lost.JESUS

So touching. Thank God you realised yourself.

linda wetin i do u wey u no gree dey post my comment i taya o.

If she had an overprotective full house wife mother, hw was she abused frm age 6 without her mother knowing???
2. Sexual abuse by frndz and family???? Dtz too ambiguous jawe......

Tia said...

This is beautiful, one of themost powerful messages i've read.Thank you http://tiaajayi.blogspot.com/

Thank you, Thank you for this beautiful message. You could write a book, help more people. May God bless you.

Was long though.. But I tink Onyxx need to read n comprehend dis article... I'm sure d young man was abused by his Gayish Uncles,dat was y he turned Gay.

Mtcheeeew,was evn expecting to read a vry interesting story

OneKay said...

Wow! Wish u could speak to ma wife, she had a hard time growing up wit all these abuse. Glad I really did help her bur I can imagine wat direction wat many young girls has taken out of their growing up experience. Inspiring message.

Thnkz 4 sharin it wif us, I knw its gona help a whole lot or beta stil is gona b a stepn stone 4 a whole lot of people to a new begining. I av neva experience it nd dnt knw wat it feels lyke bt here is ha story tryn to encourage d world, tryn to mke d world knw hw she overcame her's. Its nt everi 1 who has gne through dis wil av d courage to share it bt she has nd am sayn a big THNK U to ha. I do appreciate

MZ G

Blessing said...

If God doesn't perform a miracle for u, be a miracle to someone...dts wt u r. You have a promising future ahead n may d Good Lord keep strengthening u! God bless u

I too was sexually abused as a child by trusted family members and family friends. Thanx for sharing your story.

Irrespective of how it goes down, life goes on. It is said that " what doesn't kill you makes you stronger". Nice one!!!

Hmmmnnn.....sad things...glad u drew strength from it...shine on girl

Mystique said...

I'm so glad u pulled through. Happy for u!

Thank you halima for this beautiful piece.so many young people go through this and you are a great source of inspiration. God bless you.

kenny said...

Eyah

betty love said...

yea true talk...

jerry said...

Ehya.......... Bad girl gone good!

But she didn't tell us the story, just kept on saying same thing in different languages. God is your strength

Wooow! I can so relate

Thank you for Sharing your story. You don't know how many lives you've touched with it . Keep doing your thing and may God's glory continue to shine on you. God bless you

One million likes 4dis ur comment,can't find any story here.

My thoughts exactly!!!

Thank u writer,u will never know how much u have touched my life as ur story is exactly like mine, I hope dat one day I'll reach dat place u r now and I bet much of dat success wud be because I read this today

Hello All,

I'm a guy and believe it or not I had the same experience growing up. First by our house help at the time and then by my cousins. I have never shared this with a soul but I guess I'm doing it now for a reason.

It started when I was 8 and believe it or not I'm in my 30's and I can vividly remember it like it was yesterday. At the time I knew it was deeply wrong and was too scared of telling my mum cause I thought shel'ld react with a mighty beating.

Over the years, I think I just accepted and lived with what happened and forgave them all wholeheartedly .

Today these very same people call me and beg for my help acting completely oblivious to what they did to me when I was younger.

I hold no grudges and I assist when I can but I will always remember.

O.T

Very sad, just readung this gives me the shiveres becase im a father ,but sincerely I was hoping to get more out of this, like
1. Who abused you?
2. What are the signs parents can see in the kids that were abused ?
3. What are the things that if you (or your parents) did differently would avert such disaster ?
4. When and where did the abuse take place?
5. Did school work suffer?

I'm sure it's the worst thing that can happen to a child and no parent would want a child to go through such ( unless they are the culprits).

So please let's share stories with the aim of teaching and protecting others from being victims of same.

Finally, what can be done to the BASTARD(s) that did this to you. It should serve as a detergent to others. You just can't forgive and forget, it will be injustice to other victims.

Looking forward to a revised story. Thanks

Engr. A. O. O.

Gaia said...

Thanks for sharing, God bless you! *big hug* To all those giving her grief about not sharing all the details, wonder if you realize you're the reason most victims don't talk about it... what else do you want? Names and dates? Have a heart people, every time she talks about it she relives it, it's not the easiest thing to do.

YES. U alone can decide how your life will turn out.
Thank You JESUS!!

The really sexually abused can't read and write. This write up is not for them.
We must think of how to enlighten them.

This is not a story...bad writer. meanwhile, thank God for your life. Go and fear no more.

Dis story touched me,thump up for your courage to share your story, Almighty God will guide you and bless

Lol u are not serious

Mine is a similar story. The difference is that the abuse starred at age 2. But I thank God that today, I am a happy and stronger person. All it takes is time and comfort on God. Will share my story one day.

Very very vague indeed. What's all these lecture about. Tell us how to prevent it first from your experience.

I totally understand her point.... The write-up shld hv been properly detailed..

Thank you. Very vague. Nothing new said or learnt here

On point. No story was told here. Just talk.

Tried to reach you on ur blogger profile but there was no address. Would love to speak with your wife,we've all been through storms. Even though I didn't write this, I can be a very good support system you can reach me on 07019619534

Something fundamental went wrong in ur DNA...go. suffer 1st degree burns retard

My tots exactly. No story just plenty talks about healing and forgiveness. Abeg rewrite and give us details, so we can understand if wat u call abuse is really abuse.
I dey wait.

God has laid it as a ministry for me to take up the burden of sexually abused children of tender ages, kindly link me up with any NGO associated this challenge. Contact; p.o box 18131. Yaba.
For you my darling sister, keep moving on.

its very cool she is staying strong

Lol........u want to know how to prevent it y not experience it and then I could tell how to experience.......she was six and molested and u want her to tell u how to prevent it did u not read wat she said bout not knowing y it happened????so does she k ow how to prevent it wen she was not on a position to say this is exactly d reason I was molested......abeg I don't c wats so vague about a story of a six year old girl being molested

Also went through something like that...from age 7 till I was 18 ( still a teenager tho (by close family members) I also thank God for HIS love...I still cannot tell my family members...I've told jz 3 friends...Thank you Halima.

This life na waooooooo.