No president or state governor should claim credit for containing Ebola in Nigeria - GEJ | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 17 October 2014

No president or state governor should claim credit for containing Ebola in Nigeria - GEJ

President Jonathan says no President or governor of any state should claim credit for containing the deadly Ebola virus in Nigeria. He says the credit should be given to Nigerians who cooperated while the epidermic lasted. President Jonathan said this yesterday October 16th while receiving heads of a charity foundation at the state house in Abuja
"I am quiet pleased with what is happening because I believe that government alone cannot solve human problems and anything done by government when you involve the private sector and civil societies, it is always better. 
There are success cases. The most recent is our ability to manage Ebola. The key thing that made Nigeria a success is the buying by the ordinary Nigerians. 
When government said look we must be mindful of gatherings, we must be mindful of handshakes, we should not move corpse unnecessarily. I was afraid churches would resist because of our practice of holy communion... over 1000 people would share the same cup and so on. Churches stopped that practice within that period. Even the saluting by shaping people across, all that was suspended..even religious organizations within that period. Nigerians became mindful...even friends stopped embracing themselves saying until we get out of Ebola. So it had the buying of the populace of course that's why we succeeded so fast otherwise we couldn't have...there is no magic government could have used to solve that problem. No President or state government should claim any credit. The credit should go to the ordinary Nigerian for the cooperation and the buying" he said

104 comments:

This man should just shut it .

Dude Fashola already clapped you with a perfect reply.

u spoke well Gej..Goldensarah9@yahoo.com

Ibk said...

This our Jonathan sha

There is just one president in Nigeria, himself

He should have just said: I should not

All credit should go to God..The cleanser of all diseases and the wiper of Boko haram from Nigeria (with faith)Isaiah 43:19. BishopDammy#

Mikolenky said...

na tru talk, my presido

So true

Good of him, hope his media officers got the memo, coz they already counting it as part of your Transformation Agenda.

News, Events, Entertainment, Lifestyle, Fashion, Beauty,
Inspiration and yes... Gossip! *Wink* at www.g3wap.blogspot.com

jerry said...

Yeah.......truth.

"Buy-in" not "buying".

i still like this man shai..but why accepting corruption in public???*node my head and strolls away*

Neks said...

I commend Nigeria for containing Ebola only if we can fight corruption that way.

Uche Emma said...

I disagree Mr President. Lagos State Government should

Ok!

Mr President The phrase you are using is incorrect. The term is BUY IN not buying.

Jonathan...Ode ni e

That nah why i love my president. #ILOVEGEJ…Lai mohammed don dey open that him smelly mouth dey talk rubbish.

Smart move ma president 2015

very true....lets Thank God for HIS mercies

Well, you can also give. Credit to lagos state government, I believe they laid the. Standards. #MVP

you right on this one sir

Well said mr President and thanks for that ....in other news where are the Chiboks gurls and whats been done to help dem

we know that so stop famzing all this monkey talk is because of election... anuofia

Ok... Seen..
Linda you dey play wa yo, it's only when you see popular LiB readers that has posted, that's just when you approve their posts, but new LiB readers, you just throw their comment in the trash, Not Fair!! #CoolJay

Sure tin sir!!!!d very 1st tin naija has succesfully done.....oya is time 2 tackle nepa(phcn)like dat@dino

That's the best statement you have ever uttered, Mr. president!

Wow! That's the best statrment I've heard in a long while.the Govt not taking credits for a feat accomplished. I always believed that GEJ has good head on his shoulders and this just proved me right. GEJ for 2015.

My Presido...lol

That's the best statement you have ever uttered, Mr. president!

Exactly,so true.It was a joint responsibility. So many people contributed and complied to orders as well.

medical practitioners can... they did well... very very well!

beck and call said...

well said.

2015 campaign. O ye wa, we get.

amakaikenga.com said...

And I agree. Probably the best address I ever read by president GEJ.

mummy3 said...

Mr Gej stop ranting plssss, and wen a particular set of people do wat is right let's give credit. Dats 1 of d traits of a gud leader.

If dat female doctor dat died dint stop sawyer from travelling wat wld have happened????

If lagos govt dint respond on time wat will be our faith?
So Mr P don't give credit to whom credit is due to and @ d right time.

True Dat...

Hmmmmm

Olusoji said...

I quite agree with him. Kudos to the Nigerians for supports and cooperation

The Governors of Rivers,Lagos and staff of First Consultant should be praise for helping to contain ebola.Federal Govt gave Rivers state only N200m last week 10/10/14.

mr GEJ u too much joor na u we want ooo

He's only saying this because Fashola took him and his PDP goons on when they made the false claim.

This man is clueless, I strongly believe lagos state govt sld be given d credited cos of awareness and manage movement of those infected.

well said!!!

Agreed...hope Nigerians will still maintain the precautionary measures for now...

Linda who made all these grammatical errors!? You or the president? 'salutation by shaping' and what's with all the 'buying'?

GEJ you are right #onelovefromSnow#

buy-in not buying

Gbam, he's right because without the cooperation of Nigerians it would have been a different game
Nobody wan kpai naw.

lovlyivon said...

But he is very correct doh

And Who Approves Linda

Funkiedipsy said...

Exactly wat I said just yestdy!

Alhaji Mohammed Abubakar Islam said...

MY PRESIDENT, I LOVE YOU SO MUCH

Please what does he mean by "buying"?

Sure, but lagos government deserves some credit cos they laid the standards. #MVP

Osuagwu Friday Niles said...

Awesome. Thank you sir

Lifematters-Mattersoflife(PEOPLE AND SOCIETY) said...

To God be all the credit GEJ and he will also receive it also on Chibok girls release and end of Terrorism in Nigeria

well maybe he should tell that to CDC and the American government who are claiming to have n
been the ones that contained it.

yes d president is wright .

FIZZICHILLIO said...

Did I just see "I was afraid..."??
LOL!!

Person wey write that script suppose collect 24 strokes of koboko.

#Fizz

maureen said...

Very well said! Let the ordinary Nigerians get the credit for once.

Visit www.storiesmomstell.blogspot.com for insightful knowledge in parenting & women's talk

What a dumb ass morrafucka! His sentence construction, spellings and grammar are unworthy of the president of a public toilet, let alone a country like Nigeria. This is what we get when we let a zoo keeper run things.

mary 4real said...

Hmmmmm true talk. Wht happen 2 Mr Presido dt made him talk dis way.

DOBY DOBY said...

Nice... ryt

Exactly the ordinary Nigerians who love life

Zirems said...

gud one mr ebele!

chris ikoyi said...

MR PRESIDENT AND HIS PARTY PDP (PUSH, DRAG , PULL) NIGERIA DOWN , DID WRONGLY CLAIM CREDIT FOR SUCCESSFULLY CONTAINING EVD IN NIGERIA.

MR PRESIDENT IS NOW SINGING A DIFFERENT TONE NOW THAT THE TRUTH IS OUT.

MR PRESIDENT, PLEASE LEARN TO GIVE CREDIT WHOM CREDIT IS DUE -GOVERNOR FASHOLA AND THE MAN OF THE PEOPLE, GOVERNOR ROTIMI AMAECHI

sweetie said...

Useless president, he dey beef fasola, wen ebola reached lagos it took dis man days b4 he talked about ebola.

Somebody

In all i hail Fashola.... if ebola had landed else where 1st we would b singing a different song now.

Bad Belle!!! If it was in a pdp state ebola was contained, Mr. President will give credit to the governor. Whether you like or not Fashola's and Amechi's government contained ebola for the rest states in Nigeria. If they were the president, they would have found last solution to Boko Haram.

Baba Ibeji said...

Uncle Jona you goofed on this ... We all know what transpired so pls save it !!!! Diaris God oooo with this lie you are lying ooo !!! Chai

Good one Gej..God bless u

I dnt understand d readers on dis linda ikejiblog smtimes dere comments sound so stupid dat all u do is wonder the kind of pple dey are.can nigerians for once appreciate our president for once .noting he eva does is gud enough I wonder if dey are given d opporunity wat dey will do.

Oh shut up!!!! What do u know!

Oladotun said...

see this mumu o! who won't cooperate when there is death involved? abi what is he saying?

ColdFlame said...

Funny how politicking can make a man want to stand logic on its head. In this season of vote canvassing all of a sudden the ordinary Nigerian is "the man". Survivors and those once quarantined'll beg to disagree however. Had the government of Lagos failed to take the actions it did, our circumstances would've been far worse. President Jo may want to give credit where it is due.

Guy what d president said was dumb. Assuming it was pdp state let's say Bayelsa or Delta he will be praising the gov but we all knw why he's saying this. So I guess u just another pdp e rats n u just another fncking dumb pdp member who dey go HELL

sisi said...

Lagos state government should be acknowledged for swift response to Ebola, FG I don't know you are aiming at with this press release.

The man is full of shit jhoor...apart from God, then credit should be given to Lagos State Government

It was d swift action of lagos state government nd commisioner for health in lagos dat helped us. Even when ebola entered ph. They had to send d patient to lagos for treatment. Nd lagos aided them to track d contacts he had made. So abeg no talk dat one

Wat. Has he done dat is good enough??

Ur d one who should shut up. Ur name shouldn't be beautiful nd gifted. It should dumb nd stupid

Can't u see here dat ur d only clueless one for not been able to understand d statement....so it was fashola dat made Nigerians to take preventive measures to prevent d virus? the govt did wut was spose of dem but Nigerians made it possible, dey could ve decided to ignore and not to follow d measures

Well said

Aces said...

Like the Nigerian citizens could have done anything without the guidance of the lagos state government, the constant awareness and adverts all over the place helped the citizens to know how to cooperate, so after God, fashola is the man biko.

Stupid Yoruba people be criticising GEJ. Nothing he does is good enough. Dirty Smelling people. Ngbatin gbatin... No other tribe is better ur always the best. Idiot motherfuckers, betrayers and COWARDS. It's only to come to Cyber space and make noise. YOU SHUD ALL JUMP INTO THE ATLANTIC GEJ IS PRESIDENT whether you like it or not. He rules over u!!!

So we're all just gonna site here and pretend like he spelled "quite" correctly...aw ok, cool!

Same way u insult your parents am.sure

dorcas2610 said...

To all d people dt claim it was only Lagos state dt contained Ebola,1 question I have is dat was it only in lagos dat Ebola was detected,wat about portharcourt?

This man is plain.. all u dat want Obama as ur president should please go and apply for visa lottery first..

Why can't you just be positive for once

Is fashola or amaechi the minister of health nigeria??? or commissioner of health lagos and rivers state??? Or the healthcare workers that did barrier nursing and contact tracing or the people that followed preventive measures??? Pls let's not be politically blinded in nigeria. The success of nigeria depends on all of us, even the media and our customs and immigration played a very important role.XxxbarbieXxx

I say customs and immigration because if you happen to travel during that period your would agree with me. Even our churches cooperated as well, thank God school were on holiday when it happened. These are the people/ organisations /factors that played a role. If you were asked to write a project on this as per public health, would you say it's one politician, Nigerians should learn to make use of their brain and think of the factors that contribute to make a system successful. We should not politicise everything, that is y we are failing, XxxbarbieXxx

TO GOD BE THE GLORY

Amazed at how young people insult their elders! Speechless!

did fashola instruct the late Dr.Ada to do what she did???? is lagos state government run first consultants??? dese ones will just be making noise thinkn we are all simpletons. truth is...lasg gets credit but CANNOT claim all of it!

Lagos Government, my foot.
Why do you think the people that came in contact in Enugu and portharcourt were rushed to Lagos? Because their states no get governor?
The facilities used were federal facilities and the federal government apportioned money before and during the crisis.
It was the bad zonal public health people and CMDs dat were hustling for the money and which state takes the lion share before the virus entered here.

No state can take the sole praise and politicise it. Btw, my aunt holds a very high position in public health.So say what you know while I say wat I know

You're actually an uncouth human being and a ghetto breed. Can u run even a public toilet when your mouth is flowing with shit and bile. Learn how to address superiors and put your point straight.

And yes, channel your negative energy towards flying at night

So you support his acceptance of corruption, you just dont like that its publicIzed.

This man's speeches are synonymous with an introductory debate/speech of a junior secondary school student. Lacks fine tuning and professionalism. Makes me wonder if they are written for him, or if he just doesnt accept whats written for him.
Anyway, he made a point with the content of the speech....

I actually understand all he said until he got to the governor/president part. Does he think we don't know shade when we see it.
We're just lucky the initial case didn't happen in a village in Maiduguri. Naija for see red. Thank God sha

He didn't write it, he said it nd dey sound d same way .

He is correct, as individuals w contained it, we were mindful pls stop praising Fashola

This man as a simple man, that's why people throw insults his way, which is wrong, he should be respected, he says it as he feels it, nothing is wrong with that

Correct.