Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 05/19/2013 - 05/26/2013

Saturday 25 May 2013

Ex-Governor Peter Odili's third daughter set to wed

Njideka Odili, the second daughter of former governor of Rivers State, Peter Odili is set to wed Uzoma Iheme Nwosu, the son of Court of Appeal Judge, Justice Chioma Iheme-Nwosu. Their wedding will hold sometime next month.

I ask again; why do children of rich people only marry other children of rich people? :-)

Pres Jonathan denies involvement in NGF elections, urges Governors to resolve their differences

State House Press Release...
We have noted with regret the mischievous effort by sections of the mass media to portray President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan as an interested party and the main loser in yesterday’s election of the Chairman of the Nigerian Governors Forum (NGF).
Contrary to the impression of Presidential partisanship and interference in the affairs of the Governors Forum erroneously conveyed by some headlines in the media today, President Jonathan who is currently leading Nigeria’s delegation to the African Union Summit in Addis Ababa had no preferred candidate in the NGF elections and could therefore not have been “floored” by any other candidate as some newspapers sensationally reported.

Airtel Introduces Bid & Get Service

The Nigerian telecommunications market is set to witness another major breakthrough in service delivery for consumers as leading telecommunications operator, Airtel Nigeria introduces the first ever bidding service in Nigeria tagged Bid and Get .

The service is a direct reverse of the traditional concept of auction, where the highest bidder is declared a winner. 

With Airtel Bid and Get, a customer whose bid is the lowest and unique automatically wins the bid for the advertised item for the day. The winner can purchase the item for N100 only irrespective of the retail price of the item.

Designer Yvonne Nwosu denies ever dating Ice Prince

When asked if she ever dated Ice Prince, city clothier Yvonne Nwosu told Saturday Punch that they were just friends. She said:
"Ice Prince is just my friend. It has always been that way. It does not matter if I put up pictures. I could put up pictures of anybody. I never said anything, next minute people were saying I’m dating him. I never said anything. I don’t have a boyfriend, he is just my friend.
When asked why she didn't debunk the rumours, she replied:
Me? You think I have time for Lagos? You think I want to go out there and talk? I don’t have time. I have better things to do, I’ll not go on Twitter and say it’s a lie. Say whatever you want to say, it is my life. I don’t do that.
Did the rumours make her feel bad?
No, I did not feel bad. He is a good looking guy so why will I feel bad? Do they want to dash me boyfriend? I did not feel bad at all, I let everything be.
Lol. Everyone is denying these days! OK o!

Beauty of the day: LIB reader - Chioma Nnabude

Chioma is a final year student of Psychology at Enugu State University of Science and Technology.

Dear LIB readers: is my marriage normal?

From a female LIB reader
I got married in 2008 to a military man and we have not lived together up to a month at a stretch except twice when I had my babies and was on maternity leave. He is always being transferred from one state to the other. I am a banker and can't keep moving with him because I need to keep my job and also be independent. Please I need to know if there are other families in my shoes.

Actor Morgan Freeman sleeps off during a Live TV interview

Give him a break, he's 75...:-). The actor was caught sleeping on live TV during an interview with Fox News promoting his latest movie 'Now You See Me' with fellow actor Michael Caine, 80.

Michael Caine was answering a question when Morgan Freeman fell into a deep sleep...but woke up moments later and fully joined the early morning interview.

After the video went viral, Morgan released a statement to E! News saying:
I wasn’t actually sleeping, I’m a beta tester for Google Eyelids. I was merely updating my Facebook page.
LMAO! Nice comeback! He was actually sleeping, the statement is just a play off of Google Glass, a device which is supposed to allow users to update their social networks through a pair of glasses and access the internet through voice commands.

Photos from Dana plane crash site ongoing construction

The site of the June 3rd 2012 Dana plane crash in the Iju area of Lagos, is currently undergoing construction. See more photos after the cut...

Tuface Idibia, Burna Boy, Darey Art Alade for Xovar lounge concert

All is now set for the classy debut of Xovar Lounge concert to be headlined by the trio of 2face, Burna Boy, and Darey Art Alade. The night of high octane groove is being organised by Bespoke Entertainment, owners of Bespoke Centre in Lagos, Abuja and PortHarcourt and Xovar Lounge.

Xovar Lounge is located at 1 Parktonia Hotel Road, Elegushi, Lekki behind Bespoke Center.

According to the CEO of Xovar Lounge, Mr. Olumide Mabawonku, the high-octane event begins by 5pm with a pre concert red carpet and party. Tickets: N5000 (regular) and N10,000 (VIP).

Get tickets at Afritickets website, Soul Lounge, Get Arena, Terra Kulture and Fun Factory all in Lagos. Go get your tickets now as the concert is exclusive!!

Woman burns son’s face and stabs him in the head for stealing soup

A 25 year old petty trader has been arrested by police in Ibeju Lekki for allegedly burning her 6 year old son's face for going into their neighbour's home and licking their soup.

Not only did Sakirat Attah burn her son's face with hot iron after the neighbour reported her son to her, she also used a broken bottle to stab young Daniel in the head. You can see the photo above. How you can do this to your own child is beyond me.

Sakirat took her son into their one room apartment after finding out what he did, locked the door, lit a stove, put an iron spoon on it to get hot and used it to burn his face and hands as punishment. And when that wasn't enough, she broke a bottle and stabbed him in the head, leaving a deep cut. Daniel later told police he stole the soup because he was hungry.

Neighbours who heard the little boy screaming for help entered the room and rescued him from the mother. They rushed him to the hospital and called the police on the mum.

Shakirat Attah has been charged before an Igbosere Magistrate’s Court in Lagos on a one count charge of assaulting a minor occasioning bodily harm. She's currently in Kirikiri Prison, pending when she  fulfills her bail conditions. I hope they take this child away from her.

Photos from Tinsel 1000 episode celebration in Lagos

The Tinsel 1000 event held on Friday night May 23 at Eko Hotel. From left is is Munachi Abii, Osas Ighodaro and Rukky Sanda. More photos after the cut...

Wife of House of Reps member accused of torturing two women

Wife of a serving House of Representatives member was fingered yesterday in the torture, beating and alleged attempt to kidnap two ladies in Isale Eko area of Lagos.

Sources say that yesterday morning at about 7.15a.m, a Toyota Camry car which was used for the operation caused a stir in Bamgbose Street in Lagos Island at the heart of Lagos metropolis.

Like a bolt from the blue, six unidentified ladies, carrying canes came out of the unregistered grey coloured car and advanced towards No 101, Bamgbose Street.

It's beginning to get to her! Kim Kardashian flips on paparazzi

Kim Kardashian might have craved paparazzi attention in the past and she's even known to tip them off on where she's going to be but things are changing, probably because of Kanye West. Kim did something she's never done before...she flipped on paparazzi and it was caught on tape.

The pregnant reality star was leaving LAX airport when she was swarmed by paparazzi. The photo above shows her shouting at a pap who was trying to take a picture of her as she made to enter her car. Kim shouted "Shut the f**king door!." And even called him an idiot. Lol. I thought this was what she wanted? Kim K's security team even got aggressive with the paps. See the video after the cut..

Woolwich killer, Michael Adebowale, is the son of a probation officer

The mother of a suspected Islamic terrorist who allegedly hacked a British soldier to death tried desperately to turn him away from extremism but “could not get through”, according to friends.

Michael Adebowale, the 22-year-old son of a Christian probation officer and a member of staff at the Nigerian High Commission, was filmed holding a bloodied cleaver in his hand after Drummer Lee Rigby was butchered in a London street. Friends said he had been a “lovely boy” but became involved in some “serious trouble” as a teenager and then turned to Islam. He started mixing with some “bad people” and became increasingly extreme in his views.

His mother Juliet Obasuyi, a 43-year-old probation officer, went to her friend and neighbour, a 62-year-old security officer, for help about nine months ago after her son dropped out of university.

Afrocandy explains how her daughters feel about her porn movies

The movie producer and soft porn star told Punch:
I may be their mother because I brought them into the world. I may have the privilege to raise them up to adult age. But you know, I cannot tell them what to do or follow at a certain age. Besides, they are Americans who have their own minds. If they graduate from college and decide to follow my footsteps, it’s their own calling. If I can predict, they wouldn’t want to do what I do because they have better opportunities and better futures than mine. All I do now is to secure a better future for them so they don’t have to go through what I went through in my life time. Mind you, I tell my daughters everything I do. I even told them about this project, the nature of it, but I could not show them because they are not up to 18 yet. I just had to prepare them in case they run into it on the Internet, they won’t be shocked. So don’t worry about my daughters, they are the best children any mother could ever ask for and I thank God for the gift.
Oh and please she doesn't like being called a porn star o, call her an actress! :-)

Friday 24 May 2013

Photos: Monalisa Chinda at Turning Point movie premiere

She arrived the movie premiere, which took place this evening at Silverbird Galleria, with her boo, Lanre Nzeribe. See more photos after the cut...

Nonhle Thema's weird baby daddy drama

This story is a little weird and confusing. Read to see what I mean. Former Channel O VJ, Nonhle Thema introduced 24 year old Arthur Bolton as her baby daddy and fiance in the May issue of Drum magazine. But here's the weird part. South African rapper Young Nucho (Lil Wayne look alike) had been claiming Nonhle as his baby mama and her daughter Star Ivy (born Dec 2012) as his daughter. 

He reportedly started dating Nonhle in 2011 and when she fell pregnant, everyone assumed he was the baby daddy. The two photos above show the couple together when Nonhle was pregnant. Young Nucho would also post photos of Star Ivy on Instagram and call her his little Princess. Continue..

Solution Media & Infotech Ltd to celebrate National Children's Day

Solution Media & Infotech Limited, a professional, interactive and Hi-Tech multimedia company has introduced an educational series for young creative minds. The maiden edition of the series will hold at Tafawa balewa Square (T.B.S), Onikan, lagos to celebrate the children's day on May 27th, 2013.

For more info, go to www.solutionmi.com, solutionmi.blogspot.com orcall : Diwura 07051192853, Deola 07051192859. Continue...

Governor Amaechi reelected chairman of Nigeria's Governor's Forum

Rivers State governor and current chairman of the Nigeria Governors’ Forum, Rotimi Amaechi has been reelected Chairman of the Nigeria Governors’ Forum (NGF) by state Governors at a meeting which held this evening inside the Rivers State Governors Lodge in Abuja. Governor Amaechi defeated Plateau State Governor, Jonah David Jang by 19-16 votes.

Someone won't be happy about this! :-)

Tonto Dikeh's colour blocking airport outfit + Tweet

The actress tweeted these photos of herself at the airport this afternoon...then tweeted something that is a little heart breaking...if true! See it below...

First class university graduates now resorting to cleaning jobs? Which way Nigeria???

MTN signs Iyanya, Davido, Praiz, Mike Anyaso as ambassadors

Telecoms giant MTN has signed Iyanya, Praiz, Chidinma (MTN Project Fame), and Mike Anyaso as the new celebrity faces of MTN and also renewed Davido's contract.

I gathered exclusively that the stars have finished negotiations with MTN for a one year endorsement deal which will see some of them earning as much as N15m a year. Naija artistes are really balling. Congrats to them.

I can’t find jobs for my daughters - Mallam Nasir El-Rufai says

While speaking at a lecture organized by the Nigerian Bar Association, Ikeja Branch yesterday Thursday May 23rd, former FCT minister, Mallam Nasir el-Rufai, said despite his connections, he's yet to secure jobs for his two daughters, who are both holders of Masters Degrees.

He said this while pointing out Nigeria's unemployment problem, saying the country needed to create three million jobs yearly to tackle the problem. El-Rufai said: 
“Forty-two per cent of Nigerian youths are unemployed. I have two daughters with Masters Degrees and they are unemployed. They have been at home for more than a year and I cannot get a job for them. We are sitting on a demographic time bomb and unless we have visionary leaders that are able to plan for the future, we will have a huge problem."
El-Rufai can't find jobs for his daughters? Wow! The situation is really getting worse. And every year fresh graduates are pushed into the labour market. Thank God that there are people who like to read about other people. (LIBers kwenu! Lol). If not, where will I be by now? :-)

Best dressed stars at Cannes red carpet...

As Hollywood stars promote their latest films at the Cannes Film Festival in France, they also make sure to make an impression with their outfits on the red carpet. These are some of my favorites, especially the first pic on the left. Loves it! See more photos after the cut...

Ghana Flash Mob (Glo XMob)

Find out what went down when the Glo X-Factor audition train visited Kumasi and Accra Ghana. Everyone was excited including little kids as they thrilled passersby with their performance. Continue

Lebanese man arrested for kidnapping in Lagos

A 23 year old Lebanese man has been arrested by police in Lagos for kidnapping his 61 year old aunt, Alhaja Essa Dannawi. Mohammed Dannawi (pictured above) conspired with a former employee of his aunt, Obi Kwentua, (pictured above) to kidnap the woman on May 2nd at her home in Ebute Meta, Lagos.

Mohammed, who later confessed to the crime, told police during interrogation that he didn't kidnap his aunt because of money but to punish her because she offended him and his wife. He said:
“My aunty did something very bad to my wife and I and so I decided to punish her. I met with Obi (Kwentua) and told him that I wanted my aunty kidnapped. I gave him the spare key to her house and he in turn hired some boys to do the work. On the day of the operation, I left the house and five guys stormed the place and took my aunty away. The plan was not to demand money from her, it was just punishment.”
Punish your own relation by kidnapping her? Wow! Continue reading...

Second Woolwich killer identified as Michael Oluwatobi Adebowale

The other Woolwich killer has been identified as Michael Oluwatobi Adebowale, 22, of Greenwich, southeast London (Pictured left). Like Michael Adebolajo, he's also a British citizen of Nigerian descent, though not much is known about his family.

More info about Michael Olumide Akinbiyi Adebolajo (pictured right). He was born on December 10, 1984, at Kings College Hospital in Lambeth, South London. His Nigerian-born father, Anthony Adebolajo was a student at the time, and went on to become an NHS nurse.

His mother, Tina, the niece of a university law professor in Benin, West Africa, was a housewife but she too dedicated herself to public duty by becoming a social worker. He has three younger siblings: a brother named Jeremiah and two sisters named Blessing and Christiana. 

Michael was born into a Christiam family but embraced Islam around the age of 16. He attended the University in Greenwich, South-East London, and was once locked up for violent behavior.

Thursday 23 May 2013

Legendary shoppers return from Dubai shopping experience

The first set of winners in the on-going Legend Real Deal National Consumer Promotion, have returned to Nigeria after a three day tour of Dubai, United Arab Emirates. 

The seven lucky winners that emerged via a transparent electronic raffle draw include: Uchechukwu Dennis Chukwu from Ebonyi State, Nwabuoke Ikechukwu Ambrose from Delta State, Oluwabusuyi Kelvin Olubusuyi from Ekiti State and Solomon Okoro Ike from Owerri, Imo state.

The others are John Akoji from Abuja, the Federal Capital City, as well as Temitope Ogunyemi and Austin Nwakaife, both from Lagos State. Continue...

Susan Peters, Toke Makinwa, Eku Edewor at Tinsel 1000 event

See what Susan Peters, Toke Makinwa, and Eku Edewor wore to the Tinsel #1000 event going on this evening at Eko Hotel. See TV personality Tracy and Linda Ejiofor after the cut...