I can’t find jobs for my daughters - Mallam Nasir El-Rufai says | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 24 May 2013

I can’t find jobs for my daughters - Mallam Nasir El-Rufai says

While speaking at a lecture organized by the Nigerian Bar Association, Ikeja Branch yesterday Thursday May 23rd, former FCT minister, Mallam Nasir el-Rufai, said despite his connections, he's yet to secure jobs for his two daughters, who are both holders of Masters Degrees.

He said this while pointing out Nigeria's unemployment problem, saying the country needed to create three million jobs yearly to tackle the problem. El-Rufai said: 
“Forty-two per cent of Nigerian youths are unemployed. I have two daughters with Masters Degrees and they are unemployed. They have been at home for more than a year and I cannot get a job for them. We are sitting on a demographic time bomb and unless we have visionary leaders that are able to plan for the future, we will have a huge problem."
El-Rufai can't find jobs for his daughters? Wow! The situation is really getting worse. And every year fresh graduates are pushed into the labour market. Thank God that there are people who like to read about other people. (LIBers kwenu! Lol). If not, where will I be by now? :-)

141 comments:

The situation is already very worse. Really really bad!

LPS said...

For some reasons, I don't believe him.

Do you expect us to believe that,
mshewwwww!!!!!!!!

This man always seek public attention,let him start an entrepreneurship firm for them with his stolen wealth or are they seeking for a job that will fit their father's status?

IkwerreBoy said...

LWKMD Linda u don kolo o I swear...

If they cant find job.. then wats the probability of me gettin employed.. now that im in my last semester. .Cryin

jemaj said...

mtcheew! abeg make him go siddon! 'cant find them work' my left arse cheek! more like, they dont 'want' to work. I have some of these malo rich men's children in my school and their master's degree is usually for decoration, they hardly ever use it. all they want to do is go back home to their rich daddy's n marry their arranged rich hubby's.

This is just the beginning,soon u'll be homeless just like you rendered many homeless.
mai zobo like you.

He can't find jobs for his daughters or he can't find jobs in the "juicest" of offices for them as he is no longer in the corridors of powers? Take a chill pill sir, twitter warrior!

shut up el rufai! Pathetic politicians wo wil criticise the presnt govt at any given opportunity. If dia r no jobs for ur dotas notin stops dem frm venturin into biz. The nigerian mentality is go to skul n get a job wch is killin our youths. Its high tym we learnt hw to generate money instead of waitin for the govt's monthly chicken change called salary. Linda ikeji is self employed n is a millionaire!!!

This man is a pathetic liar!!!! How will they find job when all he stole from his time being d Fct minister cannot be spent by his 5th generation sef. Elrufai who made billions when d fct minister is talking about working??? Nonsense! Which daughter go wan work when her papa don over steal from govt to last them a life time?????????

yeeeeehhhh...... anyi ekwela na, since we done secure eternal job for , whts our cut init.

Aphrodite said...

Choi!!! Dear Sir, with all due respect, may amadioha shut dt ur mouth 4 u wit a slap, dey are "jobless" my left butt, Haba dis lie is too obvious na, jobless or too lazy to work cos dey probably get more dan an average Employed graduate in naija, Biko, take several seats at d extreme corner of the hall wit ur daughters joo, mtcheeeeewwww!

Jehnypha said...

Lmao!!! So Linda u mean u're using us to build ur dream abi? Smh it's not ur fault shaa shaa, it's us that like amebor i wee blame.

Haha. Ma'am Linda you would have been somewhere either working or still searching tong. Anyways i am not surprised cos he has been in recent times a thorn on the flesh of those that would have easily helped him.

He is just saying that for saying sake...Bloody hypocrite!!!

activist said...

This man should shut up and quit playing with our brains.who's he fooling??? RUBBISH!!!

Lol , and we should believe this huh? Oga Abeg park well jor.

They are jobless because they are waiting for better offers..... El-Rufai I put it to you that you are joking because With your conncetions there is no way that your own kids will be jobless and seeking for jobs... They are jobless yet with millions in their account I beg tell us another story.

9jadeltapikin... said...

Naijadeltapikin... Mallam el rufai I put t Τ̅☺ U̶̲̥̅̊ Wƺn U̶̲̥̅̊ wia in government Ђδω many jObs did U̶̲̥̅̊ create? Α̲̅πϑ Ђδω many people did U̶̲̥̅̊ put smiles on deir face by giving dem a job? Na U̶̲̥̅̊ Α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ not in gvernment U̶̲̥̅̊ r sayng U̶̲̥̅̊я kids r looking for job if U̶̲̥̅̊ had created jobs wen U̶̲̥̅̊ wia there U̶̲̥̅̊я children will not gotru »W̶̲̥̅̊н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇@̤̥̣̈̊̇†̥̣̣̣̇̇̇ they r going tru now.

Dental news said...

God D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ sha... Niger n problems. If dis man saw jobs 4his two daughters, he wouldn't av rmbered we nid 2fight unemployment abi, or shey na 2day unemployement start? Hmmmmmmmm, lip sealedal

Let dem start somthing 4 dem self.

Chard daniels said...

We all knw dats a lie El rufai!

So What! Aren't you Bastards the ones that messed up this Country. Your daughters don't have jobs but i bet they eat 3 square meal/day and go shopping in London anytime they want. How many Nigerian graduates can do that? You can bring both of your daughters to my bedroom, i got B***Job for them. Oloshi!

Linda, the situation is extremely bad. Extremely. I finished my Bsc in kent and came home, no work. Was now forced to go for masters too so I went bk to the uk. I've been back home now 2yrs no work. Yet I'll still be going for entrylevel interviews while interviewers offers me 80k/month. Is this life?

Talk of Niger. Is he supposed to find job for his daughters or are his daughters suppose to find job.

Let them try prostitution

OMG!!!!!
Nigeria needs a revolution from dis our unfavourable times of unemployment , am a lady above 30yrs i haff been lookin for job for d past 4yrs now, all d elligible guys dat toast me always ask me where am i working? i say am nt, and b4 i cld say Jack Sparrow,no follow up again,i haff masters n proffesional certificate to show for my 4yrs nt working,
i know am an asset to any man and my prayer will be answered IJN soon. Pls post this comment o

Linda u re such a qeur..L̃̾Õ☺Õ̾Ô=D:D=));)ÕÔ☺Õ̾L̃̾

I love ur blog seriously

Dan

This guy is a lunatic. Is he supposed to be the one looking for job for his daughters? That is the Nigerian mentality

Wow! Linda just reminded us that we are jobless to come and read her blog. Wow! Linda! Wow!

Amen Linda ... God is really good to u.

I love ur blog seriously. Abeg post my comment ooh na since january I don dey send comment and never 4 once I don c my comment

Dan

Lol.Linda.It's ur calling & probably your destiny & has given you immense fame to cap your modelling stint.More grease to your elbow dear.Fresh.

ℓ☺ℓ!.. All na wash!.. He want a multimillion naira job for dem.. If de can manage 60k,.. De shud come I have one for dem!.. Akuko!!!

Gistyinka Blog said...

He fight with the so called cabar leader

This man should be ashamed of himself. He and his colleagues helped spoil this country. With all the nonsense that they did and called privatization, yet the economy is the way it is and Nigerians have gained nothing from it. Moreover you have raised lazy children that cannot go out there with their CVs and look for jobs like other graduates do. Instead they are at home watching TV and on Facebook while they wait for their father to find jobs for them. Spoilt brats.
Fred

come give us drink linda for us making u be were u @ agidi

Im sure he meant they havent got the 'kind' of jobs they want....when they are at home waiting for the job to come meet them or waiting for a 1million naira monthly job.
Those of us without connections flew out of the bed every morning, bought guardian every tuesday, Wednesday and thursdays and applied till we landed a job. Started from the bottom now we here....started from the bottom now my whole team f★★★★★ing here. My siblings and I are not doing bad at all...and we once hawked food on the streets of lagos. Go figure!

I bet they got those masters degree abroad & they've been at home for only a year he's crying blah blah blah!Come check some peeps out yonder,six years & counting!

Bloomandgrownaija said...

I'll just like to write a big "LIE" across that forehead! Well, your daughters are unemployed either because they refused your help ( which is understandable, yet naïve of them) or they don't see the need yet!

Na wash,don't believe, wen in naija connectn is wat u nid 99percent of the time.

Lol,@ libers kwenu...

Good that you can't find them jobs coz it's not your job to find them one...that is why they are graduates in the first place...may be you should be creating jobs instead of waiting to steal more from where you did not plant in the first place...useless people with no priorities.

I refuse 2 agree wit him.He is just looking 4 d best 4 them.or let me use d word selective. Believe it or not.

El-rufai!!! Bt u pay ur daughters 2million naira per month!!!!! And frm a correct source I hear his saucy and pretentious daughters wanna get hitched first!!!! So he shud sharapppppppp!!!! Hw many employed nigerians can save up 2 dat amount in 2yrs??? Abeg mk dis clown go sleep and stop looking 4 attention!!!

Lying bastard.. U cnt find job for ur daughters.... Well who needs a job anyway when their father looted a countrys treasure?? Ur kidds dnt need job mr dweet talker, let them go manage all the houses u have scatterd in abuja, that's enough work.

So what? They are on your heavy payroll, so what? Don't let me start with your daughters.

First, Mr. Rufai.. You're part of the problem.. Imagine, "I can't find jobs for my daughters". Are you meant to be helping them? Well I guess other politicians who still have friends have fixed their daughters and sons and have left you behind.

It depends on the kind of job that the daughter's seek. Let them look for teaching job in secondary schools :)

I'm shocked

---Teaemy---

Olumide Samuel said...

Reasons dt would make her daughters not get jobs would be that they were looking for outrageous pay or post to begin. Can children of people like that respect their boss @ work? Can they be disciplined to follow rules?

I laff, it a demographic time bomb. Afta payin dia sch feez u r stil lookin 4 a job 4 dem, soon u wuld also look 4 a husby 4 dem... Good father. Lol

master degree of nunu sellers.gaaraway you chadians!!

LIBers kwezuenu! Linda no make me laugh

During ur term as minister, u destroyed all d offices ur daughters wuld av been employed.

Naso!! Who he wan decieve?? Mtsheww!!

Linda, please open your blog/company to the Labour market instead of doing all the work alone n raking all the money to yourself! Employ people in your community and pay them, this one wey u dey do one man band I no understand o. Chop alone, you die alone o, ehen!

This man is A pathological liars abeg. He can lied 4 africa sha cos how will him who payies #2m montholy 2 his daughters find jab 4 masters graduants.biko he shold stop waisting time n talks thash

And who told u they want to work.beside, wc job will pay them as much as they earn in ur house.Mr, take sit joor

Blatant liar!!!!Speak 2 handz

True talk jare!

So after all the years of education neither of them can come up with a business plan and go into some business of their own? What is the point of education if it doesn't teach you how to think? Opportunites abound in Nigeria for those who have eyes to see them and a willingness to put in some backbone. I am sure some kid from the village wih far less education and a a lil money could have figured out a profitable business venture. These girls sitting around waiting for Daddy to make a job appear ..boohoo

El-rufa'I dangote dey luk 4 graduates to employ as in drivers wat are ur daughters waiting 4. Oloshi

Bello, AA said...

I want to believe this errors are from ur phone cos if its not from ur phone but from you, with this kinda english, even Goodluck jonathan cannot find u a job in naija..

dudette said...

Linda recharge card tins for us asap!!! Guy no one gives a rats ass bout u and ur kids k!

Na who be this? What planet are you from and what level of education have you got? I'm so disgusted at your writing skills. You no just try at all. Kai!

BonaRat u just dont get it,u think the man has really gotten poor? He is just lying! Any intelligent person will know that

Idiot. So you didn't accept the 80k job abi? I bet someone else took the job. Lmao. U think becaise you schooled in UK u shld begin by earning millions

Prince Charming dearie,i will say it again,your comments light me up big time,u speak my mind on a lot of issues.

BonaRat you just dont get it,u think he has really gone poor? He is just lying!

They can teach and become professors. Teaching is lucrative now.

patalex said...

Something in me tells me he is simply lying.

He is probably looking for jobs at the oil sector

Hey you all should check http://mentor.mara.com it is aimed to support the start-up
and growth of young businesses in Sub
Saharan Africa. Let's get ourselves ahead. Linda please post this

pallychuma said...

Linda Ɣ☺ΰ‎​ won't see me in ur blog again...

LIar..liar....yeah right! U can't find a job for ur kids abi...or you can't find a job they want.....are they prepared to start from the bottom and climb their way up...probably not!...

Abeg leave story....you have no idea the unemployment situation....where 1st class graduates are fighting for cleaning job.....

what a bloody lie!!!!!

Maybe your girls could't defend their masters degree at the interview!!!! just thinking??????

Aryah said...

He had the wrong connections. He needs to roll with the happening people.

I see! 9ja 'politrickcians' will steal billions of money to buy estate in abj and eko Atlantic. #Den no dey get sense to build industries# they send their kids to the best schools abroad then they come back here to become landlords otherwise they use their connections to lay off the person occupying the position they want for their kids. Too bad!

Ugoquix said...

I agree with u anonymous... The one that said 'Linda open ur community and employ mad naira youths' we wanna be relevant... Who knows; el rufai's daughters might apply!!!

Is he meant to br the one looking for jobs for his daughters?!! Isnt it other ppls children who go about job hunting. Absolute rubbish!!!!!!

Hahahh abeg hal no kill me oh.even jonathan can't get him a job in nigeria. I don die

I totally love this man. He changed my view of the northerners. He's so enlightened and i give this to him....BEST FCT MINISTER so far. God bless u. I believe everything he says cos he's service while in the office was excellent, that's why our corrupt pot-bellied politicians dint like him so much.

--Teeteelahyo--

El rufai, I like you but your statement is flawed and in a way made me happy. The flaw - that "you" cannot find jobs for your daughters. why are you the one looking for jobs for your daughters? To shield them from Dick nightmares preying on young unemployed girls? What made me happy - that even the children of those who have names are not finding work. Anyi ga to here. We don enter gridlock. Hey, dude, send them abroad. Maybe the queen or Obama will hire. Ehmmmm, maybe not, what with sequestration and all. he he he he he. if rich people don't suffer, Nigeria will never recover.

Nice comment PC

You should have focused on d kinda man he was while he was in power. He headed for the goal which was to make sure abj development was according to plan. Both d rich and poor tasted his dealings. Lol..but u know nigeria, defaulters just always sympathy therefore truncating every development effort.

Well my point is, his peers barely liked him cos d man was quite enthusiastic about getting d job done which is summin most of our leaders lack. So my guess is, it'd def be difficult for his kids to sit in those large enterprises cos of d hate their dad bagged***

Dah's y I kip sayin u guys should gada d little cash left n liv dis CURSED country....words of advice

GOD's SON

De Bold said...

Now I understand the jokes @MrSolos wrote about El Rufai. It's seem he needs financial help....As for Nigeria, we need to pray harder.

I don\'t belief you mr Man. Ur statement sound like political campaign statement to me. Am not sorry to say dis.

its funny how all you fools on linda ikeji cannot realise that hes trying to address the issue of unemployment. hes only trying to personalise it by saying his daughters. weather they do have jobs or not isnt the issue. the issue is that the rateof unemployment is getting so high these days. people send their kids abroad spend millions and then come back to find work is hard. people struggle to school here in nigeria pay huge fews in private universities and all when they come out its another struggle. i feel we should all focus on the fact that the unemployment rate is very high and not the fact that his daughters are spoilt or whatever after all you arent going to marry them. let theri husbands worry about that.

He had 2 daughters,Yesmin(RIP) and Ramla is left,but if I'm in the comfort that proud Ramla is living in mehn!wetin concern me with job??plus as a malo girl its not mandatory she works,one rich tycoon's son will marry her off soon..

As in you just know this. Lazy slabs.

LMAOooooooo! Nice one.

As in you just know this. Lazy slabs.

Foolish man!!! Call your pal Ajimobi, let him give them jobs with Yes-O in Oyo State or the Osun O-Yes. Yeye people that have nothing to offer Nigeria, making noise all around the place.

if he cant secure jobs for his children,its not hard let him set up a saloon for them or they can possibly go into farming. people feed from this!!!!

El-Rufai, you are stupid

Nigerians are in serious denial. They deny unemployment when you have a high number of deportees from other countries. They deny first class graduates dont have jobs yet I had many apply for those cleaning jobs in the international office I worked for. The cleaner and office hand all had masters degree in the office and were waiting for better opportunities. When I last heard one went to work as a domestic in Dubai. Why are you all pretending not to know this.

I love ur blog seriously

Dan

Maybe its because you keep saying Jack Sparrow instead of their names

Please where does handz stay?

Not everyone is cut out for biz,

Funny how leaders who have occupied sensitive positions in this country come out to complain or trade blames, when he was a minister, how many jobs did he help create, and which bill did he send to the house to enable job creation. They have not seen anything. The rich also cry lol

This man just showed us how stupid he is.

Y'all don't understand the unemployment rate in this country, if you knw me, u will knw I'm not meant to be jobleSs not for a second, buh here I'm in this fu*king country sitting at home wit b.sc and M.sc frm uk. Just be grateful to God for whateva you have dts if u av a job, even if na 50k job. Nigeria is shit, connection doesn't wrk like bfore.... Now my parents are sending me for PHD...shitty country

Oh please, his son once had a job in my office and the boy decided not to show up for almost 2 months (supposedly for health reasons while he was spotted @ silverbird chilling), before he decided to resign.

wemimo said...

Me too I will go n start my blog oh..i will be tifing linda'a news...lolz

Shut up God's SON and face the plate u r washing in Togo, if that's all u ll comment on every story.
Many of Nigerians will never chicken out like you

For no reason, i believe him

*roll eyeballs*! Wtf! Was he supposed to 'find' job 4 his kids again after payin their sch fees? I thot they were supposed 2 find their own ways after sch, y must they shamelessly wait 4 their dad 2 find job 4 dem?! They had berra both get off their fat behinds and go fend 4 themselves! Long hissssssssss! Kenny

Adeotunba said...

He should clearly state d multimillion naira job he wants for them. cnt they start off as level seven officers in state or federal civil service? nonsense talk.

Nigerian Policians will never cease to amaze me. They take advantage of every opportunity to make a fool of themselves. I can understand if he says that there millions of jobless graduates on the street. they only reason why his girls are not working is that he has stolen enough money that they dont need to work all the rest of their lives. Shamless

Maximum lol

Na im make me no argue with Tonto...GBAM!

Wetin this one dey talk.....soon Charles talor go better pass u,awon barowo

I have 10 year old in my school making up to 2ook a year from their entrepreneurial projects, If you are looking for jobs for children you trained to Masters Degree then you probably have not done a good job raising them. let them find their feet and stop spoon feeding them.

That's exactly my thought

This man is so so controversal, he was once in a position of office that ,he should have used to channel such course of job provision and job creation in the country,but he never for once as F C T minister talked about it,bcos he was on the other side of the river,at list he did not talk about poor education level in the country,bcos money was @ his disposal for his girls to acquir the best education outside the country,may be his girls din't experence any strik during their education,now he is out of office and his @ the other side of the river and he is complaining and voicing out lack of job opportunities, he should be hiding his face saying that his two girls has masters and can't get a job for one year now, his girls should create job with the level of education they have acquired after all he has the money to support them as capital for the job his girls might have created,in all this what am trying to say is to advocate to change in our education policy for our graduates to be job creators and not job hunters, for instance , they should be a law or policy that every political, civil servant position holder, that their children should not be allowed to school outside this country ,then you will discover that in a short period time our education starndad will dresticlly turn around for the better, 1luv naija

Your daughters don't have jobs yet they live the life of the rich and Famous? Who's fooling who?

agama said...

Haba Mallam! i totally dont believe that...i believe there is an opening he is waiting for ti fix the daughters..gbam!

Mr. Rufai, u shld be more articulate wen u speak, unles u intentionally dnt wnt2 tel d whole truth.. Is it just jobs ur grls seek or d jobs u promised em av nt bin made available!!!!! Fante, joorrrr

First of all,El-rufai is lying. 2ndly, he was in Government b4, what did he do about unemployment. Please can someone tell this he-goat to go and hug transformer.

At least they have the money you stole to chop shege danbanza!

Mr Rufia,what about farming?They should start with farming.

After destroying pples houses and values,u want ur children 2 b employed after redering oda pples children homeless and jobless,God is nt asleep,tears rolled frm many eyes cos of u,u tink u'll b minister 4eva? Sorry d course pple placed on u were 2 much. Take dem 2 ota farm.

And he wants us to believe that,he should just go and sit down.ok! i understand, he wants us to vote him into power so that he can create the 3million jobs needed;nonsense! The daughters are waiting for 2 million naira job per month that is why they are still unemployed. If they will take 80k per month, let them come and take their employment letters.

ifyody said...

Just for us to imagine how it is for those who don't have d connections!! May God see us through...Amen.

Mr Rufai tell that to the birds

Should he be the one finding jobs for his daughters (the Naija way) or them job searching themselves? How he succeed when he is already a stigma.

SO, THAT'S NO NEWS, My DAD too did not find job for me, let him send them to Ekiti. Teaching jobs in public primary schools.

Linda dis ur blog has never for one day post job opportunities, abi u dnt ve info abt those job vacancies ni?? All u teach pple how to do is *not talking* affect LIBERS life by posting job vacancies. If u like don't post my comment oh cos u neva post any of my comments dnt knw why.

Adeleye Adedeji said...

This is so painful as to those who has money to create job even joyfully tells the world about their dauthers unemployment whose account is loaded with the money the employed ones does not have

Its funny how you guys always go after northerners. Now tell me when most of you got jobs wasn't it through someone? Let's stop this our tribalistic attitudes and move on bottom line is no one is investing hence no jobs no wealth circulation is it that vague...

as an ex fct minister,during his time how many jobs did he creat.nemesis.

Oni yeye Oni riba. Your dauthers are not looking for job but wetin for cooked and sweet appointmt. May God scarter you all bad politicians. Ammmmmmmmmmeeeeeeeennnnnnnn

Kenturky said...

Can this be true? Do i have to believe this? What did they study?