Massive tornado rips through Oklahoma: over 50 people killed | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 21 May 2013

Massive tornado rips through Oklahoma: over 50 people killed

A devastating two-mile-wide tornado touched down in Moore, a community of 41,000 people about 10 miles south of Oklahoma City yesterday afternoon Monday May 20th, killing over 50 people - including at least 20 children, with 24 more missing. Plaza Towers Elementary school was in the direct path of the giant twister and took a direct hit during 45 minutes of terror yesterday afternoon.

Homes, cars, a hospital and another elementary school were destroyed by the tornado. More than 120 people are being treated at hospitals, including about 50 children. The death toll is expected to rise. 

President Barack Obama has declared a major disaster area in Oklahoma, ordering federal aid to supplement state and local efforts in Moore. See more photos after the cut...

Read more about it HERE.

96 comments:

very terrible disaster! omg! what is going on....
too many lives gone already..

Nigeria is truly blessed
.we do not suffer all these natural disasters just man made ones.
My prayer goes to all victims of this disaster. dear Lord! please take control

Sasha Bone said...

oh wow...

God safe dis children

Becky naka (Beautiful home concept....your sure plug for industrial cleaning) said...

culn't stop de tears from droppin, God save ur people.

May God have mercy on those that lost their lives,this is disastrous

NahMeBiko said...

We don't know how good we have it here in Naija. When Nature strikes one has little choice but to find God. Even atheists call out to Him in such situations. My experiences of earthquakes in California have taught me that sometimes life does 'no begging'. Babies, young kids, the elderly, all are game. May the survivors find solace IMNJ.

ooooh,wat a tragidy...i tot d white had solutions 2 everifin,y cnt dey handle d massive tonedo nd earthqueak...

Onyeka said...

Aww Good lord.. :( my heart and prayers goes out to them..

Wot a pity.I sympatize with them for those dat av lost their families or a member,properties....So sad

I had teary eyes when i watched this tragedy on the news. May the missing people be found alive and unhurt and may the souls of the departed rest in peace.

Dis is so sad...RIP

Tee B said...

I hate natural disasters mehn! Sometimes you just get caught without warning. So sad! Thank God for those who had lairs underground

Billboard Music Awards 2013 - 5 Best and Worst Dressed

Let's #PrayForOklahoma guys.. What a tragedy this is, when I saw the report about this, it just melted my heart, especially those kids in the middle of the whole thing.

OMG,may their souls RIP,what a tragic event.

God have mercy on us

Terrible!!!!! Thnk God for Nigeria but then we are blessed with Naturally heartless, wasteful & tornadoUSFUL leader. God please just take charge and give us peace of mind

June said...

OMG! This is sad.....may Ï„̣̣Ñ’Ñ‘ souls of those whose life has been claimed RIP

Perfect Mélange said...

Oh goodness!!!

Don't even know what to say. :(
This is soo sad. Thank God for our lives in Nigeria. We are truly blesseed

GREAT love said...

Very bad 1 at this time when americans is coming to they formal stand. Quite unfortunate:)

it is in these times that one would cherish beautiful and blessed Nigeria... may the souls of the deceased RIP. Amen

Prodigy1 said...

OMG, RIP

it is in these times that one would cherish beautiful and blessed Nigeria... may the souls of the deceased RIP. Amen

I've always said that tornadoes are a curse from the Native Americans for what these oyinbos did to them.

This is wat u get frm a nation that legalize gay marriages.....@iluvmynaijagirl

GREAT love said...

Pls dnt talk dis way, its just a tragedy and for the fact dat they seems smarter than us the black doesn't mean they know everything. U should have the heart of sympathy we r all humans.

xstardess said...

May heaven answer our prayer for this city and the world .

Do you guys wonder y all dis are happening repeatedly allmost everywhere?its coz we are living in d last days.....you would only find peace if you give your life totally 2 him.so sad

Truly the end has come.let us all prepare for the lord's coming.what a tragedy!may their souls RIPP.

very sad
For the latest aviation gist, visit Nigeria's premiere aviators online community www.NaijaAviators.com and twitter handle @NaijaAviators. Thank you.

Let me see a person that will open their mouth 2 criticise nigeria. Nigeria is a blessed country. We can corb our human disaster. But them

Its so sad.May d souls of d dead ones RIPP n may God grant d injured ones quick healing IJN

Linda ehhh, no be 90 people oh. where you get your report from? as of today, at least 51 people, including 20 people were killed.

Hourglass said...

Such sad news... God bless America!

OMG really sad!!!May God console them.Signs of the last days indeed!!

alepatto said...

OMG.father Lord interven in d these situation nd save lives Lord.

lady in red said...

tears rolling down my face...sad

Save***

Go back to school! You need help.

Adanna said...

tnk God u calld it massive av naija finished findin solutions 2 d floods dat chase em frm dia homes evrytym or av dey found solutions 2 stop boko haram killings....? Ode oshi u berra get sense n knw dat datz a natural disaster d only gud d pple can do is flee d place n find refuge sumwhr else whyl it last

Adanna said...

God pls we commit d lives of dis pple in2 ur hands. Take contrl

end time...

God take control.
Dis is so disheartening.
9ja is truly blessed

Really sad... Woke up at midnight nd got the news on twitter... Those innocent kids, .. Omg

Http://meenahz.blogspot.com

Lord have mercy I pray for the families affected

share your US visa experience here
usimmigrationdiary.blogspot.sg

Nigeria is indeed blessed.

Cos if it dare happens here Æ“od forbid! I tell the oga @ the top ɪ̣̝̇â„“â„“ care less. Æ“oD bless Nigeria!

May dia souls rest in peace!!!Niger is blessed,thnk God am a nigerian!!!

Very sad. May those who lost loved ones be consoled.

esther said...

Oh ♍Æ” Gø̲̣̣̥d̶̲̥̅̊ , may d gentle soul of dis kids rest in peace. W̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣ ª̳͡Rε̲̣̣̣ indeed blessed.

May their souls rest I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ perfect peace

THE 5 BIGGEST CAUSE OF BELLY FAT CLICK HERE said...

omg

God be with them

Blackberry said...

Which skool u attend? Too many GBAGAUNS...ewwww.....solution for natural disaster? Can u stop wind fron blowing?...its TORNADO not tonedo, its TRAGEDY not tragidy, its EARTHQUAKE not earthqueak......earth doesn't queak hehehehehheheee it quakes.

Cherykoko said...

Omg....my heart bleeds for them. May God comfort them.

GOD HAVE MERCY ON US ALL..MY HEART FELT CONDOLENCE TO ALL THOSE WHO LOST THEIR PIPS.....LINDA HOW DO I GET TO U

Maggie said...

oh my God!! so sad. Dear Lord, comfort them.

So tragic.may God have mercy,send His healing to those affected,n comfort d bereaved n distraught @ dis gloomy moment.have mercy,dear Lord.

U r a big fool for this insensitive comment

That is "problem of evil" but who are we mere mortals to question God.

***IKB***

Sometimes I just wonder at mothernature....All those innocent lives. This area has been hit thrice already by Tornadoes. May we be ready when our time comes cos nobody knows when...RIP to the departed souls.

You're an imbecilic macho moron son of a bitch. Find a solution to your horrible English first.

Wat wat wat kind of nonsense is dis 4 God's sake? Ehn? I hate seeing or hearing things lik dis. 20children dead,50 being treated. Holy anger to pray for d world has come now

May their Soul RIP. *BB DA TOUCH

God pls console d bereavd nd may d dead rest in peace,Amen.

Which part of California do you live?

There's something called NATURE and NATURAL DISASTERS.
I'm sure they have a solution to your illiteracy.

May their souls rest in peace,my dear OK city

May their souls n d souls of d faithful departed rest in peace, Amen!

what i dont understand here is didnt they see it coming just like sandy and the rest of them.....
RIP my God all those children

God take control, d devil always wanna show its ugly head. Jesus take care of dis lil children

Ebere said...

I wept watching this pics, this is so sad

MAY GODS PEACE REST UPON THIS ONES IJN

I hope the families who have lost loved ones find peace and I pray the lost are found

Tragedy not tragidy!!!

I thought there was a warning of this tornado. Apparently they did to realise it will be this big. Sad.

Illiterate
Learn about global warning and climate change.

DADDYSWIFE said...

God hv mercy!!,eyah,may their souls rest in d bossom of d almighty God in Jesus name,amen

NIGERIA is blessed?? Lmao...Nigerians and living in denial. A place where people die like chickens in a violent way is where is blessed? God forbid!!

B€£ said...

Alahwuakibau

May God grant the lost souls mercy, this is why every morning we should give thanks to God and beg for his mercy, our life is not in our hands.

God will console them. My heart goes out to them

24 people and counting die in Oklahoma
tragedy. Here's a look at some of the
damage -->> http://goo.gl/YZGJq
Our thoughts are with all who were
affected. Please send your words of
encouragement and condolences to the
families of the lives lost
www.9aijahouse.blogspot.com

Pray for oklahoma.. I live in moore oklahoma.. close to norman. It was terrible. Moore is just a tornado alleyway.. for the dearly departed may thier souls rest in peace. .

9jaflave said...

Out of this rubble, a new city shall emerge.

Now 23 ppl killed Linda, it might decrease or decrease according to CNN

There is a warning.. but sometimes its not enough time.. this tornado pricked up when it hit the ground in 5 minutes.. think about finding a shelter in less than 15 minutes... I have been through over 10 tornadoes.. than shit aint no joke..

"This is wat u get frm a nation that legalize gay marriages.....@iluvmynaijagirl

May 21, 2013 at 1:01 PM"

In your mind, if that's how 'crime and punishment' works then Nigeria will be obliterated very soon for the daily massacre of people and other atrocities that happen here. In Nigeria buildings are falling down without tornadoes because of corruption and you're here running your mouth. Ewu!

dorys said...

the bible is being fulfilled,matthew 24 is very clear on this,these things must happen before Jesus will come back and that means he is at the corner.pls folks rededicate ur lives to him,repent of all ur sins and forsake them so that wen Jesus takes his people home u will be among

OMG ve mercy

Its global warming and not warning. And global warming IS part of the Earths way of winding down. We human beings give names to everything. So negative, this is not an issue of illiteracy but failure to wake up to the reality that day by day the Earth is diminishing(scary but true)

DottyDot said...

Calm down madam!!! Therz no such disaster that God doesn't knw about! Be mindful of what you utter! God is the giver & taker, so we can't qstn him. Jst pray 4d departed souls that Allah grant 'em eternal rest!!! Peace

DottyDot said...

Boss!!! Google how tornado is formed, it is an upthrust of hot air wc meets cold dry air, when dis apns, derz a rapid rush of hot air in2 d cloud. The rapid rush of hot air into the cold dry air 4rm different angle causes it to rotate. This all apns in the sky. A cone is formed wc then drags down to the earth & this apns within minutes. You can predict the path of this gr8 wind!!! Aw many distance do you wan2 run? The only advice is an underground hide-out! So don't speak in that manner.. You can't escape your death!!!

DottyDot said...

You are making good sense!!! People don't know the magnitude of this thing! It connects 4rm the sky high to the ground!!! It can pull & throw things not directly in its path... Its NO JOKE!!!

*chuckles* are you trying to make jest? Dats so not correct & proper!

Over 50 ke? Just 34 or 32... But my heartfelt prayers goes to the people of Oklahoma.. God be with them.