Woolwich killer, Michael Adebowale, is the son of a probation officer | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 25 May 2013

Woolwich killer, Michael Adebowale, is the son of a probation officer

The mother of a suspected Islamic terrorist who allegedly hacked a British soldier to death tried desperately to turn him away from extremism but “could not get through”, according to friends.

Michael Adebowale, the 22-year-old son of a Christian probation officer and a member of staff at the Nigerian High Commission, was filmed holding a bloodied cleaver in his hand after Drummer Lee Rigby was butchered in a London street. Friends said he had been a “lovely boy” but became involved in some “serious trouble” as a teenager and then turned to Islam. He started mixing with some “bad people” and became increasingly extreme in his views.

His mother Juliet Obasuyi, a 43-year-old probation officer, went to her friend and neighbour, a 62-year-old security officer, for help about nine months ago after her son dropped out of university.

She told him: “Michael is not listening any more. His older sister is a good Christian with a degree but Michael is rebelling as he has no father figure, dropping out of university and handing out leaflets in Woolwich town centre.

“He is from a strong Christian family but he is turning to Islam and turning against the family. He is preaching in the streets. He needs spiritual guidance before he radicalises himself.”

Another friend, Steve Adebiyi, who started a company with Mrs Obasuyi, said she was often left in tears after speaking to him on the phone. “The boy was giving the mother problems,” he said. “She said he was in with some bad group and causing a lot of trouble. They brainwashed him.”

He and Michael Adebolajo, the other suspected terrorist, are thought to have met at Greenwich University.

His mother was advised by a neighbour to take him to the head of the Woolwich mosque for spiritual guidance. He was converted to Islam by the head Imam, and taken for weeks of “further training” at a centre near Cambridge.

When he returned, however, he was even more “radicalised” and his mother could no longer “get through to him”. A spokesman for the mosque said they did not know if he attended or been converted there.

She subsequently returned to Nigeria, where she is pursuing a career in politics.

Neighbours in Greenwich said he had been a “lovely boy” who was a keen Manchester United fan, but as a teenager became “angry at a lot of things”.

Magdalene Edwards told Channel 4 News: “He was a lovely boy. Very gentle natured, very respectful to elderly people.

“He was angry at a lot of things like a lot of young people are. About a year ago is when I saw him with this whole Muslim dress.

“I said to him are you a Muslim. And he said yes, he’s gone that way now. I said just be careful, I’m aware that there are some that ride on the coat tales of Islam and they’re really not serving their cause.”

Adebowale’s father, Adeniyi, was born in Nigeria but came to Britain to study at Canterbury University. He and Mrs Obasuyi had a child, Michael, but subsequently split up.

His mother married twice but is now understood to be single. She also started a small fashion business. She raised Adebowale in Woolwich and Greenwich along with his half sister.

Adebowale attended Kidbrooke School in Greenwich, where friends said he was a “normal, smiling teenager”. Luqman Ciise, one of his schoolmates, said: “I knew him personally, he was normal, smiling all the time. His name was Toby… Still can’t believe this.”

According to a friend he and his girlfriend, a fellow convert, became well-known in south-east London for handing out extremist leaflets.

Adebowale’s father now works for the Nigerian High Commission in a flat just yards froim Holloway prison in North London. His flat was raided on Thursday morning.

A neighbour said: “He has lived here for at least ten years. He is a very smart and polite man, who is known to everyone as Niyi. On Thursday morning I was woken up by the sound of banging and shouts of ‘armed police’. I looked out and police were running into Niyi’s flat.

“I then heard them shout ‘No firearms and No drugs’. I have got no idea what happened to Niyi, but I haven’t seen him since.

“It came as a big shock because he is a professional man who works at the Nigerian High Commission. He leaves everyday in a collar and tie and does not get home until about 8pm.”
Source: The Telegraph

130 comments:

Bukie Adigs said...

Parents can only do the much they can, but the child eventually becomes what he chooses.

Mikel Obi's record label releases their first music video (bunka).

www.bukieadigs.blogspot.com

How revealing! Terrorism is a world citizen, everyone should know what that implies!

While we see the effects of a broken home on the children, it is important that we take a holistic view of things as we comment. For those always jumping up and saying " Divorce the man or there is nothing wrong with being a single mother" Here you have a classic example. If you do not sacrifice and bear all things for the sake of your children, they will grow up and disgrace you. I put the blame squarely on the foot of the parents. SEE THE MONSTER YOU CREATED.

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

WEEMMBBLLYYYY WEMMBBLLYYYY!!! I'm GOOINNG TO WEMMBLYYYY!!!

Na wa oooo,Ninja must dey inside evri bad tin.

They av freedom problem abroad, its d only place wer children misbehave and outta control. They av dat mentality cz they r americansor british waheva. All they do is put their parents in problems. Wat a pity.

O ga ju...poor woman.ur son don don bring una out to d public negatively.well dey say she's pursing politics in nigeria.I trust naija,dey will even make her governor wit dz bullshit hanging around her.as for d papa...beta deny dz boy now sharpaly o..

Broken homes too contribute to lots of troubles young people go into.

Hmmmm bad pikin dey let person born,but person no fit kill am. Parents pls stay together no matter what and always communicate with ur children,its very important. Father pls help us all

What a waste!He was normal until he turned to islam,this just shows the drawbacks of an evil religion*sad face*

Maybe he has lost his senses!!!!
Just a bad child

We only live life once. What do u mean by sacrifice and bear all things for the sake of your children? That is just soo wrong. So in a marriage, one should be sad and miserable n the other happy? If a marriage is not working it is not working n should be ended. This has more to do with Islam and not broken home, afterall there are lots of good heads who come from broken homes.

Ok so i am waiting to hear comments about this boy not being Nigerian or being of Nigerian descent... Mschew.. First generation immigrant and u all are saying he has no links to naija

realitycheck! said...

there are many great people who grew up with upbringing from single parents so thats definitely not an excuse for him or a reason to blame the parents break-up. This guy chose this path and should be held responsible...its unfair to blame it on divorce...again many people also grow up without living parents,and they dont bring such disgrace to their family name...even if the parents didnt do something right,the boy nor get e own sense to know wetin good or bad?....lets stop blaming others for our bad choices! at the end of the day,it is what it is..your choice!

DISCOVER THE SECRET OF LOSSING WEIGHT AND BURNING TOMMY FAT CLICK HERE said...

pls he is not a nigerian but a britist born nigeria

take note

And if the situation is life threatening d spouse shld still stay in d marriage abi? I've seen peeps from broken homes who aren't messed up. So are u saying children from a home with both parents aren't prone to social vices? Or which one is d parents fault in this. Even classmates and neighbours confirmed he was a gentle guy until he was brainwashed.

U sound really silly by saying he turned baf bc of his parentes divorce steve job's the owner of iphone and ipad and co is from a single parent home and he didn't turn out to be a terrosist. Obama is from a single parent home and he didn't become a terorist. So it better for young boys to watch dere father beat their mother to stupor. The boy became bad bc he wanted to be influnced don't blame it on divorce. Why didn't his sister become a terorist is she not from the same broken home.

Hmmmm,you are absolutely on point...

@anon 11.45, while single parenthood has far reaching adverse effects, not all children from broken homes turn out bad, afterall his sister was also raised by a single parent and she turned out ok. The other Michael lived with both parents and see how he turned out also. As a matter of fact, i will say both boys are well behaved, the fact that they even allowed women to move freely, they allowed a woman to stay with the dying soldier until his last moments, i even watched a video where the 1st suspect said it is his nature to help people, these simple actions show they still have compassion and respect in them. It is just unfortunate that the extremists had more influence in their lives, and this cuts across globally, we have numerous young men in Nigeria being co-opted into boko haram, if anyone ever told me 5 yrs ago that a Nigerian will blow himself up, i would have said never, nigerians are way too sharp for that. But what do we have today? What values are we instilling in our children, we teach them to go to school and work hard but we ourselves are after fast money, looting, fake pastors committing atrocities everyday, even the true men of God blinded by the unecessary luxuries of life.

We have been quibbling over nationality of these boys, meanwhile the same is happening in our own backyard. The western countries are not helping matters either, because of oil they destroy nations, they started with the bombings, they started with the mass killings, but in their country when someone guns several people down, they say he has a right to a fair trial. Is that not the highest level of hypocrisy?

Only God can intervene but then again, could it be the end times? Our only prayer should be for a quick resolution, our duty should be to live by example for our children, for the government to provide basic amenities so poverty does not allow people resort to extreme measures. May God keep us all. Amen

I guess the woman can quietly give up on her political campaign, but knowing naija, she just might be a senator tomorrow

When someone converts to Islam, question his motives. The young chap did it to fulfil his violent desires for no cause.

Pz dear, nt all bad kids are raised by single parent. Have seen kids raised by both parents doing terrible things u cannt imagine. This was jst an unfortunate situation.

Omg same sec school as me and a year below me! I most have known him *in serious shock

This case is not about being Naija,divorced or being reared by a single parent.It is all about having Jesus as your saviour.Children of other nations have been involved in this kind of case and some are from married homes.
If you have Jesus and you are a praying mother,father or parents I believe and am sure that the children will be taught from heaven as the Bible says.
I will encourage mothers,fathers or parents with troubled child or children to seek Jesus seriously not lip service.

Hello retard, pple have refused to notice u so pls quite the drama

Dis is serious oooo..

Shut up idiot, so the other Micheal Adebolajo is from a broken home right? So kids whose parents are together forever never turn out bad/evil? People who loose their spouses to death at an early age don't raise responsible kids? Think before you open ur gutter to talk rubbish

some parents do their possible best to make sure their kids turn out to be responsible people but their efforts do little or nothing. their kids still become terrorists and killers.

some others don't care about their children and the kids become brilliant kids that never had shoes but became presidents or ministers or top shots..

still, some others bring their kids up in a good way and yes the kids grow up to be that way- good citizens

hmnnnnnnnn..

kidodo said...

There were once Christian and law abiding citizens until dey change to Islam. I don't know wat dose imam told them but all I know is me and my future generation can't and will never become Islam even if dey promise us 75 virgins in heaven.

Pleeeasse!!!! Obama is a result of a single mother and the boston bombers parents are still together. One has nothing to do with the other.

bitchplis said...

Dat's ao we sing 'glory glory man united'...r u a united fan?

Please think well before making comments.. OK? People don't get married to get divorced, and I know single parents who raise amazing kids, its people like you who go on giving advice to people suffering in a bad relationship or a bad marriage about how wrong your life will turn out if you leave a man... (and no, I am not a single mother)

juganut said...

Got dis from a post on facebook, but somehow I still find difficulty in believing all of it. Here goes...
BOKO HARAM vs ISLAM!
ISLAM: There is no compulsion in religion.
BOKO HARAM: Everyone must adhere to our ways else…
ISLAM: Love all and be just to all regardless of religion.
BOKO HARAM: If you are not with us you are against us.
ISLAM: Prophet Muhammad lived with peaceful Christians and jews as his neighbors
BOKO HARAM: All non-muslims must leave the north.
ISLAM: You are only permitted to protect yourselves when you are attacked first. And you should retaliate justly but if u leave everything to Allah it is better for you.
BOKO HARAM: We attack all who stand in our way
ISLAM: A muslim is one whom other muslims are safe from his tongue and hands.
BOKO HARAM: We do not care your religion. Muslim or Christian we will crush any who stands in our way.
ISLAM: Innocent Killing is a great sin. Allah has ordered us not to do it! No human being has the right to
take life.
BOKO HARAM: They think that God will not punish them.
ISLAM: When there is a war, Women and children must not be touched. Talk less of when there is no war.
BOKO HARAM: We kill men, women and children.
ISLAM: When there is a war, all non-muslims that run into their places of worship or their homes will not be
harmed. Talk less of when there is no war.
BOKO HARAM: We bomb non-muslims in their places of worship. We also bomb muslims in their places of
worship and homes if we feel they are a threat to us.

The above are just a few reasons to make our non-muslim brothers and sisters understand that BOKO
HARAM is more of a political than a religious driven group, they are virus to our nation & Islam. They do not
represent Islam. Rather, they are acting contrary to it in most cases.
THIS IS INDEED AN EYE OPENER FOR THE SANE PERSON & THOSE WHO SEEK TRUTH!
WE MUST WORK TOGETHER,
REGARDLESS OF TRIBE AND RELIGION IF WE WISH TO
PROVIDE A BETTER TOMORROW FOR
ALL... Al-islam is a religion of peace, not a religion of pieces. A religion of anti-virus because it is the solution to all problems not a religion of virus...
Thanks.

I know single parents that have raised great children. I also know some children that have grown up in children's homes and done very well. Again there are children who have been brought up by both parents and turned out as monsters as you call it. You can only give your child as much guidance as you can. When all said and done, they will choose their own path. As much as I believe people should try and make a marriage work, sometimes staying in a dead marriage can do more harm than good to the kids. Nigerians need to cut out backward thinking!!!

Blackberry said...

Religion of peace my foot

Are u retarded??
Like seriously,are u?

maya said...

What does islam has 2 do with d crime he committed??? They just kept on Emphasise on the fact that he is a muslim.sorry 4 d family sha.it is well
(˘̯˘ )

black sheep of the family...wen Micheal was born people were happy...no b only pikin wey no get papa Yoruba dey call omo ale...he has displayed omo ale character.there are many teenagers on the street of London like Michael

Ninja ko shaolin ni...

Calm your ass down. And don't forget the pictures pj!
*Arabella*

Diz is d reason y parents shld allow deir children to complete deir education in Nigeria, den go for deir masters anywherelse,bcoz by den der are strong enuf to decide which culture is worth emulating or not

Islamic is a bad religion, they dont know the right way, what they know is to convert someone with there charms

Odi egwu. I tag it ' bad product of a failed marriage'(single parenthing)

Kids brought up in abroad are so wild and uncontrolable, if na for nija, 24lashes on his buttocks would have removed radicalism from his brain cells, trust. Me am talking from experience, my teenage yrs were troublesome but after my Principal and Dad thoroughly handled my casefile, I confessed that Jesus is lord

oyinkansola said...

Hello!only 1 of them is 4rm a broken home.d oda isn't.stop judging.wait tl u v ur kids n they start growing.then ul know,dat parents r nt 2 blame 4 everytn.some try their vry best n d children stl dcide 2 go d oda way.

I guess his dad wil b wishin to turn bak d hands of dem. Divorce is and has always bin a bad tin. D poor boy was clearly troubled. Smh

You are a MONSTER! I hate your kind.
Gbemi

It's so sad this had to happen . More to come ... okay ??? YES !!!! More to come , right now in a cyber cafe at surulere . An unemployed first class graduate is sending his CV to Al quaeda because he is frustrated !!!! 5 years with no job and begging to survive in my country !!! And I hear of billions being embezzelled everyday . If the government does not employ me , perhaps Al quaeda WILL !!!! MORE TO COME !!!!!!!!!!

I'm not for or against advise but your categorization I think is erroneous...to debase ur own argument start counting from today whether every criminal came from a single or doubled parent home...I can guarantee you'd realize either that a majority of criminals were raised in double parent homes, or that the nomenclature of the parents makes absolutely no difference

Pure truth.

Pure truth

@anon 11:45,U can't blame the parents,there's only so much they can do.I dont think Mutallab was from a broken home.Life is full of ironies,while good home training mostly leads to good character later in life,there have been exceptions,moreso in the UK where there's so much liberty.My heart goes out to parents who have put in their best yet have crazy rewards instead.Linda,if u like post dis comment,if u like use am chop akpu

Hope say u dey different

Why is everyone trying to link these guys lives to Nigeria. I'm sure they've never been to Naija before, they must have been born & bred in Britain. Just because they have Nigerian parents doesn't make them one, they are BRITISH as far as I'm concerned.

jydo said...

Every body dey shout "9ja 9ja", during olympics when 9ja pickin dey win medals for team GB, we no hear noise o. Now dem behead person dem begin cast "2 brits of nigerian descent". WTF

seriously, result of divorce? and the ones accused of rape earlier in the year too, were they products of broken homes?. the decadence in the society calls for being responsible for your actions. this young man went this way at an age when the society will allow him to rebel against his parents. it's regardless of the state of his home.

I understand your point. But how about in a situation your spouse decides to get out of the marriage without any good reason or problem, what will you do? That what I see everyday!!!!.

patalex said...

Islam and terrorism go together. Lynda make u post my comment º°˚˚°Âºoo.

This guy must be suffering frm psychiatric illness,of which effect of broken home can be a major stressor.

Oh shut up!anon 11.45..pls don't link d boys attitude wit his parents bn seperated.too me dat dosnt change anytn,a bad child will always b a bad child.is he d only child from a broken home?evryone knws wat is ryt n wrong we just choose d part to follow.So anyone in an abusive marriage shud stay put bcos of their kids abi?is it not beta to seperate dan for d man to kill d woman?dis will also afect d kids psychologically seeing dat their parents r always quarelling..abeg dt ur analysis nor follow

some days ago on this blog someone said the benefit of being a career woman out weights the benefit of raising a child while working from home & that statement still baffels me that it actully came out of an adult's mouth. How can anyone ever say leaving ur child for the nanny to train is better off....

This is what happens when the foundation is rotten!!!

The fear of God is the beginning of wisdom but so many hav lost it.

This children we give birth to today needs all the attention (frm both parents) when they are younger not older cos by then it wld be too late.

the writer of proverb said it all, Train up ur child the way he should go, so you can rest when u're old.

I'm not blaming this guys parents, cos God alone knows the situation best...

am just trying to make a point for MANY here who still believe its a waste of time sacrificing those early years of ur career for ur children becos u dont want to loose ur self esteem or fall behind ur peers. You definitly reap what u sow.!!! Be wise. Our children are our future.

You r a foolish person. Judging d woman to make a point. What will u say about other killers, rapist, thieves etc from good homes? She sort counsel for the boy, I'm sure u are not blind. He's not a kid anymore...u want her to kill herself. She wasn't oblivious of his extremism and she did d best she could!!!
When u guys want to analyse a matter be reasonable and unbiased, don't allow ur obstinate ideas judge a case.

--Teeteelahyo--

SHUT UP!! this has nothing to do with single mother or not & more to do with how these Islamist people brain wash others. How does a man go from being Christian to a full blow Islam with radical views? The Nigerian that wanted to bomb the plane a couple christmas ago, wasn't his father strongly in his life. Abeg don't blame being a single mother on this.

Have anyone stopped to ask why is he angry? they kept saying He recently became an angry rebel.

I think this anger has been piled up over the years growing up. It didnt just take a day to get so angry & go out & kill. alot is responsible & it starts wt d parents.

His parents do have a large role to play in all this.
They probably dont know their child enough. All this training children from a distance. the effect of such anger is very overwhelming & its one of the reasons the world is full of hate & strive today.

People are angry & unforgiving & to top it all, instead of takin responsibilties, they take it out on innocent people. God hav mercy cos the world is actually ending.

ha said...

Oloriburuku Sashalondon, you see there is mixed blood in that lunatic now. he is not yoruba fully. jungle justice is typical of your igbo people. i bet it is that part of his him that let him butcher a whole human like that

thara said...

Abanilorukoje. Omo ale. May he burn in the hottest part of hell. See how he brought all the business of his parents in plain view from being a bastard child. How do you convert to islam. what is "sweet" about it that will make any sane person convert. And that his so called girlfriend who converted also, they better arrest her.

Well said!!! We must learn to sacrifice and also forbear many things for the sake of our children.

Shut the fuck up abeg. People grow up without parents and turn out ok. I don't blame the parents at all how come his half sister didn't join UK boko haram.

Anonymous 11:45 AM
You have said it all, you took the word out from my mind

Wat do u mean by effect of divorce is mutallab d guy dat want 2 bomb an aircraft a product of divorce he came 4rm a complete family & yet bring shame 2 is parent kip an eye on ur children until dey marry dia is 2 much freedom on kids abroad. Dat is wat is killin dem

Eiyah I pity his mum n sister micheal ws d black sheep of d family

Soul said...

Please shut up if you have nothing to say. Divorce is not the reason! There are children that have turned out well from broken homes. So if the marriage doesn't work out, a woman should die inside? Marriage is not by force! If it causes you unhappiness, misery, bodily/mental harm, RUN before you die. I know a lady that was 'enduring' until her husband 'shoved' her and she fell, hitting her head on a stair. She died. So, please my dear, don't blame parents. Some children were sent by the devil to carry out certain assignments. So all we can and should say is for the will of God to be done. He knows all that will happen and allows them for a reason.

Liar liar Prince Jobless.
The boy is on his own. Poor parents.

@ Anonymous 11:45am Why are you putting the blame on the parent? If there is anything that all parents should know, it is that there are guarantees when it comes raising children. You can only do your best and leave the rest in the hands of God. My mother will always say that there are two parts to raising a kid. First you show them the right way to live their lives. Second when they have grown up, you start to pray for them because at that point, especially when they are in college, there is nothing much you can do as a parent. Yes granted divorce does have some effect on the kids within the family and a home with two parents is always ideal. But what about families where one of the parent is dead? I am not advocating for divorce but you shouldn't put the blame on their parents, if you don't know their full story. May God help us all.

jing Ming ifeoma said...

Abeg this story is bulls**t.she should be kicked out of politics before she turns other youth voilently. If a mother or parent cannot handle one child is it a whole nation she will be able to run. The fact still remains she never did wat a godly christain like parent ought to ve done. Imagine u call urself christain and u took d child to other religion is that a solid acceptable reason? Check her past lifestyle; married twice. Why won't d child go wayward after exposing his to different men with divers character. She was given just one child and could not handle it, imagine if she had 10boys this will be like raising terrorist. When other parents abroad discovers their childrens waywardness, they immediately bring them home for society to train not the stupid white law of not spanking a child. Let her say d truth and stop seeking pity.as for me I would put the blame on her. Am done. British should carry their property and the woman should stop claiming nigerian as theboy was born and raised in Nigeria. Nigeria is d best country with solid discipline.

U hv got 2 b kiddn me,d mum is a christain nd wen d son started havin some issues she took him 2 d mosque,left him in london and came back 2 Nigeria 2 run a political career....2 d best of my understandn she is a failed mother..simple.... Linda post my comment coz u dnt like postin dem....kim

Shut up! There are A LOT and i mean an overwhelming number of people from two parent households that the kids turn out fucked up and do crazy shit. So at the end of the day, it lies with the individual.

"Sacrifice and BEAR ALL THINGS" you say? The same way Titi Arowolo "stayed" and got killed right? Please be reasonable, being raised in a broken home is not the cause of this, the parents could have stayed married and the home would have been a battle field. How do u think the kids would have coped? The young man was obviously searching for something and thought he found it in being a Muslim extremist. Maybe if his foundation was stronger this wouldn't have happened, the parents have a role to play but if they had remained married it wouldn't have made any difference.

This reminds me of a lot of people (children) you see in London. Parent with little or no parenting skill who are overwhelmed living in a foreign land. Sometimes you luck out and the children turn out fine but a lot of times, you bum out.

A lot of time must be invested in your children or they'll end up like these monsters. They are adults and should be treated as such. Hit them with the full punishment the law can dish out.

Nigerians living abroad, watch out, if you don't start turning in your crazies in, there will be so much heat on you, you'll come running back home to naija. Wake up and be alert on what is happening around you.

Product of a broken home,seeing his mom getting married the second time and breaking up again might have affected the lads confidence. Only GOD knows what he might have gone through with the breakups and loss of a father figure .Twice. Might have even blamed himself for it. That is how kids are;they blame themselves for things that happen at home and when they get older they get rebellious,angry while still looking for answers,while looking for an identity,while looking for acceptance.
Unfortunately he found identity with the wrong crowd.
I know bcoz i have gone down the same road. I was angry and cold inside while people still considered me an ok kinda guy in school and at home. Got into a cult,hit squad and all hell was let loose. Thank God for his mercies and protection or i would not be here today.
Parents,especially mothers,should be there for their kids and show them love and attention before they seek it elsewhere. It is not all about money,at the end no amount of money is worth the trouble.

@Anon 11.45am, this has got nothing to do with the crap u r saying, there are people who have been raised by both parents but still turned out worse. The barrack Obama we celebrate today was raised by a single mum. The problem is d religion called Islam not single parenting. So pple dt there father died wen they wr babies must turn out violent and stupid....If u dnt ve anything 2 say, pls STFU..

a 62-year-old security officer...awon baba london...iba o

U really are a big fool.

I cannot blame this much on him coming from a broken home. Honestly there are lot kids around here who come from broken homes or even lost a parent or parents at a very early age but they still turned out right. I think this just has to do with the kind of freedom kids are given in the western world. They know their rights so much so that they can use it against their parent even when they are doing wrong. Another problem is leaving them to stay there for so long without bringing them home to understand life from our perspective here. This is sad o but I think their parents failed woefully. Fine I know kids choose who they want to be but I bet you with the right guidance, it wouldn't have gone this terrible. The parents were definitely pursuing their own things. The mother put before herself her bodily enjoyment and was marrying up and down without taking it along with her need, she needed to get someone who will be a father figure to her children. And the father, God knows what he is been thinking. They did not think they should put behind their differences and ensure that their son turn good. I blame the parents because if the kids don't know they should know better. I am sure they lived around her in the 70's or 80's when our moral values was still at was still up there. I grew up in Nigeria in the 80's and lost my mother in the early 90's. Since then my siblings and I never had any mother figure but guess what? Up till now in my 30s, there are times I want to do things and I imagine what my late mum would say if she were here and that cautions me. This ones have failed. Let us remember that this has nothing to do with them being muslims- lets bear in mind that our name has been dragged in the deepest of the dirty muds we can think of.

Janelicious said...

i wonder the type of brainwash and promises dat will make a young boy to be this evil.

AT ANONYMOUS May 25, 2013 at 11:45 AM...YOU SPEAK LIKE A PROPER ILLITERATE....SO YOU MEAN EVERY FRUIT OF A DIVORCED HOME SHOULD BECOME A SOCIOPATH OR A KILLER...IT IS PEOPLE LIKE YOU, AND I AM SURE YOU ARE A WOMAN, THAT BECOME PRISONERS IN AN UNHAPPY HOME...SO IF YOUR HUSBAND IS BATTERING YOU AND CHEATING ON U U WOULD RATHER REMAIN THERE FOR HIM TO KILL YOU ABI.....HOW DARE YOU JUDGE WHEN YOU DO NOT EVEN KNOW WHY THE PARENTS DIVORCED.....OLOSHI ONE KOBO!

@ prince charming: so you're implying if the parents did not divorce this would never happen.How naive of you, even kids from married parents go astray so don't be quick to judge. There are so many factors that could influence kids eg wrong neighbourhood, bad friends, and the list goes on. As a parent I make sure me, my spouse, family and friends are involved in bringing the best out of my kids and pray and leave the rest in God's hand. You could be the best parent s and your kids could still go astray, its only God's grace.

Stupid cunt, what ever happened to you. Don't U av a life. Don't U have girls to distract U. Always here commenting like a bitch. Mehn, u really need to get a life

So where is the girl friend now? Someone shuld call 911 because she need to tell us more!

Nuisance put a sock in it!! Chanting on every post like we gv a shit about u,ur location n small penis!!

Its a pity

Anon 11:45 Yes divorce has its effect on growing children... but be corrected Michael wasn't the only child of his parent I believe you read where it was clearly stated that he has a half sister who happens to be a graduate and a good Christian.

It is always good to bring up children with both parents present but if for any reason one parent is absent, pls by all means find another good role model the child can learn from. It could be an aunty, uncle and even very good matured family friend with supervision from the parent so the child is not being molested.

I don't know y u always don't like posting my comments name sake??? Its rili not nice u know.

President Obama was raised by a single mother, and so are many inspirational powerful and religious people.

Yemmie Oscar said...

Ignorance at its peak

princess dee said...

Anon 11.45am...well said!

Why is it only igbo people that are tribalising this issue, I heard an ibo/delta boy on the bus with his low life 2 for a pound wife talking to his sister on the phone that those guys tarnished Nigeria's image. On the fricking bus shouting. They are referred to as British with nigerian heritage. All of you shouting that they are niger should f..k off. Do you love how difficult is to be black in this country? You think they care if they are yoruba or not. All they see is BLACK.

I grew up in South East London. I'd never raise my kids in SE London. Its full of touts, Y'blad kids and all. Its so sad to see this happening to dem. Islam isn't bad, its the jihad people causing all iSsues.

his mother is a failure. see the demon,beast,monster she created. serial wife oshi.

May we nt be in a life threatening marriage. Some have stayed in dia marriages to 'bear all tns' and have ended up six feet down. May God have mercy on us. Youths, singles, I pray Gid we chose 4 us. He knows d future

You are just a VERY BIG FOOL.....VERY BIG IDIOT,dropping useless comments based on this story,ODE!!.....So all this other terrorist and violent people all over the world are from broken homes??????....The parents are not the CAUSE of the son's rebellious act,rather,it goes to show what some humans are capable of doing despite efforts to bring them to there senses......I pray your own children don't become rebellious,then you will shut your gutter mouth and pray for God to touch the heart of some humans!!!!.......Before I leave you,I hope your parents are still together,cuz you sound like someone who is bitter with them for leaving you......#enoughsaid

@linda,What type of English is islamist terrorist?maybe u need to see a documentary on al-jazeera to be able to chose ur words carefully instead of joining bandwagons.

Wat?? Evil religion ?? U r a fooool islam is peace and u can't blame any1 if sum pple choose 2 be extremist and do things the wrong way !!!

Its a shame really

Anon 12:17 u have God given wisdom. Your comment is d wisest I've seen here. Don't mind what that one said about d monster a woman that tried her best created.

--Teeteelahyo--

He converted to Islam then his life did what? Someone answer!

How come Nigerian parents doing a poor job of bringing up their children so poorly in the diaspora??? ***sigh- just saying!

Thank you jare! With all that nonsense bb broadcast that he is not a Nigeria. If he scored a goal now for arsenal or man whatever d name of dem yeye football team is...they will be shouting and praising him that he is Nigerian.

Oh shut the hell up!!! Mama and baba are both Nigerians so becos he was born in Britain means he has no niaja blood???

Wat do u mean u r sure he/she is a woman.u sound so frustrated.If ur husband left u bcos of ur wide n wild mouth,then its gud d way he battered u b4 leavin u for dat sexy neighbours daughter.ode like u..

You must surely go on with your sad face!!!! This is all about sick people doing sick things regardless of their religeon or nationality. The real muslims don't do horrible things it is only the bad eggs that has been radicalised that drag the image of Islam in mud . Just like Judas was among the disciples of Jesus...So just stop calling the religion evil...

Thank you for re posting this......
Islam the religeon of peace....

A muslim's thought, Period. They find ways to defend each step.

A good lesson to all ye corrupt politicians who syphon nigeria money to raise kids abroad....

prince charming just shut your dirty stinking mouth.....i have friends who come from broken homes are very well behaved.....after all did the underwear bomber not come from a home where he had both parents?....any child that will go bad will be bad.....as a woma i wont remain in an unhappy marriage cos shit heads like you think a woman must go through hell for the sake of a child....kids will leave home after a while meanwhile you whole life is wasted with a batterer or a serial adulterer maybe.....

What does it imply professor?

Both of u ar simply foolish and stupid. Dat is all i have to say.

So wat exactly ar u insinuating now? People like u ar wat is wrong with nigeria today, if he's bad, he must be nigeria whether he has ever lived dere or not, if he's good, surely he is british. U ar just too stupid.

My only regret in all this is that as they were busy chanting their Alakuba whatever, they would have been shot on the legs, individually. Leg wound at least no go kill them and let them feel the pains while they are being led away and from there slammed with life imprisonment. They will get worse n prison there. Smh

Delight eze said...

why are all this sons of a bitch,spoilin we country name.......now they dont only call we nigerians a fruadster country but a terroristz.....what do the earn in doin this shit

Rubbish. Kids in nigeria do worse at times snd many thing's go unreported. These acts have nothing to do with single parenting or being raised in nigeria or abroad. It's an individual thing. Those men decided to take the wrong path that is all.

The mother is a devout christian and a very good mother who tried her best to bring up her children the Christian way.

GOD BLESS YOU @anon 12.17pm/ May25, while single parenthood has far reaching adverse effects, not all children from broken homes turn out bad, afterall his sister was also raised by a single parent and she turned out ok. The other Michael lived with both parents and see how he turned out also. As a matter of fact, i will say both boys are well behaved, the fact that they even allowed women to move freely, they allowed a woman to stay with the dying soldier until his last moments, i even watched a video where the 1st suspect said it is his nature to help people, these simple actions show they still have compassion and respect in them. It is just unfortunate that the extremists had more influence in their lives, and this cuts across globally, we have numerous young men in Nigeria being co-opted into boko haram, if anyone ever told me 5 yrs ago that a Nigerian will blow himself up, i would have said never, nigerians are way too sharp for that. But what do we have today? What values are we instilling in our children, we teach them to go to school and work hard but we ourselves are after fast money, looting, fake pastors committing atrocities everyday, even the true men of God blinded by the unecessary luxuries of life.

We have been quibbling over nationality of these boys, meanwhile the same is happening in our own backyard. The western countries are not helping matters either, because of oil they destroy nations, they started with the bombings, they started with the mass killings, but in their country when someone guns several people down, they say he has a right to a fair trial. Is that not the highest level of hypocrisy?

Only God can intervene but then again, could it be the end times? Our only prayer should be for a quick resolution, our duty should be to live by example for our children, for the government to provide basic amenities so poverty does not allow people resort to extreme measures. May God keep us al

Shallow is what you are...truly shallow n hollow...z

The UK really needs to stop importing these depraved monkeys.

anon 6.56pm..na only u bring tribe here..and u are talking about "tribalising"...fool. just shot up already

Gbemiga A said...

This is my first ever comment on this blog,And its for a good course. Most deviant children come frm faulty homes. It might be a divorced background or an abusive home,or a neglete frm the father or mother.Am not saying divorce is bad or good but children frm dysfunctional families end up with more problems(like misguided missles) waiting to self destruct. Not to say the same doesn't happen in good'perfect'homes but actually,the probability for deviance in children frm broken homes is higher dan in children frm well structured homes. Ben carson d great surgeon was frm a broken home and also ted bundy the serial killer/rapist was frm a broken home. Life actually is a choice,no One cant choose where he or she is born but dey can choose where they will draw there last breath. U might be born by an invalid and choose to become the most valid man or woman n vice versa

Reading the above comments, its amazing to see how some adults ??cannot seem to respect others opinions on this forum in a mature way. Each time I read the comments on Linda's blog, it's not unusual to read comments starting with 'shut up...' or comments relating to tribal differences. No wonder our country is in such a state, when people cannot learn to dialogue in a respectable manner, despite having different opinions on same topic of discussion. People need to show respect to one another and grown up!