Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 04/13/2014 - 04/20/2014

Saturday 19 April 2014

Seyi Sodimu releases brand new music - Pele Pele

Seyi Sodimu the Nigerian born International artiste now based in Nigeria, has released a brand new single titled ( pele pele ) which is a re-make of Ebenezer Obey's {ore mi se pele pele}. Seyi, who is one of the pioneers of the new Nigerian music sound, has been absent from the music scene for a while to pursue other business ventures including real estate, fashion, automotives, and many other businesses. His last single Gbedu was released 2 years ago. Seyi's style of music is called Afro-soul which is a fusion of African music, soul and high-life. His style is termed adult contemporary and is geared towards a mature crowd while at the same time appealing to the youth and the masses. Continue...

Toyin Lawani finally shares photo of her son's face

He looks so much like his dad...he's such a cutie!

Join Burna Boy & Bovi at Elegushi Beach as Orijin Throws Easter Sunday Bash

On the 20th April 2014, Orijin will party at Elegushi beach! It promises to be the most Orijinal and Vibrant Easter Sunday ever as Burna lights up the stage in company of some of Nigeria’s hottest artistes; Seyi Shey, DJ Spinall and Oritsefemi who will be on point to make sure the party doesn’t stop till the break of dawn.

Orijin came out with an outrageously hilarious skit last year featuring Seyilaw see it after the cut...

Oh dear! P-Square on the verge of splitting. Read full details...

Yesterday I reported about the friction going on between the Okoye brothers. I didn't say they'd split, I only asked a question based on all the things I've been hearing and Jude Okoye's tweet. When asked yesterday, P-Square's publicist, Bayo Adetu, said the report is 'baseless and untrue'. Unfortunately, it is not! It's either Bayo is clueless as to what is happening in the Okoye household at the moment or he thinks the best thing to do for now is to deny that there's anything going on.

I wrote that the twin brothers Peter and Paul engaged in physical combat on Wednesday. If this was false, Peter is a social media person, he would have immediately denied it. He didn't!

Unfortunately P-Square fans, things are even worse than I reported yesterday. According to my findings, Peter Okoye wants out of P-Square and they have even gone as far as inviting a lawyer to divide their fortune. Continue...

Oh wait! Don Jazzy also has the N20million De Grisogono watch

2 days ago, I showed you Freeze Coolfm's De Grisogono Instrumento watch worth about $120,000 which is almost N20million (See here). Apparently Don Jazzy also has the same watch. These are pics from like four years ago. Don Jazzy even wore his own with pyjamas...lol.  See close up pic after the cut...

How South African Immigration officials hate on Nigerians...

A travel agent narrates how her client was disrespected, illegally held in a cell and deported from South Africa after arriving the country yesterday April 18th...because according to SA immigration, the man hadn't paid for his hotel reservation. And we've all heard the stories of how Nigerians and their businesses are attacked in the country. What is going on? Read what she wrote below...
"One of my biggest clients, Michael Olusegun Osatuyi decided to spend a weekend break during the Easter period in South Africa to get away from the stress of his job for a while.
"He purchased a South African Airways Business Class ticket worth over N500,000 for this purpose and proceeded to set out on Thursday, April 17th 2014. As with all trips abroad he had previously made, he made a hotel reservation via booking.com. When he arrived the Lagos airport, he was informed he could not board the flight unless the reservation had been paid for. This was promptly done on the hotel website, Crowne Plaza Rosebank Johannesburg and the card was pre-authorised after which he was allowed to board the flight.

Badoo love: How kidnappers lure men into their graves with online dates

Found this report on Saturday Sun about how a gang use dating website Badoo to lure men to lonely places where they rob and sometimes kill them. Find the full report below...
Members of a five-man gang of kidnappers, including a lady, have given a gory detail of how they lure men through a popular online dating website known as Badoo to a lonely spot where they attack and rob them of their valuables while the unfortunate ones will be strangled.
The suspects, Micheal Eneji, his brother, Emmanuel Eneji, Chukwu Chibueze, Gift Princess, and Lekia Emmaden Isaac, were apprehended by the Rivers State police command  days after the family of one of their latest victims, Shola Olaseinde reported the victim missing. Continue...

Easter message to the nation from President Jonathan

Easter message from Mr President..
Dear Compatriots,
I greet you all, especially our Christian brothers and sisters who are celebrating Easter and commemorating the resurrection of Jesus Christ today. 
As we join Christians in other countries of the world in celebrating Easter this year, I urge all Nigerians to reflect on the significance of its lessons of piety, obedience to higher authorities, self sacrifice for the good of others, redemption, salvation, deliverance, renewal and the ultimate triumph of good over evil.

Online Shopping takes a new Dimension with NgRetail.com

Your online shopping experience is about to take a whole new dimension with the introduction of Ngretail, an online shopping platform that promises you the best online retail prices as well as unbelievable discounts on goods, with maximum assurance on the quality of the products. Quick and fast delivery is also guaranteed on products purchased from them coupled with their excellent customer service team ever ready to meet your needs. Continue...

@Ciaxon finally breaks his silence after being released by SSS

Yusuf Onimisi with twitter handle @Ciaxon, who was arrested by the SSS for tweeting pics of military operation during the Boko Haram prison break attempt on March 30th, started tweeting again yesterday thanking people for their support but refused to say anything about his arrest.

Singer Muma Gee and husband Prince Eke welcome twins

Oh wow! Big congrats to Muma Gee and her husband. They welcomed a set of twins, a boy and girl yesterday April 18th. Her publicist, Don Saint, revealed the happy news a few hours ago. He said mother and kids are doing great.

Disturbing video of drunk policeman assaulting 2 women in Lagos

A drunk police officer with the Mopol 20 in Lagos identified as Tafa Mohammed was filmed brutalizing 2 women at Lewis Street, Lafiaji, Obalende, Lagos Island, after one of the ladies, a street food vendor, refused to sell him fish to finish up his beer.

According to Sahara Reporters, the food seller was said to have declined to sell fish alone, except to those buying food with it, a vendor policy that angered the policeman. The policeman, who was reeking of alcohol according to eye witnesses, then targeted a female customer who was buying food from the same vendor and pulled the women into muddy water where he physically assaulted her.

Mohammed is then seen drawing his gun and pointing it at one of the women and was actually backed-up with the presence of another mopol. The torture reportedly caused internal injuries for the victim. Watch the disturbing video after the cut...

Maltina, AY shower consumer with happiness gifts

The nation’s number one non-alcoholic malt drink, Maltina in partnership with ace comedian and host of AYlive show Ayodeji Makun has showered Nigerians with happiness gifts at the Palms Shopping Mall Lekki, Lagos State.

Shoppers that visited Maltina stand had the opportunity to participate in a lucky dip to win Maltina goody packs and lots of AYLive show tickets. The activation was a follow up to the announcement of the Maltina Laugh Out Loud activation to share happiness with Nigerian during the Easter Celebration. Continue...

El-Rufai tweets pic of GEJ jubilating at Kano rally day after blast

The former FCT minister shared this pic on his timeline, criticizing President Jonathan's decision to attend a PDP rally in Kano a day after over 100 people were killed in a bomb blast in Abuja and over 100 girls abducted from a secondary school in Chibok, Borno. He even circled GEJ dancing against a woman...lol. All these politicians and drama. But who agrees with El Rufai?

Doyin Okupe takes responsiblity for misinformation on abducted girls

Mr Doyin Okupe, the Senior Special Assistant to the President on Public Affairs, yesterday took full responsibility for the misinformation on the 100+ abducted Government Girls Secondary students who were taken from their hostel on Monday 14th in Chibok, Borno state by Boko Haram men. He had issued a statement saying the military had released the girls. It was later found to be false. The girls are still missing.

Wait, it's 20 hours to fly from the US to Nigeria? :-)

According to US singer Keyshia Cole, it is! :-). #Justplaying. Keyshia Cole is currently in Nigeria to perform at the Calabar International Jazz Festival which started yesterday and will end on Monday. Keyshia will perform tomorrow Sunday April 20th.

Pics: Uche Jombo, Ini Edo, Omoni Oboli at movie premiere last night

Actresses Uche Jombo, Ini Edo, Omoni Oboli and others attended the premiere of Knocking on Heaven's Door last night at Silverbird Galleria in Lagos. Continue to see what Ini Edo and Omoni wore to the premiere...

Friday 18 April 2014

Mud Easter promo

Just in time for Easter, the MUD Academy will be offering 45% discount on the five (5) day Personal Makeup training.

At the MUD Academy, we have designed extensive personal and professional workshops to meet a wide range of experience levels as our instructors have great excitement sharing innovative Makeup techniques with you. 

Continue...

New Video: Iyanya - Away

Iyanya's Away video is out! Shot and directed by Sesan in the UK. Enjoy...

Photos: Miss Nigeria visits Nyanya bomb blast victims

Current Miss Nigeria Ezinne Akudo visited the Nyanya bomb blast victims today at the Maitama district hospital in Abuja. She brought with her provisions, toiletries and fruits. She also spent some time speaking with and encouraging the victims. Kudos to her! See more photos after the cut...

Femi Kuti receives a medal from the Grammys for his nomination

After four Grammy nominations, Femi Kuti finally got a medal from the Grammys. Congrats to him!

Win a trip to Dubai this Easter as Konga Easter Shop opens

EEaster is a special season of sharing and with this opportunity you get on the Konga Easter Shop, you can afford to share gifts with friends, family and colleagues.
This opportunity is fresh and hot, with an amazing selection that ranges from female fashion,  male fashion, gadgets,home appliances, computers, electronics and other amazing items at special discounts, plus other promotions available on Social media. Continue...

Actor Idris Elba welcomes son

The actor took to Twitter to make the announcement about an hour ago. He and his girlfriend Niyana Garth welcomed a son, Winston Elba, yesterday April 17th. This is his 2nd child. Congrats to them.

"Artists who show off online are asking for trouble"- Etcetera says

Reacting to Alibaba's position on the advantages of Nigerian celebrities showing off their possessions online, Etcetera said he doesn't agree with the practice.

Speaking with Punch, the singer said celebs who do this are asking for trouble.
"I think that artistes who are in the habit of posting expensive items on social media should tread carefully because of the present situation in the country. If they continue to do this, they might be asking for trouble. Also, artistes, who prefer to have their names on the license plates of their cars, had better watch it. If their colleagues in the United States do these things, it doesn’t mean it is okay to do so in Nigeria.”

Video: 'Ghost' car appears out of nowhere on busy Russian intersection

OK, y'all have to watch this video and explain where the car in front of the BMW appeared from. There has to be a reasonable explanation to this. Footage taken from the dash cam of a vehicle behind this BMW in the pic shows a car suddenly appearing in front of the BMW after it turned left at a busy intersection in Russia...nearly causing an accident. Watch the video after the cut and tell us what you think happened...

New Music: Dr Pat - "Anaconda"

On his rise to the top of the rap game with the hit “Hotter Than Fire", Ft Sheyman & T-Code,  the  New York City based rapper Dr Pat also known as Kondo Master strikes again with new surefire hit single "Anaconda' featuring veteran producer “Young D". Enjoy...

Is it over with P-Square?

I've been hearing a few stories about Peter and Paul Okoye of P-Square having issues for a while now. I hear they disagree on everything now...songs, videos, ideas etc...but because they are twin brothers, I figured well, they will sort things out...so I didn't write.

On Wednesday April 16th, I gathered exclusively from industry sources that the brothers fought each other physically during rehearsals. They had to be separated by their dancers. This is fact! But I decided to leave the story alone because which sibling doesn't disagree sometimes, right? But now their older brother, Jude Okoye, who is also their manager, just tweeted that after ten years he's done.

I hear one of the wives is causing some of the problems between the brothers. *sigh* Dear P-Square, don't even think of breaking up. You will break the hearts of millions of people...including myself. Please stay together.

Mide's Mane OMG! moment back this Easter!

We know that every woman wants to have great hair whether short, long, curled, straight or wavy; that’s why Mide’s Mane’s popular ‘OMG! Moment’ is back!. Our OMG! Easter sales edition will run from 16th-26th of April 2014.

Get a grand slash of up to 28% in price for all Mide’s Mane in stock! Easter is the season of love and Mide’s Mane would like to imprint our own love in your life. Continue...

Elohor Aisien, Lanre DaSilva Ajayi steal the show at Eventi Cocktail event

Model manager Elohor Aisien and designer Lanre Da Silva were spotted out in Lagos at the Eventi Cocktail Weekend event that held last Sunday at the Intercontinental hotel in VI, looking fabulous! 

Elohor (pictured right) wore a Clover Canyon green printed fit and flare Neoprene top with a black pair of skinny jeans and Gianvito Rossi two-tone suede and leather pumps, while Lanre stepped out in an LDA Custom Printed Trouser and top. Continue to see more photos...

How DPO raped me in detention - Sales girl narrates her ordeal

A mother of two identified as Idowu Akinwunmi has accused a Divisional Police Officer in Lagos Island, SP Adekunle Awe, of raping her on Wednesday April 15th while in police custody after she was arrested by men of the Onikan Police station, Punch reports.

According to Idowu, she was arrested on Tuesday 14th April after her boss, Ms Idowu Pelumi had laid a complaint at the police station accusing her of bringing a male friend to her restaurant to pass the night. Narrating her story, Akinwunmi said;
"I work at an eatery on Keffi Street, Obalende, as a cook. The eatery also has a tailor’s shop in the compound and it belongs to the same person. There is also a quarters where we all live in the compound. Most of the workers are from Cotonou, Benin Republic. On Monday, a popular customer, known as Friday, came to eat. He later left, but some moments later, he returned to say he could not get a bus home. Friday had been making advances at me, but we were not a couple. I allowed him to sleep over."
When her boss found out that Friday had slept at her restaurant, she got the police to arrest both Idowu and Friday. And that was where her nightmare began. Dear Lagos State police commissioner, hope you will look into this matter. Continue...

Unveil the mystery of Swatch in the Swatch Mystery Promotion!

From Thursday, the 17th of  April, 2014, you can  get the second Swatch wristwatch with just N5,000 Only! Yes, N5000! Promo available in the following Swatch stores across the country. See them after the cut...

Pics: Kcee gets 2013 Benz G-Wagon from brother as birthday gift

Oh my! Limpopo crooner Kcee turned a year older today 18th April and got a surprise birthday gift from his brother, the CEO of Five Star Music, Emeka Okonkwo aka E-money, in the early hours of this morning. E-money presented Kcee with a brand new luxury red 2013 G63 G Wagon as birthday present. Wow! Congrats and happy birthday to Kcee. See more photos and a video after the cut...

The Forbes Five: Meet Hip-Hop's Wealthiest Artists 2014

According to Forbes, Diddy, Dr Dre, Jay Z, Birdman and 50 cent are the richest Hip Hop artists in the world currently...in that order. Didddy is now worth $700million. Wow! See the full report below...
Back in 2007, Sean “Diddy” Combs teamed with Jay Z and 50 Cent to create a song titled “I Get Money: Forbes 1-2-3 Billion Dollar Remix.” Less than a decade later, rappers are closing in on ten-figure fortunes, and he’s the nearest of the bunch.
Diddy leads the pack with an estimated fortune of $700 million, an increase of $120 million over his net worth last year. The change comes largely from the addition of Revolt TV—the new, music-focused, multi-platform channel of which he’s the majority owner—to his already-hefty portfolio.

Get 50% discount on all wines from Shaayo.com this Easter

It's the Easter Season again and our official beverage partner is giving 50% discount on all wines ordered on Shaayo.com from now till the next one week, so guys what are you waiting for? Go to www.shaayo.com/ and start ordering now. 

Shaayo.com is an online drink store that meets your needs anytime, any day weather you are ordering for your personal consumption, Weddings, Events, House parties or birthdays you are sure they would deliver superior drinks to You. Happy Easter Celebration.