"Artists who show off online are asking for trouble"- Etcetera says | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 18 April 2014

"Artists who show off online are asking for trouble"- Etcetera says

Reacting to Alibaba's position on the advantages of Nigerian celebrities showing off their possessions online, Etcetera said he doesn't agree with the practice.

Speaking with Punch, the singer said celebs who do this are asking for trouble.
"I think that artistes who are in the habit of posting expensive items on social media should tread carefully because of the present situation in the country. If they continue to do this, they might be asking for trouble. Also, artistes, who prefer to have their names on the license plates of their cars, had better watch it. If their colleagues in the United States do these things, it doesn’t mean it is okay to do so in Nigeria.”

104 comments:

Very true

#true talk#

#true talk#

#true talk#

You are a very intelligent guy. Let them continue, they want to compare Nigeria to America? i also pity them and their family.

Dis guy makes me sick

They re askingfor their wrist to be cut off.

Have you ever seen Bill gate showing off his wealth acquisition online, or Dangote or mark Zukerberg, or Roman Abramovich, the list is endless, this are matured men that their money speaks for them. They don't need to show off online for people to know they are reach, most celebrities are living larger than life, larger than they are worth

We might seem happy but deep down Nigerians are angry and very envious. But will never admit it.

Exactly. Tell dem "fishbrains"

Abegy dis guy should go n sit down joor. U will overdo if u were in dier shoes

Exactly. Tell dem "fishbrains"

It's true....

miriam-generous said...

Etcetera said it all, it is just the truth. you can become envy of others by showing off, life is not guaranteed talk of in nigeria.

Nwa Aba said...

Who is this guy? i don't know his songs

IF You Gat It, Flaunt It Jari!!

……………..
¤GROWN MAN IN A YOUNG BODY¤

sarah isaac said...

Show off is allowed to encourage people to work hard so that they can live the life they want..work hard and show off..do it in a way to encourage others, not to make them feel bad and discouraged they can't make it in life...linda showed off her new lv bag dis morning..i like the bag...happy easter bloghearts

IF You Gat It, Flaunt It Jari! It Gives Hope To Those Of Us Hoping To Hammer!! Lol

……………..
¤GROWN MAN IN A YOUNG BODY¤

ONE HUNDRED KAY said...

Atleast u don tell them

Showing off is a personal choice, i personally hardly do it but i Dnt see anything wrong in showing of ur riches if u feel u want to or Shud, i dnt get y I'll b bothered if linda ikeji posts d price tag of her bag on IG,it's not my business, wetin consine me if davido posts pics of his business class ticket on IG,pple shud learn to b liberal abeg,

whitefalcon said...

My brother, abeg tell them. Fly wey no dey hear something, dey follow dead body enter grave.

For their mind,dem dey show their achievement but real guys don't show off, they carry prestigious aura and command respect.

Toesyn said...

God bless you. I don't think we share the same culture with the white so I see no reason why our celebrities should show off their expensive stuffs online. If armed robbers attack them now dem go dey cry.

Ye ye I agree with him. This is Naija

dats ballz

Well said, for Alibaba who by far has always been under the radar now saying this....one must wonder y? he wants to show off so bad but his age wont let him or hes just experiencing material mid lie crisis.

Linda,i saw your LV bag u showed too...cute tho

Bitter truth!

Dave Gino (dave_gino) said...

You're 'OYO' (ON YOUR OWN) Mr lecturer. Its their wealth, let them broadcast it the way they want. (They wanna be seen as the big boyz/gurlz). But come to think of it. I think there's a tiny exposure to what you have said. La.

Ermm....so what is his point
¤¤¤Excel

CEOchrissamuel said...

You have spoken like a true son of the soil.What a valid point?

Attention seeker!...Every sensible person knows that it's not only immature but also risky; bad belle dey everywhere.

Thank you joor,tell the idiots,Chika Ike and co

Wow, is so obvious he doesnt have the money and properties to show off, bcos those show off is part of being an artiste... Constant show off will always put an artiste in the eye of media, he will become more famous and definately increase his fan base bcos people will be eager to hear ur music to judge yu and through that process yu might surprise them and thats it.... no wonder i dont even knw him, so man what yu really need is SHOW OFF if yu want to succeed in the industry....

Is he not right?

Gbam!!! he talk sense jare

I think you speak sense here bro. Diffrents country with diffrents culture. Is not must ll should do everything white people do. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

If not for SHOW OFF who for knw maheeda... My frnd go slp abeg or go start doing some SHOWING OFF.....

The are just depreciating what they post

Emekasblog said...

you wat are you doing just now ? Are you not saying this from your gurter just to attracte attention? Allow them maybe that's what makes them who they are. do yours pls. Am getting beast off

CLASSICGAL said...

U'r hundred percent right bro! Datz y arm robber's attacks most of em...CHEAP ATTENTION SEEKER'S...TSW

petlife said...

U talk well Ooo, make area boys no cum take advantage of their show up take hit dem.

Desperate fame seeker

I believe and concur buh how e take be ur headache? Park well!

Obafemi martins and davido der own s much

Some people would say he is a pained man talking. But whatever his reasons are, he did not expound on them. Fact is, Nigerian celebs don't have body guards. Imagine if a crazy fan came their way or someone who just didn't like their singing or acting, or someone out for a victim?

Mwaha.

Yea,he has a point but then its there problem too,so dnt beat yourself up about it Sir,

Dat Alibaba of a man is jst too petty. Old man in small brain
$$k@y$$

This guy don blow..second feature on here in less than a week.

Pharm Godwin said...

Tell them ooo, my brother. The days are evil.

I agree with him on this but lately he's been talking too much.

Na all of Una sabi...

kidykuz said...

Post urs 2...can gve u a car 2 pst..if u want

I fink him has a point dia. Buh let me ask oh! Wot's his pblm all abt? Abi na attention seeker cos me no knw dz guy o!

Efemena Sowho said...

I totally agree wt him tho...#Tru_talk

This guy just want attention by all means.

you of all people? Shaking my head

Yes! I think he is right.

This guy is just a low life bitch. I use to know him when he was always staying in surulere. In basket mouths house. Begging for food. hate guys that talks to much. He just wants to be noticed. That's all. Is career is fucking dead. Dude get a life.

Esp here in Naija where boys are not smiling at all. It is well. Although, I like show off sha, but not a freak.

Wise man

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Well to an extent I quite agree with you.. But I also feel you are looking for publicity.. Just saying..

Yes, they shld b careful cos there r bad people out there who can break into their homes... I didn't even know freeze had so much money to spend on watches. Hmmm. Linda post my comment oooo

Bizzy body... Hu ask am 4 advice ?

Nigga get a life!!!!!

Linda ikeji will soon make u popular I guess that's ur utmost wish

Nigga get a life!!!!!

Yh I do agree too.... U never show off, u hv enemies let alone when u do

I agree with him... But its their choice!

Google is your friend.

*rich*

queen.blinks@yahoo.com said...

Jealousy see your face like etcetera, taa gbafuo!

He is one of the best Alternative Rock Musician in Nigeria.

JOKES/YAB ASIDE, HE IS RIGHT!

YOU ARE SPOT ON POINT. I FEEL THOSE THAT DO IT HAVE REALLY SUFFERED IN THE PAST. BUT UR ADVICE IS THE BEST.

See this broke ass Mofo. Its called SHOW bizness. Go look bush. Mumu!

Laughing my buttocks off, what's "reach". You mean rich right and nope you didn't make a mistake. You blatantly can't spell.

U just like seeking for notice, u want linda ikeji to make u popular, abeg go hide joor,

Holy Guy said...

Etcetera is very sensitive to the past,current and seeming future of Nigeria unless God saves the nation. But the insensitive dudes in society will never see it this way cos they are too self centered and myopic in thinking to think broad and all inclusive.

God bless this guy. Alibaba was going on like a retard there for a sec.

Janelicious said...

He is right

Then nxt tym try post urs too,mayb dt ur chopstick jeans.

Hmmmmm...he's so self righteous I could choke! What's his business??? #if I like I spend my money any way I like it o...no come near me mr toku toku#in orishefemi's voice DacDuchess!

ikeji said...

Do they need to show off online? Deir yatchts n private jets nko...let evri1 spend his or her money as he or she deems fit..

zeenee said...

Linda, wot's wt u n dis Excetera guy sef? He's jst looking for cheap popularity wt his controversial post and u r bent on giving him one...as if he wnt do worse if he's got some change.

Instead of showing off all these xpensive stuff, why not divert some of these monies to orphanages and d needy. Borrow a leaf 4rm MJ d king of pop.

E71 said...

why b say na kopi kopi we naija artiste and comedians bin like to day do ehn. my broda etcetera don tok the truth finish.

na hin una hia so... na E71 tok am

Etc u talk sense this tym arnd

Anyway,he has a point.its not ok 2 show off,but its a personal choice,if they want to show off,they are free,but when something negative happens to them,they should be ready for the consequences.

He's right. A celeb with sense.

If i ve it and i feel lyk flaunting it,its nobody's bizz. Talk to my hand! *Flora*

This is for Linda and her untamed whore sisters.

ivete sangalo said...

"alternative" being the keyword here.

I agree with you and the guy. Ali Baba is having a midlife crisis. We understand.

Maybe you've contacted Ebola Virus. Did you go to Guinea or any other West African country?

Ure such a fool show off is gud to encourage people to work hard jus listen to ur self,idiot very shallow mind

I feel dt these guys shld stop being childish. O yes it good to live a good life, u don't need to flaunt it before we know it is there. Imagine me and others pay 5k each to attend ur show, u gather all these monies and buy expensive things and put it on line. Come on what are u trying to say, pple are wise these days. I suggest these celebs invest wisely rather than showing off cos u guys are indirectly telling ur fans dt ur more than them. Abii una no need our patronage again? Save and use ur assets wisely, I no wan make Linda to put any notice for assistance to any celebrity oh. I have said my mind.

stormz said...

Mehn....is nt a bad thng to show wat u gat they ar celebrities so. U hav to celebrate dem

Its true, he who have ear let him hear

♚KVNG ZINNY♚ said...

LoooooL dis nigga is trying 2 hard!
U got a song u wanna drop soon?
QUIT ALREADY!!!
Inasmuch as ur opinion was candid its still really irrelevant cos in d end NOBODY cares........or chill i remember MALTINA does care pppfftt!!

These and not this

This your trip to Jupiter don tey ooo.

Show-off or not! is their biz.Nig has got more important and critical issue.....men and material thns

OLUWÆßÖßßÝ

attention seeker oshi