Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 01/13/2013 - 01/20/2013

Saturday 19 January 2013

Bulgarian politician survives assasination attempt on Live TV

Ahmed Dogan, leader of a liberal party which represents the Turkish minority in Bulgaria, survived the astonishing assassination attempt while giving a speech at a conference in the capital Sofia (left). Television footage shows a man storming the stage and aiming a gun at his head. But the weapon misfired and Mr Dogan, 58, escaped unharmed. Security guards and delegates then wrestle the man to the ground and began beating and kicking him. The 25-year-old suspect was led away covered in blood (right). Watch the video after the cut...

Dozens of bodies found floating on Anambra River

Dozens of Unidentified bodies numbering over 40 were on Saturday found floating on Ezzu River at Amansea, a town on the border between Anambra and Enugu states on Saturday.

The situation generated panic across the state as people wondered where the bodies could have come from.

The Anambra State Assistant Police Public Relations Officer, Mr. Emeka Chukwuemeka, confirmed the story but said investigations into the matter had commenced. (Punch)

Karrueche Tran poses with anti-Rihanna shirts

Chris Brown's ex Karrueche was seen posing next to model wearing an anti-Rihanna t-shirt after debuting her clothing line,The Kill, in Atlanta last night. Photos of the tees read 'Hi Karrueche" with Rihanna's name crossed out and a sexy photo of Karrueche printed on it. Karrueche later took to twitter to say she's not responsible for the shirt, nor did ‘The Kill’ produce it. 
She wrote:
I have absolutely no involvement w any shirt w my picture on it nor are they apart of The Kill. I think that’s kind of corny, no disrespect. But I’d never produce a shirt like that. I have no control of what other people do.
See another photo after the cut...

Cancer patient Funmi Lawal loses one arm to cancer, needs your help

Funmi Lawal is the UNILAG law graduate who was diagnosed with malignant sarcoma, a kind of cancer at the shoulder region. We raised money for her on LIB last August...she was the one Don Jazzy donated N2million to. You can read more about her HERE.

Funmi was able, through your kindness, to raise the money she needed for her treatment and went for her surgery in the UK last year. She contacted me today with the news that her surgery was successful but her left arm had to be amputated to save her life. See Funmi's email below. Please read...
I want to thank the people of Nigeria for their donations, I am really grateful. I underwent the surgery at the Royal Orthopaedic Hospital Birmingham. It was done three different times; the 11th, 12th and 18th. 
The surgery was very successful, glory be to God that I am alive today and there is no trace of cancer in my body again. But my left hand was amputated because it was the best thing to do in order to save my life and prevent the cancer from spreading.
Read the rest after the cut...but please be warned, there's a photo there that some of you might find disturbing. Continue...

Top fashion blogger, Bryan Boy, claims Kanye West is gay

It's probably BS but quite a number of people are taking his claims quite seriously because Bryan Boy is one of the most popular and most respected fashion bloggers in the world. He was dubbed by Vogue editor-in-chief Anna Wintour as the 4th most influential fashion writer online. Some top designers invite him specially to see their collection before they showcase it...so he's a really big deal in the fashion scene...plus he's gay!

Bryan Boy claimed on Twitter yesterday that Kanye's gay lover is Riccardo Tisci, the creative director of Givenchy, and the creator of the cover art of Kanye and Jay Z's album 'Watch The Throne', plus Riccardo was one of the people who influenced Kanye's foray into fashion. Bryan Boy also doesn't believe that Kim is having Kanye's baby. See his Tweets below

I personally don't believe him...do you?

The attack on Emir of Kano

Men on motorbike and in a car this afternoon attacked the convoy of the Emir of Kano, Ado Bayero, at Masalaci Murtala area of Kano. The Emir was returning from a ceremony at a mosque when the men opened fire on his convoy. The Emire survived the attack, but his driver and two guards were killed.

No group has taken responsibility for the attack...

"My first introduction to sex was rape' - Foluke Daramola reveals

Actress Foluke Daramola told Punch:
My first introduction to sex was rape. It was with one of our tenants. I got so close to him and saw him as an elder brother. He looked at me as someone that had been exposed because I was busty and he thought I had had a sexual experience before. So he had his way with me. Then it was not something you tell the whole world. Then they tried to make trouble with him but subsequently people said we should keep quiet about it. We had to try and manage it in our own way even though it affected me for a long time psychologically. I had to gradually get over it. I believed so much in the principle of keeping your virginity till you are married. I started showbiz from Teen TV on DBN with Chichi Okaro. Then I used to be so vocal and when we spoke about pre-marital sex and virginity, I was always so passionate about it. It was such a disadvantage and a pity for me.

You've seen the Police College, now see police residential quarters

This is a police barrack. This is so sad! See more photos after the cut...

AFCON 2013: Pepsi Nigeria to give 3 day all expense paid trip to SA

Here is your chance to win a 3 day all-expense paid trip to South Africa where the Africa Cup Of Nations (AFCON) will hold. Pepsi Nigeria will be giving away return tickets to South Africa, Ipad 3, Iphone 5, Beats By Dre headphones, Ice Wrist watches and loads of other exciting prizes. 

To participate, simply go to Pepsi Nigeria FaceBook page on https://www.facebook.com/PepsiNigeria  and share your predictions to win, you can also predict on you mobile phones by clicking on http://bit.ly/pepsigame.  

It is never a dull moment with Pepsi Nigeria, just after the completion of ‘’VOICE YOUR DREAMS’’ lyrical challenge where winners emerged and won 150,000 cash prize and other exciting prizes,  here is your chance to win big, don’t be left out.

For more information, visit: https://www.facebook.com/PepsiNigeria 

Singer Kas offers $2,000 to anyone who finds his missing camera

The camera is not worth $2, 000 but the UK based Nigerian singer is offering that amount to anyone who finds the missing camera. He said he lost it in December at a Night club.
Kas said:
"That digital camera contains my private stuff that I am not ready to share with the public. I’ll give $2,000 to anyone or group of persons who are in its possession,”
Some mischievous people are alleging that there are some nude photos of the fimile crooner and a Nollywood actress in the camera, that's why he's so desperate to get it back. Haha! Hmmmm...wonder who the actress is?

Photos: President Jonathan at Police College, Ikeja

President Jonathan yesterday afternoon made a surprise visit to the Police College, Ikeja, days after Channels TV exposed the shameful state of the college. The president was actually on his way to an ECOWAS meeting in the Ivory Coast when his plane was diverted to Ikeja.

He immediately proceeded on an inspection tour of the hostels, college kitchen, dining hall and the Officers’ Mess. Then he demanded to know how Channels TV gained access to the college to film the embarrassing condition of the college. No one had an answer for him. He promised to revamp the college after declaring that the documentary by Channels was a smear campaign.
He said:
“This is a calculated attempt to damage the image of this government. The Police College, Ikeja is not the only training institution in Nigeria"
Imagine! How is it a smear campaign? See more photos after the cut...

Jim Iyke shows off six pack

Every time I write about this dude he comes after me on Twitter, but I must do my job na...lol. Nice body!

Cossy Orjiakor covers up in new photos...

See another photo after the cut...

The battle for Nigerian Idol top spot begins as the top 30 battle it out

The third season of the ever popular music reality show, Nigerian Idol is up to a promising start as the show enters the top thirty stage. This stage will see ten contestants battle it out every week for three weeks and then a wild card show with some of the old contestants given the opportunity to make it into the next stage of the show. Twelve in total will emerge victorious and go on to the core elimination stage of the show.

Friday 18 January 2013

Don Jazzy and younger brother set up diesel supply company

The Mavin CEO and his younger brother James Collins have set up a diesel supply company called Mavin Energy Limted. James is the Chief Executive Officer of the company. According to their website, Mavin Energy is a 24hours door to door diesel delivery service which supplies diesels to homes, small/medium scale businesses, with also the intention to supply to public establishments, large industries, construction companies, power companies and both Federal/State Parastatals and Agencies. Read more about their operation on their website mavinenergy.com

Hilarious video: What gay guys think about Vaginas

A group of gay guys are asked about their thoughts on Vaginas and well, let's say they have a lot to say about it. Hilarious! Watch

Cossy Orjiakor replies blogger who wrote an open letter to her and Tonto Dikeh

A blogger by the name Ngozi Kanwiro, wrote an open letter to actresses cum singers Cossy Orjiakor and Tonto Dikeh a few days ago about what she presumed was the reckless lifestyle of the two actresses. Cossy apparently didn't find it funny and has responded via her twitter page. See it below

See the open letter from Kanwiro after the cut...

Iroko TV boss buys wife Range Rover Evoque as 2nd anniversary gift

Jason Njoku and actress Mary Remmy met in January 2011 and got married in August 2012. Congrats to Mary!

Sexy EME first lady

Niyola is hot!

Pres Jonathan visits police college Ikeja, promises to revamp facilities at the school

Thank God for Channels TV and social media. If you haven't seen the deplorable state of the Police college, see it HERE

Nigeria set to break world record for largest football jersey in the world

Remember the Guinness 'Fly with the Eagles campaign’? Well we've been on about it all week. Here is the big news, Nigeria is set to enter the news again, and it is for something really positive and global. Guinness is offering all Nigerians a chance to be a part of history by coming out to demonstrate support for the Super Eagles in a BIG WAY! 

Naija, are you READY to make HISTORY? It’s time to be part of history; it’s a record breaking attempt by Nigeria. We are set to break the world record for the largest football jersey in the world and Guinness is the one making this happen. You get to write your messages of support to the Super Eagles on this massive jersey, so come be a part of history by leaving your mark on the record breaking jersey  at the Teslim Balogun Stadium Surulere Lagos on  Monday 21st through Friday 25th, 2013. See more after the cut...

What is wrong with this photo?

*Covers face* :-).
Meanwhile, this is Wale Gates, UK based Nigerian comedian

Who owns this mansion in Abuja?

Who owns this mansion opposite Hilton in Abuja? This edifice is worth hundreds of millions of Naira and everybody is asking who the heck owns it or what the heck it is...

I trust my readers, Oya tell us what you know about the building...

Segun Arinze writes to LIBers! :-)

A text message I got from star actor Segun Arinze this evening concerning comments on a previous posts - Segun Arinze and family cover magazine. He wants to set the record straight about some misconceptions. See it below...
Dear Linda, I want to thank you for having such a wonderful blog. Having said that, I want to say despite the fact that we have freedom of expression doesn't give people the liberty to be reckless with words without verifying facts first. Someone said my wife cut across as someone rude. That's a big lie! She's the most courteous person you can think of. Sometimes people like to take the piss.
Now my full names are Segun Aina Padonou. My father, though late, was Yoruba from Badagry.  My mum is Ibo. Arinze is the Ibo name given to me by my mum. So I used it as Pseudonym. That's why you have Segun Arinze. And as at the last time I looked in the mirror, I didn't see any ugly Segun. No human has a right to call another ugly because you ain't God. You can't give life so don't curse or swear. Once again thanks Linda 

2face, Rita Dominic, Folorunsho Alakija, others at Future Awards National Conference

The organisers of The Future Awards have announced the date of its annual conference (previously titled The Do-Something Pre-Awards Conference), convened to facilitate practical and direct knowledge exchange for young entrepreneurs, professionals, innovators and creatives.

The renamed National Enterprise Conference, now in its fifth year, will hold on Saturday, January 26, 2013, at the main auditorium of University of Lagos, Yaba.

Super Eagles Squad for African Cup of Nations 2013

Forwards: Ahmed Musa ( CSKA Moscow, Russia); Emmanuel Emenike (Spartak Moscow, Russia); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Sunday Mba (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria); Ikechukwu Uche (Villarreal FC, Spain); Brown Ideye (Dynamo Kyiv, Ukraine); Ejike Uzoenyi (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria)

Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Nosa Igiebor (Real Betis, Spain); Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); Obiora Nwankwo (Calcio Padova, Italy); Fegor Ogude (Valerenga FC, Norway); Reuben Gabriel (Kano Pillars, Nigeria);

Defenders: Elderson Echiejile (SC Braga, Portugal); Juwon Oshaniwa (Ashdod FC, Israel); Joseph Yobo (Fenerbahce, Turkey); Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC, Scotland); Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves, Nigeria); Kenneth Omeruo (ADO Den Haag, Netherlands); Godfrey Oboabona (Sunshine Stars, Nigeria)

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel); Austin Ejide (Hapoel Be’er Sheba, Israel); Chigozie Agbim (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria)

Glamour model Katie Price marries for the third time...to a stripper

British glamour model, Katie Price, 34, has married for the third time. The mother of three married part-time stripper and body builder, Kieran Hayler, 25, after dating him for just one month, at the Sandals Royal Bahamian Resort and Spa in the Bahamas on Wednesday January 16th.
"This is only my third marriage. I did my own Pricey Marriage Survey and discovered I was in good company. Joan Collins has been married five times, Liz Taylor did eight and Zsa Zsa Gabor nine. So there! I get stick, but no one has picked on them for all the marriages they’ve had.”she told UK Sun
Katie was previously married to singer, Pete Andre and cage fighter, Alex Reid.

Miss World vs Miss Universe

It's really a waste of time trying to convince me that any black woman is more beautiful than Agbani. lol. But just for fun let's do this! A LIB reader wrote to me and said former Miss Universe, Leila Lopes is the most beautiful black woman ever! #talktothehands :-)

So what do you guys think? Miss World 2001, Agbani Darego from Nigeria (30, The first black African Miss World) or Miss Universe 2011, Leila Lopes from Angola (26, the fourth African to win Miss Universe) ?

Photos from AGN president, Ibinabo Fiberesima's birthday party

Ini Edo, Chidi Mokeme, Rita Dominic, Stephanie Okereke Linus, Omotola Jalade Ekeinde, Desmond Elliot, Genevieve Nnaji, Monalisa Chinda, Uche Jombo, Mike Ezuruonye, Ramsey Noah, 2face Idibia, Klint De Drunk were all there to celebrate with Ibinabo Fiberesima. The party took place at Chesney Hotel, Victoria Island. See more photos after the cut...

Lance Armstrong admits doping to Oprah

Lance Armstrong told Oprah during the first of a two-part interview Thursday night, that he doped throughout his career and might not have been caught if not for his comeback in 2009. His longtime friend and training partner George Hincapie, who was along for the ride on all his Tour de France wins from 1999-2005, was forced to give him up to anti-doping authorities.

Lance also admitted that he was the ring leader of the US Postal Service doping team .
''I'm a flawed character,'' he said.
Did it feel wrong? Oprah asked
''No,'' Armstrong replied. ''Scary.''
''Did you feel bad about it?'' Winfrey pressed him.
''No,'' he said. ''Even scarier.''
''Did you feel in any way that you were cheating?''
''No,'' Armstrong paused. ''Scariest.''
''I went and looked up the definition of cheat. And the definition is to gain an advantage on a rival or foe. I didn't view it that way. I viewed it as a level playing field.''
See more after the cut...

Thursday 17 January 2013

Knorr Taste Quest- Nigeria’s new cooking show on TV!

Knorr Taste Quest TV Show, from Unilever Nigeria Plc, has finally hit our TV screens. I had been hearing about a new cooking show on TV, and I’ve finally found out about it. About 12 contestants comprising eight females and four males are jostling for the grand prize of a brand new car and N1million as well as cooking equipments.

Similarly, the 1st runner-up will get N1m cash prize and kitchen equipments, while the 2nd runner up will win N500, 000 and kitchen equipments.  Meanwhile, all 12 contestants would go home with different kitchen equipments and could also win cash vouchers if they win any of the special tasks. 

Shameful: See inside the Nigerian Police College, Lagos

I have no words to describe this, but thankfully they say pictures tell a thousand words. This is the deplorable state of the Nigeria Police College, Ikeja, Lagos...the first police college in the country, built in 1940.

Channels TV exposed the deplorable conditions of the dormitories at the training college where recruits spend months to get training to become police officers. The condition of the hostels, the bathrooms, and even the way they feed is so shameful. N150 daily meal allowance. There has been no major development at the college since it was built in the 40's except for a few renovations. They even still use type-writer. The College was built for 700 students, but now has 2,554 trainees. See for yourself after the cut...

Is this inappropriate?

Bishop Larry Trotter, a senior pastor of the Sweet Holy Spirit Church in Chicago posted this photo of himself and his 4year old granddaughter in a bathtub on his Instagram page.

A number of people went ham on the popular Bishop after the photo was posted online. Many feel it's inappropriate interactions with a minor because they are both topless in the photo. One person wrote
No man should ever ever ever take a bath with a female in his family or friends. That’s only for a man and his wife! This is totally inappropriate behavior!
The bishop defended himself by saying that while taking a bubble bath, his grand daughter, who was visiting with her parents for the weekend, came in the bathroom and asked him if she could get in the tub. He said yes, and it was the girl's mother who took the photograph. Is it inappropriate?