Shamed cyclist Lance Armstrong confesses doping to Oprah | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 15 January 2013

Shamed cyclist Lance Armstrong confesses doping to Oprah

How he got away with this for many years is beyond me. After more than a decade of denying doping claims, cyclist Lance Armstrong has admitted to Oprah that he used performance-enhancing drugs to help him win seven Tour de France titles. A person familiar with the situation told the Associated Press that Armstrong confessed to Oprah Winfrey during an interview taping, which is slated to air on Thursday on her network. 

Armstrong was stripped of all seven Tour titles and banned for life last year by a U.S. Anti-Doping Agency after it was discovered that he used performance enhancement drugs to win.

He had a meeting last month with US Anti-Doping Agency officials, and they said they were willing to reduce his life ban if he would testify against the people who helped him dope.

60 comments:

That is just the way it is sometimes. I dont feel sorry for him!

hehhehe, Majek Fashek said it o! that u must have to be high on something to achieve success during games, performances and all...

chinedu akenzua said...

am not surprise, perhaps someday Usain Bolts will confess too...

This is really sad.
I pity the poor contestants that have been competing with him all this while. I can imagine the frustration. He was just using them sha. Lol
Check out these signs on how to tell if your girlfriend or boyfriend is using you on GISTville

This is really sad.
I pity the poor contestants that have been competing with him all this while. I can imagine the frustration. He was just using them sha. Lol
Check out these signs on how to tell if your girlfriend or boyfriend is using you on GISTville

Naijarian said...

Really disappointing but the fact of the matter Linda is, practically all the riders took drugs.

DATSHAPIBOBOY said...

Yeaah he cracked mehn. But wats d point since his medals were nt stripped of him. Talk of hypocritism.
Anam A chikwanu I huru ukwu eze m
Comment Signed, Sealed and Delivered by DATSHAPIBOBOY

Lance Armstrong was my man..He was really an inspiration, he battled with Cancer and came out victorious..How many ppl can testify to such an accomplishment..But Doping for 7 Years is a really big shame, i must admit. Well as the saying goes "Never change a winning formula" which indeed he held on to. Such a poor and sad end to a illustrious Career.

segunsd said...

Many of dem dope up mehn. A lot can't compete without doping.

have you read the Golden Globes 2013 Makeup Trend : Subtle Vs Bold Lips on
naijaPOSE

bitchplis said...

Even though he cheated,but he'l still be remembered as d guy dat won 7 tour d france titles.

Wow!!! Just wow!!!

Na wa o for dis guy

aproko network said...

Now dis is news. Pls linda b updating us on national and international news lyk dis not irrelevant topics lyk psquare's son cuttin his hair or pictures of chika ike

neks said...

This is beyond confounding! To think that so many people today looked up to him as a role model n mentor! Alas, he was just a giant fraud! Tufia!

So he wasn't tested b4 each cycling event for 7 yrs??
D officials shud b banned 4 life 2!
I tot des athletes get tested b4 dey embark on any competion!
Wat a waste of 7 yrs!
*kmt*
Billie jean

4 many yrs esp in france armstrong has been accused of doping but dey never had proof so dis news no surprise me at all.Dsame tin happened 2 marion jones.I have no iota of pity 4 any of dem.Nemesis is a bitch

Linda you say what? Who him be na shuuuu

SUE JORDAN said...

HOW THE MIGHTY ARE INDEED FALLEN...

Eya Ayambem said...

A pity! Well Armstrong, since that one did not work out, you can learn a few simple and healthy Nigerian Meal Recipes at: www.wivestownhallconnection.com

Ohk! can we move 2 d next one pls.....

I don't think I can confess on tv about a doping case

It may take a while for karma to get you but it surely and most certainly will.

aprokoblog said...

Oohhh lance I still love u..to bits

Armstrong was an icon back then, sad how all the past glory turns to humiliation when caught with doping.

Firstly I reckon he should ve just kept quiet till he died cos many people still bliv he is innocent. Secondly dis oyinbo people 2 like drama jare, correct me if am wrong but doping just 'enhances' abi? So dem suppose free d guy jare cos "if u dnt ve, u simply dnt ve it" If dem like make dem dope person like me till d 'dope' start to commot 4 my ear n nose n mouth I nor fit ride bicycle reach my junction talkless of 2 win 'Tour de France'.......T.

Linda gbeborun.
The story is not yet confirmed.

Austin Uche said...

and to fink so many ppl like myself idolized dis dude is a big shame.... Dats why its always gud not to have a role model... Wen u aspire so much to b like sumone, it mite have its big side effects. Na wa o

Can u imagine? Dis dude denied me chances of winning dis tour du Naija.....oh sorry dis France? Lol

A last OWN will have ratings. I have no pity for him as he is only confessing cos he was found out.

Why are u crying now? All those yrs u were winning and going away with millions of dollars that is not yours, u did not know, crocodile tears!! I foresee something off these sort for so called politicians that have been ste

Many sport men & women use performanc enhancmnt drugs,so dey shuld jst legalis it,who wan kil himself wit dope is free

Pisces said...

Hahahaha...Americans,@"reduce his ban if he would testify against the people that helped him dope"....una no go kill me..why put d man in a fix after stripping him off his trophies...abeg they should reduce d life ban,he is not the first.

kennydgenius said...

well everyday is for the thief but one day for the owner but at least he confess...may God forgive him...

I'm so devastated lance armstrong is one athlete I look up to as a hero and source of inspiration words can't explain how I feel

Jesseballs said...

I wish life cld b dis simple. Own up wen u r caught or even confess to a crime before u r caught. Wallahi life for make sense. I feel for Lance though

A BIG SHAME ... DOPING FOR MANY YEARS AND NOW CONFESSING. IT DOES NOT MAKE ANY DIFFERENCE NOW EXCEPT DENYING THE INDIVIDUALS THAT WON EACH RACE OF THEIR GLORY.

http://applytojobs.blogspot.co.uk

Ebukah Emmanuel Nzeji said...

Bros Lance you are a man! You jonzed and yet you were still responsible enough by desiring to cleaned up your mess...hence,your coming out to seek a closure in your heart,to this matter. It doesnt matter what ppl say...yea,your life would be more different now cos you spoke the truth.so you have to bear it in good fate,you havent lost all. Jesus is by the corner waiting for you to make your repentance a wholesome one,by accepting him as your Lord and Saviour. If not THEY wont stop till THEY ruin you totally!

Don't hold your breath. He's said what we have already read and heard albeit in his own words.

Libel suits are on the way if he came clean with Oprah. He's extremely sharp and i'm sure he's a tad cautious with what he revealed.

He will rope in the UCI who covered it up for so long. Then, the ICI will want him to come and testify. I see this dragging on.

"Oprah: I would say [Lance Armstrong] did not come clean in the manner I had expected. It was surprising to me."

Minxy said...

Nooooo don't snitch o!

Man can never be trusted!

They should give Lance Amstrong a break. Is he the only one that takes drugs....

LANCE JNR said...

HABA LANCE NWOKEM, WHY START SOMETHING YOU COULDN'T SEE TO THE END? YOU SHOULD HAVE COME TO NIGERIA FIRST TO GET PROPER TUTORIALS ON HOW TO LIE AND DIE LYING BEFORE GETTING ON THAT LYING TRAIN!! IT'S THE ONLY WAY O BCOS WE ARE THE MASTERS OF 'LIE TILL YOU DIE!!" NO PITY FOR YOU AT ALL.

This ppl can confess sha!

hmmmmm why is a writing like a writing desk think my people hmmmmmm

why the sudden urge to confess? well Lance its over lesson learnt never build anything on a lie

you funny o....

Lance how does humiliation taste eh? Remember my girl cheryl crowe? U tossed her away and said u did not want kids. Guess u tot she was an old biddy gunning for marriage. So u left her for another girl and gbozaaaaa, u had a baby with that one. Serves u right mudafucka!!!!

Oprah Winfrey......"Mother confessor"........abi how she dey make dis people confess? Lol.

Ehya..oprah asked him abt 11equestion...she too is in awe on hw he did it.

U peeps are missing d point he wants to come clean so dat he can compete again in d nxt tri~thon...a lot of wash in dis shit.

****Mufasa Said said...

Shut up and read the article before posting ur comment u dull ibo lunatic child!if linda wants us to reply in ibo language she will post in one so quit trying to impress urself wt ur tribalised comment! Goat=EWU (as u may understand it)!

****Mufasa Said

halleykeys said...

Eyaaaaa dis is sad tho,y did he confess nyway???americans sef smh

Pls lets all log on to d website and learn these healthy Nigerian dishes so we can hear word.

Anon January 15, 2013 at 8:39 PM; only if he does it under oath will he be able to take part in whatever sports he wants to. Talking to Oprah wasn't done under oath.

Lol.....u no go kill person o.....aggressive marketing

Linda what do you mean by this and I quote "How he got away with this for many years is beyond me".your Nigerian leaders are busy looting the nations wealth daily and Lance's drug usage is beyond you? Ordinary light una no get for Naija, please don't be a hypocrite ok? After all they all used drugs, Lance was just caught. Ten years from now someone else will come out and confess. This guy raised up to $500 million for cancer research did u know that? Your leaders theft is not beyond you na Lance drug use naim dey beyond u abi? Naime tear ur pant?

VICTOR EKEANYANWU said...

.....and where did u get ur own news from??? Because this is not what OPrah said

alvin olufisayo said...

Sure!Usain bolt wil denounce his romance with drugs on linda's blog soon!

This story has not been confirmed...