Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 2014

Wednesday 31 December 2014

Photo: Davido, his dad and siblings storm Dubai to welcome the new year

Great stuff!

Dear LIB readers, how was your 2014? Mine was amazeballs!

Mine was amazing! More than amazing! Most of my dreams came true. The only thing I didn't get that I'd prayed for was a husband...lol. I mean, there were a few men but nobody that I wanted to commit to but I'm hopeful for 2015. That's the year for finding love and having sex...plenty of it! *wink* (with only one person o) Lol. Oh dear! I can't wait I swear...It's been so long! Anyway, enough about me, what about you? How was your 2014? Did you have an incredible year? OK year? Shitty year? Looking forward to 2015?

Stage is Set For Lagos Countdown Tonight

After all the hype around Lagos Countdown, the day is finally here. The show will feature 'A-listers' performers such as M.I, 2baba, Olamide, Wizkid, Iyanya, Seyi Shey, Daddy Showkey, Shina Pters, Iyanya and more. Gbenga Adeyinka, Fade Ogunro and Jimmie. DJ Jimmy and a host of others will be on the wheel of steel dishing out tunes after tunes to make the countdown into new year a memorable one and the early hour of 2015 an entertaining one.

Lagos Countdown which is put together by LASAA will be televise live on DSTV Channel 199 and Television Continental (TVC). The venue of the event is Bar Beach, Lagos.

Two Germans killed in Nigeria

Two German Nationals have been shot dead in Nigeria. According to German newspaper, Ostsee Zeitung, the two nationals, both male aged 34 and 20 were working as engineers at Julius Berger and were shot dead last Saturday December 27th while riding on a motorbike in Abuja.

Confirming the incident to AFP, a foreign affairs official said “Unfortunately we can confirm that two German nationals were killed in Nigeria last weekend".

Looks like Timaya just acquired a new home

He posted the pic above of that lovely house and wrote that below....

See what the mother of the transgender teen who killed herself wrote on Facebook

17 year old Leelah (Josh) Alcorn committed suicide on Sunday December 28th by walking in front of a tractor trailer and left a suicide note before he died. But when her mum reacted to her death on Facebook, she wrote something that many folks in the gay/transgender world are very upset about. First the mother said she was 16 when Leelah wrote she was 17. Carla called her Joshua instead of the name she'd given herself, Leelah and she also refused to acknowledge that Leelah had committed suicide instead she wrote that she was hit by a trailer. Meaning that she still doesn't accept who Leelah was as a person even after she committed suicide. After the backlash, Carla deleted the post and removed herself from Facebook. Leelah Alcorn blamed his suicide on his Christian parents...

New Music: Caesar - Ashawo

Novonia Records presents Caesar's "Ashawo", the Edo state born singer and song writer who started singing at the age of 12, and was recently signed to Novonia Records. His music is influenced by the greats likes of Majek Fashek, Buju Banton, Movado but he's an extremely versatile artiste with the ability to infuse different genre's in his music, although he is a Dancehall artiste. Caesar debuts with a catchy song called "ashawo". The song was produced by Armeiz and mixed/mastered by Suka Sounds. Listen after the cut...

Miss Black Africa UK & other queens release 2015 charity calendar

British/Nigerian model and 2014 Miss Black Africa UK winner Jacqueline Ilumoka (pictured left) alongside other finalists of the 2014 Miss Black Africa UK have released stunning 2015 charity calendar to raise money for handicapped children in Africa. See pics from the calendar after the cut...

Y'all need to leave this girl alone o...lol

She's trying to leave all the negative stuff behind but they won't let her be..lol. See the hilarious remix of her pics after the cut...

Photos: Khloe Kardashian steps out in killer LBD

Khloe Kardashian looked stunning in a little black sequined dress as she hosted a pre-New Year's Eve party at 1OAK Nightclub inside the Mirage Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas on Tuesday Dec. 30th.

The Kitchen: 24 Free Meals Daily

Wishing you the very best of the Season! It’s the season of love so we are giving out 24 free meals daily, 24 hours of the day till the end of January 2015

Call now or walk into our restaurant and stand a chance to win big in our 24 Free Meals Daily Promo. Enjoy 20% off all catering orders (events, meetings, birthday parties, bowls of soup, stew and many more) till 31st January 2015

Imagine this! God is great!

Speechless. And there are people who lost their lives in the accident. Begin to count your blessings!

Pic: D'banj sleeps next to his Best Africa Collaboration 2014 plaque

D'banj and other stars he collaborated with won Best Africa Collaboration for Cocoa Na Chocolate at the recently held All Africa Music Award. List of nominees in his category below...
David O and Mafikizolo (Tchelete)
Diamond platnumz ft david o(number one)
Uhuru ft Dj bucks,Oskido, Professor and uri-da-cunh (Y-tjukutja)
Dbanj and Friends (cocoa Na Chocolate)
Mavins/don jazzy (dorobucci )

See him lying next to his plaque, with his chains and Rolex watch also chilling...:-)

Photo: Kcee's manager Soso Soberekon shows off his N150k Loubs

When you are big, you are big! :-)

New music: Onyinye Osadebe - Nwata Nwanyi ft Vector & Dialect‏‎

Onyinye Osadebe, the newly crowned prince of high life music and Morgan Entertainment artiste teams up with Nigeria's finest rapper Vector and Dialect bringing sweet melody to spice this track which was created during their recent visit to Osadebe's palace. Listen below...

A New Year message to Nigeria’s youth from Muhammadu Buhari

...and here's Gen. Buhari's New Year message to Nigerian youths...
As we welcome the year 2015, I have shared a message to Nigerians in general, but I find it crucial to send another message directly to Nigeria’s youth, who are the major stakeholders of this enterprise.
The year 2014 was a challenging one for most citizens of our dear country.

After darkness, a glorious dawn beckons for Nigeria by Bola Tinubu

Text of the New Year message to Nigerians by the National Leader of the APC, Bola Tinubu...
As we enter a New Year today, it is all too easy to give in to despair and despondency at the current state of Nigeria. The gap between our tremendous potentials as a country and our actual attainments is depressing and disheartening. For a country as endowed with human, material and natural resources as Nigeria, the level of poverty in which the vast majority of our people live is appalling and unacceptable.  The voodoo statistics of illusory growth and progress peddled by those currently in charge of Nigeria’s affairs do not reflect the dire material circumstances of millions of Nigerians.

AirAsia flight found upside down at the bottom of the sea, passengers found holding hands

Indonesian search officials have now confirmed they have located the fuselage of AirAsia flight 8501 on sonar radar, upside down on the sea floor, not far from where three of the bodies from the doomed AirAsia flight were found holding hands when discovered floating in the Java Sea. Officials from Basarnas, Indonesia's search and rescue agency, say the plane wreckage has been located in 24 to 30 metres of water and one of the seven confirmed recovered bodies was wearing a life jacket. 

Lieutenant Airman Tri Wobowo, who was co-piloting Indonesia's C130 Herclues aircraft, was the first to discover debris from the plane and witnessed the tragic scene. 

'There were seven to eight people. Three of them held hands,' he told a local newspaper. 

Boko Haram kills 15 in Borno town

Suspected members of Boko Haram killed at least 15 people in a fresh attack on Kautikari, a village near Chibok community in Borno state on Monday December 29th.
"They were about 20, well-armed. They came in four-wheel drive vehicles and some motorcycles. Initially, I thought they were soldiers. The man running behind me was gunned down as I was fleeing. Afterwards, there were 15 people lying dead in the streets,” ,” a survivor, Jonah Umaru, told newsmen on phone.

Sadiq Daba, Oge Okoye and Ivie Okujaiye star in new telenovella

In 2015, television gets more exciting as a new Nigerian telenovella, Hotel Majestic, berths on Africa Magic. The daily telenovella will premiere on the 5th of January on Africa Magic showcase at 21:00 CAT (8pm Nigerian time).

Hotel Majestic focuses on the Emeni family as they fight one another and the outside world to protect a hotel that has been in their family for decades.

The lady stylist Swanky Jerry was kissing in that pic...

Yesterday I shared a pic of celebrity stylist Swanky Jerry kissing a lady in public (read here). Well, the lady is KWAM 1's daughter, Sekky. She's also a stylist. Stylist kiss stylist = nothing is bad in it! :)

Soundcity Vj Pearl Hart Covers season 6 of 'The celebrity shoot'

Soundcity Vj and presenter covers the season 6 of the celerity shoot by celebrity fashion designer and stylist Abbyke Domina. See more photos and interview from the shoot after the cut.

Tokunbo cars to cost more from January 1, 2015

As from first of January 2015, prices of imported used cars otherwise known as Tokunbo or second-hand cars are expected to go up as the second phase of the national automotive policy which was announced in November 2013, will commence.

Car dealers would be expected to pay the federal government 70% duty on all imported cars. FG had in 2013 introduced the national automotive policy with the view of encouraging local assemblage of automobiles in Nigeria, increasing the import tariff from 22% to 70%. The first phase of the policy involving the payment of 35% duty came into effect in February 2014 while the second phase which would have started in July this year was postponed to Jan. 2015.

Photos: Juliet Mgborukwe and ex-husband Chima Ojukwu reconcile

In 2012, former Soundcity presenter and actress Juliet Mgborukwe revealed that her marriage to her US-based husband Chima Ojukwu ended just a few months after it was contracted in October 2011 over irreconcilable differences. (Read story here). Well, Juliet and Chima are back together. The couple, who had been talking for a while, decided to give their marriage a second chance. In fact, Juliet has moved to the US to start afresh with him. Hopefully, it works out for them this time...

Surebet247 pay-out ₦7,230,875 million again!

Unrivaled top bookmaking company in Nigeria (Surebet247) has made more Nigerians Millionaires this December. Statistics shows that they have recorded more winnings and paid in millions than any other bookmaking company this month alone.  

During Xmas, one Mr. Dike got a sum of ₦4.9 million for staking just ₦200, Reports shows that he predicted correctly the result outcome of 18 games (home & away wins) to take-home the huge return

TY Bello shares adorable new pics of her twin boys

Oh, they are so adorable...

Only those who love hunger will vote Jonathan - APC VP candidate Osinbajo

Vice Presidential Candidate of the APC, Prof Yemi Osibajo says it is only Nigerians who love hunger that will return the present administration into office in 2015. He said this at a town hall meeting for artisans, tradesmen and farmers organised by the Lagos state government at the state secretariat yesterday December 30th 2015.
“No one is ignorant of all that is happening to us in this country. No one likes hunger and poverty; but people are hungry. In 2015, only those who love to continue to be hungry would prefer that the government in power at the centre remains there. By God’s grace, we would remove them from the seat of power. The people there presently cannot do anything, because they don’t know how to. They lack the capacity and capability to govern the country. I pray for the farmers and artisans that the Lord will bless us in the incoming year.” he said

Aww, Peter Okoye gushes about his wife, says he's the luckiest man

How cool!

Read this transgender's heartbreaking suicide note he posted hours before killing himself

17 year old transgender teen Leelah (Josh) Alcorn committed suicide on Sunday Dec. 28th by walking in front of a tractor trailer on a highway in Ohio. A few hours later, her suicide note, which she posted on her Tumblr page through scheduled publishing, went up. In the heartbreaking suicide note, she blamed her death on her religious parents who she said refused to acknowledge her gender and forbade her from transitioning into a girl. Read her suicide note below...
If you are reading this, it means that I have committed suicide and obviously failed to delete this post from my queue.
Please don’t be sad, it’s for the better. The life I would’ve lived isn’t worth living in… because I’m transgender. I could go into detail explaining why I feel that way, but this note is probably going to be lengthy enough as it is. 

Self-Confidence; the beginning of sexy

It’s the last day of the day, we have had our reflections, and we have made our resolutions. We have set our goals. We are ready to delve in to the New Year. Most times, we place the wrong priorities over the right ones unconsciously and it is only when it is late that we realize that we should have put one before the other. A customer decided to send us this very short letter. We decided it was the best way to wrap up the year.
Dear Shapeyou,
I look forward to reading your pieces not because you sell products, but because you aim to inspire. Your post ‘let it go’, was truly inspiring.
I work hard. Too hard sometimes. I keep putting off things for no reason in particular. I’m on the big side. And I battle with my weight. I have battled with confidence issues for a while; for a really long while. I hide under my work. During lunch, I make sure I go after everybody has left the pantry. I don’t want to feel like someone is judging me.

Jada Pinkett, 43, stuns in bikini on the cover of Shape magazine

The 43 year old mother of two posed in a bikini for the January/February cover of Shape magazine where she talked about her body, fitness regime and bedroom secrets. 
"When my husband of almost 20 years can’t take his eyes off me? That’s amazing. But the number one reason I go to the gym is because it keeps me sane… I can deal with whatever’s coming at me.'

Chichi Igbo, 2face, Annie, others attend Ini Edo's housewarming party

Actress Ini Edo's house-warming is happening tonight at her new home in Lekki. Former Falcons player Chichi Igbo, Annie, 2face Idibia, Alexx Ekubo and others are there. See some pics after the cut

Tuesday 30 December 2014

Minster of Police Affairs warns police will arrest anyone who makes inciting statements, calls out Obasanjo

Minister of Police Affairs, Jelili Adesiyan, has threatened to arrest and prosecute anyone, no matter how highly placed in the society, that makes inciting comments to heat the polity in Nigeria. He made the threat while speaking at the launch of a book by Mr. Yinka Odumakin in Lagos State titled "Watch the Watcher" yesterday December 29th. He accused former President Obasanjo of trying to introduce an interim government in Nigeria after loosing his bid to impose his own Vice Presidential Candidate on the APC. Watch the video after the cut ...

Seven Boko Haram members die in explosive-laden van in Borno

Seven Boko Haram members were killed after explosives placed in a van exploded at the Chikwarki market in Biu, Borno state on Monday December 29th.
"A Toyota pick-up van, loaded with maize and beans with IED hidden under them, belonging to Boko Haram insurgents, exploded near Chikwarkir village of Biu, killing all the occupants of the van. As you know, it is harvest time and people are taking their farm produce to the market; but thank God, the bomb exploded before they could get to the market,” a security source told Punch