Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 07/15/2012 - 07/22/2012

Saturday 21 July 2012

D'banj gives Naeto C 2012 Porsche Cayenne as wedding gift

The singer presented a 2012 Porsche Cayenne to Naeto C at his wedding reception today and some people are saying he did it on behalf of someone else. No, he didn't! D'banj bought the brand new 2012 Porsche Cayenne himself and presented it to Naeto, who is one of his best friends and brother in the music industry, as a wedding gift.

I don't want to speculate on the amount because people from D'banj's camp refused to tell me, but from findings on Google, the car is worth between 12million and 15million. I know it's hard to believe that someone will buy such a gift for another person, but that was D'banj's gift to Naeto C. Guess the kokomaster has a large heart! God continue to bless him!

Usher's 11yr old stepson dies after tragic acident

TMZ is reporting that Usher's 11-year-old stepson, Kyle Glover, passed away this morning from injuries he sustained in the tragic jetski accident that happened on July 8th in Georgia .

Doctors removed Klye from life support after it was determined the injuries he suffered were too severe to overcome. So sad! May his soul rest in peace...Amen.

White Wedding Photos: Mr and Mrs Naeto Chikwe

The wedding is still going on at Catholic Church of Divine Mercy in Lekki. They look so beautiful together. More photos after the cut...

Jim Iyke gives more shout outs!

He gave some shout outs some weeks back..(Read it HERE if you missed it) This is a continuation...enjoy!

Meanwhile, I think these people are beginning to play dirty. Sending out photos of someone's mum? C'mon! They sent me so many photos of his mum and I didn't think that was cool. Face him and leave his mum out of it abeg! Jim's tweets below...

More when you continue...

Patience Jonathan wants presidents' wives roles included in the constitution

Our dear first lady is canvassing for the inclusion of roles of presidents’ wives in the constitution. According to her, the inclusion would enable First Ladies get retirement benefits along with their husbands when they leave office.

What she said yesterday after she was sworn-in as Permanent Secretary in the Bayelsa State Civil Service
We the wives of political office holders, if our names are not in the constitution and our husbands retire with benefits, the Constitution amendment committee should also look into the issue of wives of political appointees. We should be included in the Constitution so that we too can retire with benefits. With that we can enjoy our career."
Enjoy their career? OK!

Friday 20 July 2012

Victims of the Society: A Movie on Child Abuse and HIV

This movie with a galaxy of stars like Joke Silva, Alex Usifo, Patience Ozokwor, Zulu Adigwe amongst others, is intended to educate people on  the ills that the children and the society face when child neglect, child abuse and infringement upon the rights of children, With their education can cause them within social circle, these acts are still in practice even till date. You can see these happening mostly in our modern day African countries, and of course, other continents of the world, but especially with the black children, who are the future hope of this great country and the continent of Africa.

Photo of James Holmes, the Colorado theatre shooting suspect

24 year old James Holmes was a Neuroscience PHD candidate at the University Colorado. He was in the process of withdrawing from the school before the shooting. He's yet to tell police why he carried out this sickening act. He had no criminal record prior to this.

James deployed teargas before opening fire on movie goers early this morning, killing at least 12 and wounding 58, many of whom are in the hospital in critical condition.

Road named after Dame Patience Jonathan in Abuja

Our First Lady yesterday had a road named after her in Abuja. Patience Jonathan Road is said to link the defense police officers wives association office (DEPOWA) with Shehu Yar'Adua  Barracks around Area 11.

Colorado massacre puts politics on hold in America

One of the victims of the massacre, 24 year old Jessica Redfield was a radio personality and blogger
Hours after the tragic Colorado shooting happened, politics in America has been put on hold.
1. Obama cut short his campaign trip in Florida...and has already addressed the tragic incident on TV
2. Vice president Biden and First Lady Michelle Obama have canceled their activities for the day
3. Mitt Romney's campaign announced all campaign ads in Colorado would be pulled until further notice
4. Senate minority leader, Mitch McConnell, set aside his scheduled session with reporters on Capitol Hill
5. Nevada State Democratic Party postponed a news conference 

Also, Warner Bros has cancelled the Paris premiere of the Dark Knight that was to take place tonight.

I hope some people will take a cue from this...

Hennessy Artistry announces M.I & Naeto C as this year’s headline artistes

Hip-Hop superstars and pop-culture icons M.I and Naeto C have been revealed as headliners for this year’s Hennessy Artistry. The historic collaboration between these two heavyweights that have each made an indelible mark on the Nigerian music industry, was orchestrated earlier this year by Hennessy Cognac, the world’s leading cognac brand.

Aki was there :-)

Forgot to add this the last time. Aki was at his wife's graduation. Cute couple! If you don't know what I'm talking about then read HERE

Join Black|Up Creative Ambassador David Coranson And His Team As They Take You On A Wonderful Journey Of Colour &Techinque

On Monday, 23rd and Tuesday, 24th of July 2012, Black|Up Creative Ambassador David Coranson And His Team will be available at the newly opened black|Up first international stand-alone store outside Paris located at the Ikeja City Mall, Alausa in Lagos, Nigeria.

Mass shooting in Colorado movie theater leaves 12 dead

Mass shooting in Colorado movie theater during midnight showing of "The Dark Knight Rises" has left at least 12 people dead and 58 injured.

ABC News reports that people were gathered inside the Century 16 Theaters in Aurora, Colorado for a midnight showing of Dark Knight when a lone gunman entered the theater around 12:30 Friday morning and opened fire. Reports from the scene indicate that some sort of explosive device was used during the incident.

Witnesses told ABC that 15 to 20 shots were fired inside the theater and that bullets pierced the walls of an adjoining theater as well.

Officers found the gunman near a car behind the theater. The suspect was taken into custody, but no name was released. Local law enforcement said there's no evidence of any other attackers. There was also no immediate word of any motive. (Source - ABC News)

Update: The shooter has been identified as 24 year old James Holmes

Ramadan Kareem

Happy Ramadan Kareem to all our Muslim brothers and sisters. Have a blessed Ramadan and may God accept your fasting.

Tweet of the day: Tonto Dike on Future Awards nomination

The nominees for the 2012 Future Awards Actor of the Year are:
Ini Edo, Tonto Dike, OC Ukeje, Ivie Okujaye, Gideon Okeke, Ramman Hassan, Kabirah Mojisola Kafidipe, and Lala Akindoju.

Guess she's referring to someone on that list! :-)

Who wore it better:Dakore vs LIB reader in traditional wedding attire

This LIB reader is an active LIB commenter with a name most of you know...so support your own..:-)
Who wore it better?

Photo of the day: Mr and Mrs Chikwe

Awwww, love is such a beautiful thing. Naeto C's Bach Eve took place last night. Now waiting for the white wedding. God bless their union

Rapper Saucekid officially changes name to 'Sinzu SMG'

The rapper anounced on Twitter some days ago that he has officially dropped the name we all know him by - Saucekid, for a new Alias 'Sinzu SMG'.

Guess no artist wants to answer 'kid' these days :-). Kinda like Sinzu...don't know what SMG stands for tho!

Thursday 19 July 2012

Nigeria’s top musical forces take to stage at the London Olympic City, Stratford

As London gears up for the Olympics, Africa's most dynamic country, Nigeria is brought to life at Stratford. The East London borough of Newham will be treated to a feast of African music when top Nigerian artists take to the stage at the historical Stratford Theatre Royal from 21 to 25 July 2012 as part of the New World Nigeria Sports and Cultural Showcase. 

Win Tickets to Davido Live in Concert July 22 @ Eko Hotel

I'm giving away 15 tickets. 10 regulars and  5VIPs. I'm supposed to pick winners from the last quiz we did, but I'm too tired this night to go through all the names, read comments and pick winners. So here's what we are going to do. There are 15 tickets available at Flytime office and the first 15 people to get there will get the tickets.

Flytime office is at Koko Lounge, E-Center, Sabo, Yaba. The person to ask for is Tessy. She will be there from 12 noon. So good luck to the first 15 people to meet Tessy...and if you get there first, ask for a VIP pass. *wink*

Davido's concert will hold this Sunday July 22nd @ Eko Hotel Lagos at 7pm. Tickets available at Eko Hotel, Images & Print, Silverbird Galleria, and Ozone Cinemas. tickets now!

Gunmen fire at card players in Kano, killing three

Two gunmen riding on a motorbike shot and killed three people playing cards in the Sharada area of Kano city today. A fourth person sustained serious injuries and has been rushed to the hospital.

Also, a constabulary police officer narrowly escaped death but sustained gunshot wounds and has also been taken to an unknown hospital, soaked in blood.

The Kano State police command spokesperson has officially confirmed the killings, while a security operative in the area said several residents have gone into hiding to avoid falling victim of the crossfire that ensures after such attacks. No group has claimed responsibility of the attack. (Sahara Reporters)

Lo’Lavita Hair in South Africa This August!!

Your No.1 trusted brand for luxury human hair, Lo’Lavita will be representing Nigeria in South Africa this August in the first ever Annual African International Hair Extravaganza!
They are the only recognized international brand from Nigeria chosen to exhibit their range of hair extensions and beauty products. The event would show case the biggest and best hair brands all around Africa. 

My love for Prezzo was not a strategy to win' - Goldie opens up

The singer opened up at a press conference that held this afternoon at Protea Hotel, Ikeja. My paparazzi was there to capture some it all :-).

When asked if her 'love' for Prezzo was real or a strategy to win, the singer replied:
It wasn't a strategy to win. I saw Prezzo as a calm, very intelligent and easy going person. Viewers have the option of seeing about 50 cameras at a time but I have just two eyes and two ears and only believe in what I saw. You had the opportunity of knowing him more than I did.
On how she felt when she realized that Prezzo had nominated her for eviction/ played her. Her answer when you continue...

Tiwa Savage in Malaysia

Right photo is the singer inside an airplane on her way to Malaysia yesterday. Is that what first class looks like or is it business class? I never pass Economy before I so don't know :-)

Tiwa is in Malaysia for a concert that will hold tomorrow night at club 11.45, Kuala Lumpur.

Rick Ross coming to Lagos this August for Summer Jam Fest

Come Friday, 17th of August, 2012, American born international rapper, William Leonard Roberts II popularly known as Rick Ross, will storm the commercial nerve centre of Nigeria, Lagos for the upcoming Summer Jam Fest 2012 concert at the exquisite Eko Hotel and Suites.

Eucharia Anunobi shines as she tones down the hair & makeup

Love her second look....

Wizkid finally gets Headies 'Next Rated' prize car he won last year

The music star finally got his Headies Music Award Next Rated' prize - a 2012 Hyundai Sonata. Wizkid won the next rated category at the 2011 edition of one of Nigeria’s leading urban music event - The Headies, beating Ice Prince, Tiwa Savage and Olamide.

The car was presented to him on Friday July 13th, 2012 at Silverbird Galleria, Victoria Island, Lagos.

Konga.com aims to overhaul baby, beauty & personal care retailing in Nigeria

Konga.com is a one-stop shopping website that provides the shopper with a wide selection of products to meet their beauty, health and lifestyle needs. Our mission is to make people unbelievably happy by delivering an incredibly simple and convenient way to buy things online!