Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 03/22/2009 - 03/29/2009

Saturday 28 March 2009

DJ Jimmy Jatt's new project + Top 5 ways to fight cellulite

DJ Jimmy Jatt set to discover new talent

DJ Jimmy JATT is one lucky chap. Life has given him a very fair deal, and he’s enjoying the dividends.Sitting at the very top of his industry, he commands respect from everyone who knows what deejaying should be about, and his followership runs from Lagos to Conakry.Visit him at home, and you’ll find it hard to reconcile the life he’s living (with his wife and two daughters) with the general expectation of how a DJ should live.

All his life, Jimmy has fought to earn respect for himself and for the DJ profession in Nigeria. He has shown, beyond all reasonable doubts, the possibility of surviving as a professional DJ in Nigeria, and he has influenced dozens of jockeys to take the bold step too.

Today, his protegees are scattered around different radio stations, night clubs and bars across the world.Many have passed through the school of deejaying since Jimmy’s early days at Odo street in Obalende, Lagos. And Jimmy himself, who started out as a wannabe rapper, has established himself as the godfather of the art on the continent.

When you think of Ali Baba, you think of how he has held the ladder for several young men to climb; of how he has built an industry out of stand-up comedy and how he brought respect and recognition to an art that existed long before he came on the scene.

Ali Baba made Stand-up comedy fashionable and profitable. Jimmy Jatt has done the same for deejaying.And, if you walk up close and ask him, the itinerant jockey will tell you that all through his career, what has given him satisfaction the most, is working on projects that clearly provide a way and means, for young, unsure talents to find their feet and establish a career for themselves.‘‘That’s why I did the Definition mixtape. I wanted people to hear a lot of those gifted rappers that the industry was not giving a chance. And I’m happy it worked out. That’s why we started the Jimmy’s Jump off on TV too. Those things give me satisfaction, they make me happy and I want to do more’’.And now, the Lagos-based jockey is embarking on yet another major project – a hip hop talent competition hoping to discover new dancers, rappers and DJs.‘‘It’s called Battle Field’’, Jimmy says. ‘‘We’re going to start the preliminaries in April. And we’re hoping to discover guys and girls out there who have what it takes, but have not been able to find a means to express themselves. We’re not promising to sign them on to labels or all that. But we’ll give them worthy prizes, and proper opportunity to establish themselves, using our several media partners, our TV show, and the Jimmy Jatt mixtapes’’

Top 5 ways to fight CELLULITE
Someone sent in an article on the top 5 ways to fight something that nearly 95% of all women have some degree of; CELLULITE. I'm a skinny girl and I have cellulite. Imagine! ;)

Even the 'perfect' Kim Kardashian has cellulite...(left pix)

Researchers say that hormones cause cellulite. Thus, it is not the direct result of being overweight, but the effect that hormones are having on the layer of fat under the skin. This explains why slim people like myself can still get some degree of cellulite.

Here are the Top 5 sure ways to fight CELLULITE
Hope it helps!

1. Exercise. Exercise helps to stimulate blood circulation and speeds up your body's metabolism. Exercise helps to firm up tissue and improves muscle tone.

2. Detoxifying the body is very helpful, as is periodically fasting and cleansing the body. Dong this helps to break down fats and to eliminate accumulated toxins in your body.

3. Water. Drinking plenty of water will help flush out the system and will help release cellulite once it has been broken down by the body and be eliminated properly

4. Eat a healthy diet. Have a diet that features plenty of vegetables and fruits, Grapefruit has also been shown to be effective in increasing metabolism and assisting in the removal of fat as well as in releasing toxins. Adding grapefruits to your diet is a good step as well as drinking pure grapefruit juice.

5. Using herbal essential oils in massage oils is a great way to treat cellulite and to help encourage it to break down. You can make great massage oil that is applied directly to the cellulite areas by using 4 drops of Juniper, 4 drops of Sweet Fennel, and 2 drops of Cypress. Blend this with one ounce of carrier oil such as Sweet Almond or Jojoba Oil. Deep massage techniques are beneficial for breaking down the fat and smoothing the skin.
That's it!

Photos of the day

Robin Fenty at 10 yrs old

Robin at 21 yrs old

I love tatoos, but there's something distasteful about Rihanna's new tatoo. What does she want with such a violent design?

Anyway, if you know any more ways to fight cellulite, please share with the rest of us.
Have a fab weekend
Cheers!

Friday 27 March 2009

Celeb Hair: who rocked it best? + Tyra's Hair Style Evolution

I was going to bring you Naija Entertainment News today, but somebody took the softsell mag I bought. I'll get another one and do that later. For now let's do something fun.

It's called celeb hair: who rocked it best?
Sorry, it's hard to find pictures of our Naija celebs, so we'll stick with the foreign ones :)
Have fun picking who you think rocked it best
I'll make my choice bold
Let's go...

Joy Bryant and Chanel Iman

Eva Pigford Marcille and Queen Latifah

Kerry Washington and Naomi Campbell

Malinda Williams and Rihanna

Viola Davis and Jennifer Hudson

Mary J Blige and Kelis

Solange Knowles and Gabrielle Union

Nia Long and Beyonce

And now to my favorite woman ever, TYRA BANKS!
From the catwalk to prime-time and daytime TV, Tyra Banks has worn many hairstyles throughout her career.
Check out Tyra's Hair Style Evolution.

The 2000's

Love her to bits!!!
What's your favourite Tyra look?

Thursday 26 March 2009

Bridesmaid Dress: Who should pay for it? + Celebs: Then and Now

Who should pay for the bridesmaid dress? The bride or the bridesmaid?

I haven't been to a wedding since....2006 ;)

I'm such a weirdo huh? I've provided ushers for many weddings but I never show up at these weddings...my lil sis handles all that.

Now I've only ever been a bridesmaid just once, in 05 and I remember thinking it was weird that I was asked to pay for the bridesmaid dress. The worst part was that the bride picked one of Naija's top designers to make the dresses, and the designer charged us (the bridesmaids) more than I would ordinarily pay for a dress. I remember feeling so annoyed that I had to part with all that money...for a dress...lol

So now my younger sis is supposed to be a bridesmaid for one of her friends but she told me this morning that she's pulled out of it.

Why?
The bridesmaid dress will cost N10grand
My sis says she can buy at least two pairs of jeans and two tops with N10grand
LOL
She doesn't think that she should be paying for the dress...
Her friend, the bride, thinks she should be paying for it since she won't be returning it.

I understand when the bride can't afford it really, but when you can, shouldn't you pay for it?
Please who should pay for the bridesmaids dress? The bride or the bridesmaids?
What do you guys say?

Meanwhile check out the Then and Now pictures of some of the world's most celebrated women.

Michelle Obama

Oprah Winfrey

Jada Pinkett Smith

Jennifer Hudson

Janet Jackson

Vanessa Williams

Mariah Carey

Halle Berry

Queen Latifah

Beyonce Knowles
Amazing transformations!

Thoughts?

Wednesday 25 March 2009

10 benefits of SEX!

So I was reading a magazine today and something caught my attention...anything that has sex in it catches my attention these days. You all know my situation...lol

Anyway, this is what I read...

10 benefits of SEX
1. Sex is a beauty treatment. Scientific tests have shown that a woman who has sexual relations produces big amounts of estrogen which makes hair shiny and soft.

2. To make love in soft and relaxed way reduces the possibilities of suffering from dermatitis and acne. The sweat produced cleans pores and makes the skin shine.

3. To make love allows to burn all the calories accumulated in this romantic love scene

4. Sex is one of the safest sports. It strengthens all body muscles. It is more enjoyable than doing 20 lapses in the pool. And you don’t need special shoes.

5. Sex is an instantaneous cure against depression. It frees endorphins in the blood flow, creating a state of euphoria and leaves us with a feeling of well being.

6. The more we make love, the more we have the capacity to do more. A body sexually active releases a higher amount of pheromone. This subtle aroma excites the opposite sex.

7. Sex is the safest tranquilizer in the world. IT IS 10 TIMES MORE EFFICIENT THAN VALIUM

8. To kiss everyday prevent visits to the dentist. Kisses aid saliva in cleaning teeth and lower the quantity of acids causing enamel weakening.

9. Sex relieves headaches. Each time we make love, it releases the tension in the brain vein.

10. To make love a lot can heal a nasal congestion. Sex is a natural antihistaminic. It helps fight asthma and spring allergies.

Are these guys shitting me or are they for real? Sex helps fight asthma? Really? Does it help fight Cerebral Malaria too?
Sex is an instantaneous cure against depression? I see! What about addictions, does it cure that too?

I even read somewhere that sex reduces Prostate Cancer risk.
Yeah right! Just like it reduces Cardiac Arrest risk
LOL

Seriously, is this for real or are they just trying to make people like us get back in the groove? Lol...tempt me not!
What do you guys think?

P.S: If like me you don't believe most of these theories (something tells me it's probably true), here's a good reason to have sex. SEX is ENJOYABLE! You have one life to live...you better live it to the fullest. So ENJOY! *wink*

P.S2: I used to believe that being in love was enough reason to sleep with someone, now I'm thinking you have to be almost married first. I don't know who put that idea in my head. It must be you guys on this blog. Getoutofmyhead! It'skillingme! lol

Anyway check out our Photo of the day
New couple alert

Singers, Christina Milian and The Dream

Love is beautiful...if you find it...hold on to it!
Laters!

Tuesday 24 March 2009

Asknaijamart + AY LIVE Event pix

Asknaijamart
Nigeria's largest online market

This service is a mobile search engine service that allows Nigerians to request any information they require by SMS Text message and receive an instant reply from any of our "Text Centres" around Nigeria.

At N30 per SMS this service is very affordable - less than the price of a bottle of Coke. The beauty of this service is that you are no longer obliged to have the expensive Mobile Internet anymore since the asknaijamart team let you do that by proxy.

This service comes in very handy when you require the telephone number of a business, you need to find out what is showing at Silverbird, you need the national or international price of a particular product or you need directions to get to any location... asknaijamart can answer all these questions and more.

So check them out here...http://www.naijamart.com/

I finally found AY Live 3 event pictures
Enjoy...
AY and Jenifa Funke Akindele

Kefee

Timaya

DJ Zeez

The guests...

The fashion...

What do you guys think about the way we Naija chicks dress to events? Do we rock or do we rock? ;)
Pix thanks to purefoto.com

News of the day
Robin Williams recovering after heart surgery
Robin Williams is recovering at the Cleveland Clinic after heart surgery that his doctors deemed successful, his publicists said today. The 57-year-old actor had an operation to replace an aortic valve on March 13. He is expected to make a complete recovery in the next eight weeks.

Photo of the day

54 yr old Bruce Willis married his 30 yr old girlfriend, Emma Hemming, over the weekend.
Finally...so happy for him!

Later people!
Kisses!