Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 08/11/2013 - 08/18/2013

Saturday 17 August 2013

Tonto Dikeh, Ik Ogbonna, Adokiye donate to the less privileged

Tonto Dikeh, actor IK Ogbonna and singer Adokiye today Saturday August 17th came out to support a US based NGO, Ije Africa, as they ran free diabetes and high blood pressure tests and gave out medical materials to those in need at the Obalende area of Lagos.

The stars picked three kids they would sponsor in school for a year and also donated educational materials to support children in school. Well done guys. More photos after the cut...

Chris Brown ordered to 1,000 more hours of community service

An LA judge has ordered Chris Brown to 1,000 more hours of community service months after he was accused of faking the community service hours he was ordered to perform as part of his probation for assaulting Rihanna in 2009.

Chris Brown will now redo his community service to make up for the hours that could not be fully verified based on logs submitted previously. This time Chris will perform his community service in LA and not his home state of Virginia.

To more interesting news - check out Chris Brown's new dope video ft Nicki Minaj after the cut...

Foremost make-up artist Bayo Haastrup loses wife to cancer

Incredibly sad news. Foremost makeup artist Bayo Haastrup of Ijade Egbin lost his wife Lara Haastrup on Thursday August 15th. Lara lost her battle with nasal cancer after just eight months. She was only diagnosed in January this year and died last night after just one dose of chemo.

Mrs Haastrup was a caterer by profession, owner of Rovin Pepper Catering Services. She's survived by her husband Bayo, three children and one grandchild. May her soul rest in peace. Amen.

Funeral arrangements: Service of songs at Salem Evangelical church Obanikoro Ilupeju on Thursday August 22nd. Burial service on Friday 23rd at All Souls Anglican Church Sere Close Ilupeju and interment follows immediately after service.

Fred Amata and girlfriend Mor Okonkwo end relationship

Awww sad news. Fred Amata and his girlfriend of less than a year, Mor Okonkwo, have parted ways. Heard they ended their relationship a few weeks after his 50th birthday party in June.

Fred and Mor met in the US in 2011 and started dating a few months later. Unfortunately it didn't work out. Fred is now back in the singles market.

Mor, a single mother with two kids, is a Soul/Jazz artiste who contested in singing reality show - X Factor UK a few years back. She's currently a management consultant.

Usain Bolt wins 3rd straight world title in 200-meters

Usain Bolt won his third straight world title today Saturday August 17th after setting a world leading time of 19.66 seconds in the 200-meters event at the IAAF World Championships in Moscow, Russia.

Usain will now go for his fourth triple gold at a major championship when he joins the Jamaican team for the 4x100 relay tomorrow Sunday August 18th. Congrats to him!

LIB exclusive: Tiwa Savage & TeeBillz pick November wedding date, white wedding to hold in Maldives

Beautiful songstress Tiwa Savage and her fiance/business partner Tunji 'TeeBillz' Balogun have picked their wedding dates and I have the exclusive details. Their traditional wedding will hold November 23rd in Lagos while their white wedding will hold in February 2014 in the beautiful Maldive Islands, an island nation in the Indian Ocean. Tiwa was in Maldives last month with her good friend Elohor Aisien to pick venues and etc. I hear this will be the wedding to upstage all weddings. Make una sha invite me o...lol.

Big congrats to them. Oh and remember, you read it here first! :-)

Photos From The Remy Martin Pace Setters VIP Party

Sip Lounge got lit up last the weekend as Remy Martin celebrated Gbemi, Toolz and Douglas of Beat FM. (Last month, they celebrated Tiwa Savage's Once Upon a Time). 

The celebration of the three OAPs is in line with Remy Martin’s goal of celebrating Nigerian achievers across every walk of life. Gbemi, Toolz and Douglas were joined by celebrity friends and colleagues who also had a good time. Continue...

Photos from Vast of Bracket welcome party

Bracket singer Vast returned home yesterday morning after months in the UK undergoing cancer treatment. His friends and colleagues like Iyanya, Peter and Paul Okoye, 9ice, Dammy Krane, DJ Jimmy Jatt, and others were at his home last night to welcome him back. More photos after the cut...

Iranian woman barred from office for being too beautiful

Looking at her photos she's definitely pretty but how is she too pretty to be a council woman? 27 year old architect Nina Siahkali Moradi finished 14th among 163candidates in a city council election in Iran but was told a week later that all votes for her were nullified.

According to The Times of London, after news spread that Moradi had been elected, religious conservatives petitioned to have her disqualified because she's 'too attractive.' and would be a cause of distraction. "We don’t want a catwalk model on the council," a senior official in Qazvin said.

The review board later claimed Nina was disqualified not because she was too attractive but because of her 'non-observance of Islamic codes'. Some who opposed her election said she had only been elected because she is young and attractive.

A law expert in Qazvin, told Iran Wire that the review board violated election law with its decision to bar Moradi from taking a seat.

Beauty of the day: Model/actress Linda Osifo

Stunning Linda was first runner-up Miss Nigeria Entertainment Canada 2011, and 2nd runner up Miss Africanada pageant 2011. She's the T.V host of "My Talk Show", an Afropolitan entertainment talk show on TelAfric T.V. She also starred in a T.V soap opera called "Family Secrets" and was nominated as best actress in the African Entertainment Awards in Canada. More photos after the cut...

Former TV personality Emma Ugoli set to undergo kidney transplant

For those who don't know Emmanuel Ugoli, he had the first ever all Nigerian music video countdown responsible for blowing up a lot of Nigerian acts when he was a top present at MBI 13 years ago.

Emmanuel has been battling chronic kidney disease for a few years now. Both his kidneys are dead and must be replaced to keep him alive. He survives on dialysis three times a week, which cost almost N50k per session.

Emma's sister gave him one of her kidneys two years ago in India but the kidney failed due to complications. Emmanuel now has to undergo another transplant but this time he's doing it in Nigeria at St Nicholas Hospital, Lagos Island. He is awaiting doctors flying in from the UK to St Nicholas the first week in September. Wishing him a successful surgery this time.

BFFs Barbz and Zainab get naughty as they play golf in their bikinis

The 2012 BBA contestants just love to get touchy-feely with each other. More photos after the cut..

Aluu 4 killers in court...

Just an update on the Aluu 4 unfortunate incident. The 12 men accused of killing four students of the University of Port Harcourt in Omuokiri Aluu community on Friday October 5th 2012 appeared in a high court in Rivers State on Thursday August 15th.

Their lawyers asked for bail as if murder in the first degree is a bailable offense. The judge fixed October 19th for bail hearing. We are watching.

Former B2k member Raz B on life support after bottle attack in China

Former B2K member Raz B, who has been living in China for the past three years, was smashed in the face with a bottle on Thursday night. According to TMZ Raz was performing at a club in Zhejiang when he noticed a fight pop off in the crowd. Raz left the stage to try and break up the fight and got hit in the mouth with a glass bottle by one of the brawlers.

Security moved in fast and both Raz and his attacker were taken to the police station, but after it was determined that Raz was not at fault he was released to the hospital.

Raz required a 1-hour surgical procedure and 4 stitches to repair the wound to his mouth. His attacker was ordered to pay him $5,000 for medical expenses.

The morning after the attack Raz B did not wake up. He's now on life support. Continue....

A message to all single ladies - from Charly Boy

If you're a single lady...this message is for you from Mr Charles Oputa
All the single ladies reading this, chin-up and give your good self a thumb up. Nothing doest thou. Last week I had a father/daughter discussion with my Princess. I could feel the frustration in her tone as we spoke about different issues. When I asked about her boyfriend she gave me a very long and irritated “Naija babe” hiss, she aired out her frustrations with this whole dating business. "Daddy we are no longer dating." “I’m so very sorry my love, but what happened I queried,” very anxious to hear the gist, cause me and my Princess are just that close. This is my daughter’s 3rd boyfriend since she started dating, and she has only been with him for barely 6months… "Daddy, please I’m tired, he is not ambitious, he has no drive, and he is too laid back for his own good, how can I marry a man like that? To make matters worse, he thinks I am overly ambitious, he says I do way too much – please tell me how that’s a bad thing.” Hummmmm, my daughter, my princess my pride and joy is unhappy. 

Photos from The Future Awards Nominees Reception

Yesterday, Friday August 16, 2013, one of Africa’s most influential entrepreneurs, Tony O. Elumelu, CON hosted The Future Awards Africa 2013 nominees to a reception at Heir Holdings, Ikoyi.

The event which served also as a networking event had in attendance several important personalities, including my humble self. Hehe. Met Mr Elumelu for the first time...such a gracious man. M-NET Africa MD Abiola Alabi, Rita Dominic, Iyanya, Uche Nnaji and other fabulous people were there. More photos when you continue

Badagry mob victim Ifechukwudi Nwanipor laid to rest

The remains of Ifechukwudi Nwanikpor, the 24 year old who was one of two young men brutally murdered by villagers from the Tozukame community area in Ajara, Badagry on Sunday July 21, was laid to rest at the Badagry Cemetery in Lagos yesterday.

Policemen watched as both men – Nwanikpor and Kazeem Onayemi (26) were beaten and killed by the community members after being labelled armed robbers.

Mourners and family members came out in their numbers at the Badagry cemetery but couldn’t hold back their tears at the burial.

Now the Badagry community that lynched him is offering his family N2.5 million compensation. Read more on Telegraphng.com

Friday 16 August 2013

Champions league winning coach Roberto Di Matteo is in Nigeria

Yes people, former Chelsea coach Roberto Di Matteo is in Nigeria. He came into the country today Friday August 16th courtesy Guinness, the beer of choice. While in town, he will be launching the Guinness Football Manager- a platform that put you in the driver’s seat and lets you ‘Be the Boss’ as you pick your team, call the shots, and, if you do well, win fantastic prizes

He will also be announcing the launch of the epic football show Guinness Raise Your Game - a weekly show that will bring you all the latest football news, amazing interviews with world-class footballers, epic live music performances and exclusive on-the-sofa chats! 

Five-year-old girl abducted at Redemption Camp

According to a story by Punch, five-year-old girl, Oluwaseun Ogungbemile, (pictured above) was abducted at the Redemption Camp of the Redeemed Christian Church of God, on Friday August 9th.

Punch reports:
It was learnt that the girl, in company with her parents, had gone to the camp at Kilometre 46 on the Lagos-Ibadan Expressway, Ogun State, to attend the one-week annual convention of the church that ended on Sunday. The girl, who is the youngest child of her parents, was last seen playing with two of her cousins on Friday, August 9

Photos: Genevieve Nnaji stunning in traditional attire

Ms Nnaji shared the photos on instagram...see more photos after the cut...

Moment officers swooped in to stop sham marriage between Nigerian student and Hungarian woman

This is the dramatic moment home office investigators put a stop to a sham marriage just minutes before the bride and groom exchanged their vows.

Nigerian Chinedu Amadi arrived at Leicester Registry Office to marry a complete stranger - Hungarian national Szilvia Basco-Porkolab, who donned a traditional white wedding gown for the occasion.

But unbeknown to them Home Office investigators who were tipped off by a suspicious registrar and lay in wait in a side room for the pair to arrive. These pictures show the moment the 'couple' were told they had been caught and were arrested. Shit mehn! Lol. Continue...

Kanye thinks he was set up by someone in the Kardashian family

Yesterday first photos of Kim, Kanye, baby North and her nanny arriving for a doctor's appointment on Wednesday surfaced online. According to new reports, Kanye is furious about the photos and is blaming someone inside the Kardashian family for tipping off the paparazzi...

Sources tell Radar Online Kanye believes he was set up and is determined to get to the bottom of it.
"Kanye just doesn’t understand the entire families obsession with being in the media spotlight. Kanye knows it wasn’t anyone in the doctor’s office or the nanny that leaked the visit, and the circle of people that knew about the appointment was very, very small.”

Stanbic TVC competition winners announced

Stanbic IBTC has announced the winners of their exciting #MoveIt ‘Spot The Difference’ competition! As you will remember, if you have been in the know on social media, participants were to watch the television commercial, note all the differences they could spot and then submit their answers for the chance to be one of ten people to win N100, 000.

Entries were received on the YouTube video http://bit.ly/1dasXjo ; on their Twitter page @StanbicIBTC using the hashtag #MoveIt; and on their Facebook page - HERE. Continue...

'I'm not in any relationship with Benson Okonkwo' - Emelda cries out

I wrote here two days ago that Nollywood actor Benson Okonkwo is engaged to longtime girlfriend, Emelda Emells. If you missed it read it HERE. Well, I wrote it because Benson himself told me about the engagement and sent me the photos. Thing now is, the lady in question (photographed above with Benson) contacted me today crying (literally) and denied dating the actor. What she said below
"Please Linda, that story is false. I know Benson must have fed it to you but it's not true. I'm not in any relationship with Benson. He is just using me to cover up his real lifestyle. I have known him since 2005 and those photos on your blog were taken in 2011 at a salon and we were just playing around, even the kiss is not real. Benson has been using me to cover up for years and it has to stop. I have a serious boyfriend and it was his friends that drew his attention to your blog. Now I am having issues with my man. I am not engaged to Benson or planning to marry him. He has never even asked me to marry him. His father and my father were close friends and that was how we met. We were supposed to date back when we were introduced but he never touched me and when I started seeing men in his house I understood and we have been friends ever since. This story is so painful to me. I lost my father on August 4th and I am still mourning him so to be reading this type of story online is making my situation worse. Please help me tell the world I am not getting married to Benson.
Emelda Emells Anthony says she's a student of Electrical Engineering, Federal Polytechnic Owerri. #messagepassed. :-) Pics of Emelda after the cut...

Uche Jombo and Desmond Elliot way back ...and now!

The actress shared the old photo on her instagram page. They've been best friends for ages..

Photos: Vast of Bracket finally returns home after battle with cancer

The singer who was diagnosed with Lymphoma early this year  (if you missed it, read it HERE) is finally back home in Nigeria after months of receiving treatment in a UK hospital. He returned home early this morning and was welcomed by family and close friends. God is great!

Introducing Lovefootball Fantasy Football League

As the 2013/2014 Premier League season gets under way, it is with great delight that Ideas Plus Nigeria introduces Lovefootball Fantasy Football League to the Nigerian football loving community and a whooping N2,500,000 Cash Prize Pot to be won.

Lovefootball is a fantasy football game powered by the real life performances of your favorite players in the English Barclays Premier League. Participation is Free with our Basic Package with the option to upgrade to our paid packages with extra multiple team options.

The game is a season long competition that runs in sync with the Premier League calendar and football fans across the nation are able to compete for cash prizes adding up to 2,500,000 Naira

Beyonce unsure of her new short haircut? Debuts new wig

Insiders claim Beyonce is struggling with her new super short hair cut and asked her team to pack a suitcase full of 40 different wigs and hairpieces for her next scheduled performance. They say she is still adjusting to her new look and is worried she won’t feel herself on stage. She was seen rocking a wig during an outing with Jay Z yesterday. More photos after the cut...

Fast rising singer MizGold releases new photos

Hot new photos from former model, dancer and reggae-dancehall act, Miz Gold.

Chris Attoh leaves Tinsel

Sad news for Tinsel fans, Ghanaian heartthrob Chris Attoh has left the popular MNET drama series. Chris, who played the role of Kwame Mensah for many years, left the series recently to pursue 'other career interests'. His character will be written off in subsequent episodes.

Why I donated my kidney to save my brother's life - Comedian D-Don

Popular comedian and OAP Iruvwe Okeremute aka De-Don donated his kidney to his ailing elder brother, Morris Okeremute, who urgently needed a transplant to survive. De Don traveled to India a few weeks back to donate his kidney. He explains why he did it in a new interview
"My brother started having this kidney problem in 2009. My elder sister donated her kidney to him at the time but unfortunately in January 2013 the kidney failed because he didn't take his drugs for some weeks because the drugs he ordered from India arrived late. Se when he needed another kidney it was natural that I donate to him. It wasn't difficult making up my mind because I needed to save his life. I equally had a proper awareness about kidney donation and also the fact that nothing happened to my sister who had donated before. She even had another baby boy after the donation.