Glo-sponsored African Fashion Week rounds off in London | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 12 August 2013

Glo-sponsored African Fashion Week rounds off in London

The 2013 edition of African Fashion week sponsored by Globacom was rounded off in London on Sunday, August 4th. The event, which featured various exhibitions by top fashion designers and models showcasing different designs on the runway, was held at the Old Truman Brewery on Brick Lane, Shoreditch.

Currently in its third year, the glamorous event saw dozens of big names and up-and-coming designers from across the continent converging in the UK ‘s district of  Shoreditch to unveil their latest stylish creations.

The runways featured designs from countries such as Nigeria, Ghana, South Africa, Congo, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Kenya and Morocco -- but also from the diaspora, including Britain and the Caribbean.

The four-day event was rounded off with the African Arts and Fashion Banquet on 4th August at Dorchester Hotel, Park Lane, London. It was expected to create opportunities to foster partnerships with business communities globally, thereby creating jobs, generating wealth and eradicating poverty in Africa. 

Globacom, sponsors of the event, stated that it was impressed with decision of the organizers to set up an endowment fund for talented student designers/artists and emerging designers/artists. It added that Globacom, being an indigenous African company, was committed to youth empowerment.
The company stated further that that it teamed up with the organisers of African Fashion Show London "towards celebrating our unique and diverse African cultural heritage through fashion adding that it sponsored the event to help promote and sustain African fashion and cultural heritage.
Inaugurated in 2011, the African Fashion Show provides a platform for promoting the work of African and African - inspired designers and fine artists globally.

60 comments:

Hope they carried sum customer care agents along.....#issokie.

BeBe

Cute 1

First to comment

If its African,why did they take it to London?we should be drawing their attention to them instead of throwing ourselves at them ...

I can't believe Alexander burke is bleaching.....typical black woman.

Stella is first :-)

Cool.........first to comment yaaaaayi

Nice but y ddnt they hold the event in ? naija

Dats very G̲̣̣̣̥o̲̣̥o̲̣̥d̶̲̥̅̊ of Glo....kudos

Can't find anything African in those pix *rme*

All these fashion weeks just know how to use media brands to get what they want. Ask them ... do they pay media people who come to cover it? No .. but they charge some designers who feature... and make tons of cash from advertisers... then when it comes to media they will pay a PR ... the PR never shares what they make with the media... they will come with a smiling face and prettie please feature this and that... that's why African fashion isn't moving forward as it should be ... we are wicked to each other too much .. rubbish

Nice1

Nice1

Prodigy1 said...

Awesome

Sponsoring everything but missing out on ensuring we never have to look for network signal. Or is this their idea of mobile networking.#lol_wink

Rily cool

Globacom kini... Shhhhhhh

Blackberry said...

Africans aint berra designers...they shud check out designs by isabel marant, le moine tricote,maxime simoens,vanessa bruno,ophelie klere and francois alary of devastee...great pieces.

Gud

Gud

@EDDYSYFAR said...

Superb

Emeka Iweka said...

Promoting African designs and designers

Linda post ♍Æ” comment na

Nice dress!nice curve,pretty lady bt lidy boo tell her 2 burn d fat,if she wnts 2 kip rockin dresses like dat.jah bless.

aleandra burke has gained alot of weight

CÆ ̴̴̴̴͡.̮Æ ̴͡L

This babe in black looks like Dakore

S̶̲̥̅Æ ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ cool

shout out to my girl Alex

Na wa o.... I droped a comment n 8:05pm n Linda didn't approve it.....buh she approved the ones of 1hr later..means every1 who commented for the 1st 1hr didn't have any nice thing 2 say...lmao

BeBe

ᶥᵗˢ didi said...

Love her LBD! Sooo Cute!

cool..linda pls post ma comment

Lady Stelusy said...

splendid! Africa fashion is really moving on well, great job guys.

Gud

Lady Stelusy said...

Nice outfits, it makes sense.

Not interesting! Nxt plssss!!!!

That back view no too make am, folds dey

Splendid

The girl in the second pic. What happened to her elbow. The bleaching cream no reach there?

Aunty Linda.Pls post Afe Babalola University skul fees o n see ow Nigerian parents r exploited.Pls Pls Pls!!!

Yea ur rite

dey try sha...bt y dem no use deir legend tke do advert

I hope my comment gets posted dis time around

Linda post ♍Æ” comment biko

Nice dress! but plz if u hv rings at ur back don't wear an open cloth. Dat will show it #zara#

This has been on going for a bit now, as usual classy events snob linda ikeji till last minute

Glo has been owing me part of my salary since june, how much are they paying b4, and they are doing rubish in london.....Pay me my money ooo!!!!!!

Glo network and their showoffs! It is a good partnership! However, before you go continental, please tidy up the national level! There is still a whole lot to be invested/ follow ups in Naija.

fly guy said...

sexy alex burke

If its African,why did they take it to London?we should be drawing their attention to them instead of throwing ourselves at them ...
August 12, 2013 at 8:11 PM

This Person Oozes Wisdom.

tahats alexandra burke who won x factor uk 2008 with d hallelijah song...i love u girl

DAN

Glo is busy sponsoring African Fashion Week while their staff die and they can't even honour the dead nor do anything for their families...
Linda, pls publish this...if not for anything, but for the fear of. God and respect for the dead.
Last Saturday, a Globacom staff- Oyindamola, died on her way to work. The bus she was in, caught fire around Alaka Estate- Costain, in Lagos. She burnt to death and people around saw her I.D tag and called Customer Care...imagine! Today is tuesday, nothing is being said or done. Its rather painful cos this could happen to anybody.
Last year, a very young guy collapsed @ work and died of heart attack( the Ahmadu Bello Way-Lagos customer Care office, again) and nothing was done for his family.
Two years ago, a guy that used to work @ one of the Gloworld shops @ Yobe left his wife and 2 month old baby in Lagos, flew to Kano and was on his way to Yobe by road, from Kano, he was involved in an accident and died too. Again, nothing was done for his family. We staff members had to contribute money to give his wife! Imagine!!!
If there were staff busses for those in Lagos, the girl Oyindamola would probably be alive today. People have been leaving comments on ur blog about this 'great' company and чσu've been publishing them amd his children are seeing these comments too. They newly introduced a health plan and after 2 weeks its been discontinued! Every hospital involved have big placards @ their reception asking their staff members 'NOT to treat Glo staff'...
No staff buses, what is more. De-reping than seeing people that claim to work in the corporate organizations jumping Danfos and Molues with the meager salaries and stagnancy and чσu're there claiming to give people millions of Naira and sponsoring events. Step up your game and make your staff happy...Its always one technical issue or the other on the network cos the people that are supposed to be monitoring it are being treated poorly.
This is a story чσu should publish Linda...its not a comment.

RIP Oyindamola. We L♥√e чσu but God loves чσu more! Rest in the bossom of the Lord.

lamborghini said...

Alexandra burke, she looks really beautiful hmmm her weaves damn!

lamborghini said...

Mumu ekpa! Do u think she's a nigerian girl, how can u say alexandra burke is bleaching? U get sense? Am not sure u even know her, sometimes it could come from the camera flash, haven't U snapped picures with ur fone and u look dark in the pictures and some very light. Every girl wen appear for LIB de bleach nonsense

lamborghini said...

Alexandra burke, she looks really beautiful hmmm her weaves damn!

Oya put your name so they can know who you are

AMAZON,

JESUSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

LOOK AT THE FOLDSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WORRA HECK???!!!

Linda post honest comments the essence is defeated if you don't then you are not original

I think conductance of the fashion shows in the country is more valueable then to organize the shows abroad. Because the shows in the country is worthy for the country.
South Africa News Online