A message to all single ladies - from Charly Boy | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 17 August 2013

A message to all single ladies - from Charly Boy

If you're a single lady...this message is for you from Mr Charles Oputa
All the single ladies reading this, chin-up and give your good self a thumb up. Nothing doest thou. Last week I had a father/daughter discussion with my Princess. I could feel the frustration in her tone as we spoke about different issues. When I asked about her boyfriend she gave me a very long and irritated “Naija babe” hiss, she aired out her frustrations with this whole dating business. "Daddy we are no longer dating." “I’m so very sorry my love, but what happened I queried,” very anxious to hear the gist, cause me and my Princess are just that close. This is my daughter’s 3rd boyfriend since she started dating, and she has only been with him for barely 6months… "Daddy, please I’m tired, he is not ambitious, he has no drive, and he is too laid back for his own good, how can I marry a man like that? To make matters worse, he thinks I am overly ambitious, he says I do way too much – please tell me how that’s a bad thing.” Hummmmm, my daughter, my princess my pride and joy is unhappy. 
You see since childhood, my Princess has been very independent, very focused and determined - no nonsense kind of ‘chic’, (can an apple fall too far from its tree). She is intelligent and extremely hardworking, I mean what more could a man ask for in a woman? Quickly, I was thinking of how to calm my ticked off Princess down. "Darling, you know daddy will always love you no matter what, most importantly you know damn too well that you are not under any pressure to get married. So be patient, concentrate on your carrier and yourself my darling, he will come when he comes, and if he doesn't come, have your baby, I wouldn't mind another grandchild." Did I really say that? Oh! Yes I did, and I meant that.

Single ladies are on the rise these days, because for a long time coming, there has been an explosion of male joblessness in Nigeria and the world over. There has also been a decline in men's life prospects that have disrupted and distorted the dating or the "marriage market", in a way that narrows a marriage minded woman's options. Today all the Nigerian single "good" ladies who are desirous to settle down are at a cross road in their dating life, most of them are simply tired, a lot are frustrated and many are giving up. Their options are really limited; it is mostly between the millions of Gigolos or the deadbeat, some of who are pretending that they are waiting for Jesus before they get it together; those who don't have ambition burning in their soul. I can't believe that I told my daughter to go ahead and have a baby out of wedlock. Well, with the way things are playing out in our environment, it is time we embraced new ideas about dating and marriage. Society’s highest institution called "Marriage" is fast becoming old fashioned and outdated. Look around and see the alarming rate of divorce matters all over the place, something is definitely wrong my people. At this rate, falling in love and getting married will be a question of choice rather than societal expectation or luck. Frankly speaking, women have climbed so high in their independence and career and are doing way better than the men. Men have been falling behind with amazing alacrity. Good single women are so disappointed and it’s unimaginable, it's like going to a party that has been the talk of the town for long. You buy your new dress hoping to show off at the party, but by the time you land, they tell you that all the good people have left, and the ones left are really the servants, their friends or relatives who have come to scavenge on the left over food. Believe it or not, that's the situation today, no kidding.

Since the days of my grandfather, marriage has been primarily an economic and political contract between 2 families, prized and policed by families, relatives and community. That’s why in my village, they will tell you "no be only your wife/husband you they marryoooooo" Things have changed since then, most of our dates are from facebook, bb chat, online dating, the hocus-pocus church called Pentecostals, etc. There is no doubt in my mind that we are in the midst of an extraordinary change. The transformation of young outstanding women, considered marriage material, is momentous, immensely liberating and immensely scary for prospective suitors. All the old ways are breaking down, these days ladies want to be in-charge of their lives, you can't blame them. Forget about the days of being submissive, na for your pocket. Forget about marriage vows where it says about obeying your husbands, hummmm joor, they are not slaves, understanding works better. Do they need husbands to have babies these days? Please don't get this twisted, marriage is divine and sweet when you can not only find a soul mate, but someone who can inspire you, respect you, love you, adore your feminity and independence. They are hard to find oooooo. My daughter knows that finding a good man is like finding a needle in a haystack. None the less, should women feel psychologically defeated? Hell No! Most men who don't know what time it is are still locked down with that old macho bullshit, that it is a Man’s world. Hummmmm for where, my people, women run things now, let’s get used to it, abegi, so our days on earth will be longer joor.

My princess, my baby, my joy, my little big girl knows that her character, her pedigree, her background, her ambition, her zeal and courage will most likely intimidate a lot of men out there, she realizes that this will further narrow her pool of prospects, just like she is also aware that with each passing year she is getting older and never younger but the options stay very limited. All I’m trying to say is this, I tip my hat for all the "good" single ladies out there, keep the fate, I admire your courage in not wanting to settle for any trash out there. If it doesn't fit, trash it, finding a life time partner is not ‘moimoi’. The world is already too troubled for you to be in a relationship that you know will not make you happy. Women can see these things ahead you know, that's why they are a special breed of God’s creation. I have discovered lately that men need women in their lives to keep them stable, but if push comes to a shove, women don't really need men, a case in point, ‘The great Oprah’. Yes, good men are hard to find, ask Lady D. Ha!!

230 comments:

1 – 200 of 230   Newer›   Newest»

ok...

yaaay first..xx

Its a two way traffic dear Charly Boy, same goes for ladies too! And as much as you daughter may be saying the truth about her man, its not hard to port, there are a whole lot of better men out there!

Hahahaha @ a very long "Naija Babe hiss".Nice one charly

Aunty Lindi wats wit u and this Family sef? How does this long Story line affect d Ongoing ASUU strike. Mz Beckhy

Rahdull said...

I hv to admit this man is making sense. Am sure he partially activated his *LINDA!

I feel u die mr Oputa bt in a society lyk ours, wat do u expect? Where women are made to feel unworthy witout a man in dia lyf.

not wanting to settle for any trash out there. If it doesn't fit, trash it, i agree......but women still need ,en to procreate..abi should she just do it with one random mumu.......im 26 and single but i am not so bothered as i can never settle. which is what most of my mates do,,,the ''if he loves me and can care for me then i can marry him '' band wagon...how about being head over heels with each other..whats wrng with that.......xx

Uhmmm, cahrly boy is inspirirng this days. Really what he said is true, ambitious men these days are hard to find. They men also wants working class ladies so they don't spend too much on her so, aw can they find a submissive woman. Charly boy shouldn't advise her to ave a child outside wedlock. I know it is an option most of we ladies are looking at. God help us.

He made so much sense.
But he forgot to add potential husbands lost to homosexualism.

I dare say for the first time ever, I am pleased with what mr Oputa has said. Many ladies think less of themselves because they are not married while some less achieving slut who manages to hook a low life or good for nothing man feels she has accomplished something tremendous. All the single ladies, chin up. Have dignity, you are by no means less. Do your thing. You may find your companion at age thirty, forty or fifty. Your life does not depend on a husband. Live your life, live your dream.

Lol@the spelling of career..

Thanks for Mobilising my "power of reasoning" and widening my "mind's eye".Also applicable for d married.

Osade Samuel said...

Oprah is leaving with a her boyfriend 24/7 - 365 ,, but again I get you point sir .

No Sense!!! talk about "Carrier". Olodo father.....and i wasted my time munching on this baseless epistle to the end

Is he advertising his daughter for eligible young men or wat?

iconclem said...

very readable and interesting.ladies here is the truth in its "nakedest" form!

A whole lot?! Out where?! Tell us where dem dey oooo. Not your type tho...no offence but ur plenty English is a turn off but I bet there are women who luv it! Anyhuz give directions to these "whole lot of better men" #JayBeyBlu

Osade Samuel said...

Oprah is leaving with stedman though . At any rate u some how correct but as someone said ealier same works both ways ,, gracias

Chris said...

This faggot doesn't have any moral justification to comment on single ladies. He is promoting homosexuality!

Wanderful piece, quite long but rilly interesting. It got me thinking hmmmmm.Mhen no tym o! *Moyeen

I have discovered lately that men need women in their lives to keep them stable, but if push comes to a shove, women don't really need men, a case in point.......#most men dnt knw dat.quite true.

Mariam Babatundem said...

Charly Boy is as open as can be....made alot of sense

Prudence said...

Once in a while, the area father makes sense. This is so true. I have had many men telling me I work too hard.And there are too many men that are so complacent and contented with surviving. How can an ambitious woman live like that? We just cant turn off our skills and natural bodacity and awesomeness( kungfu panda) because of lame men jor.

Please visit www.mirekusoft.com/downloads to get the Mirekusoft Install Monitor for free! It is the best uninstaller for removing unwanted programs from your PC. Babylon and Ask tool bar.

Charly champarker! I dey feel ur vibe!

Ani said...

Way to go Mr Oputa, good advertising. I can see lots of single men troopin in already to ask for your permission.

I likey.... Fantastic article... Kudos charly boi

Coco girl said...

*scam*Preachers make a lot of money by creating *dating and prayer*fellowships exclusively for the single ladies.The gullible and desperate are the victims.Isn't it ironical that you passed through that busy market filled with*hustling yet poverty stricken*bacherlors while going to church to pray for a *dream* husband.Pursuing shadows while ignoring the substance.Pray rather for the intellectual and financial upliftment of our Nigerian bachelors who number in millions,one of which is your husband.

I love this man. As if he read ma mind, if it doesn't fit, trash it.

Tochi

Vera J. H said...

Linda pls ask this "PRINCE CHARMING" of a guy to change this his porn profile pics or better still block him if he refuse,the pic is harassing people and an embarrassment to this site.due to this pics, my children thinks i am watching porn site each time i try to comment in the same post with this guy. people should not be shown nonsense here while trying to comment,soon they will start using female private part as dp, this is not porn site. remember lots of parents and advance people are here reading your blog please.

Hmmmmmm

onochie josephine isioma said...

Nice 1

amaka said...

#gbamest

Wowww,am impressed.

abeg make I do marry...too many advice for single ladies...hian o!

Same applies to wonen...your daughters experience should not be used to generalise. I am a naija man, very ambitious and so is my lady.

amara said...

Es I concur wit u charley boy.u are very rite my dear. Mens world my foot dats why I love white people whether marriage or no marriage they still rock .tufiakwa for african mentality

This guy is correct. Too many of my friends are now in their mid-forties and are childless with no man and are emotionally unbalanced. They go after man after broken man.The stress of this has taken its toll. The career they worked hard for vanished due their emotional issues. Those who decided to have children before marriage are much happier. Remember, love covers a multitude of sins. As a woman who started out a single mother and is married with more children...MY GOD IS AWESOME! #trutalk#

What is this agbaya talking about?? Encouraging women to have babies out of wedluck?? Bloody fag

Gatta admit for the first time,charlie boy made a lot of sense..he's got a good sense of humour i must say..ℓ☺ℓ@long naija babe hiss#hiss of Life#Hehehe...

PRETTY GIRL

This man has made a lot of sense

Charlie were u expecting any reasonable man to come and marry your daughter???

pallychuma said...

Lawless fellow.

Charlie man dats what you are. Motivator.

I know ladies will love this word of advise don't fool yourselves by sayin Amen to what charley boy said . It was base on his daughter's experience not yours. Those ladies getting married every weekend are they different I mean marrying hard working and successful men. So pls don't use this write up to console yourself.

Where is the sense here? Has he asked his daughter if she was the one with the fault?the guy is probably tired of the whole thing because we guys sometimes behave funny when we are tired. Just because my chick earns more than me doesn't mean am less ambitious,and if I am,why do I call her my chick? We are meant to motivate,compliment and stick with each other. Why would a father advice a daughter to be a single mother? Does it mean she doesn't have what it takes to attract a responsible guy?by the way,Charly Grand pa should ask himself and the daughter WHAT IS AMBITION? Is the money? Although if a man can't afford a relationship (money wise) he shouldn't go into it,but if a lady enters a relationship without looking she will have issues like this. Why were you the guy? Was the money?sex?swag?or Love. She needs to define what she wants.

African woman don enter wahala. Hear wat my oga was telling me yesterday, a lady needs to keep low profile in order to get a husband.wat he meant by low profile is she must ride a rickety car that will develop a fault, so that she can stand by d road expecting a man to help out, that way, she may jam a mr right.she must not aspire to d top position in her career. She expected to work extra hard if she must be relevant in her placework, but must not enjoy her hard earned money for fear of scaring men away all bc I want a husband.its absurd

I know ladies will love this word of advise don't fool yourselves by sayin Amen to what charley boy said . It was base on his daughter's experience not yours. Those ladies getting married every weekend are they different I mean marrying hard working and successful men. So pls don't use this write up to console yourself.

Where is the sense here? Has he asked his daughter if she was the one with the fault?the guy is probably tired of the whole thing because we guys sometimes behave funny when we are tired. Just because my chick earns more than me doesn't mean am less ambitious,and if I am,why do I call her my chick? We are meant to motivate,compliment and stick with each other. Why would a father advice a daughter to be a single mother? Does it mean she doesn't have what it takes to attract a responsible guy?by the way,Charly Grand pa should ask himself and the daughter WHAT IS AMBITION? Is the money? Although if a man can't afford a relationship (money wise) he shouldn't go into it,but if a lady enters a relationship without looking she will have issues like this. Why were you the guy? Was the money?sex?swag?or Love. She needs to define what she wants.

Vry true and inspiring! Nice one out there to all d single ladies.

I totally agree with u PC,same talk goes to Ladies too bcuz girls act that way too,girls with no ambition and dating men and looking up on them

TALK

For once I so admitted with Mr charly boy.

Absolutely fabs..G☺☺d one daddy charls!..linda post my comment o

I'm tired too much pressure to marry and it's killing me and makes me sad thank u Charlie for the inspiration now I knw am not alone. Pls babes share ur experience oh #ibeenThinksayThemswearforme

I Hope This Is no advert forhis daughter..lol all d best to all single ladies out There!!!

ejikebiggerdick said...

@Mr prince charming jobless being! Are u one of the better lot of men out there? Shut that hole u call mouth abeg!

And what's up with the whole advert about your pimple faced daughter? Hate her with such a boyish structure.

You see since childhood, my
Princess has been very
independent, very focused and
determined - no nonsense kind of
‘chic’, (can an apple fall too far
from its tree). She is intelligent
and extremely hardworking, I
mean what more could a man ask
for in a woman?
U want to use this medium to find suitors for her, abi?
Pack well joor! And make sure u pack away from progressive people!

"If it don't fit, trash it." Charlie boy

Tari Cupcake said...

Finally! No one has ever stated it soooo well. Nice one

Story!!! It's a two-way street joor!!!

**Twizzy**

Soooo right!love u sir.u make sense always.kudos and RESPECT!

Nice one. Real men r hard to find.

Yemmie Oscar said...

What an interesting piece!
All the single ladies, hope you are inspired?

Absolutely true,Charly ,nice one

PrinceC only your comment makes sense here from d few comments posted,thats one of the reasons i love your comments,the others just rushed to comment rubbish,maybe d story e too long to read for them,i couldnt read it all too sha,Lolzzz

Tari Kupcake said...

Finally! No one has stated it better. Lovely! Lovely!! Lovely!!!

LALICIOUS said...

SERIOUSLY!!!!!!!! Get a job',,,ur type is what he is tryin to explain,,,u should bow ur head in shame ,always commenting on every post even in a post where u were called trash'yeah its' u he called out
Even dis ASUU dnt make oda students as trash as u are,dey are busy doin somtin with dier lives

My dear i sent you an email lastnight,reply me pls, from (mzjolly2010@gmail.com) i used the email address on your profile

Gbam! Charly boy said it all, he spoke d truth and was very honest about it!

Too long

I totally relate with the lady even though I'm a guy. I'm certain she has lived in the west(US or UK) for a while. Most foreign educated folks tend to be VERY independent and extremly driven than their counterparts in Nigeria. However, there are some exceptions. From my own experience, I've met so many LAZY ladies that just want to marry RICH so they wouldn't have to work...#DONTSETTLEFORLESS

Charly boy is preaching to the choir! i feel the exact same way. I had to end it with my ex not because she wasnt that successful but because he had no drive or ambition in his life.

I recently finished my masters and worked my ass off to get a solid job besides that i have my own business my own wensite and i do a lot of things on the side. I just started my career and my future is looking bright. My ex on the other hand is 6 years older than me living in his mothers house on a 50k salary working way out of this field of study.

I always asked him what he wants to do, what his passions are and how he intends to get there. I tried my best to help him realize his dreams but it seemed like he had no interest in moving forward. This is fine because some people are ok with mediocrity but i knew he was not happy because he voiced it all the time. How can someone be so unhappy with where they are and not do something about it?!

what pissed me off the most is that he always had something negative to say about "rich people" how they are this and that and I always thought why dont you focus on making yourself better so you can also have what they do. He always complained about how over ambitious he thinks I am and went as far as calling me a feminist because I am trying to build a career for myself.

I had to leave him because it is easier to pull someone down than it is to push them up and I knew I couldnt marry someone who has no zeal for life but a mouth full of complaints.

At 24 I have a career that I am very proud of but sadly most men in Nigeria cannot handle it. They are intimidated by so called strong women and to be honest I dont even think i am that strong i just know that i didnt come to this world to suffer and im taking charge of my own destiny. Sometimes I wonder if i will ever find a nigerian man that understands and challenges me

well its half truth....who will impregnate ur princess? one thing I know is not all of us that can marry.one of the way out is tru polygamy. if not the gap will be too big to catch up with years.

Ooooh linda wud βε sooo happy αη∂ dancing azonto ryt nw!ok he's ryt buh 2 an extent tho'..!ah dnt bliv dat women run d world αη∂ ah dnt also bliv dat men run d world!!we ah in it 2geda no competition!#doctorbobby

On point.

Blackberry said...

Charlyboy is crazically mad!! Divorce lady D first before u encourage havin babies outa wedlock! Evry saturday pple are getting married dat means marriage aint declining...u r only unlucky if u can't get a man to marry u. Shikina!!!

Mich said...

Ok,just two things.
What's Mr.Charly's issue with Pentecostals,eh?
This is the second time he's taking weak,blindsided shots at them...I think its highly inappropriate of him(I'm not defending Pentecostals,I'm not even a Christian).
The earlier Christians learn to stick together irrespective of denomination,the better it would be for the Faith.
Secondly,about his assertions on the growing trend of "male scarcity" and him suggesting having children outside wedlock to his daughter,well its his 'princess',he can pretty much tell her whatever he dims fit.
But for him to say there are fewer ambitious/succesful men compared to women,is totally untrue.
This is such a delicate topic that might lead to some sort of debate about gender superiority therefore,I would not say any further than I already have.
As for single ladies,whatever makes you happy,no one says you have to be with any man...
But then again,can you actually live the rest of your"single"life without sometimes craving a man?

Brilliant write up charlie! Buh having a kid outta wedlock isn't easier.its better 2 hold on till u get d near perfect guy.God will sure ans us ladies..

True talk Charly.... God bless you Sir.

Prince charming am so lost in the admiration of you here *coversFace* make ur head no big o,lol

Nice elderly advice from u charly boy,bt hope dis is nt a way of advertising ur girl to d guys **just saying**.lol..

I agreed with him.

emmanuel said...

hmmmm,the bible approve marriage so why is he trying to change the concept of thinking of ladies,pay no attention to him,hes not worth to be a model,the bible is

Legendkid said...

This our Charly Boy is talented and somehow he selling his daughter as well as giving a very strong advice to all the ladies out there who think marriage is a do or die affair.

if you think marriage is a much, ask lady D. who is she?

I am a single lady but I find Charly boy's advice completely useless.
Thanks y'all for reading my comment.

Charly BOBO, u hv just said it all n dats d reality, single ladies, a word is enough for a wise if u really understand were Charly is headn to. Be wise to pick d relevant words for ur own good.

A lady without a man is incomplete no matter how successful they are. That is the case of most of these top celebrities. They are of age but with no man to compliment there stories.

Women would stop being single the day they learn to compromise.if you're the one (woman) doing better,then carry your man along.if you're the one with the bigger salary,help out with bills! What is life,really all about? Love is more important than all the monies in the world!

Na so jor, but finding a good one is both wanting. A good guy should find a good girl. Is it not obvious that, the reverse is the case sometimes? If in any case a lady who has made through and living stable can get a good guy and vice versa then, it would be easy no matter his/her financial status. Anyways, guys try to get something doing and that will earn you respect.

Omor Salvation said...

What's this one saying? #notINTERESTED

nekkybrown said...

Thumbs up charlyb.

What's the message here oga charly boy?

True talk

musings of a dame said...

9c 1 coming from the area fada. To all the single ladies out there, there's a man out there for you. Cheers.

I love Charly boy, he reminds me of my dad....he is too real. love him die. He made so much sense and has made my day with this wonderful write up.

PC swithart,u have become synonymous to Linda Ikeji blog,i passed by my office cafeteria and heard 3 girls arguing your issue on a story on this blog

IkwerreBoy said...

Charly boy is obviously a bad adviser to his princess. even though he will accept a grand child born out of wedlock I don't think he is in a position to encourage that. All the ladies that will read this and feel happy and come to the conclusion that after all getting married is not everything they should all remember they are not as privileged as Charly Boy's princess. They should also take their time to research and read stories of single mothers in developed world obviously that is where Charly Boy got his inspiration and exposure from. Don't use his princess situation to make your own judgement. single motherhood have bad effects on the development of their out of wedlock children.

Hmmm....God will take control, i must surely cross the bridge wen i get there

Tru talk sha GOOD MEN R HARD TO FIND. May GOD help us single ladies find a man dat will giv us laughter all d days of our lives AMEN.

oby said...

areafada,I'm beginning 2 cherish u a person.

Blazygurl said...

you Have No point man

I agree with him.

Well said

Wow, Charlyboy tell 'me oh! I could tell you stories...but thank God I finally found my needle in a haystack! Love you, Kiri!

Well written.

This society expects too much from women and it can be tiring at times. Time has come for women to live their lives for themselves and not for men or for fear of what people will say. If a good man comes, all well and good, if not, don't settle for any mama's boy or puffed up Pampers man, they will leave you more miserable than they met you. Ladies, be yourself, have dreams, pursue your passion, have fun, eat, drink, exercise, make friends and live right. In the end, God won't ask whether u are married or not. You will be judged alone, so why the desperation?

Oh Yes..Well said Charlie...
I totally agree with him,just the other day in my mum's church,the pastor's wife called me aside and started telling me so many thing about marriage,dating and about finding a good man,and that I should start praying now for a good husband and she said she has her reasons(which she didn't tell me)

Pllsssss..I am 23 and I am not even ready for marriage,I am not dating anyone cause I tried,oh yes I tried dating and pls some men just don't get that things have changed and you need to respect your lady,if you don't then you are not ready...
All I know is that I won't die single....

All the single ladies,put your hands uppppppp!!!
Whooopppp!!!

This is one side of the story, you should have also heard the boy`s story before coming up with this essay of yours.

Despite some of the obvious fact he stated,which i agree too,i'm disappointed in charlie boy ! He shudnt hv come out lyk dis to air his frustration along side wit his daughter of bin unable to finding a life partner. Only God knows if her daughter character is not wat is putting guys off or perhaps her problem to find a good man to marry. Charlie you wil not succeed wit dos bad ideas u want to pass to our decent ladies,dat dey can go ahead and have babies out of wedlock and also making dem feel dat der r de one's heading now,so dat dey wil not hv respect for der man. Charlie you lie. My ladies i dont want u all to yield to CHARLIE's fucking ideas. Dat is his problem and dat of her daughter. Dont allow dem to rob u, respectable ladies wit der frustrations. You all are unique in ur own ways. Love you all my beautiful and decent AFRICAN LADIES.

I work with a lot of young married ladies who are basically carrying their homes - they pay d rent, school fees, take care of the kids and still have to deal with an insecure husband and this is also a reason why domestic violence is on d rise. It was my father's pride to provide for us back in d days, he will do manual labour if need be to put food on d table as the man of d house but today d men have empty pride, they r too big and cool to serve, to humble themselves and conquer. Some of them ve guts to say ladies r looking for rich men to marry well guess what, some ladies I know fell in love and married their jobless boyfriends out of humility and trust that he will stand on his 2 feet in time. She continues to work hard and all he does is seek contracts that never comes until d poor girl is heavy laden with providing for d home. This is y some ladies will rather marry a man that can at d least put food on d table, buy her a gift no matter how small occasionally and be secured in himself whether she earns more or not. Sir, u spoke with wisdom and u r right. Our men have become very laid back.

PrinceCharming well said..

Hmmm true talk....so sis linda be patient with time an egg will walk.

This is so inspiring.. Charly boy ur daughter is lucky to have a father like u.. Gone are those days like u rightly said.. To marry no be necessity

Charly boy,its ok to console ur frustrated daughter but pls dnt rub it to d world dat marriage as ordained by God is a failed institution. God cannot be mocked whatever u sow,u reap,if u sow love,commitment,sacrifice,understanding and selflessness in relationship u can never reap failure. Women these days are looking for things and life unrealistically while our young men are trying their hardest to meet their needs. Its impossible to get d same materialisric benefits dat married men give girls to wat our young men can afford which makes it difficult for them to remain in d marriage or relationship. Advice to single ladies,keep ur heads down,commit ur lives and ways to God and He will perfect all dat concerns ur life. Marriage is d greatest gift to us from God!Enjoy peeps,I'm happily married.*winks*

you see what happens when a Man has a linda in him... i don't know if he was supporting Gay thing when he came out to say there is a linda in him.. Now your daughter is looking for a man.. she can also look for woman to date...abi now at least the woman will have a man called charly in her...

when you are in full support of gay guys dis is what will happen...Without gayz guys no plenty... now with gayz guyz don reduced...
And also i think he is trying to advertise his daughter took.

anyways tell ur son to get married so someone can marry your daughter..
i no dey find craze woman sha before she go wake up tell me say there is a boy called charlie in her...

Ms. J said...

Well said, I totally agree

Naija Optimist said...

Made sense here...

Naija Optimist said...

Made sense here...

Thanks Daddy Charley! Mi appreciate yin gidi gan! Na true talk!

Wow, he makes so much sense. Thank you SIr for encouraging women that there are men out there who get us.

Makes so much sense, too many lazy men out there these days and society expects hardworking women to end up with dead beats in the name of they must marry. Better to be single than stuck with a liability as husband

Mich as in Micheal or Micah?

Lindiwe!!! Carrier shld be changed to Career and fate to Faith..

So true, most women are the husband in their homes these days with the lazy men they arrived just to please society. The wife pays rent, school fees and even buys the food then the man will reward her with beatings just imagine. Too many male loafers around

na 2day.obi s always a boys.edet has bn leaving in calabar.almajiri has bn beging.from d statistical research i hv conduct on d marriage and divorce.the rate of divorce has xceded marriage 4 the past 2yrs due to homosexuality.and the inference is dat in d next 21yrs there wl b more single ladies btw d age of 18 and 35 and more bachelors btwn d age of 20 and 45.if care nt taken marriage wl b by contract n rate of suragacy wl also increase.From SNAPDRAGON5 TRADEMARK

Omg am in tears.. charly boy thank you soo much...i am a nigerian girl leaving in europe and our nigerian men wil date us and go to nigeria to marry some village girl just because she is more submissive..where was those girls when they did not have papers or jobs..they will just use us finish our money and go to niaja to marry...anyways i date white guys now atleast the are loyal!! Londongirl

JJ said...

It was a typo error, Mr. Spelling bee. He spelled it right the secind time.

afrobynature said...

100 percent true

PLS./.. WE STILL HAVE DUDES THAT ARE WILLIN TO GO ALL D WAY TO MAKE THAT MONEY.. DONT SCATER OUR HEADS.. MY GUY IS NT SO RICH BUT HE LOVES ME.. TELL UR DAUGHTER TO WASH HER HEAD WITH KONKON OR GO TO WHITE GARMENT TGO PRAY.... PLS LIB, GIVE US BETA GIST I BEG...

Hehe.. Be consoling peeps

Please this guy should fuck off to oblivion abeg, Linda u always accomodate his posts coz hes ur friend, dont even wanna read WHATEVER he wrote however much it made sense, don't care, he shld start a blog already if he doesn't have much else to do than send in articles, he sha wants to be in our faces by force and Linda's blog is the means for that, i'm sure even when u dont wanna post u wldnt wanna say no to him Linda coz he's ur person, abeg let him go n rest, he's bordering on the state of nuisance...

u are such a fool,a big idiot,thats a kids holding on to the hand of an adult and not something else,dirty minded idiat like u!

JJ said...

Ladies and gentlemen, you can all join this new dating site - NaijaPersonals.com.

Ejike ur d bigger jobless person,how did u notice him if u are not jobless urself? What a stupid name u have too

You need your mind cleansed out!! Smh judging people without knowing them! Too blind to see a lady holding a thumb!

Charly u make sense I picked some thing reasonable and a better option from your article. Instead of waiting for one mr right jst drop a child dat will be proud of u b4 menopause abiiiii just passing by

Hahahahhahaha! Prince Charming u r really a celeb on this blog abeg,see attention,haters and lovers alike. I like u jor,ride on

Of cus to see better man no be moi moi!

You go reach 62

It's simply a child holding an adults finger! Corrupt mind!!

After all d gbagauns, thing is... we cannot expect our men to be better than our economy.

Women find it easy to package, there is always someone to carry a 26 year old's bukata.. Be it her suitors, her father, her boyfriend, som1 to give her a landing base. For men, it is difficult. And the painful thing is, ppl like Charly boy and odas in the entertainment biz hav created some form of distraction 4 men. So men are underachieving.

I think in the end, we need to pray for our men, bcos truth be told; speak to an old women, you would understand that the importance of a life partner. God created women to help men, and a woman's man is a crown and glory. It is not a master-servant covenant, more like a yin-yang relationship, each helping each other to achieve goals.

another problem is that in our modern popular culture, the role of men as care-givers hasn't changed, but the role of women as care-givers in their own way is changing to a "woman fight for urself" mantra. This has come in the time when the god of Money "Plutus" or "Mormon" is being worshipped even in the house of God. So once you can get money you can substitute everything else. Money as it is today "cash" did not come into being until about 2500BC, and ppl got what they want thru trade by barter.

Morals- Man is a social animal, you cannot be an island to urself

jason stl said...

Charley thinks Nigeria is the western world if ur baby is a single mom the probability of finding a good man becomes less. As a young nija guy working in the US and making $15k a month why will i want to take care of some other man's kid when I can have my own. There are a lot of good and hard working guys out there that will marry one day so she will find one. She just needs to be realistic he may not be 10 out of 10 but ask ur self are you 10 out of 10

Prince charming this..Prince Charming that! Those of u insulting him are bastards that are more jobless,especially u ejikebigdick,u are stupid always

Are u one of the unambitious men?
Mumu park well joor

Yawns!

Most of this makes sense....i was beginning to feel like this situation is peculiar to me only. Thanks!

I have never looked at charly boy cos of his mode of dressing and I must admit I did judge him cos of his appearance, but damn! This guy is good...I thought he was jus a dush bag with piercing scattered all over I never knew he was filled with fulfilling words...thanks charly for that.Now I will learn not to judge a book by it's cover, but charly has a really disgusting cover but fulfilling and lovely contents God bless

I wonder ooo he has being really inspiring lately, thought he was jus and trash occupying the country, he sees things differently and I like that...MEN are soooooo foolish me sef don tire e be like say I go ton gay!

@Ejike"Whatever" and Other Anonymous cowards like Lalicious; Its so fulfilling knowing people like you have the time to think about me and analyse me that much as to then send hate comments and insults my way, how beautiful!
You guys come on LIB, read a post, comment, and still have the time to keep up Prince Charming...WOW! Who is more jobless in the picture now? Carry on mugs!

@JayBeyBlu; Lol..I kind of love your type of attacks at me, the type of intelligent and savvy banter you throw at me. Well, there are a whole lot better men out there I tell you, that's a fact!

sam said...

Lets be real. Charly Boy is covering up on the frustration of His girl, in so much way ladies responding here also need a coverage for their own frustration after all when you can even boast of home for your folks, can you really appreciate one, ladies are so flirtiest this days that one man cannot satisfy those itchy pussy, what do they need, a child or children out of wedlock so that they will have an endless frolic outside, shame to you ladies. some of them will still be in the front row of different churches by tomorrow singing hosanna, is that what the faith you confess teaches?? we can blame them, that is part of depravity brought about by the so call westernization, sooner than later they will even be running their mouth to be marrying themselves, they always result to alternative when the push come to shove, when reality down on them that home with their waywardness cannot be guaranteed again, what kind of advice can be coming from charly Boy??? anyway we wont be there when they are gnashing the teeth over the decisions they must have taken. shame! shame!! shame!!!

Charly Boy is both wrong and right. He is wrong for advising his daughter to be an unwed mother and right in advising her to be strong and independent woman. I expect him to advise Nigerian men to be respectful to their women and to be more self assured so that they wont feel threatened by their women. So many men are so insecure and that's what preventing them from having any meaningful relationships. Women too should practice humility even if you have 5 PhDs and is the CEO of a top company.

Wow
pls visit www.omgville.blogspot.com if you love fashion . Its awesome

No offence charly boy , but I believe that ,It takes two to create a child and it takes the same two to bring that child up. It's a scientific fact. If you remove cultural and religious bias and look at it objectively you will find out that the prospects for children from single homes compared to those from 2 parent families is low. Do your statistical research.

sounds very misandry...ask ur daughter she probably has a part 2 play for her bin single...what will parents with sons say...ma mom will probably write 5 pages on how useless women can be. Smh i got ur msg after 2 lines..u don't need this man-hater speech we have feelings too u know

My broda u follow me see dt thing

HE MAKE SENSE BY TELLING U TO MEET MAN TO IMPREGNATE U TO BORN IN UR FATHER HOUSE, NA SO UR MUM BORN U, U FOOLISH GIRLS WITHOUT SENSE, RESPONSIBLE GIRLS ARE MARRIED EVERYDAY. WHO WILL SEE THIS MAN BEHAVIOR AND MARRY HER DAUGHTER, SO FAMILY BACK GROUND MATTER NO BE MONEY ALONE, U GIRLS SHOULD ASK URSELF THOSE GIRLS WHO ARE GETTING MARRIED ARE THEY NOT GIRLS LIKE U, ALL U DO IS PRAISING THIS MAN, U DON'T KNOW HIS PLAN, IF BY TOMORROW, HE WILL TELL HER DAUGHTER THAT IF U CAN FIND ANY MAN TO GIVE U BELLE I CAN HELP U, BECAUSE THE SOCIETY IS CHANGING, THEN SOME FOOLISH GIRLS WILL COME OUT HERE PRAISING HIM, THAT HE MAKE SENSE

This your sermon is because your daughter is involved...look in the mirror and ask your self if you have been a good role model to the same young men you are now accusing of lazing around...you live a wayward life and take nasty nude pics...and just because your daughter has fallen victim to one of the many problems of our society you are now running your mouth trying to promote single parenthood...I see, but the question is who will get her pregnant? I mean if there's no person good enough to marry her,how come there's someone good enough to lay with her back to back???...wake up you too old for this crap!!!

Amirah Abdullahi, he will make more sense if he write tomorrow again by saying that all the girls out there if u did not see any man that will agree to impregnate u, u can meet ur DAD or ur Brother, that is sense too, because he will tell her daughter soon, that if, she can find any man to pregnant her, that he can do that to her, that it doesn't matter who impregnate her

We Nigerians always judge a book by its cover. I'm sure charley boy is a wonderful dad n husband. There is serious sense in what ur saying. This is reality. GBAM.

The problem many people have in this country is our refusal to face reality, its like we like living in denial! This "white wedding, me and my husband" desire is eluding so many ladies & after spending years praying, only a few end up getting it, pls ladies, children are way more important than marriage and that's the truth, children are your future so think seriouslyy about having them than the "wedding dress".
Our northern ladies fare better because they marry any kind of man(in terms of age) & can be number whatever in his house. We southerners are quite choosy & way too obsessed with "wedding". A word is enough for the wise. Charly Boy made sense here cos he's facing the reality squarely. Few years down the line, some of you abusing him now will be sorry you left off child bearing too long.
*one love*

Awele is dat u on ur dp! U luk kind of cute. Plsss if u r single,give me ur pin or ur no so we can chat better. I'm a cute chic lukin for a serious boo . U luk cool, I jst hop u r ready for sumthin serious

"The world is already too troubled for you to be in a relationship that you know will not make you happy"....This is too true.

Charley boy with all your exposure you are encouraging your princess to emulate those deprived sectors of the first world countries. Look at the countries that have done this. See how the people dat choose to do this are some of the most socially, economically and morally deprived, in an otherwise affluent society. They are the ones in projects, council flats, children playing truant from school, in gangs etc. Boundaries exist for a purpose charly. Please growup. What we don't need in Nigeria now is a generation of children with absentee fathers. Please let's not subscribe to that, Nigeria already has enough problems

Let's us be very careful what we are reading. This opinion is from hell and some of you are oblivious of it. Let every man be a liar and only God be true. God has created the marriage institution and assigned each one their role, stylishly devil is trying to distort it. If Men are getting more and more irresponsible the question is why? Their is more to this than some of you understand. You are what you believe.

Pls zoom the pix before spewing trash. You just have a dirty mind.

OMO said...

Charlly boy is so right!! I am just 21 but I know this is true.. anytime I hear of marriage I cringe!! I am striving to be FINANCIALLY INDEPENDENT because it is tough in these streets!! and yea It takes a real man (which is hard to find) to date a girl with ambition..
all these "I cannot buy a big car because i wont get toasters.. eff that!! you worked hard you deserve it!!" Women are becoming more independent these days and its a good thing. I love the idea of being married but what are the chances of my man not cheating on me or frustrating me during this marriage.. I also LOVE kids but hey, if I'm not with a suitable suitor by 27yrs.. then Il have to go with that single mother life because from where I am now. It does not sound bad at all!

Tee Babie said...

Okay I rarely comment on LIB,but I can't help but comment on this post.VERY FEW!Note, VERY FEW men will agree to what Charly Boy has said here.True,gone are d days when women who marry later than 25 years of age are pitied.Just this week I got to know dat my female cousin of 31 years old would be getting married soon and my little brother said she was already overdue.Guess what my response was?I told him the new ripe age for a woman is now 30!Accept it or not, that is the reality we all have to face.Women are now independent and they know what they want.Only desperados go for anything just so they can get the Mrs title and later in marriage wish they had waited for the right person.It takes a woman who has been in Charley Boy's daughter's shoes to understand what the issues are. Are we not surprised when we see beautiful ladies with good personalities and good jobs with no husband?Don't get it twisted.It's not their pride.It's a question of knowing what you want and having self worth.I can go on and on...The reasons for delayed marriages are enormous...call it delayed education due to our educational system or poverty and the inability of parents to help their children complete their education in good time or insecurity on the side of men thereby resulting into complex for them.The society has a role to play here.Our men need a re_orientation of the African culture.They can still get the respect they desire from women if they play thier games well.They should drop the male ego and be encouraged to do better if their wives are doing well.In any case,its the same purse their monies go to,so why the beef?Women should also be prepared to have babies out of wedlock in case the right guy does not come by the time they are 35 years of age.*Just my thoughts*

adunola said...

You are so on point area father/

This is a misleading article which if hearkened to will divert and alter either the permissive or perfect will of God in the lives of our young women, it tends to send the wrong message even to girls in their teens at an early age. Linda if you ask me i will suggest that such an article be gradually taken down for the good of the society and our little girls who might want to make reference to it at some point much later in life.
The fact that it has affected your daughter and now she is finding it hard does not mean you should rub of her frustrations on the rest of the decent single ladies out there.
There is always 2 sides to a story and it is rather unfortunate we may never hear the side of the story of her so called ex-boyfriend.
Also Mr. Charlie boy you cannot try to make yourself happy or your daughter happy or rather console yourself with this article because it is obvious you did not think this through carefully and constructively.
First it is totally wrong to say that in the long run women don't really need men, that's a lie from the pits of hell because in its simple view it supports a whole lot of negative things which you stand for and if taken in literally the way you dished it out you have just dished out a series of ills that will follow.
If God knew that the female gender did not really need a male figure head then he would not have created man in the first place, but in his infinite wisdom he saw that it was not good for man to be alone and that is why he created woman.
You made a lot of economic sense as regards the situation in Nigeria so what then will you say about countries like Canada, Australia, Switzerland, Germany, Denmark to mention but a few where their economies are strong but you still have unmarried single ladies, are the men there also weak and don't have jobs as well.
No they are not.
Let me tell you the truth of the matter how bitter it may sound it is the truth.
When you promote an ideology or rather a way of life that is contrary to the dictates of the good books whether its the Bible, Qur'an or the Talmud all under the guise of civilization or modernization it must have effects as every action requires a reaction.

Now with the way you Mr. Charlie Boy has accepted and promoted same sex relationships and you even went ahead to say in the long run women don't really need men how then do you expect to see your daughter marry rather you have gone ahead to advice her to have her child and remain a single mother.
Bad deeds will only give birth to bad deeds the list goes on and on.
With your line of thought from the root cause which is the acceptance and promotion of same sex relationships you are reaping the ripple effects and unless we as a nation begin to see it for what it is i am afraid we will breed a generation that we will look back and weep and say the 3 most regrettable words. HAD I KNOWN.
Russia is fighting it with all its got because it is not a good thing and can be avoided and treated.
There is so much to say but i think i will stop here for now.

charlie boy is right, i hardly see any marriage work these days, however, being a child that was born out of wedlock, i can tell u that it is not ez both on d mother and d child....d best bet is to pray for God to send u ur own man, cuz there r still some really good guys out there,u just need prayers

Lol..dats a pic of someone holding another person' thumb..its not what u think,look @ it well.

So every d guys getting married every weekend are hardworkng and succesful? Where dem for bring u from.. Fine face and empty brain..we know ur type.

I understand where your coming from and I too was like Princess this time last year. However, I met someone 10 months ago...I used to feel hopeless and like I would never get married because honestly look around at men. I bought a house and started living how I felt I would be in the future (alone). Things can change in a blink of an eye..I do have one question...I too wanted to go ahead and have a baby. If all the good ones are gone, who will Princess have a baby for? will be the same dead-beats that she speaks of? more than likely unless she disappears that dead-beat guy may be in her life forever...more than likely someone elses man right? exactly. That was my future plan honestly but times have changed. If she is ambitious and wants a good man she should go find one...the world is big...he doesnt have to come from Nigeria...she can date other races as well as ppl from other countries...shes still young as so am I....Fortunately for me I met a great man that we look fwd to marriage together...so freaking wonderful although not perfect , damn perfect for me! I would have all his babies. Thank God he only wants 2!! ;) Never let AMBITION DETER YOUR DECISIONS OR CHARACTER....You can have ambition but not BLIND ambition....There are GREAT MEN still out there...

eeemmmm...i wld like to also see his advice for his son. Obviously he wld advice him not to settle for less. Education and being ambitious is not a yardstick for measuring a good wife/husband (what of character?). Yes..most guys of nowadays lack all dat but also most girls of nowadays lack good character.

Drive or no drive, I can't marry Charlie Boy's daughter except she stays away from her father. The man look and acts too evil for my liking.

Seriously, women have stepped up and it is good, they only need to learn to manage their career/success with that of their bf/husbands.

Sorry Charlie boy, it is still a man's world and you know it. Better be true to yourself and advise your daughter properly.

Some of us are way more ambitious than most women can handle, without feeling abandoned at the end.
God save us from all of these wild expectations, who say make I go school sef.

This is really great, yes charly and Linda, you spoke my mind today on this article. Young nijas are getting lazy by the day, even ou Linda, I know you have seen orishirishi in the hands of men. I hope this is the beginning of a very long season of charlyboys contribution to your blog. I like his mind, I have always known he fools people with all those controversial stuffs he does. His mind is certainly bright an creative. Linda please greet him for me, and thank him for being real.

Hater Unltd said...

It's not Porn, you pervert! It's a baby's hand holding a thumb. You are what you see!

Hater Unltd said...

Is it to complicated for your muslim brain Achimugu?

Oluwabobby said...

Ladies demself,their wahala too much......well,just incase u want to have a child out of wedlock,my thn is strong and available.Call me on 09061s420t5..
*sipping chilled nutri c*

Oluwabobby said...

Ladies demself,their wahala too much......well,just incase u want to have a child out of wedlock,my thn is strong and available.Call me on 09061s420t5..
*sipping chilled nutri c*

Hater Unltd said...

Aren't you an African? Moda****er!

Prince Charming's pic s nt in any way porn-related. Mayb ur mind s filled wf such dts y u c it as dat. Dats a baby's hand holdn an elderly person's thumb.. Luk well b4 criticising ppl.

Hater Unltd said...

And women are bitches!

Hater Unltd said...

They are everywhere! Open your eyes you lazy girl and look.

Hater Unltd said...

Yeah tell him. Tell him loud

You just said it all. That's the kind of marriage I find myself in. Mstcheeeeew!

Hater Unltd said...

And Evil increases! Disciples of the devil creating a lawless society! Fools.

a child outside wedlock....what if baby grows up looking for daddy what will be mum's reply.as for Oprah we only see the tv side of her we never get to see that part that craves for love...i mean the love of a man...we all need each other, man, women and who says good guys are hard to find,uncle CB let princes try me,myself and i

ENEDA said...

PREACH CHARLY!!!!

Well said

Ur on point!

I also tip my hat for you sir!

Like your honesty!

Your daughter would be proud of you!

If peradventure i am asked to be given a second chance and asked what i would want to do, i would say have a good career and adopt a child or two.

Vera j wats ur beef with prince charming your perveted mind is seeing something that's obviously not there.try and use ur eyes next time it's for seeing not assumption. Word¡

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

This man made sense!!!!!!!!!

Hmmm,as long as your daughter does not have a baby for someone else's hubby!...who probably has a praying wife!...the whole ting will not be so palatable,..Charly boy,thumbs down for dat silly advice.....just saying...

Bros charly dey make sense des days oo. Abeggi to marry no be do or die affiars oo. Marriage no easy I swear.wit our *ego* naija men hMmmmm abeggi I no fit shout oo. Me sef just dey bear bcos of our 3 luvly kids already and shame of walking out.buh God dey

Louis said...

Its a pity that things have degenerated to this level...I will admit,Charly Boy has made some good points. But let us look at this issue from another perspective, many girls these days are impatient and want the guy to "blow" now now now.The "blow" in question may either be a very well paying job or a juicy contract. But to "blow" in Nigeria is not as easy as you think, some guys come from rich backgrounds where their lives are already planned out and no job is out of reach, but what if you are not from a privileged background and lack connections,which is where a vast majority of single bachelors are facing? believe you me! the struggle is very very hard and harsh.Being a guy, I know what its like to experience roadblocks when one is trying to advance one's career...but the thing I see most important is the ability to shrug off previous disappointments and forge ahead which is what makes a man a MAN. So if a guy has a job that pays him 60k a month and has some ambition..thank GOD,what if he had no job?..And as for ambition, I think that is something a guy has to deal with internally cos a vast majority of guys after they leave school have no idea what they want to make of their lives! and that is the truth!..all we know is that we have to work to make money to survive.Its only a small majority that have figured it out that life is not about surviving, but its about living. I sincerely hope things will change for the better.

BizBoost said...

Nice coment man Ʊ guyz "girls"wnt to 4low charlyboi advice n 4gt wat God wnt Ʊ to live I pity una is normal to wrk hrd as a female weder rich or poor pray n if God says is U̶̲̥̅̊‎​я̲̅s obey n wait unto d Lord our God 4lowin dway of d world cn mak Ʊ to miss heaven Ʊ no wat God says concernin marriage wen Ʊ gt married n cum hrt of it n strt slipin wit men Ʊ re quity obey God NT to obey man

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 230   Newer› Newest»