Tuesday, July 31, 2007

Naija Gossip

I haven't given y'all Naija gossip in a while...a few people told me not to write stuff about other people I wasn't sure of...I saw reason, but what the hell, what's life without a little gossip right? So here's a little gossip for u&u. But you know what they say about gossip? Don't believe everything you read...enjoy!

Basketmouth robbed in London
Rumour has it that dreadlocked top comedian, Basketmouth was robbed of $3, 00, his luggage, international passport on his recent visit to London. They said he came back to Naija with the help of our High commission and a friend over there. Hmmm...those of you who live in London...did you hear this gist?

Ex-actor Ernest Asuzu in Kirikiri prison
Troubled actor, Ernest Asuzu is currently in Kirikiri. Why? On Monday July 23rd 2007, he went to visit a friend who was owing him N5, 000, at barbing salon at Okota. When he demanded for his money, and his friend couldn't provide it, Ernest destroyed valuables in the salon worth thousands of Naira, after which he was arrested by the police and prosecuted. And because there was no surety on ground to meet requirements for his bail, the actor was transfered and remanded at Kirikiri Maximum prison on Wednesday July 25th. Recall that he destroyed property worth millions at MITV in 2005, that he was locked up for? And the fight he got into at Murphis Nite club in Surulere, where he was beaten mercilessly? He was also sent to the psychiatric ward in yaba sometime last year because his behaviour seemed sick...this is what he had to say some days ago from Kirikiri prison, about his problems
Ernest "It's my enemies again. They want to silence me by all means. Please I want all Nigerians to come to my aid and remember me in their prayer. Each time I keep off the public eye, I won't have any problem, but immediately I make any move to relaunch myself I become a different person. I'm beginning to think that somebody is behind this, because immediately I entered the police station, my eyes cleared. When they read my charges, I broke down in tears as per how and when did this happen?"
I feel sorry for this guy...some people are alleging that an ex actress girlfriend did something to him...don't know the real truth, but I hope God comes to his rescue before he wrecks himself finally.

Mike Ezuronye and Nonso Diobi at war. Rumour has it that this one-time best friends have turned sworn enemies because of a certain lady called Ebiere, who is a student of the Rivers State University of Science and Technology. The girls was supposedly dating Nonso but cunningly got Mike's no from Nonso, called Mike and started an affair with him. Heartbroken Nonso had to part ways with Mike and Ebiere, who rumour also has it didn't care about Nonso's feelings. Mike is said to have introduced Ebiere to his mum and the relationship seems serious...the rumour carriers even speculated marriage between the two lovebirds but remember what I said...don't believe everything you read.

Ben's baby mama joins company
I'm sure not too many of you know that Ben has a love-child? Well, he does. The news now is that the mother of Ben Murray Bruce's love child, Tina Vukor Quarshie, an ex-banker, now works with the Silverbird Group. She is said to be one of the top managers and her coming has not gone down well with some members of the Murray Bruce family.

Paul Obazele Beats Zeb Ejiro
On Saturday, Friday July 27th 2007, Paul Obazele, defeated Zeb Ejiro during the Association of Movie Producers general elections held at the National Theatre, Lagos. So Paul is the new AMP President.

Movie producer sets his Hummer Jeep on fire. Arinze Egesimba, the man who runs Mega Movies, set his Hummer H3 Jeep, worth over 11 million, on fire during the production of his movie titled "Yankee Girls". The movie features Stella Damasus, Omotola, RMD...watch out for that movie

Olumide Ogunlesi, Model Charles Oguntoye' s wives deliver
Funmi, the beautiful wife of Olumide Ogunlesi, the son of Chief Fola and Idowu Ogunlesi, who got married a few months ago ago, gave birth to a baby boy in London some days ago. Also, top model turned designer, Charles Oguntoye's beautiful wife gave birth to a bouncing baby boy some days back...big congrats to them.

Eddy vs Kenny St Brown
Recall I told you sometime ago about the break up between Ex-Remedy member, Eddy Montana and Gospel crooner, Kenny St Brown? Well, the lady accused her estranged husband of wife battery, adultery, etc...well Eddie replied her this week by granting interviews with most soft sell mags in Naija...this man talked too much about the whole drama...here's a little of the things he had to say about his wife and why his marriage packed up

Do you see any hope of a reconciliation? Eddy "Hardly! I will always love Kenny but I don't think that as a right thinking person, I should mend fences with her. Any woman that would pack out of her home that has two kids and she professes to be a christian, is not a wife or a mothers. She never wanted to build a family with me, she carried an Ogungbe passport in my house for 3yrs. It took my stubbornness to make her change her name from Ogungbe to Brown. Her family married her off because she was getting old but she wasn't proud of me or the Brown name"

They allege you beat her often
Eddy "That's a brand new lie. I never beat her."
Why did you two quarrel often?
Eddy "It was all due to her infidelity, she was very unfaithful. Are you aware that she dated D1?, Kingsley Ike, and one Bayo at Ajao Estate...long explanation...let's cut it short"

Whats Kenny's relationship with Essence(R&B singer)
Eddy "I started getting uncomfortable with her relationship with my wife after I walked in to find both of them in the bathroom naked, This is a woman who doesn't like me to see her nakedness. What were they doing?"

They also accused you of infidelity
Eddy "Yes, I'm a man, which man would not look for pleasure outside when he's denied it at home? My wife denied me of sex for 8 months. She only came to me for sex when she needed it. That was to have kids."

They said you made your house help pregnant? Eddy "That's not true. My wife and I found out who impregnated the girl"

What's your relationship with Keke Ogungbe
"Keke has never liked me. When I married his sister in 2000, he gave me N25, 000 as a wedding present, and he didn't contribute a dime to my wedding, neither did he come for my children's naming" bla bla bla

Long interview, painful and amusing to read...the wahala with marriage sha! Oh, BTW, Essence denies being a lesbian.

Abike Marries Segun Erewa
Abuja lawmaker, Honourable Abike Dabiri got married to her heartthrob, Segun Erewa on Thursday July 26th, 2007, at a private gathering in a residence in Lekki Phase 1, Lagos. And on Sunday 29th July 2007, another wedding took place at her father's residence in Surulere...the couple met two years ago in South Africa. Congratulations to the couple.

Ekene Dili Chukwu Boss Dies at 74, battle over his assets. Transport mogul, Chief Augustine Ilodibe popularly known as Ekene Dili Chukwu is dead. He died o Sunday July 1st 2007 at St Nicholas Hospital, Lagos at the age of 74 after a long battle with prostrate cancer. Now rumour has it that his wife Ifeoma has taken over the running of his empire and the man's family are set to battle...you know all the 'wahala' that starts after a wealthy man dies? He had two other wives who gave him children...long story...too much drama...moving on...

John Fashanu re-marries
I read that he's now married to a Nigerian wife...didn't know he had divorced his Gabonese wife, Melissa. according to him, he met his new wife at a cafe in London...they fell in love and they are now married...but he refused to give her name, when they got married and if they have any kids together.

Dele Momodu buries mum
On Saturday July 21st, 2007, Dele Momodu buried his mum in a carnival like event that held in Ife. The event was organise was co-ordinated by Ibidun Ajayi Ighodalo's Elizabeth R and was graced by a lot of dignitries. May her soul rest in peace.

Bob Manuel Udokwu, new host for Gulder Ultimate Search. On Saturday July 28th, names of 10 (6 male and four female) finalists for the GUS 4 were announced @ the planet one centre, which is scheduled for the 9th - 29th of August, at Shere Hills in Jos, Plateau State. The news is that top Nollywood actor, Bob Manuel Udokwu will anchor this years competition. Recall that Chidi Mokeme anchored GUS 1&11, while Austin Tin Tin, anchored the 3rd.

I'll get you more gists later, have to get back to work...like I always say, your comments make it worth it...so do drop a line. Take care always!

Monday, July 30, 2007

What has the black man invented?

I'm asking this question out of curiosity. Is there anything, in the history of inventions, that a black man invented? If you know the answer, do share.

Sunday, July 29, 2007

Usher News + FMB Magazine TV Commercial

Usher not getting married after all

Usher has canceled his Saturday July 28th wedding to pregnant fiancee and divorced mother of three, Tameka Foster.

A statement was released by Ush's publicist Patti Webster saying "It was announced today that the wedding ceremony for Usher Raymond, IV and Tameka Foster was canceled. No additional information will be given regarding the circumstances of the cancellation, but we hope the privacy of this matter will be respected."

Why am I not surprised?

FM&B Magazine TV Commercial

So my show has come and gone (Will load pictures later)...now I want to concentrate on my TV show and magazine. I want to shoot a TV Commercial for my magazine...I need to do a lot of promo before even printing the next issue...can anyone out there give me a very good concept for a captivating TV Com? I want to use about 10models...have any great script? Pleaseeeeeeeee give it to me...I'm pretty creative but I know there are many others more creative and I'm looking for the best...an advert that will keep people glued to their seats...an advert that will keep people talking...an advert that will linger in people's minds, something they won't forget easily...

Like I said, I have 10 models waiting to shoot...any great TV concept? Please share. Waiting...

Gists from Nigeria Model Award (Held yesterday, July 28th) and Naija entertainment news and gossip coming soon!

Feeling unhappy.

I had my Style Night last night, it was beautiful...as beautiful as Surulere would allow it to be...no area boys, enough parking space, great performances, the best models, a large turn-out, etc tres fabulous. I'll post pictures from the show as soon as I get it from the photographer...

There's something I want to talk about today, I've been meaning to talk about this for a while but for some reason, I just never got to it but I got motivated last night after spending some part of the night with an unhappy woman.

The feeling of unhappiness. This is a feeling most of us have been through at one point or the other in our lives...it's only natural for us to feel down sometimes, but it becomes unhealthy when we let that feeling linger on for a long time.

This lady I spent time with last night made me feel really bad...I have seen unhappy people in my life but never one who has lost all hope that things will get better. I won't go into details of her personal issues, but I know there are several people like her around. People who are unfulfilled, people who feel under-achieved, people who are overwhelmed with sadness, sometimes for no reason, people who simply hate their lives.

I have been through periods of sadness...oh, I have...you know how you can be so unhappy that you fall sick? So unhappy you don't want to get up from bed? You don't want to get dressed, you don't care about your appearance? You care about nothing, you feel like you have nothing to live for, nothing to look forward to...sometimes you feel like your world is over...you're hurting so deeply for a reason or maybe no particular reason...you just can't tell for sure why you feel like giving up on life.

Maybe because you feel like a failure because all your friends are married and you do not even have a boyfriend.
Maybe you feel small because your younger siblings or friends have good jobs, drive big cars, nice houses and you have nothing to show for your years on earth...
Maybe sometimes you hate yourself for not fighting enough to make your life better.
Maybe your marriage/relationship isn't working out very well and you blame yourself for it's failure.
Maybe you have a job you don't like but stick to it because you feel like you do not have a choice
Maybe you are a man in his forties and can't afford to take care of yourself how much more a family, so you strike out getting married.
Maybe people who met you in your line of work have since surpassed you in terms of achievement.
Maybe your best friend is married to a rich man with lovely kids and you're married to a poor man with kids you can't even take care of.
Maybe you've been married for years without any fruit of the womb.
Maybe your husband is cheating on you or beating you and it's killing your soul
Maybe your parents are very poor and you are looking for means to elevate their status but can't find a way to do so.
Maybe a family member died because you couldn't afford to pay for a doctor
Maybe you can't find a job
Maybe you work ten times harder than the next guy, but he has more to show for his work than you do
Maybe everything you lay hands on is never successful
Maybe you lost someone you loved deeply and you wonder if you'll ever find love again, or maybe someone you love left you and it makes you feel like you're not worthy.
Maybe you want to be a model but you get turned down at every casting you go to.
Maybe you've been in the acting business for years but have never gone beyond support roles, while newcomers get lead roles.
Maybe all men who come into your life never stay
Maybe your parents are constantly fighting
Maybe there's no love in your home
Maybe people around you just don't like you
Maybe people spread false rumours about you
Maybe you can't take care of your family like you want to
Maybe people only come around you because of what they can get from you not because they really care
Maybe that child you thought was yours, isn't yours after all

I can go on and on...There are a million and one reasons to be unhappy...and trust me I know about unhappiness...I've been through it...maybe not the worse kind...but I've had moments when I just wanted to give up on myself and God.

If you are going through unhappiness presently, what can I say to you? It will pass? Forget your worries? Don't worry, be happy? Consult a professional? Turn to God?

There are several solutions books and articles give, but we all know it's all easier said than done. So what words can I give you now?

This is what I have to say to you...
No matter how bad you have it, there's someone who has it worse than you.
Never compare yourself with the man next to you...if you do that then it means you're questioning God.
Always remember that even though God created us equally, he gave us different talents, blessings, visions and very different paths to follow...that is why we have billionaires, millionaires and people who can't even afford three square meals a day...we are all different. God made it so.
If you're unhappy because you're unmarried...how many of your married friends can you truly say are happily married?
If your job is unfulfiling...why are you still there? What's stopping you from going after your true passion...if others can have their dream jobs, why not you? Have you even made an effort to go after that job that you crave more than anything else? I know people sometimes give up even before trying...don't do that to yourself.
So your friends have big houses, good jobs, big cars? So what? Did Jesus have all that when he was on earth? Do you want to measure your life with that? Those things don't even bring happiness...so why are you stressing over it?
You were dumped, rejected. So? If Jesus can be rejected...who are you?
You think he's happy, she's happy? How do you know for sure that they really are...how do you know you are not even in a better state of mind than they are...people pretend a lot. Why compare yourself?
Your business isn't working out? What about those who don't even have a job? If your business is failing, re-strategise.
You don't have a child/a partner...have you ever heard of the term 'God's time'?
Maybe you think they are better than you? How are they better than you? What is it they can do that you can't do?
That relationship didn't work out? Maybe it wasn't meant to.

Have you ever wondered why people commit suicide? Because they lost HOPE. When you loose hope, it means you've given up on God...God won't give up on you but he'll let you go...till you find your way back to him...those who never find their way back end up forever unhappy, some even kill themselves.

It is when you think your present is bad but you have hope that tomorrow will be better or even great...that you can begin to appreciate life.

There are ways you can find or increase happiness in your life...here's how...
Choose to be happy...it's not that hard...just tell yourself you deserve to be.
Be grateful for everything you have...no matter how small it is...there's so much to be grateful for...you're alive aren't you? You're healthy aren't you? Have you been to a hospital or a morgue recently? See the way people die every minute? You need to start counting your blessings and thank God for still keeping you alive.
Surround yourself with people who love you...your family, especially your mum...let her be your best friend...no one can love you more than your mum...not even your husband.
Don't take life too seriously. Always have it at the back of your mind that one day your life on earth will be over...so why spend precious little time being unhappy?
Be nice to people, help people as much as you can...you will feel blessed when everyone around you is grateful to you for one reason or the other.
Get busy with a job, a hobby...there's a a lot of satisfaction in feeling competent...and there's no greater joy than to do work that you love.
Express yourself...don't bottle things up...talk about your problems...I have always believed that talking is the fastest way to healing.

Again, I can go on and on but after all said and done, it's really up to us. We have one life to live, why not live it to the maximum? I've been through feelings of unhappiness and happiness, and the distance between those two feelings is wide apart. One makes you hate yourself, people around you and life itself, while the other makes you feel alive and beautiful. Why not choose the latter?

Resolve today to put your problems behind you...don't give the devil the upper hand in your life...let go of everything and everyone that make you unhappy. And always remember that amazing things happen to people who expect amazing things to happen.

But most importantly...get closer to God. If you have him in your life...you need nothing else. He made you and he does not care about the circumstances of your birth, background, education, or your past...Just go to him and talk to him about your problems and watch how he'll turn your life around. He will give you a fulfilling future...because he loves you too much not to.

I wish you all the very best that life has to offer. And may you find fulfilment and happiness beyond your wildest imagination!

God bless. Linda

Nigerians in the diaspora 2

Here are a few other Nigerians doing great things abroad...thanks for dropping some names...

Let's check out those doing Nigeria proud internationally...

Name: Glory Akhere
Profession: Model/Actress/Producer

Name: Okwui Enwezor
Profession: Author/Curator

Name: Kene Obi

Profession: Basketball player

He's 18 and 7 '2'

Name: Ifeoma Yolanda Jones
Profession: Modeling (Contested for Ford Super Model of The World 2007)

Name: Brendon Ayanbadejo
Profession: American football player (Plays for the Chicago Bears)

Name: Obafemi Ayanbadejo
Profession: American football player (Plays for the Chicago Bears)

Name: Rubin Raphael Okotie
Profession: Football player (Plays for FK Austria Wen, Austria under-21 team)
20yrs old. His dad is Nigerian and his mum is Austrian

Name: John Amaechi
Profession: Ex- English NBA player. Now a broadcaster and political activist in the UK
37years old. His father is Nigerian and his mum is British

Name: Israel Idonije
Profession: American Football player (Plays for the Chicago Bears)
27 yrs old, born in Lagos Nigeria

Name: Chidi Ahanotu
Profession: American Football player (Plays for Tampa Bay Bucaneers)
He's 37 and was born in the US...is he single?

Name: Adewale Ogunleye
Profession: American football player (plays for the Chicago Bears)
This is the guy supposedly dating Sanaa Lathan right?

Name: Jarome Iginla
Profession: Ice Hockey player
His dad is yoruba, his mom is Canadian.

Name: Nicholas Obileye
Profession: Actor

Name: Osi Umenyiora
Profession: American football player. (NFL, plays for the New York Giant)
You know what to do if you want to get more info on any of them...just google their name. Please do send in more names...let's celebrate those worthy to be celebrated.

Saturday, July 28, 2007

Whose face? + Mr and Miss Nigeria

Can you guess whose face this is?

Monachi Nwankwo (MBGN 2007) and Bryan Ikenna (Mr Nigeria 2007)

These are the faces representing all male and female in Nigeria...who thinks we are well represented?

Personality: Chika Okpala aka Chief Zebrudaya alias 4:30

Chief Chika Okpala, aka, Chief Zebrudaya Okoroigwe Nwogbo alias 4:30, is one of Nigeria's greatest comedians and my all time favourite Nigerian comedian. His TV comedy series 'New Masquerade' is probably the funniest of all TV comedies in Nigeria. It ran from 1983-1993. This man became famous for using incorrect English in his role as chief Zebrudaya and continued with that style years after New Masquerade was rested. He gave new meaning to the word comedy and I remember not being able to take my eyes off the TV whenever he was on. He made those years really memorable...Thought to pay him a little tribute.

Here's all you need to know about him...

Personal Data
Full Names: Chika Chukwunonso Okpala, Mon. Mfr
Place & Date of Birth: Ahoada, June 10, 1950.
Marital Status: Married With Two Children.

Education
Primary: St. Paul’s CMS School, Ebenisi-Nnobi 1956-60 1961. Government School Ahoada Rivers State Baptist Day School Join Karama Rivers State. (1962-3).
Secondary: Prince Memorial High School Onitsha 1964-1972.
University:
U.N.N Nsukka 1989-91
ESUT (Enugu State University of Science And Technology Enugu) (1989-1996).

Awards/Honors

Best Actor Runner-Up 1959-84 – BON.
Best Male Entertainer 1985 – Palm Beach.
Traditional Chieftancy Conferment “Eze Onu Nekwuru-Ora of Nnobi. 1981
Traditional Chieftancy Conferment “Eze Onu Nekwuru-Ora of Aba. 1981
Traditional Conferment of Chieftancy Title of: “Eze Odenigbo of Akabo – Mbaise” 1993.
Fellow Institute of Journalism Enugu.
Afro Hollywood Award London 1999.

National Honours
Member of The Order of Federal Republic (MFR) – 1999
Member of The Order of The Niger (MON) – 2000.
National/Merit Award For Arts & Culture (NAMAC) – 1997.

Working Experience
Commercial/Traffic officer NTA Aba 1977-1980.
Production Manager NTA Cock Crow At Dawn 1980-82.
Producer New Masquerade Comedy TV Show On NTA 1983 To 1993.
Chief Executive officer Zodiak Brains Films Ltd, Enugu. 1990 – Date.

Stage Performances
Man of Character By Ene Henshaw.
Sons And Daughters By J.C. Degraphat.
Dance For The Dead By James Irohaoon.
Life Everlasting By Pat Maddy.
Through A Film Darkly By Pat Maddy.
Cock Crow At Dawn – Ist Ever Movie On NTA Net Work.
NTA Longest Lasting Comedy Series “New Masquerade TV Comedy”
The New Broom.
Counselling Video On Family Planning For Ppfn, Jhu/Pcs.
Over 500 TV Commercials And Radio Ads.

Favourite Food: Pounded Yam With (ofe Onugbu)
Hobbies: Driving, Swimming, Reading, Lawn Tennis.
Star: Gemini.

If you love this man, drop him a line...he just might see this some day...let's show him we appreciate his contribution to art in Nigeria. I blow you a thousand kisses Chief Zebrudaya. You are the greatest of them all!

Top 10 cars of 2007 + Movies to watch + Did You Know + Where are these guys?

The cars you are about to view will probably make some of you hunger so badly for some serious mooooney! They are the Supercars of 2007...May I drive one of these cars...or something close to it, in my lifetime...amen! lol....check them out!
1. Audi R8
Top speed: 187mph - 0-60mph: 4.5 seconds Max power: 420BHP
Price: £76,825 For an extra £830, the R8 comes with seats that adjust electronically in every direction. The suspension system adjusts itself to suit the road conditions. Even though Audi is frantically knocking out 15 R8s a day, you won't be able to get one until mid-2008!

2. SSC Ultimate Aero TT
Top speed: 240mph - 0-60mph: 2.78 seconds Max power: 1,183BHP

Price: £400,000 Although its official top speed is 240mph, SSC reckons the Aero TT will actually do 270mph. If this is true, it would make it the fastest car in the world, ahead of the 252mph Bugatti Veyron. However, when it was tested in Nevada earlier this year, bad weather meant it "only" reached 221mph. It's power is awesome. When the driver changed into sixth gear at 190mph, the wheels span.

3. Porsche 911 GT3 RS
Top speed: 193mph - 0-60mph: 3.6 seconds Max power: 415BHP
Price: £88,000 The GT3 RS has the same power as the normal GT3 but, at 1,375kg, it is 20kg lighter. This means the RS is 0.1 secs faster than a standard GT3 from 0-60. The GT3 RS comes in either black or silver but, as an option, you can also get it in bright orange or green.

4. Lamborghini Gallardo Superleggera
Top speed: 196mph - 0-60mph: 3.8 seconds Max power: 522BHP
Price: £150,000 With a 5.0-litre V10 that produces a healthy 522bhp, the Superleggera comes with 10bhp more than the standard Gallardo. It is also much lighter than the standard model because most of the bodywork is carbon fibre and most of the glass has been replaced with lighter clear plastic. The braking's a bit better, too - from 60mph to standstill, this car stops one metre before the standard version.

5. Beck LM800
Top speed: 210mph - 0-60mph: 3.2 seconds Max power: 650BHP - Price: £310,000 It's made in Switzerland, the home of watches and cuckoo clocks. It's made using the lightest materials on earth to improve performance. The 4.2-litre V8 produces 650bhp, but special editions - 850bhp and 1,000bhp - can be ordered.

6. Dodge Viper SRT-10
Top speed: 190mph - 0-60mph: 4.0 seconds Max power: 600BHP

Price: £65,000 The new Dodge Viper has the most ridiculous engine the car's ever had - a brand new 8.4-litre V10! It's not what you'd call shy on the power front either, pushing out a monumental 600bhp! Massive 14in Brembo brake discs mean the SRT-10 can go from 60mph to standstill in under 100 feet!

7. Ferrari 612 Scaglietti 60th Anniversary
Top speed: 196mph - 0-60mph: 4.2 seconds Max power: 540BHP
Price: £130,000 This limited-edition Scaglietti was designed for Ferrari's 60th anniversary. Only 60 will be made. The coolest new edition is what Ferrari calls the "electrochromic glass roof". Basically, it's a clear roof in which the darkness can be adjusted at the touch of a button. How cool is that?

8. Locus Plethore
Top speed: 205mph - 0-60mph: 3.5 seconds Max power: 750BHP

Price: £140,000 Canada's first supercar for 30 years uses a Chevrolet V8 engine that can be tuned up to 1,300bhp. It's rumoured that the new model of the car will feature a central driving position. Fancy one on your drive? Well, the good news is that it'll set you back a pretty reasonable £140,000.

9. McLaren Mercedes SLR 722
Top speed: 209.4mph - 0-60mph: 3.5 seconds Max power: 650BHP
Price: £350,000 The 722 is the even faster version of the already quick SLR. It's got 650bhp, and it's 2mph faster! The "722" is a nod to the Mille Miglia race of 1955, when Stirling Moss (ask your dad) won in an SLR that carried the number 722. Before its release this year, potential customers were invited to test the car at the Paul Ricard Circuit where most F1 teams do their testing.

10. Aston Martin Vanquish Ultimate Edition
Top speed: 201mph - 0-60mph: 4.7 seconds Max power: 520BHP - Price: £182,095 The Ultimate Edition is a slightly tweaked version of the already amazing Vanquish S. Only 40 of these badboys were made, all of which were snapped up within weeks of their release. The main change is the colour - this version comes in Ultimate Black, the only Aston it's used on. Customers are able to request a stick-shift gearbox, as opposed to the normal paddleshift one.

I know most guys are already dreaming of the day they can even touch the wheels, tyres etc of any of these cars...dreams come true sha! lol

Here are some Movies to check out this weekend...

I know who Killed me

Arctic Tale

Cashback

Goya's Ghost

Chuck and Larry

Did you know?

El Azizia in Libya recorded a temperature of 136 degrees Fahrenheit (57.8 Celsius) on Sept. 13, 1922 - the hottest ever measured.

Crocodile only animal & reptile that sheds tear while eating.

Chocolate can kill dogs! Chocolate affects a dog's heart and nervous system. A few ounces is enough to kill a small sized dog.

Bruce Lee was so fast that they actually had to slow a film down so you could see his moves. That's the opposite of the norm.
By raising your legs slowly and lying on your back, you can't sink in quicksand.

Mosquito repellents don't repel. They hide you. The spray blocks the mosquito's sensors so they don't know you're there.

Michael Jordan makes more money from Nike annually than the entire Nike factory workers in Malaysia combined.
The three most valuable brand names on earth: Marlboro, Coca-Cola, and Budweiser, in that order.

To escape the grip of a crocodile's jaws, prick your fingers into its eyeballs. It will let you go instantly.

The average person falls asleep in seven minutes.

The "pound" (#) key on your keyboard is called an octothorp.

The only domestic animal not mentioned in the Bible is the cat.

The three wealthiest families in the world have more assets than the Combined wealth of the forty-eight poorest nations.

The first owner of the Marlboro cigarette Company died of lung cancer.

Intelligent people have more zinc and copper in their hair.

The world's youngest parents were 8 and 9 and lived in China in 1910.

A normal person will die from total lack of sleep sooner than from starvation. Death will occur about 10 days without sleep, while starvation takes a Few weeks.

Where are these guys?
By the way, where are these guys? Heard 'Incomplete' and saw 'Rush Hour' last night and wondered whatever happened to Sisqo and Chris Tucker? Anyone know? Haven't seen Chris in any movie in a while and haven't heard any new song from sisqo...please supply me with an answer if you know what it is.
Sisqo

Chris Tucker

Got something to say? Do drop a line...I'm off to go get ready for my event, see y'all later. Ciao!

Friday, July 27, 2007

Style Night + 'Fashion' police in Lagos + Dog fighting scandal

Style Night
Venue: Moods Bar, 57, Ogunlana drive, Surulere.
Date: 28th July, 2007
Gate: N1, 000

'Fashion' police

Meanwhile I heard that the police in Lagos have started arresting people for indecent dressing. Now I really don't know how true this is, I actually heard it for the first time last week but didn't take it seriously until my younger sis told me today that one of her friends was arrested.

I find this so hard to believe, but everybody I've asked in the last two days have confirmed this new development which they say started last week. I can't even begin to understand this...what is indecent dressing? How indecent is indecent dressing? What is their yardstick for measuring indecent dressing? So we now have a morality law in Nigeria when the police haven't even started clearing our streets of armed robbers and area boys? They are more interested in who's wearing what?

By the way, aren't they supposed to make an announcement before they start embarrassing, harrassing and arresting people? Do the guys at the top even know about this?

Harrassing people for indecent dressing is NONSENSE! Not at this time and age...but let me stop here until I get all the facts right...

But please just to avoid getting harrassed or being exorted, mind what you wear out until something is done about this situation...What the hell happened to freedom of expression?

Also who has heard of NFL Michael Vick dogfighting scandal. People actually train dogs (pitbulls) to fight themselevs until one of the dog dies? The Atlanta Falcons quarterback and three others were charged with competitive dogfighting, procuring and training pit bulls for fighting and conducting the enterprise across state lines.
The operation was named "Bad Newz Kennels," according to the indictment, and the dogs were housed, trained and fought at a property owned by Vick in Surry County, Va. If convicted, Vick and the others could face up to six years in prison, $350,000 in fines and restitution.

I heard that these guys shoot these dogs if they get wounded after a fight...get all the scoop on net.

Anyway, Nigeria's Next Super Model screening took place today...all I'll say is that it wasn't what I was expecting but I reserve my comment till later.

Also I heard ex-Bayelsa Governor, Diepreye Alamieyeseigha has bagged 2 years jail term of each six count charges...what news!

I'll see y'all tomorrow. Take care

Thursday, July 26, 2007

Fashion - Designer, Frank Osodi's Collection

The designer, Frank Osodi.

Bunor Creazioni, 50/52, Adelabu Street, Surulere, Lagos. Tel: 08033257711, 08025942057. Email: frankosodi@yahoo.com. website, frankosodiforbunor.com.

Tomorrow is Nigeria's Next Supermodel screening. If I am allowed to take pictures of the whole thing, I'll load it up for y'all to see, otherwise, I'll just give you gists from the screening.

Also those who want to know the gate fee for Nigeria Model Award, it's N10, 000. Too exorbitant. So not cool!

It's BellaNaija's Birthday. Happy Birthday to YOU babes. Many more happy returns. May God take care of you and everything you hold dear. You Rock!

So till tomorrow, be good to yourselves!

Muah!

Wednesday, July 25, 2007

World Entertainment News.

Rumour has it that Jay Z is set to leave Island Def Jam to join his lady love Beyonce, at Colombia Records. Time will tell if this is true. Also beyonce fell from a flight of stairs at a concert on Tuesday. Being the diva that she is, she got up and continued singing like nothing happened and actually begged the audience not to release the video...lol...the video of that unfortunate incident is on youtube.com

Kate Moss who finally dumped her rocker cocaine addict boyfriend Pete Doherty, has told friends that two of her sex tapes with Pete are missing in her home. She's scared that Pete might have stolen them to either put it on the net to humiliate her or to sell to make money to keep up with his lifestyle.

lauryn Hill's gone crazzzzzzzzzzy! At a recent concert in Norway, she was spitting and giving the finger to her audience. She also asked for all black security personnel, who were not allowed to look at her at the scene and backstage. Then she went crazy and started hitting the security guys. And when the electricity blacked out at the beginning of the show, she refused to continue, and had to be talked into getting back on stage again by the people who were responsible for the concert. What's up with her? Is she on drugs?

Lil Kim looks...?

Prince William and his long time girlfriend, Kate Middleton, who broke up some months back are rumoured to be back inlove. The power of love!

Kanye is determined to release his album same day as 50 cent. 50 is so pissed at Kanye. If they both release their album on the same day, then we'll finally know who rules...with album sales...
Here's what Kanye had to say to get at 50 Cent for saying he should push his album release date back:
“I’d rather come out on a day like that, up against 50 — where people are excited about going to the stores and it’s an event and people talk about it — and be #2 on that day rather than come out and be #1 on a day nobody cares about,” West said. “It’s about things going down in history. It’s not that much exciting stuff in hip-hop right now. I think people are going to make it more than what I’m making it myself. At the end of the day, I’m making music and I’m trying to sell.”

Kanye and 50? I'll go for Kanye

Jessica Alba recently dumped her live in lover, Cash Warren via a text message. Not so cool!

Rare sight...Tom Cruise getting jiggy with it with Mrs Cruise, at the welcome to America party for David and Victoria Beckham. Gossip Mags always say she's an unhappy wife, but she looks happy and content to me. Hope this marriage work!

Kylie Minogue is also said to be back with her longtime love, hot french/spanish actor? Olivier Martinez. The couple who broke up some months back after years of togetherness are trying to patch things up. If I had a hot guy like Olivier...I won't break up with him for no reason lai lai.lol What! The guy is smoking hot!

With the way this girl is going, I hope she doesn't end up committing suicide. At a recent OK Magazine photoshoot, the former pop princess went totally crazy. Stole things worth over $10, 000 and destroyed things worth over $6, 000. The pictures didn't not come out well, she kept talking and acting crazy...now her family is siding with her ex Kevin Federline to take full custody of their two kids. This girl needs help asap.

This picture gladdens my heart...a scandal free pregnant Christina Aguilera.

Haven't heard or seen this lady in a while...JLO knows how to rock everytime.

Unusual sighting...A black and white celebrity couple. Pirates of the Carribean co-stars, Orlando Bloom and Naomie Harris are the latest celebrity couple in town now. Hmmm...this union is?

This young actress is trying to mess up her life..Lohan was was arrested in Santa Monica for possession of cocaine, driving under the influence, transporting a narcotic into a custodial facility and driving on a suspended license. Sources say her blood alcohol level was between .12 and .13.
She was placed behind bars, and freed later on $25,000 bail.
According to police, Lohan’s assistant quit just hours before Lohan was arrested; and when the assistant’s mother came to pick her up, the red-headed moron gave chase. The assistant’s mother called the police, warning them that Lindsay was hot on their tail, and that she was headed for the nearest police station. The actress is now back in an undisclosed treatment facility.

It's easier to gossip about the oyinbo's than the ones here. I hear alot of gossip about our Naija people, but blogging about it might put me in troublo o lol. Anyway, enjoy!

Tuesday, July 24, 2007

Naija Entertainment Gists.

Here's a little Naija gist for y'all

War between Freestyle and his Record label boss, Solomon Arueya. I heard that the fight between Westside Music Boss, and former Trybesmen member, Freestyle was bloody...no need to tell you all the story, hear from the horses mouth.

Freestyle on Solomon "I am already filing a suit against him for breach of contract, assault and injuries. He inflicted physical injuries on me in his office. A case my family members are not taking lightly. It's some of the reasons I want to sue him. If he compromises the charges by the day I go to him, I'll withdraw the charges, but if he doesn't, I'll take the case to court. What right does he have to inflict injuries on me? As a matter of fact, the contract I had with him had long expired. We signed a contract of three years, with two albums and the three years has passed. He later came around to beg me that we should try and see what comes out of it. I obliged and gave him the album. Now he is not paying me my due royalties and other necessary things he also neglected. I'm tired of staying on his label, I want to move on with my life"

Solomon on Freestyle "Freestyle is one ambitious man. He had a two album contract with Westwide Music and he has only released one and people are saying that we lost Freestyle due to unpaid royalties. I don't think Freestyle can say that to our face. The day he signed on to Westside, he got paid. A kind of sign on fee that will be deducted from his royalties. We paid him for the production of his album though he said he used the money to acquire his apartment. There was a time I paid him to produce a few tracks for one of the artiste on the label but when he wasn't available for the job, we converted the money to be part of his royalties."

Fela's house undergoes renovation
Late Afrobeat king's one storey house located at Gbemisola street, Ikeja, which has been in a deplorable state since Fela died, is finally being renovated. The place was abandoned by his children because they were unable to reconcile their differences. But since Fela's tenth anniversary is around the corner, the children decided to put their differences aside and give the late music legend a befitting and spectacular abode for his 70th remembrance activities

Ben Murray-Bruce builds multi million naira event centre
The chairman of Silverbird group, Ben Murray Bruce will in a matter of weeks add a new property to his empire. He is building a 12, 000 seat capacity event centre in Lekki, Lagos. It is yet unknown what exactly he wants to do with the event place and when he'll unveil it.

Second Surulere Trade Fair
The second Surulere trade fair is set to take place soon. The trade fair is being organised the publisher of City Post newspaper, Barrister Tokunbo Odutola, in conjunction with the Lagos State Ministry of Commerce and Industry. The fair presents a unique opportunity to showcase products and services, not only to people in Surulere, but across Lagos State. Participants expected at the fair are well over 250 exhibitors and 100, 000 visitors.

Sammie Okposo looses mum
Kora award winner and Nigerian Gospel Music singer, Sammie Okposo recently lost his mum, Helen Okposo, 63. The late Helen is survived by her four sons and husband and will be buried in August. May her gentle soul rest in peace.

An evening wit D' banj
Silverbird Entertainment presents an Evening with D'Banj
Venue: Banquet Hall, Eko Hotel, V/Island
Time: 7pm
Date: July 28th 2007
Strictly by invitation.

Murphy's Genesis Nite Club shut down

Genesis Nite Club has been shut down finally. There's unconfirmed report that the place has been leased out to a group of Lebanese businessmen who have turned the place to a Nite Club called O. O club is said to have been launched two weeks ago...I'll confirm this report later, just tot to do amebo now lol.

Charming Kids Organisation presents the second edition of the little Charming Prince and Princess Beauty and Talent Pageant 2007.

Venue: Agip Hall Muson Centre, Onikan, Lagos.

Date: Saturday 28th July 2007
Time: 11.00 am prompt
Featuring: Marvelous Benji, Sheddi Baba, Tee A, and A Y.

Gate: N2, 500, Children: N1, 000

Further enquiries call 7602147.

Eedris back in studio
Eedris is presently in the studio working on a new album which has already been titled 'Return of the King', with a collabo with one of his biggest critic, Ruggedman. Did he say Return of the King? lol. I hope he really proves he's still the King of rap in Naija. With the likes of Freestyle, Modenine, OD, Sauce Kid taking over the rap scene...that will a very big cap to fit...let's wait and see.

Legendary Gold Limited & Ford Supermodel New York Presents, Nigeria Model Award.
Featuring 20 models, designers (House of J'ola, Ore Apparels, Blokes n Divas),
Venue: Muson Centre
Date: Saturday, July 28th 2007
Red Carpet/Cocktail: 6pm, Event: 7pm.
Ticket available at the gate.

Also I heard Thierry Henry and his beloved model wife Claire have parted ways...the way marriages are ending these days is sad. But I strongly believe in it...we just need to find the one destined for us...me I'm still waiting sha lol.

Meanwhile the screening for Nigeria's Next Super Model is on Friday 27th July. I'm one of dem judges (I feel so honored). Venue is Airforce Officers Mess, I, Kofo Abayomi Str, V/Island, Lagos. Time: 9am. So, all you lovers of modelling...be there!
I have more gist but no time...maybe later? Show some love by dropping comments o...it makes it worth it.
Ciao for now!

Monday, July 23, 2007

Saint Obi quote

I wanted to give y'all Naija gists today, but I was very busy at work...so instead, I'll give you this quote from one of Nollywood's hottest actors, Obinna Nwafor, popularly known as Saint Obi. He secretly got married some days back...here's what he had to say about that...

Why the secret wedding?
Saint "The truth of the matter is this. I talked so much about my relationships and they never worked. Since then, I decided to keep my relationship quiet. And by the special grace of God, I'm not stopping on that path. With due respect to all my lovely fans out there, my mouth is shut."

How did he meet his wife?
Saint "Like I said, what is important to me is that something positive happened in my life. Honestly from experience, most relationships that are celebrated on the pages of newspapers don't really make it. Honestly, I want to make a success of where I am and one of the ways of making a success of where I am is to keep my mouth shut."

Why doesn't he want to talk about his married life?
Saint "Anybody who knows me well can confirm I don't jump here and there like most artiste. I let my work speak for me. I think sometimes when you are silent, you speak volume. What's important is what the focus is. It's not talking too much and at the end of the day, it's an empty drum."

I picked this portion out from his interview because he said when relationships are celebrated, it hardly works out. I totally disagree with that, more uncelebrated marriages are packing up everyday, but it's not on the pages of newspapers and magazines because they are not known, it's only the crash of celebrity relationships we get to hear about...but how many out of the several that we have?

Whether you talk about your marriage or not, if it won't work out, it won't work out. I don't think talking about it or not has a role to play in the success of any relationship and I also don't think it's a crime to talk about how you met your partner...what's the big the deal in that? But like they say, different strokes for different folks.

People let's talk about this...is talking about your relationship bound to make it crash faster than not talking about it? Please send in your opinion.

Sunday, July 22, 2007

Nigerians in the diaspora

They say there are millions of Nigerians scattered all over the world. And one thing I've noticed about our Naija people is that no matter where they go, no matter how difficult the terrain, no matter how hard it is to penetrate certain industries in other parts of the world, our people always find a way out. They always shine.

There are those world famous ones like Wale Agbaje, Alex Okosi...sigh!, Sophia Okonedo etc, and there are those who are not so well known but have carved a niche for themselves in the various industries they choose...

Below are some Nigerians doing BIG things in other countries...check them out...

Name: Yomi Abiola
Profession: Modeling - Click Models, NYC

Name: Yemisi Ogunjimi
Profession: Gospel Singer

Name: Emporer Adichie

Profession: Musician, Dancer, Actor

Name: Chet Anekwe
Profession: Actor (Phat Girls)

Name: Joy Carter

Profession: Comedian

Name: Ben Okri
Profession: Writer/Poet

Name: Nick Oshikanlu

Profession: Actor

Name: Fishe

Profession: Rapper

Name: Sokari Douglas Camp
Profession: Sculptor

Name: Kelenna David Azubuike
Profession: Basket ball player (Golden State Warriors)

Name: Bodam Taiwo
Profession: Beauty queen lol (First ever Miss Malaika UK, 2005)

Name: Andre Tyler Iguodala
Profession: Basket ball player (76ers)

Name: Efe Echanomi

Profession: Footballer (Striker, Leyton Orient)
Location UK

Name: Akim Aliu
Professon: Hockey player (London Knights)

Name: Michael Olowokandi

Profession: Basketball player (Boston Celtics)

Name: Lucky Supremo (aka Moses Dada)
Profession: Actress, Model and 2005 Miss Glamour Queen International

Name: Benjamin Eze
Profession: Basketball player

Name: Olusegun Aranmolate

Profession: Model

If you want to know more about any of them, just google their name. I'll research and get you more names later.

Please send me names of Nigerians in the diaspora doing great things, they need to be appreciated.

Saturday, July 21, 2007

Remembering African Music Legends

In the history of African music, there have been men and women who stood out, with the strenght of their voice, sound, beat, rhythm, lyrics and style.

Musicians who used their talent to make a difference, not only to people around them but the world in general. Everyone who lived in their time and even afterwards, felt the power of their music. Incredibly talented people who have left their prints in the sands of time...

Some of these individuals started, but most of them popularised what is known today as the African sound.

Today I want to pay tribute to some of these great men and women, some are dead, some are still alive...but one thing they all had in common, is great music...

I will start with the biggest of them all, abami eda, the greatest African artist that ever lived (I stand to be corrected)...

Fela Anikulapo Kuti
Fela Anikulapo was born Olufela Olusegun Oludotun Ransome-Kuti, on October 15, 1938 - August 2, 1997, He was a multi-instrumentalist musician and composer, pioneer of Afrobeat music, human rights activist, and political maverick

His songs include...
Why Black Man Dey Suffer - 1971
Na Poi - 1972
Open & Close -1972
Shakara - 1972
Roforofo Fight - 1973
Gentleman - 1974
Alagbon Close - 1975
Noise for Vendor Mouth - 1975
Confusion - 1975
Expensive Shit - 1976
Ikoyi Blindness - 1976
Zombie - 1976
Yellow Fever - 1977
Sorrow, Tears and Blood - 1978
Shuffering and Shmiling - 1979
Unknown Soldier - 1979
I.T.T. (International Thief Thief) - 1980
Authority Stealing - 1981
Coffin for Head of State - 1983
Teacher Don't Teach Me Nonsense - 1989
Beasts of No Nation - 1989
Confusion Break Bones - 1990

He died August 2, 1997 at the age of 59

Ladysmith Black Mambazo

Ladysmith Black Mambazo is a Grammy Award-winning male group from South Africa that sings in the vocal style of isicathamiya and mbube. They rose to worldwide prominence as a result of singing with Paul Simon on his album, Graceland. They were formed by Joseph Shabalala in 1960 (who still leads the group today) and became one of South Africa's prolific recording artists, with their releases receiving gold and platinum disc honors. The group has now become a mobile academy, teaching people about South Africa and its culture

Ali Farka Toure

Malian singer and guitarist, Ali Ibrahim "Farka" Touré was born in October 31, 1939 in Timbuktu, Mali. He was one of the African continent's most internationally renowned musicians. Ali Farka Toure took up the guitar at the age of ten, but it wasn't until about age 17 that he really got a handle on the instrument.
During a visit to Bamako in the late 1960's, artists such as John Lee Hooker introduced Ali Farka Toure to African-American music. At first, he thought that Hooker was playing Malian music, but then realized that this music coming from America had deep African roots. During those years Ali Farka Toure composed, sang and performed with the famous Troupe 117, a group created by the Malian government after the country's independence.
His recording career began in France in 1976. For years he followed a successful career in West Africa adapting traditional songs and rhythms in ten languages from Mali's enormous cultural wealth.
In September 2005, he released the album In the Heart of the Moon, a collaboration with Toumani Diabaté, for which he received a second Grammy award. His last album, Savane, was posthumously released in July 2006. November 2006).
He died on March 7 2006, at the age of 67 from bone marrow cancer.

Johnny Clegg

Jonathan (Johnny) Clegg, was born June 7, 1953 in Rochdale (near Manchester), Lancashire, (UK), is a popular musician from South Africa, who has recorded and performed with his bands Juluka and Savuka. Sometimes called "The White Zulu", he is an important figure in South African popular music history, with songs that mix Zulu and English lyrics, and African / European / Celtic music styles. Johnny Clegg, became interested in Zulu street music and took part in traditional Zulu dance competitions.
Clegg formed the first inter-racial South African band, Juluka, with gardener and Zulu street musician Sipho Mchunu. Because it was illegal for inter-racial bands to perform in South Africa during apartheid, their first album Universal received no airplay but became popular through word of mouth.
Johnny Clegg and Juluka released several albums together with their last album "Heat Dust and Dream" being nominated for a Grammy Award for best album in the category of World Music.

Lucky Dube
Lucky Philip Dube, born on August 3, 1964 is a South African reggae musician from Johannesburg. His parents named him Lucky because he was born in poor health, and the doctors thought he would die but he survived. Lucky's parents separated before he was born, so his mother had to bring him up. Due to apartheid and the overall racism in South Africa his mother was barely able to take care of the children and they grew up in poverty. He was able to attend school and it was there, Lucky began to find his musical interests. Soon he discovered the instruments the school had and he taught himself. Lucky paired up with a few of his friends in the choir and together they founded the band Skyway.When Lucky was 18 he joined his cousin's band The Love Brothers. They later changed their name to "Lucky Dube and the Supersoul" and produced their first record. Supersoul was later dropped from the name and Lucky Dube went on to produce several hit albums. He is still producing albums and touring around the world. Lucky does not smoke, he doesn't drink and he doesn't consume Marijuana, which is very unusual for a Rastafarian.
He has won over 20 awards for his musical contribution - both in South Africa and internationally.
He was the first South African to have an enhanced CD released.

His songs include...
Rasta Never Die
Think About The Children
Slave (1990)
Prisoner (1991)
Captured Live (1991)
House of Exile (1992)
Victims (1993)
Together as One (1994)
Trinity (1995)
Serious Reggae (1996)
Taxman (1997)
The Way It Is (1999)
The Rough Guide To Lucky Dube (compilation) (2001)
Soul Taker (2001)
The Other Side (2004)
Respect (2006)

Majek Fashek

Majekodumni Fasheke, better known as Majek Fashek, is probably Nigeria's greatest reggae musician of all time,
Majek Fashek first gained national fame on a television show in the early 1980s, then toured for many years with The Mandators. In 1987, he began a solo career and quickly became the biggest reggae singer in the country. His song 'Send Down The Rain' was especially popular. Majek Fashek still performs till date.

Youssou N'dour

Senegalese singer and percussionist, Youssou N'Dour was born October 1, 1959 in Dakar). He helped develop popular music in Senegal, known in the Wolof language as mbalax. Youssou N'Dour is one of the most celebrated African musicians in history. A renowned singer, songwriter, and composer, Youssou's mix of traditional Senegalese mbalax with eclectic influences ranging from Cuban samba to hip hop, jazz, and soul has won him an international fan base of millions. He is endowed with remarkable range and poise, a composer, bandleader, and producer with a prodigious musical intelligence. In July 1993, an African opera composed by N'Dour premiered at the Opéra Bastille. He wrote and performed the official anthem of the 1998 FIFA World Cup with Axelle Red "La Cour des Grands".He won his first American Grammy Award (best contemporary world music album) for his CD Egypt in 2005.

His songs include
Bitim Rew (1984)
Nelson Mandela (1986)
Immigrés (1988)
The Lion (1989) - considered his breakthrough album
Set (1990)
Eyes Open (1992)
Guide (Wommat) (1994)
Djamil (1996)
Inedits 84-85 (1997)
Special Fin D'annee Plus (1999)
Lii (2000)
Joko: The Link (2000)
Rewmi (2000)
Le Grand Bal (2000)
St. Louis (2000)
Le Grand Bal a Bercy (2001)
Ba Tay (2002)
Nothing's In Vain (2002)
Youssou N'Dour and His Friends (2002)
Kirikou (2004)
Egypt (2004)

Brenda Fassie

Brenda Fassie born November 3, 1964, was a legendary South African pop singer. She was known as the Queen of African Pop. Brenda was born in Langa, Cape Town. She was named after Brenda Lee, an American country singer. Her father died when she was 2, and with the help of her mother, a pianist, she started earning money by singing for tourists.
In 1981, at the age of 16, she left Cape Town for Soweto, Johannesburg to seek her fortune as a singer. Brenda first joined the group Joy and later became the lead singer for the township pop group Brenda And The Big Dudes. Since 1996 she released several solo albums like "Now Is The Time", "Memeza" (1997, the best selling album in South Africa). Most of her albums became multi-platinum sellers in South Africa.
She was voted 17th in the Top 100 Great South Africans. Brenda died at age 39 on 9 May 2004.

Yvonne Chaka Chaka

Beautiful South African singer, Yvonne Chaka Chaka was born in 1965, in Dobsonville, Soweto.
Dubbed the "Princess of Africa", Chaka Chaka has been at the forefront of South African popular music for 20 years. Songs like "I'm Burning Up", "I'm in Love With a DJ", "I Cry for Freedom", "Makoti", "Motherland" and the ever-popular "Umqombothi" ("Traditional Beer") ensured Yvonne's stardom.
One of her songs also features in the opening scene of the 2005 movie Hotel Rwanda. She became the first Black child to appear on South African television. In 1981 "Sugar Shack", a talent show, introduced her to the South African public.
Chaka Chaka started singing at 19 in 1985 when Phil Hollis of Dephon Records discovered her in Johannesburg.
Releasing hit after hit, Chaka Chaka's subsequent award winning albums include Thank you Mr Dj, I'm burning up, Yvonne and friends.

Miriam Makeba

Miriam Zenzi Makeba (The mother of African music) was born in Johannesburg in 1932. Her professional career began in the 1950s with the Manhattan Brothers, before she formed her own group, The Skylarks, singing a blend of jazz and traditional melodies of South Africa.
In 1959, she performed in the musical King Kong alongside Hugh Masekela, her future husband. Though she was a successful recording artist, she was only receiving a few dollars for each recording session and no provisional royalties, and was keen to go to the US. Her break came when she starred in the anti-apartheid documentary Come Back, Africa in 1959. When the Italian government invited her to the premier of the film at the Venice Film Festival, she decided not to return home. Makeba then travelled to London where she met Harry Belafonte, who assisted her in gaining entry to and fame in the United States. She released many of her most famous hits there including Pata Pata, The Click Song (Qongqothwane in Xhosa), and Malaika. In 1966, Makeba received the Grammy Award for Best Folk Recording together with Harry Belafonte for An Evening With Belafonte/Makeba. The album dealt with the political plight of black South Africans under apartheid.
In 1963, after an impassioned testimony before the United Nations Committee Against Apartheid, Makeba's records were banned in South Africa and her South African citizenship and her right to return to the country were revoked.
In 1990, Nelson Mandela persuaded her to return to South Africa. In 2004, Makeba was voted 38th in the Top 100 Great South Africans. Makeba started a 14 month worldwide farewell tour in 2005, holding concerts in all of those countries that she had visited during her working life.

Her albums include...
Miriam Makeba: 1960
The World Of Miriam Makeba: 1962
Makeba: 1963
Makeba Sings: 1965
An Evening With Belafonte/Makeba (with Harry Belafonte): 1965
The Click Song: 1965
All About Makeba: 1966
Malaisha: 1966
The Promise: 1974
Country Girl: 1975
Pata Pata: 1977
Sangoma: 1988
Welela: 1989
Eyes On Tomorrow: 1991
Sing Me A Song: 1993
A Promise: 1994
Live From Paris & Conakry: 1998
Homeland, 2000
Keep Me In Mind, 2002
Reflections, 2004

Koo Nimo

Daniel Amponsah, known as Koo Nimo, is a leading folk musician of Highlife music from Ghana. He was born on October 3rd, 1934, in the village of Foase, in the Atwima District of Ashanti in West Africa. In 1957, Koo Nimo first received national acclaim through the formation of the Addadam Agofomma ensemble. Many of his songs tell traditional stories and are sung in the language Twi. Traditional instruments of West Africa, such as Djembe and the Talking drum, rhumba box, Axatse (hollow gourd rattle with beads or seeds woven around it on a net), and Gankogui (consists of two iron bells providing the key, rhythmic pattern).
In 1990, eight of Koo's songs were released as a compact disk entitled Osabarima. This was the first work by a Ghanaian artist to be put on CD.

IK Dairo

I.K. Dairo is often called The Father of Juju Music. In the 1950s and 1960's Juju was considered music of the 'poorer' people because it wasn't modern enough for the elite of the class-conscious Nigeria. After independence, I.K. Dairo was the chief reason Juju took off.
In 1957 I.K. Dairo founded his band, the Morning Star Orchestra, later to become the Blue Spots. He incorporated rhythms from all over the country, and even introduced the accordian and slide guitar. Dairo's lyrical skills gave him a string of hit records. In 1963 Dairo received an MBE (Member of the British Empire) for his achievements, the only African musician to ever hold such a title.

His hit songs include...
Ise Ori Ranmi Ni Mo Nse
I Remember My Darling,
Erora Feso Jaiye
Se B'Oluwa Lo Npese

He's the father of popular singer, Paulplay Dairo.

Haruna IsholaNigerian musician, Haruna Ishola was one of the most popular artist in the apala genre.
Born in the town of Ijebu-igbo, He began recording apala numbers in about 1955, and soon became one of the most respected praise singers in Nigeria. Ishola adapted and stuck to a strong traditionalist approach, citing both Yoruba proverbs and Koranic scripture in his songs, and introducing no Western instruments into his musical lineup.
Ishola would sit when performing, surrounded by two talking drummers, shaker and bell, and a chorus of singers. Also central to his sound was the agidigbo, a hollow lamellophone (thumb piano), both plucked and struck to create a hypnotic ostinato at the center of the apala sound.
In 1969, Ishola started STAR Records Ltd., in partnership with juju music legend I.K. Dairo. This was the first African record label owned by its artists. Ishola died in 1983, but his large catalog of recordings both on Decca and STAR ensure that he will not soon be forgotten.

Hugh Masekela

Hugh Ramopolo Masekela, born April 4, 1939 is a South African trumpet, flugelhorn and cornet player.
He began singing and playing piano as a child.
By 1956, Hugh joined Alfred Herbert's African Jazz Revue.
Following a Manhattan Brothers tour of South Africa in 1958, Hugh wound up in the orchestra for the musical King Kong. He's been in music since then.
Hugh is the father of E presenter, Sal Masekela.

King Sunny Ade
Nigerian Juju Icon, King Sunny Adé (Sunday Adeniyi) was born September 22, 1946.His Band King Sunny Ade and His African Beats became an international band across Africa during the mid-1980s, touring and gaining a significant audience in the United States and Europe as well. Born to a Nigerian royal family in Ondo, he was soon billed as the African Bob Marley, and headlined concerts in the US..
Adé was the first to introduce the pedal steel guitar to Nigerian pop music after becoming a fan of American country/western tunes. He is also well-known for his dexterous stage art, dance steps and mastery of the strings.

These are not all the African music legends we have, I'll do a part 2 in subsequent weeks. Help celebrate great African music legends by giving me some more names...I don't know them all.

Question; Who is your all time greatest African artist?

2nd Annual Thisday Music Festival + Stars On The Ruway, in pictures.

Two great events happened in Naija in the last two weeks, checked my blog and realised I didn't even blog about it...I guess because I saw it on other blogs and figured there was no need, but what the hell, I want it on my blog too lol.

A few people might not have seen this pictures, so here it is....

2nd Annual Thisday Music Festival, Lagos, Nigeria.
Shakira on stage

Neyo on stage

Diddy on stage

Rihanna on stage

John Legend

Kelly Rowland on stage

Kelly Rowland on the floor after she fainted

D Banj on stage

Dare Art Alade on stage

Sasha on stage

Also, on 7/7/7, Stars On The Runway (First of it's kind), which featured 12 Naija designers and 60 Naija celebrities, took place at the Civic centre.

Here are pix from the show...

Chinedu Ikedieze (Aki) and yoruba actress, Omoladun, on stage for Frank Osodi

Ifeoma Williams for Lanre Da Silva

Kate Henshaw for KSLD

Princess Nina and Muka on the runway

Omotola Jalade Ekeinde

Yinka Davies

Lexxy Mojo Eyes for Modela

Dancer, Kaffi

Pasuma with his designer

DJ Jimmy Jatt for Tesslo Concept

Omowunmi Akinnifesi for KSLD

Ronke Apampa and Osita Iheme (Pawpaw) for Frank Osodi

Denrele Edun

Julius Agwu with designer, Modela

Grace Egbagbe in her own attire

Omowunmi Akinnifesi, Ex-MBGN, is working so hard to be Nigeria's next Nike Oshinowo. I love that gown on her.
So there you have it.
Kudos to Thisday Newspapers and R70 for putting up two world class shows. Big ups!
All pictures, thanks to purefoto.com

Friday, July 20, 2007

Style Night...phase 3

This week was incredibly busy for me at work...thank God I've managed to get everything ready for Style Night. The handbills, posters, tickets and invites are all out. The models have started rehearsals, the designers are getting the clothes ready...it's been great.

The best thing about my job is that I love it so much. I remember being offered a mouth watering salary for a marketing job with one of these new generation banks when I finished my youth service some years back, it was tempting at first but then I thought of the unhappiness that will be mine if I accepted the job and let go of my true passion. I had to say NO. Two months later in August of 2004, I started my own company...Blackdove Communications. (The name was derived from my favourite colour and bird).

Crazy advice...if you hate your job, quit! And follow your heart and passion. I always say the best way to live life is to be happy. And please don't be afraid to start your own business, it's not as hard as it seems, as long as you have talent, passion and a little finance, you're good to go.

It will be rough in the first few months, even years, but with time, hardwork, dedication and focus, you'll exhale. Just believe! Three years on, I'm still struggling but I know one day, I'll get there.

Ok so here's what the handbill and banner for my show looks like...without the other details...

Featuring...
Designers: Ishy Couture, Steve Ray couture, and Jimbrooks Clothing
Musicians: Ruggedman, Spiderman, Ice Four and my lil sis, Laura and her fab dancers.
Comedian: Koffi, Saheed and Seyi Law
Dancers: Naija Dance Academy and this hot Latin/Salsa dancers
Date: Saturday 28th, July, 2007
Venue: Moods Bar and Restaurant, Ogunlana Drive, Surulere.
Time: 8pm till dawn
Supported by NB Plc, Amigos Hair, Power Horse, the Sanitarian

+ Fifteen fab Naija Models. The show will be so so nice! The IV's are all gone. Any blogger that wants to attend is more than welcome, just call Sandra on 08033595004. I'd love to have you there.

Our next Style Night will be September 29th at Fantasy land Ikoyi. We never finish one we dey talk about another one abi? That's because a particular company gave a bigger venue, and better location as condition for sponsoring the show...so we already have a sponsor for next show. God is great!

My TV show, Catwalk wit Linda, will be shot a week after Style Night...that show will be so so hot. I can't wait to get it started...The awareness posters, handbills and banners will be out next week, I'll load it up for y'all to see.

Meanwhile, I'll need your creative ideas for the shoot of my mag TV commercial. Ben Bruce (STV) already promised me N1million worth of airtime that I haven't utilized yet. When I'm ready for that, y'all will give me ideas o.

BTW, that's me on that poster. I'm vain I know...I can't help it lol.

All those saying they've learnt a thing or two from my blog, plenty kisses to you. I love it when people appreciate what I do. I'm learning so much myself. We are on this beautiful ride together. May God continue to bless us all.

Before you go to bed this night, don't forget to put all your problems before God. Nothing is bigger than him and he loves you too much not to listen to your cry. If he's not doing anything great in your life yet, that's because you haven't come to him. On a second thought, you're alive, what's greater than that?

When you pray...expect miracles.

Take care of you and yours.

Kisses! LINDA

Thursday, July 19, 2007

Faking 'it'

I had a very interesting discussion today and I want to share it with y'all to get your opinion about it. This is a very touchy subject people hardly talk about...if you're under 18, or still a virgin, then don't read this o!lol

Those who know me very well know that I talk too much...I no get secret o...but worse than talking, I ask questions a lot. Sometimes I ask questions like an idiot, not because I don't know the answer, I just like hearing people's opinion about stuff.

So this very interesting woman came to my office today. Married since 21, 14 years of marriage, four lovely kids. We started off talking about business, then without meaning to we started talking about men and relationships and before we knew it, we got into the subject of sex.

In the course of this discussion she said something that puzzled me. This thirty something year old married woman said she's never had an orgasm. Been sexually active for seventeen years, but NEVER had an orgasm.

I've heard a few people, especially women, say sex is overrated. A particular friend back then always said that God created sex for men...Before I started having sex, (Pls don't tell my mum o, she still thinks I'm a virgin lol) I was friends with someone who told me that sex for women was only for procreation...those who weren't doing it to make babies, were doing it for money...or just doing it to please their men... it was never for enjoyment...because there was nothing to enjoy in it, especially if you're circumcised.

The belief by some is that once your clitoris has been cut off (Which is what happens in female circumcision, right?), the tendency to enjoy sex is minimised. This opinion kept me away from sex till late in life.

I and all my five sisters were circumcised and I remember once asking my older sis (that one na ogbologbo lol) if she enjoyed sex, she answered a big YES! But most circumcised women hardly give direct answers. Most of them always say enjoying sex depends on the man you're having sex with.

So I was curious about the kind of man that is not able to make his wife cum even once in fourteen years of marriage...is it even his fault? This particular woman was circumcised...do we blame circumcision?

I asked if her husband knew she's never had a real orgasm, she said he can't ever know because she always...FAKES ORGASM. Been faking it for fourteen years. Whaaat! This was a bit hard to swallow..how can you fake orgasm for 14 years?

Then she said something that got me all riled up. She said...MOST WOMEN FAKE ORGASM! Most women fake orgasm? Women is that true? I remember hearing once that some women only enjoy sex with men they love and for a second I thought maybe that was why this lady had never had an orgasm. She was quick to correct that impression. In fact she said, her love for him was actually why she fakes orgasm. She said women in love are more likely to fake orgasm because she cares about the man's feeling.

So why hasn't she brought up the subject with her husband I asked her...she said many men would be hurt if they knew their partners were faking it so she and many women like herself choose to ignore the subject and stick to the acting they've mastered over time.

I read somewhere that 72 percent of women fake orgasm and 55 percent of men say they can tell when their partner's faking. If 72% women fake it and 55% men think they can tell when a woman is faking, then the women are either overestimating their acting ability or the men are overestimating their perceptiveness.

I think if any woman is faking orgasm, the motivation must be to avoid causing feelings of sexual inadequacy in her partner. Unfortunately most people don't openly discuss sex in general, and orgasm in particular, especially in this part of the world, therefore, not all men are aware of the possibility of faking an orgasm, while others can't separate the real from the fake, a few don't particularly care, as long as they have enjoyed themselves.

Personal question; have you ever faked an orgasm? If you have, why did you do it? Is there any woman out there who falls in the same category with the woman I was talking to today? If yes, have you ever discussed your inability to reach a real orgasm with your husband? why have you never discussed it?

Why do women fake it? How do you know what to do to convince a man you're enjoying him when you're not. During orgasm the breath becomes heavy, how do you fake that? Can men really tell when a woman fakes it?

Have I ever faked it? Let me think...naaaah! He was too 'big' for me to fake it. lol. God please don't let my mum see this post, pls, pls, pls! lol

Please send in your opinion about this topic. Hopefully there's no underage reading this blog. Would love to know what you think.

Wednesday, July 18, 2007

Fashion do's and don'ts part 2

Clothes that don't fit your frame

Wearing clothes that don't fit your frame is the easiest way to make your body seem out of proportion. If you are on the big side, do not wear clothes that emphasises on the excess fat on your body. Instead...

Go for clothes that perfectly fits your frame and emphasises your curves

Dark Make-up

Personally I think dark make-up make you look more scary than beautiful. There's something it takes away from your beauty. But there are those who like dark make-up. If you must do it dark, then avoid the look above and instead go for...

This look. Nude/dark make-up. Instead of using dark coloured cosmetics, use brown.

Tiara as a hair accessory

Tiara's are meant for only queens,beauty queens, and brides. If you ain't a queen, bride or a beauty queen...please don't have a tiara on your head on outings, you'll look STUPID! Instead...

Go for nice hair accessories. And if you're a drama queen, then hair flowers are lovely.

Too much cleavage

I know they say if you've got it, flaunt it...but don't flaunt it to the extent where it starts looking x-rated. Showing too much cleavage calls for too much attention...and dressing this way will make people look at you like a desperate, indecent person...especially in this part of the world. So instead...

Show off what you've got in moderation. You'll show class, style and a sense of decency

Over-all denim

This is a classic fashion don't. Denim is always best mixed with other fabrics or colours. Wearing an over all denim tells people with great fashion sense that you lack style. Instead...

Wear denim with another fabric and mix with another colour

Very big earring

Bogus earrings look nice but calls for too much attention, and it takes away attention from your face...so instead of people staring at your lovely face, they are staring at your earrings. Infact some could say its the earring that make you look beautiful. So instead...

Go for chic, moderate sized earrings, that don't touch your shoulders.

Too much animal print

Never wear all round animal prints...you really could end up looking like one of them animals lol. So instead...

Animal prints are lovely only when mixed with another fabric.

If you're over 21 and not on stage singing or dancing, don't be caught dressed this way. It's too embarrassing!

So this is my fashion do's and don't part 2. Let's see how many of you agree or don't agree with me. Waiting for your comments.

Tuesday, July 17, 2007

Naija Entertainment Gists + News

Joseph Yobo's good heart
Super Eagles and Everton's defender, Joseph Yobo is set to establish a soccer academy in Nigeria.

The academy will cost a whopping N100 million for establishing and running it...and it will be set up either in Lagos or his home town of Port Harcourt. On Tuesday July 3rd, he had a summer camp for children for some of the orphanages at Astro 2000 soccer pitch on Osborne Road, Lagos.
God bless him for this. This guy is still single...where are the singles girls around him? lol

Dolly Unachukwu set to relocate to Naija
After seven long years abroad, star actress, Dolly Unachukwu is set to relocate to Naija. The single mother of two is also set to return to Nollywood, an industry she left 7 years ago. Who thinks Dolly will fit in again?

Terry Waya's woes
This is a very touchy subject so I'll be careful here. I'm sure it's no longer news that businessman, Terry Waya, has been on trial since June 2006 in a london court over allegations of money laundering. The news now is that he was found guilty on Tuesday, July 2007 in london. What nobody knows is if he will bag jail term, if so...how many years. I don't know this guy personally, but I hope everything goes well for him.

Ifeanyi Udeze in car accident
Soccer Star, Ifeanyi Udeze was involved in a car accident on Monday July 2007 at around 5am, somewhere on the Island. He rammed his jeep into a peugeot 505 car. The cars were badly damaged but both drivers got out unhurt

Tana Egbo Set To Wed
Gist just reaching me says that beautiful model and enterpreneur, Tana Egbo is set to wed her boo, a london based I.T and property manager, Femi Adelana. The gist is so authentic that they are saying the wedding will take place on Tuesday September 15th, 2007 at Lekki Waterfront, Lagos. Wow! I'm so happy for her. Here's wishing them the very best!

John Fashanu million Naira deal with BankPHB
Ever since this ex-footballer relocated to Naija, great things have been happening to him. First he got a deal as the host of the Nigerian version of SA's deal or no deal. Now, I heard he just signed a multi-million naira deal with BankPHB as the new face of the bank. The official campaign and unveiling will soon kick off.

Naija News
Nnamani arrested by EFCC
Immediate past governor of Enugu State and a serving senator, Dr. Chimaroke Nnamani was on Monday held by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) in Abuja. He was arrested at about 5.42pm. Nnamani is the fourth former governor being held by the EFCC over their stewardship in government. Others are Dr. Orji Uzor Kalu (Abia State), Chief Joshua Dariye (Plateau State) and Alhaji Saminu Turaki, who is also a senator (Jigawa State).

Orji Uzor Kalu too
Orji Uzor Kalu was also arrested on charges of abuse of office, including corruption and money laundering, even as he pleaded not guilty to all the 107 allegations. He was said to have laundered money to the tune of N3bn, in collusion with two other persons, Emeka Uzor Kalu and Eunice Agwu said to be at large.

Turaki looted 17billion, weeps in court
Former governor of Jigawa State, Alhaji Ibrahim Saminu Turaki, who stole 17billion, marked his 44th birthday in EFCC’s custody last Saturday, wept uncontrollably as a Federal High Court in Abuja remanded him in prison custody over allegations of money laundering. But Uzor Kalu showed no emotions whatsoever. Both men had been charged before the court last Friday by Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) before their trials began yesterday. They were both remanded in Kuje Prisons.

What the hell is any individual doing with 17 billion naira? Wetin you won buy? weting you won own? Wetin happen? Tifiakwa lol! This is not funny though. This is not the way to go about life because when you leave the earth, what will people remember by? What legacy do you leave behind? God help us all.

Bamaiyi returns to court after seven months
Seven months after he travelled abroad for medical treatment, with a promise to fully submit himself for trial, former Chief of Army Staff, Lt General Ishaya Bamaiyi (rtd), yesterday appeared before an Ikeja High Court.
Bamaiyi, who is standing trial with four others accused of conspiracy and attempted murder of The Guardian publisher, Mr Alex Ibru, 11 years ago, had gone to Dubai, where he was diagnosed of “Atypical chest pain, Hypertension and Diabetes mellitus type 2."
He was charged along with Major Hamza Al-Mustapha, former CSO to late General Sani Abacha, former Lagos police boss, Mr James Danbaba, former Zamfara State military administrator, Colonel Jubrin Bala Yakubu and CSP Mohammed Rabo Lawal.

Ojukwu discharged
Ikemba Nnewi, Dim Chukwuemeka Odumegwu-Ojukwu, was on Monday discharged from hospital in Onitsha, Anambra State, after his doctor confirmed that he was in a stable condition. Odumegwu-Ojukwu had been admitted into the hospital on Sunday after he collapsed twice at a thanksgiving service at the Basillica of the Holy Trinity, Onitsha.

60 year old woman beheaded
Inter-ethnic fight in parts of Ogoniland yesterday took another dimension, as the headless body identified as that of 60-year-old Mrs Amba Emmababari, was discovered in a farmland between Gbe and Bodo, in Gokana Local Government area of the state.
The mother of six was said to have gone to farm but failed to return, which prompted her people to set up a search party which traced her headless body identified by what she wore to the farm. The killing is coming on the heels of the felling of four suspected armed robbers by the police in a gun battle in Peremabiri Street, D- Line, where the hoodlum were allegedly cut in a hail of fire by the police.
However, a community source said the killing may be due to the fact that one of the woman’s son is a member of Degbam cult group, which is notorious in Bodo and may have done an act that required their moving against the mother. Sad, sad sad!

All news thanks to Thisday, Punch and Sun Newspapers. Visit their website for more news.

Tomorrow I'm going to get on more nerves by listing more Fashion do's and don't...the 'very big bag don't' caused major 'wahala' lol! I think it was the bag in the picture...should have gone for an ugly big bag. Anyway, look out for that tomorrow and don't hesitate to tell me when you think I got it wrong.

I learn everyday on this blog...blogging is one of the best things that's happened to me...I learn alot as I'm sure others do from comments...so please keep your comments coming.

I'd like to say something...we all make mistkes and the best part of making mistakes is learning from it...whatever you do, no matter how good or bad it is, no matter how right or wrong, no matter who gets hurt or happy, you owe no one no explanations. Some people actually think you owe them an explanation for your actions but you don't...the only person you owe an explanation to is God. Only him! On that note I bid you farewell till tomorrow.

May everything you lay hands on be successful in Jesus name...amen!

Kisses.

lindaikeji@gmail.com

Monday, July 16, 2007

Friend indeed!

I almost didn't blog today, was on the road all day trying to get everything set for the shooting of my TV show. I'm trying to see if I can get boutiques and accessory shops to cloth the models and I...and quess what, the first boutique I went to gladly accepted to be part of the show...I didn't need to go anywhere else...at least for now...remember what I said on Friday? Prayer works.

And I've also been able to get my final fifteen girls...Bola, Bunmi, Ashley, Betsy, Beatrice, Dupe, Jane, Portia, Hannah, Nneka, Mabel, Patricia, Florence, Yewande and Patricia. With the right make up, accessories, clothes, shoes, this girls will be stunning...I already have corporate sponsors waiting to see the pilot of the show...can't wait to start shooting...Prayer works.

But that's not what I really want to talk about today...something strange happened in my office this evening that made me question who my friends really are. Have you ever wondered why the people around you are around you? Ever wondered if they really are your friends? If you weren't who you are, didn't have what you have, would they be around you? Is their association with you beneficial to them?

Two girls came in for the auditioning this afternoon, I wasn't around so they had to wait till about five pm when I got back from my various appointments.

Normally one of my staff Richmond handles this models, if he thinks they are good enough, he sends them to me for final screening...so he asks me to interview this girls, incredibly beautiful girls. I was very excited to see them, because most of the girls that have been coming for the auditioning are average looking girls. So I interviewed this girls, got their datas, gave them a form to fill...etc,etc, then they left my office and went to the reception to fill the forms.

Two minutes later, one of the girls requested to see me...she wanted to know if I'd picked her, I told her yes, then she asked me if I picked the other girl and I replied in the affirmative. Then guess what she said to me?...please don't pick the other girl...why I asked her and she said because she steals a lot...she steals? Not only that, this girl continues, she is older than the age she claims, she is this, she is that...bla, bla, bla. She talked to me for about ten minutes, painting this other girl in the worst possible way...

After she left my office, I asked my secretary to bring the other girl to my office, then I asked this girl what she thinks of the other one who came in to bad mouth her, you can't imagine what this other girl told me...she said the other girl is a trouble maker and most people don't like working with her, she advised me to reconsider working with her as I would regret it.

But y'all know the most puzzling part of this story? These girls are childhood friends...childhood friends! Known to each other's families, room mates in school, supposedly best friends....but they both came to my office trying to push the other out of the deal...what kind of friendship is that? Lots of laughter friendship I call it.

When this girls left about ten minutes later, they were laughing and holding hands as they stopped a taxi and got in together...if only they both knew what the other had said about her...friends indeed!

Sometime last month, I met one of my mum's friends who was made a commisioner in Anambra State under the Andy Uba administration...unfortunately for her the administration was declared null and void by the Supreme court of Nigeria less than two weeks after inauguration.

She said in those two weeks of being shortlisted she had more friends than she'd had her whole life...everyone who knew her in the past, got back in touch with her, old friends she hadn't seen in years all found her where she lived...everyone wanted to associate with her...everyone called her friend.

After the government was dissolved, she never saw any of them again...she was of no importance to them any more...friends indeed!

I always say I don't have that many friends, it's not because I don't know people, trust me I know alot of people, but how many of them genuinely care about me? how many of them really have my back? Are they for real? If I had nothing to offer them would they be around me? I have had my fair share of backstabbing friends, just like I'm sure most of you have.

People are around you for various reasons...some are genuine friends, some have motives, some don't care as much as they claim, while some are around for a particular reason...the sooner you find out what those reasons are the better...

Who really is your friend? How can you tell someone really cares about you?...can you vouch for them?...they laugh and play with you but do you know what they say behind your back? The worst part is that you can't tell for sure who your real friends are...because people pretend a lot...they really do!

If you were in a jam...if you were arrested, if you were in an extremely terrible situation and you are given the chance to make only one call to save your life, who would you call? have you ever asked yourself that question?

As for me, the first person I'll call is my dad...if my dad isn't around, I'll call my older sis Vera, if Vera isn't available, I'll call my mum, if she isn't available, I'll call my younger sis Sandra, if she's not around, I'll call my friend Jude...if he's not around....I can't think of anyone else to call.

Until you get to a point when you can say with all authority that this particular person will be there for you when you need them most, then maybe they really aren't your friends...

Sometime last week, an old classmate of mine called me...the last time I spoke to her was probably 7/8 years ago, she kept saying Linda my friend...we spoke for about 2 minutes and she used the word 'friend' more than ten times...I was wondering why she kept calling me friend, then she said she saw me on the cover of a magazine and told her other 'friends' that I was her friend and they didn't believe her, so she called to proove to them she really knows me...then she handed the phone to them to talk to me...

She calls me after 7 years and didn't ask how I'm doing...only to confirm to other people that I'm her friend...friend my ass! lol

But after all said and done, there are people who really love and care about us. Those who call themselves friends and are really friends...they'll be there for you no matter what...if you have such people in your life, then you're blessed. Hold on to them 'cos they're friends indeed!

Sunday, July 15, 2007

Music News + 10 crazy facts on love

Sound Sultan releases 3rd album
Lanre Fasasi a.k.a Sound Sultan on Saturday July launched his 3rd album titles 'Naija 007'
I hear his new album is off the chain...you need to check it out.

Weird Mc releases new single
Naija's most sought after female rapper Weird Mc recently released a new song 'ri ran wo' (see something) from her forth coming album set for release in the last quarter of 2007. This is one song that will garner much airplay

Dare Art Alade back in the studio
Dare Art Alade is said to be back in the studio to put finishing touches to his second album which will be released before the end of the year...hope so. Loved his last album

Muma Gee moves up
Singer Muma Gee is set to officially release her album 'Kade' in South Africa. The nubian queen was invited to SA by What Now Production to kick off a promotional tour for her well loved album. Muma Gee also had a recording session with South Africa's dance Icon, Somizi. This is one hard working woman. Good luck to her

Usher addresses his fans
Singer Usher has penned an open letter to his fans in which he addresses the many rumors swirling around his relationship with fiancee Tameka Foster.

In the letter, Usher addresses a report that appeared in Thursday's New York Post that speculated that the crooner and Foster, who recently announced they were expecting a child in the fall, had moved their wedding date up to the end of July and that the wedding was to take place in the Hamptons. Though he did not confirm or deny the date, he indicated that the information would not be made public any time soon.

"Since my wedding day will be special to Tameka and I, this is information that we would like to keep private," the letter said.

Usher denied that Foster has taken control over his life, leading to him firing his mother, Jonetta Patton, as his manager. "I am happy, excited, completely clear and independent on my direction, feelings, decisions and I am NOT BEING LED," he wrote. "Some media and bloggers have been totally instrusive, they have misconstrued aspects of my personal life and, because of this, my 'true' fans are not sure about what is fact and fiction." Whatever!

Janet moves to Island Def Jam
Janet Jackson has officially left her longtime Virgin label home and set up shop at Island Def Jam, boyfriend Jermaine Dupri's label.

Dupri confirmed the move, but admitted that he won't take the lead on Jackson's new album. "She's on Island, but it's more or less [Def Jam CEO Antonio 'L.A. Reid's] project. I let him deal with that on a day-to-day basis," Dupri revealed.

T.I attacks fan
There are reports that rapper T.I got angry after a fan threw a cup on stage while he was performing at an ESPY pre-party in Hollywood on Tuesday night.

Witnesses said T.I. got so mad that he jumped offstage to confront the culprit face-to-face. When he found who he was looking for, he reportedly hit the party-goer with the microphone, leaving the victim bloodied.

Remy Ma sought in shooting incident
Rapper Remy Ma is reportedly being sought in connection with an early morning shooting in Manhattan, Sources say that Remy allegedly shot and wounded an unidentified female following an altercation after leaving Manhattan eatery, Pizza Bar.

The shooting left the victim, an acquaintance of the 27-year-old former Terror Squad member, in critical condition at St. Vincent's Hosptial, a source from the New York Police Department said. The incident allegedly took place while the two women were riding in a three-car caravan after leaving the Pizza Bar shortly before 4 a.m.

After a verbal exchange took place between Remy, born Remy Smith, and the 23-year-old victim about a block away from the bar. Remy fled after the shooting and is being sought for questioning by the NYPD. Investigators are currently interviewing three witnesses of the shooting.

Rihanna's Umbrella Lyrics

[VERSE 1]
You had my heart
and we'll never be world apart
Maybe in magazines
but you'll still be my star
Baby cause in the
DarkYou can see shiny Cars
And that's when you need me there
With you I'll always share Because

[CHORUS]
When the sun shines
We’ll shine together
Told you I'll be here forever
That I'll always be your friend
Took an oath
I'mma stick it out 'till the end
Now that it's raining more than ever
Know that we still have each other
You can stand under my Umbrella
(Ella ella eh eh eh)
Under my umbrella
(ella ella eh eh eh)
Under my umbrella
(ella ella eh eh eh)
Under my umbrella
(ella ella eh eh eh eh eh eh)

[VERSE 2]
These fancy things, will never come in between
You're part of my entity
Here for Infinity
When the war has took it's part
When the world has dealt it's cards
If the hand is hard
Together we'll mend your heartBecause ...

[CHORUS]

[BRIDGE]
You can run into my Arms
It's okay don't be alarmed
(Come into Me)
(There's no distance in between our love)
So Gonna let the rain pour
I'll be all you need and more Because ...

[CHORUS] till fade...

Love: 10 crazy scientific facts

Read this in a book and thought to share...it's quite interesting...and crazy!

1. It’s like looking in a mirror! It turns out we all have a little something in common with Narcissus—the mythical fellow who fell in love with his own reflection. Scientists at the University of Liverpool recently concluded that our brains favor people with familiar faces. The research team asked over 200 participants to view a number of digitally altered human faces. They found that subjects preferred the features they found the most familiar—whether that means his or her own visage or that of a family member. This may explain that common phenomenon of couples looking like they could be siblings.

2. Manner, schmanners: Go ahead and stare. Another new study says that when a woman walks into a room, she is considered more attractive if she turns her eyes directly toward a certain man. Men would rate the same woman as less desirable if she doesn’t make strong eye contact. In this study, conducted at Dartmouth University, lead researcher Malia Mason had male participants sit and view a series of faces of fashion models, digitally enhanced to either be gazing toward or away from the participant. The study authors asked the viewer to rate the likeability of each model and found that those who turned away were seen as less agreeable. The study’s researchers went on to suggest that a woman’s gaze can be a powerful arousal cue and that our impressions are largely formed by nonverbal communications such as eye contact. So start locking eyes, ladies!

3. You’ll know it when you see it. A recent study at the University of Pennsylvania reveals that regardless of what people say they are looking for in a dating situation, they don’t need a lot of time with or information about a person to tell if they’re interested. Single people’s behavior suggests that individuals know “it” (a person who appeals to them) when they see it—almost instantly. Lead researcher Robert Kurzban and his colleagues studied data from 10,000+ daters. They found that men and women assessed potential compatibility within moments of meeting, using primarily visual cues such as age, height, and attractiveness. Says Kurzban, “Somewhat surprisingly, factors that you might think would be really important to people — like religion, education, and income — played very little roles in their choices.”

4. Listen up. The next time you call up a potential love match, pay special attention to how they sound. Researchers at the University of Albany had 149 men and women rate the attractiveness of a series of recorded voices on a scale from 1 to 10. The researchers also gathered information about the sexual histories of the people whose voices they recorded. They found that the voices found to be the most appealing belonged to people who had sex at an earlier age, had more sexual partners, and were more prone to infidelity than those rated as having less appealing voices. So know that what’s a seductive voice to you may be linked to a person with a bit of a past…

5. I couldn’t help it baby, it’s in my genes. There may be a genetic component to infidelity, says a professor at the Twin Research Unit at St. Thomas’ Hospital, London. This is based on the fact that if one twin exhibits infidelity, the other twin strays 55% of the time. In the general population, the number is 23%. The tendency to remain faithful is a component of personality, the scientist elaborates, which is governed both by a number of genes and societal factors.

6. It’s official. Love makes us crazy. For one, it causes serotonin levels in the brain to drop, which may lead people to obsess about their lover. (The levels of serotonin, a chemical produced by the body, are also low in people who have obsessive-compulsive disorder.) Next, it ramps up production of the stress hormone cortisol, leading to slightly higher blood pressure and possible loss of sleep. Finally, a scientist at the University of London has found that when people look at their new loves, the neural circuits that are usually in charge of social judgment are suppressed. All in all, love kind of leaves you obsessive, stressed, and blind. And we love it.

7. Why broken hearts hurt... A recent UCLA study suggests the psychological hurt of a break-up is just as real as a physical injury. Two areas of the brain that respond to physical pain also become activated when a person is dealing with social pain, such as being dumped. The study’s authors used an MRI to monitor brain activity in participants while they played a game simulating social rejection. The researchers believe that the pain of being rejected may have evolved as a motivating force that led humans to seek out social interaction, which is crucial for the survival of most mammals.

8. Blushing is best. If we take our cue from apes, rosy cheeks are crucial in the dating game, says a new study. Scientists at Stirling University in Great Britain have found that primates prefer mates with red faces. A rosy glow might also act as a similar cue in humans, say the British researchers, sending a message of good health. They speculate that it could explain why women use blusher.

9. Kiss this way. Did you know there is a “right” way to kiss? People are more likely to tilt their heads to the right when kissing instead of left, says a report published recently in the journal Nature. A scientist from Ruhr University in Germany analyzed 124 pairs of smoochers and found that 65 percent go toward the right.

10. Meet for drinks before dinner. Researchers at NYU and Stanford have discovered that hungry men prefer heavier women. By staking out a dining hall, scientists had hundreds of students fill out questionnaires about their preferences in a mate. Men who filled out the questionnaire just before they entered the hall described their ideal woman as an average of three or four pounds heavier than men interviewed after they ate. Incidentally, researchers did not find the same change in women’s preferences, so guys: Go ahead and schedule that drinks date for before or after dinnertime.

BTW, the Thisday Music Festival scheduled to hold yesterday July 14th, didn't hold. I actually got a friend to buy me a ticket, we got there around 5:40pm, because we heard the gate will be closed at exactly 6pm. But by 9: 30pm, it became apparent that the show won't hold.

There was talk of equipments for the show coming in late. I also heard something about a generator. There were many side talks that I won't mention because I don't know what really went wrong...all I can say is that it didn't hold and it was a big let down. I didn't expect that from Thisday.

All the international artistes will be performing today..I can't even begin to imagine the crowd that will be there, it will be too overwhelming...unfortunately can't make the show for today 'cos something more important is happening someplace else...so annoying that I didn't get to see Shakira and John Legend after all...hope today's show goes well...will get you gists from the show when I get it.

Have a fruitful week ahead.

Saturday, July 14, 2007

Movies - Latest Releases + Books - Life Changing Books

For all you movie lovers like myself, here are new movies to go check out...

Harry Porter - Order of the Phoenix
Date of release: July 11th, 2007
Director: David Yates
Starring: Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson, Imelda Staunton, George Harris, Helena Bonham Carter, Natalia Tena, Kathryn Hunter, Evanna Lynch, Gary Oldman, Harry Melling, Richard Griffiths, Fiona Shaw, Sian Thomas, Jason Boyd, Richard Macklin, Charles Hughes, Susie Shinner, Auror Dawlish, Nick Shim, Ralph Fiennes, Apple Brook, James Walters, James Utechin, Alec Hopkins, Jason Piper
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Genre: Action, Adventure, Fantasy
Official site: harrypotterorderofthephoenix.com
PG-13 for sequences of fantasy violence and frightening images

Joshua
Date of release: July 6th, 2007
Director: George Ratliff
Writer: George Ratliff, David Gilbert
Starring: Sam Rockwell, Vera Farmiga, Jacob Kogan, Celia Weston, Dallas Roberts, Michael McKean
Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures
Genre: Drama, Thriller
Official site: foxsearchlight.com
Rating: R for language and some disturbing behavior by a child
Time: 105 minutes

Shortcut To Happiness

Date of release: July 13th, 2007
Director: Alec Baldwin
Writers: Peter Dexter, Bill Condon, Nancy Cassaro
Starrring: Anthony Hopkins, Alec Baldwin, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Dan Aykroyd, Kim Cattrall, Ken Murton, John Savage, Jason Patrick
Studio: Yari Film Group Releasing
Genre: Comedy, Drama, Fantasy
Official site: ShortcutToHappiness.com
PG-13 for language and sexual content
Time: 105 minutes

Lake Dead

Director: George Bessudo
Writer: Daniel P. Coughlin
Starring: Alex A. Quinn, Tara Gerard, Dan Woods, Vanessa Viola, Kelsey Wedeen, James C. Burns, Jim Devoti, Edwin Craig, Malea Richardson, Kelsey Crane, Cyrus Alexander, Ryan Coughlin, Christian Stokes, Lydia Hyslop, Pat McNeely, Trevor Torseth, Carmen Thompson
Studio: Alliance Group Entertainment
Genre: Horror

Interview
Director: Steve Buscemi
Writers: David Schechter, Steve Buscemi
Starring: Steve Buscemi, Sienna Miller
Studio: Sony Pictures Classics
Genre: Drama
Official site: interviewthefilm.com
Rating: R for language inculding sexual references, and some drug use
Time: 86 minutes

Captivity
Director: Roland Joffé
Writers: Larry Cohen, Joseph Tura
Starring: Elisha Cuthbert, Daniel Gillies, Pruitt Taylor Vince, Laz Alonso, Michael Harney
Studio:: After Dark Films
Genre: Thriller
Official site: captivitythemovie.com
Rating: R for strong violence, torture, pervasive terror, grizzly images, language and some sexual material

Introducing The Dwights
Date of release: July 4th, 2007
Director:Cherie Nowlan
Writer: Keith Thompson
Starring: Brenda Blethyn, Emma Booth, Peter Callan, Khan Chittenden, Brendan Clearkin, Russell Dykstra, Rebecca Gibney, Frankie J. Holden, Phillip Quast, Katie Wall, Richard Wilson
Studio: Warner Independent Pictures
Genre: Comedy
Official: introducingthedwights.com
R for sexual content and language
Time: 104 minutes

License To Wed

Date of release: July 3rd, 2007
Director: Ken Kwapis
Writer: Kim Barker, Tim Rasmussen, Vince DiMeglio
Starring: Robin Williams, Mandy Moore, John Krasinski, Eric Christian Olsen, Christine Taylor, JoshFlitter
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Genre: Comedy, Romance
Official site: LicenseToWedthemovie.com
PG-13 for sexual humor and language

Transformers

Date of release: July 2nd, 2007
Director: Michael Bay
Writers: Roberto Orci, Alex Kurtzman
Starring: Shia LaBeouf, Megan Fox, Josh Duhamel, Jon Voight, Bernie Mac, Tyrese Gibson, Rachael Taylor, Amaury Nolasco, Kevin Dunn, Ronnie Sperling
Studio: DreamWorks Pictures (Paramount)
Genre: Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi
Official site: webmaster.transformersmovie.com
PG-13 for intense sequences of sci-fi action violence, brief sexual humor, and language

Books - Life changing books.

Here also are books to read...if you're into motivational/inspirational books...

Girlosophy
If you've ever been in a relationship, ended one, had one ended on you or want to end one, then The Breakup Survival Kit is for you. Bestselling girlosopher Anthea Paul puts her positive spin on the traumas of breakup, offering comfort and practical advice to guide you through the relationship wilderness.The Breakup Survival Kit is divided into three sections - Body, Mind and Spirit - to help you figure out how to change your physical, mental and spiritual gears and get your life back on track as soon as possible. In true girlosophy style, meditations, affirmations and an overview of the chakras are included to give you a focused approach to your healing.The 30-day breakup recovery program at the back of the book shows you how to work out a new daily routine for your new life.

Here's the lowdown on how to:
Look after yourself
Deal with your emotion
Clear your head
Rediscover your spiritual path
Find forgiveness
Embrace the future
Love again

Relationship Rescue
After successfully helping hundreds of thousands of people take responsibility for their own actions, Dr. Phil McGraw now turns his expertise to the primary area of concern troubling most people: their relationships. In his tell-it-like-it-is style that already has influenced millions of Oprah viewers, "Dr. Phil" blows the whistle on the rhetoric of traditional "couples therapy" and instead tells you that -- no matter what state your relationship is in -- not only are you responsible for it, you are responsible for getting it back on track. By doing this, he offers readers the chance for further happiness through meaningful, fulfilling relationships that work.

To Have Or To Be
In response to the materialism of our century and our propensity to reification, psychoanalyst Erich Fromm proposes a mode of living that he argues is the way out of our psychospiritual conundrum. Within the pages of this book, one of the last before his demise, the author of the bestseller _ The Art of Loving_ describes the two modes possible--that of having and being. 20th century culture he says has developed into employing and relying on the having mode--of appropriating things and even humans for oneself. Even love has been turned into an object, when in fact no such thing exists. Only the act of loving is possible. In contradistinction to having is being. It is a mode of active participation in life. While the misnomer 'falling in love' is touted by the world as the norm, Fromm argues that true loving is an effortful activity. While accumulating knowledge is the way of having, the being mode of knowing is a process of understanding. Although written nearly three decades ago, Fromm's worldview continues to be the ideal. This work of his is a timeless caveat against the dehumanization of society

To Be Human

To Be Human presents Krishnamurti's radical vision of life in a new way. At the heart of this extraordinary collection are passages from the great teacher's talks that amplify and clarify the nature of truth and those obstacles that often prevent us from seeing it. Most of these core teachings have not been available in print until now. Besides presenting the core of Krishnamurti's message, the book alerts the reader to his innovative use of language, the ways in which he would use "old words with new interpretations," then gives practical examples, showing that we can clarify our understanding of life itself—and act on this new understanding. The splendid introduction by David Skitt discusses Krishnamurti's philosophy as a guide to knowledge and experience, the roles knowledge and experience should play in our lives, and the times when it is best to cast them aside and "look and act anew." The book's source notes will aid the inquisitive reader who wishes a deeper understanding of this great teacher's message.

Choice Theory - A New Psychology of Personal Freedom
Southern California psychiatrist William Glasser, the author of Reality Therapy, believes that almost all human misery is caused by people trying to control others. In fact, he says, the only behavior we can control is our own; by the same token, no one can make us do anything we don't want to. It's only when we give up spending our energy trying to force others to conform to our ideas or to keep them from doing the same to us that we are able to live the way we want to. Glasser makes this somewhat difficult material easier to understand with examples and case studies from his own practice. For instance, he tells a man whose wife has left him that his only choices are to change what he wants her to do or to change the way he is dealing with her. While doing these things will not necessarily bring his wife back, Glasser says, it will certainly make him feel better. "When we actually begin to realize that we can control only our own behavior, we immediately start to redefine our personal freedom and find, in many instances, that we have much more freedom than we realize," Glasser writes.
Please recommend movies and books you've seen/read, that you think we all need to see and read.

Friday, July 13, 2007

The Power Of Prayer

When my younger sister saw me praying some days ago, she said she stopped and stared at me in surprise. Why was she surprised? Because she hasn’t seen me pray in so long. I also haven’t been to church in years…when I say years, I mean years. This is not something I am proud to say…it’s just the truth.

My mum gave up after months of trying to get me to go to church…a few friends told me to be prayerful…I never listened to them. I always told myself that God sees my heart, knows what I need and will provide it without me having to go down on my knees and ask.

I felt my life was going well, so going to church wasn’t something I thought important. Also, I’ve been around people who played down the importance of going to church. I remember one person saying church is in your heart…you can praise and worship God by yourself at your own time.

When I really think of it, I have no excuse for not praying and going to church, it just wasn’t something I thought about. I was always more bothered about how I can better my life and make my business grow…forgetting that only God can do that.

In the last two years, all I do on Sundays is cook, watch TV and go on the internet while every member of my family were in church...but then something happened to me...

Late last month as I was walking down to my office from home, an elderly mad man threw stones in my direction...I tried to dodge it but some of it touched me. Through out that day I couldn't get the incident out of my head. I asked everyone I came across if it meant anything. Everyone said it meant nothing.

I'm not a superstitious person, but for some reason I became uncomfortable with myself in the days that followed that incident. Then one night, four days after the incident, for some reason I still can not comprehend, I went down on my knees and prayed...I was going to pray only about the incident, but then I figured since I was on my knees...I might as well pray about other things in my life...which I did...and I've been doing so every morning and night since then.

Last week Friday, I called my banker to find out my account balance...I knew I was broke, I just needed to know how broke I was...but then my banker calls back and tells me I have so so and so amount in my account. I told him it was not possible because I know how much I've withdrawn...what he told me was five times more money than I expected...I had to go to the bank the following day to confirm what he told me. I found money in my account...don't ask me how it got there...I didn't put it there...just found it there...at a time when I needed cash to get my show on the road. For days I was puzzled...will I make a deposit and forget about it? Who put the money there? Who has my account number? Was it God? Has he already started answering my prayers? Still can't figure it out.

Then this monday, I had too many calls to make...I had to get across to designers, models, musicians, comedians etc and I needed a lot of credit on both my landline and mobile phone. Normally I never buy more than N750 recharge card on my GSM and never more than N500 on my landline, but because of all the people I needed to reach, I got N1, 500 credit on my mobile and N1, 000 on my landline. The following day after making so many calls, I checked my phones for balance and guess what? I found N5, 000 extra on my mobile and N800 extra on my landline. An hour later my service provider told me I was one of the lucky winners in a promotion they were doing, so they credited my account with 5 grand...this was at a point when I needed credit to make my show successful...

Then yesterday, I called the brand manager of one of the companies I've been trying to get to sponsor my event. I'd been trying to see him since last week but he had been too busy to see me...but yesterday he asked me to come over...this was around to six in the evening. I quickly went home, changed into my corporate outfit and headed to the place...there was traffic on the way so I got there a bit a late...about 6:30. The guy I was going to see had already left his office and was at the company lounge, when I called him he asked me to come to the lounge...

Two minutes into talking to this guy, the company's marketing director came to join us. Now this company is one of the biggest companies in Nigeria, if not the biggest and I'd been trying for years to know people at the top to no avail...then all of a sudden I'm sitting, drinking and chatting with the brand manager and marketing director that people hardly see. I told him about my event and asked for any kind of support they can render...the guy smiled and said no problem...right there and then he instructed the brand manager to give my company twice what I was aking for...TWICE I say.

As I was still jubilating inside...guess who joined us? The managing director. It was surreal, here I was, surrounded by the top three executives of one of Nigeria's biggest companies...the MD even bought me goat meat and shared drinks with me...I couldn't believe I was in that kind of situation...but then I remembered my friend Tunji always telling me that 'Your talent will place you before kings' and God will make those kings wine and dine with you. I went home an hour later with more than I'd hoped for. I got sponsorship for Style Night from them...today their promise was fulfilled...

To celebrate yesterday, I went to an eatery to get myself some ice cream...I do that often whenever I'm happy...then at the eatery I ran into a beauty queen whose number I've been looking for for months now...I got it...I needed her for something...she didn't hesitate.

So here I was feeling really good with myself and just when I thought it couldn't get better than this...as I was walking out of the eatery...I ran into someone I haven't seen in four years...then I remembered my prayer that morning...and I smiled.

I won't tell you to go to church, I wasnt a church-goer myself...but I've made up my mind to start going to church...but I'll tell you to PRAY. No matter what it is you're going through today, no matter how hopeless it seems, no matter how disappointed you are in life...please pray, because prayer works. God is a prayer-answering God. If you go down on your knees and talk to him, he will bless in more ways than you can ever imagine.

There are people who have given up on God. Maybe they pray and pray and nothing happens...so they stop. But let me tell you today, if you think God isn't answering your prayer, then think that maybe you are not praying with faith...or maybe he doesn't want to give you what you're asking for because he doesn't want it for you...or maybe he's just waiting for the right time to make all your dreams come true...

God answers prayers...he's answering mine, he'll answer yours...just talk to him.

I wish everyone out there the very best that life can give...

God bless you and yours

lindaikeji@gmail.com

More Pictures...

A few nice girls have shown up since the casting began...I've been able to pick about eight girls so far.

Here are more pictures for y'all to see...do let me know who you think stands a good chance making it as a model...

Betsy
This is my all time favourite. 6 '1', 22, great legs, great smile, nice facial structures, long legs, great personality...and she was in MBGN 2007 top 10. (Miss Niger)

Angela Adams 5 '11', 23

Jane, 21, 5 '10'

Funmi, 24, 5 '8'

Nneka, 20, 5 '9'

Temitope, 22, 6 ft

Beatrice 23, 6feet

Yewande, 22, 5 '11'

Maimunat, 19, 5 '8'

Aishat, 5'9', 21

Mabel John, 20, 5 '10'

Hephzibah, 5 '9', 21

Adenike, 5 '11', 20

Dupe, 5 '11', 21

So, who do you think should be shortlisted from this group? Please let's read your opinion

Top Ten Freaky Festivals

Some countries, some cultures, some people get up to things that are not only weird, scary, dangerous, ridiculous, funny, outrageous...but damn right freaky. I mean, what the hell are these people thinking...they lost their mind or what? lol.

Check out some freaky festivals from all around the world...

1. La Tomatina
Where/when: Buol, Spain: last Wednesday of August
The planet's premier food fight draws thousands to the tiny Spanish town, where as a climax to a week-long festival, trucks unleash 90,000 pounds of tomatoes on a beer-fuelled crowd. For one hour, all hell breaks loose, and people happily bombard each other with tomatoes.
Freakiness factor: High - This gooey mess-fest will make you feel like a kid again. Once the tomatoes are gone and everyone looks like victims of a slasher movie, hoses spray the revellers clean.

2. Danjiri Festival
Where/when: Osaka, Japan: September
Unbelievably unsafe in theory and practice, the Danjiri Festival takes drunken locals and makes them surf on the roof of tall, wobbly vehicles. Since 1703, the towns-folk have designed elaborate floats and, on September 15th, they race them around Osaka's ancient roads and narrow streets. Year-upon-year, bones get smashed as rickety floats topple and over-competitive racers come to blows.
Freakiness factor: High - Although this is meant to be fun, fatalities are a common occurrence.

3. Theemidhi
Where/when: Singapore: late October
In tribute to an Indian goddess who proved her purity by walking barefoot on a bed of scorching coals, the Singapore festival of Theemidhi (fire walk) is an incredible sight. Things kick-off at 2 a.m when the men work themselves into a trance-like state and repeatedly walk across a four-metre bed of red-hot coals. Talk about feet of flames!
Freakiness factor: High - The expressions on the barefooted worshippers as they walk on the coals; they look as if they are peacefully sleeping.

4. World Championship Cockroach Races
Where/when: Brisbane, Australia: January 26 (Australia Day)
If being surrounded by hundreds of scurrying cockroaches isn't your idea of fun, then you're better off avoiding the World Championship Cockroach Races. Roach racing events include the sprint and the steeplechase - and thousands of bug lovers turn up each year to cheer on their favourite parasites.
Freakiness factor: High - Imagine seeing thousands of drunken Aussies worshipping an insect you usually trample on. freaky!

5. Cheese rolling
Where/when: Cooper's Hill, Gloucerster, England: May
At the end of May's Bank Holiday weekend, hundreds of maniacs (many in fancy dress) flock to the westcountry to chase a big block of cheese down a lofty embankment. So if you're sick of staying in and watching the same old boring films on the telly, join the other brave (or foolhardy) folk and bounce your body down the steep slope.
Freakiness factor: Medium - Apart from scolding yourself with a cheese toastie, this must be the most dangerous cheese-related activity on Earth

5. Moose Dropping Festival
Where/when: Talkeetna, Alaska: second weekend in July When life deals you lemons, make lemonade. When nature deals you moose dung, throw it at people from hot-air balloons. And that's what happens in this Alaskan backwater. Staggeringly, no one knows how this festival began. There's something strangely appealing about a town that takes a day to celebrate the digestive waste of a big-nosed beast.
Freakiness factor: - Medium - It's the only place in the world where you can win $1,000 for being pooped on

6. Sydney Fringe Festival Nude Night Surfing
Where/when: Bondi Beach, Sydney: January
Fancy yourself as a bit of a beach bum? Then join 10,000 other exhibitionists and flash your rude bits on Bondi Beach.
Freakiness factor: High - If you think this is a danger-free way to admire fit Aussie women in the buff - think again. Entering Australian waters at night leaves you wide open to a shark attack. Ouch

7. Ivrea Orange Festival
Where/when: Piemonte, Italy - February
Centuries ago, the town's folk rebelled against a twisted count who kidnapped virgin brides and deflowered them on their wedding night. Not only was he beheaded, his guards were also stoned to death. Nowadays, the stones have been replaced by tons of juicy oranges that the villagers pelt at each other. This is quite possibly the wackiest historical re-enaction on Earth.
Freakiness factor: Medium - More bizarre than scary. At the end of the festival, a newlywed woman showers the people with sweets. Tasty!

8. Testicle festival
Where/When: Rock Creek Lodge, Montana, USA: September
Assuming you've escaped Kirkpinar with your plums intact, you might want to check out the world's largest testicle festival. Not only can you taste delicious deep-fried bull's testicles and ogle women in the wet t-shirt competition, you can also get bladdered on the Bull Snort Brew. Nuts - quite literally.
Freakiness rating: High - Putting yourself at the mercy of drunken hillbillies is a recipe for disaster. Just remember - they won't hear your cries up in the Montana hills.

9. Kirkpinar Wrestling Festival
Where/When: Kirkpinar, Turkey: end of June/beginning of July

No, this isn't the aftermath of a Scissor Sisters concert, this is wrestling - Turkish-style. In the 14th century two warriors fighting before the Ottoman Sultan sparred so vigorously that they both died of exhaustion. In honour of this devotion, the city of Kirkpinar has held this tournament ever since.

Freakiness rating: High - Its prison rules where anything goes. Contestants can expect ear-pulling, nipple-twisting and (brace yourself) testicle-squeezing. Arrggh!

10. Raging bull
Spain's fighting bulls have lived up to their terrifying reputation, goring two and crushing at least seven people at this year's running of the bulls. Each year, thousands of thrill-seekers gather on the narrow cobbled streets of Pamplona to take part in the sacred San Fermin festival. The event sees bulls run through the city - preceded by crowds of revellers. But be warned, since records began in 1924, 13 people have lost their lives during the run.

Do these guys do this extraordinary events to add spice to their lives or are they just totally crazy? There are many ways to have fun...I guess they found theirs...freaky though!

Health - Cerebral Malaria

A close relation of mine fell ill some time ago. The family didn't tell anyone about her illness because they initially thought it was spiritual.

After taking her to a few hospitals without any doctor being able to tell what was wrong with her, they took her to the Lagos state teaching hospital (luth), where she's presently receiving treatment.

Some days ago, her older sister called my mum to tell her about the situation. The sick patient had asked to see some of us because she was convinced the illness would kill her.

On Wednesday, my mum, my sister and I went to visit her and immediately she saw us, she started crying. We all started crying. Off all the people in her family, she was the closest to us, the one we loved most. And to see her in that situation was extremely hard to take in.

Not only could she not walk, eat, talk audibly, stand, or sit on her back, she was hallucinating. She told us she sees things at night...snakes, lions, witches...all trying to kill her. Her younger brother told us that the hospital staff had to tie her hands and legs the previous night because she woke up the that night screaming uncontrollably. Our dear friend was beginning to loose her mind.

I asked her brother what was wrong with her and they said malaria. Malaria I asked? I've had malaria before and I didn't go mad...what kind of malaria is this? A doctor came before we left and told us it's called CELEBRAL MALARIA. Never heard of it before. Never met anyone who had it...it was hard for me to believe that malaria could paralise and make one go almost insane.

So I decided to go research about this kind of malaria and this was what I found...

Celebral Malaria

What is cerebral malaria?
Cerebral malaria (CM) collectively involves the clinical manifestations of Plasmodium falciparum malaria that induce changes in mental status and coma. It is an acute, widespread disease of the brain which is accompanied by fever.

The mortality ratio is between 25-50%. If a person is not treated, CM is fatal in 24-72 hours. The histopathological hallmark of this encephalopathy is the sequestration of cerebral capillaries and venules with parasitized red blood cells (PRBCs) and non-PRBCs (NPRBCs). Ring-like lesions in the brain are major characteristics.

There is a clear need for a strict definition of cerebral malaria in order to properly diagnose and assess the condition. A pragmatic definition based on the Glasgow Coma Score exists. Its key elements are:
(1) unrousable coma--no localizing response to pain persisting for more than six hours if the patient has experienced a generalized convulsion;
(2) asexual forms of P. falciparum found in blood; and
(3) exclusion of other causes of encephalopathy, i.e. viral or bacterial.

What are the symptoms?
Clinical manifestations of cerebral malaria are numerous, but there are three primary symptoms generally common to both adults and children:
(1) impaired consciousness with non-specific fever;
(2) generalized convulsions and neurological sequelae; and
(3) coma that persists for 24-72 hours, initially rousable and then unrousable.

What is the cause?
The cause of cerebral malaria is not well understood. Currently, there are two major hypotheses explaining its etiology. They are the mechanical and the humoral hypotheses.

The mechanical hypothesis asserts that a specific interaction between a P. falciparum erythrocyte membrane protein (PfEMP-1) and ligands on endothelial cells, such as ICAM-1 or E-selectin, reduces microvascular blood flow and induces hypoxia. This selective cytoadherence of PRBCs and non-PRBCs, also known as rosetting, can apparently better account for CM’s histopathological hallmark and its characteristic coma condition. However, this hypothesis is inadequate in explaining the relative absence of neurological deficit even after days of unconsciousness.

The humoral hypothesis suggests that a malarial toxin may be released that stimulates macrophages to release TNF-a and other cytokines such as IL-1. The cytokines themselves are not harmful, but they may induce additional and uncontrolled production of nitric oxide. Nitric oxide would diffuse through the blood-brain barrier and impose similar changes on synaptic function as do general anesthetics and high concentrations of ethanol, leading to a state of reduced consciousness. The biochemical nature of this interaction would explain the reversibility of coma.

What are possible treatment options?
As cerebral malaria is fatal within days of malaria infection if left untreated, immediate treatment is crucial. Because natural immunity to malaria is not fully understood and thus cannot yet be artificially imitated by drugs, control and prevention strategies are significant. Two of these are antimalarial chemotherapy and adjunctive measures. Public health interventions are also critical.

Chemotherapy for cerebral malaria now primarily involves the use of quinine, for a patient with severe CM must be assumed to have chloroquine resistance. It is one of the four main alkaloids found in the bark of the Cinchona tree and is the only drug which over a long period of time has remained largely effective for treating the disease.

The research revealed alot but I'll stop here. I'm sharing this because people need to know of this kind of illness and treat it as fast as possible. The doctor told me that a lot of people have died from this kind of malaria out of ignorance. They think it's regular malaria and take regular malaria drugs until it's too late.

So if you know or come across anyone with this kind of malaria, please tell them how risky it is not to go see a doctor asap. Let me say here that not all doctors can treat this kind of malaria, you need to go to a specialist hospital...this kind of malaria is rare but deadly. I've seen first hand what this illness can do to someone. She's lucky to be alive.

Please take care of your health.

Thursday, July 12, 2007

Beauty - Top ten tips for looking good + grooming tips for men

1. Cleanse, tone and moisturize

2. Start sleeping: Get eight hours a night to keep your skin glowing and eyes sparkling.

3. The hair: Keep it well groomed and regularly neat and tidy

4. The nail: Pedicure and manicure regularly for perfect nails

5. Get gleaming: Brush, floss and polish your teeth for pearly white smile. Go to a dentist to sort any problem

6. Eat healthy: You are what you eat. For good hair, nails, and skin condition, eat lots of fresh fruits and vegetables

7. Water: Eight glasses a day keeps the doctor away and you looking sensational

8. Go natural: Do not over dress, over make-up, over do anything

9. Do not drink or smoke: Excessive smoking and drinking make you age faster

10. Be happy always: No matter how beautiful you are, a miserable face is always unattractive. Do things and be with people that make you happy. When you're happy, you glow

Shaving tips for men

Before shaving:
First cleanse your face properly using warm or hot water. It will soften the beards and help open up pores.

A healthy dose of moisturizer before shaving is also a good idea

Do not use foams, gels and products that contain agents such as Benzocaine or menthol. They may give a great lather but can really dry and irritate the skin, close your pores and stiffen your beard.

While shaving:
Use hot water while shaving. It helps soften the beards, open pores and cleanse the skin

Make sure your razor is sharp. Old blunt blades spoil a shave and drag the skin.

Always shave in the same direction as hair growth. This prevents in-growth to a large extent.

Do not apply too much pressure on the shaving razor because this will cause skin burns and irritation. Instead, glide it gently across the face.

After shaving:
Finish by rinsing off with cool water. It will close the skin pores

For cuts, use a moistened alum block to stop the bleeding.

Apply a moisturizing aftershave lotion on the shaved areas.

Use a moisturizer over the neck and face to keep the skin firm and supple.

I hope this post was useful to some people. Ciao!

Modeling - How to be a super model

For all you guys out there who hope to one day become top models...in any part of the world...here are a few tips on how you can get there one day. Let me say here that the standard is the same every where. There must be something different and unique about you.

I'm going to use my all time favourite model, Naomi Campbell, as a point of reference.

Lets go...

Have an attitude...but don't throw phones at people lol.

Have a wild look

Have an innocent look

Know how to pose

Be a favourite among designers

Have a great body

Be daring

Have great legs

Have a face that can sell

Have a unique look

Be flexible

A great smile

Be stylish

Know how to catwalk

Look good in everything

Look good in nothing
And be very passionate about it.
There are so many other ways to rise to the top of modeling, will give you more pointers later.

Fashion - Do's and Don'ts

I am in an industry I'm extremely passionate about - The fashion, modeling and beauty industry. But then I went through my blog yesterday and realised I hardly blog about fashion, modeling or beauty...isn't that strange?

This is something I love talking about...My mag say FM&B (Fashion, modeling and beauty), so why doesn't my blog reflect that? Na only amebo I just dey here dey do...lol
From now on you guys will see a lot on fashion, modeling, beauty and health issues.

In fact I can safely say that this blog is about to get BIGGER, BOLDER & BETTER.
Lets start with fashion. I call this fashion do's and dont's
Over - accessorizing

Try and be as simple as you can in your dressing. Wearing many bangles, bracelets, necklaces, rings, belts, scarfs etc at the same time is a fashion don't. It makes you look like you're desperately looking for attention and it takes away class and style from your look. Instead...

Minimal accessories. Only things that go with what you're wearing.

Fake Jewelry

Fake jewelry is a no no. If you can't afford the original, then do not wear anything at all. Fake jewellery make you look cheap. Instead...
If you're wearing anything, let it be the real deal. There's something it does to your personality and sense of style

Black lip liner

This is a definite don't. I was once guilty of this. When lining your lips, avoid using a black lip liner as it makes you look clueless. Instead...

Find a colour that goes with the colour of your lipstick. Something subtle and sweet.

Micro mini skirt

Wearing a micro mini skirt make you look trashy. If you ain't performing on stage et al..then avoid it. It's not a look that tells a good story. Instead...

Wear an above the knee lenght skirt. This suggests a maturity in your sense of style

Very big bags

Alot of girls are guilty of this fashion faux. Extremely big bags are fashion don'ts. Except you are going for a weekend, or to the market, or a few days traveling and you don't want to carry to many luggages...but regular outing?...no, no, no. Instead...
Go for classy, chic bags that has alot of space in it and can take all your 'property'

Too tight clothing.
If you like fitted clothes like I do, it's ok...but please avoid clothes that are extremely tight. You will look cheap, trashy and shapeless. Some of us like to emphasise our figure, but don't over-emphasise it. Too tight clothing sometimes make you loose your real figure and expose some areas of your body people shouldn't even see. Instead...

Find clothes that fit your figure and brings out your shape.

Shoulder pads

I actually put this on my list because I saw someone wearing shoulder pads yesterday. This is old fashion and a definite no no in today's fashion. Leave shoulder pads for the base ball players

Over piercing
Some people do not have control over this. They don't know when to stop. If you must pierce, then do only the ears and belly buttons. Piercing the tongue, eyelid, upper ear, lower lip etc etc, is just not the way to go. Over piercing make you look like you have self-confidence issues and most people won't take you serious. There are definitely some places you can't enter with all that craziness. So avoid it.

I'll stop here today. I'll give you a part two in a few days. Hope you learnt a thing or two from this. Let me know what you agree or don't agree with.

Wednesday, July 11, 2007

AMEN 2007 Nominees and Winners

The Annual Award for Musical Excellence in Nigeria (Amen) put together by Encomium Ventures, publishers of Encomium magazine held on Sunday 1st July 2007 at the Civic Centre.

Here are the list of nominees and their winners.

Best Music Presenter on radio
Grand Master Lee - Star FM
Kemistry - Rhythm 93.7
Olisa Adibua - Cool FM - Winner

Best Radio DJ
DJ Bombastic - Star FM
DJ OBJ - Metro FM
DJ Dr.XIN - Unilag FM
DJ Steve Nolly - Ray Power
DJ Humility - Rhythm FM - Winner

Best Music Presenter on TV
Jumoke Alao - Gbedu (AIT)
Cally Ikpe - New Life Beats
Ebere - Video Plus (LTV)
Chichi Ookhalum - Juke Box (MBI)
Deji Falope - Soundcity - winner. This guy should be presenting on MTV Base or Channel 0. That's how good he is.

Best Record Label
Kennis Music
Orangootan
Colossal Entertainment
Ojez Music
Storm Records - winner

Concert of the year
House on the rock (Experience)
Kennis Music Easter Fiesta
Star Mega Jam
Thisday Music Festival - winner. Totally agree

Best Choreography Dance (Musical Video)
Obiwon - Get them off me
Ayuba - Mellow
Free Windz
Resonance - Holy Ghost Fire
Paul Agubata - Eeh Yawah
P-Square - Your Name - winner.

Best Picture (Musical Video)
Kade - Muma Gee
Lagbaja
Tunde and Wunmi Obe
Escalade - Dare Art Alade - winner

Best Costume (Musical Video)
Kade - Muma Gee
Olori oko - Infinity
Paul Agubata
Lagbaja - winner

Best Special Effect (Musical Video)
Resonance
Infinity - Olori oko
Cry - Modenine
Gino - no be God - winner

Best Musical Video Director
Emmanuel - Cry (Modenine)
Yomi Amoo - Olori Oko (Infinity)
Remi Oni - Why me (D'banj)
Wudi Awa - No be God (Gino)
DJ Tee - Escalade - winner

Most Popular Song
Why me - D'banj
Kolomental - Faze
Infinity - Olori Oko
Paul Play - Angel of my life
Ekwe - Stereo Man
Ijo Ya - Weird Mc - winner. Is Ijo ya more popular than D'banj's why me? Don't think so

Best Group/Duo Performance
Infinity
Styl Plus
Resonance
Tunde and Wunmi Obe
P-Square - winner. I think Infinity should have won this category

Upcoming Act of the year
Etcetera
D'accord Band
Morachi
Sanchez
Blaise
Asa - winner. Are they kidding me? Asa upcoming act? I saw her in concert 2/3 years ago...Morachi should have won

Best Male Vocalist
Sammie Okposo
Faze
Segun Obe
Soul E
Obiwon
Tuface
Paul Play - winner. This guy has improved vocally in the last few years. He deserves it

Best Female Vocalist
Essence
Tope Alabi
Shola Alison
Esther Abigbo (Resonance) - winner. I'm in total agreement

Best Gospel Album
Bouqui - Bouqui
Sammie Okposo - No more drama
Resonance - Chinwe Ike - My winner
Infinity - Olri Oko - winner

R&B Male Vocal Performance
Dare Ar Alade
Faze
Styl Plus
Soul E
Paul Play - winner

R&B Female Vocal Performance
Ashionye
Essence
Fragrance
Azeezat- winner

Best R&B Song
Dare Art Alade - Escalade
Styl - Plus - Drives me crazy
Obiwon - Onyinye
Tuface - True Love
Paul Play - Forever. My R&B song og the year is 2face's 'If love is a crime'. I listen to it at least 10 times a day

Best R&B album
Dare Art Alade - From me 2 u
Faze - Independent
Sunny Neji - Off da hook
Paul Play - Hits Ville - winner. What happened to Tuface's album 'Grass to grace'? I've bought that album three times so far...it should have been nominated at least

Best Rap Song
Modenine - Cry
OD - Don't Hate
Bouqui - Lai lai
Ikechukwu - Son of the soil
Freestyle - Bragging Right
Gino - If no be God - winner. I love this song but I thought Modenine was a more likely candidate to win this category

Best Rap Vocal
Bouqui
Sauce Kid
OD
Freestyle
Modenine - winner. Typical!

Best Dancehall/Reggae Album
Majek Fashek - Little patience
Mad Melon and Mountain Black - Kpolongo
Professor Linkin - Jogodo
Black Face - Evergreen
Stereoman - Ekwe - winner

Best Pop Album
Jazzman - Mr Funky
D'banj - Rundown
P-Square - Da remix
Weird MC - After da storm
2face - Grass 2 Grace - winner. Totally agreeeeeeeee!

Best New duo or group
Streetmonks
Resonance
Xproject
Infinity - winner

Best New Act (male)
Stereoman
Danny Young
Sauce Kid
9ice
Soul E - winner

Best New Act (Female)
Asionye
Essence
Fragrance
Ebiere Ohochukwu
Oyindamola Adejumo
Bouqui - winner

Song of the year
Infinity - Olori Oko
Faze - Kolomental
Weird MC - Ijo Ya
2face - For instance
D'banj - Why me - winner. Mos Definitely

Producer of the year
Sunny Steve - Olori Oko
Don Jazzy - Why me
Spanky - Kolomental
Don Jazzy - Ijo Ya
OJB - for instance - winner. At last he gets a much deserved award

Album of the year
Hitsville - Paul Play
After da Storm - Weird MC
Run Down - D'banj
Independent - Faze
Grass to Grace - 2face - winner. Yessssssssssssssssssssssss!

Act of the year
Paul Play
Faze
2 Faze
Weird MC
D' banj - winner

Pheww...that was a ride! So what do you think of the winners of this year's AMEN award...do share your thoughts.

Tuesday, July 10, 2007

World Entertainment News

Ciara and 50 cent are rumoured to be dating. True?

And Ciara's ex-boyfriend Lil Bow Wow is dating Melody from the Pussycat dolls. This pix confirms it.

Oops...Venus Williams. She recently won her fourth grand slam. Great news.

Diddy and his longtime girlfriend, Kim Porter, who gave birth to his baby girl twins not that long ago, have broken up, his publicist confirmed today.

Hear Diddy:
“I know she deserves to get married, but I’m just not ready,” he said. “It’s not a reflection on how much I love Kim. It’s that I’m just learning how to be a good boyfriend. When I’m finished with this step, I’ll move on to the next.”

Hear Kim Porter:
“He could be a little more attentive to his family, but I understand who he is and what that requires of him. He’s in a business where he wants to be the best, and he wants to make sure his family has the best.”
Something tells me this two will get back together. Hope they do...I don't know why he's finding it hard to make a commitment to this woman. Men and their wahala.

More Casting Pix...

Today was incredibly fun at work. Jackson wasn’t around so I had some breathing space. Six of my friends came at different times to see me…they came to check out my new space. It was so fun not thinking of business for one day…just talking, exchanging Ideas, eating, drinking and having laughs.

Tayoodukoya.com was one of dem guest I had fun with...great chap.

Despite all the fun, I still managed to conduct my casting. 11 girls came but only 2 were good enough for what I need them for. You will see their pix in a bit. I have their permission to put their faces on the internet…in fact when I told them what I intended to do, they were all pretty much excited and started giving me poses…hoping y’all will shortlist them. So I gave them the blog site to go check out your comments…so feel free to let them know what you think of them as models.

Also, the posters, handbills, invites and tickets for my Style Night fashion show are out. Jackson (Events), Alfred (Creative), Sandra (Models manager) and Rolf (Client Service) are taking it upon themselves to get half the people in Lagos to come for the show lol. We are hoping for at least 500 people and if only 100 of them pay…that would be great. Others can come in free. The idea is to have a lot of people there to get our potential sponsors interested in sponsoring the next event. They’ve all promised to come see what the show is all about.

Doing this monthly show at small venues is just to register the name in the minds of people and prepare for a very grand Style Night later in the year…

My aim is to help revive and revitalize the fashion industry in the little way I can in Naija. Hopefully a lot of people will support the dream…

Ok let’s check pix of girls from today…

Bola Baiye

Of all the girls I’ve seen so far, this is the one I particularly like. 5 ‘11’, 18, pretty, long legs and nice catwalk.

Hannah

Jennifer

Azeezat

Patricia

Cathy

Jane

Joy

So far who do u like?

BTW, I’ve met a third blogger. Segedoo of thinkandimagine.com. He brought me a beautiful painting. Never owned a painting before…I love paintings but just never brought myself to buy one. Segedoo, tall, well educated, crazily good looking…if only he was 10 years older…sigh! lol.

Anyway any blogger or a reader of this blog who wants to come for the show should talk to Sandra 08033595004 or Jackson 08036429347, or even me on 01-8509898…would love to have you around.

Tomorrow I’ll find time to give you entertainment gist and gossip.

Another BTW, I heard…I said I heard…don’t know how true this is…that 2, 000 Nigerian doctors who live in Atlanta Georgia are coming to set up 20 world class hospitals in Naija by the end of the year. Na true? Someone told me that the former Mayor of Atlanta,Andrew Young, announced it on TV. They were inspired to get the project kicking because of the transparency shown by our current president Musa Yar’adua who became the first president in the history of Nigeria to publicly declare his assets.

A Governor (Katsina) for 8 years is worth 850, 000 million naira…with half of it being inheritance from family. Forty three million Naira is all the cash he has…no foreign account or property and you say this is not the man we need? He will do well.

Lastly, the auditioning for Gulder Ultimate search 4 is 17th of July at the Union Bank Sports club, on Bode Thomas, Surulere…will give you full details of that later.

do let the girls know what you think.

Be good to others, after you’ve been great to yourself.

Ciaaaao!

Legendary Jimmy Jatt

This is one entertainer in Naija I love to bits. Very humble, incredibly friendly, helpful and nice to a fault. So it's with great pleasure that I announce the release of his much-awaited album...'The Definition'. Just came across his press release...check it out

PRESS RELEASE

JIMMY JATT SET TO RELEASE HIGHLY ANTICIPATED ALBUM; THE DEFINITION

Legendary DJ Jimmy Jatt is set to release his highly anticipated debut album ‘The Definition’ under storm records on the 21st of July 2007 which features fifty artists and 20 original songs.

Staying true to his love of hip hop music, ‘The Definition’ is a celebration of Nigeria’s booming hip hop influenced music and entertainment industry. The compilation album or mix tape boasts of the number one hit single of the year, “Stylee,” which has dominated Music video charts from MTV to STV for almost 2 months as well as radio programs, MTN Yello top ten countdown and Rhythm FM top 7 jams at seven.. The all-star collabo features 2 Face, Mode Nine and Elajoe. The album also features superstar artists such as Ruggedman, Ikechukwu, Thoroughbreds, Black Twang, Lord of Ajasa, and a host of others, and features production by Jimmy Jatt, OJB, Jokyne, Guchiano, Eldee the Don and Kraft.

The Album launch party, slated for the last weekend in July will have a lot of surprises that will show case DJ Jimmy Jatt’s achievements as a Disc Jockey, a pioneer of Hip hop music in Nigeria and will also have performances from a number of artists on the album. DJ Jimmy Jatt’s album has been the most highly anticipated album in the Nigerian music scene for a long time.

DJ Jimmy Jatt has had a busy year. Besides being booked round the clock he has managed to put this monumental album together, while starring in his own television program “Jimmy’s Jump Off,” in which he mixes and blends music Videos: another testament to his leadership role in the Nigerian Entertainment industry.

He has been at the forefront of the Nigerian hip hop scene since the eighties and not only has he been instrumental to the Nigerian hip hop scene, he has also contributed in nurturing the Nigeria music scene to the level that we find it.

In the eighties, he was the one who solely organized “Road block” which was a show with the aim of showcasing talented up coming artists who have been trying to breakthrough to the limelight.

DJ Jimmy Jatt was one of the few DJ’s who would play more Nigerian Artist than any other artist on any show he was invited to perform. He earned a reputation as the number one DJ in Africa because of his skill on the turntables and basically because of his good taste of music.

Congrats on your new achievement Jimmy. Just when we think we've seen it all, you save the best for last. Incredibly talented DJ.

All you Jimmy Jatt fans...there's something to look forward to...It's an album you must own...heard it, loved it. Stylee is one song I'm mightily crazy about. I'll give you more news on this album release as I get it...

Goodluck Jimmy. You're an inspiration.

Sunday, July 8, 2007

07-07-07

So yesterday was 7/7/7. How many of you think it was a special day? The 7th day in the 7th month in the 7th year in the new millenium...

Why is the number 7 so significant?
The bible tells us the world was created in 7 days...
There are 7 wonders of the world
7 colours of the rainbow
7 seas
7 virtues
7 deadly sins...
7 sons of Sinbad...lol

Yesterday was significant for me because I did something I'd never done before in my life...I went shopping with both my dad and mum. I've been shopping with dad before, several times with mum, but never with both.

I told my dad I wanted to go buy a couch and a few office chairs for the office and he volunteered to go with me, as we were heading out, my mum asked where we were going...we told her and she asked to come along to help pick the right furniture. It was so great having them at the market picking out designs, colours, patterns, while I stood back and watched them...smiling through-out. Going shopping with both parents is an experience to cherish...try it. So 7/7/7 was a special day in my life...will never forget it.

Also yesterday was Stars on the runway fashion show...totally forgot about it till it was too late to start chasing after an invite...but I'm sure it was a beautiful show.

Yesterday was also Sound Sultan's album launch and 'An evening with D'banj' was supposed to be yesterday but was postponed...I think D'banj is in the US on a tour...will give details of that later...

Like I said yesterday, anyone who wants to reach me can do so at lindaikeji@gmail.com and if you want to talk to me...call me on my office landline...01-8509898 anytime between 9am to 5pm, Mon-Fri. If I'm around, I'll talk to you...

Ok, so I'll see y'all tomorrow with pictures of my casting and don't worry I have permission from the models. Guys and girls are free to come audition.

Hope y'all had a great weekend.

God bless.

linda

TV's best comic act of all time?

There have been people who have put smiles on millions of faces. People who used their talent to bring joy to others ...people who made us forget our worries for those 30mins/1 hour we saw them on TV. I call them great comedians.

Yesterday I was wondering, of all those that I saw on TV, who made the most impact in my life? Who made me laugh the most? Who made me look forward to watching TV? Who made my family gather and laugh together?

I came up with a list of comedians who I think helped shaped the world of comedy with their talent...what I want to know is ...who was the best of them all? Check out my list...

Roseanne Barr

John Cleese (Basil Fawlty)

Benny Hill

Mo nique (Ms Parkers)

Rowan Atkinson (Mr Bean)

Jaleel White (Steve Urkel)

Michael Crawford (Frank Spencer)

I'm going for Frank Spencer. He brought beautiful tears to my eyes...What about you? Maybe I didn't list your favourite? Give us a name and why they are your favourite.

Saturday, July 7, 2007

Naija Entertainment Gists.

Yinka Ayefele receives doctorate degree
The Malaysian Government through the Irish International University, Malaysia, honored Juju-gospel crooner, Yinka ayefele recently with a doctorate degree. He was singled out for the honor because his music stands out and he is recognised in Malaysia as the leading gospel and secular musician in Nigeria. Congrats to him!

BankPHB Interns wed.
Ayo Oguntubi and Rhona Chioma Ahanonu, two contestants at the BankPHB sponsored TV reality show, The Intern, will soon become husband and wife...the couple who met on the set of the show are already engaged with each meeting the other's family. There's even talk that Rhona is already pregnant. Ayo, the first runner up and Rhona who left almost at the beginning of the show had their traditional wedding on the 30th of June 2007. Rhona works with Zenith Bank while Ayo works with BankPHB. They say you find love even in the most unusual places..here's wishing the couple all the best in their journey together.

Sunny Neji buys Morano Jeep
Cross River State born artiste Sunny Neji recently acquired a Moran Jeep after acquiring a Benz jeep some months back. The colour is gray and it's plate number is Neji. Life is good for our Naija entertainers no be small...

Dupe Ogunlola's Wedding Planner Magazine recently celebrated it's second year anniversary. Congrats girl...one day we'll be celebrating ours too.

Mummy B weds minors in Port Harcourt Church
This is a really weird story. Read it in one of our celeb mags. according to the story, a certain woman known as Mrs Blessing Paul a.k.a Mummy B on June 9th 2007, at her God's Intervention Ministries International located somewhere along Stadium Road in Port Harcourt, wed two minors, 17 year old Chinedu Chukwu and 14 year old Mary Ogunlewe in holy matrimony. The marriage which had parental consent was said to have aired on NTA Port Harcourt and has since generated a lot of controversy, most viewers of the programme were disgusted. Petitions are said to have been filed by some concerned lawyers who think Mary was given away because the parents needed dowry. Understandable but what about the boys parents...why did they give consent to a minor? They think marriage is a joke? E..ya!

Tiwa Benson weds
Millinery designer and daughter of First Republic Minister of Information, Otunba TOS Benson, Tiwa Benson, got married to her beau, Uche Udeje, yesterday at the Muson Center, Lagos. Tiwa, who's hat company is called HATs' Lounge met her Igbo husband late last year and today they are married. Here's wishing the couple a happy married life

Fred and Agatha Amata fight for custody of their children
When I find people in good marriages...like my best friend, I want to get married, but when I come across couples like this...marriage begins to scare me...because I know I'm the kind of person who will walk away if the marriage isn't working at all. In this part of the world most women stay in unhappy marriages...why? The Society? Family? Children? Friends? Starting all over again is scary for most women...so they stay and take all the misery.

One woman who walked out of an unhappy marriage is Agatha Amata, the pretty presenter/producer wife of Nollywood actor and director, Fred Amata. The once rosy relationship between the couple who separated a few years ago is getting messier. Now they are fighting over the custody of their children 13yr Oreva and & 7yr old Staphanie, with each filing suits in court and defaming each other's character. The couple separated a few years back after both accused themselves of infidelity. Sad!

Patience Ozokwor's footballer son
How many of you know that star actress, Patience Ozokwor's son is a footballer? That is not even the news...I just found out he plays for the Flying eagles of Nigeria...better still, he's the Captain of the under-20 team, the Flying Eagles, who are presently in Canada for the FIFA under-20 World Cup. His name is Nduka Ozokwor...wow!

Two of Nigeria's Supermodels of all time, Mariam Ba and Sly Kuna got married on Thursday 5th July 2007. Friends for 13 yrs...looking for love, not knowing their love was right under their nose. They realised that last year and are now married. Love is beautiful and mysterious. Sorry I couldn't make your wedding...wishing you all the best as you begin a new life as husband and wife. Kisses!

For those who are interested in attending a Travel and Tourism school here in Naija...there's one I can recommend. It's called the Lagos School of Travels and Tourism, located at Ojuelegba Road, Lagos. If you need more info call 08057221027.

Also, those of you interested in visiting Obudu Ranch Resort, Calabar, Nigeria, here are the contact numbers you need if you want to get more info...08034729327, 08064410614, 08052888631. Email-lisabadru@gmail.com. If this was useful to you...blow me kiss.

DJ Jimmy Jatt is about to release his much awaited album under Storm Records...will give you more details later.

Lastly, my linda@fmbmagazine.com is still inactive o...but if there's anyone who needs to contact me urgently, send me an email at lindaikeji@gmail.com.

My casting continues on Monday, will load more pix for your appraisal. Cheers everyone. LiNdA

Friday, July 6, 2007

Catwalk Wit Linda Casting...

The casting was yesterday and today...wey all the Naija fine girls? Out of 24 girls I was only able to get 4...2 of them on stand by...I need pretty girls abeg o...
You guys check pics of some of the girls that came for the screening and tell me what you think...I'll load more pix later...
Sorry about the pix quality...they are pictures from my phone...can't figure out how to downland from my camera to my pc...let's go...
Ashley...I took this one...quite tall and pretty

Dora

Nneka

Hannah

Vivian

Azizat

Veron

Adamma

Dorcas

Yinka

Toyosi

Bunmi...I also took this one...tall and shapely

That's me and the insufferable Jackson...see 'omo ise' holding his oga round the waist...no respect at all lol...he's such a nice guy, great to work with.

So who do you think should be shortlisted? I'm not feeling most of them sha...but what do you think?

Thursday, July 5, 2007

My Casting.

Sorry for being MIA yesterday...trying to get sponsors for my show. Crazy busy at work.

This morning I'm doing the very first casting for models for my TV show called Catwalk Wit Linda...and my fashion show...Style Night...28th July

There about 14 models here so far, I'm going to take pictures of them on my camera and load it here in a bit...maybe you guys will help me choose my best 15? We are expecting more girls today and tomorrow, then next week Wednesday, Thursday and Friday...so interested models should come for the screening...@ Blackdove Communications, 7a Adeniyi Adefioye Str., Ogosco b/stop, Ikate, Surulere.

For more info call Sandra on 08033595004, and Jackson on 08036429347...please you guys should warn Jackson o...he's over working me o...he's actually standing over my head right now waiting for me to get off the internet and start the casting...I'll load his pix so you warn him for me lol.

Ok go to go...will come back in a few hours with the pix...see y'all later.

Tuesday, July 3, 2007

Personality: Oris Erhuero

I don't know how many know this guy, Oris Erhuero? I just discovered him myself. How many of you have seen 'Sometimes in April'? Well, he played the role of Honore, the journalist younger brother of the lead role actor, Augustine (Idris Elba). Remember him now?

I loved his role and acting in that movie not knowing he is Nigerian...I just recently read a small article on him and was surprised to discover he's from Delta State.

Oris is not as popular as the likes of Wale Agbaje, Chiwetel Ejiofor etc, but he's made a name for himself in the movie business...

Here's a little bio on him...

Oris was Born in London, England on September 23, 1968, the oldest of 7 children of a much loved and respected Nigerian (Urohbo) family, in his childhood, Oris Erhuero, was accustomed to tagging along with his Mum to her job at the National Theatre of London, where he was first intrigued to pursue the craft of the performing arts.

In his early days, he was further inspired to follow a career in lights when he was attending the Beaufoy School, in Kennington Park, London where he discovered his passion for acting. From that first spark, throughout his primary & secondary school days, on to University and beyond, he has used and continues to employ, his life experiences, classical Shakespearean training, [Lamda, (UK)], natural athleticism and endless energy to further develop his love for and contribution to the arts, into a rewarding career encompassing many genres of the entertainment industry.

Oris first came to make the United States his home in 1987, and is currently based in Los Angeles. His natural athleticism and adeptness with visual storytelling serves him well in his numerous intense and action-packed roles.

Oris with Idris Elba

Some of his movie roles...

The Adventures of Sinbad (Rongar, series star), Highlander 4: Endgame (as Winston, with Christopher Lambert), Black Mask II (Wolf)]. In his lead role of, Honore, in Sometimes in April, he exhibits a moving and poignant, complex character portrayal of one of two brothers, [Honore & brother, Augustin, played by Idris Elba, (the Wire,)] that tells a deeper story, one of the many untold tales, that were the result of the 1994 Rwandan Genocide.

No stranger to comedy, Oris is as comfortable and undeniably capable, with the role of (Leon), the con artist in the dark comedy, A Lousy Ten Grand or guest-star television appearances, as his is with the weight and intensity of the title role in Othello, which he performed on the London stage.

The wide range of roles that he has played have demonstrated his diversity as a performer, as is evidenced by his affinity for and ability with various dialects [American, British, African, European] as well as, his chameleon-like visual transformations, from incarnations such as "Rongar" to his portrayal of "Honore".

Along with his numerous film credits, Oris has appeared in international campaigns for the highest esteemed clients in the world fashion industry, including, Armani, Ferre, Dior and Versace.

Perhaps his most important life accomplishment,... Oris is a proud single-father of a beautiful daughter, 3 years old. On June 16, 2004, Oris was named father of the year by the National Fatherhood Inititive at the "Golden Dad" Awards held in Los Angeles.

The guy is damn cute...I keep saying some women are daaaamn lucky.

Anyone know more stuff about this guy they want to share with the rest of us? Please tell us more about him.

BTW, I met Mrs Somebody yesterday. Incredibly pleasant lady. I don't know what all the talk of loosing weight is all about...she looks damn good. So far I've met two bloggers...Tayoodukoya and Mrs somebody...2 down, many more to go. Tonypayne looking forward to seing you.

Kisses!

Genevieve Nnaji quote

My all time favourite Naija actress. Here's a snippet from an interview she granted recently...enjoy!

What would you say has kept you going all these years?
I'm always happy and relaxed. Nobody can stay happy 24 hours but I'm content with my life. I am content with where God has placed me. I am content with my work. I am comfortable and I thank God for it.

Which range of cosmetics do you use?
Mostly I use Seido products. I also use Seven face wipe.

What do you love eating most?
Chocolates and cakes. That's the biggest problem I have. That is why I punish myself at the gym because I know I can't stop myself from eating what I want. I call it eating your cake and having it.

How much would you say you're worth?
I am rich in the lord. I am a comfortable young woman but I am not too rich, so I don't actually know how much I'm worth.

Is it true that you are the highest paid artiste in Nigeria?
I think that's a speculation. I don't ever talk about my fees.

Did you ever enrol as a student in a tertiary institution in Ghana?
No. I was in Ghana to record my album, I spent less than three weeks there.

Do you have a serious relationship?
No, I don't.

How soon would you like to settle down?
I'm not in a hurry to do that at all. If I were not careful, I would have done that a long time ago. You need to find the right person to settle down with. The source for settling down should not come before the reason for settling down. So if I find the right person, I've found the reason to settle down.

What are the characteristics you are seeking in a dream man?
It has to be somebody who can stand all my wahala because I have alot of it. Though its's not too much for a real man to handle.

Have you heard Omotola's music?
Yes!

How would you rate it?
No comment!

If you were not an actress, what would you have been?
A lawyer. That's why I argue a lot on set. It's in-born.

Which of the hollywood stars would you like to star with in a movie?
Johnny Depp and Angelina Joile.
Sexy, hot, talented Genevieve Nnaji. What do you think of her?

Monday, July 2, 2007

'Eye Of God'

This awesome picture was taken sometime ago by NASA, from the hubble telescope.

They say it's the 'Eye of God'

Whether you believe it or not does not matter...just make a wish as you stare at it...
Did you make a wish? Get your loved ones to come see this picture...it's awesome! And it might just be the 'eye of God'...?

Sunday, July 1, 2007

I'm Back + Naija Entertainment Gists.

I’m soooooo glad to be back…who has missed me? lol. Trust me it wasn’t easy ignoring my laptop for one week…so many times I wanted to blog but there was always something very important to do…

I haven’t done any real blogging in two weeks have I? Two weeks ago I went totally nuts…posting and deleting, posting and deleting…I know I drove some people crazy, surprised a lot too…pardon me abeg, it was emotions…I was just going through something that messed with my spirit…I went crazy and did some things that when I look back now I don’t regret at all… but I’m back to normal again lol…I’m happier than I’ve been in ages…things are just going so well for me right now…

So I’m back to blogging but I don’t know about bigger, bolder and better lol. It’s been crazy busy in the office…when I think about it that was actually the reason I needed some time off…we are presently working on two big projects.

The first is Style Night: A fashion, modeling, music, comedy and dance show.
Date: July 28th
Time: 8pm till dawn
Gate: N1, 000
Venue: Moods Bar, 57, Ogunlana Drive, Surulere, Lagos.
Featuring: 3 designers (+ lingerie), 15 models, 3 musicians (including Rugged man, Spiderman), 3 comedians, 2 dance groups…it will be so much fun.

If you’re a reader of this blog, you get two free tickets to the show. Just call Alfred on 08026013965 and tell him you read about the show on my blog.

The second project is my TV show called Catwalk With Linda.
This show will be like a mini modeling/fashion show/competition on TV. The show will involve a stage, runway, models, judges, and an audience. We are hoping to start shooting in about 2/3 weeks…

I have to make an announcement here….if you’re a girl between 16/25, think you have the potential to be a model, never modeled before, want the opportunity and don’t mind being on TV, then you need to get in touch with us.

Also, we need hairstylists, make up artists, fashion stylists, boutiques to clothe the models and moi, Jewellers, Millinery designers…

If you’re interested in working with us, contact us at:
Blackdove Communications
7a, Adeniyi Adefioye Str., by Ogosco Bus-stop, Ikate, Surulere, Lagos.
Tel: 01-8509898, 08033595004

Casting for potential models for Catwalk with Linda is Thursday and Friday 5th and 6th July 2007. Time 9 am. It’s for guys and girls, At the office.

Also, we are looking for about 70 members of the audience…if you’re interested please call Jackson on 08036429347 so he can book you for our pilot shoot. Apart from all the fun and meeting celebrity judges, there will be souvenirs and gift items from us and our sponsors…it will be so much fun.

That said, let’s check out some Naija entertainment gists

Omotola Jalade Ekeinde acquires N5m Lincoln Navigator Jeep
Sexy actress, singer and mother of four, Omotola Jalade Ekeinde just took delivery of a red Lincoln Navigator jeep which she said has always been her dream car. The way our entertainers are buying jeeps these days is crazy...there's a running joke that you can't differentiate a rich man and an entertainer as most entertainers now cruise around town in exotic cars. The big boys have stopped buying regular jeeps and go for really expensive cars they hope our Naija entertainers can't afford lol.

Nkem Owoh arrested in Holland
Rumour has it that star actor, Nkem owoh was arrested and detained by dutch security operatives on Saturday June 16th 2007 at the Grand Café on South East Amsterdam Holland, where he had gone to perform his popular song, ‘I go chop your dollar’. Everyone at the venue was rough-handled and over 200 people arrested, including the star actor. No official reason was given for the arrest. They’ve all been released though

Kenny St. and Eddy Montana marriage crashes
Gist has it that the once rosy marriage between top gospel artist and sibling to Kenny Ogungbe, Kenny St. Brown, and hip hop singer and former Remedies star, Eddy Montana, has broken down. The two are said to have broken up since March and have lived separately since then with Eddy keeping their daughter and Kenny keeping their son. The whole gist of the break up is really messy and too long so I won’t even go into details…but the whole blame of the break up was placed on Eddy, who they say called off the marriage for reasons best known to him.

Two people I know who got married 2/3 years ago are also getting divorced. I guess marriage ain’t as rosy as some of us think…the best thing is to be patient and prayerful, God will find us the right partner.

Nduka Obaigbena’s event center
Thisday Newsapaper publisher Nduka Obaigbena is set to open an ultra modern event centre located on the popular Lekki/Ajah Expressway. The place has been described as the largest events venue in Africa. The state-of-the-art complex sits on a large expanse of land measuring about 160 by 120 metres. The centre is built on three floors and is made of steel and aluminium cladding. It has a capacity to sit 15, 000 people and 26, 000 standing. It also has a VIP lounge and ample parking lot capable of parking 1, 300 cars comfortably. The official commissioning of the place will coincide with the annual Thisday Music Festival holding July 12. This is one show I hope I won't miss. I love John Legend to bits...I think the gate fee is 10 grand? We'll see...
That's all the entertainment gist I have for now...I'll get you more in a few days...

On a different note, someone came to see me at work some days ago, she thought I was heart broken and wanted to come console me. After spending 30 minutes with me, she said girl you better shut up about being heart broken. You’ve never seen a broken woman before…she said I seem happier than most…when I really think about it, I don’t think I was heart broken, I think I was just hurt and angry but I’ve let all that go…my heart is still intact and ready to love again…I don't have that much time on my hands right now but if it's romance? kissing? Please I have time for that one o lol. So whoever you are, wherever you are…find me! Thought to chip that in…lol.

Meanwhile, there’s this anonymous who has been sending me very hateful comments, whoever you are, get off my blog and go get a life! If you don't like your life...buy a gun and put it to good use. And if you have a job, please use your next salary to check yourself into a psyche ward…you're demented. How can you live with all that anger and hatred inside you?…Sad life!

Ok that was me being mean…pardon yours truly, but the anon just about got on my last nerve…sad people, they disgust me!

To better things, with everything that's happened to me in the last two weeks, I learnt one very important lesson…and that is, nothing happens to us by accident…everything happens for a purpose, the way it was destined to happen…so never look back in regret and never question God why your life isn’t going the way you want it to go…he already knows your future, so he’ll gear your present to fit his future plans for you…Take life as it comes, be thankful for everything you have and never question God.

No matter what it is you’re going through in life right now; remember that the distance between your problems and its solution is the distance between your knees and the floor. Talk to humans only after you’ve talked to God…

Ok, go to go…Muah! That’s me blowing you a kiss…I don’t know who taught me that…Mimi, Toni Payne, I’m a babe, Nyemoni, Naija babe, Catwalq, Wienna? One of you did sha!

There’s just so much I’m thankful for, one of which is knowing I have friends in some of you out there. I know some people are two-faced, but there are some who are sincere. To all you sincere ones who really care, I love you back in the best way anyone can love a stranger. I wish you all the best in every single thing you do.

See y’all tomorrow.

Muah once again! Ciao!

blogger templates | Make Money Online