Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 04/22/2007 - 04/29/2007

Saturday 28 April 2007

ENTERTAINMENT NEWS!

Beyonce sure knows how to sell sex. She's the reason I want to add weight. This here is the front cover of Vibe Mag, due to hit the shelves in June.

David and Victoria Beckham spotting the same 'blonde' hair colour and style. Who looks better in blonde? I'm going for David!

6 '2' Jeffrey Jordan, the son of basketball legend Michael Jordan, wants to follow in his father's footsteps and play basketball. He wants to play at the University of Illinois next year. He's fine!

Us Weekly Magazine recently named Jennifer Lopez Style Icon of the Year. I totally agree. She's a diva personified...whatever that means lol!

Action hero, Steven Seagal now has his own energy drink. That's so cool!

The only thing I didn't like about Beyonce and Shakira's 'Beautiful Liar' apart from the song, is the fact that I couldn't differentiate them in the video. I just couldn't tell who was who...how many of you had that same problem? Apparently, Beyonce herself did. She recently gave an interview where she said...

"For the video, they put us in a room together for about two hours and we just came up with the choreography and played off the fact we look similar. It was really cool because I don't even know who is who sometimes - even I get confused!"

The confusion was because Beyonce looked too white in that video

Oh yes...I heard this lovely vixen below won Nigeria's Top model Competition.

Olabimitan Adegoke
Also, rapper Eve was recently arrested for DUI charges. Didn't know she was under the 'influence'. Sad!
Ok that's it for now. Ciao Ciao!!!

Friday 27 April 2007

RELATIONSHIP QUESTION!

Would you marry someone you do not trust at all?

Share your toughts.

INI EDO BANNED FOR ONE YEAR!

One of Nollywood's top actresses Ini Edo has been banned for one year by the national body of Actors Guild of Nigeria (AGN) for what it termed gross misconduct, indiscipline and outright violation of professional duties.

The ban order was ratified by Mr Ejike Asiegbu, the national president of AGN alongside his executive members and it took effect from April 17, 2007. A press statement signed by Mr Acho Ugoenyi, the national secretary of AGN said Ini Edo is
no longer eligible to participate in movie productions with effect from April 17.

The press release read..."This measure will serve as a deterrent to others. The petition of Mr Emeka Duru (a production manager) at the instance of his producer and director respectively in conjunction with the disciplinary committees report agreed on the ban…. I have been directed to communicate to you, the

one calendar year ban order slammed on you, with effect from April 17, 2007, for gross misconduct, indiscipline and outright violation of professional ethics,".

The release further reminded Edo that the Actors Guild of Nigeria, is committed to the sustenance of discipline, and the enforcement of professional ethics among its members. Meanwhile, to ensure the ban has taken effect, the AGN, also officially informed Movie Producers and Marketers Association, the Association of Movie Producers (AMP), Directors Guild of Nigeria (DGN), Nigerian Society of Cinematographers, (NSC), Nigerian Film and Video Censors Board (NFVCB) and the Lagos State chapter of the Actors Guild of Nigeria (AGN)

Those of you who live in the US, is it possible for a Hollywood actress to be banned for a period of time for whatever reason? Is it done over there? Is this right? Banning actors? This baffles me...

WORLD NEWS.

Russian helicopter crahes...17 dead!
At least 17 people were killed when a Russian-made Mi-8 military transport helicopter crashed in the volatile province of Chechnya. The Russian military prosecutor's office said 14 or 15 paratroopers and three crew members were killed when the helicopter went down. The craft, an Mi-8, was part of a three-helicopter team providing reinforcements to help commandos conducting a special operation in the restive region of Chechnya, near the town of Shatoi.
Authorities are investigating whether the craft was shot down or whether there had been a technical malfunction that caused a crash. The incident happened at 11:53pm.

'Kidnapped' Lebanese found dead
Lebanon's security services staged a nationwide manhuntLebanese police have found the bodies of a Sunni man and a boy in hills south-east of Beirut, three days after they went missing, feared kidnapped.
Ziyad Ghandour, 12, was the son of a member of the pro-government Progressive Socialist Party. Ziyad Qabalan, 25, also belonged to the PSP.

Putin steps up missiles warning
Mr Putin has made a series of comments against missile defenceRussian President Vladimir Putin has warned that US plans to build a missile defence system in eastern Europe would raise the risk of "mutual destruction".
Poland and the Czech Republic are keen to allow the US to site missile bases and radars on their territory.
Mr Putin spoke a day after threatening to halt involvement with a treaty limiting conventional arms in Europe.

Iraq criticises US pull-out vote
The Iraqi government has criticised the US Senate's approval of a bill requiring US troops to leave Iraq.
Ali al-Dabbagh, the main government spokesman, said the decision was "negative" and sent the wrong signals to insurgents. The controversial measure makes $100bn (£50bn) in further funding for the war conditional on a withdrawal timetable.
Meanwhile Democrat candidates for the US presidency urged President George W Bush not to veto the war funds bill.

Taliban take over south Afghan district
Taliban militants have seized control of a district in eastern Afghanistan' after an hours-long clash that killed five people, including the local mayor and his police chief, a senior official said Friday.
The Taliban takeover is an embarrassment to the Afghan government and its foreign backers, and shows how vulnerable remote areas remain despite the presence of some 47,000 U.S. and troops. Militants launched the attack Thursday evening on the Giro district of Ghazni province, setting fire to several buildings and cutting communication lines

Crackdown in Iran over dress codes
Thousands of Iranian women have been cautioned over their poor Islamic dress this week and several hundred arrested in the capital Tehran in the most fierce crackdown on what's known as "bad hijab" for more than a decade. It is the talk of the town. The latest police crackdown on Islamic dress has angered many Iranians - male, female, young and old. But Iranian TV has reported that an opinion poll conducted in Tehran found 86% of people were in favour of the crackdown - a statistic that is surprising given the strength of feeling against this move. Police cars are stationed outside major shopping centres in Tehran. They are stopping pedestrians and even cars - warning female drivers not to show any hair - and impounding the vehicles and arresting the women if they argue back.

BEST MOISTURISERS IN THE MARKET.

The Body Shop Body Butter

Bath & Body Works Body Cream

Neutrogena Sesame Body Oil

Curel Therapeutic Moisturising Lotion

Nivea Skin Firming Lotion with Q10

Aveeno Lotion

The Avon Skin So Soft

St. Ives Instant Relief Collagen Elastin Formula Lotion

Bath & Body Works Purely Silk Body Lotion

The Body Shop Nut Body Butter

Ladies give us some more names of good moisturisers. Aren't Mary Kay moisturisers good? That's what I'm using at the moment. What others can you recommend?

MIKE EZURONYE QUOTE!

This here is Nigeria's 2007 best actor. His name is Mike Ezuronye.

Hear him...

Family background
"I am the eldest son with four siblings. My father was a successful industrialist and disciplinarian. For my secondary education, I went to Federal Government College Wukari, in the former Gongola State, now Taraba State and Later, Archbishop Aggey Memorial Secondary School, Lagos State. For my University education I attended Federal Polytechnic Oko, Anambra State and Nnamdi Azikiwe University where I bagged a degree in Accounting.

How he got into the movie industry
"I met Ruke Amata at a fuel station in 2003 and he encouraged me to go into acting. I simply told him I had no time because at this time I was busy with my computer accessories business. We eventually produced a TV series which did not see the light of day. Later I met Dickson Iroegbu who starred me in the movie entitled 'Mayors 1'. Few weeks later I was called by Emem Isong who starred me in 'Critical Decision' which brought me to limelight"
On not being in a serious relationship
"I am anticipating better things to come in the nearest future which includes settling down. But I don't have any serious relationship with any woman at the moment. The best that has happened is that ladies love me and I reciprocate the gesture. I see marriage as a serious institution so I am not ready to make mistakes"
How many people like this guy or his acting?

SET'S DILEMMA

Hi guys, I am a passionate person. I like people in general and the ones I love and call loved ones and care about, I really do care and am protective of them. I am almost always brought to tears every time I see poverty in Africa on TV. I watched America Idols, 'Idol gives back' last night and I am still surprised, hurt and broken everytime I see poverty in Africa.

I have seen this stuff first hand, I am African, but fortunate one. I am still blown away man. I am hurt by it, I am kinda helpless and it hurts. I gave back and have been working with an Orphanage for about 8 yrs now in Liberia. I have done other work with other the less fortunate cases, but it is not enough, for I don't have a lot to give.

We all can give back in our simpliest ways and make a big difference in our community and Africa, but we don't. We could start with one person, pay an unfortunate child's school fees, Help a sick people in need of Malaria (# 1 killer in all of Africa) treatment at your local clinics.

There is always someone almost at death due to no money for treatment. Do this a few times a year, buy Mosquito nets, you will be surprised how much this will do. And the thing is that they are cheap ass treatments too. I am going to do something about this in my own way I will try, in God I will. You too guys can, it will make you a better person inside and out.

Ok, I am mad and have vented, So the question is: What will you do if your best friend, your sister or brother was about to date someone you have reservations/concerns about? Would you tell them your concerns before they start dating or wait until things goes wrong before you say what your reservations/concerns are?

Thanks Guys.

Sebah Tubman

Sebah Tubman needs needs your advice on this matter. Kindly share your thoughts with her.

Thursday 26 April 2007

ARMED ROBBERY ON EKO BRIDGE

At about 8pm tonight, I was heading home to Surulere from a fashion show rehearsal I had on the Island. Usually when I have to go to the Island (Victoria and Ikoyi), I don't go with my car, 'cos most times I leave late and I'm not very comfortable driving by myself at night, so I usually take a cab.

But today a colleague was going with me and the plan had been that we'll come back to Surulere together when we were through. But midway into the rehearsal, my dear friend disappeared. When I called him, he gave some flimsy excuse of why he had to leave early, but thankfully for me, there were two models who were headed my way. So at about 7:45, we got in my car to get back to Surulere.

Usually when I'm driving at night, I don't turn on the radio, the music kinda distracts me, but this night one of the models insisted on listening to music, so I had no choice but to turn on the radio. Just less than two minutes of tuning to Rhythm 93.7, an announcement came warning road users to avoid Eko Bridge, because there was an armed robbery operation going on in a traffic jam on the bridge. They also called on the police to go over there and help out.

By now I was just leaving kingsway Road Ikoyi heading towards the bridge. To say my heart almost stopped is an understatement. I was shaking like fish that couldn't breath. I had to stop the car to catch my breath. Eventually when I found strenght, I managed to reverse the car and head back towards Ikoyi. I stopped at the first eatery I found and parked.

I had no plans of crossing that bridge tonight, I couldn't drive across it even if I tried. The fact that a robbery had taken place there made it impossible for me to even consider going home this night. One of the girls suggested calling a friend who was in the army to come escort us, I looked at her and said even if King Leonidas and the 300 soldiers offered to escort us, nothing would make me cross that bridge tonight. My whole being had been affected by what I'd heard on the radio. Me and armed robbers don't understand each other in anyway.

I'd had an encounter with armed robbers in 2002 when Usher was here for a concert. I'd gone to see him with a friend and my younger sister. Four armed robbers attacked my car, took all three phones, messed my spirit up...that's a story for another day.

Anyway, I decided to go stay over at a friend's place on the Island. The two girls braved it and took a cab home at around 10:00 tonight. It's about eleven, I'm still waiting to hear they got home safely.

How armed robbers will have the guts to rob vehicles in a traffic jam is beyond me. Do you know how many cars they'll have to rob? Traffic in Lagos is crazy. How many robbers could there have been? And where were the police? I later heard Rhythm had been making the announcement since 7:50, I heard it at about 8:07pm.

I don't know what happened on that bridge tonight. Hopefully no one was hurt.

But its sad that we are not safe on our Lagos roads. Really sad!

NAIJA GOSSIP!

Wienna, Jade, Angel and co, una won put me for wahala again abi? Ok..o! This is more Naija gossip for y'all.

Please remember, gossip is exactly what it is, gossip! Don't believe everything you read!

So here goes...

Peter set to marry Lola Omotayo

I no no if this won na true o, but I dey hear say P.Square Peter Okoye is set to marry his beautiful sweetheart Lola Omotayo. They say they have done family introduction already and if things work out between them, they might be tying the knots by December 2007. They met sometime last year. Lola is a manager at events company FKG2 in GRA, Lagos. I hope this happens for both of them. They are so cute together.

Anita Uwagbale delivers baby boy

Edo-born ex-Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria, Anita Uwagbale was recently delivered of a baby boy in the USA. And yes, she's married. When? Don't ask me o! lol. But I read that her hubby is an Edo big boy based in the US called Tom who is in his forties and very wealthy. Congrats to the young mother.

Patience Ozokwor delves into music

Patience Ozokwor aka Mama Gee is joining the music scene. Her type of music is said to be strictly gospel. Can't wait to hear what she'll sound like. What is this trend with actors becoming singers? Nkem Owoh, Saint Obi, Dakore, Genevieve, Omotola are just some prominent home video figures who have tried their hands in music albeit unsuccessfully. Let's keep our fingers crossed with patient's effort which will be released soon.

Dare Art Alade relocates to Abuja

I am hearing gists that newly married Dare has relocated to Abuja full time to start family life with his new bride Deola Ayeni who has a multi-million naira furniture business and contract deal over there. They said he might be stepping out of the music scene for a while to pursue contracts as initiated by his wife who has already started introducing him to those that matter in Abuja. All I'll say here is that I hope Dare married for love. Any other reason besides love is not good enough for marriage.

Sylvia Edem pregnant

Beautiful ex-Miss Nigeria, Sylvia Edem Emechete is expecting her first baby with hubby of one year, Chris Emechete, in July. I read that they recently celebrated their first wedding anniversary some days ago. They got married April 15th 2006 in Lagos, and Sylvia got a Mercedes Benz S-Class with personalised plate number E1 SYL as a surprise wedding anniversary present from hubby. I hear the hubby is super rich with investments in Dubai, UK and the USA. They say he drives a brand new Infiniti QX56, a Ferrari F430, and a Range Rover Vogue. This girl marry husband abeg! I also read that they live in a five bedroom mansion in Surrey in London and they jet-set to various countries around the world. Sylvia is a director in her hubby's aviation company. The koko of this gist is that our former Miss Nigeria will soon join mother's club. She's living the life she's always dreamt of. I'm happy for her!

Oluchi pregnant

There's also this rumour that Oluchi Luca Luca is heavily pregnant. If what they are saying is to be believed, then Oluchi is almost ready to pop the little one. Those of you who live in Yankee...na true? I'm not sure about this gist o. Anyone who knows for sure should let us all know abeg.

Rita Dominic looses dad

This one you can believe. Fair skinned, talented Nollywood top actress has lost her father Chief Dr Waturaocha to stroke. They said he died April 16th 2007 in a London hospital. He was in his 70's. Rita had lost her mum five years, so now Rita can be officially referred to as a orphan. May his soul rest in peace. Amen!

Nkem Owoh moves family to the US

Ace comedian cum actor Nkem Owoh popularly known as Osuafia is rumoured to have moved his wife and children to the USA. I don't know if this one na true, but those of you in America should keep watch. If una see am there, let us know.

That is the end of my gossip. If you want more, bombard me with comments! Kisses!!!

Wednesday 25 April 2007

RELATIONSHIP QUESTION.

If you want to end a relationship with a long-time partner, how do you do it? What do you say without hurting their feelings?

Send me your thoughts!

ENTERTAINMENT GISTS!

Ash and Bachchan exchanging vows on their wedding day last Friday April 2oth. So glad Ash finally found 'The one'. I'd been rooting for her and Salma Khan. They were such a lovely couple. Oh well...moving on...

The queen of pop today April 24th celebrated her 25 years in Music. It was exactly on April 24, 1982, that Sire Records CEO Seymour Stein released a single called "EVERYBODY" by an unknown Madonna. Since then she's gone on to sell close to 200 million records and remaining a star of enormous magnitude and influence for the last 25 years. Happy Anniversary to Madonna.

Eddie's baby's been born and named. Mel B named her Angel Iris Murphy Brown. Is Eddie still insisting on a DNA test?

Alec Baldwin has been having it tough ever since he dropped that 'message' on his daughter's voicemail. Cartoons are now being drawn, the voice message is being used as ring tone. This guy will 'hear am' for a long to come

Who thinks the third part of Spider Man will be a box office hit like the first two?

Hip-hop mogul Russell Simmons has called for the ban of "b***h", "ho" and"n****r" from all rap songs. He says the derogatory terms should be considered "extreme curse words" and excluded from all 'clean' versions.

He has now called for a lyrical standardization throughout the broadcasting industry to clearly define which words should be cut.

I'm in total support of this. Some of the words rappers use nowadays, especially when referring to the ladies, is degrading. I hope Russell is able to ban those words. Who joins me in supporting Russell?

HOW TO...ADD YEARS TO YOUR LIFE.

Find a life partner

A 2004 study at Rockefeller University in New York suggested that the stress of divorce could accelerate the ageing of white blood cells. On the other hand, life-long happiness really does what it says on the tin. Experts believe that long-term loving relationships can keep you as much as 7.5 years younger.

Go to the beach more often.

There's something about nature and life extention. Studies have shown that just 30 minutes of bright light per day for five days is enough to banish depression in people's lives.

Get a dog

Scientists have always sworn that dogs lower your risk of heart attacks and strokes. Studies have shown that dog-owners tend to have lower blood pressure and cholesterol than people without. Dogs are more effective than other pets because they force owners to take a daily walk.

Move to another country

If you think the standard of living of the country you live in stinks, move to a better country. And if you really want to prolong your life, try living in Andorra - it tops the world's lifespan table with an average age of 83.

Sports/Exercise

The added benefits of regular exercise, keeping muscles and joints supple and strengthening heart and lung function will also keep you ticking along nicely.

Laugh more often

Humour can help us lead happier and longer lives, according to a 2006 study at the Norwegian University of Science. They've proved that people with a sense of humour are 30% more likely to survive when killer diseases strike. Laughter produces more protective hormones, regulates blood pressure, decreases the effects of stress and boosts the immune system.

Go to church more often.

Visit your doctor more often

Prevention is better than cure - don't ignore warning signs until they turn into flashing blue and white emergency lights. Nip treatable illnesses like diabetes, depression, kideny problems etc by visiting your doctor.

To me, finding a life partner is the best way to live long. The right life-partner I mean. A wrong life-partner is the quickest way to an early grave.lol