Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 04/28/2013 - 05/05/2013

Saturday 4 May 2013

Ex-Super Eagles star Chidi Odiah denies being a taxi driver in the US

Former Super Eagles defender, Chidi Odiah, 30, has released a statement denying recent reports that he now drives taxis in the US to survive after being let go by his Russian club, Cska Moscow. See his statement below... 
My attention has being drawn to the slandering news going round the online media that I was spotted driving a Taxi somewhere in the United States of America.

I am taking this rebuttal path due to the hurt that story has caused my friends and family members. With due respect to taxi drivers who means of livelihood are through that means, I state, emphatically, that I am not a taxi driver neither am I in the United States of America . I am a professional footballer who loves my profession and yet to resign from playing football.

Chidi Odiah

Tiwa Savage announces album release date

Great stuff!

Football legend, Jay-Jay Okocha, joins twitter

This is the real Jay Jay Okocha. All other accounts are fake!

Femi Brainard weds Top Radio presenter, Uche Nwokocha

Actor Femi Brainard and Top Radio presenter Uche Nwokocha got married today May 4 at Imperial Event Centre, Alausa, Ikeja. Big congrats to them!

Photos: Comedian Elenu weds Chinwe Anyanwu

Akinlami Babatunde Julius, popularly known as Elenu, married his longtime girlfriend Chinwe Anyanwu in a traditional wedding that held today May 4th at the brides home in Owerri, Imo State. Congrats to them.

Banky W at the Oxford University Pan-African Conference in London

Banky was invited to speak at the 2013 Oxford University Pan-African Conference taking place today in London. Looking dapper!

Check out Toolz outfit to the X--Factor auditions in Kumasi

The bootylicious OAP is the host of X-Factor Africa and they are currently in Kumasi, Ghana, for auditions.

Exclusive: Mike Adenuga walks out on Glo staff at birthday bash

This happened last night Friday May 3rd at Mike Adenuga Tower on Adeola Odeku street in Victoria Island. Hundreds of staff of telecoms giant Globacom gathered at the lounge situated on the ground floor of the office building to celebrate with their chairman after a text message was passed round the office on Thursday afternoon inviting staff to a birthday bash with him. Mike Adenuga turned 60 on Monday April 29th.

Okey Bakassi was there as the MC, the DJ was already playing music, drinks passed round while people waited for the billionaire businessman to arrive. Mike Adenuga eventually showed up in his Range Rover bullet proof SUV around 8pm. He graciously greeted people at the entrance of the lounge but stopped in his tracks as people started cheering loudly as he entered the lounge.

The haling was so loud and probably too much for Adenuga that he immediately turned around and left the lounge. He got into his car and left with his security detail. He never came back.

Glo staff waited for a few hours and eventually left when they realized their chairman was not coming back. Lesson learnt: Mike Adenuga doesn't appreciate unnecessary famzing! :-)

Mountain Dew drops Lil Wayne over Emmett Till lyric in rap song

A few days after Lil Wayne refused to properly apologize to the family of civil rights icon, Emmett Till (Google who ET was) for using his name to describe rough sex in a rap lyric, Mountain Dew has dropped him as one of their spokesperson.

The family of Emmett Till asked Lil Wayne for a public apology back in February after the remix for Future's Karate Chop leaked online containing the lyric, "I'mma beat the p***y up like Emmett Till"

Lil Wayne ignored Till's family until earlier this week when they threatened to put pressure on Mountain Dew and Weezy's other sponsors to drop him.

Lil Wayne wrote an open letter to the family but it obviously wasn't enough as Mountain Dew's parent company PepsiCo just released a statement saying; “We do not plan any additional work with Lil Wayne moving forward. His offensive reference to a revered civil rights icon does not reflect the values of our brand” and cut all ties with the rapper.

Read Till family's letter and Lil Wayne's non-apology letter after the cut...

Photos: Solidstar Acquires 2013 Infiniti JX35 SUV for N7million

Joshua Iniyezo, popularly known as Solidstar yesterday May 3rd acquired the 2013 Infiniti JX35 for N7million. The singer who is known for his Omotena and One in a Million hit singles got himself two plots of land worth over N30m in the Festac area of Lagos a few months back. I see he's balling!

Meanwhile, how can a 2013 Infiniti JX35 cost N7m and 2011 Infiniti FX35 cost N8m? Am I missing something here? J and F are different? Just asking! :-). See more photos after the cut...

Burna Boy signs Glo deal as an ambassador

Burna Boy yesterday May 3rd signed on as a Glo ambassador. Heard he replaced Wande Coal who had been negotiated and agreed with but was later dropped before signing any documents with the telecoms giant. All Glo ambassadors are getting between N10m to N25m per year and most of them are signing for two years. Congrats to Burna Boy.

Video: Mercy Johnson's Child Dedication

Mercy Johnson and her husband dedicated their baby girl, Purity Ozioma Okojie last Sunday April 28

Dark Skin Discolouration (Hyperpigmentation) by LaserDerm Clinics

The colour of ones skin is mainly due to the amount of brown pigment melanin. This is produced within the skin in cells called melanocytes. The amount of melanin is determined by constitutional colour (white, brown or black skin) and the result of exposure to ultraviolet radiation (e.g Sun). 

Hyperpigmentation (dark patches) is a common, usually harmless condition in which patches of skin become darker in color than the normal surrounding skin. This darkening occurs when an excess of melanin, the brown pigment that produces normal skin colour, forms deposits in the skin. 

Friday 3 May 2013

Solomon Akiyesi's first wife, Ezinne, finally speaks

Ezinne is Solomon Akiyesi's first wife and hasn't said anything since this messy drama started on Saturday April 13th when the actor's second wife, Lilian Akiyesi, disrupted his wedding to another woman in Lagos. Ezinne is finally responding after Solomon released his own side of the story, calling Ezinne a liar and a womb-less woman who destroyed her womb by having an abortion in the early 90's. Find Ezinne's interview below...
Ezinne why have you decided to respond to your estranged husband Solomon?
It grieves my heart to actually give a mental man publicity. However in our culture we believe in responding to accusations or else you will be deemed guilty. Contrary to what our "jury" thinks, I did not want to have any part in this whole messy saga. The publishing of my wedding photos was done by a few of my concerned friends who are involved and felt that wife # 2 had no business crying wolf when she succeeded in snatching a man from a quiet,well mannered woman that I am.
Plenty more when you continue...

Photos: Harrysong caught kissing Nollywood actress Uche Obodo

The singer and the actress were spotted locking lips in public. New couple alert? See another photo after the cut...

Make-up artist and beauty therapist, Lola Maja, welcomes baby girl

Foremost make-up artist, beauty therapist, eyebrow and eyelash specialist and CEO of Sacred Lashes, Lola Maja Okojevoh welcomed a baby girl today in a UK hospital. The new bundle of joy has been named Tallulah Okojevoh. Lola and her husband already have a son who is almost two years old. Big congrats to them.

Photo of the day: Desmond Elliot and his lovely family

A photo shoot they did for Genevieve Magazine. Lovely family!

Which of the One Direction band member do you think might be gay?

From left: Louis Tomlinson, Zayn Malik, Niall Horan, Harry Styles, and Liam Payne.
Lance Bass was a member of popular boy-band N'Sync and hid his homosexuality for years until the band disbanded. He knew coming out as gay would ruin N'Sync's success because of their massive female fans so he kept his secret to himself and never even told his band mates.

Lance feels the same thing is happening with English-Irish pop boy band, One Direction. He thinks at least one of them is gay. Looking at the pic above which of them do you think might be gay?

Actress Chika Ike heads to Abuja High Court for her divorce

After over two years of separation, actress Chika Ike has finally filed for divorce from the husband she married in 2006, Tony Eberiri. The actress filed for divorce in an Abuja High Court today citing irreconcilable differences. Chika also mentioned domestic abuse as part of the reason for filing for divorce but said she didn't want to go into details.

According to a source present at the hearing today, Chika will get final verdict from the court next month. Meaning she will be getting her divorce as early as June 2013. See another photo after the cut

Tonto Dikeh gets sexy and glam for Glitz magazine

She's on the cover of the current issue of Glitz magazine. See more photos after the cut...

JAMB releases 2013 UTME results

The Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) has released the 2013 Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME) results. The board, however, withheld 12,110 results for possible disciplinary action.

The Registrar of JAMB, Prof. Dibu Ojerinde, announced this at a news conference on the release of the results in Bwari, FCT, today Friday May 3rd.

The registrar said after thorough processing of answer scripts of the candidates who sat for the examination, the board discovered some forms of malpractice perpetuated during the conduct of the examination.

Former petroleum minister, Alhaji Shettima Ali Monguno, kidnapped

Elder statesman and former Petroleum Minister, Alhaji Shettima Ali Monguno has been kidnapped. The 87 year old politician was kidnapped by unknown gunmen in Maiduguri, Borno State this afternoon as he made his way home after leaving a local mosque where he went for prayers.

Stella Damasus' twitter account hacked. See what the hackers wrote

Lol. Some people don't have work sha! Daniel Adenimokan is fine. According to Stella's publicist, her Twitter account was hacked and they are trying to retrieve it.

D'banj goes down low. Article written by James Silas

Here's an article I read and found interesting. Written by publicist and entertainment business consultant, James Silas. Read the article below and share your thoughts afterwards.
D'banj Goes Down Low - By James Silas
Two years ago, it would have been almost impossible for D’Banj to do a collaboration with an Olamide even if the latter had attained this much attention with his music, but today D’Banj is struggling for another hit since “Oliver Twist”.
Once upon a time (October 14, 2010), I tweeted “Partnerships can hardly work, not unless you’re a duo like Don Jazzy and D’Banj”… this tweet was “favourited” by Don Jazzy. Then two years later (2012), the statement returned to me – void!

Video: Mariah Carey clowns Nicki Minaj on AI. Nicki fires back!

Wednesday night on American Idol, Nicki Minaj was dismissed by Mariah Carey after Nicki tried to interrupt Mariah's critique of a contestant. Mariah cut Nicki off quick saying, 
"Again, back to the Billboard HOT 100 No. 1 song - which you just performed - which is difficult to get - not everybody has that - to their credit -  it's difficult to get."
Obviously clowning Nicki Minaj over her lack of No. 1 hits. Mariah Carey has 18 of them. More than any other artist and second only to The Beatles overall. Oh, but Nicki fired back. Hehe. Continue...

D'banj's brother K-Switch set to launch his own record label

Sister Caro crooner K-Switch is getting ready to launch his own record label called Products Republic, which he says means a republic for anybody who thinks he/she is a product. The record label will be under D'banj's DB Records and will be launched with K-Switch's Scam 101 mix-tape in June.

"I‘ll contest presidential election again in 2015" - Buhari says

General Muhammadu Buhari has said he plans to contest in the 2015 presidential election under the platform of All Progressive Congress, APC. The former Head of State, who contested in 2011 and lost, said he will only step down if a better candidate emerges under APC. Buhari said:
“Whoever said he wants to contest has a chance. Let him come out because the more we are, the merrier. But I will be ready to step down if there is a formidable and better candidate. It is not about me but for the survival of the party. APC is about ensuring internal democracy. Whoever emerges is the person I will support. Yes I will be ready to step down”.

Hilarious video: How much do you know about Africa/Nigeria?

This video is old but still shockingly funny and unbelievable! Lol. Some Nigerians in the US were asked questions about Africa and Nigeria, just to see how much they know their continent/country ...and the answers they gave...hilarious! Watch! Oh, and watch Oyibo people tell you how much they think they know about Africa after the cut...

Two brothers and a pregnant woman shot dead in Surulere last night

About a week after a DJ was gunned down on Bank Olemoh street in Surulere, (If you missed it, read it HERE) yet another gang related killing has occurred in the Shitta/Akerele area of Surulere.

Two brothers (pictured above) were shot dead around 8pm last night as they hung out with friends at a bar not to far from Shitta Primary School near Ogunmola street. A pregnant woman was unfortunately hit by a stray bullet during the attack. She was pronounced dead at the hospital she was rushed to. The dead brothers, (The one in white is Mufu) were not older than 25. Policemen were called to the area last night but no arrest has so far been made. Will bring an update on this story later.

The search gets hotter in Sterling Bank Spirited Actor reality show

‘Pose for a picture, ‘cos your star has just risen! Here, have your gold star.’ These are the words hundreds of young Nigerians strove to hear as they mounted the podium before judges for a one-minute shot at stardom at the Sterling Bank sponsored Spirited Actor Auditions held recently. Continue...

New Music: Dr Sid - Lady Don Dada feat Don Jazzy

Nice music. Listen to it below...

Happy 34th birthday to Ms Nnaji

The superstar actress is a year older today, May 3rd, 2013. Happy birthday to her and many more successful years ahead!

Thursday 2 May 2013

AY Comedian and Omawumi cover May issue of Redsheet Magazine

Lovely!

Photos from Divas Rock Concert with Salt N Pepa

The show took place yesterday. See more photos after the cut...

Oprah Winfrey and Tyler Perry cover June issue of Essense magazine

Two of my favorite people in the world cover the June issue of Essence magazine. Oprah inspires me so much...a self-made CEO worth almost $3billion and possibly the most influential woman in the world...and Tyler....well, Tyler inspires other parts of me. Lol. *Kidding* He inspires me too. He went from being homeless to being one of the highest paid entertainment moguls in the US.

Tyler Perry recently struck a deal with Oprah to give her OWN network the exclusive rights to every original TV show written, directed and produced by him.

Legend set to take 25 consumers to Dubai in season 2 of Real Deal Promo

Legend Extra Stout, the fastest growing stout brand from the stable of foremost brewer, Nigerian Breweries Plc, has launched the second edition of the Real Deal National Consumer Promotion.

The brand is however set to capitalise on the success of the first edition, held in 2012. Just like the inaugural edition, thousands of lucky consumers will be rewarded via a Lucky-Bottle-Top-Offer. To win, consumers will simply buy a 60cl 0r 33 cl bottle of Legend Extra Stout, look under the crown cork and win whatever prize found printed under the crown cork.

Toke Makinwa releases photos to launch her Vlog series

Love the dress below. Stunning! Photo by Yomi Black.