Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 03/31/2013 - 04/07/2013

Saturday 6 April 2013

Agbon Igbinedion weds

The Abuja based son of the Esama of Benin married his sweetheart, Kachi, today in Owerri, Imo State. The white wedding will take place in S.A. Congrats to them.

Famous Evangelist Rick Warren's Son Commits Suicide

The youngest son of Saddleback Valley Community Church pastor Rick Warren has committed suicide after a long battle with mental illness. Rick Warren, the head pastor of the 8th largest church in the U.S made the announcement today Saturday April 6th at his church in Lake Forest, CA.

Rick Warren told members of his congregation that his son took his own life Friday night after battling with mental illness for years which resulted in deep depression and suicidal thoughts. Matthew Warren (pictured right) was 27.

Rick is the author of numerous Christian books, including "The Purpose Driven Life," which has sold over 30 million copies worldwide. 

Why I sleep in a Coffin - Charlyboy

Sleeping in a Coffin? 
Point of correction, I do not sleep in a casket, I sleep on my bed, it's big and comfy, I only lay in my "casket"when I do my meditation because it helps me to be focused, it tells me more about the imminence of death. My casket is a reminder. It wakes me up from slumber. It tells me, "guy, you have got little or no time left, wake up, be creative and work”. Continue...

Photos: 3 Nigerian men caught with box of fake dollars in Lagos

The police at Special Anti-Robbery Squad, SARS, Ikeja, Lagos have arrested three suspected  fraudsters who dupe unsuspecting members of the public using fake dollars and a fake Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN, certificate.

The suspects, Olasende Akinsiku, 40, Abiodun Akiniyi, 35, and Tajudeen Lasisi, 40, (pictured above) were arrested following a complaint by a retired Major General to Abba Kyari, the officer in charge of SARS, that he was swindled by the arrested suspects.

Battabox video: How to get a big bum like Beyonce in Nigeria

Ekiti State deputy governor, Funmilayo Olayinka, dies of cancer at 52

The Deputy Governor of Ekiti State, Mrs Funmilayo Olayinka, has died of cancer. The 52 year old banker turned politician lost her battle with cancer today in Lagos. She's survived by her husband and three kids. May her soul rest in peace...Amen.

Photos: 2face and Annie Idibia return from their honeymoon

2face and Annie arrived Nigeria late last night after spending over two weeks in Dubai for their wedding and honeymoon. 2face shared the photos on his website. See more photos after the cut...

Photo: Kim Kardashian finally shows her naked baby bump

She shared the photo on her instagram page this afternoon. Proof that she is indeed pregnant! MTO, you can now stop! :-)

Beauty of the day: Sandra Iwu

Sandra is former most beautiful girl in LASU (Lagos State University) 2006 and Miss Galaxy Nigeria 2007/2008. The stunning top model is also the CEO of SIM Models Nigeria...

Wizkid spotted with EME crew

I told y'all Wizkid will soon return to EME, right? Well, I don't know if they've finally settled their differences but Wizkid has finally been seen with some members of EME for the first time since parting ways with the label a few months back. He's currently in Cotonou, Benin Republic with his official DJ, DJ Exclusive and Shaydee for a show..

New Music: Burna Boy - Always Love You

New music from Burna Boy...listen to it below and tell us what you think..

Knorr Taste Quest winner emerges on Sunday

This Sunday, April 7, will see the top three finalists of the Knorr Taste Quest battle to see who will emerge as the winner of the competition. The last episode saw Gregory Owie evicted, leaving ifeyinwa Mogekwu, Lalu Surdiham and Patricia Allison as the top three contestants on the show.

For the semi final task, the contestants were given a range of vegetarian and meat ingredients which included; Shaki, Bran flakes, Digestive biscuits, Chicken sausage, Vegetarian sausage, Ugwu, and Broccoli to make 8 taster meals or appetizers.

Friday 5 April 2013

Photos from Nse Ikpe Etim and Clifford Sule's traditional wedding

Actress Nse Ikpe Etim and Clifford Sule's traditional wedding held yesterday Thursday April 4th 
 at St. Stephen Primary School, Ikot Etobon, Akwa Ibom State. Big congrats to them. See more photos after the cut...

Ray J releases new single 'I Hit It First'. Who did he hit 1st, Kim? Lol

This man can look for trouble sha. Lol. You better not let Kanye catch you. Kim K's sex partner just released the official cover for his new single titled 'I Hit It First'. The title of that song def has a reference to Kim K but except Kim was a virgin when you two got together...then you didn't 'hit it' first. Sorry boo! Also, Ray J used a pixelated photo of Kim as the artwork. Lol. #Dramathingz! See the lyrics after the cut...

Mr and Mrs Idibia after the wedding

They are still honeymooning in Dubai...

Halle Berry expecting baby number 2 at 46

According to TMZ, Halle Berry and her fiance Olivier Martinez are expecting their first child together. Below is how TMZ is reporting it...
Halle Berry is pregnant with her second child ... TMZ has learned.
Sources connected with the actress and her fiance, Olivier Martinez, tell TMZ ... Halle is 3 months pregnant.What's more ... they know the sex. It's a boy.
It's definitely worth noting ... Halle is 46, and Olivier is 47.
Congrats to them...

Over 100 people burnt to death in accident on Benin-Ore Expressway

That's a photo from the scene sent to me by a LIB reader. The accident occurred this afternoon at Igbogui village in Benin and involved three heavy duty vehicles; a Young Shall Grow Motors luxury bus, a fuel tanker with registration number GA 71 XA, and a Dangote truck carrying cement.

Over 100 people were burnt to death when the fuel tanker exploded following the accident. The fire spread to surrounding shops and burnt several cars packed nearby. Survivors have been rushed to the hospital while rescue efforts by the Federal Road Safety Corps & Civil Defence Corps continues.

Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala meets Oprah Winfrey

Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala photographed with Oprah Winfrey and Dr Tererai Trent at the 4th annual 'Women In The World' summit which took place at the Lincoln Center in New York yesterday.

At last! Wesley Snipes released from prison

After spending more than two years in Federal prison for tax evasion (he reported to prison on December 9, 2010), actor Wesley Snipes has been released. According to TMZ, Wesley was released from prison on April 2 and will remain on house arrest until July 19. Great news!

Photo of the day

Scene from a Naija movie. Hehe! That's actor Jerry Amilo leading the pack...and Yul Edochie in the middle...don't know the others. Nollywood, ghen ghen! :-)

Mike Adenuga buys brand new 2013 Range Rover & Toyota Camry for Stephen Keshi

Globacom chairman and Nigeria's second richest man, chief Mike Adenuga bought a brand new 2013 Range Rover and the latest Toyota Camry for Super Eagles coach, Stephen Keshi. The cars will be presented to Keshi on Monday April 8th at Globacom office in Victoria Island.

Aside from the cars, Stephen Keshi will also get a house in Abuja, Glo ambassadorship, $200, 000 cash and his salary for the next 2 years from Mike Adenuga. All this is for winning the 2013 Orange African Cup of Nations.

Good for him! Oh, and BTW, his son Paddy is still single. You Lagos girls can like to slack sha! Lol

Michelle Obama mistakenly describes herself as a 'busy single mum'

US First Lady, Michelle Obama raised eyebrows with her brief slip of the tongue yesterday Thursday April 4th when she described herself as a 'busy single mum' during an interview with a Vermont CBS station.

She caught her mistake immediately and explained: "You know, when you've got the husband who's president, it can feel a little single, but he's there,". She then described herself as 'busy working mom."

The First Lady was answering questions about the difficulties that working parents can have when they try to balance their office lives with their home lives. "Before coming to the White House, I was in that position," she confessed. "Working, driving kids to practice, not having enough time to shop or cook, not having the energy." You can watch the video HERE

Baileys Thrills Easter Shoppers

This Easter in Lagos, Abuja, Port-Harcourt and Enugu, shoppers were invited by the world’s number one cream liqueur, Baileys to indulge themselves by experiencing its unique creamy taste in supermarkets and malls like Spar, Addide, Park n Shop, Oasis, De Prince Supermarket, Grocery Bazaar and Justrite all across the country. 

Some lucky shoppers in the Baileys lounge at Ikeja Mall and Park n Shop outlet in Victoria Island were rewarded with N1, 000 gift vouchers. Shoppers at the Baileys lounge at Ikeja mall were also rewarded with Baileys Cold Stone Ice cream. See more after the cut...

32 people, including 22 Nigerians arrested for multi-million credit card fraud in the US

Nigerians o, choi! 32 people, including 22 Nigerians have been arrested in a multimillion, multi-state identity theft and credit card fraud ring. See the report from www.nj.com below...
The Hudson County Prosecutor's Office first got involved in the investigation in the early fall of 2012, when they received numerous complaints from victims as far away as California claiming that credit cards in their name made fraudulent retail purchases in Hudson County, officials said yesterday.
Using store video and physical surveillance, the detectives were able to identify several suspects, authorities state. Detectives then linked those suspects to hundreds of other accounts and millions of dollars in phony transactions.
Please continue...

Wizkid didn't buy a Rolls Royce...:-)

He showed off the RR car keys on his instagram page yesterday making some of us wonder if he just acquired the car...but I've been able to confirm that Wizkid didn't buy a Rolls Royce. The car belongs to Wizkid and Tiwa Savage's Pepsi agent, Mr Paul O. The car was used to covey them to UNILAG yesterday for the first leg of their Pepsi tour...#thereyouhaveit! :-)

Dear LIB readers: I'm dating three women, help me pick one to marry

From a male LIB reader
My fellow readers I'm in a dilemma and I need your help. I'm currently dating three ladies; one I've been dating since 2007, we have a child together and she's a really good woman but I'm beginning to find her boring. She acts more like my mother than my girlfriend. The second one I've been dating since 2010. I met her when my first girlfriend and I were taking a break after our child was born. After we got back together, my relationship with the second lady continued. She's from a rich home and spoils me silly but I find her too controlling and too jealous. The third girl I met via Facebook just last year. She lives in Canada and wants me to join her there. I love these women differently and I was going to play around for a few more years but they are all now insisting on marriage. The problem is I don't know which one to propose to. Should I pick the woman who has been with me the longest and has a child for me, or the lady who has a lot of money and can give me an easy life or the one in Canada who doesn't give me drama like the other two? Help me, please.!

Omawumi in Concert: buy tickets directly from her this Saturday

This Saturday the 6th of April, as a special treat to her fans ahead of her upcoming concert; Lasso of Truth, Omawumi will be selling tickets to her concert at the Naija Ticket Shop outlet located at Silverbird Cinema in Ikeja City Mall from 12pm till 1pm. 

This special event will give her fans and followers a unique opportunity to meet the star in person, take pictures, sign autographs and of course, buy tickets to the Concert which will take place at 7pm on Sunday at the Oriental Hotel in Lekki. Make sure you’re there! Continue...

Meet Vixen's New Alter Egos - Mr Ekwere And Imoh

The "I am Yve" Alter Ego picture series is back. You've already met Yvonne Ekwere's 'Rashida' alter ego, (If you missed it, see it HERE) now here are two more; the new Alters reflect Vixens "Tomboy" and calm"spirited" side.

"MR Ekwere" (pictured left), is the tough, outspoken and fearless gut next door who takes pride in expressing himself without limits. He's hard working, down to earth but can be brutally sincere; this alter ego reflects Vixen's Tomboy traits in reality.

"Imoh" (pictured right) is an extremely calm and almost un-real... She is the force that keeps Vixen lucid in times of stress and chaos. She is arty and spiritual, she is vixen's Inner-woman. More photos after the cut...

Agbani Darego; the face of N50 Nigeria postal stamp

The beauty queen, who brought glory to Nigeria in 2001 by being the first black African Miss World, shared this photo on her Instagram page yesterday. Her face is on Nigeria's N50 postal stamps. Well deserved honour.

Remembering Aluu4

I forgot to do this last month. It's so easy for us to forget and move on, especially when we are not directly affected, but please let's not forget these boys. They deserve justice. The way they died is no way for any human being to die; tortured, beaten to unconsciousness then set ablaze for doing absolutely nothing other than being at the wrong place at the wrong time. Their killers are yet to be prosecuted and jailed...so let's keep demanding justice for them. They were killed 5th October, 2012. Rest in peace Tekena, Ugonna, Chiadika and Lloyd.

D'banj gets mentioned on daytime TV in the US

D'banj was mentioned on Live with Kelly and Michael, a top syndicated morning talk show, hosted by Kelly Ripa and Michael Strahan. The male host, Michael, read out the top five songs for working out at the gym and D'banj's Oliver Twist was mentioned at number 3 after Psy's Gangnam Style (5) and Keisha's Die Young (4). Michael then said he's never heard of D'banj. Watch the video HERE or after the cut...(Oh, and Vanessa Amadi is D'banj's publicist, pictured with him on the left)

Thursday 4 April 2013

Legendary film critic, Roger Ebert, dies at 70

The American journalist, film critic and screenwriter, who was once described by Forbes as "the most powerful pundit in America" died today April 4th at the age of 70 after an 11-year battle with cancer.

Ebert underwent surgery in 2006 to remove cancerous tissue near his right jaw, which included removing a section of his lower jaw. The surgery took his ability to talk, eat or drink, but never stopped him from writing or reviewing movies.

Ebert began working as the Chicago Sun-Times film critic in 1967, and became a household name after winning the Pulitzer Prize in 1975 and hosting several movie-review TV shows.

Ebert was the first film critic to win a Pulitzer Prize, and the first to be awarded a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. May his soul rest in peace...Amen.

Did Wizkid get himself a Rolls Royce?

Well, I don't know for sure...but he posted this photo of him holding those car keys on his Instagram page...and I see a key for a Rolls Royce and a key for a BMW. He acquired a BMW X6 a few months back...did he also get himself a Rolls Royce? And if he did, is this the car? See it after the cut...

Must Watch Video: Nigeria’s Skin Bleaching Epidemic Big Business!

Etisalat’s ‘Go Down Low’ Calls to ALL Networks!

By now, most of you would have heard the Etisalat Nigeria remix of Olamide’s ‘First of all…Go down low’ song for the TV commercial and radio jingle of their latest tariff plan, EasyDay. You may wonder, why that song? Well, it turns out that Etisalat Nigeria came up with this airtime-friendly idea that helps you enjoy lower tariffs based on the amount of airtime you spend daily on calls or SMS or PAYG (Pay As You Go) data. 

To enjoy this plan, you have to be on either the EasyStarter or EasyCliq package and then opt-in by dialing *239*1# to start enjoying lower call rates daily. Continue...

New Beyoncé has a dance-off with old Beyoncés in new Pepsi ad

In the new Pepsi ad featuring Beyonce's next single, 'Grown Woman,' Beyonce celebrates her past while looking forward to the future by confronting images of her former self... "Bootylicious" Beyoncé, "Single Ladies" Beyonce "Crazy in Love" Beyoncé, etc and challenges them to a dance-off. The new Beyonce wins...of course! Amazing commercial...see it after the cut...

Photo of the day...

A Porsche with FG number plate spotted in traffic!! :-)