Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 02/10/2013 - 02/17/2013

Saturday 16 February 2013

Kim Kardashian arrives Nigeria for Darey's LLAM concert

She's right now at Eko Hotel. Heard she caused quite a stir at the hotel lobby. See more photos after the cut...

Unbelievable! Read Femi Fani Kayode's piece on the Oskar Pistorius murder case

Former Minister of Aviation, Femi Fani Kayode, shared his thoughts on the Oskar Pistorius murder case. Oskar if you will all recall shot and killed his girlfriend, Reeva Steenkamp on Valentine's day. He has since been charged with premeditated murder even though he insists it was all an accident. 
Well Femi Fani Kayode kinda blamed the dead girl on provoking the double amputee athlete into a murderous rage. He said in his piece that Reeva was sent to Oskar by the devil to destroy him He referred to her as a Jezebel, Delilah, 'creature from the sea'...
As a woman, I'm appalled by this write up, which he has since deleted from his Facebook page. He's kinda blaming her for getting herself killed. Read it after the cut...

Actress Yvonne Nelson shares sexy photo

Sexy mama!

Nollywood actor Lugard Onoyemu has passed on

Nollywood actor Lugard Onoyemu slumped and died yesterday evening at the National Stadium Surulere while playing football with friends. He was rushed to the hospital where he died. Lugard battled a heart related ailment for a while before his sudden death yesterday. May his soul rest in peace...Amen.

NY Giants Osi Umenyiora and Miss Universe Leila Lopes engaged

NY Giants Defensive End Osi Umenyiora, 31, and Miss Universe 2011, Leila Lopes, 26, are engaged after only five months of dating. The Nigerian NFL player proposed to his Angolan girlfriend on Tuesday 12th February while holidaying together in Europe.

Osi and Leila met in September 2012 at New York Fashion Week. That was fast. But you know what they say; when a man knows, he knows. Congrats to them. See more photos after the cut...

60yr old man slaps 19 month old toddler on a plane in racist attack

A man has been accused of racially abusing then physically assaulting a 19-month-old child on a flight to Atlanta last Friday.

Joe Rickey Hundley, 60, allegedly demanded that the mother of the crying toddler 'shut that n****r baby up' before slapping the infant in the face on the Delta flight on February 8.

According to The Smoking Gun, Hundley has been charged with simple assault after the incident with Jessica Bennett, 33, and her son Jonah. 

Singer Dencia involved in car accident

The singer was involved in a car accident yesterday February 15th. She said she was driving and 'was so lost in her thoughts and didn't know how she lost control of the car.' Her car was seriously damaged following the accident but thankfully she was not injured.

Goldie's husband, Andrew Harvey, opens up about the late singer

Goldie's husband opened up to Thenetng.com. Read the interview below...
When did you wed her? And were you still married as at when she passed yesterday?
We wed in December 2005 and were very much married when she passed indeed I was talking to her on arrival in Lagos before the fateful event
I see you moved back to England. Do you have another family?
I work in Malaysia, we have a private home in UK, I do not have a second family
Also did you have kids together?
No kids, we were planning this year
There had been speculation for many years that she was married to an ‘oyinbo’ man. But no one could lay hands on anything. Why did you keep it a ‘secret’? 
Our private life is nothing to do with work life, there has to be a balance
See more after the cut...

Twin duo 'Addiction' drop banging video - 'Who Be Dat?'

What do you get when you mix Fela, MayD and a female Dbanj? You get ‘Addiction!’ Watch Zakudia Records dynamic duo Addiction with their banging new video ‘Who be dat?’

Directed by Clarence Peters, ‘Who Be Dat’ successfully mixes mainstream Naija-pop with afro-beat exotica. Addiction is made up of the Igho twins Aaron and Sharon Igho. Watch the video after the cut..

Couscous is a Pasta, not a grain- Knorr Taste Quest Episode 5

Saratu
Most people think Couscous is a grain product but it's actually pasta. During the last episode, the judges as usual did not make it any easier for the contestants as the ingredients for this task was as unexpected as possible. The contestants were given Pine nuts, Baby Carrots, Green Bananas, Mushrooms and Couscous!! They were to make a starter and main course meal within 60 minute.

Speaking on the choice of ingredients, Executive Chef, Dr Roberts described them as simple and basic with nutritional benefits. He mentioned that Pine nuts are very high in vitamins and essential oil,   baby carrots, which are sweeter than normal carrots contain vitamins C, B6, A and K,  Mushrooms are high in Riboflavin and Couscous which is a pasta not a grain, has the most superior vitamin content of all pastas. 

Beyonce finally reveals her daughter, Blue Ivy

For the first time since she was a few months old, Beyonce shares a picture of her daughter's face. She's a spitting image of Jay Z. See her lips. She's soooo cute!

Actress Foluke Daramola weds Kayode Salako

The divorced mother of two married the CEO of Change Agent of Nigeria Network, Kayode Salako yesterday February 15th. Happy married life to them.

Friday 15 February 2013

Goldie's husband shares their wedding photos in her memory

He tagged it 'Memories of my loving wife' on his Facebook page. See more photos after the cut...

RIP Goldie. Her label Kennis Music release official statement

Statement from the CEO of Kennis Music, Kenny Ogungbe pictured above with the late singer
“With a deep sense of loss, we announce the shocking death of our darling music star, Goldie Harvey. Goldie, 31, died on Thursday after she complained of a severe headache shortly after her arrival from the United States where she went to witness the Grammy Award. She was rushed from her Park View, Ikoyi, Lagos residence to her official hospital, Reddington, Victoria Island, Lagos, where doctors pronounced her dead on arrival at exactly 7:30pm in the evening.
We consider this period a gloomy moment for us and the entire Nigerian music industry in view of the circumstance in which she passed away; the abundance of talent she exhibited in her short but eventful music career and the various opportunities her trip to the United States of America would have availed her. She is survived by her father, step- mother, brothers and sisters. We deeply sympathise with her family and fans all over the world and very grateful to all and sundry, especially, the vibrant Nigerian media for their concern and prompt reportage. We shall keep everybody informed as events unfold as we are devastated by the sudden loss.”
Goldie's remains has been deposited at the mortuary. I'm not blogging today...will only bring you update about her untimely demise. Let's use the whole day to mourn her. Goldie and I recently became friends after she called me for a heart to heart. She was also best friends with one of my best friends, Denrele. RIP, angel. Only God knows why this happened.

Thursday 14 February 2013

Shocking sad news! Singer Goldie Harvey dies...

I'm in shock. Singer Goldie has passed on. Just confirmed from her best friend and my close friend, Denrele Edun. He told me Goldie died this night at Reddington Hospital in Victoria Island. Goldie just came back from the US today he said, and was so full of life, then something went tragically wrong. Will get all the details from him in a bit, he was crying so much and had to switch off his phone. I'm shaking so bad. She and I had a conversation a few days ago while she was in the US. Oh dear Lord. Is this how people die? May her soul rest in peace..Amen.

Update: Goldie's management has released a short statement via her Facebook page.

Kim K's feathered top - would you rock it?

The reality star wore this feathered top and tights to the opening of the new Topshop store in West Hollywood in California yesterday. Would you rock the top?

Singer Azeezat's hot new photos

The very talented singer is set to re-launch her music career. She recently released these beautiful photos of herself. See more photos after the cut...

Funke Akindele rocks out in shorts

Photos taken today at a movie location. Love the combo and the bag...

Club Paper Presents Nude Valentine

The proud sponsor of NUDE VALENTINE, Club Paper, invites you to celebrate Valentine in a very unique way on Friday 15th February, 2013.

The event which will feature IK of 93.7FM/Host of Bigbrother Africa, Olisa of Beat 99.9FM and many more is set to hit Lagos/

Venue: 247, Ajose Adeogun, V.I. (Imperial Place).Time is 10:00 PM. Free Cintron and free wines on the house.

Newborn 13-year-old: Adopted boy's birth announcement goes viral

When professional photographer Kelly Higgins' 13-year-old adopted son mentioned he never had baby photos and wished he did, she ran with the idea, snapping some sweetly hilarious images that quickly went viral.

The pictures - a trio of images of a 13-year-old boy posed in classic "newborn portrait" style--went viral online after his adopted mother posted them to her Facebook page.

"Here's my sweet not so little Newborn! His name is Latrell and weighs 112lbs," Kelli Higgins wrote. Kelli Higgins and her husband adopted Latrell and his sister Chanya when they were 10 and 5 years old, adding the siblings to their family that already included five biological children with another on the way.

"TB Joshua rescued me from alcohol, drugs and mental issues' - actor Hanks Anuku

The actor and former addict tells how TB Joshua rescued him from alcohol, drugs and the mental problems that plagued him for many years in a recent interview. Hanks battled alcohol and drug addiction for years and his mental state deteriorated over time. The former SA to Delta governor, Uduaghan, who has since relocated to Ghana tells his story...
"Yes I got my healing through TB Joshua. It is our Lord's doing. I never believed in miracles until this happened to me. I was having issues with mentality for over seven years, you will notice I have not been that frequent in movies for long. Even when I was special assistant to our dear governor, I was not in a good state of mind and this affected my work in the government before I was advised to seek for solution in Ghana. I spent so much money visiting hospitals, orthodox and unorthodox doctors without positive result. Until I was introduced to TB Joshua. I was only watching his TV programme in Ghana and was healed. I put my faith into it just like the woman with the issue of blood and knew that I would be healed and I got my healing. I am now a mentally stable man. I have dropped drinking and smoking habit, glory be to God."

Purity Okojie's first Valentine

Little Purity is beginning to look so much like her mum - Mercy Johnson

Ribbons and Roses Presents: Conversations in G- Strings

February 14th, 2013. Banquet Hall. Eko Hotel & Suites. Time: 7pm
Tickets for Couples: N50,000.00 (2 people)  and N100,000.00 (2 people)
All tickets include dinner and drinks
Table Tickets: N500,000.00 and N1,000,000.00

'Lekki Wives' Valentine give away! For one week only!

In the spirit of Valentine, B'Concept Network Productions celebrates the season with a huge give away of The Much talked about, "Lekki Wives Drama series".  From the 14th to 21st of February, watch the complete season 1 of the Epic series for just $5. Watch @ www.bconceptnetwork.tv Enjoy!!!

Man pours pot of boiling stew and lighted stove on girlfriend

Culled from Punch
A 27-year-old woman, Mary Sunday, has been in the hospital bed at Igbobi Orthopaedic Hospital seven months after she was allegedly attacked by her fiancé, Corporal Isaac Gbanwuan, with a pot of boiling stew and a lighted stove. It was learnt that Sunday had lost her ears due to the attack.
Before the attack, which took place in August 2012, Sunday, was to report for training at the Police Academy, Kano as a cadet officer.
See more after the cut...

A Valentine just for you from Sterling Bank Nigeria

Follow us on twitter or like us on facebook and you stand a chance to win fabulous prizes this valentine. Click to win now. - Facebook.com/Sterling-Bank Plc

Sports Minister's aide and popular youth figure Ohimai Amaize set to wed Sunday Oliseh's sister

Ohimai Godwin Amaize is currently the Special Assistant on Advocacy to the Minister of Sports, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi. He is also the board secretary of the Nigeria Academicals Sports Committee (NASCOM). Ohimai is a popular youth figure and widely known as Mr Fix Nigeria. Tessy Oliseh is the younger sister of former Super Eagles captain, Sunday Oliseh. She's also a designer; she's the creative genius behind Tesslo Concept.

They've been dating for over a year now and both families are aware of their plans to tie the knot soon. See more photos of them after the cut...

Tonto Dikeh still rocking her blonde look

Really suits her. I like!

'Blade Runner' Oscar Pistorius arrested after his girlfriend is shot dead at his home

South African Olympic and Paralympic track star Oscar Pistorius, around 4am this morning shot dead his model girlfriend Reeva Steenkamp, at his home in Pretoria. Friends of Oscar think its a Valentine's Day surprise gone wrong. Oscar, 26 and Reeva, 30 (pictured together above), have been dating for many months. Reeve was shot several times in the head, chest and arm.

Oscar, known as the “Blade Runner” for his racing prosthetics and also dubbed 'the fastest man on no-legs', has been charged with murder and is currently in police custody. He is believed to have told police he thought she was an intruder.

Police said they found a 9mm pistol at the scene and will charge the athlete to court later today.

Pistorius, who races wearing carbon fibre prosthetic blades after he was born without a fibula in both legs, was the first double amputee to run in the Olympics and reached the 400 semi-finals in London 2012.

The Love Post Valentine Offer from FCMB

Hi guys, come and participate in the FCMB LovePost Valentine offer. All you need to do is share your favorite love quotes, favorite song titles and funny love pictures with FCMB at www.loveposting.com, and get your friends to like your posts. The posts with the most likes get a chance to win:

Grand Prize – 2 nights at a 4 star hotel
Second Prize – Dinner for 2 for 20 winners
Consolation Prizes – Couple’s movie tickets for 100 winners

To participate, visit www.loveposting.com.