Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 09/23/2007 - 09/30/2007

Saturday 29 September 2007

The History of Badagry Slave Trade

I'm sure most of you know that Badagry was an important slave route in West Africa during the Slave Trade era.

This ancient town of Badagry was founded around l425 A.D. Before its existence, people lived along the Coast of Gberefu and this area later gave birth to the town of Badagry. It is the second largest commercial town in Lagos State, located an hour from Lagos and half hour from the Republic du Benin. The Town of Badgry is bordered on the south by the Gulf of Guinea and surrounded by creeks, islands and a lake. The ancient town served mainly the Oyo Empire which was comprised of Yoruba and Ogu people. Today, the Aworis and Egun are mainly the people who reside in the town of Badagry as well as in Ogun State in Nigeria and in the neighboring Republic of Benin.
In the early 1500's, slaves were transported from West Africa to America through Badagry. It is reported that Badagry exported no fewer than 550,000 African slaves to America during the period of the American Independence in l787. In addition, slaves were transported to Europe, South America and the Caribbean. The slaves came mainly from West Africa and the neighboring countries of Benin and Togo as well as others parts of Nigeria. The slave trade became the major source of income for the Europeans in Badagry.

The town of Badagry wants to enlighten the world to its historic sites, landscapes, cultural artifacts and relics of human slavery. They are preserving buildings, sites and memories of this iniquitous period so that tourists can unearth the dark impact of this era. Places of interest include the Palace of the Akran of Badagry and its mini ethnographic museum, the early missionaries cemetery, the District Officer's Office and Residence, the First Storey Building in Nigeria constructed by the Anglican missionaries, relics of slave chains in the mini museum of slave trade, cannons of war, the Vlekte slave Market, and the Slave Port established for the shipment of slaves before the l6th century.

Here's a history of the slave trade in Badagry in pictures

The holding cell for men, used just prior to sending the men off to the boat

This is the wharf from which the slaves were transported across the water to the "Point of No Return".

The slave market at Posuko was the main center of the Slave Trade.

A plaque officially commissioning the Badagry Slave Route ProjectMay 18, 1999

The "Point of No Return is across the water, just to the right of the boat.

Slavery was abolished in 1886. This cannon was used to enforce the law.

Entry way to the wharf.

Another view of the wharf, from which the slaves left for points unknown

First copy of the Bible translated into Yoruba language by Rev. Gollmer.

Revd Thomas Birch Freeman, first missionary from England to Nigeria.

Freeman Memorial Methodist Cathedral.

First Storey building in Nigeria.

This is the Slave Relics Museum, where relics from the Badagry Slave Trade era are being kept.

Badagry is a place y'all need to visit. I've been there once but didn't get the opportunity to tour the place, but I plan to do so before the end of year. Anyone wants to go with me? Holla at me.

If you learnt anything new today...drop a comment! Kisses! Linda

Thursday 27 September 2007

Bimbo Akintola Quote + Naija Entertaiment News

I realised I haven't done 'quote' in a while, so here's an interview Nollywood actress Bimbo Akintola gave recently...
Bimbo Akintola quote

We've been expecting the wedding bells from your side
BA "No wedding bells yet"

Why?
BA "I'm waiting for Mr right"

Are you sure you're not acting expensive for Mr right?
BA "I don't believe that marriage has got anything to do with money. Marriage is finding someone you are compatible with. Money has got nothing to do with it. If you marry for money, you'll run out because of the money. I'm not expensive in anyway. I'm sure my boyfriend can vouch for that"

Is your boyfriend a yoruba guy?
BA "No. Delta"

How long has he been massaging your heart?
BA "Long enough"

So when are going to the alter?
BA "Alter has nothing to do with it. We have a relationship, that's all that counts"

But if you're asked to decide, how soon would you like to become a Mrs?
BA "I really can't say today, tommorrow or next year"

That means you're not ready for it yet?
BA "It's not a matter of being ready or not. Marriage is very important. A lot of people enter into it today and tommorrow they are out of it. It doesn't make sense to me. You go to the house of God and you swear by his name that you will stay with this person for the rest of your life. If I can't find someone that will do that for me, then I wouldn't get married"

What happened with your relationship with Dede Mabiakwu?
BA "Dede and I are better suited as friends. We realised that friendship was better than anything else. We didn't fight. I still go to Dede's house and he come to mine. He is one of my best friends in the world"

Naija Entertainment News

Celebrity Takes 2

Spirit of David presents Celebrity Takes 2, sponsored by Skye Bank. I really don't know the format of the show but I think it's reality TV, with 10 celebs, 13 weeks, 8 dance styles and 1 winner. The celebs contesting are Brian (Mr Nigeria), Omotola Jalade, Zizi Cardow, Pasuma Wonder, Funlola Aiwofiyebi, Omowunmi Akinnifesi, Tara Fela Durotoye, Kunle Afolayan and Nomoreloss. I think it's a dance reality TV show and it will be shown on African Magic and BEN TV UK, so watch out for that.

Mr Nigeria, Brian Ikenna Okpara, is now the face of Glo.
Top TV presenter, Today's Woman Adesua Onyenekwe will on Sunday September 30th, officially launch her magazine called TC. I don't know what TC means but it will a celebration of womanhood and life.

Kanu Nwankwo, Emmanuel Adebayor, Mikel Obi and Yakubu Aiyegbeni were guests of the Bayelsa state government. The players were there to educate the youths to shun violence and embrace sports as a tool for checking militancy.

Harp lager beer faces

Guinness Nigeria Plc recently devised a new means to promote one of it's products, Harp lager beer. And to achieve this, three notable entertainers were chosen to endorse the repackaged product.
The entertainers are: Nollywood actor, Desmond Elliot, King of the turn table, Jimmy Jatt and BBN winner, Katung Musa Aduwak. Their faces will adorn billboards around the country as the new ambassadors of the product.

Katung

Tee A is getting ready for his Abuja show happening this weekend in Abuja. This same day as Julius Agwu's show in Jos. Those featuring in the Live N naked comedy show include: Ali baba, Gbenga Adeyinka, Basket Mouth, Francis Duru, Faze, Mode Nine, Weird Mc and many more. The venue is the Congress Hall, Transcorp Hilton Hotel and it's 30th September at 5pm. Ticket is N2, 000 and N5, 000 vip. Be there!

Sumi Smart Cole turns 66
Veteran photographer, Sunmi Smart Cole turned 66 years old a few days ago. Though he is not throwing a party to celebrate this time, he has however chosen to mark the day with a photo exhibition of some of his works. The venue of the exhibition is the Silverbird Galleria. Will get the date later.

Telecom giants, Globacom, the official sponsors of the Golden Eaglets, days back, in a gesture of appreciation, rewarded the FIFA U-17 Champions, the Golden Eaglets of Nigeria, with N47million naira for winning the cup. The players and officials were at the Globacom office to present the trophy to the company and get their reward.

Crack your ribs
Another edition of crack ya ribs, a brain child of top comedian Julius Agwu, will hold live in Jos on Sunday, 30th Sept 2007 at Crest Hotel, Jos. Billed to perform are: KC Presh, Stereoman, Okey Bakassi, Segun Arinze and more. Gate fee is N1, 000 and N2, 000 VIP.

Still on Julius Agwu, he told some Naija Journalist that some area boys of Nigerian origin who are based in London attcaked him shortly after Ruggedman's album launch at the NTYCE Night Club Woolwich, London. He said they made some irrelevant accusations against him and before he could utter a word, all his valuables like necklace, his phone and a wallet containing his Visa ticket were collected from him...so we have Naija area boys even in London? Not nice!

King Sunny Ade turns 61

King Sunny Ade marked his 61st birthday last week and First Weekly Magazine treated him to a rollicking celebration at Excellence Hotel and Conference Centre in Ogba. Everyone was there to celebrate with the King of World Beats.

They say alot of celebs have started deserting Chris Okotie's House hold of God. The church is said to be loosing many of it's top members and in quick succession too. They say the reason for this is sorta connected to the pastor's too much attention to politics and the romantic tales trailing him.

They say D'banj and his producer Don Jazzy, are presently working on a multi million Naira events place which they plan to call Koko Island, somewhere on the Island, where D banj will be performing every month and would also be available to people who want to host shows there. Good Thinking!

Miss Nigeria in America Beauty Pageant
On Saturday, October 17th 2007, at the Cullen Performance Hall, on the Campus of University of Houston, 16, Nigerian girls will compete in the pageant. The pageant, which is the third is an initiative of American based Chinyere Dike. Will keep you posted on this event

That's all the amebo I have y'all today...show some love by dropping a comment or two. Cheers!

Wednesday 26 September 2007

Adultery in Katsina

A friend sent me this pictures of a married woman caught having sex with another man in Kitengela in Katsina State last week...

I totally do not condone adultery...but what they did to this woman is not only barbaric, it's inhuman and totally heartless...

I wasn't going to post this picture because I know some of you might find it offensive, but this is someone's reality...a woman's tragic story.

Stripped naked and made to walk round her community...because she committed adultery...something men do every second of the day and get away with it...

Pls be warned, the pictures you are about to view aren't pleasant and be sure you're not around a kid, or at work...

Here it is...

This is so unfair isn't it? And I hear this happens very often over there. What can be done to stop such inhuman treatment of women in the Northern States of Nigeria?

Tuesday 25 September 2007

Benjamin

Benjamin was a 16 year old SS 2 student who lived with his parents in a local community in Delta State. On Thursday 23rd September, he had an Asthma attack in school. His friends and teachers managed to take him to a local clinic. It took them about 20 minutes to get him from school to the clinic. He went into coma before they got to the hospital. When they got there, the only doctor on duty said they had no drugs to give him, alternatively they tried various measures to no avail.

Benjamin stayed alive for 45 minutes before giving up the ghost.

The doctor, nurse, teacher, his friends from school and his mum watched while Benjamin took his last breath. They couldn't help him. No one could help him. He didn't have an inhaler, the clinic didn't have the drugs he needed. So they just watched...and he died.

Benjamin had wanted to live...he'd wanted to be a rapper...thats why he fought death for 45 minutes.

This sounds impossible to happen, but it did. In this day and age, someone died because there were no drugs available.

The most ironic part of it all is that Benjamin has an uncle who is a big doctor in the US.

It's sad right?

So my question is this: if you're a Nigerian doctor practising abroad, what do you think you can personally contribute to enhance health facilities in your local community?

If you're not a doctor, what do you think doctors should do, or what can you do to help the health sector in your local community?

Monday 24 September 2007

Nigeria's best rapper? + World's Most Unattractive Celebrities

Who is Naija's Best Rap Artist? I ask this question because Freestyle recently held a party he called the 'Coronation', where he declared himself King of Nigerian rap. There's been a huge debate since then if he really is the best rapper in Nigeria. There are lots of rappers in Nigeria, but only a few of them stand out. Leading the pack are Modenine, Ruggedman, Freestyle and LD, but who's the 'Baba' of them all? Some people think it's Mode Nine, while others feel it's Ruggedman...what do you think?
Freestyle---------

---Ruggedman

LD-----

-----Modenine

17 MOST UNATTRACTIVE CELEBRITIES

1, Michael Jackson

Michael used to be so fine, now he looks like something out of a horror movie. 101 reasons not to have too many plastic surgeries. But I still love him to death!

2, Marilyn Manson

Run, Linda, Run!

3, Jocelyn Wildenstein

The woman who wanted to look like a cat...unfortunately she looks scarier than a cat.

4, Michael Berrymen
What a head! See, that doll is even scared of him...aarrrhhh! lol

5, Shane MacGowan
My papa was a rolling stone, wherever he laid his teeth was his home...lol!

6, Clint Howard

Is he unattractive? Hell YES!

7, Marty Feldman

Save us from Planet EYES! I love his acting though, it made up for his extremely scary look.

8, DJ Qualls

He looks very odd but lovely eyes!

9, Lyle Lovett

Beauty and the beast...despite his looks, he nailed one of the world's most beautiful actresses...who says there's no gain in ugliness? lol!

10, Kelis

Kelis might not have the beauty thing going for her but she managed to nail one of the biggest names in Hip Hop...give me that over fineness any day!lol! Point of correction...Kelis is HOT!!!

11, Iggy Pop

No comment

12, Steven Tyler

This is the sexiest ugly man I've ever seen. That's a compliment o! lol!

13, Courtney Love

Courtney can be beautiful sometimes...1 out of 20 times!

14, Donatella Versace

Is this what she really looks like or is it the work of cosmetics surgery?

Pretty scary!

15, Amy Winehouse

Amy, Amy, Amy....hmmm!

16, Ronaldinho

Is he really unattractive? With all that money and talent? Offer that to Naija men and see how many ugly men we will have walking the streets of Lagos!

17, Kelly Osborne
I think she goes out of her way to look unattractive, underneath it all, she's...?

Ok, that was me fooling around...no one is UGLY! God didn't creat anyone ugly...just having fun at their expense...but some of them are really scary to look at, especially jocelyn.

Here's wishing MRS SOMEBODY a happy birthday. She added a year today. Many happy returns, long life and prosperity! Hip hip hooray!!!

See y'all later!

Sunday 23 September 2007

Question + Nigeria's Next Super Model + MOBO Nominees and winners + Celebrity design lines

What's the best way to end a phone conversation? You know when you really need to get off the phone, and you don't want to be rude by just cutting the line, but you really don't want to continue talking because the person on the other line is either pissing you off, or uninteresting, or not someone you care to talk to, or is boring you to death, or asking or saying silly things etc etc. How do you politely get off the phone without making them feel bad?

Nigeria's Next Super Model
Nigeria's Next Super Model held yesterday Saturday 22nd of September at the Muson Center. It was won by Eunice Eyo...congrats to her!

Here are some pictures from the event, thanks to Naijagal...

Eunice Eyo

That's popular Naija model, Aisha 'the boobs'

The top five contestants with the most sign-on prospects (total scores) were crowned winners of the pageant and the prizes packages included top three winners securing international and local modelling contracts from Click, Planet Beauty, Lotto Nigeria, while the winner carted away N2million worth of gifts, cash inclusive and an official car.

This 2007 maiden edition of Nigeria’s next super model was sponsored by Lotto Nigeria, House of j’OLA, Lagos Ageless & Wellness Clinique, Africa Magic and Brand World, Power Horse and Amigos.

Mobo 2007 Award Winners

The MOBO Awards 2007 took place on Wednesday September 19 at the O2 Arena in London. Here are the nominees and winners of the Award.

Best Hip-Hop Artist
50 Cent
Common
Dizzee Rascal
Kano
Kanye West

Best International Artist
Akon
P. Diddy
Kanye West
Rihanna
T.I.

Best UK Male
Dizzee Rascal
Kano
Lethal Bizzle
Sway
Wiley

Best UK Female
Amy Winehouse
Beverley Knight
Corinne Bailey Rae
Jamelia
Joss Stone

Best Video
Amy Winehouse - "Back to Black"
Dizzee Rascal - "Sirens"
Kanye West - "Stronger"
Pussycat Dolls - "Wait a Minute"
Rihanna - "Umbrella"

Best Song
Amerie - "Take Control"
Amy Winehouse - "Rehab"
Dizzee Rascal - "Sirens"
Kanye West - "Stronger"
Pussycat Dolls - "Wait a Minute"
Rihanna - "Umbrella"

Ne-Yo "Because of you"

Best Gospel
4 Kornerz
BlushUK
G-Force
Jahaziel
Priscilla Jones

Best R & B
Akon
Amy Winehouse
Lemar
Nathan
Ne-Yo

Best Reggae
Collie Buddz
Sean Kingston
Shaggy
Stephen Marley
Tony Matterhorn

Best Jazz Artist
Abram Wilson
Byron Wallen
Dee Dee Bridgewater
Soweto Kinch
Wynton Marsalis

Best UK Newcomer
Mutya Buena
N Dubz
Sadie Ama
Tinchy Stryder
Unkle Jam

Best DJ
George Kay
Jigs
Rampage
Ras Kwame
Ronnie Herel
Semtex
Shortee Blitz
Steve Sutherland
Tim Westwood
Trevor Nelson

Best African Act
Tu Face Idibia (Nigeria)
DBanj (Nigeria)
Nameless (Kenya)
Wambali Mkandawire (Malawi)
Bebe Cool (Uganda)
Kabelo (SA)

Celebrity Design Lines

In Nigeria there are some celebs coming out with clothing line. D' banj I hear has a clothing line. So does Ruggedman, Sound Sultan, Sasha, Ashionye, Chidi Mokeme...the only thing is, I haven't seen anyone wear this clothes except for the celeb themselves and maybe their friends. They can't even be found in any shop...the celeb culture here is a little different I guess.

It's a little different in the US right? The celebs there are making shit loads of money from making their own line of clothing. Maybe one day when I become an A-list celeb, then I'll start a label...I'll call it LINDARELLA! lol!

Anyway, here are some celebs and their very popular design lines.
Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen

Queen Latifah's 'Curvation'

Paris Hilton's ' Paris Hilton'

Pharrell William's 'Billionaire Boy's Club'

Nicky Hilton's 'Chick'

Sarah Jessica Parker's 'Bitten'

Eve's 'Fetish'

Russell Simmon's 'Phat Farm'

Fifty Cent's 'G-Unit'

Jessica Simpson's 'Sweet Kisses'

Justin Timberlake's 'William Rast'

Beyonce's 'House of Dereon'

P Diddy's 'Sean John'

Kimora Lee Simmon's 'Baby Phat'

Gwen Stefani's 'Lamb'

Jennifer Lopez's 'Sweet Face'

So what's your all time favourite celebrity design line?