Tuesday, March 31, 2009

Canoe Quarterly Mag Launch in SA, Ghana and Nigeria

In the history of Africa, the canoe is a highly symbolic means of transportation – representing the vehicle that ferried civilization to Africa; transporting European missionaries and traders alike, along with their cargoes to the hinterlands of various African dwellings.

The canoe was used to freight Bibles, books, mirrors, clothes, and even bicycles. The canoe made it possible for the West to introduce education, religion, and commerce to Africans. The canoe was largely responsible for the history of Africa as we now know it. But then, that ‘history’ was not written by Africans – giving room for the misconceptions that plague the world’s perception of the beautiful continent.

Enjoy pictures from their launch...

The South Africa Launch

The Ghana Launch

The Nigeria Launch
James Amuta

Olisa Adibua

Kelechi Amadi Obi

Denrele Edun

Sasha in the middle
Left, Ade Bantu

That's it!

News of the day
Migration group: 300 drown off Libyan coast

An international migration group says more than 300 people are believed to have drowned off the coast of Libya.
The International Organization for Migration says that Libyan officials reported between one and three ships sank in Libyan waters Monday.
Spokesman Jean-Philippe Chauzy says the group has confirmed the information with diplomatic sources.
He says strong winds could have caused the vessels to capsize. IOM says it believes the migrants were trying to cross from North Africa to Italy.

I'll get you entertainment news next.
Make sure you come back
cheers.

Monday, March 30, 2009

Another Naked Tribe found in Nigeria

By Stephen Osu

They live, literally, in the stone age. Poverty and diseases ravage their land, like locusts. A good number of them still dress in the manner of...the Biblical Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden -- stark naked -- with fresh leaves for a little covering.

You are welcome to the top of the Gerinjina mountain in Gashaka Local Government area of Taraba State.

It was like a story from Mars when a casual talk to the hearing of this reporter indicated that there was a community up the mountain that lived worse than those of the Koma people who were discovered in the mid-1980s by a group of National youth corps members in the then Gongola State, now split into Adamawa and Taraba states. While the Koma community resides in Adamawa State, the new Stone Age people are in Taraba State.

They are called, the Jibu people and they are descendants of the Kwarafa Kingdom who lived for centuries in nine communities scattered around on the mountains in Gashaka.

Historical accounts have it that the people lived together with their fellow brothers in the kingdom until about 1807 when Fulani Jihadists invaded the kingdom. They were said to have run to the mountain top where they now live and are completely cut off from other tribes, and by extension the whole world. Not even the activities of the colonial masters reached them, largely because of the difficult terrain of their new abode. The mountain top is characterised by rivers, deep gullies and huge rocks.

Just like any other group of human beings, the Jibu people have their ways of life. These include collective circumcision of boys born within the same age group, a ceremony performed with the use sharp objects.

It is considered a test of strength and character for their boys not to cry during the ceremony. The circumcised are kept on bamboo beds and covered with fresh leaves that are gathered and burnt after the wound has healed.

For a young Jibu man to get a wife, he must serve the family of his bride for five years. Nonetheless, the marriage is determined by the capacity of the woman to conceive. This is measured by a dried long firewood that is set on fire for at least three months, within which if the woman does not become pregnant, the simple communication is the gods do not want the marriage.

Pregnant women work on the farms to the day of their delivery.They have a communal life and are ruled by the Waziri Garinjina, Tann Shidin Zunbi, who confirmed in an interview with the Nigerian Compass on Saturday that maternal and child mortality rates are high among them.

The Jibu people are neither Christians nor Muslims. Rather, they believe in their own gods and the ancestors. In an event of violation of their natural laws by any individual, animals are slaughtered to appease the land. It is also a similar story during every cropping season.

The harvests are brought before the Waziri for sacrifice to the gods, after which their brand of liquor is prepared for everybody to drink in merriment. Incidentally too, the Jibu people believe that some gods are not friendly with women.

Thus, throughout the period of ritual preparations, women remain indoors to avoid being exposed to the gods who could be harmful to them.When our correspondent visited Gerinjina, their condition of living was worse than that of the much-talked about Koma people. There is no access road.

They drink water with animals from the same rivers. In their scattered settlement system, there is no school around except for some missionaries who have a thatched space for that purpose but is yet to have any student. After a day's job on the farm, their women still have the task of grinding raw corn with heavy stones before food is ready for their male counterparts.

We went naked to gain their confidence – Cleric
Pastor Miracle Ishaya is the director of Mission Light House,Wukari, Taraba State, the first missionary that came in contact with the Jibu community. In this interview with STEPHEN OSU, he explained how his team had to go naked to get the people to listen to them, how he got to know about the community and their problems.

How true is it that you were the first to come in contact with the Jibu people?
It is true by the grace of God that we were the first missionaries to come across the people called Jibu. They are in a place called Galumjina. Their tribe is Jibu. These people were before now cut off from the rest of the world. In fact, nobody knew about them till we got there.

How did you know of their existence?
A woman named Mrs. Joseph is a trader who lived in a place called Abba Dogo. After some time of staying in the village, she started seeing some strange faces in the place with leaves as their clothing and when she asked, the learnt that they live on top of the mountains. So, she came to inform us and when we got there, it was difficult to believe but it was true. And as they sighted us, some ran away, some became very violent and came out with there arrows but for the woman’s ability to speak Jibu language. We were accepted.

How did she understand the language?
Yes, it is not as if the people are completely different from every other tribe in the place, but they are a section of the Jibu that settled on top of the mountain. There are some other sections of the same tribe that are developed. So, through them, the woman was able to understand little things in the language except that they speak the old version of the language.

In what condition did you meet them?
They were totally naked, both women and men, covering some parts of their bodies with leaves. As a strategy for us to be accepted by them, we also had to strip off some of our clothes and told them that we were their tribes men, only that we were born in the town.

How did you get them accept clothes?
It was difficult at the beginning but they accepted at last to wear it on top of their leaves. The women value the leaves. They believe that if a leaf falls from their waist and a man crosses it, he will automatically be impotent. We also talked to them about the God who created everything, whom they also believe as a God for the children. So they at last accepted everything.

Now that you have got there, what is the main problem?
It was difficult to get them accept our ways of life as you can see. When we introduced palm oil, they said it was human blood. At first, we were sleeping under the trees. Their food was Burukutu. Diseases kill them in large numbers.

Discovering Jibu:
A journalist's nine-hour mountain climb
Stephen Osu

When, sometime last month, I visited the Koma hills in Jada Local Government area of Adamawa State on the instruction of my editor, I thought I had seen the worst in the living conditions of human beings that could ever be. I was wrong. Dead wrong.

Unknown to me, the encounter that would shock me to the very marrows, would be in my state of residence, Taraba.

On learning of another community of human beings who were probably worse than the Koma people and had just been in contact with the rest of the world, I quickly put a call through to my editor, again, informing him of the development.“Are you ready with the story?,” he asked. My answer was in the negative. “Why then are you wasting time? Steve, go get the story. Go, go, go,” he ordered.

Off I went same evening, on Wednesday,March 11, with just the ATM of my bank in my bag and a little cash that could serve for transport fare and feeding for the day, believing that there must be a bank in Serti Barewa, headquarters of Gashaka, with the Automatic Teller Machine (Or Any Time Money) facility.

But my assumption was, again, wide off the mark as the single bank (UBA) that had a branch in the town had no ATM.With some part of the report ready while the most important was still missing, I instantly started regretting my decision to get myself involved in the assignment. Meanwhile, calls kept pouring in from my Editor who wanted to assess the level of completion. At a point, I contemplated putting off my phone but remembered it would be suicidal considering where I was.

But thanks to one Mallam Hamidu Hassan who volunteered his UBA account number so that my office could effect a transfer, I became buoyant enough to hire two guides for the nine-hour mountain climbing.Each of the mountains took at least one hour of the tortuous journey. My two guides, Mallam Balla and Mr. Titus Tanko Usman, took me to the top and to the house of the Waziri Garinjina, Tann Shidin Zunbi.

Already tired, there was no option but to lay my head on any facility available for accommodation which my host magnanimously offered -- a bamboo mat in a structure, much of which was covered with grass.

That prepared the grounds for the actual battle with mosquitoes and other insects that came out from the dusty ground.After three days of the sojourn, both water and the little quantity of food got finished. Then came the time for dry fasting. That also took another one day and five hours, although locally brewed liquor was available for entertainment.

The Jibu women on the other hand, were so entertaining with there grinding stones. Yes! The complete story arrived at last, but it was with tea.

Incredible!
Thoughts?

Sunday, March 29, 2009

Match the baby to the celeb

For want of nothing else to blog about...lol...let's do something fun.

Here, I have 8 baby pictures. They are all huge stars now.
Have fun matching the baby to the celeb.
BTW, Baby one is Jamie Foxx. Too easy ;)
Figure the rest out
Enjoy!

The babies

Baby 1.

Baby 2.

Baby 3.

Baby 4.

Baby 5.

Baby 6

Baby 7.

Baby 8.

The celebs

Kim Kardashian

Michael Phelps

Pamela Anderson

Leonardo Dicaprio

Kate Hudson

Justin Timberlake

Natalie Portman
Jamie Foxx
So what's your guess?

Naija Entertainment news next!
Laters!

Saturday, March 28, 2009

DJ Jimmy Jatt's new project + Top 5 ways to fight cellulite

DJ Jimmy Jatt set to discover new talent

DJ Jimmy JATT is one lucky chap. Life has given him a very fair deal, and he’s enjoying the dividends.Sitting at the very top of his industry, he commands respect from everyone who knows what deejaying should be about, and his followership runs from Lagos to Conakry.Visit him at home, and you’ll find it hard to reconcile the life he’s living (with his wife and two daughters) with the general expectation of how a DJ should live.

All his life, Jimmy has fought to earn respect for himself and for the DJ profession in Nigeria. He has shown, beyond all reasonable doubts, the possibility of surviving as a professional DJ in Nigeria, and he has influenced dozens of jockeys to take the bold step too.

Today, his protegees are scattered around different radio stations, night clubs and bars across the world.Many have passed through the school of deejaying since Jimmy’s early days at Odo street in Obalende, Lagos. And Jimmy himself, who started out as a wannabe rapper, has established himself as the godfather of the art on the continent.

When you think of Ali Baba, you think of how he has held the ladder for several young men to climb; of how he has built an industry out of stand-up comedy and how he brought respect and recognition to an art that existed long before he came on the scene.

Ali Baba made Stand-up comedy fashionable and profitable. Jimmy Jatt has done the same for deejaying.And, if you walk up close and ask him, the itinerant jockey will tell you that all through his career, what has given him satisfaction the most, is working on projects that clearly provide a way and means, for young, unsure talents to find their feet and establish a career for themselves.‘‘That’s why I did the Definition mixtape. I wanted people to hear a lot of those gifted rappers that the industry was not giving a chance. And I’m happy it worked out. That’s why we started the Jimmy’s Jump off on TV too. Those things give me satisfaction, they make me happy and I want to do more’’.And now, the Lagos-based jockey is embarking on yet another major project – a hip hop talent competition hoping to discover new dancers, rappers and DJs.‘‘It’s called Battle Field’’, Jimmy says. ‘‘We’re going to start the preliminaries in April. And we’re hoping to discover guys and girls out there who have what it takes, but have not been able to find a means to express themselves. We’re not promising to sign them on to labels or all that. But we’ll give them worthy prizes, and proper opportunity to establish themselves, using our several media partners, our TV show, and the Jimmy Jatt mixtapes’’

Top 5 ways to fight CELLULITE
Someone sent in an article on the top 5 ways to fight something that nearly 95% of all women have some degree of; CELLULITE. I'm a skinny girl and I have cellulite. Imagine! ;)

Even the 'perfect' Kim Kardashian has cellulite...(left pix)

Researchers say that hormones cause cellulite. Thus, it is not the direct result of being overweight, but the effect that hormones are having on the layer of fat under the skin. This explains why slim people like myself can still get some degree of cellulite.

Here are the Top 5 sure ways to fight CELLULITE
Hope it helps!

1. Exercise. Exercise helps to stimulate blood circulation and speeds up your body's metabolism. Exercise helps to firm up tissue and improves muscle tone.

2. Detoxifying the body is very helpful, as is periodically fasting and cleansing the body. Dong this helps to break down fats and to eliminate accumulated toxins in your body.

3. Water. Drinking plenty of water will help flush out the system and will help release cellulite once it has been broken down by the body and be eliminated properly

4. Eat a healthy diet. Have a diet that features plenty of vegetables and fruits, Grapefruit has also been shown to be effective in increasing metabolism and assisting in the removal of fat as well as in releasing toxins. Adding grapefruits to your diet is a good step as well as drinking pure grapefruit juice.

5. Using herbal essential oils in massage oils is a great way to treat cellulite and to help encourage it to break down. You can make great massage oil that is applied directly to the cellulite areas by using 4 drops of Juniper, 4 drops of Sweet Fennel, and 2 drops of Cypress. Blend this with one ounce of carrier oil such as Sweet Almond or Jojoba Oil. Deep massage techniques are beneficial for breaking down the fat and smoothing the skin.
That's it!

Photos of the day

Robin Fenty at 10 yrs old

Robin at 21 yrs old

I love tatoos, but there's something distasteful about Rihanna's new tatoo. What does she want with such a violent design?

Anyway, if you know any more ways to fight cellulite, please share with the rest of us.
Have a fab weekend
Cheers!

Friday, March 27, 2009

Celeb Hair: who rocked it best? + Tyra's Hair Style Evolution

I was going to bring you Naija Entertainment News today, but somebody took the softsell mag I bought. I'll get another one and do that later. For now let's do something fun.

It's called celeb hair: who rocked it best?
Sorry, it's hard to find pictures of our Naija celebs, so we'll stick with the foreign ones :)
Have fun picking who you think rocked it best
I'll make my choice bold
Let's go...

Joy Bryant and Chanel Iman

Eva Pigford Marcille and Queen Latifah

Kerry Washington and Naomi Campbell

Malinda Williams and Rihanna

Viola Davis and Jennifer Hudson

Mary J Blige and Kelis

Solange Knowles and Gabrielle Union

Nia Long and Beyonce

And now to my favorite woman ever, TYRA BANKS!
From the catwalk to prime-time and daytime TV, Tyra Banks has worn many hairstyles throughout her career.
Check out Tyra's Hair Style Evolution.

The 2000's

Love her to bits!!!
What's your favourite Tyra look?

Thursday, March 26, 2009

Bridesmaid Dress: Who should pay for it? + Celebs: Then and Now

Who should pay for the bridesmaid dress? The bride or the bridesmaid?

I haven't been to a wedding since....2006 ;)

I'm such a weirdo huh? I've provided ushers for many weddings but I never show up at these weddings...my lil sis handles all that.

Now I've only ever been a bridesmaid just once, in 05 and I remember thinking it was weird that I was asked to pay for the bridesmaid dress. The worst part was that the bride picked one of Naija's top designers to make the dresses, and the designer charged us (the bridesmaids) more than I would ordinarily pay for a dress. I remember feeling so annoyed that I had to part with all that money...for a dress...lol

So now my younger sis is supposed to be a bridesmaid for one of her friends but she told me this morning that she's pulled out of it.

Why?
The bridesmaid dress will cost N10grand
My sis says she can buy at least two pairs of jeans and two tops with N10grand
LOL
She doesn't think that she should be paying for the dress...
Her friend, the bride, thinks she should be paying for it since she won't be returning it.

I understand when the bride can't afford it really, but when you can, shouldn't you pay for it?
Please who should pay for the bridesmaids dress? The bride or the bridesmaids?
What do you guys say?

Meanwhile check out the Then and Now pictures of some of the world's most celebrated women.

Michelle Obama

Oprah Winfrey

Jada Pinkett Smith

Jennifer Hudson

Janet Jackson

Vanessa Williams

Mariah Carey

Halle Berry

Queen Latifah

Beyonce Knowles
Amazing transformations!

Thoughts?

Wednesday, March 25, 2009

10 benefits of SEX!

So I was reading a magazine today and something caught my attention...anything that has sex in it catches my attention these days. You all know my situation...lol

Anyway, this is what I read...

10 benefits of SEX
1. Sex is a beauty treatment. Scientific tests have shown that a woman who has sexual relations produces big amounts of estrogen which makes hair shiny and soft.

2. To make love in soft and relaxed way reduces the possibilities of suffering from dermatitis and acne. The sweat produced cleans pores and makes the skin shine.

3. To make love allows to burn all the calories accumulated in this romantic love scene

4. Sex is one of the safest sports. It strengthens all body muscles. It is more enjoyable than doing 20 lapses in the pool. And you don’t need special shoes.

5. Sex is an instantaneous cure against depression. It frees endorphins in the blood flow, creating a state of euphoria and leaves us with a feeling of well being.

6. The more we make love, the more we have the capacity to do more. A body sexually active releases a higher amount of pheromone. This subtle aroma excites the opposite sex.

7. Sex is the safest tranquilizer in the world. IT IS 10 TIMES MORE EFFICIENT THAN VALIUM

8. To kiss everyday prevent visits to the dentist. Kisses aid saliva in cleaning teeth and lower the quantity of acids causing enamel weakening.

9. Sex relieves headaches. Each time we make love, it releases the tension in the brain vein.

10. To make love a lot can heal a nasal congestion. Sex is a natural antihistaminic. It helps fight asthma and spring allergies.

Are these guys shitting me or are they for real? Sex helps fight asthma? Really? Does it help fight Cerebral Malaria too?
Sex is an instantaneous cure against depression? I see! What about addictions, does it cure that too?

I even read somewhere that sex reduces Prostate Cancer risk.
Yeah right! Just like it reduces Cardiac Arrest risk
LOL

Seriously, is this for real or are they just trying to make people like us get back in the groove? Lol...tempt me not!
What do you guys think?

P.S: If like me you don't believe most of these theories (something tells me it's probably true), here's a good reason to have sex. SEX is ENJOYABLE! You have one life to live...you better live it to the fullest. So ENJOY! *wink*

P.S2: I used to believe that being in love was enough reason to sleep with someone, now I'm thinking you have to be almost married first. I don't know who put that idea in my head. It must be you guys on this blog. Getoutofmyhead! It'skillingme! lol

Anyway check out our Photo of the day
New couple alert

Singers, Christina Milian and The Dream

Love is beautiful...if you find it...hold on to it!
Laters!

Tuesday, March 24, 2009

Asknaijamart + AY LIVE Event pix

Asknaijamart
Nigeria's largest online market

This service is a mobile search engine service that allows Nigerians to request any information they require by SMS Text message and receive an instant reply from any of our "Text Centres" around Nigeria.

At N30 per SMS this service is very affordable - less than the price of a bottle of Coke. The beauty of this service is that you are no longer obliged to have the expensive Mobile Internet anymore since the asknaijamart team let you do that by proxy.

This service comes in very handy when you require the telephone number of a business, you need to find out what is showing at Silverbird, you need the national or international price of a particular product or you need directions to get to any location... asknaijamart can answer all these questions and more.

So check them out here...http://www.naijamart.com/

I finally found AY Live 3 event pictures
Enjoy...
AY and Jenifa Funke Akindele

Kefee

Timaya

DJ Zeez

The guests...

The fashion...

What do you guys think about the way we Naija chicks dress to events? Do we rock or do we rock? ;)
Pix thanks to purefoto.com

News of the day
Robin Williams recovering after heart surgery
Robin Williams is recovering at the Cleveland Clinic after heart surgery that his doctors deemed successful, his publicists said today. The 57-year-old actor had an operation to replace an aortic valve on March 13. He is expected to make a complete recovery in the next eight weeks.

Photo of the day

54 yr old Bruce Willis married his 30 yr old girlfriend, Emma Hemming, over the weekend.
Finally...so happy for him!

Later people!
Kisses!

Sunday, March 22, 2009

RIP Jade Goody

Jade Goody is finally gone after her battle with Cervical Cancer. She died this morning, 22nd March, in her sleep at her home in Essex, Southeast England.

She is survived by her mother, husband and two sons, Bobby and Freddie.

May her soul rest in peace...Amen!

Saturday, March 21, 2009

Why do women stay in abusive relationships? + Mawobe Video Shoot

eWhy do women stay in ABUSIVE relationships?

I've never been in an abusive relationship so I really can't say I understand it. You know they say experience is the best teacher and you can't really understand what someone is going through or has been through except you are or have been in their shoes.

I don't understand abuse at all but I try to make sense of it.

I know someone who's in an abusive relationship. Her husband beat her up so bad recently (in public) that I had to call my dad to come intervene. He was hitting her with everything he could find. I couldn't believe what I was watching.

She left his house that day, but about a week later she was back with him. And now, everytime I look at her, I ask myself; why did she come back? Why is she still with him? How do women forgive battery so easily? I wasn't the one battered but everytime I see him, I can't even open my mouth to greet him. I avoid him so much now you'd think he's the devil himself.

But she obviously forgave him. I understand forgiveness but why go back? Especially when he's done it over and over and over again.
No woman enjoys being beat up (except she's sick in the head) so that can't be it. So why do women stay in abusive relationships?

I've been talking to a lot of people about this and a particular writer sent this to me via email...as some of the reasons why women stay in abusive relationships.

1. SURVIVAL: Fear about her own and her children’s safety if she leaves.
2. ECONOMIC DEPENDENCE: Can she survive on one income?
3. FEAR: Of being alone, fear that she cannot cope with home and children by herself.
4. PARENTING: Wanting a father for the children.
5. RELIGION: Pressure to keep the family together.
6. FAMILY: Extended family pressure to keep the family together.
7. LOYALTY: If he had cancer, she’d stick by him.
8. RESCUE: If she stays, she can “save” him and help him “get better.”
9. FEAR OF HIS SUICIDE: He says he’ll kill himself if she leaves.
10. DENIAL: “It’s really not so bad.”
11. LOVE: She loves him, and he is quite often loving and lovable when he’s not being abusive.
12. IDENTITY: Many women feel that they need a man in order to be complete.
13. SHAME, EMBARRASSMENT AND HUMILIATION: She doesn’t want anyone to know.
14. LOW SELF-ESTEEM: After years of being criticized by her abuser, she believes that it must be her fault, she must deserve it, she’ll never find anyone better, “a little love is better than no love at all.”
15 SEX ROLE: “That’s just the way men are.”

What do you guys think? Do you agree with some of these reasons? Why do women tolerate abuse? For those who leave, where do they find the courage? But most important for me is; why do batterers assume they have the right to abuse?
Very intense subject huh?
Let's lighten things up a bit with pictures from new artiste, Mawobe's Video Shoot
Enjoy...

Lexzy Doo in the house
Pix thanks to Mordi Mod!

Let's know what you think about abuse and why women stay.
Cheers.

Friday, March 20, 2009

Nigeria's Greatest Living Legends + Other news

The search is on for Nigeria's FIVE greatest LIVING LEGENDS.

Criteria For Nomination

•Selfless Service
•Enduring Achievements
•Sincerity of Purpose
•Resilience
•Patriotism
•Uprightness
•Respectability
•Incorruptibility

Check out the list as presented by SILVERBIRD GROUP/VANGUARD

1. Prof Dora akunyuli
2. Chief Odumegwu Ojukwu
3. Olusegun Obasanjo
4. Alhaji Balarebe musa
5. Chief Gani Fawehinmi

6. Chief Akintola Williams

7. Wole Soyinka
8. Chinua Achebe
9. King Sunny Ade
10. Chief Anthony Enahoro
11. General Yakubu Gowon
12. Prof Pat Utomi
13. Alhaji Aliko Dangote
14. Emeka Emegwali
15. David Dofinone

16. Cardinal Olubunmi Okojie
17. Chief Emeka Anyaoku
18. Kanu Nwankwo
19. Hakeem Olajuwon
20. Pastor Enoch Adeboye

What do you guys think of this list? And if you were to pick 5 people, who would you go for?
If you're interested in voting, here's how to do it...
The voting can be cast using the special short code 35120. The voter types the name of their choice and sends to the short code 35120. The service is available to all the networks and costs N100 per vote.

FIRE GUTS KEKE OGUNGBE’S HOME - Ayeni Adekunle
For the second time in about two years, the BQ housing entertainment mogul Kenny Ogungbe’s audio-visual equipment has been gutted by fire, leaving all his multi-million naira equipment scarred.
The recent inferno, which occurred in the evening of Thursday March 19, was believed to have been caused by electrical wirings. The property, containing top-of-the-range HD equipment, speakers, consoles and many other audio-visual equipment, used for Kennis Music, Kennis TV and Primetime Africa satellite broadcast was burnt completely, before members of the Lagos State Emergency Fire service could put out the fire.
The affected property is situated in Ajao Estate, Lagos.
‘‘Everyone is OK. We thank God no lives were lost’’, Keke said in a statement issued through his publicist.
The boys quarters, now a one-story-ed building, was still a bungalow when the first fire outbreak occurred nearly two years ago.
‘‘I must thank the Fire service for acting promptly. And I thank the Lagos Governor, The Nigeria Police, all media houses, my neighbours and other concerned citizens too. We thank God we were able to contain the fire before it could spread further’’, Keke commented.
Close friends and associates who have visited as at press time include veteran producer Wale Adenuga, Keke’s friend and partner Dayo Adeneye, Keke’s brothers Taiwo and ID Ogungbe and Ayeni Adekunle.

Storms Obi Asika picks wedding date - Abiola Aloba (Encomium)

Obi Asika, the head honcho at successful record company STORM REDCORDS, has finally decided to get married. He will be marrying his hearthrob of many years, Yetunde Bakare, the Nigerian American returnee who is a partner in a new events company that is into artiste management called RED CARPET. April 26th 09 would be the traditional wedding ceremony and May 1st for the white wedding.
Congrats!

KONGA ALBUM LISTENING PARTY
Host: FUNKY MONKEY ENTERTAINMENT
Start Time: Saturday, March 21, 2009 at 10:00pm
Street: Akin Adesola Str. Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone: 08028552546

RIP to Natasha Richardson. Can't believe she's gone.

Actress Natasha Richardson died from bleeding in her skull caused by the fall she took on a ski slope, an autopsy found Thursday. The medical examiner ruled her death an accident, and doctors said she might have survived had she received immediate treatment.

Alot of us can learn from this very unfortunate incident. Here's what the doctors said about what happened to her...

Richardson suffered from an epidural hematoma, which causes bleeding between the skull and the brain's covering, said Ellen Borakove, a spokeswoman for the New York City medical examiner's office.
Such bleeding is often caused by a skull fracture, and it can quickly produce a blood clot that puts pressure on the brain. That pressure can force the brain downward, pressing on the brain stem that controls breathing and other vital functions.
Patients with such an injury often feel fine immediately after being hurt because symptoms from the bleeding may take time to emerge.
"This is a very treatable condition if you're aware of what the problem is and the patient is quickly transferred to a hospital," said Dr. Keith Siller of New York University Langone Medical Center. "But there is very little time to correct this."
For those who don't remember Natasha, she played the role of Lindsay Lohan's mum in the remake of "The Parent Trap" in 1998.
So sad! May her soul rest in peace

Story of the day
Wonder shall never end...
Read and be amazed!
Up to 1,000 detained in Gambia witch hunt-Amnesty

DAKAR, March 18 (Reuters) - Witch doctors and security forces in Gambia have detained up to 1,000 people on suspicion of being witches, Amnesty International said on Wednesday. Police in the African country dismissed the reports as lies.
Victims have been held in secret detention camps for up to five days and forced to drink hallucinogenic substances which have killed at least two people through kidney failure, the London-based human rights organisation said in a statement.
"At 5 a.m. the paramilitary police armed with guns and shovels surrounded our village and threatened the villagers that anyone who tries to escape will be buried six feet under," it quoted an unidentified eyewitness as saying of a recent raid.
Around 300 men and women were forced on to buses at gunpoint and taken to President Yahya Jammeh's home area of Kanilai, Amnesty quoted the witness as saying.
"Once there, they were stripped and forced to drink 'dirty water' from herbs and were also bathed with these dirty herbs. A lot of these people who were forced to drink these poisonous herbs developed instant diarrhoea and vomiting whilst they lay helpless," the witness added.
Gambia's inspector general of police, Essa Badjie, rejected the reports as lies.
"I think they are neglecting what is happening in Afghanistan. They are lying," he told Reuters by telephone.
"Tell them they are lying. See what is happening in Palestine and Iraq... The Gambia is a peaceful country," he said. Other officials could not be reached for comment.
Amnesty said eyewitnesses and victims said the people seeking witches, themselves known as witch doctors, had come from nearby Guinea, but were accompanied on their raids by Gambian police and army and national intelligence agents, along with members of Jammeh's personal guard, known as "green boys".
Gambia, a tiny sliver of land along the banks of the eponymous river jutting into the middle of surrounding Senegal, is mainland Africa's smallest state.
Human rights organisations and press freedom watchdogs accuse Jammeh's administration and security forces of using arbitrary detention and other abuses of power to gag political opponents and restrict freedom of expression.
Halifa Sallah, a leading opposition figure who challenged Jammeh in the country's most recent presidential elections in 2006, was arrested 10 days ago and charged last week with spying, sedition and holding an illegal meeting.
Party officials said then that Sallah had been arrested after travelling outside the capital Banjul to investigate reports that armed groups were going from village to village searching for witches. Belief in witchcraft is common in West Africa, where traditional animist beliefs coexist with Islam and Christianity.

Photos of the day

Charles Manson before

Charles Manson NOW
California corrections officials have released a new photograph of convicted mass murderer Charles Manson, who is now bald with a thick gray beard.
The photo of the 74-year-old Manson was taken Wednesday as part of a routine update of files on inmates at Corcoran State Prison, where he is serving a life sentence for conspiring to murder seven people.

The cult leader was first sentenced to death for the 1969 murders of movie star Sharon Tate, coffee heiress Abigail Folger and three others stabbed and shot to death at Tate's home in Los Angeles. The next night, two others were stabbed to death at their homes.

Later!

Thursday, March 19, 2009

Hey...

Hey people, how are you guys doing? I've been kinda busy but that's not the reason I haven't blogged since Monday. I actually mistakenly broke my USB internet connection...and without that you can't browse. The problem was finding time to go get it replaced. Finally did that today!

I'm too tired to blog tonight...will do that tomorrow.
Just thought to let you all know what's up with me...

Catch y'all later!
Mwah!

Monday, March 16, 2009

Naija Bloggers Awards + Modeling News

Hey people, how are you guys doing? Hope y'all had a great weekend. My weekend was fine but shame on me for not going to AY's show yesterday...to think I had tickets to the show. I heard it was a huge success tho. I'm going to start shopping around for the pictures of the event...will let you all see it when I find it!

Meanwhile, how many of you know about the Naija Bloggers Award? It's sheleing o...whatever that means huh? lol
I think I was nominated 13 times...
Just kidding ;) I was nominated 3 times...
Go here http://naijabloggersaward.blogspot.com/ to vote! I don't have to tell you who to vote for...do I? ;)

I welcome every opportunity to talk about Modeling/Tyra Banks..so here goes...

Stampede at the ANTM NYC Casting

The New York audition for The CW's "America's Next Top Model" ended in chaos after a massive stampede broke out, leaving six injured and three arrested.
Thousands of model wannabes lined up outside the Park Central New York Hotel in Manhattan during a casting call on Saturday when a pandemonium erupted. At least six people were injured, two were hospitalized after the rampage.
According to NY Daily News, an overheating BMW parked near the area took the notice of several girls who lined up at the audition. Several people in the crowd then started yelling "There's a bomb!"
27-year-old Jennifer Brown told the NY Daily News, "The girls were running like it was 9/11 part two. I feared for my life."
Two women and a man were arrested on disorderly conduct charges.

Creator Tyra Banks has been saddened by the turn of events.

She said in a statement, "We are concerned by the events that occurred Saturday afternoon in the vicinity of the New York casting call for the next cycle of 'America's Next Top Model.'"
"At this time, we still don't know all the details of what happened or what triggered the incident. We appreciate the efforts of the NYPD and will assist them in any way possible in this matter."
The audition was shut down following the incident.
The 13th cycle of the show is looking for 12 contestants who are shorter than the average model. The casting call was open only to those under 5 ft. and 7ins.

Amber Le Bon unveils supermodel figure in Seventies-style swimwear shoot - just like mum Yasmin used to...
By Deborah Arthurs

The face might look familiar - and if it doesn't, the name should give you a clue.
Meet Amber Le Bon, the 19-year-old daughter of Duran Duran frontman Simon Le Bon and wife, model Yasmin, and the latest in a long line of rock star offspring to take to modelling.
5ft 10in Amber has been signed to Models 1, the agency which not only looks after Agyness Deyn and Linda Evangelista, but has represented Amber's mother Yasmin for the past 18 years.

Simon's little angel: Amber, 19, has already modelled in Milan, and starred in the spring/summer 2009 campaign for River Island.

And although she's relatively new to the industry, the Amber has already landed a much coveted modelling job, as the new face - and body - of luxury lingerie label Myla's vintage-inspired swimwear line.
Amber, styled naturally with hippy chic hair and subtle make-up, models the retro designs - including a coral Seventies-style blouson swimsuit and a vintage-look chartreuse halterneck.
At 19, she's the same age as her tattooed, married-and-separated, wild child contemporary Peaches but, having spent the past few years studying instead of partying, she's fresher faced and a lot less cynical.

Model mum:, Yasmin modelling swimwear in 1987, aged 22

Yasmin with Amber Rose in 1989 when she was two days old

Hot on the heels of her rival rock progeny, this season she walked the Moschino catwalk in Milan, where the label's creative director called her a 'fresh, sunny and professional girl', and she also has a River Island campaign under her belt.
And just last month, she boosted her already bulging portfolio further with a Tatler magazine shoot, where she posed alongside fellow rock offspring Kimberley Stewart, India Waters and Leah Wood.

Amber's two sisters Saffron Sahara, 17, and Tallulah Pine, 14, are yet to follow her into the industry, but they've already had a taste of life in front of the lens, when the three girls appeared with their mother on the cover of Australian Elle magazine.

Good genes: Amber has inherited the exotic beauty of her mother, model Yasmin le Bon

But with Amber blessed with the same enviable looks as her mother Yasmin who, at 44, looks as good as she did at 20, Simon had better keep an eye out for his daughter attracting unsuitable male attention.
Not that he'd be one to talk if he did object: In his hey day as a Wild Boy, the rocker met his own wife after spotting her in a magazine and calling her agency to track her down.
Rock star or not, that's something no dad likes to hear.

Amber still lives at the family home in Putney, where she says she has had a 'normal' upbringing

Amber, left, pictured with her mother Yasmin Le Bon, right.
They look more like sisters...
Amazing!!!

Photos of the day

Beyonce on the cover of LA Confidential

Girl's on fire!!!

Kanye West and his sexy new girlfriend, ex-stripper/model, Amber Rose

I love Kanye, the guy's hardcore!
See you all next with Naija Ent. News!
Later peeps.
Kisses!

Friday, March 13, 2009

Question for the ladies + An evening of Karaoke at Swe Bar Pix

A man was very good to God, he kept God's comandment and all. God asked him one morning
God : My son you have been so good to me, you have kept my commandments and have lived a righteous life. What do you want me to do for you?
Man : Pls God can you build a bridge from Nigeria to America so I can go there regularly as I please.
God : My son it's not that its impossible for me to do but pls could you ask for something else.
Man : Ok, God pls I would like to know what's going on in the heart of my wife.
God : Hmm, pls that bridge you wanted, do you want it to be single lane or double lane?

Moral: its easier to build a bridge from here to America than to know whats going on in the heart of a woman.
LOL

Men always say they don't understand women, just like we don't understand men...right ladies?

Now here's the thing; in our mag, we have about 10pages dedicated to men and we have a particular page where women advise men on different issues.

In the next edition of our mag, we want to tackle the topic below...

What Men Still Don't Understand About Women
One of our writers actually submitted an article to us with the above title, but after going through the questions men frequently ask and her answers; as a woman, I didn't agree with some of them, so I decided to bring it here to get different opinions from the ladies.

Since they seem confused about us, let's enlighten them.

Here are some questions frequently asked by men...please pick one and answer for us

1. After you've broken up with a guy, do you ever think about getting back together with him?

2. Do you consider online chatting cheating?

3. Why do you nag us?

4. Can you live without sex?

5. Why do attached women flirt with single guys?

6. What does it mean when you won't say the L-word? 'Love'

7. What's the deal with wanting a big rock?

Please, we need at least 5 answers to each question...you guys need to come through for me...abeg, it's for the mag!

Oh, by the way, why do we nag? That's because you guys have ears but you never listen, so we have to repeat ourselves over and over and over again. Call it nagging if you want ;)

Waiting for your responses...

Meanwhile, check out pictures of the Karaoke event @ Swe Bar that held last weekend.
Enjoy...

An evening of karaoke at Swe Bar

Banky W

Noble Igwe

Eldee and Banky W

Djinee

Tosin Bucknor, Kel and Anthonia Ajibola

Pix thanks to Anthony Ayana Ajibola

We need articles/writers for the magazine...if you're interested , please email me lindaikeji@gmail.com

Will bring you Naija Ent. News next.

Thanks.

Thursday, March 12, 2009

Forbes 2009 Top 20 World's Richest Men

Forbes released their World's Billionaires list yesterday March 11th...
Check it out...

It's been a tough year for the richest people in the world. Last year there were 1,125 billionaires. This year there are just 793 people rich enough to make the list.
The world has become a wealth wasteland.

Like the rest of us, the richest people in the world have endured a financial disaster over the past year. Today there are 793 people on our list of the World's Billionaires, a 30% decline from a year ago.
Of the 1,125 billionaires who made last year's ranking, 373 fell off the list--355 from declining fortunes and 18 who died. There are 38 newcomers, plus three moguls who returned to the list after regaining their 10-figure fortunes. It is the first time since 2003 that the world has had a net loss in the number of billionaires.

The world's richest are also a lot poorer. Their collective net worth is $2.4 trillion, down $2 trillion from a year ago. Their average net worth fell 23% to $3 billion. The last time the average was that low was in 2003.
Bill Gates lost $18 billion but regained his title as the world's richest man. Warren Buffett, last year's No. 1, saw his fortune decline $25 billion as shares of Berkshire Hathaway fell nearly 50% in 12 months, but he still managed to slip just one spot to No. 2. Mexican telecom titan Carlos Slim Helú also lost $25 billion and dropped one spot to No. 3.

Top 20

1. William Gates III
Net Worth: $40 billion
Source: Microsoft/U.S.
Marital Status: Married, three children

2. Warren Buffett
Net Worth: $37 billion
Source: Investments/U.S.
Marital Status: Widowed, remarried; three children

3. Carlos Slim Helú
Net Worth: $35 billion
Source: Telecom/Mexico
Marital Status: Widowed, six children

4. Lawrence Ellison
Net Worth: $22.5 billion
Source: Oracle/U.S.
Marital Status: Thrice divorced, remarried; two children

5. Ingvar Kamprad
Net Worth: $22 billion
Source: Ikea/Sweden
Marital Status: Divorced, remarried; four children

6. Karl Albrecht
Net Worth: $21.5 billion
Source: Supermarkets/Germany
Marital Status: Married, two children

7. Mukesh Ambani
Net Worth: $19.5 billion
Source: Petrochemicals/India

8. Lakshmi Mittal
Net Worth: $19.3 billion
Source: Steel/India

9. Theo Albrecht
Net Worth: $18.8 billion
Source: Supermarkets/Germany

10. Amancio Ortega
Net Worth: $18.3 billion
Source: Fashion/Spain
Marital Status: Divorced, remarried; three children

11. Jim C. Walton
Net Worth: $17.8 billion
Source: Wal-Mart/U.S.
Marital Status: Married, four children

12. S. Robson Walton
Net Worth: $17.6 billion
Marital Status: Divorced, remarried; three children

12. Alice Walton
Marital Status: Twice divorced

12. Christy Walton & family
Marital Status: Widowed, one child

15. Bernard Arnault
Net Worth: $16.5 billion
Source: Luxury goods/France
Marital Status: Divorced, remarried; five children

16. Li Ka-shing
Net Worth: $16.2 billion
Source: Ports, retail, energy/Hong Kong
Marital Status: Widowed, two children

17. Michael Bloomberg
Net Worth: $16 billion
Source: Bloomberg LP/U.S.
Marital Status: Divorced, two children

18. Stefan Persson
Net Worth: $14.5 billion
Source: Hennes & Mauritz/Sweden

19. Charles Koch
Net Worth: $14 billion
Source: Koch Industries/U.S.

19. David Koch
Net Worth: $14 billion
Source: Koch Industries/U.S.

Nigerians on the list
261. Aliko Dangote
"Net Worth: $2.5 billion
Source: Industries/Nigeria
Marital Status:NA

601. Femi Otedola
Net Worth: $1.2 bil
Source: Energy/Nigeria
Marital Status: Married, four children

Info thanks to http://www.forbes.com/
You can go there to check the full list of the World's Billionaires

Photo of the day

BADASS!
Cheers.

Wednesday, March 11, 2009

...It's called CANCER!

It's DEADLY...
Very DEADLY...

Actor Patrick Swayze is dying...

TV Star, Jade Goody is going home to die...

It's called CANCER...

Please go for a CHECK UP!
Please!

NOMINEES FOR HIP HOP WORLD AWARDS 2009

HHWA1 ALBUM OF THE YEAR
Best album (solo or group) in year under review that meets judges’ requirements of excellence (in every realm: songwriting, production, rendition, promotion and acceptability (sales, popularity)

ENTERTAINER
Artiste - D’Banj
Producer(s) - Don Jazzy
Record Label - Mo Hits Records

GONGO ASO
Artiste - 9ice
Producer - ID Cabasa, Puffy T
Record Label - Alapomeji Records
PARADIGM SHIFT
Artiste - Mode 9
Producer(s) - Kraftwork, Jonah D Monarch, Wazbeat, Light house, Jesse Jagz
Record Label - Red Eye Music

TALK ABOUT IT
Artiste - M I
Producer(s) – Jesse Jagz, M.I, Kraftwork
Record Label – Chocolate City

UNSTOPPABLE
Artiste – 2Face
Producers – J Sleek, Mic Tunes, Chakademus & Pliers, R Kelly, Sharks, Ozzy, Wayne Mc, Jiggy Jegg, B. Howard
Record Label – Hypertek Records

HHWA2 ARTISTE OF THE YEAR
Most critically and commercially adjudged artiste in the year under review Overall most successful artiste for the year under review.

D’BANJ
OLADAPO DANIEL OYEBANJO JUNIOR

PSQUARE
PETER AND PAUL OKOYE

TIMAYA
INETIMI ALFRED ODOM

9ICE
ABOLORE AKANDE

HHWA3 SONG OF THE YEAR
Most popular song from an album in year under review. Decided by voting

“FALL IN LOVE”
Album- ENTERTAINER
Artiste- D’banj
Producer - Don Jazzy
Record Label - Mo Hits

“INCASE U NEVER KNOW”
Album - MUSIC BUSINESS
Artiste – 2Shot ft. Timaya
Producer – Terry G
Record Label – Umunamu Records

“GONGO ASO”
Album- GONGO ASO
Artiste - 9ice
Producer - ID Cabasa

“GOOD OR BAD”
Album - GET SERIOUS
Artiste - J Martins ft. Timaya and P-Square
Producer - J Martins
Record Label - Don Family Records

HHWA4 RECORDING OF THE YEAR
Best single recording (on-air only or released) by artiste or group in year under review. Originality and production very essential

“STREET CREDIBILITY”
Album - GONGO ASO
Artiste - 9ICE FT. 2Face
Producer – Id Cabasa

“NOT THE GIRL”
Album – UNDAREYTED
Artiste - Dare Art Alade
Producer - Tee-Y Mix
Record Label – Soul Muzik

“MITCHELL”
Album – ETCETERA
Artiste – Etcetera
Producer – Etcetera and Jo’kaynie
Record Label – X3M

“CAN’T DO WITHOUT YOU”
Album – UNSTOPPABLE
Artiste – Tuface Ft. Melissa Briggs
Producer – Mic Tunes
Record Label - Hypertek Music

HHWA5 PRODUCER OF THE YEAR
The individual responsible for producing the most acclaimed album in the year under review. His CV for the year includes top notch tracks and production credits no one can fault.

TEE-Y MIX
Album Title – YOU KNOW MY P
Artiste - Naeto C
Song Title – “KI NI BIG DEAL”

DON JAZZY
Album Title- ENTERTAINER
Artiste – D’Banj
Song Title – “FALL IN LOVE”

ID CABASA
Album Title – GONGO ASO
Artiste - 9ice
Song Title – “GONGO ASO”

TERRY G
Album – MUSIC BIZNESS
Artiste - 2 Shotz
Song Title – “IN CASE YOU NEVER KNOW”

JESSE JAGZ
Album – TALK ABOUT IT
Artiste – M.I
Song title – “SHORT BALCK BOY”

HHWA6 BEST MUSIC VIDEO (AWARD GOES TO DIRECTOR)
Best conceptualist, best edited, best picture, best directed and most exciting video in year under review as voted by fans and decided by the jury.

ALFONSO DORMUN
Album Title – BIG BOY
Artiste - eLDee
Video Song Title – “BO SI GBAN GBA”

JUDE OKOYE
Album Title - GAME OVER
Artiste - P Square
Video Song Title – “ROLL IT”

DJ TEE
Album Title - CV
Artiste – Mo Hits All Stars
Video song Title – “PERE”

IGHO
Album Title – GET AWAY
Artiste - Igho
Video song Title – “NAIJA BOY”

HHWA7 BEST REGGAE/DANCEHALL ALBUM
Best reggae or dancehall album in year under review

GIFT AND GRACE
Artiste - Timaya
Producer(s) - K Solo, Akeem D’Beat, Jeggs, Spankie, Terry G,
Record Label – Dem Mama

ME MUSIQ AND I
Artiste – Blackface
Producers – George Nathaniel, Blackface Naija, Terry G, Pro-Kessy, Henry Hope,
Record Label – Loud Houz Entertainment

ICHIBAN
Artiste - Chakka Da’ Souljah
Producer(s) - Del B
Record Label - Premier Music

MY SHINE
Artiste – Black Solo
Producer(s) - Jah Mix, Zeeno Foster, DMM
Record Label - Kiss Music

HHWA8 BEST R ‘N’ B/ POP ALBUM
Best R&B or pop album in year under review (by single individual or group)

ENTERTAINER
Artiste- D’Banj
Producer(s) - Don Jazzy
Record Label- Mo Hits

UNSTOPPABLE
Artiste – 2Face
Producer(s) – J Sleek, Mic Tunes, Chakademus & Pliers, R Kelly, Sharks, Ozzy, Wayne Mc, Jiggy Jegg, B. Howard
Record Label – Hypertek Records

ETCETERA
Artiste – Etcetera
Producer(s) – Etcetera, Jo’ Kenny, Mr Daz, Chris Yakub
Record Label – X3M

GONGO ASO
Artiste- 9ice
Producer(s) - ID Cabasa, Puffy T
Record Label- Alapomeji Records

MR CAPABLE
Artiste - Banky W
Producer(s) - ID Cabasa, Music Men
Record Label - Empire Mates Entertainment

HHWA9 BEST RAP ALBUM
Best album by a rap artiste or group in year under review

TALK ABOUT IT
Artiste- M I
Producer(s) - M I, Jesse Jagz, Kraftworks
Record Label- Chocolate City

PARADIGM SHIFT
Artiste - Mode 9
Producer(s) - Kraftwork, Jonah D Monarch, Wazbeat, Light house, Jesse Jagz
Record Label- Red Eye Entertainment

SECOND TURNING BY THE RIGHT
Artiste - Lord Of Ajasa
Producer(s) - ID Cabasa,
Record Label – Oti Po Ju

YOU KNOW MY P
Artiste - Naeto C
Producer(s) - Tee-Y Mix
Record Label - Storm Records

HHWA10 BEST COLLABO
Best R&B, Pop or hip hop collaborative track (including cameos) in year under review

“STREET CREDIBILITY”
Artistes – 9ice FT 2Face
Producer – ID Cabasa
Record label- Alapomeji Records

“LE FENU SO”
Artistes - Lord Of Ajasa FT 9ice
Producer – ID Cabasa
Record Label- O Ti Po Ju

“GOOD OR BAD
Artistes - J Martins FT Timaya AND P-Square
Producer – J Martins
Record Label- Don Family Records

“E FI MI SILE”
Artistes - YQ FT Da Grin
Producer – Dr. Frabz
Record Label- 2 Koncept Entertainment

“BUSH MEAT”
Artistes - Sound Sultan FT 2Face & W4
Producer – J Sleek
Record Label- Naija Ninja

HHWA11 BEST RAP SINGLE
Best single released on-air recording of a rap song

“SAFE”
Artiste(s) – M I ft Djinee
Producer – M.I
Record Label- Chocolate City

“TALKING TO YOU”
Artiste(s) – Mode 9 ft Banky W
Producer – Banky W
Record label- Red Eye Music

“WA WA ALRIGHT”
Artiste(s) – Kel
Producer – Suspect
Record Label- Capital Hills Records

“KINI BIG DEAL”
Artiste(s) – Naeto C
Producer – Tee-Y Mix
Record Label- Storm Records

HHWA12 BEST VOCAL PERFORMANCE (MALE)
Single male artiste with most outstanding vocal performance on a single song or album

DARE ART ALADE
Album Title - UNDAREYTED
Record Label – Soul Muzik
Producer- Cobhams
Song Title - “NOT THE GIRL”

BANKY W
Album Title - MR CAPABLE
Record Label - Empire Mates Entertainment
Producer- Muzik Men
Song Title - “DON’T BREAK MY HEART”

ETCETERA
Album Title - ETCETERA
Producer- Etcetera and Jo’Kaynie
Record label – X3M
Song Title- “MICHELLE”

WANDE COAL
Album Title - FROM M TO M
Producer- Don Jazzy
Record Label – Mo Hits
Song Title- “TABOO”

HHWA13 BEST VOCAL PERFORMANCE (FEMALE)
Single female act with most outstanding vocal performance on a single song or album

OMAWUNMI
Album Title - WONDER WOMAN
Producer - Cobhams
Record Label – Wonder Woman
Song Title - “IN THE MUSIC”

NIKKI LAOYE
Album Title - ANGEL 4 LIFE
Producer - Cobhams
Record Label – Wahala Media Entertainment
Song Title - “NEVER FELT THIS WAY BEFORE”

WAJE
Album Title- BREATHLESS (Unreleased)
Producer - J Martins
Record Label – Dome Records
Song Title- “SOMEWHERE”

HHWA14 NEXT RATED
Most promising upcoming officially unreleased act in the year under review
YQ
Track Title – “E FI MI LE”
Record Label – 2Koncept Entertainment

MP
Track Title – “PASA PASA”
Record Label – Lime Lite Records

KEL
Track Title – “WA WA ALRIGHT”
Record Label - Capital Hills Records

D’JINEE
Track Title – “LADE”
Record Label – Polar Media

OMAWUNMI
Track Title – “IN THE MUSIC”
Record Label – Wonder Woman

HHWA15 HIP HOP WORLD REVELATION
Best new artiste in the year under review

M I
Album - TALK ABOUT IT
Full Name – JUDE ABAGA
Record Label – Chocolate City

BANKY W
Album- MR CAPABLE
Full Name – BANKOLE WELLINGTON
Record Label – Empire Mates Entertainment

NAETO C
Album- YOU KNOW MY P
Full Name – NAETOCHUKWU CHIKWE
Record Label – Storm Records

NIKKI LAOYE
Album- ANGEL FOR LIFE
Full Name – NIKKI LAOYE
Record Label – Wahala Media Entertainment

HHWA16 AFRICAN ARTISTE OF THE YEAR (NON NIGERIAN CATEGORY)
Special award for an individual African artiste with the most outstanding album and astonishing achievements in year under review

BUFFALO
“BUBBLE YOUR BUMZ”

TINNY
“I DEY KOLO”

DOGG
“CAN YOU FEEL IT”
WITNESS
“ZERO”

HHWA17 LYRICIST ON THE ROLL
Rap Artiste with best lyrical depth and performance on a single song or album
MODE 9
Album Title- PARADIGM SHIFT
Record Label- Red Eye Music
Song Title - NINE

M I
Album Title - TALK ABOUT IT
Record Label - Chocolate City
Song Title – TALK ABOUT IT

LORD OF AJASA
Album Title - SECOND TURNING BY THE RIGHT
Record Label - O Ti Po Ju
Song Title – ESA LO BA DE

DAGRIN
Album Title – CEO (Unreleased)
Record Label - Satty Record and Mi So Fun Yin
Song Title - PON PON PON

HHWA18 BEST STREET HOP
The most popular street-hop single in year under review

“E SA LO BA DE”
Artiste- Lord Of Ajasa

“PON PON PON”
Artiste- Da Grin

“04 KA SI BE”
Artiste- DJ Zeez

“E FI MI LE”
Artiste-YQ

“COLLABO”
Artiste- DeeBee

HHWA19 HIPHOP WORLD HALL OF FAME
Non competitive category
GRAND MASTER LEE
PHILLIP TRIMNELL

So what do ya think about this year's nominations?
Let me just say here that my favorite Naija song right now is Bracket's 'Yori Yori'...totally love it. It's even my ring tone sef ;) and what happened to 'Koni koni love by Klever Jay and Danny Young? It deserves to be recognised!

Let us know what you think about the nominations
Cheers!

Monday, March 9, 2009

FM&B Edition 5 out!

Our Mag's 5th edition is finally ready. This mag takes forever doesn't it? Ko easy ;) I can't even begin to explain the difficulties in publishing a mag in this parts; but we'll keep on keeping on.

The mags should be hitting the stores in about a week. We need to sort some things out (distribution), then I'd let you all know where you can buy the mags. We have even reduced the price from N700 to N600 and it stays that way for a while...

Here's what the cover looks like (with a few corrections).

We still used the same model...Oby Ezenduka...you guys didn't like the other photos we used, so we settled for this.
What do you guys think about the cover?
You know what they say...if you have nothing good to say, don't say nothing at all...Lol..

You know if I made a million bucks for everytime I heard 'Because of the recession, we are cutting back on spending, so we can't advertise with you', I'd be a multi-millionaire. All through January and February, I went on the road to get adverts for the magazine...I do that solely for now (Marketing is so far the hardest part of my job) and I can't begin to count how many doors were shut in my face.

For every one advert I got, at least three turned me down, so you can imagine how many places I went to and how difficult it is to convince people/companies to put money in a mag that's relatively new.

When we are faced with these difficulties, it would be so easy to give up...people will understand, but that means letting our dreams die...we must never do that, no matter how difficult it is, we must all keep pushing. If one door closes, we find a way to open another one.

Despite the fact that a lot of companies turned me down...I kept on pushing until some said yes!
I'd like to say a big thank you to all the companies helping to keep the dream alive.
Thanks to...

Amigos

Holdent

Gentle Touch

Mama Lemon Soap

Prestige Cosmetics

Pharmaderm

And Lacasera Drinks

There's no failure except in no longer trying. We all owe it to ourselves to succeed...let's keep on trying.
Still want to know what you think about the cover...
Cheers

Sunday, March 8, 2009

World News + Jokes

naTsvangirai's wife dies in car crash

Morgan Tsvangirai, Zimbabwe's prime minister, has been hurt in a car crash in which his wife was killed, his party has said. Read full story here...http://english.aljazeera.net/news/africa/2009/03/200936195926250445.html

Rihanna and Chris Brown to release book together

With Chris Brown’s arraignment on charges of assault and criminal threats delayed until April 6, the Chicago Sun-Times reported on Thursday that the singer’s management team is working toward rehabbing his image with a possible deal with Rihanna.
According to Sun-Times columnist Bill Zwecker, Brown and Rihanna plan to co-author a book about abuse and appear together on a number of talk shows in a deal, which also reportedly includes a $10 million clause regarding Brown’s future actions toward her.

Dying Jade Goody baptized

Goody, whose cancer is terminal and has spread to her brain, was baptized in her London hospital on Saturday, along with her two young sons.
Jade had hoped to be good enough to do it at a church but was feeling too ill and the christening had to take place at the hospital chapel.
Her publicist said the "very pale and fragile" Goody was in a wheelchair and assisted by nurses during the service at London's Royal Marsden Hospital.
The ceremony is the last thing the reality TV star will do in the public eye, says her rep.

Travis Barker and Shanna Moakler to Wed Again.

Rocker TRAVIS BARKER and SHANNA MOAKLER are planning to wed again - just a year after finalising their divorce. The couple ended its two-year marriage in 2006, but became close again after the Blink-182 drummer almost died in a plane crash in South Carolina last September (08).

Barker and pal Adam 'DJ AM' Goldstein were the only survivors of the tragedy, which left four dead. And the rocker and his ex admit the crash was the inspiration behind their decision to become man and wife once again.

Former beauty queen Moakler tells Us Weekly magazine, "We would like to renew our vows and have another wedding. "It's not so much about the wedding but about having a celebration of each other and getting through all the crazy things we've been through. "When you almost lose a loved one, it makes you appreciate things you took for granted." The couple has two children - three year old Alabama and five-year-old son Landon.
I love happy endings...

Jokes
And that's how the fight started
I asked my wife, 'Where do you want to go for our anniversary?'
It warmed my heart to see her face melt in sweet appreciation.
'Somewhere I haven't been in a long time!' she said.
So I suggested, 'How about the kitchen?'
And that's when the fight started...

My wife and I are watching Who Wants To Be A Millionaire while we were in bed. I turned to her and said, 'Do you want to have sex?''
No,' she answered.
I then said, 'Is that your final answer?'
She didn't even look at me this time, simply saying 'Yes.'
So I said, 'Then I'd like to phone a friend.'

I took my wife to a restaurant. The waiter, for some reason, took my order first.
'I'll have the strip steak, medium rare, please.'
He said, 'Aren't you worried about the mad cow?''
I said nah, she can order for herself.'

One year, a husband decided to buy his mother-in-law a cemetery plot as a Christmas gift.
The next year, he didn't buy her a gift. When she asked him why, he replied, "Well, you still haven't used the gift I bought you last year!"
And that's how the fight started....
LOL!
Cheers everyone!

Friday, March 6, 2009

Naija Entertainment News + Kenny and D1 at the Grammys

Tunde kelani takes Arugba to Lagos Cinemas – Taiwo Obatusin
Nigeria’s celebrated cinematographer, Tunde Kelani got the support of the Lagos State Government to show his latest film ‘Arugba’ in 57 Local Government councils.

Arugba is a cultural movie embedded with messages in line with the United Nations Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) for eradicating threats from HIV/AIDS, child survival, morality and UNESCO. That’s a movie you all need to see.

Unveiling Island’s newest accessory outfit, Circa 64 – Bola Akinboade (City People)

Budding Nigerian Jewellery design company, Circa 64, is located on Akin Adesola, Victoria Island, Lagos. Circa 64 specialises in unique hand crafted pieces, which are designed and produced by Ayo Fanimokun. Ayo is a graphic designer who ventured into Jewellery making in 2004. Her graphic design background plays a big part in her works. She’s always loved working with her hands, and each piece she makes is created with great skills.

WA Idol Eric goes into fashion – Anyakwo Nonyem (CP)
West African Idol fourth man standing, Eric Arubayi recently opened an ‘A’ class boutique on Karimu Kotun, V/I, Lagos. This dude who has a passion for music is also set to release his album and at the same time take to an optimim level with Western and African wears. Sources close to him also revealed that eric is working hand in hand with some top designers to achieve his dream

Yaw and Koffi’s comedy event - Anyakwo Nonyem (CP)
Steve Onu, popularly known as Yaw, a Wazobia FM presenter is planning a big comedy show this March with popular comedian, Koffi. The duo is set to have a superlative stage comedy on Sat 8th of March 09 at the Muson Centre, Onikan Lagos. The stage comedy promised to be fun as there will be performances from various top musicians also.

Tara Durotoye opens in Abuja
Tara Durotoye is one of the pioneer make up artists and the owner of the House of Tara Make up Studio, and the Orekelewa make up line. She’s in a celebratory mood at the moment, reasons being that on March 2nd 09; she opened another outfit in Abuja, to add to its existing outfit.

Hip Hop Awards 09 moved to Abuja – Afolabi Adekoya (CP)
HHWA since its inception in 2006, has been held in different locations in Lagos but this year, it goes to Abuja. Ayo Animashaun explains “So many times we have been confronted by people that HHWA only celebrates Lagos based acts, that is part of the reasons we are embarking on this journey outside Lagos.
Moreso we have looked around and found that the only venue that fits what we are trying to achieve this year is in Abuja.

Banky W and Kemi Adetiba will host while 9ice, MI, Timaya, Kel, Lord of Ajasa and others perform. It’s taking place on the 19th of May at the International Conference Centre.

Top event planner Gbemi Oyekan holds seminar
Gbemi Oyekan is the brain behind one of the latest sensations in the event industry, CISS (Classic Integrated Services and Slippers). She is staging a detailed event planning seminar on March 14th and 15th 09 at the Protea Hotel, GRA, Ikeja.
The event is taking place in conjunction with two notable event planners, Funke Bucknor Obruthe of Zapphire Events and Ibidun Ighodalo of Elizabeth R who are both the chief speakers of the event. They are going to be teaching the participants the nitty gritty of running a successful outfit.

9ice to perform in Ghana - strictlynaijamusic

Multiple-award winning singer, 9ice, is scheduled to perform in Accra for the very first time at the Accra International Conference Center, Accra, Ghana on the 28th March, 2009.The show will also feature Yes Record's flagship artistes, G-Xploit, whose hit track 'Bolu Molu Merete' has reached No.8 on MTV Base World Charts. In addition, rave-making Shank and fellow Yes! Record signee Steel will also be on the bill.

Albums you all need to listen to...

Shank - King Kong

Sound Sultan - SSH

Durella - King of the Zanga

MI - Chocolate City

Mag covers

Hip Hop World Magazine

Genexx

Office: 2 Evelyn Owuama street, Ikeja, Lagos
Email: africabseun1@yahoo.com

That's all the Ent. news I have ;)

Kenny and D1 at the 51st Grammy Awards, Feb 09

With Mary Mary

D1 with Heavy D

The AIT Crew

With Colby O' Donnis

With Boyz 2 Men

D1 with Akon

D1 with CHRISETTE MICHELLE
With Teaiira Mari

Kenny and D1 with Musiq

With Akon and Colby

With J Holiday
Pix thanks to D1

For all lovers of music...this is the place to be...http://www.strictlynaijamusic.com/
Later...

Thursday, March 5, 2009

Mrs World Beauty Pageant

They are all wives and mothers
Amazing!
Check it out...

Mrs World 2008 in the middle

If you want to know more about the pageant, contact current Mrs. Nigeria 08, Cynthia Nwachukwu via email - cnn27@hotmail.com
Naija Entertainment news next...

Rukkies Boutique + Question & Quote

Clothes from Rukkies Boutique

Ronke has given me more clothes than I know what to do with them...check out clothes from her boutique.

Rukkies Boutiques
Shop C50, Ikota Shopping Complex Lekki
86, Bode Thomas Surulere
29, Opebi Road, Ikeja Lagos

Question of the day
Is it unfair for men to be forced to financially support children they did not agree to have? Like a man wants his girlfriend to have an abortion, if she refuses and has the baby, is the man under any obligation to support the child?
What do you guys think?

Quote of the day
Bite off more than you can chew...then chew it.
Lol.
I wrote this on my facebook status and some people got real confused ;)
Can anyone interprete the real meaning of this quote?

Photo of the day
Mrs Nigeria 2008.

Her name is Cynthia Nwachukwu. On June 2008, she went to Kalinlingrad Russia as a delegate to represent Nigerian married women in the Mrs World beauty pageant 2008. She was encouraged by beautiful ex- queen Robina Ehana. Cynthia is married with four beautiful children. Cynthia is so excited and grateful for the loving support of her husband. she wishes to share her beautiful pictures and encourage married Nigerian women to be very proud of themselves and to help build a stronger family for Nigeria and the World. Contact her via e-mail..cnn27@hotmail.com
Cheers

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

MI at Silverbird

DATE: Thursday, March 5th, 2009
WHERE: Silverbird Concourse
WHAT: MI performing alongside those that collaborated with him on his album TALK ABOUT
MI Lyric Tee Shirts with fans favorite Lyrics on them
MI autograph signing session
TIME: 7pm-10pm
WHAT ELSE: Its FREE and also FREE DRINKS SPONSORED BY JOHNNY WALKER
You all need to be there

Pictures...

Hey everyone, hope y'all are doing great. I'm fine, just feeling a little dizzy these days. Don't know what's wrong with me.

Maybe I'm horny.
Oops... I didn't just write that...lol

I need to get married first huh? Dear Lord, make it happen sooner rather than later, I don't know how much longer I can go without...lol

See the way Ini was publicly kissing the hubby...no be small something o. That's what I love most about marriage. It gives you licence to do and do and do...
...and e don tey...lol

Anyway, we'll see...
*wink*

To today's post, I actually bought the softsell mags to bring you Naija Entertainment News but I'm too horny tired to write...lol. I got home all fagged out...
You guys will have to make do with pictures for now...hopefully I'll be able to bring you entertainment news 2moro.
Enjoy...

Clarion Chukwurah Initiative
I don't know what the initiative is all about...just enjoy the pictures ;)

Pix thanks to Ace Adegoke, pictured above with Clarion

TOBBY COMMEDY'S LAUGH OUT LOUD EVENT @ PLANET NOLLYWOOD

Pix thanks to Love Ents...

Crazy tags

Pix thanks to Haywire

Photos of the day
P-Square on stage

Pix thanks to Peter Okoye.

Sage's album listening party
Poet, Sage's album listening is now on the 8th March at Lydo on Akin Adesola, V/I, from 5pm...come hear what the poet's poetry has become. Be there!

Meanwhile there are new blogs in town y'all need to check out
http://theblacktulips.blogspot.com/
http://ibeananabart.blogspot.com/

And that's how we roll...
Hmmmm???
Do you all now believe there's something wrong wiv me? That's how we roll? I've never signed off like that before have I? lol
Laters!!!

Monday, March 2, 2009

Ini Edo and Phillip's Wedding Pictures...

Check out pictures of Ini-Edo and Phillip Ehiagwina's wedding, which took place on Saturday Feb 28th in Houston Texas.

Pix thanks to Segun Gele.

blogger templates | Make Money Online