Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 02/20/2011 - 02/27/2011

Saturday 26 February 2011

Celebrating the Release of Ex-Con, Bode George

How shameless. More pics when you continue...

Rihanna And Ciara Engage In Twitter War Of Words

It started after Ciara appeared on E!'s fashion police and made some comments Rihanna apparently didn't like...
The video of what Ciara said and the tweets when you continue...

Chief Bode George out of prison

After completing 2 years on charges of abuse of office, Chief Bode George from has been released from Kirikiri maximum prison. His thanksgiving service is showing Live on AIT as of 12noon Sat. Feb 26th 2011.
Obasanjo is at the Thanksgiving service and PDP sent a delegate.

Thanksgiving service for an ex-convict showing Live on TV. Only in Naija!

All the craziness going on in Libya

First it was Tunisia, then Egypt. Now it's Libya. The people of Libya want the leader, Muammar Gaddafi, to stand down from power after ruling for 41-years.

Let me list what's going on in that country so it's easier to digest...

*The uprising began on February 14, with protests in the city of Benghazi inspired by revolutions in Egypt and Tunisia.

*Embattled dictator Colonel Muammar Gaddafi has threatened to "burn all of Libya" if his people continue to turn against him.

*The anti-government protests in Libya have left thousands dead with security forces attacking protesters, using rocket propelled grenades, anti-aircraft guns and snipers.

*Gadhafi's supporters are reportedly conducting house-by-house searches and arrests. And according to some reports, they have even gone into hospitals to kill wounded opponents

Lagos ranked 4th worst livable city in the world 2011

A report released February 21, 2011 by The Economist Intelligence Unit, have ranked Lagos as the 4th worst city to live in the world. Lagos ranked 137 out of the 140 most livable cities in the world.

The ranking was based on health care, culture, infrastructure, environment, and stability. Lagos was rated 39.0 overall. Lagos scored 48.2 in infrastructure, 25 in stability, 52.3 in culture.

Zimbabwe's capital, Harare, was ranked the worst place to live in the world due to high rates of crime, violence, war, while Vancouver in Canada and Melbourne in Australia were number one and two respectively on the list of most liveable cities in the world.

Chris Brown responds to leaked Rihanna pictures

After pictures of Rihanna's beaten face surfaced on the Internet two days ago, Chris Brown Tweeted his feelings on the whole thing...

Chris Tweeted
It's ironic how "somebody" put this out right around my album time! Wow! I guess that's supposed to be a strategic chess move! Unbelievable

The ever beautiful Mrs Kate Henshaw Nuttal

Looking stunning as she headed out to the AMAA nominations party that took place last night in Nairobi, Kenya

New Video: Kefee - No Be Sapele Water

10 months old kidnapped Enioluwa Odegbaike has been found

He was returned home safely this morning. Below is a release from his family

Our dearest baby and now yours, Enioluwanimi just came back home safely at 8.20am this morning! Alleluia! We cannot begin to express how much we appreciate you for your prayers, visits, phone calls and support which eased the traumatic experience of the last 15 days. I am truly overwhelmed and I only ask the Lord to bless and reward you indeed! Ese gan ni o! E ku a duroti!Our hearts are full of rejoicing. Thank you Jesus!

Will bring you more detail on his kidnap, those behind it and how he was found.
Thank God for his mercies.

Factory78 Exclusive: Iceprince Interview

Bulls Chase Runners Into The Sea

What won't these people do for fun? lol
More pics when you continue...

Friday 25 February 2011

Obama Appoints Nigerian Into Key Post as US National Cancer Advisory Board Member

A Nigerian, Dr. Olufunmilayo Falusi Olopade, was  among six individuals appointed into key administration posts yesterday by United States President Barack Obama.

A statement by the White House Thursday said Olopade, who is the Walter L. Palmer Distinguished Service Professor of Medicine and Human Genetics, Associate Dean for Global Health, and Director of the Center for Clinical Cancer Genetics at the University of Chicago,  had been appointed by President Obama as a member of US National Cancer Advisory Board.

Smooth FM's Night @the Polo Club

Smooth 98.1FM invites you to an evening of great entertainment at The Polo Club this Saturday, February 26 at 7pm. Come enjoy a night of soul and jazz featuring Bez, Omolara, Tosin, and Olujazz.

Nigerian women, the most beautiful in Africa?

Beauty queens in Nigeria
There is a recently released unconfirmed  report going round that the world's most beautiful black African women can be found in Nigeria. Do you agree?

Some people think it's women from Tanzania. What say you?

'Kidnappers haven't invaded Lagos' Police PRO + My robbery story!

Samuel Jinadu
"There is nothing like that in Lagos. It is just a ruse. It is false alarm. Kidnapping is not the order of the day in Lagos. There maybe an attempt. I remember there was a case of one business man that they attempted to kidnap and we paraded the suspects before the press. So, it is not normal to say there's random kidnapping in Lagos. Police are up to the task. There should be no fear whatsoever. People should sleep with their two eyes closed. They should be free to move about and pursue their legitimate duties. We will continue with our stop and search and we will comb everywhere. No cause for any fear at all." New Lagos State Police Public Relations Officer, Samuel Jinadu

No cause for fear in Lagos? I hear you, Mr Public Relations Officer. I was almost robbed in traffic on Tuesday night, 9pm, around the Mile 2 area, on my way back from my TV show auditions. The lone robber put his hand around his belt area and asked me to wind down my car window or else... So guess what I did? I calmly put my car in reverse and drove back, slightly bashing the car behind me. As the driver of the car (a man) came out to inspect the damage...the robber disappeared. I've been robbed a few times in traffic in Lagos and decided to implement this strategy whenever I find myself in that situation. Either I slightly hit the car in front of me or the one behind, to get their attention, otherwise no one's going to come to your rescue.

Michael Neri has a message for all you 'haters' on this blog..:-)

Firstly I need to say thank The Almighty Lord for getting us out the situation we were in.
I read it all here and all the negative comments? - laughable!!!
The positives and the supportive ones- I truly appreciate with every single bone in my body................every single one that I had left because the reality: I was not left unharmed.
I came out with a fractured face...
anybody thinking this was some 'conspiracy' by ify or me truly are deserving of their lowly state in life. Bottom line-make no mistake bout it-God loves me, smiled on me released me {cos the scenario we were in was death stared in the face for 5-7days}....if it was just 3 weeks ago that I knew Him I would not be writing this right now; therefore you do NOT know me - now go back to hating. Peace! {On behalf of myself + Ify)

He wrote that as a comment on this post

New Music: J'odie - Kuchi Kuchi (Oh Baby)

Y'all remember J'odie? From 2007 West African Idol competition where she was a contestant. She wrote the song after giving birth to her first child. Lovely song...

Soldier rapes, batters lady at graveyard

Miss Jane Adams, a 23-year-old student of the Lagos State Polytechnic (LASPOTECH) is crying for justice. She is seeking help after a soldier serving at Bonny Camp, Lagos allegedly abducted and raped her at a dreaded cemetery within the Ojo Military Cantonment in Lagos. The victim, who hails from Gboko Local Government Area of Benue State, alleged that Lance Corporal Akparuku Clever, in the night of Saturday, January 22, abducted her in his danfo bus, marked LAGOS XY 230 EKY, and forcefully took her to a graveyard inside the Ojo Military Cantonment. There, she recalled, he allegedly pulled a dagger, threatened to injure or kill her and then raped her.

It was during her intense struggle with him that she suffered a serious injury on her left eye, she said. Aside from the alleged rape, Jane also accused the soldier of other diabolical intentions, saying he attempted to insert a charmed ring inside her private part.

Another Unilag student killed

Ayodeji Babatunde Sonoiki was an extra year student of History and Strategic Studies. He was shot dead on Friday night Feb 18, 2011 outside the school's campus, around Iwaya area, Yaba, while out drinking with friends. Ayo was 22 years old and has since been buried.

May his soul RIP.

Pasuma Starts TV Reality Show

Fuji star, Wasiu Alabi Pasuma is currently working on a new TV reality show titled, Ohun (sound of Fuji): In Search Of The Next Fuji Star. The forms are already on sale for 2grand at any Oceanic Bank. Auditions for the show will take place in four cities, Ikeja, Ibadan, Akure and Ilorin in the coming months.

So if interested, go to the nearest Oceanic Bank where you will get more details about the show.

Unseen graphic pics of Rihanna's injuries leaks on the internet

Just a few days after the restraining against Chris Brown was lifted and amidst rumours that the ex-lovers were planning a reconciliation, previously unseen graphic pictures of  Rihanna the night Chris beat her has been leaked on the Internet via mediatakeout.com

The graphic pics when you continue...

Hilarious music video: Vic O - After Party

Kanye West tweets...lol!

You sure, Kanye?...Ha ha ha!

Thursday 24 February 2011

Nigerian Olaide Taiwo stole 350 IDs to claim £1.3m benefits

Olaide Taiwo
A Nigerian immigrant stole the identities of 350 people to claim £1.3million in bogus tax credits in the largest benefit scam of its kind. Olaide Taiwo, 35, hijacked the identities while working as a security guard for a number of large national companies. He then used the names to claim tens of thousands in working tax credits.
This week he was jailed for eight and a half years – the highest ever sentence for tax credit fraud.

Africa Fashion Week London

For the first time in history, the city of London will be hit by a two-day Tsunami of an event that will showcase everything that defines fashion from an African point of view. The event is known as Africa Fashion Week
London. It will be held between 5th and 6th August 2011 at the Gibson Hall, 13 Bishopsgate London EC2N and will make history as the biggest platform ever dedicated to African inspired fashion in Europe.

Read more on their official website here >>

Pictures from Julius Agwu's Festival of Love event in Abuja on Feb 13.

More pics when you continue...

Gift from a friend....

Someone wants to know.
If you got this from a white friend of yours as a birthday gift, what would you do?

Tragic Accident on Ikorodu Road

Around noon yesterday, a man was crushed to death when a truck loaded with a 14-foot container fell on his SUV. The unfortunate accident occurred at the junction of the New Garage bus stop along Ikorodu Road.

So sad. May he RIP.

Arisekola Alao's son kidnapped in Lagos

Saheed Alao, one of the sons of billionaire business man and Aare Musulimi of Yorubaland, Alhaji Arisekola Alao was  kidnapped on Friday February 18, 2011 at his Victoria Island Lagos home. The kidnappers are asking for N200million For his release.

I ask again...has kidnapping really come to Lagos?

Femi Adebayo's new movie, Jelili

Odunlade Adekola, Femi Adebayo and Muyiwa Ademola
Femi Adebayo's new movie, Jelili, is what everyone is talking about right now. It's like the male version of Funke Akindele's Jenifa. It's a story about a village boy named Jelili, played by Femi Adebayo, who was a terror in his village then found himself in the city. He also enters a beauty pageant dressed as a woman to win the ultimate price. I hear it's hilarious.

Preview after the cut...

Oral Sex Can Boost Cancer Risk?

Here's a crucial message for teens: Oral sex carries many of the same risks as vaginal sex, including human papilloma virus, or HPV. And HPV may now be overtaking tobacco as the leading cause of oral cancers in America in people under age 50.

Soulful Singer 'Adol' drops album March 14th

It is no longer news that Soulful singer Adol has one of the most unique and sought after voices in the Nigerian music industry. Adol, whose hit single Orin has garnered him much respect as well as a huge fan base will be releasing his much anticipated first album titled ORIN on March 14 2011.

The Lovely Mrs Julius Agwu and daughter

Stunning!

Spotted: Adaeze Igwe Yobo at Festival of Love event in Abuja

Looking quite lovely...

House Investigates Ribadu, EFCC Over Missing Tarfa Balogun’s N20B Loot

The House of Representatives yesterdaay declared that it has commenced investigations into the operations of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) over the ‘missing’ N20 billion naira recovered from the former Inspector General of Police, Mr. Tafa Balogun. The money was allegedly stolen from the police force by Balogun.

Mode Men Magazine March issue

Alternative Rapper OLAMIDE drops album March 21st

These days, when you hear someone say Eni Duro, you automatically think of Olamide, Coded Tunes newest and freshest Alternative Rapper. It’s not news that the popularity of his hit single Eni Duro has spread like wildfire and it’s also not news that he is lyrically tight. Olamide, who is one of the hottest acts now, will be releasing
his much anticipated first album titled "Rap-So-Di" on March 21, 2011.

New Video: OD - 'Drinks in a Glass'

Wednesday 23 February 2011

Bode George to be released from prison Feb 26th

After completing his two year jail term at the Kirikiri Maximum prisons, Apapa, PDP Chieftain, Bode George, will be set free this Sat Feb 26th.

New Music: TY Bello - The Future

Segun Arinze and wife welcome baby boy

Segun Arinze's new wife Julie has given birth to the couple's first child together, a boy. She put to bed on Thursday Feb 10, 2011 while on official assignment in Port Harcourt, Rivers State.

The AGN president has a daughter with ex-wife Anne Njemanze and another child from a previous relationship.

Congrats to them.
Source: Uche Olehi - Encomium Magazine

On set of 'Who's Got The Swag' TV Reality Show

On set of the TV reality show 'Who's Got The Swag', where I am a judge. Left is movie director, Aquila Njamah and Right is musician, Baba Dee. And I am the pretty lady in the middle..:-).

This pic was taken yesterday...Day 2 of the auditions.
Yeah I know, black again. *sigh*. I've promised myself no more buying of anything black...at least for a while...:-)

Malta Guinness Adds Colour To Valentine Celebration

Compere Andre Blaze, Xfellaz alongside Banky W cutting the Malta Guinness Valentine Cake
Cross section Malta Guinness consumers showing off their dance steps
It is a common knowledge that the date February 14 is set aside worldwide in celebration of what we have come to know as Valentine’s Day. However that is not the news, what is rather of interest is the experience that people are expected to share on this day better described as Lovers Day.

In the season of love and appreciation that Malta Guinness, the only Naija Malt drink that offers Top of the World goodness took fun, energy and love to its loyal consumers on Valentine’s Day at the famous Planet One, in Lagos, by joining the rest of the world in celebration at an event tagged “MALTA GUINNESS LOVE ROCK.

Elkanah Mowarin's elder sister kidnnaped!

Elkanah Mowarin's elder sister, Julie Mowarin, a banker with Equitorial Trust Bank, was on Sunday Feb 20th kidnapped in Delta State. Julie was leaving her church, Christ Missionary Church around 9pm when the kidnappers struck. She was taken away in an unmarked and hasn't been seen since then.

Sad! Hope she's found safely.

Ankara shoes at Aldo store in New York

A reader of this blog saw these shoes at Aldo Stores , NY and sent the pic in...
Wow, great stuff!

The face of the nanny who kidnapped 10 month old Enioluwa Odegbaike

This is the face of the househelp/nanny who took 10 month old Enioluwa Odegbaike last sunday from his family home at Magodo and never returned him. Please spread the photo around and anyone with any info should go to the nearest police station or call these numbers - 07085534788, 0802222842.

"Uche Iwuji and I are not lesbian partners" - Singer, Ego Omalicha refutes lesbain tales

"From nowhere, I started hearing reports that I am a lesbian and that Uche is my lesbian partner. Yes, Uche is a close friend. We were classmates in school, Unilag. It was on her birthday and the bash held at another friend's house. We were all drinking and catching our fun. It was a girls stuff and we wanted to take a picture and pecked each other. It was not even a kiss. Although it was close to the mouth. I didn't know how the picture got out. I saw it in papers and I felt really bad. I don't want to bear the brunt of what I am not" Ego to Femi Oyewale of Encomium Magazine. Ego is a model and singer with Question Mark Records.

Introducing: 2Kriss

2Kriss are a collaboration of two brothers with versatile musical productions ranging from Hiphop to Afro-Pop.
Newly signed to Bigboyz Ent, Moses Oluwatobi Christopher and Raphael Oladimeji Christopher.

2Kriss have gained recognition from several artist of different genres at the young ages of 18 and 17.

A conversation with Buhari

The Figurine screens at the 19th Annual Pan African Film Festival

Award winning Actor/ Film maker, Kunle Afolayan introduced his latest project, The Figurine at, the 19th  Annual Pan African Film Festival in Los Angeles, California. The 2-day screening was received with rave reviews.