Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 06/01/2008 - 06/08/2008

Saturday 7 June 2008

Entertainment News + Barack Obama in Pictures!

Prom night at Weequahic High in Newark NJ.

Are these kids on crack? lol

What are these young people wearing?
Fashion disaster huh? LOL!
Source, bossip.com

Mike Tyson quote

“I’ve been in prison. In and out of court. Convicted of rape. I already expect the worst to happen. I expect people to treat me bad. I expect on day somebody’ll blow my brains out over some bulls**t. No one gives a s**t about Mike Tyson. Someone accuses me of a horrible crime, others say, ‘Yeah, he’s capable of that. Mike probably did it.’ Nobody’s fighting any crusade for my black ass.”
I'm sure there are people who care about him...

Ashanti looking fabulous...

Serena Williams on the cover of Ebony. You like?

A 4 year old accidentally shoots his 2 year old brother.
‘”I heard something that sounded like a clap,’ [Quanotho] Kyles said. ‘I peeked around the corner, I looked in - he was just standing there … he said, “daddy, I didn’t mean to do it”. I saw my [other] son lying on the floor with blood coming out of his chest.’ Kyles said he took responsibility for the accident that nearly killed his boy.
Kyles said he found an old 22 caliber rifle in his yard about a week ago; picked up because someone was coming to cut the grass; put it in a corner of his bedroom which was supposed to be off limits to his kids. ‘The gun was found about 20 or 30 feet away from house,’ Kyles said. I took it into the house not thinking, ‘check it or don’t even put in the house’. I just put in my bedroom where I didn’t think they would see it. I had a gun in the house. I didn’t know it was loaded.’
He admitted being no stranger to weapons, having gone to prison for shooting and killing his own brother during a feud nearly 10 years ago.”

Shania's message to fans...
It's no longer news that Shania Twain has separated from her husband of 14years.
The country music singer has just released the following message to her fans.

She says…
"To my beloved fans:
As I am sure you have seen or heard; I am going through a rough time personally in my life. I wanted you all to know that I could not be getting through this without you. Your letters, emails and words of encouragement give me strength. Your overwhelming support reminds me to smile, no matter how deep the pain and to always be grateful for all the beautiful blessings in my life.
I have so much to say but I know the best way for me to speak is through my music. This is my therapy, my passion, and my love. I look forward to sharing it with all of you as I begin this new journey.
I need some time to heal this broken heart but make no mistake; I will be back and hopefully stronger than ever.
Thank you my friends, from the bottom of my heart.
Love,
Shania "
May God give her the strength to get over this.

Barack Obama in Pictures
Barack with maternal grandparents

On wedding day to Michelle

With maternal grandfather

With mum, grand dad and half sister, Maya

Barack in college

Barack Obama shakes hands during his graduation ceremony from Punahou School in 1979

With stepdad, mum and half sisterwith half sister, Maya
Michelle and Barack with their children
His grandparents and mum

“‘He’s a combination of JFK, and Martin Luther King (Jr.). With that he can’t lose.’”
- Stevie Wonder

The conservative French daily Le Figaro described him as “The man in a hurry who dethroned Hillary.”

The left-leaning London-based Guardian called him “A political giant slayer” who defeated his own party’s entrenched interest.

In Mexico, an editorial cartoon in the daily Reforma depicted him as a Christ-like figure atop the Democratic donkey on Palm Sunday.

“Obama’s America on the doorstep of history,” said a headline on the front page of As Safir in Lebanon.

English-language Khaleej Times, a daily based in Dubai, United Arab Emirates printed:“If McCain is America’s past,” it said, “Obama is its future.”

Barack and mum, Ann
With dad
Barack and dad's family
With paternal grandmother

Barack as a toddler Barack '08

Another nice entertainment blog to check out...http://santiagopad.blogspot.com/
Y'all need to also check out this blog http://14thandserenity.blogspot.com/. It's so...I can't describe it. Check it out and see for yourself. Fantastic!

Later people...

Thursday 5 June 2008

Genevieve on new clothing line

Star actress, Genevieve Nnaji recently launched her clothing line, working with Olamide Ajayi's Iconola. She spoke to Foluso Samuel and Seyi Owolabi of Encomium mag about it all. Enjoy...!

Recently, you launched your clothing line. Tell us about it
G "It's not just a clothing line. I actually launched my fashion brand, St. Genevieve brand. I am going to be branding a lot of stuff not just clothes."

Why did you decide to go into fashion?
G "By thinking I have met the right person to do it with (Iconola). But it is something I have always done silently by myself. I made my clothes myself for a while and when I found the right dress maker to work with, we hit it off and I said it is about time. Again, I thought I had enough time on my hands."

What gives you the inspiration?
G "I am actually giving a lot of myself out. What I am giving is my style. I am bringing out my style to the public. So I influence myself. That's who I am."

Do you consider yourself a very fashionable person?
G "I consider myself a fashionable person, but it is a matter of opinion"

Who are your all-time fashion icons?
G "I can't figure anybody in Nigeria. I have always loved Halle Berry. Her clothes are awesome. I love Angelina Jolie as well, very elegant. A couple of people who simply dress well and let their personalities speak for them."

An actress now managing a clothing line. How do you relate the two together?
G "TV is glamorous. Clothes are glamorous. Obviously they go hand in hand. So to be a TV personality, it means you are out there in the public glare. You just have to have an idea on how to look great"

And they WENT there...
You once said you have no reason to marry now
And she ANSWERED...
G "It is because I have not seen the man to marry. That is what it means..."
And that my dear friends is the end of the interview.
I admire her greatly. More success babe!
Pix thanks to niyitabiti...

Julius Agwu finally weds
Star comedian, Julius Agwu has tied the knots in an A-class wedding which was held in St. Paul's Anglican Church on Aba-Port Harcourt, Rivers State on Saturday, May 31, 2008, with the reception at the main hall of Civic Centre.
Here's wishing the newest couple in town a very happy married life!

Joke...
Ikenna wanted to get married. He was having trouble choosing among three likely candidates [Ifeoma, Nneka & Ngozi].
He gives each woman a present of N650,000 and watches to see what they do with the money.
Ifeoma does a total make over. She goes to a fancy beauty salon gets her hair done, new make up and buys several new outfits and dresses up very nicely for the man. She tells him that she has done this to be more attractive for him because she loves him so much.
Ikenna was impressed.
Nneka goes shopping to buy the man gifts. She gets him a new set of golf clubs, some new gizmos for his computer, and some expensive clothes. As she presents these gifts, she tells him that she has spent all the money on him because she loves him so much.
Again, the man is impressed.
Ngozi invests the money in the stock market. She earns several times the N650,000. She gives him back his N650,000 and reinvests the remainder in a joint account. She tells him that she wants to save for their future because she loves him so much.
Obviously, Ikenna was impressed.
He thought for a long time about what each woman had done with the money he'd given her.
Then, he married the one with the biggest boobs.
Ass! LOL!
'Men are like that, you know. You can never tell what they base their judgement on'

We'll continue tommorrow. I'm tired!
Goodnight!

Wednesday 4 June 2008

Eucharia Anunobi on new lover + Tee A's old skool party pix + Gloria

Eucharia Anunobi Speaks On New Lover
She spoke to Stella Dimoko Korkus on her new lover
You introduced the new man in your life at the recently held Nigerian Music Awards in Imo, congratulations.
E "Thank you, I didn't go out of my way to say 'hey meet the new man in my life."
So how serious is the relationship with this new man?
E "Am I supposed to answer that?"
Are you just friends or is it deeper?
E "Oh yes, we are friends."
Just friends? i thet where it ends? No sex?
E "Christians are not supposed to have sex when they are dating."

Is your new man an older or younger? People are assuming you havae joined the clique of those who fall in love with younger men?
E "I don't know how to put this in any better way but I don't date younger men. It's not my style. My new man is in my age range. He might have a baby face but he's not younger than I am or older than I am"

How old is he?
E "Gerlad is 37 and he is a fine man"

How long have you been seeing him?
E "Long enough for me to be able to show him off in public"
So are you certain there are no girlfriends or wife that will show up and cry wolf now that you have officiall shown off your new man?
E "By God's grace, I hope and pray. He assures me that there's nobody else and I am the only sugar in his tea"

Is Gerald rich?We don't want someone running off with your money again, do we?
E "I know what you mean. I will not make a mistake a second time. Gerald might not be a billionaire but he's a promising young man and soon enough what he's made off will surface"

The dress you wore to the NMA, what was his impression of the dress? You were almost naked and there has been a lot of negative reaction to your choice of outfit. So he stood by you and smiled all through?
E "Yes, he likes me like that, the way I am and his eyes are on me all the time. He likes me to dress up so that he can look at me all the time. He supports me 100%, so whatever anyone thinks or says makes no meaning to me..."
Finito...
Well said UK.
Pix thanks to Niyi Tabiti

Tee A's Old Skool Party Pix

Pix thanks to http://www.toluogunlesi.shutterchance.com/

The last MEN standing
John McCain and Barrack Obama
The two men left to battle for president come Nov 4th 2008.
I had my doubts...but he did it! To me, Obama is the man of the decade and hopefully America's first black president!
God bless America...!
15yr old girl stabbed to death

Arsema Dawit, who sang in her church choir, was stabbed to death on Monday, two days after her 15th birthday. Read the sad story here...http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/crime/article4062289.ece

The real Hip Hop
It’s like a rain of dance competitions right now. So much that you will keep mistaking them for each other. The buzz cant seem to stop amazing us because just about 2 to 3 years ago, dancers were jobless, unserious layabouts but the new emphasis and respect is amazing. Some says it’s as a result of the Nokia Danceathon competition where we broke the world record. Other says the industry has just grown to appreciate these artistes more. But for whatever it is, its a very good development and it has moved on from background/back up dancing to dancing as an art on it’s own for appreciation.
All over the world, dance has always been some kind of unifying factor and even identification for different groups with the kinds of dances they do. Its fun and at the same time very healthy sport. Different dances are by the day creeping in on us and they are fun. But the age long hip hop remains the most prominent and it has even diversified into different parts. From crump dancing to popping and locking, bugaloo, B-Boying, Steps, etc. Hip hop is huge and most young people are in tune with the songs and dance moves America IS OF COURSE THE HOME OF THIS DANCE and every now and then some competition or the other is hosted around dance. About 7 years a ago, a group of young guys who have been running the dance scene in America and release top dance movies like “You got served, Honey, Stomp the Yard, Step up” came together to stage a world dance competition in America and as expected it’s grown into bigger success as the years went by with no participation from Africa until 2yrs ago when South Africa came on board but that’s still not Africa. The biggest black nation wasn’t there yet. So, in 2007, Testify Music Group secured rights for Nigeria at this prestigious competition. As opposed all other competitions, HHI is clearly defined. it has five categories :
1, B-Boy
2 B-Girl
3 Popping and locking
4 Bugaloo
5 Crew Battle (Junior, Varsity and Adult)
But being that this would be our first year, we will only be competing in B-Boy/Girl Popping and locking and Crew battle (Adult category)HHI Nigeria is setting different standards from that of every other dance competition because this is an event with the founders of hip-hop, well defined and structured unlike other competitions that are going to countries with hip hop roots and without clear definition.So Nigeria will be represented in this competition live in Vegas, USA! Now, no games. Its live in Vegas - one crew and one Bboy will be fully sponsored, to Vegas for the final competition where they will be competing with the world. As much as 30 countries are in the competion this year. And you stand a chance to win an American video choreography, Paul Mitchell 1 year gift pack and other cash prizesSo do you 'dare to drop' at the Hip-hop International, Nigeria competition? You've got to get registered on http://www.hhinigeria.com/.
Auditions will be held a on 7th June 2008
Partners of this event include Chocolatecity, Hiptv, Nigeria international and Lucozade to boost the dance energy!
Registration closes 0n the 6th of June.
For enquiries call 08052333810.

My friend Gloria (aka...? ain't telling...lol)

Gloria with other famous bloggers (Pincessa and Tayo Odukoya) having fun at the Palms...
It's been a blast having her here in Naija...

Joke
A child in SS Peter and Paul, Anifowo
She was asked to make a sentence with distinguish
Teacher : Make a sentence with distinguish
Student: dis tin wish u do me i dont like it.
LOL

That's it. Will be back tomorrow
BTW, if you want to make any anouncements, advertise something you're doing, product launch, share pictures, etc, etc and you want it on my blog...let me know!
Don't worry, it's free of charge...
Kisses everyone!